Amendment 0004.pdf
PDF 543 KB Posted
- Solicitation number
- N4008023R0022
About this file
This document is a solicitation for a Small Business Multiple Award Construction Contract (MACC) issued by the Department of the Navy Naval Facilities Engineering Command. The solicitation will result in the award of approximately eight firm fixed price IDIQ contracts for construction and design-build projects within the NAVFAC Washington area of responsibility. The total estimated value of projects awarded under the contracts is not to exceed $750 million over eight years. A demonstration project is included to evaluate pricing with an estimated value between $10-25 million to modernize areas at the Walter Reed National Military Medical Center. Proposals are due by November 29, 2023 and will be evaluated on technical and price factors, with technical factors including experience, technical approach, project requirements, and safety. The document provides submission requirements and evaluation criteria for each factor.
View the file
Other files
Show all 31
On GovTribe
Work with this file
- Download the original file
- Contacts named in this file
- Similar government files
- Ask GovTribe AI about this file
Text version
AMENDMENT OF SOLICITATION/MODIFICATION OF CONTRACT
Except as provided herein, all terms and conditions of the document referenced in Item 9A or 10A, as heretofore changed, remains unchanged and in full force and effect.
15A. NAME AND TITLE OF SIGNER (Type or print)
30-105-04EXCEPTION TO SF 30
APPROVED BY OIRM 11-84
STANDARD FORM 30 (Rev. 10-83) Prescribed by GSA
FAR (48 CFR) 53.243
See Continuation Page
1. CONTRACT ID CODE PAGE OF PAGES
J 1 47
16A. NAME AND TITLE OF CONTRACTING OFFICER (Type or print)
16C. DATE SIGNED
BY 03-Nov-2023
16B. UNITED STATES OF AMERICA15C. DATE SIGNED15B. CONTRACTOR/OFFEROR
(Signature of Contracting Officer)(Signature of person authorized to sign)
8. NAME AND ADDRESS OF CONTRACTOR (No., Street, County, State and Zip Code) X N4008023R0022
X 9B. DATED (SEE ITEM 11)
05-Oct-2023
10B. DATED (SEE ITEM 13)
9A. AMENDMENT OF SOLICITATION NO.
11. THIS ITEM ONLY APPLIES TO AMENDMENTS OF SOLICITATIONS
X The above numbered solicitation is amended as set forth in Item 14. The hour and date specified for receipt of Offer X is extended, is not extended.
Offer must acknowledge receipt of this amendment prior to the hour and date specified in the solicitation or as amended by one of the following methods:
(a) By completing Items 8 and 15, and returning copies of the amendment; (b) By acknowledging receipt of this amendment on each copy of the offer submitted;
or (c) By separate letter or telegram which includes a reference to the solicitation and amendment numbers. FAILURE OF YOUR ACKNOWLEDGMENT TO BE RECEIVED AT THE PLACE DESIGNATED FOR THE RECEIPT OF OFFERS PRIOR TO THE HOUR AND DATE SPECIFIED MAY RESULT IN
REJECTION OF YOUR OFFER. If by virtue of this amendment you desire to change an offer already submitted, such change may be made by telegram or letter, provided each telegram or letter makes reference to the solicitation and this amendment, and is received prior to the opening hour and date specified.
12. ACCOUNTING AND APPROPRIATION DATA (If required)
13. THIS ITEM APPLIES ONLY TO MODIFICATIONS OF CONTRACTS/ORDERS.
IT MODIFIES THE CONTRACT/ORDER NO. AS DESCRIBED IN ITEM 14.
A. THIS CHANGE ORDER IS ISSUED PURSUANT TO: (Specify authority) THE CHANGES SET FORTH IN ITEM 14 ARE MADE IN THE
CONTRACT ORDER NO. IN ITEM 10A.
B. THE ABOVE NUMBERED CONTRACT/ORDER IS MODIFIED TO REFLECT THE ADMINISTRATIVE CHANGES (such as changes in paying office, appropriation date, etc.) SET FORTH IN ITEM 14, PURSUANT TO THE AUTHORITY OF FAR 43.103(B).
C. THIS SUPPLEMENTAL AGREEMENT IS ENTERED INTO PURSUANT TO AUTHORITY OF:
D. OTHER (Specify type of modification and authority)
E. IMPORTANT: Contractor is not, is required to sign this document and return copies to the issuing office.
14. DESCRIPTION OF AMENDMENT/MODIFICATION (Organized by UCF section headings, including solicitation/contract subject matter where feasible.)
10A. MOD. OF CONTRACT/ORDER NO.
2. AMENDMENT/MODIFICATION NO. 5. PROJECT NO.(If applicable)
6. ISSUED BY
3. EFFECTIVE DATE
03-Nov-2023
CODE
COMNAVFACSYSCOM WASHINGTON
1314 HARWOOD ST
WASHINGTON DC 20374
N40080 7. ADMINISTERED BY (If other than item 6)
4. REQUISITION/PURCHASE REQ. NO.
CODE
See Item 6
FACILITY CODECODE
EMAIL:TEL:
N4008023R0022
SECTION SF 30 BLOCK 14 CONTINUATION PAGE
SUMMARY OF CHANGES
SECTION SF 30 - BLOCK 14 CONTINUATION PAGE (SF 30)
The following have been added by full text:
AMENDMENT 0004
The purpose of this amendment is to:
1) Respond to pre-proposal inquiries (PPIs).
2) Revise noted solicitation sections.
3) Extend the proposal due date to Wednesday 29 November 2023 by 2PM (ET).
4) PPIs due date is NOT extended with the proposal due date extension.
The solicitation revisions are as follows:
- SECTION 1.3.1 GENERAL OVERVIEW OF CONTRACT (Page 5), Define NAVFAC AOR
- SECTION 1.3.3 GENERAL OVERVIEW OF CONTRACT, (Page 5), Revise Base Year/Option
Periods
- SECTION 4. EVALUATION FACTORS FOR AWARD (Page 8), Revise VETS 4212 Filing year
- SECTION 4. EVALUATION FACTORS FOR AWARD (Page 10), Factor 1 Technical Approach
- SECTION 4. EVALUATION FACTORS FOR AWARD (Page 12), Factor 2 Construction
Experience
- SECTION 4. EVALUATION FACTORS FOR AWARD (Page 15), Factor 3, Project Specific
Requirements
SECTION 1.3.1 GENERAL OVERVIEW OF CONTRACT (Page 5)
FROM:
1. This acquisition will result in the award of a Firm Fixed Price (FFP), Design-Build/Design- Bid-Build (DB/DBB) Indefinite Delivery/Indefinite Quantity (IDIQ) Multiple Award Construction Contract (MACC) for NAVFAC Washington Area of Responsibility (AOR).
TO:
1. This acquisition will result in the award of a Firm Fixed Price (FFP), Design-Build/Design- Bid-Build (DB/DBB) Indefinite Delivery/Indefinite Quantity (IDIQ) Multiple Award Construction Contract (MACC) for NAVFAC Washington Area of Responsibility (AOR). The NAVFAC Washington AOR consists of, but is not limited to, Public Works Division (PWD) Annapolis, PWD Bethesda, PWD Marine Barracks Washington, PWD Marine Corps Base (MCB) Quantico, PWD Patuxent River, PWD Dahlgren, PWD South Potomac, PWD Washington, and Resident Officer in Charge of Construction (ROICC) Joint Base Andrews.
SECTION 1.3.3 GENERAL OVERVIEW OF CONTRACT (Page 5)
FROM:
The completion date for the IDIQ contracts is one (1) year from the date of contract award with four (4) one-year option periods, not to exceed 60 months. The total five-year (base and four one-year options) estimated construction cost for all contracts is not to exceed $750,000,000 for the life of the contract.
TO:
The completion date for the IDIQ contracts two (2) years from the date of contract award with two (2) three-year option periods, not to exceed 96 months. The total eight-year (two year base period and two (2) three-year option periods) estimated construction cost for all contracts is not to exceed $750,000,000 for the life of the contract.
4. EVALUATION FACTORS FOR AWARD (Page 8)
4.3.1 Price
(i) Solicitation Submittal Requirements:
FROM:
5) VETS-4212 registration. Confirmation of filing of Veterans’ Employment and Training (VETS-4212) for the 2022 filing cycle.
TO:
5) VETS-4212 registration. Confirmation of filing of Veterans’ Employment and Training (VETS-4212) for the 2022 and 2023 filing cycle.
4. EVALUATION FACTORS FOR AWARD (Page 10)
4.3.2 Non-cost/price Factors:
(i) Solicitation Submittal Requirements:
FROM:
• Include a cover page with Solicitation Number, Solicitation Title, Prime Contractor Name, Address, Phone Number, Unique Entity ID Number, Cage Code, Point of Contact, Title, phone number, and email address. 8 ½ x 11 paper, Times New Roman, 10-point font. Note: If proposing as a Joint-Venture (JV), please submit the POC, UEI, and CAGE Code for each JV partner
TO:
• Include a cover page with Solicitation Number, Solicitation Title, Prime Contractor Name, Address, Phone Number, Unique Entity ID Number, Cage Code, Point of Contact, Title, phone number, and email address. 8 ½ x 11 paper, Times New Roman, 10-point font. Note: If proposing as a Joint-Venture (JV), please submit the POC, UEI, and CAGE Code for each JV partner.
• Unless otherwise noted, proposal shall be formatted on 8 ½” x 11” paper, Times New Roman, 10-point font shall be used.
(1) Factor 1, Technical Approach
(i) Solicitation Submittal Requirements:
FROM:
The Offeror shall submit the following information:
(1) Provide a simple organizational chart that clearly identifies the lines of authority between the proposed primary construction firms and primary design firms for this contract.
Include a brief description of the role and responsibility of each entity not to exceed (1) page. If the experience of an entity is being claimed in Factor 2, that entity must be named in the organizational chart.
(See Note 1)
TO:
The Offeror shall submit the following information:
(1) Provide a simple organizational chart that clearly identifies the lines of authority between the proposed primary construction firms and primary design firms for this contract.
Include a brief description of the role and responsibility of each entity not to exceed (1) page. Information beyond the one (1) page will not be considered, with the exception of the organizational chart which is not included in the page limitation. The organizational chart can be on paper size 11”x17”. If the experience of an entity is being claimed in Factor 2, that entity must be named in the organizational chart.
4. EVALUATION FACTORS FOR AWARD (Page 12)
(2) Factor 2, Experience
(1) Construction Experience:
(i) Solicitation Submittal Requirements:
FROM:
The attached Construction & Design Experience Project Data Sheet (Attachment A) is MANDATORY and SHALL be used to submit project information. If the same project is being used to demonstrate construction and design experience, submit separate Project Data Sheets for construction and design. Except as specifically requested, the Government will not consider information submitted in addition to this form. Individual blocks on this form may be expanded; however, total length for each project data sheet shall not exceed two (2) pages.
TO:
The attached Construction & Design Experience Project Data Sheet (Attachment A) is MANDATORY and SHALL be used to submit project information. If the same project is being used to demonstrate construction and design experience, submit separate Project Data Sheets for construction and design. Except as specifically requested, the Government will not consider information submitted in addition to this form. Individual blocks on this form may be expanded; however, total length for each project data sheet shall not exceed three (3) pages.
(1) Construction Experience:
(i) Solicitation Submittal Requirements:
REMOVES: (See Note 2)
FROM:
The Offeror MAY NOT utilize experience of a subcontractor to demonstrate construction experience.
TO:
The Offeror MAY NOT utilize experience of a subcontractor to demonstrate construction experience other than as prescribed in 13 CFR 125.11. The Prime Offeror may submit experience where the prime offeror served as part of a joint venture or served as a first-tier subcontractor under Factor 2, Construction Experience.
4. EVALUATION FACTORS FOR AWARD (Page 15)
(3) Factor 3, Project Specific Requirements
(i) Solicitation Submittal Requirements:
REMOVES: “organizational chart”
FROM:
Offeror shall submit a narrative detailing Project Specific Requirements. The narrative should describe how the offeror intends to successfully complete work awarded under this MACC. The narrative plan shall not exceed five
(5) pages. Information beyond the five (5) pages will not be considered, with the exception of the organizational chart and critical path schedule which is not included in the page limitation. The narrative shall, at a minimum, address the following topics:
TO:
Offeror shall submit a narrative detailing Project Specific Requirements. The narrative should describe how the offeror intends to successfully complete work awarded under this MACC. The narrative plan shall not exceed five
(5) pages. Information beyond the five (5) pages will not be considered, with the exception of the critical path schedule which is not included in the page limitation. The critical path schedule can be on paper size 11”x17”. The narrative shall, at a minimum, address the following topics:
FROM:
For the Demonstration Project, provide a Critical Path Schedule illustrating the offeror’s ability to achieve or improve on the construction duration of 518 days. Identify key milestones for sequence of work as required to complete construction. The schedule shall demonstrate an understanding of the work to include the base CLIN and all options, a logical sequence of events to accomplish the work, and be sufficiently detailed so as to identify all of the major milestones.
TO:
For the Demonstration Project, provide a Critical Path Schedule illustrating the offeror’s ability to achieve or improve on the construction duration of 533 days. Identify key milestones for sequence of work as required to complete construction. The schedule shall demonstrate an understanding of the work to include the base CLIN and all options, a logical sequence of events to accomplish the work, and be sufficiently detailed so as to identify all of the major milestones.
FROM:
An Offeror that proposes a realistic and feasible schedule that is shorter than 518 days from award must provide a justification.
TO:
An Offeror that proposes a realistic and feasible schedule that is shorter than 533 days from award must provide a justification.
Questio n No.
REFEREN
CE
QUESTION
GOVERNMENT
RESPONSE
Posted on Amend No.
Page Section Para.
Page 5 of
2.
GENERAL
OVERVIEW
OF THE
DEMONST
RATION
PROJECT
2.1
Is there going to be a Site Visit for the proposed demonstration project is Work Order Number (WON) 1678929, Design‐Bid‐Build Modernize East Entrance, Common Areas, and Patient Relations Suite at Walter Reed National Military Medical Center (WRNMMC), Naval Support Activity Bethesda in Bethesda, Maryland?
See Amendment 0001. 0004
Page 5 of
2.
GENERAL
OVERVIEW
OF THE
DEMONST
RATION
PROJECT
2.1 Is a bid bond required for the demonstration project?
Bid per RFP, General Requirements, Bond
Requirements.
of 69
Factor 2 – Experience
Construction experience requires projects within 5 years from RFP date, but Design experience requires 7 years from RFP date. Is this correct?
Please clarify.
Confirmed 0004 of 69
Factor 2 – Experience
Construction & Design Experience Project Data Sheet (Attachment B) for construction experience states cannot exceed 2 pages. But same form is used for Design Experience and it states not to exceed 3 pages. Is this correct?
Please clarify.
See Amendment 0004. 0004 of 69
Factor 3 – Project Specific Requirements
How many pages is the Demonstration Project's narrative work plan? Is an task order org chart required to be included as part of this narrative?
See Amendment 0004. 0004
6 19/68
Section 01 00 00 does not provide for Site Visit Information. Please provide Site Visit information otherwise noted in Solicitation as
TBD.
See Amendment 0001. 0004
7 11 of 69
Section 00 21 16 ‐
Instruction s to
Proposers
Construct ion
Experienc e, Size
This section states that at least one project must have a final construction cost of $10,000 000 or greater. As a Small Business firm, most of our projects are smaller in dollar value. We respectfully request that the government lower the $10,000,000 project requirement to $3,000,000.
Bid per RFP. 0004
8 1 01 11 00 1.2.1
In Spec Section 01 11 00 ‐ 1.2.1 Project Description, the work is described to include "architectural planning and design services."
However, In the General Requirements for Demonstration Project in The Solicitation says that this project is Design‐Bid‐Build. Please cofirm that the design is complete and the SEED project will not require Design Services.
Confirmed. The demonstration project is a design‐bid‐build contract wherein the design is complete.
Seed project does not require design other than specifically indicated "delegated design".
9 2 01 11 00 1.5
In reference to Spec Section 01 11 00 ‐ 1.5.1 ‐ NMCI Contractor Access, please confirm that the General Contractor may continue their work alongside the NMCI Contractor.
Confirmed. 0004
There is no mention of hazardous materials in the specifications. Please confirm that no HazMat Abatement is required for this project or to be included in our bid.
Bid per RFP. Refer to spec section 01 35 23
3.1.4.
The Structural Steel specs in Section 051200 (paragraph 1.3) calls for an AISC Certified Fabricator and an AISC Certified Erector. It will be very difficult to get any AISC fabricators or erectors to bid on this project, since there is a very small amount of new steelwork compared to other AISC projects and they typically refuse to bid on renovation work. Please waive the AISC Certification requirements, so we can obtain competitive bids on the structural steel framing.
Bid per RFP. 0004
Can you tell us other acceptable manufacturers for these Fabricated Wall Panels?
Bid per RFP. 0004
AD103‐
AD108
Note 02.59
Note 02.59 calls to remove Vinyl wallcovering.
The note is sporadic through the demo drawings but does not say "typical" nor does it show where the limits of the note are. Can you clarify how much wall space has vinyl wallcovering? For example does each inset/nook also have
Bid per RFP, Note
2.59. Note states
"typical at all first floor walls". Contractor to verify in field.
wallcovering? How about areas like Lobby 1014 or Room 1005?
24 A405 In Detail 3/A405, can you confirm the wood panel behind the new monitor is WD2?
Confirmed. 0004
Amendm ent 1
Due to the size and complexity of this project, would NAVFAC please consider a second site visit to allow additional contractors and subcontractors to visit the site?
No, Bid per RFP. 0004
Will the government provide a phasing schedule based on the hospital's operations?
No, Bid per RFP. 0004
Sol. PDF
Section 00 21 16
Section 00 21 16 shows the demonstration project performance period as 518 days after award while Amendment 1 shows the performance period as 533 days after award. Are we correct to assume that 533 calendar days is the correct duration?
The construction duration is 518 calendar days. 533 calendar days includes
518 days for the construction duration plus 15 days for bonds submission and approval.
Sol. PDF
In NAVFAC terminology, what is the difference between a seed project and a demonstration project?
A demonstration project is primarly used to evaluate the reasonableness of proposed pricing in order to assist in making best value determinations. The Government reserves the right to award the demonstration project at the time of the basic contract award or before the proposal expiration period, should funds become available.
Sol. PDF
The paragraph with instructions for the Non‐ cost/price Factors cover page mentions Times new Roman, 10‐point font. Is the minimum font size that applies to the whole proposal?
Yes, Bid per RFP. 0004
Sol. PDF pages 11 & 13
Construction projects for Factor 2 must have been completed after 10/5/2018 and design projects for Factor 2 must have been completed after 10/5/2016. Is this correct?
Confirmed, bid per
RFP.
Sol. PDF
The instructions for Factor 3 say that "Information beyond the five (5) pages will not be considered, with the exception of the organizational chart and critical path schedule which is not included in the page limitation." The reference to the "organizational chart" seems out of place because an organizational chart is required for Factor 1. Should this be removed from the cited sentence?
See Amendment 0004. 0004
Can NAVFAC provide the name of the fire alarm vendor for the facility
WRNMMC's fire alarm vender is BFPE who is contracted through
J&J.
40 N/A N/A N/A
Can the facility please provide security fence specification for temp fence around the laydown are and installation preference? (ie. Post driven or cinderblock)
Bid per RFP, spec section 01 50 00.
41 3 01 45 00 1.4.1
Can the facility please confirm that commissioning is or not required for this project?
a. If so please provide commissioning specification for pricing.
Bid per RFP. Full commissioning is not required; refer to 23 05 93 for Testing, Adjusting, and
Balancing for HVAC.
42 N/A N/A N/A Can the facility please provide a phasing plan or number of phases for this project so all bids will be fair and reasonable?
Refer to RFP response #29.
44 N/A N/A N/A
Can the facility please supply a decommissioning letter from the existing Escalator maintenance firm. Or please provide the owner of the escalator to be demolished so we can hire them to decommission and remove the existing escalator?
The escalator is government owned.
Escalator maintenance compnay is A&E Elevator.
45 N/A N/A N/A
Can the facility please provide confirmation that an AISC certification will be required for steel fabrication and erection for all steel associated with this contract.?
Bid per RFP 0004
48 1 01 31 17.00
1.2.2 Can The Facility Please confirm that P‐6 scheduling will be required for this contract
Confirmed. 0004
49 N/A N/A N/A Please confirm that air barrier testing will be required for the curtainwall installation.
Confirmed, refer to spec 08 44 00
52 N/A N/A N/A Please provide specification for expansion joint replacement.
The Government requests additional details (drawing number, spec section, etc.) in order to provide response.
53 1 01 30 01.00
1.3
Can the facility please confirm the FF&E design is not required in this contract for bidding purposes and the budget provided is inclusive of the A/V Design per spec section 01 30 01 is within the budget provided.
Bid per RFP. See Spec Section 01 30 01.00 23, para 1.4.1. Prime contractor is responsible for hiring
FF&E Designer, 54 3 21 13 13 1.2.2 Please confirm the General contractor does not have to provide an QFPE on staff for this project?
Bid per RFP, para 21 13 13. GC does have to provide a QFPE.
58 11
RFP ‐
Section 4
Under the "Construction Experience" section of the RFP one project must have a final construction cost of $10,000,000 or greater. We believe requirement is overly restrictive for most SBs. Opportunities of this magnitude are not as frequently awarded to SBs. In fact, based on open‐source data, NAVFAC Capital Region has only awarded on average two MATOC task orders over this size per year, with an average of one other NAVFAC Capital Region award outside the MATOC environment. Further, many other agencies procure projects over the $10M threshold as full and open competition. To expand competition for this solicitation we request that NAVFAC extend the recency period for this project to 7 years to match that of the designer experience.
Bid per RFP. 0004
59 5 Solicitatio n
1.3.1 Can each of the bases for the NAVFAC Washington Area of Resposibility (AOR) be identified?
See Amendment 0004 0004
Attachm ent C
Please confirm that the price proposal will be evaluated based on the Total Price of CLIN0001‐
CLIN0002.
Confirmed, Bid per RFP, Price, (ii) Basis of
Evaluation: The Government will evaluate price based on the total price.
The FAR clause125.2 amended in Sep 2019 states that a small buisness contractor can use the first tier subcontractors capabilities and past performance who are identified in the proposal when the SB do not have the past performance necessary for the award . Please advise if the SBA approved JV partners experince will be acceptable.
See Amendment 0004. 0004
135 16 4 3 If an offerors' TCR and DART ratings are zero, is the offeror required to submit documentation that shows this?
Bid per RFP, Factor 4 Safety, "If the Offeror has no DART rate or a zero rate, for any year, affirmatively state so and explain why"..."If the Offeror has no TCR rate or a zero rate, for any year, affirmatively state so and explain why."
136 11 2 i Per SBA regulations, we request the government allow the use of a small business' Mentor's for relevant projects Construction Experience?
Bid per RFP, Factor 1, Technical Approach "the Offeror shall submit a signed copy of a joint venture agreement, partnership agreement, teaming agreement, approved mentor protégé agreement (MPA), or letter of commitment signed by each member of the Offeror’s team identified above" and Factor 2, Experience, "If the Offeror is a Joint Venture (JV), relevant project experience should be submitted for projects completed by the Joint Venture entity. If the Joint
Venture does not have shared experience, projects may be submitted for the Joint Venture members. If a project was performed by a
JV, and not all partners from that JV are on the JV proposed for this contract, the offeror shall clearly demonstrate what portion of the work was performed by the JV member offering on this contract and shall not include work performed by the JV as a whole." Please also see amendment 0004 clarifying use of subcontractor experience for Factor
2.
137 11 2 i
We request the government consider lowering the $10M or greater Construction Experience project requirement to $5M or greater so as to not be dully unrestrictive.
Bid per RFP. 0004
138 11 2 i We request the government allow the use of subbstantially completed projects to statify relevant Construction Experience.
Bid per RFP. 0004
RFP
Technical
In light of the new experience sheet(Atachment A), would you consider extending the page count to 3 pages for factor 2
Yes, See Amendment 0004.
Sol. Page
The instructions for Factor 1 say to "include a brief description of the role and responsibility of each entity not to exceed (1) page." Please confirm that the "simple organizational chart that clearly identifies the lines of authority between the proposed primary construction firms and primary design firms for this contract" can be on a separate page.
Confirmed, See Amendment 0004.
166 13 of 69 RFP Factor 2 Experien ce
The referenced RFP section indicates the requirements for the designer to be submitted in our technical proposal. As we are permitted to submit five design projects from designers, can we submit the qualifications of more than one designer, provided that we do not exceed the five project maximum?
Yes, Design projects submitted under
Factor 2, Experience shall demonstrate experience for the DOR(s) as identified under Factor 1 and to be used during performance under this contract in accordance with the
RFP.
171 3 of 69 RFP
Section 001 10 00 ‐ Item
Please confirm that Item No 0001 of Section 00 10 00 of the SF1442 does not need to be filled out with our bid submission as explained on page 9 of the RFP.
Confirmed. 0004
172 8 of 69 RFP 4.3.1 Price (i), #5
This section requests VETS‐4212 registration for the 2022 filing cycle. Please confirm that the intent for the offeror to instead submit confirmation of filing for the 2023 filing cycle.
See Amendment 0004. 0004
173 9 of 69 RFP 1 and 2
Please confirm that all bank letters, statements, and other financial information required within paragraphs #1 and #2 can be emailed to the contracting officer under the "N40080‐23‐R‐002 FINANCIAL STATEMENTS" email heading.
Bid per RFP, ADDITIONAL
INFORMATION TO BE
SUBMITTED WITH
PRICE PROPOSAL
PACKAGE, 2., "Offerors may send proprietary financial statements to Deanna.d.ward.civ@u s.navy.mil with a clearly marked subject line: “N40080‐23‐R‐
0022 [OFFEROR
NAME] FINANCIAL
STATEMENTS”
174 10 of 69 RFP 4.3.2 (i)
Are the formatting requirements for paper size, font type, and font size required throughout the remainder of the proposal or are these requirements limited to the cover page only?
Paper size, Font type, and font size apply to the entire proposal.
175 11 of 69 RFP Factor 2 Recency
Please consider extending the acceptable project recency threshold from five (5) years to seven
(7) years for the submitted Factor 2 Construction projects to match the seven (7) year threshold provided for the design projects.
No, Bid per RFP. 0004
176 11 of 69 RFP Factor 2 Recency
Can ongoing projects that comply with the Factor 2 submission requirements be submitted if they are over 75% complete?
No, Bid per RFP, Factor 1.
177 18 of 69 RFP Factor 5 (i)
Can previously completed PPQs be submitted if they do not reference another solicitation?
Yes, Bid per RFP Factor 5.
178 15 of 69 RFP Factor 3 (i)
Please clarify the required geographic coverage of this contract.
Bid per RFP, "NAVFAC Washington Area of Responsibility (AOR)" and See Amendment
0004.
179 15 of 69 RFP Factor 3 (i)
Please consider increasing the page limit threshold to ten (10) pages for Factor 3 to allow the offeror to adequately respond to the submittal requirements.
No, Bid per RFP. 0004
180 17 of 69 RFP Factor 4
(4) d.
Please consider increasing the page limit threshold to five (5) pages for the Factor 4 "technical approach to safety narrative" to allow the offeror to adequately respond to the submittal requirements.
No, Bid per RFP. 0004
185 N/A N/A N/A
Per the soliciatation, it states on the SF1442 (Pg.
2, Box #13), states to provide one Sealed proposal and once copy is to be submitted, however, on Pg. 20, it states that states the proposal is to be submitted electronically in the PIEE system. Please cofirm which method of proposal delivery is correct.
See Amendment 0004 and Bid per RFP, Section 5.2 Proposal Submission
Instructions, "Offerors shall also submit electronic proposals (.pdf format) in response to this solicitation. Only the PIEE Solicitation
Module is authorized for the submission of electronic proposals in response to this solicitation."
186 N/A N/A N/A
On Pg. 10 of the solicitation, Paragraph 1.i.1, there appears to be a fote note reference, however no footnote can be located. Please confimr applicability.
This footnote is removed. See changes reflected in
187 N/A N/A N/A
Referencing Pg 10, Paragraph 1.i.1, please confirm if the orginizational chart (included under Factor 1) can be submitted on a ledger size page format.
This footnote is removed. See changes reflected in
188 N/A N/A N/A
Referencing Page 12, the offorer is to submit the construction and design expierience using the provided Project Data Sheet provided as Attachement B and that the total length for each project data sheet is to be limited to 2 pages, however, the provided Project Data Sheets (Attachment B) are 3 pages in length. Please clarify this requirement.
See Amendment 0004.
189 N/A N/A N/A
Referencing Pg 15, Paragraph 3.i (included under Factor 3), there is a reference to an organizational chart and critcal path schedule not being included within the page count, however the only item listed for submission is a critical path bar chart. Please confirm that an organizational chart is not required under Factor 3.
See Amendment 0004.
190 N/A N/A N/A
Referencing Page 15, Paragraph 3.i, please confirm if the critcial path schedule is to be submitted in an 8.5"x11" format or if it is acceptable to submit in an 11"x17" format as it would be easier to reference in the larger format.
See Amendment 0004.
191 N/A N/A N/A Referencing Page 44, 52.216‐19 ‐ b.1 states "Any order for a single item in excess of $100,000,000". Please confirm this statement.
See Amendment 0004.
192 N/A N/A N/A
Referencing Page 45, Clause 52.219‐14, it states that 15% of the costs paid on the contract has to be performed by the offerors own workforce, but on Page 52, Clause 52.236‐1, states that the offeror must perform 20% of the work. Please clarify these requirements.
See Amendment 0004.
194 14 of 69
Factor 2 Experienc e
Design Experien ce
The RFP states that, Offerors proposing multiple design firms should submit relevant project experience for all design firms.
Question: Are Offerors to submit five (5) for each design firm?
No, Bid per RFP, "The Government will only review five (5) projects for design. Any projects submitted in excess of five (5) for Design Experience will not be considered."
Factor 2 ‐ Experienc e
Construc tion Experien ce
The RFP states that, (Construction Experience) Construction & Design Experience Project Data Sheet (Attachment B) total length for each project data sheet shall not exceed two (2) pages however the (Design Experience) Construction & Design Experience Project Data Sheet (Attachment B) total length for each project data sheet shall not exceed three (3) pages.
Question: May the Government please consider expanding the Construction Experience Attachment B to three (3) pages?
See Amendment 0004.
196 15 of 69
Factor 3 ‐ Project Specific Requirem ents
Solicitati on Submitta l Require ments
The RFP requests that Offerors shall submit a narrative detailing the Project Specific Requirements. This section requests Offerors to descibe "how the offeror intends to successfully complete work awarded under this MACC." This includes four (4) topics with five (5) subtopics for a total of seven (7) total topics to address (See following details): 1.a Strategy for Successful Execution of Work Awarded Under Resulting Contract, 1.b Managing Multiple Concurrent Projects, 1.c Managing the Georgraphic Coverage of the Contract Requirements; 2.a Plan for Accomplishing Design Build, 2.b Plan for Accomplishing Desing Bid Build; 3.a Demonstration Project ‐ Narrative Work Plan;
4.a Demonstration Project ‐ Critical Path Schedule (not to count towards page count) Question: Does the five (5) page limit only pertain to the Demonstation Project Narrative Work Plan?
No, Bid per RFP, "The narrative plan shall not exceed five (5) pages. Information beyond the five (5) pages will not be considered, with the exception of the organizational chart and critical path schedule which is not included in the page limitation."
197 16 of 69 Factor 4 ‐ Safety
Technica l Approac h for Safety
Factor 4 ‐ Safety requests a narrative to be provided within a two (2) page limit that addresses a total of ten (10) topics (see following details): 1. Approach to Implementing and Executing a Safety Management System (SMS) including 2. Management/Leadership Involvement, 3. Employee involvement, 4.
Hazard prevention, 5. Hazard Control, 6.
Worksite analysis, and 7. Safety and Health Training, to include the 8. Standard(s) used to Benchmark the SMS, 9. Evaluation Process used to Select Potential Subcontrators, 10. Processes of How Offeror will Oversee Safety Compliance of Subcontractors. Offerors are greatly disadvantaged by having to address these important safety management approach processes within a two (2) page limit, most topics will be brushed over and loosely addressed to adhere to the strict page count.
Question: May the Safety Narrative be expanded to five (5) pages to proprerly address these important topics?
No, Bid per RFP.
198 8 of 69 Solicitatio n
This section states the offeror shall provide a surety letter with an aggregate bonding capacity of $75,000,000. Would the government considering lowering the overall aggregate to $35,000,000? The Small Businesses normally aren't given that large of an aggregate due to being a Small Business.
No, Bid per RFP.
199 11 of 69 Solicitatio n
Factor 2 Experien ce
Would the government consider projects completed within the past 7 years of the date of the issuance of the RFP?
Bid per RFP.
200 11 of 69 Solicitatio n
Factor 2 Experien ce
Can we use a past project containing interior & exterior renovation work as one (1) project?
Yes, Bid per RFP.
201 18 of 69 Solicitatio n
Factor 5 Past Perform ance
Would the government reconsider permitting previously completed Past Performance Questionnaires if CPARS aren't available? Due to requesting multiple projects our Point of Contacts are reluctant to continue doing so.
Yes, Bid per RFP. "The Offeror should provide completed PPQ in the proposal. Offerors shall not incorporate by reference into their proposal PPQs previously submitted for other RFPs."
202 12 Solicitatio n
Page 12 of the RFP states that total length for each project data sheet shall not exceed two (2) pages however, on Page 13 of the RFP, it states that each project data sheet shall not exceed three (3) pages. Please, clarify which is correct
See Amendment 0004.
222 14‐Nov
Factor 2 (Construc tion Experienc e and Design Experienc e)
The provided Construction and Design Experience Project Data form is 3 pages. The solicitation states "the total length for each project data sheet shall not exceed two (2) pages" for construction experience and "shall not exceed three (3) pages" for design experience. Will the government allow the form to be three (3) pages for each construction and design project?
See Amendment 0004.
223 13
Factor 2 (Construc tion Experienc e and Design
Can the government confirm that projects are acceptable to be used for design experience if construction is still ongoing as long as design is 100% completed?
Confirmed.
224 18 Factor 5
Can the government clarify if interim PPQs will be needed for design experience projects if the design is complete but construction is still ongoing?
Bid per RFP, Factor 5, "If a completed AE CPARS evaluation is available, it shall be submitted with the proposal for each project included in Factor 2 for design experience. If there is not a completed
CPARS evaluation then submit Past Performance
Questionnaires (PPQ) (Attachment D) for each project included in Factor 2 for both
Construction Experience and Design
Experience.
225 10
4.3.2 Non‐ cost/price Factors
Can the government confirm that the entire proposal is to be 8.5" x 11" paper, times new roman, 10‐point font?
Confirmed.
226 11
Factor 2 (Construc tion Experienc e and Design
For the construction experience, does the Joint Venture or mentor/protégé have to have the project experience under their contract? For example, can a JV use one of the partner's past projects even though the other partner was not part of that project?
Bid per RFP, Factor 1, "If the Offeror is a Joint Venture (JV), relevant project experience should be submitted for projects completed by the Joint Venture entity. If the Joint Venture does not have shared experience, projects may be submitted for the Joint Venture members. If a project was performed by a
JV, and not all partners from that JV are on the JV proposed for this contract, the offeror shall clearly demonstrate what portion of the work was performed by the JV member offering on this contract and shall not include work performed by the JV as a whole."
227 11
Factor 2 (Construc tion Experienc e and Design
Will the government allow a project that is 70% complete to be used as construction experience?
Bid per RFP, Factor 1.
228 10
4.3.2 Non‐ cost/price Factors
Can the government confirm that single line spacing is acceptable for narratives/the technical proposal?
Confirmed.
229 18 Factor 5 Will the government allow PPQs from other IDIQs to be used?
Bid per RFP, Factor 5, "The Offeror should provide completed PPQ in the proposal.
Offerors shall not incorporate by reference into their proposal PPQs previously submitted for other RFPs."
250 15
00 21 16 ‐ Instructio ns to Proposers
(3) Factor 3 ‐ Project Specific Require ments
Will NAVFAC allow the Critical Path Schedule to be provided on 11x17 sized paper?
See Amendment 0004.
251 15
00 21 16 ‐ Instructio ns to Proposers
(3) Factor 3 ‐ Project Specific Require ments
RFP states for Factor 3 that "The narrative plan shall not exceed five (5) pages. Information beyond the five (5) pages will not be considered, with the exception of the organizational chart and critical path schedule which is not included in the page limitation." The organizational chart is to be provided in Factor 1, not Factor 3. Please confirm that NAVFAC is not requesting seperate Org Chart for the seed task in Factor 3.
Confirmed, See
252 14‐Nov
00 21 16 ‐ Instructio ns to Proposers
Factor 2 Experien ce
Construction Experience is alotted a 2‐page limit per project on the Attachment B Project Data Sheet, however Design Experience is alotted a 3‐ page limit per project on the Attachment B Project Data Sheet. We respectfully request that Construction Experience be alotted the same page limits as Design Experience (i.e., 3 pages).
See Amendment 0004.
253 7
Section 00 21 16 ‐ Instructio ns to Proposers
4.
Evaluatio n Factors for Award
4.3.1 Price. SAM Registration. Does NAVFAC
want the Offeror to provide a statement that its SAM Registration is current or should the Offeror provide a copy of its SAM Registration?
Bid per RFP, "SAM registration. Offeror shall ensure current registration on the SAM Website, www.sam.gov, including Annual
Representations and Certifications are complete and updated for this procurement. If a Representation or
Certification required by Section 00 45 00 of the RFP is not provided in SAM, include the representation or certification in your price proposal."
Demonstr ation Project
What are the liquidated damages for the demonstration project?
See Amendment 0001 0004 of 69
Please confirm, for Technical Factor 1 – Technical Approach, the organizational chart can be on 11”x17” paper?
See Amendment 0004. 0004
Technical Approach, the organizational chart is not included in the maximum number page count?
See Amendment 0004. 0004
Technical Approach, the letters of commitment are not included in the maximum number page count?
See Amendment 0004. 0004
For Technical Factor 2 – Construction Experience, it states to submit a maximum of five (5) relevant construction projects but does not state a minimum number of relevant construction projects to be submitted. Please advise if there is a minimum number of relevant construction projects to be submitted by an Offeror?
Bid per RFP. 0004
For Technical Factor 2 – Design Experience, it states to submit a maximum of five (5) relevant construction projects but does not state a minimum number of relevant construction projects to be submitted. Please advise if there is a minimum number of relevant construction projects to be submitted by an Offeror?
Bid per RFP. 0004
For Technical Factor 2 – Construction Experience, please confirm that an Offeror who submits a higher number of relevant construction projects will score higher than an Offeror who submits a fewer number of relevant construction projects?
Bid per RFP, Factor 1,
(ii) Basis of Evaluation.
For Technical Factor 2 – Design Experience, please confirm that an Offeror who submits a higher number of relevant construction projects will score higher than an Offeror who submits a fewer number of relevant construction projects?
Bid per RFP, Factor 1,
(ii) Basis of Evaluation.
Pages 13‐14 of
For Technical Factor 2 – Design Experience, on page 14 of 69, (ii) Basis of evaluation, it states “Any project submitted in excess of the five (5) for Construction Experience and five (5) for Design Experience will not be considered”.
Where‐as, on page 13 of 69, under Complexity, (a and b), it states that projects submitted under design experience shall be completed within seven (7) years. Please confirm that seven (7) years is correct?
Bid per RFP. "Any projects submitted in excess of the five (5) for Construction
Experience and five (5) for
Design Experience will not be considered" refers to the number of projects submitted under Factor 2 for each Construction and Design Experience. For Recency, bid per RFP, "Recency: Projects submitted for the Offeror shall be completed within the past five (5) years of the date of issuance of this RFP. Design:
Recency: A project submitted under design experience will meet the recency requirement if (a) the construction effort was completed within seven (7) years immediately preceding the proposal due date, regardless of the design completion date, OR (b) the construction effort is ongoing, but the design completion date was reached within the seven (7) years immediately preceding the proposal due date.
Each relevant completion date shall be clearly stated on the Construction & Design Experience Project Data Sheet."
Please confirm that a Teaming Arrangement is considered a subcontractor relationship and therefore is not permissible for an Offeror to use in response to Technical Factor 2 – Construction Experience?
See Amendment 0004. 0004
311 Please share the Sign In sheet. See Amendment 0003. 0004
Please advise which is correct, project completd within 5 years or within 7 years for Factor 1, Technical Approach?
See PPI response 298.
There are no recency requirements for Factor 1, Technical
Approach.
In Technical Requirements under Factor 2, Experience, it is mentioned at least one (1) project must be $10,000,000.00 or greater. Can NAVY adjust this to provide projects in the range of $5M‐$8M ?
No, Bid per RFP. 0004
We request the bid date be postponed considering the scope and complexity of the project.
See Amendment 0004. 0004
320 68 01 00 00 N/A
The General Requirements for the Demonstration Project show an Estimated Budget Amount/Price Range of $10M to $25M however after attending the site visit, it appears this project falls in the $1M‐$5M range. Given that this demonstration project is to be reflective of the typical work that this MACC would cover: Would the Government consider lowering the threshold for Past Performance magnitude from $10M to $5M.
No, Bid per RFP. 0004
321 11 00 21 16 N/A
Would the government consider amending the Factor 1 Corporate Experience criteria to also permit projects substantially completed (e.g. >75%) as of the date of the solicitation?
No, Bid per RFP. 0004
322 11 00 21 16 N/A
Previous NACFAC Washington Small Business MACC task orders range in value averaging about $5M ‐ $7M range instead of a $10M ‐ $20M range with only a small amount of task orders being awarded in that larger range.
Would the Government consider revising the Construction Experience requirement of (1) project being $10M or greater and replace with
(1) project being $5M or greater in order to be better representing of historical patterns as well as typical Small Business contractor's sole prime‐ contracting performance.
No, Bid per RFP. 0004
For Technical Factor 1 – Technical Approach, paragraph (1) states to include a brief description of the roles and responsibilities of each entity and not to exceed (1) page. For Offerors who are proposing multiple Design Team Partners, it is extremely difficult to successfully accomplish providing the requested information when limiting the Offeror to one (1) written page. Therefore, we respectfully request consideration be given to allow a maximum of two (2) written pages, exclusive of any chart and/or requirements contained in paragraph (2).
No, Bid per RFP. 0004
325 15 of 69
Factor 3 ‐ Project Specific Requirem ents
Solicitati on Submitta l Require ments
The RFP requests that Offerors shall submit a narrative detailing the Project Specific Requirements. This section requests Offerors to descibe "how the offeror intends to successfully complete work awarded under this MACC." This includes four (4) topics with five (5) subtopics for a total of seven (7) total topics to address (See following details): 1.a Strategy for Successful Execution of Work Awarded Under Resulting Contract, 1.b Managing Multiple Concurrent Projects, 1.c Managing the Georgraphic Coverage of the Contract Requirements; 2.a Plan for Accomplishing Design Build, 2.b Plan for Accomplishing Desing Bid Build; 3.a Demonstration Project ‐ Narrative Work Plan;
4.a Demonstration Project ‐ Critical Path Schedule (not to count towards page count) Question: This section requests narrative information on a number of important topics that will greatly restrict Offerors if restricted to five (5) page only. The Demonstration Project has a range of magnitude of $15‐$20M ‐ to complete a Narrative Work Plan for a project of that size and restrict the page count will restrict Offerors from being able to thoroughly respond to this important factor. Question:
May the Government please remove the page restrictions from this section completely?
326 15 of 69
Factor 3 ‐ Project Specific Requirem ents
Solicitati on Submitta l Require ments
The RFP requests that Offerors shall submit a narrative detailing the Project Specific Requirements. This section requests Offerors to descibe "how the offeror intends to successfully complete work awarded under this MACC." This includes four (4) topics with five (5) subtopics for a total of seven (7) total topics to address (See following details): 1.a Strategy for Successful Execution of Work Awarded Under Resulting Contract, 1.b Managing Multiple Concurrent Projects, 1.c Managing the Georgraphic Coverage of the Contract Requirements; 2.a Plan for Accomplishing Design Build, 2.b Plan for Accomplishing Desing Bid Build; 3.a Demonstration Project ‐ Narrative Work Plan;
4.a Demonstration Project ‐ Critical Path Schedule (not to count towards page count) Question: This section requests narrative information on a number of important topics that will greatly restrict Offerors if restricted to five (5) page only. The Demonstration Project has a range of magnitude of $15‐$20M ‐ to complete a Narrative Work Plan for a project of that size and restrict the page count will restrict Offerors from being able to thoroughly respond to this important factor. Question:
May the Government please remove the page restrictions from this section completely?
No, Bid per RFP. 0004
327 15 of 69
Factor 3 ‐ Project Specific Requirem ents
Solicitati on Submitta l Require ments
The RFP requests that Offerors shall submit a narrative detailing the Project Specific Requirements. This section requests Offerors to descibe "how the offeror intends to successfully complete work awarded under this MACC." This includes four (4) topics with five (5) subtopics for a total of seven (7) total topics to address (See following details): 1.a Strategy for Successful Execution of Work Awarded Under Resulting Contract, 1.b Managing Multiple Concurrent Projects, 1.c Managing the Georgraphic Coverage of the Contract Requirements; 2.a Plan for Accomplishing Design Build, 2.b Plan for Accomplishing Desing Bid Build; 3.a Demonstration Project ‐ Narrative Work Plan;
4.a Demonstration Project ‐ Critical Path Schedule (not to count towards page count) Question: May this section page count be expanded to ten (1) page total?
Please reference sheet AF‐110 Finish Schedule & Details, wood panel types WD‐1, WD‐2, WD‐3.
Clarification is needed on the desired direction of the grain. Due to TRESPA sheet size limitations, the grain direction significantly swings the production costs depending upon the grain direction required. A) The interior architectural elevations suggest that the grain is running horizontally, however but the renderings look like the grains runs vertically. B) For example see elevation 3/A‐406 which depicts horizontal grain versus the rendering on the same sheet which clearly depicts vertical grain direction. Please clarify what grain direction is desired.
Refer to Spec Section 07 42 63 para 2.1.1a panel Finish Matte
Please reference sheet AF‐110 Finish Schedule & Details, wood panel types WD‐1, WD‐2, WD‐3.
Clarification is needed on the desired panel thickness. The documents contain conflicting information. Panel thickness significantly impacts material and installation costs. A) Keynote 06.14 calls out a panel thickness of 3/8”. B) Detail 7 / A‐703 dimensions this material at ½” and calls it out as keynote 06.14.
Please advise which is correct so accurate material, fabrication and installation costs can be determined.
Panel thickness is 3/8". see Spec Section 07 42 63 para 2.1.1b
SECTION 00 10 00 - SOLICITATION
The required response date/time has changed from 09-Nov-2023 02:00 PM to 29-Nov-2023 02:00 PM.
The number of offeror copies required has decreased by 1 from 1 to 0.
SECTION 00 21 16 - INSTRUCTIONS TO…
This is the start of the file's text. The full file is on GovTribe.
File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .