Govt Response to Draft STC PRD Questions_70RWMD20R00000003 12MAY20.pdf

PDF 121 KB Posted

Attached to
70RWMD20R00000003 - Securing the Cities (STC) Personal Radiation Detectors (PRD)
Solicitation number
70RWMD20R00000003
Issued by

About this file

This draft request for proposal is for establishing multiple award indefinite delivery, indefinite quantity contracts for securing the cities personal radiation detectors and associated training and accessories. The Department of Homeland Security intends to award a minimum of three and maximum of five contracts through full and open competition. The ordering period will be five years. Interested vendors are requested to provide feedback on the draft by April 28th and the agency plans to hold a pre-solicitation conference on May 5th. Pricing will be firm fixed price. The anticipated award date is in September 2020.

View the file

Other files

File Type Posted
70RWMD20R00000003 SF30_P00001 05AUG20_FE.pdf PDF
Attachment 4 - Bailment Agreement- 05AUG20.pdf PDF
Government Response to Questions - STC PRD RFP P00001 05AUG20.pdf PDF
Attachment 2 - IDIQ_Pricing_Template.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
RFP STC PRD.pdf PDF
Attachment 1 - Requirements.pdf PDF
Attachment 6 - NDA Template 70RWMD20R00000003 STC PRD.pdf PDF
SF1449 RFP 70RWMD20R00000003.pdf PDF
Attachment 3 - IDIQ_Pricing_Template_Weighted Evaluated Price.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
Attachment 5 - STC PRD Questions Template.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
Attachment 4 - Bailment Agreement.pdf PDF
CRB CONTINUATION OF SF1449 - 70RWMD20R00000003 STCPRD.pdf PDF
Govt Response to Draft STC PRD Questions_70RWMD20R00000003 P00002.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
Govt Response to Draft STC PRD Questions_70RWMD20R00000003 P00001.pdf PDF
STC PRD pre-solicitation conference_05MAY20.pdf PDF
DRAFT SF1449 RFP 70RWMD20R00000003_P00001_14APR20.pdf PDF
Draft RFP STC PRD 14APR20_Final.pdf PDF
Draft Attachment 1 - Requirements_06APR20.pdf PDF
Draft Attachment_2 - IDIQ_Pricing_Template_13APR20.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
DRAFT SF1449 RFP 70RWMD20R00000003_14APR20_FINAL.pdf PDF
Draft Attachment_3 - IDIQ_Pricing_Template_Total Evaluated Price 13APR20.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
Draft Attachment 6 - NDA Template 70RWMD20R00000003 STC PRD.pdf PDF
Draft Attachment 5 - STC PRD Questions Template.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
Draft Attachment 4 - Bailment Agreement 14APR20.pdf PDF
Show all 24

On GovTribe

Work with this file

  • Download the original file
  • Contacts named in this file
  • Similar government files
  • Ask GovTribe AI about this file

Text version

Number Section / Attachment Paragraph Page

Number Question Government Response 1 Attachment 1 Regarding requirement SL-28, I am interpreting an ambiguity. The requirement states the following:

Vendor shall provide smart phone applications for near real time data transmission... and/or be required to adapt their PRD data feed for use with existing CWMD STC mobile applications Is it ’and’ or ‘or’? ;-)

In short, I’m looking to clarify whether a PRD would meet the stated requirement if it only was designed to be compatible with the CWMD STC mobile application, and was not accompanied by a vendor-supplied mobile application.

If the vendor-supplied PRD app meets the requirements in the RTM, that will be sufficient to pass this part of the requirement.

The STC mobile application is still in development and it is not possible to provide all of the requirements for integration. When it is completed, the vendor(s) will be required to make any necessary changes to ensure that their PRD is compatible with it. Both statements were used, as it was not clear how quickly development would evolve and when the PRD RFP will be released.

2 ID SL-24 / Draft Attach 1 N/A pp. 1 -5 Will the Government clarify whether an offeror will be permitted to submit multiple technologies (e.g., 1, 2 up to 3 different manufacturers on one submittal)?

Offerors may submit multiple technologies, but each technology proposed must be in a separate proposal.

3 Draft Attachment_3 - IDIQ_Pricing_Template_Total Evaluated Price 13APR20

N/A N/A Would the Government clarify whether there will be a maximum quantity? Will the Government also clarify whether a supplier can submit a successful bid for a certain manufacturer--and can said manufacturer also bid and obtain an award for the same product?

The maximum quantity is specified in the RFP, Section 1.3, paragraph (c) as 50,000 units.

A supplier and a manufacturer can propose the same product.

4 CLIN 0002 - Training; CLIN 0003 – Maintenance Technician Training, etc.

/ DRAFT SF 1449

N/A pp. 3 -4 Will the Government clarify whether OEM Certifications will be required for Service and Training? OEM Certifications are required for any Service and Maintenance Training.

5 CLIN 0002 - Training; CLIN 0003 – Maintenance Technician Training, etc.

/ DRAFT SF 1449

N/A pp. 3 -4 Will the Government clarify whether offerors will be required to have historical references for Train the Trainer and OEM certifications?

Historical references for Train the Trainer and OEM Certifications are not required, but are encouraged to support the Offeror's demonstration of knowledge, understanding, and technical ability of the Government's objective.

6 Draft Attach 4 - Bailment N/A pp. 1 -5 With the Federal Government clarify what will happen to the supplied loaner units (e.g., will the Government return the units or keep them)?

Government will return the units.

7 Page 1 / DRAFT SF 1449 N/A pp. 1 There is not currently a NAICS code assigned to the procurement. If one of the awardees is slated to be a small business, is it the Government's intent to obtain small business credit for each order?

NAICS Code: 334519 – Other Measuring and Controlling Device Manufacturing (Small Business Size Standard – 500 employees). Yes that is the government's intent.

8 N/A N/A N/A Will the Government clarify whether there be a kitting requirement for rapid deployment (with built in charging ports for the cases)?

No. Offerors were asked to price all of the accessories – chargers, cables, etc. There is no requirement for pelican cases with cut outs for charging cables.

PRDs usually use disposable batteries or if charging stations are needed, this would be for office charging.

9 Draft RFP STC PRD 14APR20_Final.pdf 1 2 (Paragraph above 1.4): Under the annual task order competition, is it possible that an awardee can be under-bid and lose contract value?

During annual task order competition. Vendors are allowed to submit discounts on their initial pricing. The government will award a higher percentage of the annual PRD buy to the lowest priced vendor.

10 Draft RFP STC PRD 14APR20_Final.pdf 1.3 (c) 1 Is it possible for one manufacturer to be awarded more than one order of 20K units (multiple IDIQs)? We do not anticipate allotting more than 12,000 PRDs annually to one vendor.

11 Draft Attachment 1 - Requirements_06APR20.pdf

SL-26 9 Is it possible to offer a PRD set-up software on an operating system other than PC-based Windows 10 (i.e., Android)?

PRD set up software must be compatible with Windows 10. The use of Android OS for PRD set up software could be in addition to the Windows requirement.

12 Draft Attachment 1 - Requirements_06APR20.pdf

SL-27 10 The threshold/objective column does not mention what the existing CWMD STC mobile applications are; can the Govt confirm if this is an "and" or an "or"?

Please refer to the first question/answer on this spreadsheet.

13 Draft Attachment 1 - Requirements_06APR20.pdf

SL-27 10 Will the Govt provide mobile app PRD connectivity documentation (data, authentication, connection, protocol, etc.)

as part of the final RFP package?

This will depend on the STC app development timeline. At this point, the response would be no.

14 Draft Attachment 1 - Requirements_06APR20.pdf

SL-27 10 In the requirement : "Adapt their PRD data feed for use with existing CWMD STC mobile applications and near real time data transmission protocols, when available." Will the Govt provide access to this mobile app or corresponding documentation for the final RFP?

No. This is not available at this time.

15 Draft Attachment 1 - Requirements_06APR20.pdf

SL-27 10 Can the Govt provide description information about the interface IoT model and messaging protocol? No. This is not available at this time.

16 Draft Attachment 1 - Requirements_06APR20.pdf

SL-29 12 Is a functional training application a deliverable for proposal submission? Yes.

17 Draft Attachment 1 - Requirements_06APR20.pdf

SL-29 12 Can the Govt provide details (file format, scoring method, etc.) about how student training scores are reported upon completion of the app training?

Each region will provide a bank of test questions to be used in rotation (10 or 20 at a time), in the training application. The test will be scored as a fraction of correct questions answered out of the total number of questions. The method of reporting this will vary with each region. For example, some regions use Google services behind their city firewalls and will provide an email address of a training manager. The user would sign in or provide their name, email in the test portion of the app. The user's score should be sent to the email address of the manager/supervisor upon completion of the test.

18 Draft Attachment 1 - Requirements_06APR20.pdf

SL-29 12 Does the training application require an internet connection to transmit training scores? Yes.

19 Draft Attachment 1 - Requirements_06APR200.pdf:

Product Samples

Draft Attachment 4 Bailment Agreement

(d)

9.4.2 Vol 1

(48)

(57)

There appears to be a conflict in the submission of test units:

In The Draft RFP document, page 48, (d) Product Samples, "the test units shall be submitted with the offerors proposal" On page 57, PRD Test Units, "The Government will contact each Offeror that passes the Technical Acceptability Review (TAR) (see RFP section 10.1.3 for details) and request that eight (8) PRD test units, complete with all accessories necessary for the devices to function and be maintained (with complete set, kit and outfit), be provided (loaned) at no cost to the Government via a bailment agreement, which will be signed by the Offeror. The Offeror will provide 8 PRD test units with their proposal."

Please clarify when the test samples shall be submitted.

There is a conflict in the draft RFP. The correct requirement is that the test units shall be submitted with and at the time of the proposal. The bailment agreement provides details for where to ship the test units.

20 Attachment 1 SL-6 Rate of False Alrm, Requirement Section 2 Is it expected that a level of two false alarms in a low stable environment with no ability to filter out NORM or background variations, will result in an acceptable level of false alarms in eight hours in a realistic city background environment?

The program has adopted the ANSI N42.32 false alarm specification as the maximum acceptable false alarm rate the program will accept.

Government Response to Questions - Draft RFP Securing the Cities (STC) Personal Radiation Detectors (PRD) - 70RWMD20R00000003

21 Attachment 1 SL-15 Mechanical Drop, Requirement Section 5 The ANSI PRD standard for the drop test is 1.5m (4.5ft onto a hard surface). Is there a specific reason for the notation in this specification that only a 1ft drop is required? This lower than ANSI standard protection level would not ensure the PRD survival from a drop from the waist or table height.

The program acknowledges that the required survivable drop height is less than that specified in N42.32. However, this is the requirement for this program.

22 Attachment 1 SL-27 Smart Phone Applications for Near Real Time Data Transmission (Android 8.0 and higher) and/or be required to adapt their PRD data feed for use with existing CWMD STC mobile applications and near real time data transmission protocols, when available.

10 For Vendor supplied applications, when will the interface protocol be released? How will vendors validate that the apps work with the CWMD Platform prior to receipt of order?

The Government does not have an estimated date for this yet.

When the application is ready, the Government will contact vendors to arrange testing.

23 Draft SF1449, Section 2.4.2 Government Review and Approval of Training Content and Material

5 Do you require that the Operator Training Materials abide by the same deadline: 45 Days in advance prior to scheduled training, and 14 days in advance of the scheduled training for the final draft?

Yes, the Government will review Operator Training Materials on the same timeline as the Maintenance Technician training materials.

24 Draft SF1449, Section 2.4.3 Interactive Manual and Training 6 When does the government require that the training application must be delivered? Is the Vendor or Government responsible for approving trainee access to the application?

The training application shall be delivered with the proposal. The Government is responsible for approving trainee access to the application. A list of names should be provided to the STC PMO for approval. If the app. is in a public app. Store, the approved trainees should be required to input a passcode to activate the application, to prevent unwanted access to the application.

25 Draft SF1449, Section 7.1 Reporting Requirements 15 Will this be an undetermined level of reporting, or will you request reports at a determined frequency: monthly, quarterly, semi-annually, or annually?

The reporting will be on a quarterly basis.

26 Draft SF1449, Section 7.7 Enterprise Architecture Requirements 17 Can you provide the referenced models? What is the timeline? The government will continue to seek an answer and provide before RFP release.

27 Draft SF1449, Section 9.4.2 Operator/User Training and Train-the-Trainer Training

58 How many training sessions are you requesting per year? How many days are required for each session? A specific number per year is not specified. Sec 9.4.3.1 pg 61 specifies that" all training shall be based on one day (8 hours) of training for up to 25 students." However, actual training should be concise, take as little time as necessary to adequately convey the material.

28 Draft SF1449, Section 9.4.2 Maintenance Technician Training 59 How many training sessions are you requesting for per year? A specific number per year is not specified. Proposals shall include pricing on a per class basis.

29 Draft SF1449, Section 9.4.2 Maintenance Technician Training 59 Will the training be centralized in Lorton or STC cities discretion? Training will be for and at STC locations. RFP Section 9.4.2 specifies for planning and proposal purposes, assume training will occur in Denver, CO.

30 Draft SF1449, 10.1 Evaluation Criteria and Basis for Award 63 The requirement states down selecting to 3 to 5 models based on best value. Can you embellish on the decision drivers at the local level? Will there be any involvement from the end user as to what model they eventually field?

Will there be a process in which they will evaluate the offerings before making their actual selection? Is there is a mechanism to provide a compliment of demos to each of the cities?

No.

31 General N/A N/A Legacy STC cities have at times created their own sustainment program which encompasses preventative maintenance and calibration. Will each city set up a calibration lab or could they opt to select a support plan from the manufacturer?

PRDs will be considered consumables. There will be no requirement or funding from CWMD for annual calibrations.

32 General N/A N/A How will legacy STC cities be handled? Since they are fully integrated and vested with a specific PRD model will they be funded outside of this program?

Legacy cities will be purchasing their PRDs with FY20 funds through their usual state and local procurement mechanisms. After this, they will be provided with PRDs via the CWMD centralized purchasing process which this RFP is a part of.

33 General All All Proposal documents are marked with "draft". Should we expect a final version? Yes, the anticipated final RFP release date is May 28, 2020

34 Draft+Attachment+1+- +Requirements_06APR20;

Draft+RFP+STC+PRD+14APR20_Final

SL-27 10 Is the app required with instrument at time of proposal submission as instructed in dRFP p 67 o 75, Section Interactive Manual and Training- "Offeror’s are instructed to provide the smart phone applications required by SL-27 and 28 with their device(s) as part of their proposal submission" or required to be delivered as cited in Attachment 1 Requirements, SL-27 Clarification- Android app must be available upon receipt of order

Application is required at time of proposal submission.

35 Draft+RFP+STC+PRD+14APR20_Final 2.3; 5.2 10; 16 Section 2.3 States: CWMD has a total potential requirement for up to 100,000 Personal Radiation Detectors (PRD) over 10 years in support of State, Tribal, and Territorial, and Local agencies. Section 5.2 States: The IDIQ shall consist of a five (5)-year ordering period.

Task Orders may be placed at any time during the 5-year contract period. Is the POP for the IDIQ 5 yrs, or 10?

The current RFP is for a multiple-award IDIQ for a 5-year ordering period. There will be another procurement for Phase II in the future.

36 DRAFT+SF1449+RFP+70RWMD20R000

00003_P00001_14APR20

CLIN 004 4 Are there requirements to data rights DHS is requiring with provisioning of data traditionally in proprietary technical data packages of COTS products or are OEMs to propose their own? Is it correct that these items within CLIN 0004 are not included within the total evaluated pricing Draft+Attachment_3+- +IDIQ_Pricing_Template_Total+Evaluated+Price+13APR20?

Offerors should specify the data rights associated with any proposed Data Item. The items in CLIN 0004 are not included in the Total Evaluated Price; however, the Government will evaluate the price based on both price reasonableness analysis and balanced pricing.

37 General Can DHS provide a timeline for when dRFP will be finalized? And when awards will be placed following testing of bailment deliveries?

The RFP shall be finalized in May 2020 and the estimated award date is September 2020.

38 General Is it DHS' intent to have 70RWMD20R00000003 be a Small Business Set Aside? DHS is reserving the right to issue a small business reserve for one of the multiple-award IDIQs shall they be deemed capable of meeting our requirements. Authority to utilize a small business reserve is detailed under FAR 52.219-31 Notice of Small Business Reserve and FAR 52.219-32 Orders Issued Directly Under Small Business Reserves. Under this clause the Contracting Officer has the discretion to reserve a percentage of the PRD buy for small business manufacturers or small business distributors who are providing PRDs from another domestic small business distributor.

39 General Will the slides be shared via SAM? Yes, the pre-solicitation conference slides will be uploaded to beta.sam.gov.

40 General Is smart phone app required? A smart phone training application is required in both iOS and Android OS. A mobile application to transfer data from the PRD to an Android OS (8.0 or higher), via Bluetooth 4.0 LTE or later is also required.

41 General Given COVID, is CWMD wanting remote training? No, not at this time for the basic maintenance training. Given the projected timelines for procurement, the Government expects to be able to schedule in person trainings, as needed in the later part of 2021.

42 General Are vendors required to submit an app? A smart phone training application is required in both iOS and Android OS. A mobile application to transfer data from the PRD to an Android OS (8.0 or higher), via Bluetooth 4.0 LTE or later is also required.

43 General Please confirm: Manufacturers are able to submit a PRD app but it is not required. Both the training app (iOS and Android) and the data transmission app (Android only) are now required at the time of submission.

44 General Can an vendor offer multiple PRDs? Yes. Each PRD offered must be submitted in a separate proposal.

45 General Will the percentage of manufacturing conducted in the U.S. be a factor in award selection? The percentage of manufacturing conducted in the U.S. is a factor in the award selection shall the Contracting Officer decide to reserve one of the multiple-award IDIQ contracts for a small business concern indentified under FAR 19.000(a)(3) pursuant to FAR 52.219-31 and FAR 52.219-32. To qualify as a small business concern under FAR 52.219-31 and 52.219-32, an entity must identify as a small business manufacturer of the PRD or a small business distributor of a PRD manufactured by another domestic small business manufacturer.

46 General Will the cost of additional warranty years be a factor in PRD cost comparison and award selection Yes. CLIN 0012 permits vendors to provide pricing for addition extended warranties as applicable. For example, one-year, two-year, and three-year warranty prices will be listed under this CLIN.

The government will evaluated this CLIN for fair and reasonableness.

47 General Can you share an expected award date and first deliverable ETA? The anticipated award date is September 2020. The Post award conference shall take place 7 days after award and the first deliverable, training material, shall be provided within 45 days of the scheduled training.

48 General Will CWMD specify integration software required for mobile app? The mobile app to transmit data must be supplied by the vendor.

The mobile app should run on an Android OS 8.0 or later (as stated in the RTM). There is no integration software required for the vendor's mobile app to function on an Android mobile device.

49 General What data will need to be submitted to CWMD as part of the mobile application? Since the STC mobile app will eventually be what is used for operations, the vendor's app just needs to demonstrate the ability to transmit data (via the accepted Bluetooth protocols) from the PRD to the app. The minimum data for demonstration of the ability to transmit is time, date, and PRD measurement readings.

50 General Can a vendor be awarded more than once? With different PRDs? Yes, please submit a separate proposal for each PRD being proposed.

51 General Is the Windows-based setup app required at the time of proposal or upon delivery of PRDs? Yes, some form of Windows based set up is required at the time of proposal. The app should allow an operator to connect the PRD, see the serial number, health status of detect, current measurement readings, time, date and all operational parameters of the PRD, at a minimum. The app should allow the operator to set parameters and push those values to the PRD. The set of parameters should be savable as a configuration file of some type, which can be saved, named and then used to load to other PRDs. If the vendor is still developing this tool, they should deliver the minimum stated here and make note of what their plans are for further development.

52 General Will the mobile app be stored on a commercial app store or private app store? No. The STC mobile app will not be available in a commercial app store.

53 General If STC can provide the desired content of the inventory control stickers, that would be helpful in preparing units for evaluation

The inventory control sticker should contain a QR code and should text that reads, "STC Region". The QR code should reference the following information: make and model of PRD, serial number of PRD, name of a local agency, address of local agency. Vendor should just use an example of any local agency to complete the fields for local agency information. Specifics of content to reference with QR code may vary, per region, but this what is stated here is a common example.

54 General Can new and refurbished PRDs be submitted under one proposal. No, please submit new and refurished PRDs under separate proposals.

Question and Comment Template

File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .