A0001 ATTACHMENT - RFQ Questions and Answers - Martinsburg IOTA.pdf
PDF 377 KB Posted
- Attached to
- Q702--Martinsburg, WV Warehouse IOTA
- Solicitation number
- 36C77626Q0274
About this file
This document is a Questions and Answers (Q&A) file for solicitation 36C77626Q0274, Amendment 0001, for the Martinsburg, WV Warehouse Integrated Occupancy Transition Activation (IOTA) contract. The solicitation is a 100% Service-Disabled Veteran Owned Small Business (SDVOSB) set-aside under NAICS code 541614 (Process, Physical Distribution, and Logistics Consulting Services). The VA seeks an IOTA contractor to provide comprehensive project management services, interior design and space planning, concept of operations and transition planning, acquisition planning and package development, relocation of reusable items and personnel files, and activation services with post-occupancy support for a new leased warehouse facility.
The contract consists of a 23-month base period (December 1, 2026 through October 31, 2028) and a 7-month optional activation period (November 1, 2028 through May 31, 2029). Key milestones include a construction award in October 2026, beneficial occupancy date in November 2028, and first day of operations projected for May 2029. The Notice to Proceed and construction start date is November 11, 2027. The quotation due date is November 4, 2026, at 10:00 a.m. EST, with technical questions due October 14, 2026, at 10:00 a.m. EDT. The contract is firm-fixed-price, with travel costs estimated and added by the Government at award. Three key personnel are required: an IOTA Activation Project Manager, a Senior Designer with active NCIDQ or CHID certification, and a Senior Transition Planner. The solicitation includes attachments covering the Performance Work Statement, pricing worksheet, room contents, furniture reuse lists, and acquisition planning templates. The facility will be a leased warehouse with approximately 65 employees and 250 linear feet of files relocating from three origin locations, along with furniture and logistical equipment from the existing Foxcroft and warehouse locations.
View the file
Other files
Show all 24
On GovTribe
Work with this file
- Download the original file
- Contacts named in this file
- Similar government files
- Ask GovTribe AI about this file
Text version
36C77626Q0274 - Amendment 0001 Martinsburg, WW Warehouse IOTA
Solicitation Questions & Answers
1. What type of set-aside is this and what is the NAICS Code for these services?
Answer: This is a 100% Service-Disabled Veteran Owned Small Business (SDVOSB) set-aside and the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code for these services is 541614, Process, Physical Distribution, and Logistics Consulting Services.
2. Is there any incumbent/recompete or is this a brand-new project? If yes, could you provide us with their award number or even if the customer bought similar services in the past.
Answer: No incumbent/recompete. This is a new project.
3. [PWS 3.0 Background / 4.0 Scope] Is there an incumbent or predecessor contract that performs any portion of the Martinsburg Warehouse IOTA requirement? If so, please identify the prime contractor, contract number, and contract period of performance.
Answer: No incumbent or predecessor.
4. [PWS 3.0 Background / 4.0 Scope] For any incumbent or predecessor contract identified, please provide its original and current total contract values, and the obligated amount to date.
5. [PWS 9.0 Location and Hours of Work / 12 Key Personnel] What are the current contractor staffing levels supporting comparable Martinsburg OEM warehouse, activation, or transition work, by labor category and on-site versus off-site FTE? Please distinguish incumbent contract staff from VA personnel and other contractors.
6. [PWS 12 Key Personnel / 16.0 Tasks and Deliverables] Please state whether VA has estimated a phase-by-phase staffing level for this effort.
Answer: VA has not estimated a phase-by-phase staffing level for this effort.
7. [PWS 4.0 Scope / 16.0 Tasks and Deliverables / 17.0 Optional Tasks] Compared with the predecessor contract, what tasks, deliverables, locations, quantities, service levels, or contractor-furnished responsibilities have been added, removed, or materially changed? Please provide the predecessor PWS or a scope comparison if available.
8. [PWS 2.0 Introduction / 16.1 Comprehensive Project Management Services] Which activation, scheduling, design, logistics, and procurement activities are currently performed by VA staff, the lessor/building contractor, and other contractors, and which will transfer to the IOTA contractor at award?
Answer: All required activation, scheduling, design, logistics, and procurement activities are outlined in the PWS.
9. [PWS 3.0 Background / 5.0 Applicable Documents] When will VA provide the final lease, L100 drawings, design narrative, and appendices listed as TBD? Which document and version should offerors use to establish the pricing baseline?
Answer: All documents regarding the lease will be provided to the IOTA contractor awardee after IOTA award.
10. [PWS 3.0 Background / 16.3 CONOPS and Transition Planning] Please provide current and projected inventories for equipment and supplies to be transitioned, by item type, pallet/linear-foot count, size, weight, special handling, and originating location. How much of the equipment described in PWS 3.0 is expected to be physically moved under this IOTA contract?
Answer: Refer to ATTACHMENT P – Furniture Reuse List and ATTACHMENT Q – Room Contents.
11. [PWS 16.2 Comprehensive Interior Design, FF&E, and Space Planning Services / Attachment Q Room
Contents] What percentage of room contents and FF&E requirements has been validated, and which items are already ordered, installed, owner-furnished, or pending design approval? Will VA provide an updated room-by-room baseline before quotations are due?
Answer: No additional information will be provided prior to award.
12. [PWS 16.4 Acquisition Planning / 16.5 Acquisition Packages Development] What are the estimated numbers of acquisition plans, procurement packages, and contract actions by fiscal year and commodity category? Which office will execute purchases, and what are the IOTA contractor's approval and follow-up responsibilities?
Answer: Please thoroughly review the PWS requirements. The contract requires the IOTA contractor to identify at a minimum, long lead time items, number of packages, and estimated timelines for procurement by package group as stated on page 17. IOTA contractor should derive the estimated number of acquisition plans and procurement packages from the Room Contents List supplied (ATTACHMENT Q). Contractors should also anticipate identifying FF&E to purchase as stated in the PWS
16.2 Comprehensive Interior Design, FF&E, and Space Planning Services section. Contract actions by fiscal year can also be derived from the attached RCL as projected order by dates are listed. Contractor shall also consider PALT dates when determining fiscal year actions. Approval and follow-up responsibilities can be found on pages 12 – 19 of the PWS. The Budget Analyst shall submit the VA Form 2237 requests. The IOTA contractor will upload all package documents produced as required by this section to the contracting office via Forecast of Opportunities and Requirements Center for Excellence (FORCE) as stated in the PWS.
13. [PWS 16.2 / 17.2 Activation Services and Post Occupancy Support] Which FF&E, shelving, warehouse systems, and other items must the IOTA contractor physically receive, stage, assemble, install, test, or remove, versus items handled by the seller, manufacturer, lessor, or VA? Please provide estimated quantities and installation complexity by phase.
Answer: The IOTA contractor should anticipate responsibility for receiving, staging, assembling, installing, testing, or removing all JSNs that are not CC or do include vendor installation during procurement. Refer to RCL to estimate quantities.
14. [PWS 16.3 / 16.1 / Attachment F WBS Template] Please provide the current construction/lease milestone schedule, anticipated dates for beneficial occupancy and first day of operations, and the number of planned integrated project team meetings by phase.
Answer: As of RFQ Posting:
Construction Award: Oct 2026
BOD: November 2028 1st Use Date: May 2029 Cadence of Construction IPT meetings to be determined by Ae/Lessor.
Cadence of Activation IPT meetings to be determined by IOTA contractor
15. [PWS 17.1 Relocation of Reuse and Personnel Files] Does the estimate of 65 employees and 250 linear feet of files include all move requirements across the three identified origin sites? Please provide estimated furniture, equipment, box, pallet, and vehicle counts and identify any hazardous, temperature-sensitive, or high-value items.
Answer: The 65 employees and 250 linear feet of files are not all of the move requirements. Relocate all furniture from Foxcroft and all furniture and logistical supplies/equipment from the warehouse, including pallet scales, pallet wrapper and compressor. Refer to the solicitation reuse plan. Large mobile medical equipment will be relocated by OEM. No items require relocation from Building 409.
16. [PWS 17.2 Activation Services and Post Occupancy Support / 18.1 Deliverable Schedule] What duration and staffing coverage does VA expect for post-occupancy support following Day One, and what objective conditions will constitute completion and acceptance?
Answer: The IOTA contractor is expected to remain for one month following occupancy, as specified in the contract period of performance. The IOTA vendor will determine the staffing levels necessary to address post-move issues and activation-related concerns.
17. [PWS 16.1 Comprehensive Project Management Services / 18.1 Deliverable Schedule] For the master schedule, monthly status report, plans, and procurement packages, what are the Government review/approval periods and the required correction/resubmission cycle?
Answer: Refer to the Performance Work Statement (PWS).
18. [PWS 16.1 / 17.2] If the lessor, construction contractor, VA procurement activity, or Government-furnished IT access delays IOTA deliverables, how will VA handle schedule extensions, re-sequencing, and resulting standby or remobilization costs under the firm-fixed-price contract?
Answer: The Contracting Officer will be notified of any actual or anticipated delay with the responsible party identified. Impact on deliverables should be documented and presented to the Contracting Officer for consideration of extension or contract modification to include or not include cost.
19. [PWS 9.0 Location and Hours of Work / 12 Key Personnel] Must each of the three named key personnel be physically on-site for 40 hours per week throughout the period of performance, or may their on-site presence vary by task and phase while they remain available during core hours?
Answer: The 3 named Key Personnel are not physically required to be on-site for 40 hours per week throughout the period of performance. Hours required for the effort are to be proposed by the contractor within the ATTACHMENT R – Pricing Worksheet.
20. [PWS 12 Key Personnel / RFQ Section E, F(1)] The PWS specifies an active NCIDQ certification for the
Senior Designer, while the quotation instructions request NCIDQ or AAHID certificates. Is AAHID accepted in lieu of NCIDQ for meeting the Senior Designer minimum qualification?
Answer: Yes, an active NCIDQ or CHID certification is acceptable. See updated Performance Work Statement (PWS) attachment (ATTACHMENT A).
21. [PWS 16.1 / 16.4 / 16.5 / Attachment G Room Contents Acquisition Plan] Which Government systems
(including SharePoint, FORCE, or other acquisition/inventory platforms) must contractor staff access?
Will VA furnish accounts, equipment, licenses, and training, and when will access be available after award?
Answer: Government systems that the contractor is required to access are identified throughout the PWS. Access will be granted when the applicable project phase begins and the system is needed. Basic training on the systems will be provided as necessary.
22. [PWS 9.0 / 11.0 Travel / RFQ Section E, F(4)] Please clarify the expected number of trips beyond the
50-mile local travel radius by phase and whether the Government's not-to-exceed travel allowance covers trips required to coordinate the three origin locations and installation vendors. Confirm that no travel amount should be entered in the price worksheet.
Answer: Cost reimbursable travel will be estimated by the Government as stated in the RFQ. Quoters should not submit travel pricing as part of their price submission as stated in the RFQ.
23. [RFQ Section B.2 Price/Cost Schedule / Section E, F(4) / Attachment R Pricing Worksheet] How should offerors allocate phase-specific labor, subcontracted relocation/installation, materials, equipment rental, and other direct costs across the pre-activation and optional-task CLINs and Attachment R? If optional work is not exercised, will any preparatory costs for it be recoverable under the base CLIN?
Answer: Other Direct Costs can be entered within each task as a Firm-Fixed-Price amount as stated in the Pricing Worksheet (ATTACHMENT R) instructions. This is a Firm-Fixed-Price contract.
24. [RFQ Section B.2 Price/Cost Schedule / PWS 1.0 Objective / 17.0 Optional Tasks] Please confirm how the 23-month base period and seven-month activation option align with the projected May 2029 first day of operations and the 30-month overall effort. What period should offerors assume if award, lease occupancy, or construction milestones shift?
Answer: The 23-month base period and seven-month activation option align with the projected May 2029 First Day of Operations by providing Project Management Support Services throughout the contract period. Interior Design, FF&E and Space Planning Services, Concepts of Operations, Transition Planning, Project Staffing Planning, and Acquisition Planning Services are expected to be completed within the first 12 months. Acquisition Package Development is estimated to require six to eight months and is projected to begin approximately 18 months after contract award.
Relocation of reusable items and personnel files, Activation Services, and Post-Occupancy Support are expected to occur after beneficial occupancy, and are anticipated to continue for seven months. Seven months to include estimated 6 months of activation and one month of post activation support. The IOTA contractor will establish the actual First Use Date as part of developing and maintaining the AIMS. The AIMS shall incorporate milestones and activities from the construction schedule through the First Patient Day and project closeout, regardless of task ownership or responsibility. The contractor shall complete all AIMS requirements identified in the PWS.
25. [SF 1449 Block 8 / RFQ Section E, B(1) and D] The SF 1449 lists 2026-11-04 at 10:00 a.m. EDT as the quotation due date, whereas the opportunity record lists 2026-10-20 at 10:00 a.m. Eastern. Please confirm the controlling quotation due date and time in writing and amend the solicitation or public notice as needed. Please also confirm that technical questions remain due 2026-10-14 at 10:00 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time.
Answer: The quotation due date is November 4, 2026, at 10:00 am EST. Due date for technical questions is October 14, 2026, at 10:00 am EDT.
26. [Solicitation, SF1449] Block 8 lists 11-04-2026 at 10:00 AM EDT. The pre-solicitation notice listed 3 November 2026, and daylight saving time ends 1 November 2026. Please confirm the quote due date and whether the deadline is 10:00 AM Eastern Standard Time.
Answer: The quotation due date is November 4, 2026, at 10:00 am EST.
27. [PWS 12.0 Key Personnel] requires an active NCIDQ certification for the IOTA Senior Designer.
Solicitation E.1 (F)(1) and (F)(5) require NCIDQ or AAHID certificates. Will an active AAHID certification without NCIDQ satisfy the Senior Designer minimum requirement for the pass/fail evaluation?
Answer: Yes, an active NCIDQ or CHID certification is acceptable. See updated Performance Work Statement (PWS) attachment.
28. [PWS 12.0 Key Personnel] For the IOTA Activation Project Manager: (a) Does activation experience on non-VA federal facilities (for example, DoD, GSA, or IHS) satisfy the five years of IOT&A experience in 12.0.A.B? (b) May the same project months count toward both 12.0.A.A and 12.0.A.B?
Answer: (a) Yes, federal facilities. (b) Yes.
29. [Solicitation Instructions to Offerors] Will the Government consider past performance references from a proposed subcontractor or teaming partner when evaluating the offeror under Factor 3? If so, may those references count toward the three-reference limit?
Answer: No. The Government will evaluate the past performance of only the offeror. However, the offeror may submit past performance references for projects where the offeror performed as a subcontractor, provided the submission clearly identifies the offeror's role and the work performed.
30. [Solicitation Instructions to Offerors] E.1 (F)(2) limits the technical narrative to PWS 16.1, 16.2, 16.3, and 17.2. Please confirm that offerors should not address PWS 16.4, 16.5, or 17.1 in the technical submission and that the Government will not evaluate those tasks under Factor 2.
Answer: Confirmed.
31. [PWS 16.1.4 Risk Management Plan and Log and Solicitation E.1(F)(2)] states the proposed execution schedule will be evaluated as part of the technical factor. Must offerors include a proposed execution schedule in the technical submission, and does that schedule count toward the 8-page limit?
Answer: No. 16.1.4 is a contract deliverable. Solicitation E.1(F)(2) does not state this deliverable will be evaluated.
32. [Solicitation Attachment R – Pricing Worksheet and B.2 Price/Cost Schedule] B.2 defines a 23-month base (1 Dec 2026 to 31 Oct 2028) and a 7-month option (1 Nov 2028 to 31 May 2029). Attachment R defines Period 1 as 12/01/2026 to 11/30/2027, Period 2 as 12/01/2027 to 11/30/2028, and Period 3 as 12/01/2028 to 05/31/2029. Which period structure should offerors use for labor rates, hours, and CLIN totals?
Answer: Use the period structure in Attachment R when proposing labor rates and hours. The periods are intended to represent annual pricing years and account for potential changes in labor rates over time. Section B.2 identifies the actual contract performance periods. Pricing in Attachment R must reconcile to the CLIN totals in Section B.2
33. [Solicitation Attachment R – Pricing Worksheet] Attachment R Instruction 10 addresses a Basis of Estimate, but E.1 (F)(4) does not list one. Is a Basis of Estimate required or permitted, and if submitted, does it fall within the no-page-limit price submission?
Answer: Basis of Estimate is not required.
34. [PWS 16.2 Interior Design, FF&E and Space Planning] Several provisions reference FF&E "coming from the warehouse," ROM storage costs, and "Warehouse Rent" as an ODC. Must the contractor provide receiving, storage, and staging space for new FF&E before the Building Occupancy Date? If so, please provide the estimated volume (pallets or square feet) and duration of storage.
Answer: We are not anticipating any warehouse rental space or storage requirements needed.
35. [PWS 16.2 Interior Design, FF&E and Space Planning] states the contractor may be required to "identify FF&E to purchase, receive and install." Will the contractor purchase any FF&E or artwork under this contract, or will VA acquire all FF&E through the procurement packages developed under
PWS 16.5?
Answer: Procurement will follow the process and requirements outlined in 16.4 and 16.5. The IOTA Contractor will develop the procurement packages, the VA Budget Analyst shall submit the VA Form 2237 requests and the IOTA contractor will upload all package documents produced as required by this section to the contracting office via Forecast of Opportunities and Requirements Center for Excellence
(FORCE).
36. [PWS 3.0 Background] describes over $51 million in emergency management equipment and supplies currently stored at the Martinsburg VAMC campus. Please confirm whether physical relocation of that equipment and supply inventory to the new facility falls within this contract. If it does not, does VA plan to acquire that work separately?
Answer: Yes. Relocation of furniture, personnel files, supplies, and equipment is included under the applicable optional relocation tasks, except for large mobile medical equipment, which OEM will relocate.
37. [PWS 17.1 Relocation of Reuse and Personnel Files] To support a firm-fixed price for Optional Task 17.1, please provide the estimated volume (pallets, cubic feet, or item counts) of accountable equipment and expendable and non-expendable supplies at each of the three current locations (Foxcroft, VAMC Building 409, and the Kearneysville OEM Warehouse).
Answer: See attached reuse plan as well as the estimated number of employees and linear feet of files.
38. [Solicitation Provisions and PWS] Does the Government anticipate that performance of PWS 16.3 (Transition CONOPS by functional area) will create an organizational conflict of interest that would preclude the IOTA contractor or its subcontractors from competing for future warehouse operations or logistics support requirements at this facility?
Answer: No.
39. [PWS 5.0 Applicable Documents] Item A lists the lease contract, L100, and Lease Design Narrative Appendices A to F as TBD. Will VA release these documents, the facility address, the lessor's construction schedule, and the current design phase (for example, DD1 or DD2) before the quote due date?
Answer: All documents regarding the lease will be provided to the IOTA contractor awardee after IOTA award.
40. [PWS 16.4 Acquisition Planning Services] directs the contractor to "use the VA PALT Table below," but no table appears in Attachment A. Please provide the VA PALT Table.
Answer: The VA PALT Table is there – reference Section 16.4
41. [PWS 18.1 Deliverable Schedule] Deliverable 16.1.10 requires updates within 10 business days, while the 18.1 Deliverable Schedule lists 5 workdays. Which timeline governs?
Answer: See updated Attachment A.
42. [PWS 9.0 Location and Hours of Work] What on-site presence does the Government expect from key personnel during the base period? Will VA provide on-site workspace, network access, and Government-furnished equipment at 510 Butler Ave?
Answer: The VA expects the IOTA contractor onsite to participate in DID1 & 2 review meetings, AE UGM whenever possible, IOTA UGM meetings and as needed. For meetings requiring the IOTA contractor’s physical presence, the contractor will be notified when the meetings are scheduled. There will be No Government equipment provided.
43. [PWS 16.1 Comprehensive Project Management Services] Several deliverables are due one month after award in the OCAMS SharePoint tool, which requires a VA email and network access. What is the typical timeline from award to VA account and SharePoint access, and will deliverable due dates adjust if access is delayed?
Answer: Timeline from award to VA account and SharePoint access varies by the issuing facility. The COR will work with the IOTA contractor regarding deliverable due dates if access is delayed.
44. [PWS 16.2 Interior Design, FF&E & Space Planning] For pricing, please provide (a) the estimated number of room types requiring 3D renditions and (b) the expected number of Day in the Life scenarios and SimLEARN sessions.
Answer: The IOTA contractor will work with the COR and the VHA SimLEARN lab to develop Day in Life scenarios to determine the number of scenarios necessary.
Room Types: Warehouse Storage, Auditorium Seating Area and EMCC and Management Specialist and Training Specialist office.
45. [Solicitation E.1 Instructions to Offerors] Will the Government conduct a site visit of the current OEM locations or the leased facility site before the quote due date?
Answer: No
46. For the Past Performance evaluation factor, may a newly formed SDVOSB that does not yet have three years of corporate IOT&A past performance submit relevant past performance attributable to its proposed key personnel and/or proposed subcontractors, provided the individuals' or subcontractors' roles and relationship to the quoter are clearly identified?
Answer: Any past performance information submitted for work completed as a sub-contractor, must indicate that the firm performed as the sub-contractor and not the prime. In addition, a brief description of the work/tasks performed as the sub-contractor must be included.
47. If key personnel experience may be considered, should that experience be presented within the Past
Performance section in addition to the required key personnel resumes, or should it only be addressed within the resumes and technical submission?
Answer: Key personnel experience should only be addressed within the resumes.
48. For proposed key personnel who are not currently employees of the quoter, is a contingent employment agreement or letter of commitment acceptable to demonstrate that the individuals will be available to perform upon contract award?
Answer: Yes
49. Are there any minimum staffing levels or labor-hour requirements beyond the minimum qualifications identified for the Activation Project Manager, Senior Designer, and Senior Transition Planner, or may the contractor determine its additional staffing approach based upon its proposed technical solution?
Answer: The IOTA contractor may determine its additional staffing approach based upon its proposed technical solution.
50. Please confirm whether the Senior Designer's required NCIDQ/AAHID credential must be active as of quotation submission.
51. Is November 4, 2026, at 10:00 a.m. Eastern the controlling quotation-submission deadline?
52. Is the current solicitation a 100% SDVOSB set-aside under NAICS 541614?
53. Does the later October 5 posting contain the complete, controlling solicitation and attachment package, or are additional amendments or revised attachments expected?
Answer: Yes, the October 5, 2026, posting contains the solicitation and attachments. However, amendments and/or revised attachments may be posted to SAM.gov.
54. What is the deadline for written questions, and should all questions be sent to both of you?
Answer: Due date for technical questions is October 14, 2026, at 10:00 am EDT. All technical questions must be submitted electronically, via email, to both the Contract Specialist and the Contracting Officer referenced in FAR 52.212-1(B)(2).
55. [PWS 12.0 Key Personnel and Solicitation Instructions to Offerors] Senior Designer credential: NCIDQ only, or NCIDQ or AAHID?
Answer: An active NCIDQ or CHID certification is acceptable. See updated Performance Work Statement (PWS) attachment.
56. [PWS and Solicitation Instructions to Offerors] Reference: RFQ page 34, Section E.1, paragraph (F)(2) Technical Submission; RFQ pages 37 to 38, Section E.3, paragraph (a) Technical Submission; RFQ page 4, Section B.2, CLINs 0001 and 0003. E.1(F)(2) asks for an approach to PWS 16.1, 16.2, 16.3 and 17.2, and E.3(a) evaluates "the tasks identified in 52.212-1(F)(2)(a)." CLIN 0001 also includes PWS 16.4 (Acquisition Planning Services) and 16.5 (Acquisition Packages Development), and option CLIN 0003 also includes PWS 17.1 (Relocation of Reuse and Personnel Files). Please confirm whether the Technical submission should address 16.4, 16.5 and 17.1, and if so whether they will be evaluated, or whether they should be omitted from the 8-page Technical submission.
Answer: Please read the solicitation instructions thoroughly. Solicitation E.1(F)(2) Technical Submission requires a narrative response to the Performance Work Statement (PWS) that describes the offeror’s approach to executing 16.1 Comprehensive Project Management Services, 16.2 Comprehensive Interior Design, FF&E and Space Planning Services, 16.3 Concept of Operations (CONOPS) and Transition Planning and 17.2 Activation Services and Post Occupancy Support.
57. [PWS Deliverable Updates 16.1.10] Reference: Attachment A PWS, page 12, Section 16.1, deliverable
16.1.10 PWS Deliverable Updates; and page 24, Section 18.1 Deliverable Schedule, row 16.1.10.
The 16.1.10 deliverable description states that updates "must be completed no later than 10 business days after identification of need." The 18.1 Deliverable Schedule states updates "must be completed no later than 5 workdays after identification of need." Please confirm which period governs for performance and QASP purposes.
58. [PWS SharePoint Access for Deliverables] OCAMS SharePoint access for deliverables due one month after award. Reference: Attachment A PWS, page 10, Section 16.1, Government Provided Share Site for Information Sharing; page 32, Section 32.10 Other Government Furnished Information; page 24, Section 18.1 Deliverable Schedule, rows 16.1.2 through 16.1.7. Deliverables 16.1.2 through 16.1.7 are due one month after the effective date, and 16.1.4 through 16.1.6 must be entered directly into the OCAMS SharePoint tool. The PWS states the VA SharePoint can only be accessed with a VA email address and network access, and Section 32.10 states that contractor employees using VA systems require a PIV. Background investigation and PIV issuance may not be complete within one month of award. Please confirm (a) whether VA will sponsor VA email and network accounts for contractor staff at award, and (b) until those accounts are active, whether the Government will accept the one-month deliverables in editable form (for example Attachments D, E and F) submitted to the COR, with entry into OCAMS once access is granted.
Answer: Yes, this is acceptable.
59. [Senior Designer certification] PWS Section 12.0, Key Personnel, paragraph B (IOTA Senior Designer), item B (page 6), requires "Active National Council for Interior Design Qualification (NCIDQ) Certification." Solicitation Section E.1, paragraph (F)(1), Key Personnel (page 34), and paragraph (F)(5)(d), Other Required Submittals (page 36), state that "NCIDQ or AAHID certificates" are to be submitted for the Senior Designer. Please confirm whether an active AAHID certification, without NCIDQ certification, satisfies the Senior Designer minimum requirement for the Pass/Fail Key Personnel evaluation.
60. [Pricing periods] Solicitation Section B.2, Price/Cost Schedule (page 4), establishes CLIN 0001 from 12- 01-2026 to 10-31-2028 and CLIN 0003 from 11-01-2028 to 05-31-2029. Attachment R, Pricing Worksheet, Pricing-BOE tab, lists Period 1 as 12/01/2026-11/30/2027, Period 2 as 12/01/2027- 11/30/2028, and Period 3 as 12/01/2028-05/31/2029 under CLIN 0001, lists CLIN 0003 as 11/01/2028- 05/31/2029, and includes a Period 4 column without dates. Please confirm which of Attachment R's Period 1 through Period 4 columns should carry hours and prices for CLIN 0001 and CLIN 0003, given the base and option dates in Section B.2 and the overlapping dates in Attachment R. If Period 4 is intended to carry hours or prices, what dates does it cover? We understand Attachment R, Instructions tab, Instruction 7 requires labor rates for all years regardless of when a task is completed.
Answer: Period 4 does not apply to this acquisition. As it is grayed out, no pricing information is required for Period 4.
61. [On-site presence] PWS Section 9.0, Location and Hours of Work (page 4), states: "The primary place of performance is at the Government's facility, with necessary work to be done off-site at the IOTA contractor's facility." PWS Section 16.1, Comprehensive Project Management Services (page 7), states:
"The IOTA Activation Project Manager may be required to be onsite as required per contract and lead user group and Integrated Project Team (IPT) meetings, installation activities, and project closeout."
The Meeting Facilitation Services paragraph of Section 16.1 (page 11) states that the Project Manager
"should be available to attend requested meetings in person, as determined by the COR prior to the meeting." Please advise whether the Government anticipates full-time on-site presence for any key personnel role during the base or option period, and what other on-site attendance the Government anticipates by role or project phase. Please also advise whether Government workspace will be provided for contractor personnel when on site.
Answer: The VA expects the IOTA contractor onsite to participate in DID1 & 2 review meetings, AE UGM meetings whenever possible, IOTA UGM meetings and as needed. For meetings requiring the IOTA contractor’s physical presence, the contractor will be notified when the meetings are scheduled. There will be No Government equipment provided.
62. [Quotation due time] SF 1449, Block 8 (page 1), lists the offer due date and time as "11-04-2026
10:00AM EDT." Because daylight saving time ends on November 1, 2026, please confirm that quotations are due by 10:00 AM Eastern Standard Time on November 4, 2026.
Answer: The quotation due date is November 4, 2026, at 10:00 am EST.
63. [Subcontractor identification for optional tasks] Solicitation Section E.1, paragraph (F)(5)(c) (page 36), and PWS Section 8.0, paragraph A (page 4), request a complete list of proposed subcontractors with the quotation. PWS Section 8.0, paragraph B (page 4), requires the contractor to notify the contracting office immediately if proposed subcontractors change during the period of performance. For the optional Activation Services under CLIN 0003 (PWS 17.1 and 17.2), which begin no earlier than 11/01/2028, may an offeror identify subcontractors for those tasks after award and before option exercise, through the notice process in PWS Section 8.0, paragraph B?
Answer: No. Offerors shall submit a complete list of all proposed subcontractors, including those proposed to perform optional tasks, with their quotation. PWS Section 8.0(B) applies to changes in subcontractors after contract award and does not eliminate the requirement to identify planned proposed subcontractors in the quotation submission.
64. [Pricing assumptions] PWS Section 16.4, Acquisition Planning (page 17), and Section 16.5, Acquisition Packages Development (pages 19 to 21)], do not state a number of procurement packages. To support a consistent basis for pricing, can the Government provide the estimated number of procurement packages by type, and the anticipated Building Occupancy Date used for the deliverable schedule (PWS pages 24 to 25)?
Answer: The contract requires the IOTA contractor to identify at a minimum, long lead time items, number of packages, and estimated timelines for procurement by package group as stated on page 17.
IOTA contractor should derive the estimated number of acquisition plans and procurement packages from the Room Contents List supplied. Contractors should also anticipate identifying FF&E to purchase as stated in the PWS 16.2 Comprehensive Interior Design, FF&E, and Space Planning Services section.
Current BOD: November 2028
65. [FF&E receiving and storage responsibility References: PWS page 14, Section 16.2.8, “Rough Order of Magnitude (ROM)”; pages 21–22, Sections 17.1 and 17.2; Attachment R, “Instructions” tab, instruction 9; and Attachment K, PDF page 89, Section VI, “Delivery and Receiving.”] Please confirm whether the IOTA Contractor must furnish and maintain an off-site warehouse for receiving, inspecting, inventorying, storing, and consolidating newly procured FF&E before delivery and installation, or whether the Government will provide designated receiving and storage space, including space within the existing OEM warehouse. If Government space will be available, please identify its location, capacity, and period of availability. Please also clarify how storage provided under separate furniture vendor orders affects the IOTA Contractor’s storage responsibility and pricing.
Answer: We are not anticipating any warehouse rental space or storage requirements needed prior to beneficial occupancy. Procured items should be received at the new site post occupancy. Furniture should be received, staged and installed onsite by the IOTA contractor and Furniture vendor.
66. [Pricing Worksheet Periods References: Solicitation Section B.2, “Price/Cost Schedule,” CLINs 0001 and 0003; Attachment R, “Pricing-BOE” tab, cells C3 and E58; and “Instructions” tab, instructions 3 and
7.] Section B.2 identifies the base period as December 1, 2026, through October 31, 2028, and the optional period as November 1, 2028, through May 31, 2029. Attachment R lists different period boundaries under CLIN 0001 and includes four labor-rate periods without dates for Period 4. Please confirm the dates offerors should use for each pricing period and whether Period 4 labor rates are required.
Answer: As detailed in the instructions, use the period structure in Attachment R when proposing labor rates and hours. The periods are intended to represent annual pricing years and account for potential changes in labor rates over time. Section B.2 identifies the actual contract performance periods. Pricing in Attachment R must reconcile to the CLIN totals in Section B.2. Period 4 does not apply to this acquisition. As it is grayed out, no pricing information is required for Period 4.
67. [Separate unpriced Basis of Estimate References: Solicitation Section E.1(F)(4), “Price Submission,” and Attachment R, “Instructions” tab, instruction 10.] Section E.1(F)(4) requires the completed pricing worksheet with labor rates, hours, and prices. Attachment R separately instructs offerors not to include labor rates or costs in a Basis of Estimate. Please confirm whether a separate unpriced Basis of
Estimate is required with the quotation. If required, please identify its required content, submission section, and applicable page limit.
Answer: No Basis of Estimate is required.
68. [Relocation inventory and pricing quantities Reference: PWS page 21, Section 17.1, “Relocation of
Reuse and Personnel Files,” paragraphs A-H; and Attachment P, “Inventory’ tab] Section 17.1 identifies approximately 65 employees and 250 linear feet of files, and requires relocation of reuse furniture, equipment, and expendable/non-expendable supplies. Attachment P lists personnel/functions but does not identify the furniture item descriptions or models. Please provide the available relocation inventory or estimated item quantities and shipment volumes that offerors should use to price the optional relocation task, including equipment and supplies beyond furniture and personnel files.
Answer: Relocate all furniture from Foxcroft and all furniture and logistical supplies/equipment from the warehouse, including pallet scales, pallet wrapper and compressor. Refer to the solicitation reuse plan.
Large mobile medical equipment will be relocated by OEM. No items require relocation from Building 409.
69. [Initial ROM submission timing References: PWS page 14, Section 16.2.8, “Rough Order of Magnitude
(ROM),” and page 25, Section 18.1, “Deliverable Schedule 16.2.8] Section 16.2.8 calls for ROM estimates at DD1, DD2, CD2, and with final acquisition packages. Section 18.1 identifies the initial
ROM draft deadline as one month after the Acquisition Plan is finalized. Please clarify the required timing of the initial ROM and how this deadline relates to the design-stage ROM submissions.
Answer: The ROM is utilized as the fiscal year funding non-salary component of the Operating Plan update. The ROM shall be based on the data in the acquisition plan in SharePoint, which has been updated by the IOTA contractor at DD1, DD2, CD2 and after the Acquisition Plan is finalized.
70. [PWS deliverable update deadline References: PWS page 12, Section 16.1.10, “PWS Deliverable
Updates,” and page 24, Section 18.1, “Deliverable Schedule,” deliverable 16.1.10] Section 16.1.10 requires updates within 10 business days after identification of a need, while Section 18.1 requires updates within five workdays. Please confirm which deadline governs.
71. [Meeting agenda and minutes deadlines References: PWS page 11, Section 16.1.9, “Meeting Minutes and Meeting Agendas,” and page 23, Section 18.1, “Deliverable Schedule,” deliverable 16.1.9] Both sections require agendas no less than “3 prior” to a meeting and minutes no more than “5 post” meeting, without specifying time units. Please confirm whether these deadlines mean three and five calendar days, business days, or workdays.
Answer: Business days.
72. [PALT and unqualified day-based deadlines References: PWS page 18, Section 16.4, “Acquisition
Planning Services,” VHA PALT Standards Table; pages 24-25, Section 18.1, “Deliverable Schedule”; and
Attachment G, “Acq Plan” tab, cell Q5] Attachment G identifies PALT values as days, but does not specify whether they are calendar days, business days, or workdays. Please confirm the applicable day type for the PALT table. Please also clarify the day type for Section 18.1 deadlines stated only as
“days,” including five-day risk/change updates and 30-day schedule updates.
Answer: PALT Table is calendar days. Section 18.1 deadlines are calendar days with the exception of Deliverables 16.1.9 and 16.1.10 which are business days.
73. [Post-occupancy support and closeout timing References: PWS pages 21-23, Section 17.2, “Activation Services and Post Occupancy Support”, page 25, Section 18.1, deliverable 17.2.2; solicitation Section B.2, CLIN 003; and Attachment Q, “Export” tab, “1st Use/Patient Date” column] Section 17.2 requires post-occupancy support, and deliverable 17.2.2 is due one month after occupancy. CLIN 0003 ends May 31, 2029, while Attachment Q lists May 1, 2029, as the first-use date for numerous items. Please identify the anticipated occupancy date that governs the report deadline and clarify how the required post-occupancy support and closeout report fit within the optional period of performance.
Answer: Estimated 1st Use date is projected May 1, 2029. The period of performance for 17.1 Relocation of Personnel Files, 17.2 Activation Services and Post Occupancy Support and 16.1 Project Management Support end 1 month post 1st Use. The IOTA contractor will establish the actual First Use Date as part of developing and maintaining the AIMS. The AIMS shall incorporate milestones and activities from the construction schedule through the First Patient Day and project closeout, regardless of task ownership or responsibility.
74. [PWS 12.0 Key Personnel] The PWS requires the IOTA Senior Designer to possess an active NCIDQ Certification, while the solicitation states that NCIDQ or AAHID certificates must be submitted for the
Senior Designer. Please confirm whether an active AAHID certification may be submitted in lieu of NCIDQ and will satisfy the Senior Designer minimum qualification requirement.
75. [Solicitation E.1(F)(3)-Past Performance Submission; E.3-Evaluation of Offers, Factor 3] If an offeror proposes a subcontractor or teaming partner that will perform a significant portion of the IOTA scope, will the Government consider the past performance of the proposed subcontractor/team member as part of the Past Performance evaluation? If so, should the quotation identify the specific PWS tasks the team member will perform to demonstrate relevance?
Answer: No. The Government will evaluate the past performance of the offeror. However, the offeror may submit past performance references for projects where the offeror performed as a subcontractor, provided the submission clearly identifies the offeror's role and the work performed.
76. [PWS 9.0-Location and Hours of Work] The PWS identifies the Government facility as the primary place of performance while allowing necessary work to be performed off-site and states that all IOTA contract employees must be available during core hours. Please clarify the Government's anticipated minimum on-site staffing requirements, including whether any of the three key personnel are expected to be located in Martinsburg full time.
Answer: The VA expects the IOTA contractor onsite to participate in DID1 & 2 review meetings, AE UGM whenever possible, IOTA UGM meetings and as needed. For meetings requiring the IOTA contractor’s physical presence, the contractor will be notified when the meetings are scheduled.
77. [PWS 12.0 Key Personnel and 16.1 Comprehensive Project Management Services] The PWS states that the IOTA Activation Project Manager may be required onsite as needed. Can the Government provide an estimated frequency or expected level of onsite presence for the Project Manager, Senior Designer, and Senior Transition Planner during the pre-activation period?
Answer: The VA expects the IOTA contractor onsite to participate in DID1 & 2 review meetings, AE UGM whenever possible, IOTA UGM meetings and as needed. For meetings requiring the IOTA contractor’s physical presence, the contractor will be notified when the meetings are scheduled.
78. [PWS 5.0 Applicable Documents] The PWS identifies the entire Lease Contract, L100, and Lease Design Narrative Appendices A–F as TBD. Will these documents, along with available design/construction schedules and drawings, be provided to offerors prior to the quotation due date? If not, please identify the assumptions offerors should use when developing their technical approach and FFP pricing.
Answer: These documents will not be provided prior to the quotation deadline. Offerors should assume the PWS is the controlling document for the required services and deliverables.
79. [PWS 16.4 Acquisition Planning Services and 16.5 Acquisition Packages Development] The PWS states that the number of acquisition packages has not yet been determined. Can the Government provide an estimated number of anticipated procurement packages, preferably by package type (FF&E, furniture/artwork, ECAT, purchase card, or other mandatory VA vehicle), for purposes of establishing a common FFP pricing basis?
Answer: The contract requires the IOTA contractor to identify at a minimum, long lead time items, number of packages, and estimated timelines for procurement by package group as stated on page 17.
IOTA contractor should derive the estimated number of acquisition plans and procurement packages from the Room Contents List supplied. Contractors should also anticipate identifying FF&E to purchase
80. [PWS 16.4.1 Room Contents and Acquisition Plan] If the Government cannot provide an estimated number of procurement packages, please confirm whether offerors should develop their own package assumptions using the Government-provided Room Contents data and clearly state those assumptions in the pricing submission.
Answer: The contract requires the IOTA contractor to identify at a minimum, long lead time items, number of packages, and estimated timelines for procurement by package group as stated on page 17.
IOTA contractor should derive the estimated number of acquisition plans and procurement packages from the Room Contents List supplied. Contractors should also anticipate identifying FF&E to purchase
81. [PWS 17.1 Relocation of Reuse and Personnel Files and Attachment P-Furniture Reuse List] The PWS estimates relocation of approximately 65 employees and 250 linear feet of files and also requires movement of reuse FF&E, accountable equipment, supplies, and other items. Please confirm whether Attachment P represents the complete baseline inventory of reuse furniture/FF&E for pricing purposes, or whether the Government anticipates additional quantities.
Answer: Reuse plan provided in the solicitation should be considered the baseline inventory of reuse furniture. Relocate all furniture from Foxcroft and all furniture and logistical supplies/equipment from the warehouse, including pallet scales, pallet wrapper and compressor.
82. [PWS 17.1 Relocation of Reuse and Personnel Files] For purposes of pricing the optional relocation task, can the Government provide any additional estimated quantities or volumes for accountable equipment, expendable/non-expendable supplies, reuse equipment, and other materials that will require packing, transportation, unpacking, and installation?
Answer: See attached reuse plan as well as the estimated number of employees and linear feet of files.
Relocate all furniture from Foxcroft and all furniture and logistical supplies/equipment from the warehouse, including pallet scales, pallet wrapper and compressor. Refer to the solicitation reuse plan.
Large mobile medical equipment will be relocated by OEM. No items require relocation from Building 409.
83. [RFQ p. 4/PWS CLIN 0003; PWS 16.1, 17.1 and 17.2, Sec. 17] CLIN 0003 identifies the seven-month optional Activation period as including PWS Sections 16.1, 17.1, and 17.2. Please confirm that the Option 1 FFP should include continued performance of all applicable Section 16.1 Comprehensive Project Management Services and recurring deliverables throughout the seven-month option period.
Answer: Yes.
84. [PWS 16.1.10-PWS Deliverable Updates; Deliverable Schedule 16.1.10] Section 16.1.10 states that deliverable updates must be completed within 10 business days after identification of need; however, the Deliverable Schedule states updates are due within 5 workdays. Please confirm which requirement governs.
85. [PWS 16.1.9 Meeting Minutes and Meeting Agendas] Section 16.1.9 states that agendas are due “no less than 3 prior to the meeting” and minutes “no more than 5 post meeting.” Please confirm whether these periods mean three business days before the meeting and five business days after the meeting.
Answer: Yes, business days.
86. [PWS 11.0 Travel] The PWS states that local travel within a 50-mile radius of the place of performance is not reimbursable, while it later references travel beyond a 50-mile radius of the contractor's facility.
Please clarify whether the 50-mile threshold is measured from 510 Butler Ave., Martinsburg, WV, or from the contractor's facility.
Answer: For purposes of travel reimbursement, the 50-mile threshold is measured from the contractor's facility. As stated in PWS Section 11.0, travel beyond a 50-mile radius of the contractor's facility may be authorized for reimbursement on a case-by-case basis and must be pre-approved by the COR (See contract ATTACHMENT B - Travel Authorization Request.
87. [RFQ E.1(F)(4)-Price Submission; PWS 11.0 Travel] Since travel is Government-estimated, added at award, and excluded from evaluated price, please confirm that offerors should exclude all reimbursable travel dollars from both the CLIN FFP amounts and the Pricing Worksheet, while incorporating normal local/on-site staffing costs into their FFP rates.
88. [PWS 16.2 Comprehensive Interior Design, FF&E and Space Planning Services; Deliverables 16.2.1- 16.2-11] Can the Government provide estimated quantities for the major design deliverables, including the anticipated number of FF&E cut sheets, rooms/spaces requiring FF&E layouts, artwork items, and 3-Dimensional Design Renditions, or confirm that offerors should derive quantities from Attachment Q, Room Contents?
Answer: Offerors should derive quantities from Room Contents as well as anticipate identifying FF&E to purchase as stated in the PWS.
89. [RFQ E.1(B)(2)-(3) Submission of Offers] Please identify any maximum email attachment size or file-size limitation applicable to proposal submission and confirm whether multiple sequential emails are acceptable if the complete quotation exceeds the Government's email attachment limit.
Answer: The Government does not anticipate quotations exceeding applicable email attachment limitations. Offerors are encouraged to consolidate their submissions and, whenever practicable, limit their quotation to no more than three attachments (e.g., proposal, pricing worksheet, and required certifications/supporting documentation). Multiple sequential emails are acceptable if necessary. All quotation materials must be received by both the Contract Specialist and Contracting Officer by the submission deadline.
90. RFQ E.1(B)(2)-(3) Submission of Offers] The solicitation specifies that all texts including graphics and tables must use 12 font size, due to the limited number of pages will the government allow to be use 10 font size for all graphics and tables?
91. [RFQ E.1(B)(2)-(3) Submission of Offers] Can the Government provide clarification if each of the information to be submitted 1-5 has to be on a single volume or on different volumes for…
This is the start of the file's text. The full file is on GovTribe.
File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .