QA_01-14-2026.pdf
PDF 156 KB Posted
- Attached to
- WA FLAP LINCOL 57860(1), Hawk Creek Road Improvements & WA NPS LARO 208(1), Hawk Creek Road Stabilization
- Solicitation number
- 69056725B000004
About this file
This document is a Questions and Answers (Q&A) file for a federal highway project titled "WA FLAP LINCOL 57860 (1), & WA NPS LARO 208(1), Hawk Creek Road Improvements & Hawk Creek Road Stabilization". The project involves road improvements and stabilization, with a total of 53 technical and general questions addressed between 11/13/25 and 1/14/26. Key technical details include soil nail wall design, shotcrete requirements, HMA placement specifications, underdrain installation, and construction methodology for road and bank stabilization.
The solicitation is a total small business set-aside with specific requirements for materials, testing, and construction techniques. Notable aspects include contractor responsibilities for soil nail wall design, wall drainage network, rootwad acquisition, and adherence to specified subsections for various construction elements. The project requires careful attention to geotechnical conditions, with specific guidelines for nail lengths, grout-to-soil adhesion, and wall facing construction. The contracting agency provides guidance on mix designs, material testing, and construction methods through these detailed responses, helping potential bidders understand the project's technical nuances and requirements.
View the file
Other files
Show all 18
On GovTribe
Work with this file
- Download the original file
- Contacts named in this file
- Similar government files
- Ask GovTribe AI about this file
Text version
WA FLAP LINCOL 57860 (1), & WA NPS LARO
208(1), Hawk Creek Road Improvements &
Hawk Creek Road Stabilization
# General Technical Question Answer Date
1 X
I wanted to reach out and see if this was still going to drop during this winter or based on the shutdown if it is going to slide to the right a bit. I wanted to check and see if there was a new estimated drop date or time frame.
We are still anticipating that this project will be advertised this winter.
11/13/25
2 X
I am looking over the documents and I noticed there are two SWPPPs listed. I am wondering if they are both needed, as I believe they are identical except for a few pages. The "Hawk
Creek Compiled SWPPP for contract" file has an extra blank page and a Tab 3 divider page on pages 64-65 (also has a higher page count by 2), while the "waa-lincol57860-1_SWPPP" file is missing the blank page and has the Tab 3 divider page in the correct order, but has signatures the previous report is missing on the NPDES on page
64. There are a few blank pages that may be put in a slightly different order from each other, but otherwise everything looks the same. There are a couple of divider pages that say there should be photos included also.
Please disregard "Hawk Creek Compiled
SWPPP for contract" and use file name
“waa-lincol57860-1_SWPPP”. This will corrected through an amendment.
12/18/25
3 X
Minimum soil nail lengths and maximum nail spacing according to wall section height for the contractor’s design are provided on sheet K.3 and some discussion related to minimum soil nail requirements are provided section 6.1 of the geotechnical report. Is it possible for
Shannon & Wilson to provide the output results from the slope stability analysis that was completed for preparation of the geotechnical report? This would be helpful in bid preparation for the soil nail engineer to determine if the minimum nail lengths are adequate or if longer nail lengths are required when checking for internal stability and temporary stability.
This information will not be provided.
Prepare bids according to information provided.
12/19/25
Check General or Technical
4 X
The site is relatively remote without ready mix batch plants nearby. Will the CO allow for the shotcrete mix design and applicable additives to be specified and approved by the wall engineer of record in order to accommodate the increased time required for transport and application?
Submit proposed admixtures for approval with the shotcrete mix design according to
Subsection 566.04. See Subsection 566.05 for requirements of hydration stabilizing admixtures.
12/19/25
5 X
In past experience with carved and stained architectural finishes for shotcrete, we have found that best and most durable finishes are achieved when a curing compound is not applied to the carved finished once carving is completed. Will the CO allow omitting the curing compound requirement for the architectural finish? Curing compound, as required by specification, would still be used on the temporary facing and structural facing.
Cure shotcrete according to Subsection
566.08. Curing methods must be
compatible with the proposed stain and included with the shotcrete mix design submittal according to Subsection 566.04(j).
12/19/25
6 X
Will the CO allow for proof test nails, provided they are successfully tested, to be incorporated into the work as production nails? Or are scarification proof test nails required?
Successfully tested proof tests can be incorporated as production anchors if they meet the requirements of Subsection
259.08. Perform proof testing on
production nails according to Subsection
259.09(b)(2). See Subsection 259.14 for acceptance criteria.
12/19/25
7 X
After award, will the CO make the CAD files for sheet K.2 available to the contractor for preparation of the soil nail wall design submittal?
Yes, CAD files can be made available upon request after award.
12/19/25
8 X
Does price evaluation preference FAR clause
52.219-4 apply to this Solicitation (HUBZone 10 percent)?
Since the solicitation was a total small business set aside, the FAR Clause 52.219-4 does not apply.
12/31/25
9 X
Both SCR’s and FP-14 are silent regarding material & installation requirements for Line
Item Number A0200 Pay Item Number 25101-
0000 PLACED RIPRAP, METHOD A (QUARRY
SPALL)
Material and installation requirements are covered under section 251. See Subsection
251.04 and Table 251-1, also Subsection
705.02 and Table 705-1A
12/30/25
10 X
Both SCR’s and FP-14 are silent regarding material & installation requirement for Line
Item Number A0250 Pay Item Number 25101-
0100 RIPRAP DITCH, METHOD A, CLASS 1
Material and installation requirements are covered under section 251. See Subsection
251.04 and Table 251-1, also Subsection
705.02 and Table 705-1
12/30/25
11 X
Please confirm which type of Concrete Headwall is required for 54” CPM, Type A or Type B (sheet
G.12)
See Note 4 on Sheet G.12, use type A Step
Bevel headwalls for round pipe unless otherwise specified.
12/30/25
12 X
Clearing and grubbing, section 201, All clearing and grubbing is covered under 203.03? No clearing and grubbing is expected to be covered by 203.05?
Clearing and Grubbing is covered under
Section 201.
12/30/25
13 X
626.03 Are the willows intended to be
harvested within the project boundaries?
Yes, see 713.06 12/30/25
14 X
What is the disposal methods for item 130;
removal of gate, item 140; removal of headwall, item 150; removal of removal of sign, item 160;
removal of fence, item 170; removal of guardrail, item 180; culvert removals? Are they covered under 203.03 or some form of 203.05?
I looked and can’t find the answers in the plans or the specs, sorry if I missed it.
Items, A0130, A0140, A0150, A0160 and
A0170, Removal of items is covered under section 203.
Item A0180 removal is covered under
204.14 and 203.05(a)
12/30/25
15 X
605.08 confuses me. I don’t see any underdrain in section K or sheet D.6 or typical section 3 of
4. Is underdrain required with under or behind the soil nail wall?
See Subsections 259.10 and 605.05 for requirements of the wall drainage network.
Wall underdrain components, including geocomposite drain and weep drains are shown on Sheet K.4.
12/30/25
16 X
Can the Biologist and Archeologist be on the contractors payroll or do they have to be 3rd party companies?
Follow the requirements of 107.10 12/30/25
17 X Please advise if acceptable to place 1-3” Asphalt lift vs. 2-1.5” lifts.
Bid according to the plans. 1/5/26
18 X
Please confirm Filter Blanket Layer 1 & 2 are incidental to Rip Rap placement, there is currently no bid item for this and SCRs and FP-
14 do not address this in measurement.
There is no pay items for filter blanket – see section 109.05.
1/5/26
19 X
Is the Contractor allowed to utilize Hawk Creek campground for crew camping during construction of the project?
There are no government provided housing areas.
1/7/26
20 X
Is rock excavation to be expected under Line-
Item Number A0180 Roadway Excavation? If so, please provide a rock excavation quantity.
See contract requirements for Roadway
Excavation. See Geotech report for investigation results and soil conditions.
1/7/26
21 X Is there a gradation requirement for
Unclassified Borrow (besides 4” minus)?
See 704.06 for material requirements 1/7/26
22 X
Will all Rootwads for the bank stabilization be harvested onsite? If the Contractor is to furnish from onsite, please provide a number of offsite trees
Contractor is responsible for acquiring rootwads. See 201.03 and 647 for rootwad requirements.
1/7/26
23 X
Please confirm that emailed proposal modifications are accepted if sent prior to bid time/date
Modifications via email is accepted. 1/7/26
24 X
Is a full-time TCS and flagger required for the duration of the project once traffic control signage and barricades are in-place?
Provide flaggers and TCS according to 156.
See 156.07 (i) for allowable construction-caused delays when the road is open to public traffic.
1/7/26
25 X Can vegetation from clearing and grubbing be disposed of onsite?
There are no government provided waste areas 1/7/26
26 X
I do not see a specific mix design, what are the specifics of the type of HMA required? (type of oil, aggregate size, gyration etc)
See FP-14 section 403.02 for construction requirements 1/8/26
27 X
I am hearing mixed information on a required
1000’ test strip. Does this project require a HMA test strip?
See section 403 for testing requirements 1/8/26
28 X
HMA can be typically placed in 3” lifts safe and effectively, but the plans callout two 1.5” lifts, can we place HMA in one 3” lift?
See plan sheet C.2 for placement 1/8/26
29 X Please confirm if a Material Transfer Vehicle See section 401 and 403 for hauling and 1/8/26
30 X
Sheet K.3 states that the selected minimum drilled nail length values were based on a nominal grout-to-soil adhesion of 10 psi.
However, Sheet 14 of the geotechnical report indicates that a nominal grout-to-soil adhesion of 5 psi was assumed in the analysis. Please clarify whether the nominal grout-to-soil adhesion should be 5 psi or 10 psi.
Sheet K.3 is correct – a nominal grout-to-soil adhesion 10pse was assumed in the analysis. The geotechnical report is included with the physical data for the Contractor’s information but is not a contract document.
1/5/26
31 X
Sheet 14 of the geotechnical report shows that between Stations 20+00 and 26+00, No. 9
Grade 75 reinforcing bar is required to meet the assumed design criteria; however, nail spacing and embedment length may allow for other bar sizes. If the Contractor’s design engineer demonstrates that other bar sizes (e.g. No. 8
Grade 75 solid bar) meet anticipated load conditions at the site, will the project allow for a different bar size, or is No. 9 Grade 75 solid bar mandatory?
The Contractor is responsible for providing final design details to the CO for approval.
Geotechnical analysis, No. 9 Grade 75 bar is required for global stability.
1/5/26
32 X
Sheet 12 of the geotechnical report states that the soil nail wall will be designed in accordance with AASHTO LRFD Bridge Design Specifications
(AASHTO, 2020). Will the FHWA Soil Nail Walls
Reference Manual (FHWA-NHI-14-007) also be considered acceptable for design guidance for the permanent soil nail wall?
See Subsection 257.05 and Note 3 on Sheet
K.1.
1/5/26
33 X
Neither the construction drawings nor the specifications indicate whether soil nail bars and soil nail hardware require protective coatings beyond Class A corrosion protection as defined in FHWA GEC 7 (encapsulated soil nails). Do soil nails, soil nail hardware (nuts, plates, washers, etc.), and reinforcing steel (welded wire mesh, rebar, etc.) require any protective coating
(galvanization or epoxy), or is this determination left to the contractor’s soil nail wall design engineer?
See Note 4 on Sheet K.1, section 257, and
Section 722.04 for coating requirements.
1/5/26
34 X
Section 259.03 references 717.01(d), 722.02(e), 714.02, 725.13(a)(1), 722.04, 704.04, 717.01(a), and 717.05, which are not provided. We found this to be common with other section references throughout the Special Contract
Requirements. What standard specification document should we be referencing for the correct version of these Subsections?”
See Standard Specifications for
Construction of Roads and Bridges on
Federal Highway Projects, FP-14. See the
Notice to Bidders on page A-1 of the
Invitation for Bids.
1/5/26
33 X
Section 259.09(b) is unclear regarding whether a load cell is required during soil nail testing. We request that the use of a load cell be optional unless otherwise directed by the soil nail wall design engineer.
See Subsection 259.09(a) and 256.08(a)(2). 1/5/26
35 X
Table 259-7 provides testing and sampling requirements for neat hydraulic cement that must be provided 30 days before production.
Will compressive strength results from previous federal projects (within the past year) using the proposed grout design be acceptable, or must compressive strength testing be performed on grout samples at the project location?
Perform sampling and testing according to
Table 259-7. Table 259-7 requires compressive strength test results on the proposed mix design.
1/5/26
33 X
Table 259-7 does not provide frequency or testing criteria for shotcrete. Will required shotcrete testing be as specified by the soil nail wall design engineer? Please clarify.
See Section 566 for shotcrete sampling and testing requirements.
1/5/26
36 X
Section 566.06 requires a 48-inch by 48-inch architectural shotcrete mockup panel to be constructed prior to commencement of production work. Will it be acceptable to provide the mockup panel concurrent with the installation of the soil nails and prior to installation of the sculpted finish? Or does the panel need to be submitted and approved prior to excavation and drilling for soil nail installation?
See Subsection 566.06(c). 1/5/26
33 X
No preconstruction or construction compressive strength testing for shotcrete is specified in
Sections 259 or 566, aside from the architectural mockup panel. Please advise on the sampling, testing, and acceptance requirements.
See Section 566 for shotcrete requirements.
Table 566-1 addresses shotcrete composition and property requirements for shotcrete mixtures, and Table 566-2 addresses sampling, testing, and acceptance requirements.
1/5/26
37 X
Is the Contractor responsible for testing materials or only providing materials to the CO for testing?
See Section 154 for requirements. The
Contractor is responsible for sampling, testing, and reporting the required test results.
1/5/26
38 X
Sheet K.3 indicates a 4-inch thick construction facing prior to placement of a 6-inch minimum permanent shotcrete facing. Will a value-engineered option be considered that provides a single reinforced shotcrete facing in lieu of the construction facing and permanent facing with studded plates? This alternative would be contingent on supporting calculations provided by the soil nail wall designer and would include a 3-inch maximum architectural facing on top of the structural facing.
Bid the plans as designed. See Subsection
103.03 for Value engineering requirements.
1/5/26
39 X
Sheet K.3 shows the bottom of the soil nail wall embedded a minimum of 2 feet below finished grade. Is this embedment length included in the
5,890 square foot unit quantity shown on Sheet
K.2, or should additional quantities be included to account for embedment?
Measure the exposed front wall face, see
Subsection 259.15. An amendment will be issued to clarify the limits of the front wall face. Quantity is measured from the Wall
Control alignment to the top of wall. The minimum embedment is required, but is not measured for payment.
1/5/26
40 X
Is steel reinforcement required for the upper wall gutters, or is this left to the soil nail wall design engineer? No reinforcement is shown on
Sheet K.3.
Bid according to the contract. 1/5/26
41 X
A monitoring program for the soil nail wall is not specified in the Special Contract Requirements;
however the geotechnical report recommends one. Will the contractor be required to provide a construction monitoring program?
See Subsection 257.05 for design and construction requirements.
1/5/26
42 X
Section 259.13 states that backfill behind the wall facing upper cantilever section shall be in accordance with subsection 209.09. Will the use of a self-leveling controlled low strength material be considered in place of a compacted backfill?
Backfill according to 209. 1/5/26
43 X
On Q&A #3, Q. #26, you referenced FP-14, Section 403.02 for construction requirements.
That Section, nor Table 403-1 for Type 1 Mix, does not clarify what size gradation (i.e., CL.
3/8”, CL. ½”, etc.) is required. In this region, we would typically use either 3/8” or ½”. Could you clarify which one is required.
403.02 requires the contractor to submit a
JMF approved within the last 12 months, it does not specify a gradation.
1/9/26
44 X
Section 403.02(a) Type 1, references a DOT approved mix design within the last 12 months.
DOT allows approved mix designs for 24 months. Is that allowable?
403.02 requires the contractor to submit a
JMF approved within the last 12 months 1/9/26
45 X
Also, until recently, DOT has been using CL.
3/8”, until 2025 when they started going back to
CL. ½”. If CL. ½” is specified for this project, most contractors will not have an approved mix design within the last 12 months. Some will also not have a CL. 3/8” 75N mix design in the last 12 months as well. Would it be possible to use a local city or county accepted mix design, as they also follow DOT Specifications?
403.02 requires the contractor to submit a
JMF approved within the last 12 months, it does not specify a gradation.
1/9/26
46 X
On Q&A #3, Q. #29, you reference FP-14, Section 401 and 403, on whether a MTV is required. Section 401.05(b) on references
“when required” regarding an MTV. I can’t find anywhere where an MTV IS specifically required on this project. Section 403 refers back to
Section 401 regarding equipment, and mostly in reference to the “paver” required, not MTV.
Please clarify.
The plans and specification do not specify if an MTV is required.
1/9/26
47 X
Please refer to sheet K,3. A soil nail length of 20 feet does not stay within your construction limit line, sheet K,2. The soil is so poor the preliminary engineering requires many nails to be 25 feet long to meet the minimum 10 psi.
Bid the plans as designed.
Updated: Contractor is responsible for design of the soil nail wall (See Section 257 and 259), bid the plans accordingly.
1/12/2026
Updated
1/12/2026
48 X
Please confirm if a pulling water from Lake
Rosevelt for dust control is acceptable on this project.
There are no government provided material sources identified for the project. See
107.10 (d) for Clearances for Contractor-selected, noncommercial areas.
1/12/26
49 X
I was just looking for some clarification on this project. I don't see a specific seed mix for the turf establishment. Is the seed provided by the
Government for this project?
See Section 713. – Roadside Improvement
Material 1/14/26
50 X
Can the Government provide historical lake elevation data for March 15 - June 15 during the past 10 years, specifically showing how many days the lake was below 1,270 feet each year?
No, the data will not be provided. It is publicly available.
1/14/26
51 X
Will the Government coordinate with the
Bureau of Reclamation to ensure lake levels are maintained below 1,270 feet for sufficient duration (minimum 30 days) during the March
15 - June 15, 2026 window?
The Government will not coordinate with the BOR to reduce lake levels.
1/14/26
52 X
If lake levels remain above 1,270 feet during the entire March 15 - June 15, 2026 window preventing completion of required in-water work, will the contractor be granted a time extension with no liquidated damages?
Please bid per the solicitation documents. 1/14/26
53 X Can you send me the bidders who registered to download the plans.
The Government does not provide this since bidders may obtain the registered vendors list (aka planholders list) from sam.gov after linking their entity to their registration. If you are signed into SAM.gov with your registered entity and you cannot see the
Interested Vendors List, you will need to be assigned the Contract Opportunities
Administrator role for your entity in
SAM.gov.
If you need additional assistance, you can reach the Federal Service Desk at 866-606-orhttps://www.fsd.gov/gsafsd_sp?id=fsd_in dex.
1/14/26
File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .