Government Response to Questions - STC PRD RFP P00001 05AUG20.pdf

PDF 109 KB Posted

Attached to
70RWMD20R00000003 - Securing the Cities (STC) Personal Radiation Detectors (PRD)
Solicitation number
70RWMD20R00000003
Issued by

About this file

This document contains responses to industry questions regarding a request for proposal for personal radiation detectors. The Department of Homeland Security seeks to award multiple indefinite delivery, indefinite quantity contracts to a minimum of three and maximum of five vendors. The contracts would have a five-year ordering period to provide up to 14,000 personal radiation detectors annually for the Securing the Cities program. Pricing is required for units priced between 500 and 12,000 detectors, with individual order amounts between a minimum of 500 and maximum of 12,000 units. Additional requirements include operator training, data items, repair services, and compliance with configuration management procedures. The response clarifies minimum order guarantees of 10% of the annual buy for each awardee and extends the proposal due date to August 18, 2020.

View the file

Other files

File Type Posted
70RWMD20R00000003 SF30_P00001 05AUG20_FE.pdf PDF
Attachment 4 - Bailment Agreement- 05AUG20.pdf PDF
Attachment 2 - IDIQ_Pricing_Template.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
RFP STC PRD.pdf PDF
Attachment 1 - Requirements.pdf PDF
Attachment 6 - NDA Template 70RWMD20R00000003 STC PRD.pdf PDF
SF1449 RFP 70RWMD20R00000003.pdf PDF
Attachment 3 - IDIQ_Pricing_Template_Weighted Evaluated Price.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
Attachment 5 - STC PRD Questions Template.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
Attachment 4 - Bailment Agreement.pdf PDF
CRB CONTINUATION OF SF1449 - 70RWMD20R00000003 STCPRD.pdf PDF
Govt Response to Draft STC PRD Questions_70RWMD20R00000003 P00002.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
Govt Response to Draft STC PRD Questions_70RWMD20R00000003 P00001.pdf PDF
Govt Response to Draft STC PRD Questions_70RWMD20R00000003 12MAY20.pdf PDF
STC PRD pre-solicitation conference_05MAY20.pdf PDF
DRAFT SF1449 RFP 70RWMD20R00000003_P00001_14APR20.pdf PDF
Draft RFP STC PRD 14APR20_Final.pdf PDF
Draft Attachment 1 - Requirements_06APR20.pdf PDF
Draft Attachment_2 - IDIQ_Pricing_Template_13APR20.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
DRAFT SF1449 RFP 70RWMD20R00000003_14APR20_FINAL.pdf PDF
Draft Attachment_3 - IDIQ_Pricing_Template_Total Evaluated Price 13APR20.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
Draft Attachment 6 - NDA Template 70RWMD20R00000003 STC PRD.pdf PDF
Draft Attachment 5 - STC PRD Questions Template.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
Draft Attachment 4 - Bailment Agreement 14APR20.pdf PDF
Show all 24

On GovTribe

Work with this file

  • Download the original file
  • Contacts named in this file
  • Similar government files
  • Ask GovTribe AI about this file

Text version

Number Section / Attachment Paragraph Page Number Question Government Response 1 Section 1 (1.3) and Sec

VIII(8.2)

pg 23 and 31 We found two types of product origin requirements, which, under certain circumstances, may become applicable to PRDs manufactured and supplied under a multiple award IDIQ contemplated in the RFP:

1) On page 23 FAR Sec. 52.225-5 incorporated by reference makes TAA-countries origin required for the PRDs;

2) On page 31 FAR Sec. 52.219-33 requires that PRDs manufactured and supplied under orders set-aside for small business concerns (which is one of your possible contracting scenarios described on page 1-2) have to be manufactured or produced by a small business manufacturer in the U.S. or its outlying areas.

Since final price of offered PRDs can significantly depend on where and how end product is manufactured (TAA country or the U.S.), can you please clarify what will be the required product origin for the purpose of this RFP?

To qualify for the small business reserve portion of the multiple-award contract, small businesses shall be the manufacturer of the PRDs provided. Pursuant to FAR 19.505(c)(1)(i) , if a small business wishes to compete under the small-business reserve and they are not the manufacturer of the PRDs proposed, they must propose PRD devices of a U.S. or outlying area Small Business Manufacturer. This does not apply to the unrestricted portion of the reserve. If a Small Business provides PRDs from a Small Business Manufacturer that manufactuers PRDs outside of the U.S or its outlying areas, their proposal will compete under the unrestricted portion of the RFP.

2 SECTION IX – INSTRUCTIONS,

CONDITIONS, & NOTICES TO

OFFERORS

8 47 Is it acceptable for offerors to submit the FAR report (as generated by SAM.gov) for their company in lieu of "(8) A completed copy of the representations and certifications at FAR 52.212-3 (see FAR 52.212-3(b) for those representations and certifications that the Offeror shall complete electronically)"?

Yes

3 9.4.4 Volume II - Price Proposal

All 60-61 Pricing requirements in the final RFP do not match the line items in the pricing templates (e.g., pricing template line items for drawings, ad hoc reports). Can the government please specify which requirements should be priced in Volume II?

Vendors should submit pricing for CLINs 0001 -0013 on Attachment 2 - IDIQ Pricing Template. CLIN 0001's total unit price should include the price of the PRD, 2-year warranty, carrying/case/holster/attachment method, any accessories necessary for basic operation and maintenance of the device, and operator manual in the form of a smart phone application. Breakout a list of each of the mentioned items above, without including unit prices for each to notate all of the items and accessories being proposed with the cost of a PRD shall be completed in CLIN 0001A - CLIN 0001E as applicable. For example, CLIN 0001A - PRD, CLIN 0001B - 2-year warranty, CLIN 0001C -carrying/case/holster/attachmend method, etc.) Vendors pricing for CLIN one of attachment 2 should match that of Attachment 3 - Weight Evaluated Price.

4 FACTOR 3: TRAINING 1 60 Given current pandemic conditions and possible quarantine requirements, will the government consider virtual classroom-style training in the event of travel / hosting restrictions?

Yes. The government has requested unit pricing for classroom and video conference training and will transition to a virtual conference training as needed.

For example, CLIN 0002A Operator/User Training and CLIN 0002B Operator/User Training - Video Conference. Whether in-class or virtual, Offerors shall provide training plan that includes instructions for one (8 hour) class for up to 25 students.

5 1.3 Contract Minimum/Maximum

1 1 Would the government please confirm that based on the number of possible awardees, the maximum award percentage for any one vendor is as follows:

3 awardees = 80% maximum of total to single vendor 4 awardees = 70% maximum of total to single vendor 5 awardees = 60% maximum of total to single vendor

That is correct.

6 Att 1 - Requirements SL-27 10 Will the government provide communication protocols and connection instructions to connect to the CWMD STC server?

Not at this time. The STC mobile application is still in development and it is not possible to provide all of the requirements for integration. The requirements in Attachment 1 to the RFP provide the minimum needed for the PRDs to become compliant with DHS Enterprise Architecture policies, standards, and procedures.

The offerors are expected to meet the thresholds of those requirements at time of proposal. If the vendor-supplied PRD app meets the requirements in the RTM, that will be sufficient to pass this part of the requirement. Full integration and compliance with DHS EA policies, standards, and procedures as a part of the architectures is dependent upon integration with the STC mobile application.

When it is completed, the vendor(s) will be required to make any necessary changes to ensure that their PRD is compatible with it. The Government will work with vendors to ensure required changes are made and integration is successful within the terms of the contract.

7 FAR 52.216-19 Order Limitations (Oct 1995)

(a) and (b) 29 It appears the unit quantities have not been updated since the Draft RFP (this section cites 12,000). Will the government confirm this should read 14,000?

The minimum order amount (500) and maximum order amount (12,000) is different than the total anticipated amount (14,000) of PRDs to be procured annually. PRD prices for unit quantities of 500 - 12,000 will be included in the total evaluated price per section 9.4.3.1 of the RFP. The Government requests pricing for up to 14,000 units as stated in section 1.3 of the RFP but reserves the right to procure up to or less than 14,000 PRDs annually. Regardless of the number of PRDs procured annually, the Government does not anticipate ordering more than 12,000 PRD units from one vendor on an annual basis.

8 Sections 1.3 and 10.1 Jan-63 Section 1.3 (a) (pg.1) states, “The minimum guaranteed amount for each IDIQ contract awardee is 10% of every annual buy,” and Section 10.1 states, “The Government has no contractual obligation to issue Orders beyond the guaranteed minimum of 10% of the annual PRD buy” [i.e., 1,400] (pg. 63). Therefore, should the minimum annual quantity now be 1,400? If the Government were to order 1,400 units, would the 10% minimum quantity for each awardee then be 140 units?

No, the minimum guaranteed amount for each IDIQ contract awardee is 10% of every annual buy but the annual PRD quantity may fluctuate based on the annual PRD buy at the task order level The government intends to purchase up to 14,000 PRD annually but reserves the right to procure less than 14,000 PRDs.

Regardless of the number of PRDs procured annually, each IDIQ awardee will be guaranteed 10% of the annual PRD buy. If the government had a need to procure 10,000 PRDs in one year, a minimum 10% (1,000 units) would be procured from each of the 3-5 IDIQ contract awardees. Greater percentages of the remaining annual buy would be given to lower priced offerors.

9 FACTOR 2 Price 2 and 3 60-61 There are several 1-12,000 unit quantity references from the draft RFP in the current final RFP. Should this be 1-14,000?

See response to question #7 above.

Response to Industry Questions Request for Proposal (RFP) - Securing the Cities (STC) Personal Radiation Detectors (PRD) - 70RWMD20R00000003

10 General question n/a n/a Does the government anticipate annual purchases in excess of 14,000 for any given IDIQ year?

No.

11 General question n/a n/a Is the government planning to issue an amended RFP with updated minimum/maximum annual quantities?

Not at this time. The minimum (500) / maximum (12,000) annual quantities will remain unchanged.

12 RFP STC PRD 2.4.1 Personal Radiation Detector

4 What do you mean by submit an operator manual in the form of a smart phone application?

Reference SL-28. Government requires the user/operator manual to be accessible/readable on a mobile device.

13 RFP STC PRD PRD Test Units 59 Do you need the the 8 PRD test units shipped or delivered by August 14th? In the Final RFP, the tracking information is required to be included in the Bailment Agreement, and the Bailment Agreement is due with the proposal on August 14th. Can you please clarify?

The proposal due date has been extended to Tuesday August 18, 2020 at 5:00 PM Eastern Time (ET). Therefore, PRDs are required to be delivered by Aug 18, 2020. Tracking information for the shipment at a minimum is required in the bailment agreement so the Government can resolve any issues if devices have not been received. However, per instructions in the bailment agreement, offerors are required to coordinate directly with the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory point of contact 15 days prior to the due date. Providing shipping tracking information as soon as available to PNNL as part of that coordination is recommended and encouraged.

14 RFP STC PRD 10.1 Evaluation Criteria and Basis for Award

62 If a Small Business is selected, how will it impact the volume for large businesses? In the RFP, it states that each contract holder will be guaranteed a minimum of 10% of the annual PRD buy with larger percentages given to offerors with the lower priced proposals. How does a small business contract holder impact the volume of units?

The government cannot curently anticipate the impact of a small business IDIQ contract awardee. Regardless of busines size, each IDIQ contract awardee will be guaranteed at least 10% of the annual PRD at the task order level.

15 Attachment 2 - IDIQ Pricing CLIN 0004 - Data Items

CLIN 0004E -

Configuration Items List

What is the expectation of the change of use for PRD Configuration Settings? The expectation for CLIN 00004e is that the offeror will provide a list of hardware components, software, and/or firmware that when changed may affect the performance of the unit. If these Configuration Items (CI) are changed it will cause configuration management concern, must be reported to the government and any change be approved (RFP, Sec 7.9). Settings and user interfaces (i.e., detection thresholds, menu functions hidden vs allowed, etc.)

that can be changed within the software/firmware are considered functions of the software/firmware and not CI.

16 Attachment 2 - IDIQ Pricing CLINs 0006 A-Z (Example Parts below)

CLIN 0007

Engineering Services (per hour)

What is the expectation of the corrective repair services (per hour, per day, per unit, etc.)? RFP, sec 9.4.3, Product Descriptions, requires the offeror to provide a technical description of their corrective repair services. Description should include the cost consideration for repairs including shipping, diagnostics, parts and technician labor rate. Costs of corrective repairs will vary based on the extent of the repair and required parts. CLIN 0011, Corrective Repair, should be the cost of repair, less parts, on a per unit per event basis.

17 RFP Section 2 2.4.1 4 The Government states that "The contractor will update the Operator Manual (smart phone application) based on feedback from users, as needed."

Please verify that Operator manual updates to include smart phone applications are to be conducted IAW instructions for revisions to training materials as cited in Section 5.6, or please provide another applicable schedule and requirements for these modifications?

If the government determines an update to the operator manual is required/recommended, it will coordinate the scope of the change and schedule on a case by case basis.

18 RFP Section 2 2.4.1 4 Please provide clarification on how offerors will obtain approval and anticipated timeline for acceptance for the inventory control stickers? Are these provided as government-furnished equipment/information?

Inventory control stickers are not GFE, but expected to be provided by the offeror. Final approval will be determined in collaboration with the STC stakeholders after the award has been made. For the proposal a description of the sticker, placement on the PRD, and data to be included on the sticker/associated with the QR code must be included in response to SL-30 (RFP, Attachment 1). Stickers can and are encouraged to be provided on the PRDs submitted for testing, if available. See answer to Question 19 for further guidance.

19 RFP Section 2 2.4.1 4 Please provide clarification on the size (length and width) of the inventory control stickers? This will depend on the dimensions and design of the PRD. It should contain a QR code and state "Property of the STC Program". The QR code should be associated with: serial number of the PRD, a local agency name and address/state/zip code. The actual data associated with the QR code will be determined in collaboration with the STC stakeholders after the award has been made. This task is simply to demonstrate that the vendor can provide a QR code associated with specified data and provide a sticker that securely adheres to the PRD. In the past, existing standard vendor labels and art work, have had to be redesigned or moved on the PRD, to accommodate an STC label or sticker.

20 RFP Section 2 2.4.2 5 What is the frequency anticipated/required for the three levels of training: operator/user, train the trainer, and maintenance training each year?

A specific number per year is not specified. STC Program will not utilize operator/user, train the trainer training but other DHS entities may. Proposals shall include pricing on a per class basis. Sec 9.4.3.1 pg. 61 specifies that" all training shall be based on one day (8 hours) of training for up to 25 students."

However, actual training should be concise, take as little time as necessary to adequately convey the material.

21 RFP Section 2 2.4.2 6 Please provide clarification on the required delivery of the interactive manuals and training with bailment units and within contract deliverables? Would providing it and instructions on Google Play be acceptable? Or would the Government prefer the offeror to submit it on a CD with the PRD delivery?

The Interactive manuals and training application shall be delivered at time of proposal submittal. The means of delivery is not specified and any means will be acceptable that allows the government to load the application(s) on a applicable mobile device. Providing it and instructions on Google Play or on CD with the PRDs are acceptable. However, ensure it is clear in the proposal how it is to be delivered and where the government can obtain the applications.

22 RFP Section 2 7.1 14 Are the quarterly IDIQ reports to be submitted according to the calendar quarter or at the end of quarter after contract award?

Quarterly IDIQ reports will be submitted starting 90 days after contract award, then quarterly (every 90 days) based on the contract award date.

23 Attachment 1 & RFP Section 2 SL-3 & 2.4.2 4 In the Attachment 1 Requirements, it states in SL-3 The PRD shall have gamma detectors only. In the RFP document, section 2.4.2, under Operator/User Training, the RFP states “Recognize and understand alarms/notifications (specifically address gamma and neutron detection alerts and safety alarms)”. Can the Government provide clarification on this inconsistency?

The PRD shall have only gamma detection, no neutron detection. Disregard the reference to neutron detection alerts in section 2.4.2.

24 RFP Section 7 7.9 17 Is there a requirement reference for the 'configuration control process'? If so, please provide to the offerors to review or provide clarification that this will be managed under contract on an as needed basis.

This will be managed under contract on an as needed basis.

25 RFP, Attachment 1 SL-29 12 The requirement SL-29 states that "Tracking process shall be compatible with and/or able to export compatible files to DHS/CWMD/STC's student tracking application." Can the Government provide clarification on what constitutes a compatible file?

The data must be able to be exported to a .csv file. Some type of location information is necessary in the file. This could be lat/long, agency address, etc.

Question and Comment Template

File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .