QA_AMENDMENT_2_-_20JUL16.docx

DOCX document 61 KB Posted

Attached to
RFP - Amendment 2 Federal contract opportunity
Solicitation number
NNL16585328R
Issued by
National Aeronautics and Space Administration Langley Research Center

About this file

Revised Questions and Answers

View the file

Other files for this federal contract opportunity

Other files attached to RFP - Amendment 2, newest first.
File Type Posted
SF30_Amendment_2.pdf PDF
Attachment_III_-Price_Forms.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
Exhibit_A_-_PWSAmnd2.pdf PDF
NNL16585328R_-_Amendment_1.pdf PDF
NNL16585328R_Questions__Answers_AMENDMENT_1.docx DOCX document
NNL16585328R_-_RFP_Portfolio.pdf PDF
NNL16585328R_Questions_ _Answers_FINAL.docx DOCX document
SPSC_Presolicitation_Conference_Charts_(8JUNE2016).ppt PPT presentation
NNL16585328R_-_DRAFT_RFP_Portfolio.pdf PDF
Instructions_for_Working_with_Adobe_PDF_Portfolio.pdf PDF
Draft_PWS.doc DOC document
Security_Services_Milestones.pptx PPTX presentation
Show all 12

On GovTribe

Work with this file on GovTribe

  • Download the original file
  • Contacts named in this file
  • Similar government files
  • Ask GovTribe AI about this file

Text version

DRAFT RFP NNL16585328R

QUESTIONS & ANSWERS

#
Reference
Question
Government Response
1
PWS 3.2.1.1
Indicates the contractor is to provide certifications for the bollard system operators. Please describe the type of training/certification NASA requires (e.g., course topics, hours of training).
This is a NASA-provided, contractor-administered, training course to be provided to all officers after contract award. Approximately 2 hours long. This is not manufacturer-specific training. The Government provides bollard operation training to the Contractor Trainer, who then provides that training to the officers.
2
PWS A.10
Do the Security Force Major and Security Force Captain work on holidays?
No. See revised PWS when the final RFP is issued.
3
PWS A.10
Are all of the positions listed just 1 FTE per shift? If not, please indicate the number of FTEs per position per shift.
Yes. For clarification PWS A.10 is a list of posts, patrols or positions and the hours of operation required for coverage. Offeror’s may utilize this information to determine the number of FTE’s required for operations
4
PWS A.10
Main Gate Post 1-5-1 lists a Mon-Sun coverage but also says no weekends are worked. Please clarify whether this is a Mon-Fri post (5 days) or Mon-Sun post (7 days).
It is 7 days. See revised PWS when final RFP is issued.
5
PWS A.10
Is the Commercial Vehicle Inspection post staffed on holidays?
No. See revised PWS when final RFP is issued.
6
PWS A.10
To ensure bidders include all the required positions and hours in their bid, we ask that Exhibit A.10 be expanded to include the positions/hours/day/FTEs for non-security positions such as ESS, Locksmith, etc.
Non-uniformed/officer positions already have hours & days listed in their specific PWS sections. It is the contractor’s responsibility to calculate their own productive work hours to determine the number of personnel required to perform the work.
7
PWS 3.2.1.4
Identifies ESS Team Lead, ESS Technician, and ESS Electrician positions. Please indicate how many FTEs per position, days of week (including weekend and holiday coverage), and hours per day each is required to work.
See answers to questions 3 and 6 above.
8
PWS 3.2.1.1, 3.2.1.4, 3.2.1.2, 3.2.2, 3.2.1.5
The layout of the PWS contains duplication of task areas that may cause confusion and will create duplication in the resultant proposals. To ease the evaluation of proposals, we respectfully suggest altering the PWS to eliminate this duplication. For example, PWS Section 3.2.1.1 lists Electronic Security System (ESS) functions and these functions are further detailed later in Section 3.2.1.4. The same is true for many other areas (e.g., PSCC is mentioned under 3.2.1.2 and again in 3.2.2, and the Locksmith is first mentioned under 3.2.1.2 and again in 3.2.1.5).
Your suggestion was accepted. See revised PWS when final RFP is issued.
9
PWS 3.2.1.5.C
Indicates the contractor must provide all Locksmith tools, supplies, equipment and vehicle. However, this is a Firm Fixed Price contract so all bidders must accurately estimate the costs they will incur to perform the tasks. To do this, the RFP must clearly indicate the item description, model number, and quantity for every piece of tool, equipment, and supplies (including locks, keys, etc.). Without this level of detail, only the incumbent will have this information and bidders may submit unrealistic projections. Therefore, we ask that NASA either include this level of detail in the RFP, make the tools/equipment/supplies cost-reimbursable items, or have these items be government-furnished.
Exhibit H of the RFP lists the equipment that the Government is providing to the contractor for performance of the contract. The contractor is to provide all other tools/equipment/supplies required to perform under the contract, such as, but not limited to a variety of standard hand-tools, power tools and accessories (e.g., saw blades), cutting tools, pick sets, and follower sets. However, locks and keys for new work are provided by the Government. The contractor, is responsible for repairs of existing locks and keys. Locksmith workload over the last 5 years, there have been approximately 360 keys issued, per year. Approximately 25 locks are replaced per year.
10
PWS 3.1.11
Mentions the contractor must provide at least 1 van. Section 3.2.1.5.C indicates the contractor is to provide the vehicle for the Locksmith. Please clarify whether the van is for the Locksmith or if bidders should include another vehicle for that use (either as part of the 8 required vehicles or as an additional vehicle, bringing the total vehicle count to 9).
9 vehicles are required. See revised PWS when final RFP is issued.
11
PWS 3.2.2.A
Indicates one Communications Officer will work day shift, Monday through Sunday and holidays.

a. Is this a 12-hour shift? If not, please provide the shift start and stop times, since the oncoming night shift is a 12-hour shift.

b. Is there only 1 Communications Officer who works each shift? If not, please indicate how many FTEs work per shift.

a/b. This is a 24/7 operation, there is one day shift (12 hours) and one night shift (12 hours). There is also a Communications Assistant position, which is an 8-hour shift, Monday-Friday, no holidays. See revised PWS when final RFP is issued.

12
PWS 3.4.3
Indicates the contractor is to provide firearms range operations and direct training support to the SSB. Furthermore, section 3.4.5 indicates the contractor is to provide an on-site qualified instructor. However, there was no mention of how many positions this training entails or the hours per day and days per week these positions are required to work. Please add the positions, with FTEs per position, and the hours/day, days/week and whether holiday coverage is required.
It is up to the contractor to determine the WYE for the trainer position (refer to PWS Attachment A.1 paragraph 12). However, the most important aspect is that the trainer shall be NPSTA-certified, as stated in the PWS. There are no set hours for the trainer position, it depends on how the training program is set up by the trainer.
13
PWS 3.4.2
Is not clear as to whether the security personnel must meet the Virginia training and licensing requirements, as it says “state certification is not required for contractors” but then goes on to say that “the contractor shall, when required by NASA and specified herein, complete local and state educational requirements, plus obtain licenses, or certification.” Also, section 3.4.8 does appear to require Virginia required training and licensing. Please clarify.
Currently state certification is only required for VCIN and 911 operations.
14
PWS 3.4 (and overall)
Overall, the training section (3.4) does not provide sufficient detail for the bidders to accurately estimate the costs to train its personnel. For example, there are no specific curricula or courses of study mentioned, or the hours associated with each type of training, or the frequency of each type of training. We understand some of this information is placed in Attachment A.4, Security Officer/Police Qualifications, but it would be extremely helpful to have it placed in the training section as well. Also, the training for the other positions (non-S/PO) is not addressed.
Please refer to the RFP, Exhibit B and PWS Attachment A.4 for the training frequency and hours required for training. Also, the various training regulations listed in the PWS give the required training curriculums. Non-S/PO positions (e.g., Locksmith/ESS technicians) do not have ongoing training requirements, but may have certification updates as required by industry standards.
15
PWS A.1
The Communications Officer Assistant position has the same requirements in terms of duties, training and clearance levels as a Communication Officer. Please clarify what the difference is between these two position categories.
The only difference is that the Assistant is an 8-hour per day, Monday through Friday position, while the Officer is a 12-hour per day, Monday through Sunday position.
16
PWS A.1
The Communications Officers and Assistant are listed as being S/POs. Typically 911 dispatchers are not required to meet the physical and training requirements of full security officers. Please confirm these positions are required to complete all the same screening, physical, and training requirements as S/POs.
The positions are required to meet the FAA/NPSTA physical and training requirements. PWS has been updated to list the Officer and Assistant as SPO, not S/PO.
17
PWS A.1
The Administrative Security positions (e.g., those who enter data, issue badges, and process visitors) do not have any qualification requirements listed. If there are any, please include them in the RFP.
There are no specific qualifications for those positions, other than those required for the general clerical work listed in the PWS. Also, refer to questions # 30 and #58.
18
PWS
The Emergency Response Team (ERT) is mentioned in quite a few places, but there is no description of who is assigned to this team or even if an ERT exists at LaRC. Please elaborate on whether there is a designated ERT at LaRC, who makes up the team, and whether there are additional requirements and compensations for those team members.
Currently there is not an established Emergency Response Team (ERT) and no additional requirements for an ERT; however, if the need for an ERT arises, it will be established by Task Order. The makeup of the ERT will be defined at that time.
19
PWS A.6
Are the psychological examinations listed in Attachment A.6 required of all personnel assigned to this contract or just the S/POs?
Only the S/PO’s (armed personnel) have this requirement.
20
PWS A.7
Indicates the contractor must conduct pre-employment, for cause, and random drug screening. What percentage of the contract staff must be tested at random each year?
It is up to the contractor to provide NASA with its plan to meet this requirement for testing. NASA does not require a specific percentage.
21
General/L.14(a)(1)2.1
Does NASA sponsor Small Businesses, more specifically SBA 8(a) Small Business set-asides for their Facility Clearance (FCL) in an effort to promote economic development and broaden the competitive field?
NASA Langley does not sponsor FCL’s for small businesses or for SBA 8(a) Small Business set-asides for their Facility Clearance (FCL). The requirement of this solicitation is that the contractor shall have a FCL at time of proposal submission.
22
PWS 3.1.11
Are “in-car” cameras being used on the current contract? If so, for the purpose of proposing new “in-car” cameras that have the ability to interoperate with the existing Government provided computer storage, what brand and model of “in-car” cameras are currently being used?

Yes. In-car cameras are currently being used, such as DC3 Police in-Car Camera System.

23
PWS A.5
Are body worn cameras being used on the current contract? If so, for the purpose of proposing new body worn cameras that have the ability to interoperate with the existing Government provided computer storage, what brand and model of body worn cameras are currently being used?
No. Body worn cameras are not currently utilized. Please see revised PWS Attachment A.5 in Final RFP for an example of the type of cameras to be used.
Would a Service Disabled Veteran Minority Owned Small Business be considered for award of this contract?
Yes as long as they also hold a SBA 8(a) small business certification.

What is the current contract number?

NNL12AA05C

What was the value of this contract for the last fiscal year?

The current contract value is approximately $2.9M per year The potential sustaining value (total value) of the current contract $14.2M

Is the scope of work in this solicitation posting the same as the scope of work that is currently being operated by the current contractor?
Substantially, yes, however there are some changes that need to be considered, such as the Communications Officer Assistant, vehicles, in-car radar, and body cameras.

Are any posts self-relieving?

If you’re referring to breaks, there are no self-relieving posts.

What is the average annual miles incurred on the patrol vehicle(s)?
Approximately 2,250 per month, per patrol vehicle.
Is there any site specific training provided by the client?
Department of Justice (DOJ) training requirements for Badge and Pass Office operators will contain a “train the trainer” session, to be conducted by the Government (refer to question #58). The Government provides bollard operation training to the Contractor Trainer, who then provides that training to the officers.
31
RFP Sec L.10
RFP Section L.10 indicates the equivalent rates for federal hires and their fringe benefits. If this contract involves hiring personnel who are current government employees, please indicate which positions.
This contract does not involve hiring personnel who are current government employees. This is a required contract clause as prescribed in Federal Acquisition Regulation (FAR) 22.1006(b) and 22.1016 and identifies those wage rates and fringe benefits that would be paid by the [requiring] activity if hired internally.
32
RFP Section L.9(b)
RFP Section L.9(b). Can bidders use a smaller font size (e.g., 8 or 10 pt) for graphics, tables, headers/footers?
All content must be in 11 point font.
33
RFP Section L.9(a)
RFP Section L.9(a) indicates the 12-page limit on the Technical Volume includes the resumes; however, there is no mention in Section L of which resumes are required, how long they should be, or where they should go.
Resumes are not required and final RFP Section L.9 deletes the reference to resumes.
34
RFP Section L.14(a)(1)
The title of this Technical Volume section is “Staffing/Equipment Requirements” but the description of the section requirements does not mention staffing. (1) Please clarify whether a discussion of staffing is required in this section, and if so, what aspects of staffing NASA would like the bidders to address. (2)Also, if staffing information is required, please expand the page limits for the Technical Volume to accommodate the extra text.
The final RFP removes “Staffing” from the title of L.14(a)(1) and M.3(1).
35
PWS Section 3.1.11.8.
The revision to this section added 1 work van, for a total of 2. However, the total number of vehicles remained at 8. Please confirm the new total should be 9.
The total is 9. See revised PWS when final RFP is issued.
36
PWS Section 3.2.1.2.A.10
Please provide a more specific description and purpose of the barricades to ensure bidders provide the appropriate type and quantity of items.
The contract utilizes approximately 50 traffic cones annually and 10 traffic barricades (saw horse) every two years.
37
PWS Section 3.2.1.4.
Is a Virginia DCJS Electronic Security Systems Technician (ESST) license required for the respective positions mentioned (Electronic Security Systems Technician and Electronic Security Services Electrician)?
DCJS certification is not required.
38
PWS Section 3.2.1.5.
Virginia DCJS also regulates locksmiths. Therefore, does the locksmith need to maintain DCJS certifications or are they exempt from this effort?
DCJS certification is not required.
39
PWS Section 3.5.1.
Does the Government prefer the baton to have OC spray incorporated within, or would the Government accept a baton and CS and OC spray dispenser to be provided separately?
Examples of Batons both with or without OC spray incorporated are given as examples in the PWS. The decision is up to the contractor as to what to provide.
40
PWS Attachment A.1, Section 8
Showed the deletion of the ESS Team Lead from the first draft PWS, but the position is still mentioned in Section 8.2. If the position is still required, please indicate what hours/days this position works and what the qualification requirements are.
ESS Lead is not required. See revised PWS when final RFP is issued.
41
Exhibit B, Item A
Indicates there is a 70-day transition period. Is 70 days correct?
70 days is the anticipated transition period, but this is an estimate, based on an estimated award date of around 10/19/2016. This Item has been updated to say “…approximately a 70-day phase-in…” which will be reflected in the Final RFP
42
Exhibit B, Item H and several others
Indicate that some deliverables are due within a certain amount of days after the “effective date.” Please clarify if “effective date” means the date of contract award or date of actual contract start (e.g., the first day after the transition period).
“Effective Date” actually means actual contract performance start. Exhibit B will be revised for the Final RFP to clearly state whether the items are due within certain days after “Contract Award” or “Contract Start.”
43
Exhibit D.1 CBA for Security Officers (with the Int'l Union, Security, Police & Fire Professionals of America) Article 12
States that “continuous service is defined as the period of uninterrupted employment with the Employer and/or with the Employer’s predecessors at the NASA Langley Research Center in Hampton, Virginia.” This seniority on the part of incumbent employees directly impacts bidders’ pricing (e.g., for vacation and other leave accruals), so we ask NASA to provide a list of all incumbent seniority by position (e.g., 2 Security Officers at 1 year, 2 years, etc.).
In accordance with FAR 22.1020 and 52.222-41, the Seniority List will be provided by the incumbent contractor to the contracting officer 10 days before (current) contract completion. At the commencement of the succeeding contract (during the transition phase), the contracting officer will provide a copy of the list to the successor contractor (awardee). Offerors must comply with the DOL regulations when submitting proposals. Offerors may contact the Union representatives from the CBA for further details for the release of that information.
44
Exhibit D.1, CBA for Security Officers (with the Int'l Union, Security, Police & Fire Professionals of America) Article 35
Lists the Lieutenant wage rate. However, Article 2, indicates that lieutenants are not covered by the CBA (“…excluding… lieutenants, office clerical employees, and supervisors as defined in the Act.”). Please clarify whether lieutenants are covered by the CBA.
The lieutenants are covered by the CBA.
45
Exhibit D.2
CBA for other positions lists the Electronic Security Technician, but not the ES Electrician or the ES Team Lead. If those positions are covered by a CBA Amendment, please provide the minimum wage requirements for them. Otherwise, please indicate which labor category under the Wage Determination they fall under.
Currently, the ESS Team Lead position does not exist on neither the current contract, nor the upcoming contract. The ESS Electrician was added to the current contract in 2014, and the latest CBA was set in place after that. So, the ESS Electrician is not covered by the CBA. Therefore, it is up to offerors to determine which Wage Determination category the ESS Electrician position falls under.
Please indicate where NASA would like the bidders to include the transition costs.
If offerors choose to include a transition cost, it shall be included in its price and annotated in Volume II.
47
Attachment III – Price – IDIQ Schedule of Rates Forms. Form 7
Lists several positions that are not identified elsewhere in the RFP package, such as the Security Police Officers, Physical Security Inspector, CPP/Subject Matter Expert, and Explosive Detection Canine Team. In order to provide pricing for these positions, please list the qualification requirements for each of these positions and if they are WD positions, which labor category each position falls under.
To clarify, these positions may only be utilized under IDIQ Task Orders. The Descriptions/Qualifications for these positions have been added to PWS Attachment A.1 in order to help offerors determine how to price these labor categories. It is up to the offeror to determine which WD position applies.
The RFP indicates the contractor is to provide the vehicles but at the Site Visit we noticed the vehicles have government license plates. Please clarify whether the contractor is indeed responsible for providing the vehicles and if so, how they are to be licensed.
Only Government issued vehicles have Government plates. Contractor vehicles are not issued by the Government and will not have Government plates. Contractor vehicles can be registered through State DMVs.
Hampton, VA has a 0.36% gross receipts tax. Does this tax apply to work performed on this contract?
In accordance with Clause H.12 of the DRFP (and resultant contract), the Contractor is required to pay all state and local (to include the city of Hampton) taxes.
50
PWS section 3.1.11.12 and 3.1.11.8
States "Contractor shall provide all other vehicles to meet the performance requirements of this PWS to include, but not limited to, Locksmith and Electronic Security Systems (ESS) services and movement of equipment." Section 3.1.11.8 describes number of vehicles and combination. Are the Locksmith & ESS vehicles included in the number of vehicles in Section 3.1.11.A.8?
They are included in the 9 count.
51
PWS section 3.1.11.A.8
States "Provide a minimum of eight (8) vehicles as described above. The vehicle combination must include at least one (1) pick-up truck, two (2) Work Vans, and at least six (6) vehicles that can be sedan/passenger cars or SUVs or a mixture." This is 9 vehicles. How many vehicles are required?
Minimum of 9. See revised PWS when final RFP is issued.
52
PWS section 3.1.11.A.9
States "Provide “in-car” audio and video systems, minimum two (2) cameras, one interior and one facing exterior." Are these to be installed in all vehicles or just Protective Service vehicles?
Patrol vehicles only
53
PWS 3.2.1.2.V

PWS section 3.2.4.1.I PWS page 16.V and Att. A.5.a) states "Provide audio monitoring of public interactions with dismounted S/POs at all times gates are in operation. These audio monitoring systems shall be compatible with contractor-provided video and audio mobile patrol systems. Technical assistance can be obtained through the COR in meeting this requirement." Att. A.5.a) describes, Body Camera: The contractor shall provide body worn cameras to all officers performing gate, patrol, and post operations, excluding PSCC.

PWS section 3.2.4.1.I. states, "Provide audio recording capability for officers performing security at LaRC gates and the commercial vehicle inspection"

Please clarify:

(1) Are these to be audio devices or body cams?

(2) Please clarify if there are to be different devices in regard to Att. A.5 & section 3.2.4.1.I

(3) If a mix of both, please specify the number of each.

(1) PWS has been updated to delete Section 3.2.1.2.V. PWS Section 3.2.4.1.I has been re-worded so that stand-alone audio recording at gates is no longer a requirement. All recordings will be from body worn cameras and/or in-vehicle cameras.

54
PWS section 3.1.11.A.10
States "Provide “in-car” X and K Band speed radar systems for four (4) patrol vehicles which shall be fully installed and operational. Handheld radar systems are not acceptable. Are there any other radar specifications?
No. Example of acceptable installed radar system is the Kustom Signals, Raptor RP-1 Single K-Band Radar.
55
Phase-in/Transition Plan
The offeror shall address the approach for a 70-day phase-in and for minimizing changeover difficulties and maximizing continuity of services to NASA. The Phase-in plan will not be evaluated but will be used upon contract award to begin the actual phase-in process. The plan shall be submitted to the CO within 5 business days of contract award. The plan shall include the following:… (1) Does a Phase-in-Plan need to be submitted with the proposal? The language seems to indicate that one is required but will not be part of the evaluation.
A phase-in plan is not required as part of the proposal package. Only the contract awardee is required to provide a phase-in plan 5 days after contract award. Exhibit B has been re-worded to remove language indicating a plan is required at proposal submission.
56
PWS 3.2.2
Regarding the PSCC Officer Assistant: (1) Are the qualifications for this positions the same as for the PSCC Officer? (2) If different, please explain.
(1) Yes

(2) N/A

57
PWS section 3.4.3.B
States “Ensure the safety, serviceability, and proper maintenance of all firearms, ammunition, and related equipment utilized by its employees and all NASA Special Agents. Firearms maintenance shall be conducted by a qualified armorer.”

(1)What weapons systems must an armorer be qualified to work on?

(2)What level of qualification is required?

(1) The multiple weapon systems identified in Exhibit H.

(2) Armorer qualification is determined based on the weapon system that is being serviced. The armorer must be qualified (by the manufacturer of the particular weapon) to maintain and replace parts needed for the specific weapon.

58
PWS 3.2.1.6.A
Regarding the Badge and Pass employees and operation of the NCIC system: (1) Are there any special qualifications or training for this function? (2) If so, what is the cost and duration of this training? (3) If off site, what is the location of the training?
(1) This is a DOJ certification. Training and testing is electronic through the DOJ and a Government “train the trainer.”

(2) There is no cost to be trained for testing purposes.

(3) Training and testing will take place at NASA Langley. Training is dependent upon the student. The test period can last for up to 2 hours if the person being tested utilizes all allowable time.

59
PWS A.7, paragraph 1.e)
When is plan for the drug-free workplace program to be submitted to the COR for review and approval?
30 days after contract performance start.
60
RFP L.5
Is there a due date for written questions and/comments to be submitted? A due date is not listed in the RFP under section L.5. Thank you very much.
RFP Questions shall be submitted no later than 2:00 p.m. EST on Wednesday, July 13, 2016. Please see revised RFP Section L.5.

Updated 7/13/2016

61
Q&A
The answer to bidder question # 10 indicates a 7/24 (2 x 12 hours) Communications Officer and a Day Shift Communications Assistant. Are these additional to the posts and patrols shown on PWS A.10 or may the contractor share (“Dual-hat”) them as indicated in the PWA A.10 initial paragraph?

These are two different positions that cannot be performed by 1 person. These are not additions to the requirements in A.10. The PSCC Officers and Assistant may be able perform the duties associated with SPO duties but not at the same time if that is what is meant by “Dual-hat”.

62
Q&A
The answer to bidder question # 46 says “if offeror’s choice” is to include a (70 day) transition cost”. Will the Government consider applying a mandatory fixed cost for all bidders to eliminate the substantial advantage held by the incumbent!

No.

63
RFP Section G.5
RFP Section G.5 refers to “micro-purchases” on authorized Government Purchase Cards. We note that the Contractor cannot bill for such purchases until they are complete and accepted. Please advise the Dollar threshold for micro- purchases on Government Purchase Cards.
Currently the Micro-Purchase Threshold is $3,500.
64
Q&A
Q&A 52 discusses the Armorer. There is no listing for an Amorer on PQS A-10. Is this position shared/”dual-hatted.” If so, which positions on PWS A-10 are eligible for Armorer duty?

Reference Q&A 57; it is not a Government requirement to have a certified Armorer on staff or for any of the positions listed in A.10. However, as required by the PWS Section 3.4.3.B, the Contractor is required to ensure safety, serviceability, and proper maintenance of all firearms. This is not to say that the qualifications cannot be maintained within a position so that repairs do not need to be outsourced by the contractor.

65
RFP Section L.9
Solicitation L.9 Note 1 states a maximum page count for Volume I – Technical of twelve, including the DD254. However, Solicitation L .14(a) does not reference placement of the DD 254 and this for is completed by the Government. Please clarify whether offerors have twelve (12) or ten (10) pages for their Volume I response
Section L.14(a) listed the DD254 in 2.1 of the Volume I - Technical Proposal. The Offeror is required to complete Blocks 6a, 6b, 6c of the DD254 and include in its technical volume page count. The page limit for Volume I is 12 pages.
66
PWS 3.2.1.4.B.8
Please differentiate between: a) Protective Services Communications Center (PSCC); and 2) Security Services Communications Center (SSCC)
There is no differentiation between SSCC and PSCC other than the name. The SSCC is the reference in the current contract. The PWS in the RFP will be corrected to reflect PSCC.
67
Solicitation Section B.6
B.6 (a), Page 10 of 71: “The minimum quantity of work required under CLIN 0002 is $0. There will be no further obligation on the part of the Government to issue any Task Orders. The total maximum value of CLIN 0002 is $4,500,000 for the five-year period of performance, unless extended via the Option to Extend Services clause of this contract.”

Are we to use $4,500,000 as a plug number, or leave this blank?

B.4 Part I Section B, Pricing Schedule Item 0002 has already been filled in with $4,500,000 for the Offerors.

68
Solicitation Section I.1
I.1, 52.204-4, Page 30 of 71: 52.204-4 PRINTED OR COPIED DOUBLE-SIDED ON POSTCONSUMER FIBER CONTENT PAPER (MAY 2011)

Would the Government like the offeror to print our proposal double sided to comply with this clause? If so, we will need to mark several pages with “this page intentionally left blank” in order to ensure that all major headings start on the right-hand side of the page. With this in mind, will pages marked with “this page intentionally left blank” count toward the page limitations?

Yes this clause applies. The solicitation does not specify the placement of major headings. Section L.9 (c) specifies the exclusions to the page count; however, if an Offeror needs to leave a page blank for some reason the approach as stated is appropriate.

69
Solicitation Section I
I.17 (c), Page 39 of 71: “Mark the title page with the following legend: This proposal or document includes sensitive information that NASA shall not disclose outside the Agency and its service providers that support management activities and administrative functions. To gain access to this sensitive information, a service provider's contract must contain the clause at NFS 1852.237-72, Access to Sensitive Information. Consistent with this clause, the service provider shall not duplicate, use, or disclose the information in whole or in part for any purpose other than to perform the services specified in its contract. This restriction does not limit the Government's right to use this information if it is obtained from another source without restriction. The information subject to this restriction is contained in pages [insert page numbers or other identification of pages].”

Would the Government like us to replace our normal disclosure statement with this one?

I. 17 (c) (1) The Contractor shall identify any sensitive information submitted in support of this proposal or in performing this contract. For purposes of identifying sensitive information, the Contractor may, in addition to any other notice or legend otherwise required, use a notice similar to the following:….

The Government would like the Offeror to select either of the two choices in addition to any other notice or legend otherwise required.

70
Solicitation Section L.9
L.9 (a), Page 55 of 71: “Volume IV – Business Proposal; Model Contract; Standard Form 33 and Section B–J of Model Contract, including Completed Representations and Certifications”

To clarify, the Government would like us to cut and paste all of these required items in full (not just fill-ins) into the Word file for submission so that this document can become the final contract upon award, correct?

Yes. The requirement is to provide a full copy of the documentation and not just the responses to the fill-ins.

71
Solicitation Section L.9
L.9 (b) 1, Page 56 of 71: “The offeror shall use Arial 11 font in its proposal (all volumes)…”

Must all graphics, tables, charts, and figures be in Arial 11 font as well?

See response to #32

72
Solicitation Section L.11
L.11 (a), Page 56 of 71: “Per FAR 52.219-14, Limitations on Subcontracting, (c)(1), Services, (except construction) - “At least 50 percent of the cost of contract performance incurred for personnel shall be expended for employees of the concern.”

Does this mean that the prime must perform 50 percent of the labor (not 50 percent of the total contract)?

L.11 Limitation of Subcontracting states…” For purposes of determining compliance with this clause, the “cost of the contract” and the “cost of contract performance incurred for personnel” are defined in 13 CFR 125.6. The offeror shall complete Attachment III, Cost Form 8 to demonstrate compliance.

73
Solicitation Section L.14
L.14 (c) 2 viii, Page 64 of 71: “The proposal shall include a matrix identifying which of the team members (prime and/or subcontractor(s) will perform each of the sections of the PWS…”

This section appears to be related to the relevancy of our past performance except for this item. Should this item be moved to another section of the proposal, as it does not relate to our past performance contracts?

No. This matrix will be utilized to evaluate relevant performance of team members (prime and/or subcontractor) by identifying which partner (prime or subcontractor) will be performing each PWS area. If the prime has no subcontractor then the prime would be listed in every area of the table below viii.

74
PWS Section 3.1.7
PWS, Section 3.1.7, Page 7: “All security support for events shall be accomplished under the FFP portion of the contract (there are approximately 2 major events per year)”

Historically, how many hours and posts are required to staff these two special events?

It could be estimated that approximately 8 hours for 2 additional posts could be required for each special event.

75
PWS Section 3.1.11
PWS, Section 3.1.11, Page 10: “Provide a minimum of eight (9) vehicles as described above.”

Are we to provide 8 or 9 vehicles?

See response to #10, 35, 50 and 51 PWS is updated to reflect change.

76
PWS Section 3.2.1.1
PWS, Section 3.2.1.1, Page 12: “ACS Failure: On a 24/7 basis, provide 4-hour response for a system-wide failure…price on incident per year in the FFP CLIN.”

Historically, how many personnel have been required to respond to such a failure?

One

77
PWS Section 3.2.1.2 A.(9)
PWS, Section 3.2.1.2 (9), Page 13: “Provide security/police officer(s) to staff fixed security posts and gates.”

Will the Government provide the offeror with a historical schedule?

See PWS Attachment A.10 for the required schedule. Historically the data is equally similar.

PWS, Section 3.2.1.2 P, Page 15: “The contractor shall be responsible for providing…drug testing equipment (e.g., drug identification chemical test.”

Is it appropriate to send personnel to an established clinic to conduct such screenings?

The referenced PWS section and the question are two different topics. The referenced PWS section refers to drug identification chemical testing equipment used to provide a positive/negative result for possible drugs found during searches or investigation. The question is referring to drug test screenings for personnel which is covered in Attachment A.7 of the PWS.

79
PWS Attachment A.2, 4
Attachment A.2, 4, Page 48: “NASA LaRC operates an Occupational Health Clinic on a fee for service basis, which can be used for these examinations [medical] should the contractor choose.”

What is the cost associated with a medical examination per individual?

There is a Fee-for-Service Rate schedule that covers numerous types of physical exams, protocol exams, and medications/services. The Offeror would have to contact the Clinic on the specific types of exams requested, and the clinic would provide the price, depending on the type of exam. Contact Angela Claud at extension 757-864-2291 for further information.

80
PWS Attachment A.3, 1
Attachment A.3, 1: “The Contractor shall ensure all S/POs and other Contractor personnel authorized to be armed take the Physical Abilities Test annually.”

Upon assumption of the contract by a nonincumbent offeror, will the successful bidder be required to put all personnel (incumbents acquired and new hires) through the PAT?

Yearly re-tests are required to be completed by the end of the calendar year. The current contract is required to have this completed by EOY 2016. A re-test will not be required for any incumbent hires until the end of the 2017 calendar year. Any new hires will be required to do the PAT.”

81
PWS Attachment A.6, 1
Attachment A.6, 1: “A battery of psychological examinations, including MMPI-2 and the Shipley Institute of Living Scale will be administered to all applicants.”

Upon assumption of the contract by a nonincumbent offeror, will the successful bidder be required to rescreen all incumbents acquired?

This is required to be completed prior to start of employment. All incumbents have already been tested and do not require a rescreen.

82
Solicitation Attachment II
Attachment II: “The Offeror shall submit a detailed safety and health plan with its proposal showing how it intends to protect the life, health, and wellbeing of the public, NASA, and Contractor employees, as well as property and equipment in accordance with the format and requirements of Appendix E…”

Are we required to submit a safety and health plan for this acquisition? If so, in which volume shall we include this plan? May we include it as an attachment to this volume if it is required? What is the page limit? Does this requirement count toward the established page limit for that volume in which it shall be included? How will it be evaluated?

See Exhibit B. paragraph G. The contractor shall submit the S&H Plan after being awarded the contract. It is not included in the proposal nor evaluated.

83
PWS Section 3.4.2
PWS, para 3.4.2 indicates there will be a NPSTA qualified instructor on site.

Is there currently an NPSTA-qualified instructor on site?

Yes. The Captain is currently NPSTA certified.

84
PWS Attachment 1
PWS, Attachment I: lists that two positions will be qualified as NPSTA instructors.

1. What is the training pipeline to receive the NPSTA instructor qualification? For example, a 4-week course at Kennedy Space Center? OR

2. Does achievement of the NPSTA instructor qualification authorize the instructor then to certify students who successfully complete the FAA course given at Langley to meet the contract FAA requirement? OR

3. Must a NASA Kennedy instructor also instruct the course?

4. If something else is required to achieve the FAA certification for P/SOs as applicable, what is the process?

Attachment 1 indicates that the Security Force Major OR Captain can be NPSTA certified OR it can be a standalone position. It does not require that 2 positions be NPSTA qualified.

1. Outlined detail description of NPSTA Instructor Certification can be found in NASA Procedural Requirement (NPR) 1600.1A, Appendix G.7.1.

2. Yes. This certification allows the trainer to complete mandatory training in accordance with Agency requirements independently at the Center. FAA training requires the use of multiple NPSTA trainers. The requirement for additional trainers is funded by the Government.

3. No.

4. All required certifications and training are provided during the FAA course.

85
PWS Section 3.4.2
PWS, para 3.4.2 requires S/POs to meet the FAA qualification.

How many S/POs are currently on staff and how many currently meet/hold the FAA qualification? (Unless all S/POs who will require the FAA certification hold it now, this information is necessary to accurately bid and not give the incumbent an advantage.)

Approximately 35% of the existing workforce holds FAA qualifications.

86
ESSE Lenel Certification
The PWS states the ESSE must be Lenel certified. Lenel certification courses are many and combinations vary widely in price and must be priced through a VAR. Some of the quotes from VARs who are guessing at requirements vary by as much as $10,000. Question/Request for Clarification: Please describe the Government’s Lenel certification requirement for the ESSE by course names that would be familiar to a VAR.
Certification at the Lenel Legacy Master Level which includes OnGuard Hardware and Software Fundamentals, Advanced access control, Digital Video,

Credentialing Technology & Biometrics, and Enterprise Overview will be required.

87
ESSE Lenel Certification
Should the ESSE Lenel certification training cost be factored into our offering price or will this be paid for by task order?
Yes, the cost should be factored into the offering price. It will not be paid by task order.
88
Draft Q&A re ESSE
Draft Q&A 45 states in part, "So, the ESS Electrician is not covered by the CBA. Therefore, it is up to offerors to determine which Wage Determination category the ESS Electrician position falls under."

The ESSE has to be Lenel Certified and carry a TS clearance. The WD rates for electricians seem low for the certification and clearance requirements.

Question/Request for Clarification: Because of the expertise and requirements for the position, wouldn’t this position be outside of the wage determination?

It is up to the Offeror to understand the Department of Labor’s classification for Covered and Exempt employees regarding the Service Contract Act. The Offeror is to identify these positions and status on Attachment III, Form 2.

89
PWS

3.1.11.A.10 Draft Q&A 54 suggested Kustom Signals, Raptor RP-1 Single K-Band Radar. PWS section 3.1.11.A.10 states, "Provide “in-car” X and K Band speed radar systems ..."

Question/Request for Clarification:

a) Are X AND K band systems required?

b) If X band is required, does the Government have a make/model preference?

There are many configurations of these units (K) and mounting options. Are any other operating specifications required?

a) X and K Band OR just K band is acceptable. X alone is not acceptable.

b) See a) above.

Front mount and one antenna forward required. There is no mounting preference.

90
PWS 3.2.1.2.P

This section contains the only mention of, “mats, simunition guns & ammo, and simunition PPE” Question/Request for Clarification: Please explain this section and the Government’s requirement of types and quantities.

This section is referencing training equipment (e.g. mats, simunition guns & ammo, and simunition PPE) that is required to meet the contract requirement for training equipment. Specific type and quantity is at the contractor’s discretion as long as there is ample amount to meet training needs. There are maximum of 20 students per class. Full PPE is required for approximately 10 students at a time. Approximately 50 interlocking puzzle mats should be provided for defensive tactic exercises. Simunition weapons are provided by the Government and each student utilizes approximately 250 simunition rounds.

91
Attachment A.5.3.g
How many “Motorola RMN5038 Intrinsically Safe Remove Speaker Microphones” are required?
Each officer is required to be equipped with this while performing uniform services (with the exception of PSCC). Refer to Attachment A.10.
92
Attachment A.1
This Attachment describes certification as a NPSTA Instructor. Question/Request for Clarification:

a) Is there a requirement to maintain the certification?

b) If yes, how often does this occur?

c) How many training hours is the recertification?

d) What is the location of the training?

What is the associated cost to Contractors?

A) Yes. There are requirements mandated by the Agency and the Academy to maintain certification.

B) This occurs annually.

C) The annual workshop for maintaining certification is approximately 40 hours long.

D) The certification training is located at a NASA Center (in the past it has been hosted at Marshall and KSC). It all depends on where the Academy decides to have it, it is not predetermined this far in advance.

There is no cost to attend the training, other than the contractor having to pay travel expenses, which will vary depending on location.

93
Body Cams
Are there any other specs or options required for the Wolfcom Vision Pro Body Cams?
There are no specific specs or options available for the Wolfcom Vision Pro Body Cam. All equipment (e.g., required in support of the Wolfcom Vision Pro Body Cam is required.
94
Attachment III Form 5
There are ten instruction items on this tab but there are no corresponding columns for instructions 5-10. Instruction 5 still has, “? § ?” draft(?) language in two places. Question/Request for Clarification: Please clarify Form 5 instructions & layout.

Disregard those instructions. Corrected with Amendment 2, revised Attachment III Form 5.

95
Attachment III Form 6
There are seven instruction items on this tab but there are no corresponding columns for instructions 5-7. Question/Request for Clarification: Please clarify Form 6 instructions & layout.
Disregard those instructions. Corrected with Amendment 2, revised Attachment III Form 6.
96
Attachment III Forms 7 & 2
Are the three IDIQ Only positions, Certified Protection Professional, Physical Security Inspector and Explosive Detection Canine Team on Form 7 to be listed on Form 2?

No. We just require a rate and do not have a current requirement for those positions.

97
General
Is a Draft Organizational Conflict of Interest Plan required to be submitted with the proposal?
No.
98
Exhibit D-1
NASA Langley CBA 122015 is missing from the Solicitation is missing Page 42-45 can you please provide these pages.

The 45 page number is the total number of pages in the document which includes the 4 pages in the beginning before page number 1.

99
PWS 3.2.2
A states the PSCC Assistant provides a day shift of 0730-1600 but the Attachment A.10 lists the hours of operation at 0800-1630. Please clarify
Attachment A.10 is incorrect. The hours should be 0730-1600. The PWS will be corrected.
100
General
Approximately what percentage of the current guard force are trained to the new Federal Arrest Authority IAW NPR 1600.1 requirements?

See response to #85.

101
Solicitation B.4
B.4 does not specify where the pricing for 3.2.5 Administrative Support and 3.2.6 International Visits should be priced under the CLIN breakout supplied. Can you please advise which Sub CLIN where these should be included?

SubCLIN 0001AD- Remaining Efforts

102
PWS Section 3.2.11 E
3.2.1.1 E States that N97 protective masks are required. Should this be N95?
This is actually referenced in 3.2.1.2.E. Yes, it should be N95. The PWS has been updated to reflect this.
103
PWS Section 3.6
RFP Section 3.6 IDIQ Services. Will the government provide historical work load indicators for the last three years for the 3.6.1 Emergency Security & Protective Services, 3.6.2 Inter-operability Requirements, 3.6.3 Subject Matter Expertise, 3.6.4 Studies, 3.6.5 IDS/ACS/Network Video System Cameras, 3.6.6 Explosive Detection Team (K-9), 3.6.6 Document Destruction and 3.6.9 Deployment to Other NASA Facilities Preparedness and Response? The work load will assist in developing the most efficient solution for each of the IDIQ areas.
Only 3.6.5 services were utilized on an IDIQ, and the work amount was for one individual for an estimated 6 weeks total over the last 3 years
104
PWS Section 3.6.3
RFP Section 3.6.3 Subject Matter Expertise. Will the government provide a specific example of the services used in the past for A) research and scientific environments? B) business offices? C) highly security facilities? D) campus settings? E) factory industrial settings?

These services have not been required to date.

105
PWS 3.2.3
Security Records Administrator position is currently not reflected in any of the CBAs.

Is this position intended to be included in one of the CBAs?

If so, which CBA and what CBA category will be used.

If not, is there a Wage Determination category from the DOL WD document that is best used for this category.

The posted CBAs are currently in the Security Contract. It is the Offeror’s responsibility to understand the Department of Labor’s regulations for Exempt, and Covered employees for the Service Contract Act (e.g. WD/CBA).

106
PWS 3.2.6
International Visits Coordinator position is currently not reflected in any of the CBAs.

Is this position intended to be included in one of the CBAs?

If so, which CBA and what CBA category will be used.

If not, is there a Wage Determination category from the DOL WD document that is best used for this category.

See response to #105

107
PWS A.5
Regarding material items, the uniform requirements list indicates a Raincoat is needed for every armed security officer. For the PSCC Supervisor and Assistant positions, who are uniformed and weapons qualified, is the Raincoat a required item?

Yes.

108
3.2.1.2.D.3
Regarding material items, the uniform requirements list does not include safety vest/traffic safety vest. During the Industry visit it was observed that all the ECP personnel are currently wearing traffic safety outer garments. Is the safety vest required, and if so, is this anticipated to be a contractor furnished item?

Yes and yes.

109
Solicitation PWS 3.2.1.2 P
The RFP describes Simunition FX ™ as the weapons simulation system. And the Government equipment list includes weapons simulator hardware. Will the contractor be authorized to use the Government Simunition license to purchase consumables and items for Simunition. Or will the contractor be required to procure a Simunition license separately to support contract execution.

No ammo or Simunitions license is required

Will the Government provide a Union Seniority list for all non-exempt personnel?

See response to #43

Equipment maintenance and repair is required in several areas of the PWS, but it is unclear who will bear the cost of the actual equipment, parts, supplies, etc. when they need to be replaced. Please clarify if NASA will provide all replacement equipment, parts, and supplies for repairs and maintenance.

Maintenance and repairs (which includes replacement parts) is the requirement of the contractor in accordance with 52.245-1(d)

File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .