14. Responses to Questions Final.pdf

PDF 487 KB Posted

Attached to
Federal Bureau of Prisons Inmate Tablet Implementation Initiative
Solicitation number
15BPCC26R00000001
Issued by

About this file

This document is a comprehensive Questions and Answers (Q&A) file for the Federal Bureau of Prisons' (FBOP) Request for Proposal (RFP) to design, deploy, and sustain a secure digital services platform centered on inmate tablets and kiosks. The RFP extended proposal submission deadline is March 17, 2026, at 12:00 PM EST, with award anticipated within 30 days of proposal submission and Notice to Proceed (NTP) expected within 180 days of award upon vendor obtaining background clearance, interim Authority to Operate (ATO), and implementation plan approval. The contract is for a single indefinite-delivery/indefinite-quantity vehicle covering a base period plus option periods totaling approximately 7.5 years, with pricing evaluated based on weighted categories: 39% Entertainment, 16% E-mail, 37% Phone, 7% Video Call, and 1% Printing. The vendor must fund all tablet purchases and infrastructure buildout, recouping costs through inmate service revenues; the BOP will apply an administrative markup to applicable items sold and will invoice the vendor for actual minutes used for phone and video services.

The platform must provide inmates secure access to communications (phone calls, video visitation, email messaging), programming (educational materials, Atlas application modules, recreational content), information services (digital law library via Lexis Nexis URL, commissary ordering, printing), and healthcare coordination via tablets and kiosks. The system must be FedRAMP-authorized at the High level within 18 months of award, hosted exclusively in GovCloud, and achieve interim 12-month ATO during the FedRAMP certification process. Critical infrastructure requirements include nationwide wireless and wired network deployment across 120+ facilities with vendor-provided access points, switches, routers, and cabling; the vendor is responsible for all hardware, infrastructure installation, maintenance, and consumables. Tablets must include MFA using fingerprints, remote location tracking (including through metal doors), USB port security, no external speaker, and biometric enrollment capabilities; kiosks should provide approximately 5 per 100 inmates for backup functionality when tablets are damaged or inmates are prohibited from device use. The vendor must integrate with existing systems including TRUFACS (inmate financial services), TRULINCS (messaging workstations), ATG's BEMR (electronic medical records), Lexis Nexis (law library), and The Change Companies' Atlas application, while maintaining strict data retention compliance (180 days for most communications records, 5 years for visit detail records). Ancillary line items such as AI security features, books/magazines, and certain banking services are optional and excluded from award evaluation. The incumbent or current service providers include ATG (TRUFONE platform, TRULINCS, BEMR, TRUFACS), Verizon (enterprise network infrastructure), and Lexis Nexis (legal materials).

View the file

Other files

Show all 23

On GovTribe

Work with this file

  • Download the original file
  • Contacts named in this file
  • Similar government files
  • Ask GovTribe AI about this file

Text version

Tablet Questions (J-14)

1. In section IV, p.6 of the Statement of Objective document (Network Performance), and 6.1.2, systems are required to follow FedRAMP. The system is understood to include the infrastructure and software that comprises the SaaS offering. However, in other RFP sections, only the “infrastructure” is required to follow FedRAMP. Will BOP require the SaaS offering (infrastructure and software) to be FedRAMP? Or, will BOP not follow Federal-wide FedRAMP guidance, and only require that the hosting infrastructure be FedRAMP?

Response: BOP requires that the infrastructure and software be FedRAMP.

2. For Security and Compliance Documentation Requirement – Does BOP require documentation of only the cloud infrastructure, or the total system/solution as being the infrastructure, software, processes and procedures that comprise SaaS FedRAMP authorization?

Response: BOP requires total system/solution documentation.

3. If the SaaS provider holds a FedRAMP authorization for their total system/solution

(infrastructure, software, etc.), does that negate the need to also provide the other listed documentation such as VPAT, penetration tests, etc.?

Response: If the SaaS provider has FedRAMP authorization, BOP doesn’t need to pen test the infrastructure, but DOJ will pen test the web app (the instance for BOP created in their FedRAMP environment and accessible via a URL). VPAT documentation needs to be provided to ensure that the technology meets the accessibility requirements.

4. On p.71 of the RFP document, H.1 Special Contract Requirements, will BOP remove the phrase “Within 18 months” such that BOP requires LMS FedRAMP authorization already have been achieved at time of award versus 18 months after award? Similarly, will BOP remove 5.A.2. ensuring awarded LMS is FedRAMP authorized at time of award?

Response: The BOP does not intend to change this language. FedRAMP must be achieved within 18 months of award. Upon contract award the awardee is expected to build a solution in an approved GovCloud space. When the awardee has completed this process, they are then expected to hire an approved 3PAO. BOP’s intent is to then sponsor the awardee for their FedRamp certification. While the vendor works to get the FedRamp Certification (to operate in GOV Cloud), BOP will issue an interim 12-month

ATO.

5. How does BOP intend fund the tablet purchase and infrastructure build-out? Is this something to be billed to the Bureau, or does the Bureau intend for the vendor to pay for the tablets & infrastructure build-out and build these costs into the services provided to inmates?

Response: The BOP does not intend to fund the tablet purchase or infrastructure build-out. This will be paid by the vendor, and the costs shall be built into the inmate services.

6. How does BOP intend to facilitate the vendor access to Govcloud resources and services? Non-governmental organizations must provide Govt contract number to access Govcloud resources. Will BOP facilitate the tenant subscription on behalf of the vendor, or does BOP expect vendor to directly contract with the Govcloud provider?

Response: It is the vendor’s responsibility to gain access to GovCloud, the BOP will not create a subscription for the vendor.

7. Does BOP intend to designate data stored in this project as CJI/CJIS data?

Response: No, the BOP does not intend to designate data stored in this project as CJI/CJIS data.

8. The SOO requires 3PAO certification requirement is for the Cloud Provider or for this system's solution provider? What is the timeframe for providing the SSP and SAR to BOP? Will a provisional ATO or ATT be granted while the proposed system is under construction and a SAR is being created?

Response: The cloud system being proposed needs to have a FedRAMP ATO which requires it to be assessed by the 3PAO. The BOP will be responsible for assessing the controls that are deemed customer responsibility matrix (CRM) by the cloud service provider. The BOP will directly request the ATO package from the FedRAMP PMO. If the vendor is proposing a system that utilizes a FedRAMP authorized cloud system but also has other system components that will be hosted within the FedRAMP environment and/or have components hosted within the BOP environment, an interim ATO will be granted for 18 months for the system to be built/configured. The vendor will be required to complete all ATO requirements within these 18 months.

9. Please provide expected timeline to get ATT and ATO considering the availability of

Bureaus’ resources for these efforts?

Response: Upon contract award the awardee is expected to build a solution in an approved GovCloud space. When the awardee has completed this process, they are then expected to hire an approved 3PAO. BOP’s intent is to then sponsor the awardee for their FedRamp certification. While the vendor works to get the FedRamp Certification (to operate in GOV Cloud), BOP will issue an interim 12-month ATO.

10. The SOO requires network access to the inmate’s bed. How many individual cells (broken down by institution and housing unit) are secured by solid Metal and Steel doors?

Response: 70-80% of the doors in the BOP are solid metal and steel.

11. The SOO requires MFA using biometrics; which types of biometrics are acceptable for use on inmate tablets?

Response: The current approved biometric method for inmate MFA authentication is fingerprints.

12. Who will be responsible for biometric enrollment, how will Bureau staff support this enrollment effort at the beginning of the project, an then ongoing when new inmates are admitted?

Response: The vendor should provide a solution for enrollment of biometrics and issuance of tablet devices.

13. What is the defined process for exceptions for individuals who are unable to satisfy the biometric requirements?

Response: There are no exceptions to this requirement.

14. The SOO requires ability to locate tablets remotely anywhere in the facilities. Is device tracking be based on last Wi-Fi connection sufficient, or does Bureau want RFID (or similar technology)?

Response: The FBOP welcomes the vendor’s approach to meet this requirement.

15. If RFID (or similar technology is needed), who is responsible for providing the readers, and how many readers will be needed?

Response: All hardware and infrastructure for this project are the responsibility of the vendor to meet this requirement.

16. Please advise what role BOP intends for Kiosks, especially when the tablets do not need kiosks for activation, updates, etc.

Response: Kiosks are intended to provide similar but limited functionality (as needed by BOP) as the tablet devices in cases where a tablet is damaged and awaiting a replacement or an inmate is prohibited from being issued a tablet.

17. How many kiosks are needed in each institution/housing unit.

Response: See SOO 5.2.1, the number is dependent on the programming offered, and occupancy limits of a given housing unit, etc. The kiosks will be located in the housing units of the facilities. Kiosks should be available for approximately 5 per 100 inmates.

Approximately 5% of the population per housing unit.

18. How does BOP intend to service failed/damaged kiosks?

Response: It is the vendor’s responsibility to service and repair failed or damaged kiosks.

19. Must the WAN use TIC for all outbound network access, including voice phone calls?

Response: Generally, yes, but the BOP welcomes the vendor solution for this traffic while remaining compliant with FedRAMP requirements.

20. Will BOP allow complexes to share a WAN connection, or does it want each institution in a complex to have its own WAN connection?

Response: The BOP is open to the vendor’s approach to satisfy the requirements of the solicitation.

21. Are hardened plastic enclosures acceptable for tamper proofing AP(s), or are metal enclosures required?

Response: Generally metal enclosures are used for this purpose, but the requirement is that they be hardened and tamper-proof for the correctional environment.

22. What is the adjudication process if an acceptable location cannot be identified greater than 6 ft away?

Response: This would have to be evaluated by the BOP on a case-by-case basis during the design and approval phase of the build out.

23. How does BOP intend to avoid channel congestion between existing APs (BOP’s and existing vendors) and AP(s) from new vendors?

Response: To avoid congestion, BOP network engineers will coordinate RF planning and operational coordination between the networks/vendors—especially agreeing on channel usage (and potentially channel widths and transmit power) to minimize co-channel contention. Network engineers will also provide guidance to the designated vendor to ensure vendor-installed AP’s meet minimum distance requirements between all installed Access points.

24. Are racks preexisting in said secure communications closets? Please provide locations of each secure closet in each institution.

Response: While a majority of communication closets have rack space, we cannot provide locations for all secure closets.

25. Please provide list of housing units that have pre-existing connections available to connect to the institution MDF.

Response: The FBOP does not have direct connections within housing units that a vendor may use to get to the MDF.

26. Are Secure Wireless Backhauls between buildings considered “Wi-Fi Bridging”?

Response: This scenario does meet the definition of what BOP considers bridging. BOP encourages vendors to provide a solution that does not include back-hauling as this adds additional security and bandwidth congestion concerns associated with backhaul/mesh networks.

27. Will BOP consider private LTE as an alternative to Wi-Fi?

Response: Yes, private LTE is an acceptable alternative.

28. SOO provides rules about network cabling; if Wi-Fi backhaul is disallowed, does Bureau expect vendor to install new fiber from MDF to the various buildings in the institution. If so, please provide list of housing units by institution that will require new fiber installation?

Response: BOP will provide the minimum required single‑mode fiber connectivity to support the infrastructure at all institutions except for the following locations: Ashland FCI, Ashland SPC, Big Spring FCI, Big Spring SPC, Duluth FPC, Edgefield FCI, Edgefield SPC, La Tuna FCI, La Tuna SPC, Montgomery FPC, Morgantown FPC, Safford FCI, Sandstone FCI, Springfield MCFP, and Yankton FPC. For these locations, the BOP will provide 24‑strand single‑mode fiber cabling on‑site, while the contractor shall provide all labor and any additional materials required to install the fiber necessary to support the infrastructure for this project.

This amendment does not alter the contractor’s responsibility to install all horizontal copper cabling required to support the wireless infrastructure at every institution.

29. The SOO mentions vendor needs to “extend wireless and wired.” To minimize duplicating existing available infrastructure (particularly network connections from institution’s MDF to other buildings), please list of institutions/housing units provide where existing network infrastructure is available for this project.

Response: BOP will provide the minimum required single‑mode fiber connectivity to support the infrastructure at all institutions except for the following locations: Ashland FCI, Ashland SPC, Big Spring FCI, Big Spring SPC, Duluth FPC, Edgefield FCI, Edgefield SPC, La Tuna FCI, La Tuna SPC, Montgomery FPC, Morgantown FPC, Safford FCI, Sandstone FCI, Springfield MCFP, and Yankton FPC. For these locations, the BOP will provide 24‑strand single‑mode fiber cabling on‑site, while the contractor shall provide all labor and any additional materials required to install the fiber necessary to support the infrastructure for this project.

This amendment does not alter the contractor’s responsibility to install all horizontal copper cabling required to support the wireless infrastructure at every institution.

30. Please provide BOP’s rules for installing cables between buildings (existing raceways vs trenching)

Response: Existing raceways exist, but we cannot verify that they can accept any new wiring. If wiring cannot be installed in existing raceways, due to issues or sizing, new trenching must be conducted.

31. Who is responsible for repair and maintenance of the printers, as well as for the consumables.

Response: As the equipment is to be vendor-owned and managed, this would be the responsibility of the vendor.

32. Please provide BOP’ preferred printer model and number of printers needed for this project.

Response: The BOP welcomes the vendor’s proposal for printers to meet this requirement and they will be evaluated.

33. SOO requires tablets to support phone calls. Do phone calls on tablets need to be managed by the same system that currently manages inmate phone calls made using wall mounted phones?

Response: No, this should be a vendor proposed system to manage and deliver phone calls.

34. Does BOP intend to keep wall-mounted phones available for inmates to make phones calls. Is the tablet vendor responsible for providing wall-mounted phones. If so, please provide number of wall-mounted handsets by institution and housing unit.

Response: This is dependent on the vendors’ solution; the kiosks could perform this function without the need for the existing wall-mounted phones.

35. Please provide the list of rules that must be imposed on phone calls made using tablets.

Response: The following are applicable but not limited to…

• There needs to be a live monitoring capability for FBOP investigative staff.

• There needs to be the capability for staff who are live monitoring the call to terminate the call if needed.

• The call should be limited to a particular amount of time (ie: 15 minutes).

• There needs to be a capability for the inmate account to have an overall or maximum limit of minutes to use in a month. Once that limit is met, no further calls can be placed until revalidation.

• Calls can only be placed to numbers that have been approved by staff.

• There should be an AI Translations and Communication monitoring system to provide translations of calls not made in English and link analysis with other BOP intelligence and communication systems.

• There should be the capability to geo fence and restrict call locations for inmates to specific areas within the institution.

• There should be a capability to prevent three-way calls.

• There should be continuous voice identification verification to prevent inmates handing the tablet over to another.

36. How does the Bureau intend to monitor phone calls made on tablets?

Response: The vendor should provide a solution to facilitate recording and monitoring of phone calls, as required in the SOO 6.1.2.11.

37. Phone call recordings, do these have to be kept at each institution or only stored centrally.

Response: There should be a central cloud-based system to access/monitor these calls.

38. How does the Bureau intend to assign and handout tablets to inmates?

Response: The vendor is expected to work with the BOP to enroll and issue tablet devices.

39. When inmate is transferred to another BOP institution, will the tablet move with the inmate?

Response: Yes, tablets are to be assigned to a specific inmate during the time of their incarceration

40. How does the Bureau intend to collect tablets from inmates at time of release?

Response: The BOP anticipates this will be completed during inmate discharge, but we welcome suggestions from the vendor on best practices to accomplish this, as all tablets are vendor-owned and managed.

41. Do housing units have enough electrical ports to support each inmate having individual tablet charger?

Response: Individual chargers are not authorized. As stated in the SOO 5.2.2, there are specific requirements for tablet recharging stations.

42. Does Bureau need vendors to provide charging cabinets in each housing unit? If so, please confirm that there is wall space for the same, and number of charging ports required for each institution/housing unit.

Response: Space will be made available as needed to house and secure the required charging stations for this project.

43. Who is responsible for service and maintenance of the charging cabinets. If vendor, please provide security requirements and protocols for entering institution for such activities and availability of escorts for the same.

Response: Yes, like the other hardware, it is vendor owned, managed, and maintained.

Specific institution procedure may vary.

Sample Procedures:

1.1 CONTRACTOR USE OF PREMISES

A. The Contractor shall limit its use of the premise to the work indicated, so as to allow for Government occupancy and use. During the entire construction period, the Contractor shall coordinate use of the premises for construction operations with the FBOP Contracting Officer’s Representative (COR).

1. All visitors to the construction site shall register with the FBOP site officials. The

Contractor shall not allow employees to have personal visitors on site.

2. The project site will be open to the Contractor from Monday through Friday, with exception of federal holidays, for the duration of the project. The project schedule is to be based on a normal 40-hour work week. The Contractor shall establish a normal work week schedule for the duration of the project. (Edit work hour descriptions as necessary)

a. Work outside the secure perimeter of the institution will be allowed between the hours of 6:30 AM to 4:30 PM. This will allow the Contractor’s work force to arrive on-site in the morning and prepare for entering the secure perimeter of the institution. It will also allow the Contractor’s workforce to button-up their lay-down/staging area after exiting the secure perimeter at the end of the workday.

b. Work inside the secure perimeter of the institution will be allowed between the hours of 7:30 AM to 3:00 PM. Work inside the secure perimeter is restricted to the operation of the institution’s rear gate.

The Contractor’s work force will be allowed to enter the rear gate at approximately 7:30 AM each workday. At this time, the FBOP staff will begin personnel and tool security check-in procedures. Once the check-in procedures are completed, the Contractor will be escorted by an FBOP escort to the work area. The rear gate closes at 3:00 PM;

therefore, the Contractor’s work force will be escorted back to the rear gate by FBOP staff no later than approximately 2:30 PM, in order to allow enough time for the completion of security check-out procedures prior to exiting the secure perimeter.

3. Contraband: The Contractor shall inform his/her employees that intoxicating beverages, drugs, weapons, etc.., will not be allowed on the site. Introduction of contraband shall be subject to the penalties prescribed by Title 18 USC 1791.

4. Explosives: The use of explosives is absolutely forbidden without written authorization from the FBOP Contracting Officer upon no less than thirty (30) days advance written request.

5. Cell phones, pagers, and radios are not allowed within the secure perimeter.

6. Parking: Parking areas, either on or off-site will be furnished for workmen by the Contractor at a location approved by the FBOP Contracting Officer’s Representative

(COR).

7. Temporary Office: Any temporary field office used by the Contractor shall be located in an area approved by the FBOP Contracting Officer’s Representative (COR).

8. The Contractor shall review his or her site layout plan for staging, stockpiles, etc.., with the FBOP Contracting Officer’s Representative (COR). The Contractor shall maintain all staging and construction areas in a neat and orderly fashion.

9. The Contractor shall provide protection of the work against weather, rain, wind, storms, frost, cold, or heat so as to maintain all work, materials, apparatus and fixtures free from injury or damage.

1.2 CONTRACTOR PERSONNEL AND EQUIPMENT SECURITY

A. Contractor employees working at a FBOP facility will be subject to a background investigation after award of the contract. Contractor employees must complete the applicable forms provided by the FBOP Contracting Officer’s Representative. Following the investigation, the FBOP will provide the Contractor with a list of employees approved to work at the institution. If a Contractor’s employee is not approved, only that fact will be communicated to the Contractor. No additional justification will be released in compliance with Privacy Act requirements.

B. Contractor employees working within the secure perimeter shall wear a clearance badge issued by the institution at all times, and shall be escorted by an institution staff member.

C. Tools brought into the institution’s secure perimeter will be inventoried at the beginning and end of each workday by FBOP staff.

1. All tools used by the Contractor working within the secure perimeter shall be under constant supervision. Loss of a tool shall be reported immediately to the escorting FBOP staff.

2. No explosive action tools shall be used on the property at anytime.

3. Materials brought inside the secure perimeter of the institution shall be limited to a one-day supply. Surplus materials not installed on workdays must be moved outside the secure perimeter at the end of the day.

D. Contractor employees working on the FBOP site shall be required to undergo a general institution orientation on responsibilities, procedures and laws governing conduct when working at an FBOP institution. These rules include, but are not limited to the following:

1. Weapons and ammunition of any kind are not allowed on Federal property, including the parking lot.

2. Do not give, or offer to give, anything to an inmate.

3. Do not bring any correspondence into or out of the institution.

4. Do not accept gifts or favors from inmates.

5. Leave personal items locked in your vehicle or secure them at the Contractor’s lay-down area.

6. A form of photo ID is required to enter the facility.

7. Revealing clothing is not acceptable attire and work attire is required at all times.

8. Conduct yourself in a responsible, mature manner.

9. Report an unusual action(s) or behavior to FBOP staff.

44. Would the FBOP please provide the current rates for all revenue generating services currently installed (i.e. phone calling, video visits, messaging, streaming services, entertainment, etc.)?

Response: The BOP is seeking the vendors best pricing for the contract line items in section B of the solicitation. Per Section B.1:

The vendor shall provide services directly to the Bureau of Prisons (BOP) and shall invoice the BOP monthly for services based on actual usage in accordance with the contract pricing schedule. BOP, as the sole authorized provider for the sale of items to the inmate population, shall apply an administrative markup to applicable items sold.

45. Would the FBOP please provide a copy of the revenue and usage reports for all revenue generating services, covering the last 6-month period for each incumbent communications provider?

Response: Current estimated annual usage is included in the solicitation for non-entertainment related line items. The FBOP does not currently utilize a streaming based pricing structure for entertainment content.

46. Would the FBOP please provide us with a copy of their current inmate communications agreement, along with any amendments/addendums available?

Response: The inmate phone system of the Federal Bureau of Prisons is not operated by a single outside contractor; specific components are supported by external providers. The software maintenance is provided by ATG, through its TRUFONE platform, network traffic is provided by Verizon through the Enterprise Infrastructure Solutions provided by GSA. All physical infrastructure-including phones, servers, switches, and fiber-is installed and maintained by Bureau staff.

47. Are there currently any daily or weekly limits applied to remote video visits?

Response:

TRUFONE

1. 510 monthly minutes

2. 15 minutes between calls - can be adjusted by the facility

3. SHU inmates are usually two 15-minute calls per day - can be adjusted

4. $400 limit on TRUFONE account to make calls

TRULINCS

1. 15 minutes between TRULINCS session

2. 20 login attempts

3. 30 Active Email Contacts

4. 30 Active Phone Numbers

5. 30 min staff messages session

6. 5 Staff messages per day

48. In regard to the Past Performance Questionnaires, are our selected customers who will be providing the evaluations required to email the contact on the last page of the questionnaire directly? Or is the desire for the FBOP to have Vendors only submit those forms as part of our RFP response via email?

Response: The responses can be sent directly to the email listed on the past performance questionnaire or submitted with the proposal. The questionnaire must be completed prior to proposal submission.

49. We would like to respectfully inquire if the FBOP would consider granting a 7-10 day extension to the RFP submission deadline, if possible? This would allow vendors additional time to assess the released answers to questions and put together their best possible response.

Response: The FBOP has extended the response deadline to 03/17/2026 at 12 P.M. EST.

50. Will the BOP please provide guidance on what information contractors are required to enter in the “CODE” and “FACILITY” fields located in Section 15A of the "Solicitation, Offer, and Award" form?

Response: Section 15A is where you enter your company name, address, and in the box marked “code” provide your Commercial and Government Entity (CAGE) code. The vendor is not required to fill-in the “facility code” box.

51. Please provide the average daily population (ADP) for all BOP facilities for the last three months, broken down by month, if possible.

Response: See included population attachment.

52. Section 5.1 references requirements that must comply with the Federal Bureau of Prisons (BOP) Technical Design Guidelines and applicable BOP Information Technology and Electronics (ITE) standards. In order to develop a compliant technical approach and accurate pricing, clarification is requested regarding facility information availability.

Specifically, will the BOP:

• Conduct or permit a contractor-led site survey at the facilities included in scope, or

• Provide current facility diagrams/blueprints identifying:

o Inmate housing units included in scope o Desired locations of fixed kiosk units within each housing unit o Defined housing-unit service access requirements (e.g., individual bed level, cell level, or shared housing-unit level)

Absent a site survey or the above documentation, it is unclear how offerors are expected to validate infrastructure requirements, device placement, network connectivity, power availability, and compliance with the referenced BOP Technical Design Guidelines and BOP ITE standards.

Please confirm whether a site survey will be conducted or authorized, or whether the BOP will provide the referenced facility documentation necessary to support compliance with section 5.1.

Response: The BOP is offering a site visit at Butner (2/18, 2/19) for up to three vendor representatives.

53. The current proposal submission deadline is Thursday, February 5, at 2:00 p.m., and the refer to toine to submit questions related to the RFP is Tuesday, January 27. However, the RFP does not specify the date and time when responses to contractor questions will be posted. Will the BOP please provide the anticipated date and time for posting responses to contractor questions? Additionally, because the responses will contain critical information that will directly impact the structure and content of contractor proposals, will the BOP please consider allowing a minimum of fifteen (15) business days from the date all question responses are posted before the final proposal submission deadline? This extension would ensure contractors have adequate time to review, analyze, and incorporate the BOP’s responses into their proposals.

Response: The FBOP has extended the response deadline to 03/17/2026 at 12 P.M. EST.

54. Section B – Supplies or Services and Prices/Costs, line item #11, instructs contractors to “provide all proposed service levels and/or tiered rates for this category.” However, the pricing table provided in Section B does not include a designated field or space to enter this information. Please clarify where contractors should include the required service level and/or tiered rate details.

Response: The FBOP’s intent for Contract Line Item Number (CLIN) 0011 and related CLIN’s for subsequent periods of performance is to obtain a single price for a 30-day pass. The referenced language was included erroneously and has been removed.

55. Section B – Supplies or Services and Prices/Costs, line item #30, instructs contractors to “provide detail of what services are included in bundled Subscription.” However, the pricing table provided in Section B does not include a designated field or space to enter this information. Please clarify where contractors should include the required bundled Subscription details.

Response: The FBOP’s intent for CLIN 0030 and related CLIN’s for subsequent periods of performance is to obtain a single price for the bundled offering. The referenced language requests offerors to provide a detailed listing of what services are offered at a single bundled price.

56. To enable vendors to submit their best and most accurate proposals, it is essential to have access to historical pricing, usage, revenue, and operational information related to the current inmate communication services. Accordingly, will the BOP please provide the following information regarding its existing External Electronic Mail Messaging platform?:

a. The name of the current messaging platform service provider

Response: TRULINCS, ATG

b. The types of hardware devices available to inmates for accessing the messaging platform

Response: Typical inmate messaging system consists of a secure computer workstation-including monitor, keyboard, and mouse-configured without access to the external internet.

c. The current price charged to an inmate to send or receive a single text-based message

Response: The BOP is seeking the vendors best pricing for the contract line items in section B of the solicitation. Per Section B.1:

The vendor shall provide services directly to the Bureau of Prisons (BOP) and shall invoice the BOP monthly for services based on actual usage in accordance with the contract pricing schedule. BOP, as the sole authorized provider for the sale of items to the inmate population, shall apply an administrative markup to applicable items sold.

d. The current price charged to an inmate to receive a digital photo attachment via the messaging platform

Response: This service is not currently provided.

e. The actual total number of text-based electronic messages sent and received during calendar year 2025, or alternatively, an explanation of the methodology used to calculate the estimated annual quantity of 88,405,833 messages included in the pricing table located in Section B – Supplies or Services and Prices/Costs, line item #2

Response: The figures shown in Section B represent approximate annual usage, based on the actual number of messages sent and received over a one-year period.

f. The total amount of revenue generated from inmate and public users of the messaging platform during calendar year 2025

The vendor shall provide services directly to the Bureau of Prisons (BOP) and shall invoice the BOP monthly for services based on actual usage in accordance with the

57. To enable vendors to submit their best and most accurate proposals, it is essential to have current inmate communication services. Accordingly, will the BOP please provide the following information regarding its existing Video Visitation System (VVS) platform?:

a. The name of the current VVS platform service provider

Response: Advanced Technologies Group (ATG)

b. The types of hardware devices available for inmate use of the VVS platform

Response: Typical inmate video-service system consisting of a ruggedized tamper-resistant video kiosk.

c. The total number of "audio only" visitation telephone handsets installed at all BOP facilities

Response: N/A

d. The current price per minute charged to an inmate or public user for participation in a remote social video visitation session

Response: The BOP is seeking the vendors best pricing for the contract line items in section B of the solicitation. Per Section B.1:

The vendor shall provide services directly to the Bureau of Prisons (BOP) and shall invoice the BOP monthly for services based on actual usage in accordance with the contract pricing schedule. BOP, as the sole authorized provider for the sale of items to the inmate population, shall apply an administrative markup to

e. The current price per minute charged to an inmate or attorney for participation in a remote privileged video visitation session

f. The actual total number of social and privileged video visitation session minutes used during calendar year 2025, or alternatively, an explanation of the methodology used to calculate the estimated annual quantity of 30,865,050 minutes referenced in Section B – Supplies or Services and Prices/Costs, line item #3

Response: The figures shown in Section B represent approximate usage based on a one-year period. However, the video service is currently limited only to institutions that house females, and the number provided reflects projected usage if the service is expanded across all institutions.

g. The total amount of revenue generated from use of the VVS platform during calendar year 2025

Response: The BOP is seeking the vendors best pricing for the contract line items in section B of the solicitation. Per Section B.1:

The vendor shall provide services directly to the Bureau of Prisons (BOP) and shall invoice the BOP monthly for services based on actual usage in accordance with the contract pricing schedule. BOP, as the sole authorized provider for the

h. A description of the VVS platform’s artificial intelligence (AI), natural language processing (NLP), and advanced analytics capabilities used to transcribe, translate, and analyze inmate communications, including how these capabilities correlate video communications with other available inmate communication records and intelligence data sources"

Response: AI is not currently being utilized.

58. To enable vendors to submit their best and most accurate proposals, it is essential to have current inmate communication services. Accordingly, will the BOP please provide the following information regarding its existing Inmate Telephone System (ITS) platform?:

a. The name of the current ITS platform service provider

Response: The inmate phone system of the Federal Bureau of Prisons is not operated by a single outside contractor; specific components are supported by external providers. The software maintenance is provided by ATG, through its TRUFONE platform, network traffic is provided by Verizon through the Enterprise Infrastructure Solutions provided by GSA. All physical infrastructure-including phones, servers, switches, and fiber-is installed and maintained by Bureau staff.

b. The total number of wall-mounted inmate telephone stations that support outgoing calls through the Public Switched Telephone Network (PSTN) installed across all BOP facilities

Response: BOP currently has 8,141 active inmate phones.

c. The total number of cart-mounted or portable inmate telephone stations that support outgoing calls through the Public Switched Telephone Network (PSTN) available at all BOP facilities

Response: Telephone quantities (cart mounted) are not fixed and are provided based on the individual facility requests, operational needs, and housing configuration and approved capacity requirements.

d. The current price per minute charged to an inmate or public user for local, interstate, and international telephone calls

Response: The BOP is seeking the vendors best pricing for the contract line items in section B of the solicitation. Per Section B.1:

The vendor shall provide services directly to the Bureau of Prisons (BOP) and shall invoice the BOP monthly for services based on actual usage in accordance with the contract pricing schedule. BOP, as the sole authorized provider for the

e. The current price per minute charged to an inmate or attorney for local and interstate telephone calls

Response: Answered in section d.

f. The actual total number of telephone call minutes used during calendar year 2025, or alternatively, an explanation of the methodology used to calculate the estimated annual quantity of 400,000,000 minutes referenced in Section B – Supplies or Services and Prices/Costs, line item #4

Response: The figures shown in Section B represent approximate annual usage, based on the actual number of minutes used over a one-year period.

g. The total amount of revenue generated from use of the ITS platform during calendar year 2025

Response: The BOP is seeking the vendors best pricing for the contract line items in section B of the solicitation. Per Section B.1:

The vendor shall provide services directly to the Bureau of Prisons (BOP) and shall invoice the BOP monthly for services based on actual usage in accordance with the contract pricing schedule. BOP, as the sole authorized provider for the

h. A description of the ITS platform’s artificial intelligence (AI), natural language processing (NLP), and advanced analytics capabilities used to transcribe, translate, and analyze inmate communications, including how these capabilities correlate telephone communications with other available inmate communication records and intelligence data sources"

Response: AI is currently not provided.

59. Will the BOP please provide the following information regarding the printing services required:

a. Scope of Printing Services: Section B – Supplies or Services and Prices/Costs, line item #5 (Printing – Per Page), references an estimated annual quantity of 4,369,284 pages. Additionally, please clarify which type of materials inmates will be allowed to print (e.g., electronic messages, photos, documents, digital mail, educational materials)?

Response: The inmates will be able to print legal document, electronic messages, mailing labels, account statements / transactions, BP –199, and Contact List.

b. Current Hardware and Consumables: The total number of printer stations that support print jobs initiated by inmates installed across all BOP facilities.

Additionally, please clarify whether contractors are responsible for providing and maintaining all printers, consumables (paper, toner), and related infrastructure

Response: Printer maintenance is currently performed by BOP staff. Upon award of the contract, all printer equipment and maintenance services will be provided by the successful contractor. There are approximately 150 print stations. This amount varies based on institutional needs.

c. Color vs. Black-and-White Printing: Please clarify whether the printing requirement is limited to black-and-white output or if color printing is required. If color printing is required, will separate pricing be permitted or should it be included in the per-page rate?

Response: Black and White.

d. Single-Sided vs. Double-Sided Printing: Will printed pages be required to be single-sided only, or may duplex (double-sided) printing be used? If duplex printing is permitted, how should contractors account for page counts and pricing?

Response: Single Sided

e. Paper Size and Format: Please confirm the required paper size(s) (e.g., 8.5"" x 11"", legal).

Response: 8.5” x 11”

f. Current Process: Please detail the current process in which an inmate print jobs are initiated, processed and delivered?

Response: Inmates mark messages for printing within the inmate messaging service and access centrally located print stations to produce the document.

g. Historical Usage Data: Will the BOP provide historical printing volume data (e.g., monthly totals for calendar year 2024 or 2025) to support more accurate pricing assumptions?"

Response: The figures shown in Section B represent approximate annual usage, based on the actual number of printing jobs over a one-year period.

60. Will the BOP please identify the current commissary service provider(s) used across its institutions, including whether a single vendor or multiple regional vendors are in place?

Additionally, please provide the telephone number and email address of the primary point of contact for each provider as well as the GovCloud environment the service(s) are currently hosted in.

Response: The BOP does not rely on a centralized commissary service provider. Instead, each institution independently procures commissary goods from multiple vendors. Major vendors are Keefe, Union Supply, and Athletic Style.

61. Will the BOP please detail how inmate commissary is ordered today?

Response: A pre-printed commissary list is obtained by the purchaser. The purchaser will fill out the form to include name and registration number. The purchaser will select the items and quantity that they wish to purchase on the form. The form is submitted to commissary staff; the items are collected and then sold to the purchaser.

62. Please identify the current inmate financial services platform that the commissary ordering system must interface with, including vendor name, system type, supported integration methods (e.g., API, SFTP, flat file, web services) and what GovCloud environment the services are currently hosted in.

Response: The inmate service platform is TRUFACS and managed by Advanced Technologies Group (ATG). The integration method will be defined jointly by service provider and the selected vendor. GovCloud is not utilized.

63. Will the BOP please respond to the following clarification questions regarding Statement of Objectives (SOO), section “5.2.1.2 Inmate Use Kiosks”?:

a. Minimum Kiosk Quantity Requirement: Section 5.2.1.2 requires the vendor to provide kiosks but does not specify a minimum quantity per institution or housing unit. Will the BOP please define the minimum required number of kiosks (e.g., per facility, per housing unit, or per inmate population) to ensure consistent vendor pricing and evaluation?

Response: Kiosks should be available for approximately five (5) per 100 inmates.

b. Definition of “Adequate to Serve the Population”: The RFP states that the number of kiosks must be “adequate to serve the population, minimizing wait times and potential conflicts,” but no performance standard is provided. Will the BOP please specify measurable criteria (e.g., kiosk-to-inmate ratio, maximum wait time, or usage concurrency assumptions) that vendors should use to determine adequacy?

Response: Kiosks should be available for approximately five (5) per 100 inmates.

c. Service Scope Impact on Kiosk Quantity: The RFP indicates that kiosk quantity will vary based on the services offered (e.g., messaging, law library access, commissary orders). Will the BOP please clarify which services are required to be accessible via kiosks versus those that may be provided exclusively through tablets or other devices?

Response: Kiosks are intended to provide similar but limited functionality (as needed by BOP) as the tablet devices in cases where a tablet is damaged and awaiting a replacement or an inmate is prohibited from being issued a tablet.

d. Evaluation Consistency: Given that kiosk quantities are dependent on vendor-specific service offerings, how will the BOP ensure proposals are evaluated on an equal and comparable basis when vendors may propose materially different kiosk deployment models?

Response: Kiosks will be evaluated based on the requirements laid out in the SOO. Physical security requirements, technical requirements, and the ability to perform the required services that the tablet is required to do.

e. Facility Variability: Will kiosk deployment requirements vary by facility type

(e.g., high-density, low-density, administrative, medical, or special housing), and if so, will facility-level population and housing configuration data be provided to support accurate sizing?

Response: Kiosk deployment will vary based on inmate population and housing unit size.

f. Existing Infrastructure: Are there existing kiosks currently deployed at any BOP facilities, and if so, may vendors leverage existing hardware, or must all kiosks be newly provided by the awarded contractor?

Response: Kiosks are not currently deployed.

64. Will the BOP please respond to the following clarification questions regarding the contract award date and implementation timeline?

a. Tentative Contract Award Date: Will the BOP please provide the anticipated or target contract award date for this solicitation?

Response: FBOP anticipates award within 30 days of the proposal submission.

b. Notice to Proceed (NTP): Please clarify when the Notice to Proceed (NTP) is expected to be issued following contract award.

Response: FBOP intends to issue the NTP within 180 days of the award, upon the Vendor obtaining proper background clearance, interim ATO, and approval of the proposed implementation plan.

c. Implementation Start Date: Does the BOP expect implementation activities to begin immediately upon contract award, upon NTP issuance, or upon completion of other prerequisites (e.g., security clearances, facility access approvals)?

Response: FBOP intends to issue the NTP within 180 days of the award, upon the Vendor obtaining proper background clearance, interim ATO, and approval of the proposed implementation plan. Implementation Start Date and Base Period of Performance will commence upon issuance of NTP.

d. Required Implementation Timeline: The RFP references required implementation timelines but does not specify a definitive start date. Will the BOP please confirm how the implementation timeline will be measured (e.g., from award date, NTP date, or another milestone)?

Response: From NTP.

e. Phased vs. Nationwide Deployment: Will implementation be required to occur simultaneously across all BOP institutions, or will the BOP permit a phased rollout by region, facility type, or population size?

Response: The vendor is responsible for submitting the implementation plan in accordance with the SOO.

f. Facility Readiness Dependencies: Please clarify whether implementation timelines are contingent upon facility readiness factors such as network availability, power, space, and security approvals, and how delays outside the vendor’s control will be handled.

Response: The BOP will work with the vendor during implementation. The vendor will not be responsible for BOP delays.

g. Security and Clearance Lead Times: Will the BOP provide estimated timelines for required background checks, security clearances, and facility access approvals that may impact implementation scheduling?

Response: It should take no more than 30 days from the time we receive a completed packet, fingerprints, and drug test. If there are follow-up questions or documentation that was not completed correctly it could extend the time.

h. Data Migration and Integration Milestones: Are there required deadlines or sequencing requirements for data migration, system integrations, and acceptance testing that vendors must meet within the implementation period?

Response: The time frame will differ based on current contract SLA’s the BOP has with other vendors for data migration or system integrations.

i. Acceptance and Go-Live Criteria: Please clarify the criteria that will be used to determine when implementation is considered complete and the system is deemed operational

Response: All required approvals, assessments, applications and integrations are available for inmate use.

j. Final Completion Deadline: Please confirm whether there is a mandatory final completion date for full nationwide implementation and whether extensions may be granted based on mutually agreed-upon conditions."

Response: The offeror is responsible for submitting the implementation schedule.

65. Will the BOP please provide responses to the following clarification questions regarding the Statement of Objectives (SOO), section “5.2.3. Networking Equipment”?:

a. Existing Wireless Infrastructure: Will the BOP please identify the current wireless network infrastructure deployed at its facilities (e.g., vendor(s), wireless standards, frequency bands, controller-based vs. cloud-managed)?

Response: BOP currently utilizes Cisco Wi-Fi access points utilizing 802.11 ax and 802.11 ac standards. BOP uses Controller based management.

To avoid congestion, BOP network engineers will coordinate RF planning and operational coordination between the networks/vendors—especially agreeing on channel usage (and potentially channel widths and transmit power) to minimize co-channel contention. Network engineers will also provide guidance to the designated vendor to ensure vendor-installed AP’s meet minimum distance requirements between all installed Access points.

b. Facility Variability: Do wireless network architectures vary by institution, and if so, will facility-specific wireless diagrams or standards be provided to support accurate design and pricing?

Response: The BOP does not have diagrams available to release.

c. Frequency Band Usage: Please clarify which frequency bands are currently in use by BOP (e.g., 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, 6 GHz) and which bands vendors are permitted to use for inmate-facing devices and kiosks.

Response: BOP currently uses 2.4 and 5 Ghz. Vendors are permitted to utilize any 802.11ac or newer standards.

d. Interference Management Requirements: Are there specific RF coexistence, interference mitigation, or channel planning requirements that vendors must meet to ensure compatibility with existing and future BOP wireless systems?

Response: To avoid congestion, BOP network engineers will coordinate RF planning and operational coordination between the networks/vendors—especially agreeing on channel usage (and potentially channel widths and transmit power) to minimize co-channel contention. Network engineers will also provide guidance to the designated vendor to ensure vendor-installed AP’s meet minimum distance requirements between all installed Access points

e.

This is the start of the file's text. The full file is on GovTribe.

File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .