RFP_Questions_and_Responses_A03-01_through_A03-23.pdf
PDF 104 KB Posted
- Solicitation number
- NNK17592924R
View the file
Other files
Show all 16
On GovTribe
Work with this file
- Download the original file
- Contacts named in this file
- Similar government files
- Ask GovTribe AI about this file
Text version
QUESTION
REFERENCE QUESTION EXPLANATIONS & MODIFICATIONS
A03-01 General
Can KSC provide the number of CPU sockets, CPU cores, Processor Frequency and amount of memory so that bidders can estimate replacement costs for failed equipment or system refresh?
The offeror should refer to Kennedy Data Center IAS Data, Revision 2in Bidder's Library.
A03-02 General
Can KSC provide the software architecture data for each of the applications listed in
Appendix E? Specifically, we are looking to understand how the applications are distributed over the VMs and other servers identified in bidder's library data. This is key to accurately calcluating the touch labor and data center management activities.
The offeror should propose their approach to the distribution of applications to virtual machines and other servers. The Government will not establish any further relationship or mapping between applications and hosting infrastructure. In addition to the documents already contained in the Bidders Library, a new document has been added titled "IAS
Statistics."
A03-03 General
Can KSC identify what material items in the bidder's library are actively being used and which are spares/on the shelf items? Based on the Dec 1st walk through, it is clear that a large portion of equipment is inactive. This data can greatly affect bid price and assumptions which will affect KSC's ability to compare submissions.
The material inventory was updated in 2015 to remove approximately 12,000 line items that had no transactional history for the prior 24 months. If a line item was known to be needed in the future, it was kept. The resulting approximately 3,000 line items of material represent what the incumbent considered "active" material.
A03-04 General
Based on Q&A responses Maximo is only being used by Communications. Can KSC identify the current process and software that IMCS currently using for service desk support of the KDC? This information is critical to business case assessments related to
OSC consolidation.
The Government was unable to find a Q&A response to "Maximo is only being used by
Communications." However, a similar reference on iKCMS was found in question D-088.
Maximo is currently used to meet multiple PWS requirements. However, IMCS is not using Maximo Service Desk in support of KDC at this time. It is the offerors responsibility to propose an approach to meet the KIAC requirements.
A03-05
Attachment J-01, Performance
Work Statement
(PWS), 2.0.Q
In reference to "Procure all required maintenance agreements, licenses, leases, software and hardware to provide products and services." Can KSC please clarify the usage of
GFE hardware and software licensing and maintenance vs. CFE hardware and software licensing and maintenance? PWS 2.0.Q indicates all licensing and maintenance must be provided by the bidder. PWS 2.1.Q and 1.0 sections relative to attachment J-07 conflict with the referenced statement by stating certain software and hardware is provided as
GFE, but does not specify whether it is license and/or maintenance. Can KSC provide:
1) a list of GFE software and licenses that are available for KIAC, and 2) what licenses and maintenance are available to KIAC through Attachment J-07 Services? This data can greatly affect bid price and assumptions which will affect KSC's ability to compare submissions.
The Government has provided a list of what is in use as of April 2016. The offeror should refer to the "Software Licensing.pdf" document in the Bidder's Library. Attachment J-07, Government-Furnished Services, does identify that "Licensing for Maximo, TechDoc, and
KDDMS" is provided by the Government. See RFP Amendment 03 for clarification on
PWS 2.0 and the addition of EPACS licensing to Attachment J-07.
A03-06
Attachment J-01, Performance
Work Statement
(PWS), 2.1.Q
In reference to "Utilize the Government-provided Maximo system as the authoritative record of work performed for all contract requirements." Appendix D shows Maximo modules that are currently utilized, but does not show what modules are available.
Relative to PWS 2.1.Q, Maximo is the name of the IBM product suite. There are a number of features and aggregated options that can be considered under the Maximo suite name (Control Desk, EZMaxMobile, etc...). Can KSC provide a list of Maximo modules it can provide as GFE? This will allow a more accurate determination of additional features that are in fact GFE, and clarify what a prospective bidder might need to purchase.
See RFP Amendment 03, Attachment J-07, Government-Furnished Services,which revises the "Description" column for "IT Systems and Support Services" to specify the Maximo license being furnished.
A03-07 General
In reference to "Materials_As-of-08-31-2016.pdf" This bidders' library document provides a list of benchstock and other items at a cost of ~ $8M. Can KSC provide utilization rates of these materials so bidders can provide comparable responses? This data can greatly affect bid price and assumptions which will affect KSC's ability to compare submissions.
No. As of Oct 1, 2015, all elements of the IMCS contract had been converted to firm fixed price, the Government has no access to usage rates of any materials since that time.
REFERENCE QUESTION EXPLANATIONS & MODIFICATIONS
A03-08
Attachment J-07, Government-
Furnished
Services
In reference to "- Final IT System Security Plan Security Assessment Report (SAR) from the independent Security, Test & Evaluation (ST&E), will KSC provide the Independent
ST&E evaluators, or does KSC expect the bidder to provide independent ST&E resources or is this context not applicable to KIAC?
Security, Test & Evaluation (ST&E) evaluators are provided by NASA as identified in
Attachment J-07, Government-Furnished Services.
A03-09
Attachment J-07, Government-
Furnished
Services
In reference to "- NASA Continuous Diagnostics and Mitigation (CDM) tools to facilitate patch management and reporting, application whitelisting and conduct network vulnerability assessments," Can KSC clarify if the CDM tools will provide patch delivery or just provide patch monitoring of systems? If patch delivery is included is the bidder expected to provide deployment ready patches or will the CDM system provide deployment ready patches? If the bidder must provide the patches, what product(s) and version(s) are being used for CDM so that appropriate skills to complete patch development can be identified.
CDM does not deliver patches, it provides patch monitoring and reporting. KIAC is responsible for all aspects in meeting PWS requirement 1.3. The specific tool utilized by the Government to perform vulnerability assesment does not have a direct correlation to meeting PWS requirement 1.3.
A03-10 General
In reference to "Software Licensing.pdf", software license counts and general product names were released without context. This list includes products that have not been previously identified. An example would be the SolarWinds products identified in
"iKCMS System Version.pdf". In addition, Windows Server versions do not match the number of systems identified in other PWS and bidders' library documentation. Can
KSC please define what systems this software currently supports?
The Government has provided a list of what is in use as of April 2016. Some items on this list are compulsory based on the Government's requirements (e.g., Sitecore), while others are specific to the incumbent's approach to meeting Government requirements on IMCS
(e.g., Symantec Backup Exec for Data Storage and Backup). The Windows Server versions and quantities will flucutate with the the offerors approach to meeting the
Government's requirements and the services ordered by the Government through the fixed-price catalog.
A03-11 General
In reference to "Software Licensing.pdf", how are the ID Networks Products currently being used?
The ID Networks products are used in conjunction with the Integrated Automated
Fingerprint Identification System (IAFIS) referenced in Appendix D, System Descriptions, section 3.1.23.
A03-12 General
In reference to "Software Licensing.pdf", The GFE lists and during Industry Day and
Property walk thru events there are a number of communication switches, routers and firewalls which we do not see corresponding licenses for in the software list. Can KSC please provide additional details so bidders can reconcile the missing data?
The Government is not aware of any licenses utilized for the communication switches, routers and firewalls currently in use.
A03-13
Attachment J-01, Performance
Work Statement
(PWS), 6.0
Within this document bidders are responsible for OTV, OIS-M, Timing, Imagery, iKCMS and UPS, but these positions are not explicitly included in the standard services.
Can KSC confirm where in Appendix M bidders should account for these services?
Offerors should refer to Appendix M, Service Catalog Descriptions, to determine the applicable PWS requirements, which are identified in the catalog offering for both the
Standard and Ancillary services.
A03-14
Attachment J-01, Performance
Work Statement
(PWS)
Attachment J-01 Performance Statement of Work identifies responsibility for servers, storage, networking equipment, etc., but there are a significant number of desktops, laptops, tablets, personal printers, external/portable hard drives, monitors on the
Attachment J-06 Government Furnished Equipment as well as significant Microsoft workstation operating systems and office products in the “Software Licensing.PDF” from the bidders library, but there is no corresponding PWS requirement to support these identified. Can KSC clarify the use/purpose of this equipment and under which PWS element it falls?
All of the equipment listed in Attachment J-06, Government-Furnished Property,is available based on the offeror's approach for use in the performance of contract requirements. The Government does not have a mapping by PWS element to the equipment listed in Attachment J-06, which provides all information available for the items listed.
A03-15
Attachment J-06, Government-
Furnished
Property
The Attachment J-06 Government Furnished Equipment identifies several Ice Machines and shredders listed as Contractor Replaceable, but it is unclear how this equipment is associated with PWS requirements. Can KSC identify the usage and PWS to which these items are applicable?
The ice machines are used in support of PWS 6.0 to provide ice for field workers exposed to unconditioned environments. The shredders are currently used to shred documents.
REFERENCE QUESTION EXPLANATIONS & MODIFICATIONS
A03-16
Attachment J-06, Government-
Furnished
Property
In reference to "CAGP - Contractor Replacable & IAGP - Contractor Replacable", This document identifies numerous servers, storage devices/arrays, and tape drives/libraries, from various manufacturers, through out the Center. A number of the server items are of sufficient age that they will not support approved operating systems, as identified in the
"Software Life Cycle.PDF". Further, there is insufficient detail to allow the offer to determine the fitness for service, function, or status (active/inactive) of this equipment.
Would the government please provide this information to allow the offeror to determine the business case to make a viable offering to the Government?
All server items currently support the minimum approved operating systems identified in
"Software Life Cycle.PDF." It is the offeror's responsibility to plan for any necessary hardware refresh to support the minimum approved operating systems identified in
"Software Life Cycle.PDF." The Government does not have any additional information beyond what was provided in Attachment J-06, Government-Furnished Property, that will allow the offeror to determine "fitness for service."
A03-17 General
As the government has not specified any close out, phase out or asset transition clauses, in the RFP, how does the government intend to address the potentially significant amount of KSC key infrastructure elements that will be the property of the contractor at the end of the contract?
See RFP Amendment 03, clause G.9, SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS REGARDING
SYSTEM COMPONENTS CLASSIFIED AS EQUIPMENT OR MATERIALS. Also, see clause I.18, FAR 52.245-1, GOVERNMENT PROPERTY.
A03-18 RFP, L.19.A.ii.e
Can KSC please define the difference between equipment and materials? Offerors should refer to RFP clause I.18, FAR 52.245-1, GOVERNMENT PROPERTY, and FAR 45.101, Definitions,for the definitions of equipment and materials.
A03-19 RFP, L.8.(b)
While we fully understand the Government’s need for consistency in font usage, we respectfully request an exception to the font restriction for images—e.g., screenshots and reproductions of existing forms—that may incidentally contain textual elements which are not intended to convey information per se. Websites are rarely composed in TNR12, and many Government-issued or –approved forms are based on other font faces and sizes. Similarly, a photograph of a KSC work location might include, for example, a sign on the wall bearing text that does not comply with the font restriction. Lastly, logos for
Government agencies, organizations, corporations, and awards often contain text in other font faces or sizes. We urge the Government to permit sensible exceptions to the font restriction, for screenshots, forms, photographic images, and logos.
The requirements in L.8, NFS 1852.245-81, PROPOSAL PAGE LIMITATIONS (APR
2015), remain as stated.
A03-20 RFP, L.8.(f)
“Each individual volume [including] Plans and Other Data … shall be numbered in the footer to identify the number of pages in each specific volume (e.g., Volume III, Page 1 of 50; Volume III, Page 2 of 50).” Since Volume IV as a whole is not page-limited while some of its individual plans are page-limited, and given that all plans and other data will be tabbed separately, we do not understand the need for volume-wide page numbering.
Presumably each plan—as a standalone document to be incorporated into the final KIAC contract—should be numbered on its own. Furthermore, some of the plans in Volume IV have their own tables of contents. Does the Government prefer that we use two separate numbering schemes in the footers in Volume IV?
See RFP Amendment 03 for clarification.
A03-21 RFP, L.12.(f)
As KIAC will be a fixed price contract, it is not our understanding or interpretation that any equipment purchased in support of the contract would be considered direct-charged to the Government. What does the Government define as direct charging under a fixed price contract?
KIAC provision L.12, NFS 1852.245-80 GOVERNMENT PROPERTY MANAGEMENT
INFORMATION (JAN 2011), is a standard provision that covers multiple contract types.
Offerors shall include the cost of all equipment necessary for performance of this contract
(except as expressly stated in this contract as furnished by the Government) within the proposed prices for all CLINs.
A03-22 RFP, L.12.(f)
NFS clause 1852.245-70 is stated to be applicable only to cost reimbursement contracts per 1845.107-70. We therefore request the Government remove reference to this clause.
Is there a different clause that the Government intended to include in the solicitation?
The Government has not included NFS clause 1852.245-70 in the KIAC solicitation. KIAC provision L.12, NFS 1852.245-80 GOVERNMENT PROPERTY MANAGEMENT
INFORMATION (JAN 2011), is a standard provision that covers multiple contract types.
REFERENCE QUESTION EXPLANATIONS & MODIFICATIONS
A03-23
Software
Licensing.pdf in the KIAC Bidder's
Library
In the Bidder's Library, in a document titled "Software Licensing.pdf", do we have the most current active SAID for the HPE Software portion? Without this information, we cannot request pricing from the vendor.
The Support Agreement IDentification (SAID) number is 1040-3334-3792 for the following licenses:
- HP NNMi Ult Ed 1000+/50 NdPk SW E-LTU
- HP NNMi Ult Ed 250+/50 NdPk SW E-LTU
- HP NNMi Unltd to Ult Mig Complnc SW E-LTU
The SAID number is current as of December 8, 2016.
File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .