Attachment_17_(r3).pdf

PDF 294 KB Posted

Attached to
Detention Management, Transportation and Food Services for the Krome Service Processing Center (SPC), Miami, FL
Solicitation number
HSCEDM-13-R-00001
Issued by

About this file

Attachment 17 (r3)

View the file

Other files

File Type Posted
Section_B_(r2).pdf PDF
Attachment_10_(r4).xls XLS spreadsheet
SECTION_C-M_(r10)_with_Track_Changes.pdf PDF
SECTION_C-M_(r10)_without_Track_Changes.pdf PDF
Attachment_18_Part_2.pdf PDF
SF_30_Amendment_000017.pdf PDF
SF_30_Amendment_000016.pdf PDF
SF_30__Amendment_000015.pdf PDF
Section_B_(r1).docx DOCX document
SECTION_C-M_(r9)_with_Track_Changes.pdf PDF
SECTION_C-M_(r9)_without_Track_Changes.pdf PDF
Attachment_10_(r3).xls XLS spreadsheet
Attachment_18.pdf PDF
Attachment_7_(r1).pdf PDF
SF_30_Amendment_000014.pdf PDF
SF_30_Amendment_000013.pdf PDF
Attachment_10_(r2).xls XLS spreadsheet
SF_30_Amendment_000012.pdf PDF
Section_B.docx DOCX document
SECTION_C-M_(r8).pdf PDF
SF_30_Amendment_000011.pdf PDF
SF_30_Amendment_000010.pdf PDF
Amendment_000009__SF_30.pdf PDF
Attachment_6_(r1).doc DOC document
Amendment_000008_SF_30.pdf PDF
SECTION_C-M_(r6)_With_Track_Changes.pdf PDF
SECTION_C-M_(r6)_Without_Track_Changes.pdf PDF
Amendment_000007_SF_30.pdf PDF
SECTION_C-M_(r5)_With_Track_Changes.pdf PDF
Attachment_17_(r2).pdf PDF
Amendment_000006__SF_30.pdf PDF
SECTION_C-M_(r5)_Without_Track_Changes.pdf PDF
SECTION_C-M_(r4)_With_Track_Changes.pdf PDF
Attachment_10_(r1).xls XLS spreadsheet
Amendment_000005__SF_30.pdf PDF
Section_A-B_(r1).pdf PDF
Site_Visit_Attendee_List.pdf PDF
SECTION_C-M_(r4)_Without_Track_Changes.pdf PDF
Questions_and_Answers_From_the_Site_Visit.pdf PDF
Amendment_000004__SF_30.pdf PDF
Airport_Information.pdf PDF
SECTION_C-M_(r3)_With_Track_Changes.pdf PDF
SECTION_C-M_(r3)_Without_Track_Changes.pdf PDF
SECTION_C-M_(r2).pdf PDF
Attachment_17_(r1).pdf PDF
Amendment_000003_SF_30.pdf PDF
Attachment_4_(r1).pdf PDF
SECTION_C-M_(r1)_Without_Track_Changes.pdf PDF
Attachment_11_(r1).pdf PDF
Amendment_000001_SF_30.pdf PDF
Show 40 more

Latest 50 of 72 listed here. See the rest on GovTribe.

On GovTribe

Work with this file

  • Download the original file
  • Contacts named in this file
  • Similar government files
  • Ask GovTribe AI about this file

Text version

Attachment 17

Questions and Answers Regarding the Solicitation

Government’s Responses are in red

1. Attachment 6 of the RFP does not account for the addition of Project Management as a factor for assessment. Will an amendment be issued with Attachment 6 revised, or would it be acceptable for the contractor to add “Project Management” to Attachment 6?

Contractors are encouraged to submit Past Performance Questionnaires detailing previous experience providing Detention Guard Services, Transportation Services, Food Services, and

Project Management. It is the Government’s position that the questions in the Past

Performance Questionnaire concerning corporate commitment, quality of services, timeliness, effective use of resources, termination history and experience history can be answered and submitted regarding Project Management experience, as well as, Detention Guard, Transportation and Food Services. There are no plans to amend or modify the past performance questionnaire at this time.

2. Section L, page 136, states: “Hardcopies of the technical and price proposal should be delivered to the following address.” What are the instructions for delivery of the past performance volume? It should be delivered to the same address and the RFP has been amended accordingly.

3. Section L states: “Hardcopies of the technical and price proposal should be delivered to the following address:” (page 136). And: “Receipt of offers by ICE… via e-mail by the specified closing data and time…” (page 137).

Would the Government please clarify instructions for submission of softcopies of each volume?

What is the definition of softcopy – are these CDs or e-mail attachments? If e-mail attachments, please clarify the requirement for “at least two copies of the softcopy” of the tech/management volume and “two softcopies” of the price/cost volume – are these to be submitted in multiple e-mails or with the same file attached multiple times to one e-mail? What is the preferred file type

(i.e., Microsoft Office or Adobe Acrobat)? If e-mail submission is required, please confirm the e-mail address(es) for submission. The wording “via email” has been removed from the RFP.

Softcopies should be submitted on CDs along with the proposal. The preferred file types are specified in Section L.

4. Amendment 1 changed Section C.2 to read:

C.2 OBJECTIVE

The Contractor shall furnish all contract oversight management, supervision, trained personnel, equipment, materials, supplies, licenses, permits, certificates, pre-employment screenings, administration, and any other resources necessary to provide detention management, transportation and food services for detainees at the Krome SPC through an innovative, creative, substantiated and cost effective Performance Work Statement (PWS) that addresses the needs and concerns of ICE. The bed day rate available to satisfy this requirement is

$120/day, estimating an average daily population of 496 detainees. Any proposal bed day rate over and above this rate will be deemed unaffordable and will be removed from further consideration. ICE has budgeted approximately $528M for the base, transition and nine (9), one

(1) year option periods inclusive of the costs associated with contractor provided vehicles. The

Contractor shall provide trained employees, at all times, to perform the services as prescribed in and required by this contract.

IS THE $120 a bed-day a typo? Even if all costs are divided by 496 detainees per day and not 450

(the guaranteed) amount, even the most conservative bids will not come close to $120 a bed day.

If this is not a typo, can the government please provide its “math” on how the $120 per bed day rate was calculated; that is, can we see the “detention” costs the government considered for labor, (over 900,000) hours, overhead, G&A and Profit involved in providing the 500+ detention staff required for this effort that is unrelated to separately priced items for transport and other

CLINs?

The following language was removed from Section C in Amendment 00002:

ICE has budgeted approximately $528M for the base, transition and nine (9), one (1) year option periods inclusive of the costs associated with contractor provided vehicles.

This language has been replaced with:

The bed day rate available to satisfy this requirement is $120/day, estimating an average daily population of 496 detainees. Any proposal bed day rate over and above this rate will be deemed unaffordable and will be removed from further consideration.

Please also note, that Section C.11 Staffing Plan of the RFP has been changed, as well.

This new language is not a typo. Contractors shall propose a solution on how to satisfy the

Government’s requirement for detention services which fits within the Government’s budgetary constraints. This may mean that the contractor could propose a staffing plan which differs significantly from the current staffing levels.

5. The Performance Requirements Summary (Attachment A to QASP) functional area weight factors for all elements combined totals 120%; should this not total 100%?

This document has been revised.

6. Do questions asked and answered for the “draft” RFP apply to the current RFP as well? (Since so many changes have occurred the applicability of many answers is concerning.) No. The intent behind including them was to maintain transparency. This attachment will be removed from

Section J. Will the Q&A responses to the RFP (not the draft) become an attachment to the eventual contract? Yes. Or, will all Q&A (draft and actual RFP) be attached to the contract? See above.

7. Will ICE provide a redacted seniority list of the current contractor in order to enable accurate calculation of CBA vacation entitlements and to predict the number of new hires required for

PNBDS 2011 compliance? No.

8. Or, will adjustments to actual vacation hours at the full hourly wage rates be allowed in Option year annual CBA Requests for Equitable Adjustments? Yes.

9. Since the maximum detainee population is 574, does an increase in the detainee population to above 450 guaranteed trigger any additional staffing? This is up to the contractor.

For example, are there unoccupied housing units when the population is 450 or less that are utilized when the population exceeds 450? Are additional housing unit officers required when the population exceeds 450? See answer above.

10. CLIN 0004A “Transportation Guaranteed 100,000 miles”. What costs is the contractor to include under this CLIN? (Such as vehicle maintenance, insurance, fuel, etc.?) This is up to the contractor to determine.

11. CLIN 0004B. “Transportation over 100,000 miles.” Is this CLIN meant to reimburse only fuel costs, or fuel, maintenance and insurance? Please see answer for #10.

12. Would the Government consider establishing a separate CLIN for Bus Mileage and one for Van

Mileage to achieve a cost savings? No.

13. It is presumed that the contractor provides all required restraints/PBNDS equipment for its vehicles; is this correct? Yes.

14. Para 4.2.5 states government will provide XTS-5000 radios for use in the facility. Does the contractor have any cost for batteries, chargers, antenna, shoulder mics, etc.? No.

15. Will the contractor be provided with all current active Post Orders for review and revision or will the contractor be expected to develop these independently of existing Post Orders? Post

Orders are propriety information of the incumbent contractor. Therefore, this information will not be shared.

16. Are juvenile detainees or families held at the Krome Facility? No.

17. Is the contractor responsible for the physical marking of exit routes for fire escape within the facility? If so, how often are these replaced, and is there any historical record of the cost? No.

18. Is the contractor responsible for janitorial services or pest control within the facility? No.

19. Section C10.14.2. Is the contractor required to pay for the guard permits/firearms permits required for employees? No. The requirement is for the contractor to ensure the each employee has the required permits, certifications, etc.

20. Is hand written or typed pricing required on the SF 1447 or is attachment 10 substituted for the

CLIN pricing on the SF 1447? Please provide both the SF 1447 and Attachment 10. The SF 1447 may be handwritten or typed. Please make sure the soft copy of the Attachment 10 is in Excel.

21. Section L.4 states that the Demonstrated Technical / Management Capabilities, Past

Performance, and Price/Cost proposals shall be submitted with text no smaller than 12-point type. In earlier questions and answers (question 60 in the old Attachment 11) the Government said that graphics and tables can have text that is smaller than 12-point font size type.

Since Attachment 11 is no longer applicable to the solicitation, can offerors still use a font size type smaller than 12-point for graphics and tables as long as it is legible? Yes.

22. Will the Government update Section L.4 to reflect that in all three volumes of the proposal offerors can use a font size type smaller than 12-point for graphics and tables as long as it is legible? Yes.

23. Guaranteed transport hours on an annual basis is 53,664 for officers and 8,760 for the captains for a total of 62,424, per the chart on page 79; in computing the hourly rate for CLIN xxx5B, (Transport > Guaranteed hours), do we divide our costs by the sum of the annual guaranteed minimum post hours (62,424 combined) or by only 53,664 (transport hours)? Note: Since the total transport costs include the Captains, it would seem likely to divide the cost by 62,424; is this correct? Contractors must determine independently their calculations for the rates requested.

24. While the above is good for calculating the hourly transport officer rate for the officers, we note that supervisors get paid about $5.00 more for their services than the officers; If additional transport supervisors are needed would these be handled by a post hour modification? Yes.

25. Do the DCT members attend both regular 40 hour annual refresher training and the 40 hour annual DCT refresher training? Yes.

26. The staffing chart (C11.1) for transport has changed from the draft RFP. However, it still shows

M-F and Saturday-Sunday; please confirm that on Holidays that fall on M-F, the contractor is

NOT required to provide full transport staffing, but only “weekend” staffing levels? (The chart on page 45 states 2 teams on weekends and holidays; they should match.) Correct, for staffing, Federal Holidays are treated as weekends.

27. Do any transports start before 6:00AM? If so, a 6% shift differential applies to the hours before

6:00AM even though the RFP states in the C11 staff chart, that all transport occurs on the day shift and swing shift. Can ICE provide which routes require a starting time before 6:AM and perhaps consider restoring the original mix in the post chart to 12, 10 and 4? Or some other mix that accounts for shift differentials if any trip starts before 6:00AM? Yes. Contractors do not have to follow detention shifts for transportation shifts. Contractors are free to propose any mix of transportation coverage to the Government.

28. Are the transport teams staggered in on day and swing shift to meet the various start times for runs? Or do all 12 officers come in at 5:45 each day for days and 13:45 for Swings? See answer for #27. Contractors are free to propose different shifts, mixes, staggered or not.

29. On page 46 it lists the number of vehicles required which are substantially reduced from the draft RFP. On page 47 it states that the contractor will either use its vehicles or government vehicles but not both simultaneously.

30. Although only required to provide 1 bus, the Q&A informed that 90% of the runs to ERO

Orlando are bus runs and this run is performed daily (7 days a week, approx 10-12 hours depending on wait/loading time); is the contractor thus required to provide a backup bus as well as the required bus in the case of non-availability of the bus for maintenance?

Or would the use of a government bus be authorized in the case of downtime for maintenance/repairs?

Also, 10% of the runs to Monroe County and 20% of the MIA and Ft Lauderdale runs are bus runs? If the contractor’s bus is making the Orlando run, and only 1 bus is required to be provided, are the Monroe and Ft Lauderdale runs performed by the Jitney?

It seems that one bus is an underestimate of equipment requirements if there is no

“simultaneous” use of government vehicles, is it not?

Contractors are free to propose additional vehicles but not required to. The Government is attempting to either provide either all or none of the vehicles needed. Vehicle usage is based on a daily case-by-case basis.

31. If the government opts to have the contractor use government vehicles, does the government provide all required restraints and PBNDS vehicle equipment requirements? Yes.

32. If a contractor employee accidentally breaks a radio in the course of duty (such as in responding to an incident, breaking up a fight, etc., is the contractor responsible for replacing the radio? The current radios are under warranty. Therefore, the Government incurs no costs for repairs.

33. In computing CLIN xxx4C, what costs would accrue to the contractor since fuel & maintenance and all vehicle equipment is paid by the government?

Is Insurance the only requirement to price for this CLIN?

Per Section A-B and Attachment #10, $0.00.

A new CLIN 0004E-9004E has been added so that Contractors may account for the cost of this insurance.

34. Why is CLIN xxx4D necessary if, presuming the insurance is recovered under CLIN xxx4C, this essentially is a fuel only CLIN and all fuel is paid by the government? CLINs 0004C and 0004D should not include any prices, costs etc. in the proposal submitted. No changes will be made to these CLINs.

35. Para 4.2.6 states that additional training for guards assigned to Larkin Hospital and the KTC is required. What is the number of hours of training required for these posts?

Can this post training be incorporated into OJT, or monthly interactive? Due to the opening of the KTC, all guards will be required to attend an additional 8 hours of non-violent crisis intervention training. Paragraph 4.2.6, c.14.1 Initial Training requirements, and the Training

Officer requirements will be updated in the RFP.

36. The RFP (Attachment 1) advises bidders that a 7% tax on gross revenue produced at the airport is payable by the contractor. Can ICE provide details concerning this tax and whether it applies to the fixed airport supervisor post, HUB posts, AND daily transportation and airport security detail functions? For specific information on the Airport tax, please contact Virginia Carrillo, Special Projects Administrator with the Miami-Dade Aviation Department @ 305-876-7069 or visit the Miami-Dade airport web page at www.miami-airport.com and select “business & cargo” and then “business operations” from the drop down menu.

Since the transport revenue “produced” to/from the airport is not a “finite” number, can this tax be reimbursed annually by a separate CLIN as the government does with Defense Base Act insurance at foreign installations? No.

If not, could this tax be included and paid under annual equitable adjustments which allow for adjustments to taxes? Yes.

37. With all of the increased compliance requirements, it stands to reason that many new hires may be necessary during the transition. If staffing is to be at 100% on day 1 of the new contract, how will the 80 hours of OJT be handled for these new officers. Since OJT takes place on site, will the onsite OJT be held the first two weeks of performance, or will access to the site be granted for

OJT purposes during the final 2 weeks of transition? If needed, access to the site will be granted for OJT purposes during the final 2 weeks of transition.

38. Since ICE removed the post charts from C.11 in the RFP by Amendment 1, how many posts/post hours that were formerly included in these charts are not currently performed by the incumbent contractor?

Per the above, does ICE intend that any “new posts” not currently performed by the incumbent contractor, be performed by a new contractor on “day 1” or upon completion of the OJT conducted on site under the new contractor?

None. Krome will need additional posts to cover the KTC, Larkin Mental ward, and PBNDS 2011 changes (extended recreation and visitation hours).

39. Attachment 1 of the RFP (MIA information) states parking fees 4 months=$120; 8 months=$240;

12 months+$360. It goes on to state that “only one vehicle permitted for employees”.

Does this mean the individual pass for an employee only applies to 1 vehicle owned by the employee, or

Does this mean that a vendor with people working at the airport can only park 1 vehicle?

Are parking permits required for transport vehicles?

Is the contractor required by this contract to pay the parking fees for the HUB officers and

Airport Supervisor if this is not in the CBA?

These parking fees have to do with PARK 8 which is employee parking for individuals. Please contact Mike Pino of the Miami-Dade Airport landside parking division @ 305-876-7445 to clarify.

Airside parking permits will be required if the contractor plans to park a contract vehicle on the airside operations area.

The RFP does not require contractors to pay the parking fees for its airport employees.

40. Does the contractor’s Quality Control Manager supervise the ACA post officers?

Can these officers assist the QCM in conducting the contractor’s QC inspections in addition to their ACA duties?

ICE is dictating posts or duties in the RFP.

41. Will incumbent detention officers/supervisors who originally received less than 80 hours of basic training / 80 hours of OJT be required to complete any training during the transition? There are no incumbent employees that haven’t completed the required training.

42. Is a space for the contractor’s gun safe(s) available at the facility? No – individual gun lockers are provided for contracted transportation guards and other armed posts.

43. Is the contractor allowed to store guns/ammunition on site? No.

44. CLIN 0005A. “Transportation Guards Guaranteed 56,510 hours”. What costs is the contractor to include under this CLIN (Such as labor and non-vehicle overhead, and markups?). Contractors must determine independently their calculations for the rates requested.

45. CLIN 0005B “Transportation Guards over 56,510 hours”. Does this CLIN’s hourly rate include overhead which may be required to hire, train, and equip additional transport officers, and to provide additional vehicles? Please see answer above.

46. CLIN 0005C “Overtime Transportation Guards”. Is this CLIN supposed to exclude all overhead but include time and half for OT rate of pay? Please see answer for # 44.

47. Would the government consider establishing a CLIN for direct fuel reimbursement instead of

CLIN xxx4A-4D?

(Since the appropriate mileage rate for a bus/van varies significantly from that for a sedan type vehicle, a direct fuel CLIN on a Not to Exceed Basis, could very well reduce the risk for the government and the contractor. This CLIN pricing strategy is currently in use at several ICE transportation contracts.) No.

48. CLIN 0007. Are the Stationary Guards armed or unarmed? Armed unless in an area where fire arms are not permitted.

49. CLIN 0007. Are these guards providing detainee supervision outside of the facility, inside or both? Generally outside. Occasionally, circumstances required additional detainee supervision on the facility.

50. CLIN 0007. How many guards are assigned to a detail outside of the facility; such as a hospital;

clinic, etc. (ie, one or two)? Two.

51. Under what conditions would CLIN 0009 “Emergency Food Service Labor Overtime” be billable?

If detainees are going to be evacuated and additional sack lunches need to be prepared to feed detainees during the evacuation.

52. Attachment 11(r1) #28 states the laundry facility on site is for detainee use only. Does this mean that only detainee laundry is laundered? Yes.

53. Does the contractor supply all detergents, fabric softener, etc? No – ICE provides this.

54. Is the contractor responsible for maintenance/replacement of laundry equipment? No.

55. Attachment 11(r1) #51 states that sack lunches are not separately billable unless CLIN xx11 conditions (emergency evacuation) applies. Does the government NOT provide the food for these lunches under evacuation conditions? Attachment 11(r1) #51 answer states, “All food will be provided for and paid for by the Government. No exact number is available regarding the food that is provided by ICE. It follows that no additional costs were billed in the last twelve (12) months and the cost for meals and snacks should not be accounted for in any CLIN.”

56. Is the contractor expected to provide lunches obtained “en-route” to the evacuation destination at contractor expense and then bill he government under CLIN xx11? No.

57. Attachment 11(r1) #65. Does the government provide sufficient space for contractor administrative staff (such as Project Manager, Assistant Project Managers, clerks, QA and

Training staff, etc. and a training space for on-site training of staff? No. The government provides sufficient space for the contractor administrative staff but not training space for on-site training of staff.

58. Or, are all of these functions required to take place outside the facility? Training is expected to take place outside the facility.

59. How many offices/spaces are provided to the contractor on site?

Or what is the square footage or office dimensions of the contractor space(s) assigned in the facility?

The amount of office space provided will depend on the size of the proposed administrative staff.

60. Research indicates the current contractor has conducted training offsite due to space limitations;

Q/A for the draft proposal (Question #71) indicates that the on-site classroom can accommodate up to at least 23 officers per day for a class size.

However, the above question did not address multiple classes taking place the same day.

Will the on-site class room space(s) accommodate new hire basic training, annual training classes (up to 23 students), and monthly interactive classes simultaneously (up to 23 students as well)?

That is, is more than 1 classroom available on site?

The facility training room(s) are designated for ICE use. The contractor is expected to provide its own training facilities to meet all training needs.

61. Are any training tables/chairs/file cabinets provided, and if so, how many of each? No.

62. What training equipment does the government classroom provide such as projection screen/DVR, training tables/desks, chairs, file cabinets? N/A

63. Are CPR mannequins available for contractor use? No

64. Is the contractor required to provide CPR training to any ICE staff? If so, would the government cover the cost of training materials and cards for ICE staff? No

65. Are juvenile detainees or families supervised by the contractor at any off site location? Yes. If so, would these posts be charged to stationary guards CLIN? Yes

66. Para 4.1 and Transition CLIN: Will the contractor be allowed to bill the two month transition in two separate monthly day invoices? Yes

67. Para 4.2. Is the contractor to conform to PBNDS 2011 “Optimal” levels for all standards? No – please see revised evaluation criteria for the Performance Work Statement.

68. Para 4.2. States contractor responsible for detainee records; do these records include A-files from creation to close-out? No

69. Do transport officers provide “escort” services for clinic visits, court appointments, consular visits, etc? (That is, is part of the transport to “wait” for and supervise the detainee while at such?) Yes

70. Para 4.2. States contractor shall maintain records that are auditable by the government and lists

“hours worked”; since pricing for the detention services (non-transport/non-stationary outside the facility) is based on daily bed day rates, and not an hourly performance contract, and since the contract is performance based: Why would a record of hours worked report be required

(other than for the contractor’s payroll purposes)? (The requirement to document transport hours and stationary guard service is understood due to CLIN structure.) The Government reserves the right to audit the contract costs.

71. Para 4.2.2. Escorts for medical service. Is there a maximum number of detainees to escorts in the medical area of the facility? (i.e., 1 escort for every 5 detainees for example.); or are all detainees in the medical spaces “escorted” by the fixed post officers in medical? The

Government will consider all options regarding the escort of detainees to medical as long as the procedures meet applicable standards.

72. Para 4.2.2. Who provides the written guidance regarding access to medical care insofar as

“authorship” is concerned for any handout/booklet? The contractor. In how many languages would such material need to be printed and in what languages? English, Spanish, Creole

73. Para 4.2.2. Who purchases/provides the contents of the first aid kits mentioned herein?

Government.

74. Para 4.2.4. What restraints are authorized for use in the facility? See Para C.7.13 and ICE

PBNDS 2011

75. Do officers carry either handcuffs or flexcuffs while on duty in the facility? Yes – See Para C.17

76. Are flexcuffs required to be provided or only regular handcuffs? See Para C.17

77. Are 4-point restraints authorized? Yes. Are they provided by ICE or the contractor? Provided by the Government (in IHSC).

78. Para 4.2.4. Is the 12 member DCT a separate 12 members for each shift, or just one 12-member team for the facility? See answer for Question 79.

79. Draft Q&A: Para 4.2.4 (DCT) indicates that the DCT will participate in 40 hours of training one month per year and 8 hours of training during the other 11 months with ICE DCT and ICE supervisors.

Is this training in addition to the regular 40 hours of refresher training provided to all officers and the 8 hours of monthly interactive training cited in paragraph 14.4 and 14.7?

Does this training apply to only the designated DCT supervisor and 12 primary members of the

DCT?

Presumably, the DCT must be available on each shift, 7 days a week. Since officers work only 5 days a week, then it would follow that 36 “primary” DCT officers would need this training to cover Monday-Friday requirements, and another 36 would be required to cover the weekends.

Is this the requirement, and if not, what is the requirement for attendance at the training listed in para 4.2.4?

In the Q&A for the draft RFP, the government estimated 36 staff would be required to be trained to provide 12 members per shift through 7 days.

This does not compute as if 36 is the right number, all 36 would have to work 7 days a week.

Can the government re-estimate the 36 officers based on the 7 day requirement? (It would seem that 72 would be the correct number to train.)

Does the government’s estimate of 36 include the supervisors? This would add 6 to the number of staff to be trained to provide 7 day coverage.

This is in addition to the regular 40 hrs of refresher training and is not in addition to the 8 hrs of monthly interactive training cited in paragraph 14.4 and 14.7.

YES

ICE anticipates that at least 36 team members would be needed with the shifts staggered to cover weekends. These 36 would be expected to attend all required training.

80. Para 4.2.5. Are radio chargers, batteries, battery charging trays (if used), repair parts, repair service, shoulder microphones (if used) provided by the government as well as the radios? Yes.

81. Para 4.3. In order to accurately forecast mileage (and thus fuel expense) can the government further define “as needed” as frequency in the trip route chart?

Is 1 time per week a reasonable assumption for “as needed” routes?

Are routes that are conducted “daily” conducted 7 times per week/365 days per year?

Are any routes listed as daily conducted more than once per day?

If so, which routes/type of route?

It is not reasonable to assume “as needed” is 1 time a week. The Government identified “as needed” routes because they are infrequent and have not routine.

“Daily” should be clarified as 5 days (M-F) a week.

No routes should be conducted more than once a day. However, rarely, this situation may occur for hospitals or clinics.

82. Para 4.3. The Q&A for the draft RFP indicates the government provides all radios for this contract, including vehicle radio (1) and hand held radios (2) for each vehicle.

Is the “vehicle radio” an installed radio?

If installed, who pays for installation? Government installs at no cost to the contractor.

83. Para 4.3 states: “Failure of the Contractor to comply fully with the detainee(s) departure as pre-scheduled may result in the Contractor having deductions made for non-performance.”

If circumstances beyond the reasonable control of the contract create a delay, would the contract still be penalized for non-performance? No.

84. Para 4.3.5 states: “The Contractor shall incorporate extra time needed into the staffing plan to accommodate these activities, as needed.” Approximately how much “at airport” time is required per airport transport? Varies greatly from 30 minutes to 4 hours.

Approximately what is the amount of time required to complete the following trips including drive, delivery, documentation and return to base:

To MIA AP? Depending on conditions, from 1 to 6 hours. To FT Lauderdale/Hollywood Intl AP?

Depending on conditions, from 2 to 6 hours.

85. Para 4.3.5 states: “Contractor employees shall be responsible for retrieving and maintaining restraints furnished and used in carrying out departures and “Meet and Greets.”

In a meet and greet (pick up of detainees at airport or other location) situation, presuming detainees arrive in restraints, does the contractor un-restrain the arriving detainees and then reapply contractor restraints? Yes.

Or, does the contractor provide an equal number of restraints to the pickup point official and keep their restraints? No.

86. Para 4.3.2 states: Contractor employee(s) shall provide general security in the ICE Inspections areas and shall accept and maintain custody of detainees believed to be inadmissible to the

United States in the designated holding areas. The Contractor shall provide snacks for detainees in custody over six (6) hours.

Are the detention officers assigned to ICE inspection areas armed? No.

Is there a refrigerator in the area that could be used to store snacks or drinks? Yes. If not, can the contractor provide one? Yes.

87. Is a locker room/break room provided at KSPC? Yes. Are there any equipment provided in the break room such as a refrigerator, microwave, etc? No.

88. Section C7.1. Who provides the fingerprint supplies for detainee fingerprinting (including cards, ink, etc)? Government.

89. Section C7.9.

Who provides hazmat lockers for various chemicals/hazardous materials?

Who provides hazmat lockers for transportation functions? Government.

90. Section C7.16. How many hours is the Security Awareness Training and are these hours included in the regular required training hours or in addition to those? This annual training is an on-line, self-paced training and is not included in the regular training hours. Only employees with access to Government systems are required to participate.

91. Section C10.2. Will the government please confirm that Legal Permanent Residents ARE eligible to work on this contract? LPRs are eligible to work on this contract.

92. Section C10.3. Will incumbents carried over to the new contract be required to submit to a new physical, drug screen and TB Test during transition, or will incumbents be required to have these at their one year point from their last exam/test?

Is a new contractor conducted background check required for incumbent employees?

Incumbents are considered to begin as “fit for duty”. Background checks will only be required for new hires.

93. Section C10.4. What is considered excessive delinquent debt? “Excessive delinquent debt” is a discretionary term found in legal decisions and used on a case-by-case basis. In this case, if a credit check determines excessive delinquent debt on an candidate or employee, that employee may be disqualified from working on the contract.

94. Section C10.6. This section indicates that employees who have been arrested may be reassigned; however the wording in unclear as whether they may be reassigned to positions in the facility that do not require contact with detainees. Is this the meaning of such reassignments? Yes.

95. Section C10.9. Does the 12 hour work limit include Transport Officers or are they subject to the

DOT regulations which permit 15 hour days (per PBNDS)? Yes, the 12 hour limitation applies to transportation officers.

96. Section C10.13. Are BDU style uniform trousers permissible for transport officers? All uniform requirements will need to be submitted to the COR for approval.

97. Section C10.14. Are both ICE ID and Contractor ID credentials required? (In addition to SIDA cards). Yes.

98. How often does the Outside perimeter patrol conduct the patrol; i.e., continuously or every hour? Is this a foot patrol or vehicle mounted patrol? If vehicle mounted, is a golf cart sufficient or is an SUV type vehicle required? Continuously, in an enclosed vehicle (due to weather conditions).

99. What is the facility’s current plan to comply with PBNDS 2011 optimal standard regarding 15 hours per week access? Has the Library extended its current hours? Across how many shifts is the library open? Is the library going to be enlarged to increase seating capacity? What is the current seating capacity of the library? Is it mathematically possible to comply with the 15 hour requirement with the current seating capacity? Is more than 1 officer required for each shift in the library in view of PBNDS 2011 requirements to provide assistance to detainees using the library as well as supervise them? Krome is currently planning on meeting minimum standards while attempting to get to optimal as feasible.

100. What is the facility’s current plan to comply with PBNDS 2011 optimal standard for recreation? Do escort/roving officers supervise recreation or are fixed posts required? Would fixed posts be required 7 days per week? Do these officers hand out equipment or just supervise the detainees? See previous answer.

101. Section C.11. What are the functional assignments/job descriptions of the 2 recommended Admin Assistants? Specifically, is one assigned to Transportation? Is one assigned to Training? Is one assigned to the PM? If overhead labor, are they required to be replaced if absent for illness, etc? Contractors should determine the number and functions of administrative support.

102. Is DCT Training equivalent to Riot Control Training? No

103. Are there any specific or additional physical fitness requirements for assignment to the

DCT? No specifications. However, candidates will participate in physical training (PT) during the monthly training sessions.

104. Section 14.1 states the contractor will deliver its training plan within 2 weeks of contract award. In the deliverables list in Section E, the training plan is due within 30 days. Which is correct? Section E has been changed to reflect 14 calendar days or two weeks.

105. Section C14.4 states the annual training consists of “critical training subjects from the

PBNDS 2011/ACA standards”…PBNDS/ACA does not identify “critical training subjects”. Please clarify what “critical subjects” must be included in annual training such as CPR/1st Aid, etc. In this case, “critical” is a subjective term and could be interpreted as critical that the contractor employees are aware of for the ongoing operations.

106. Is AED training required? No

107. Section C14.6. Does the 25 question test pertain to each topic in Basic Training/OJT or

Annual Training or the entire training “course”? “The entire training course.”

108. Section C14.6. Is the time required to take the exam included in the 80 hours of basic and OJT training and the 40 hours of annual training? (Or is the contractor to add additional time for the exam(s)? Yes.

109. Section C14.7. States the COR “may” require this training, which makes proposing 8 hours a month the least risk method of pricing the proposal. To reduce costs, can the government be more specific about the maximum quantity of hours to propose based on any historical data? Or the actual projection of hours required?

In the draft RFP Q&A, the answered pointed to a “requirement” for 8 hours per month rather than a “may” be required. If directed by the Government to participate in this type of training, the contractor will be allowed to charge for the extra hours as required. The Government has no historical data on the hours or costs of these trainings. This in mentioned in the RFP as, occasionally, an unplanned, unforeseen need arises to test compliance, validate a procedure, or satisfy a delinquency through a camp-wide training exercise.

110. Section C14.7. Additionally, since Full Time Equivalents are based on the number of non-productive hours planned for each year subtracted from 2,080, is ICE stating that offerors should plan on 8 hours a month of interactive training? (And thus increase the FTE’s required to cover these planned unproductive hours.) No, the interactive training may or may not happen at all during the course of the contract.

111. Section C15. What type of firearm is currently used by armed guards and transport officers? (ie., 40 caliber, 9mm?) (This information is required to determine if re-training will be necessary if the type of handgun provided is different from current.) 9mm

112. Section C15. Does ICE require armed staff to re-qualify with the specific weapon they carry while on duty? Yes.

113. Section C15. Does ICE require that armed staff carry the same specific weapon each day on duty? Yes.

114. Section C15. Since the return time of a transport is not always clearly defined, it could come to pass that a reporting officer for the next shift would be assigned a firearm that was already in use by a late returning transport officer. While the RFP allows the contractor to only provide sufficient firearms for all armed staff “while on duty”, would ICE consider requiring the contractor to provide an individual firearm are to each armed officer to preclude any issue conflicts caused by the above scenario? Yes.

115. Does the contractor provide clearing barrels? No. How many are required if so?

116. Is space designated for placement of clearing barrels? N/A

117. How large is the space provided for the gun safe(s)? Current research indicates the incumbent contractor is not allowed to maintain weapons storage on site. Is this still the case for the next contract? No space is provided.

118. C.17 states that supplemental equipment shall be provided to “each” detention officer including hand restraints, leg restraints, belly chains. The contractor shall provide enough hand and leg restraints and belly chains so that each officer that needs them, will have them. It is not required for each officer on duty. Does the above mean the contractor shall provide enough equipment of these types in order to issue same if needed to each officer on duty? No. Would not a better equipment standard be provide hand restraints, leg restraints and belly chains in quantity to meet the 574 detainees likely to be housed at any given time? Yes. Are existing additional data lines/phone lines installed by previous contractors available for use? Yes. On

Camp phone and data lines are Government owned and furnished. Or, is the previous contractor going to be allowed/required to remove them, if installed? No.

119. Section E4, Item 20 on the deliverables chart lists “cleaning schedule” as being due weekly? To what does this refer? The contractor is expected to operate and manage the detainee volunteer workers program. Part of the program includes cleaning crews to assist in the cleaning.

120. If a contractor team is proposed, do both entities complete the Representations &

Certifications forms, or only the Prime? The Prime.

121. Are contractor staff authorized to utilize the ICE firing range? If so, who provides the targets? Currently, yes. The Camp commander has the authority to authorize contractor use of the firing range. The contractor would be required to provide targets..

122. Do all in-facility posts require physical relief, including rovers/escorts? Or are any mobile posts (rover/escort) considered self relieving with permission of supervisor? Or is this a contractor decision on how to manage relief? Contractors are expected to make relief determinations.

123. Since Transport Officers are “mobile” are they considered self-relieving “posts” with permission of supervisor? Or this a contractor decision on how to manage relief? Contractor decision.

124. Since Supervisors are “mobile” do they require physical relief or are these self relieving posts? Or this a contractor decision on how to manage relief? Contractor decision.

125. Since 15 minutes of muster are “required” by C11, and since the CBAs state that officers are provided a 20 minute paid break (presumably for lunch) per day (which DOL states the 20 minutes excludes travel time to/from post and is therefore approx 30 paid minutes), it stands to reason that they are paid for 8.25 hours per day of which .25 (1.25 per week) is overtime.

Contractors are expected to propose how they intend to meet the Government’s needs. The

Government is not stipulating specific shifts, hours, or overtime requirements. Is the correct interpretation of the above requirements? This could be one interpretation of the requirements.

126. Is there a vehicle wash station within the facility that the contractor may use? Do transport officers clean/wash the contractor’s vehicles or are separate “vehicle cleaner” staff required? No to both.

127. Can ICE provide a brief synopsis of the various supervisors’ duties or at least their primary functions? Bldg 1 Supervisor? (Is this the Processing Supervisor?) Operations

Supervisor? Escort/Roving Supervisor? Airport Supervisor (is this position at the Airport?)?

Kitchen Supervisors? SHU/Security/Intel Supervisor? These posts are on the current

[incumbent] contract and not a set requirement in the RFP. Other than the titles, no other information is available.

128. Is the level of supervision recommended in the draft solicitation considered adequate to meet facility needs? If not, what additional supervisors are necessary? The staffing plan was removed to encourage contractors to determine adequate manning options.

129. What specific supervisor leads the DCT if activated? Contractor decision.

130. Are the Kitchen supervisors detention supervisors or “cooks/food service staff”?

Contractor determination.

131. Are overhead managers required to be replaced while on vacation or sick leave or attending annual training? Acting managers should be identified.

132. Are the management posts required to be staffed on Federal Holidays? Contractor decision.

133. Is the Airport Supervisor armed? No.

134. Are transport supervisors armed? No.

135. Is the required 15 minute muster time included in the guaranteed transport hours? (it appears not to be included) Yes.

136. Is one of the APM’s available to provide employee scheduling? The RFP does not specify whether an APM is required.

137. What functions, in general, are assigned to the APM’s? The RFP does not specify whether an APM is required.

138. Is the contractor responsible for providing a chit system for accountable items such as keys? Or does ICE provide an accountability/control system? Partially. Please see paragraphs

C.4.4.12, C.7.7, C.9.2 of the RFP.

139. Are transport officers required to take both a regular physical and the USDOT physical or just the USDOT physical? If the USDOT physical meets the needs of the contract, that will suffice.

140. What is the method of feeding detainees? Are they “constant flow” or “pod by pod”?

By housing unit.

141. During meal times are non-essential operations stopped or are they continued?

Continued.

142. Are there any vehicles at Krome that are dedicated to Food Service? No.

143. Are there any vehicles at Krome that are available to Food Service? Not at this time. If applicable, this should be addressed during discussions of the proposal.

144. Is there space on site to park Food Service vehicles? Yes, if applicable.

145. How many beds are in SMU? 7

146. When will the medical unit that is under construction be opened? Scheduled to open 1 March 2013.

147. The RFP calls for “staff in accordance with ICE 2011 PBNDS to staff the food service department to include at least one cook supervisors and one licensed warehouse/forklift operator.” Please provide the size of the warehouse and if there is a forklift provided by ICE.

The forklift is GFE and is utilized in the kitchen area for offloading trucks. The forklift operator’s services are not be required at the warehouse. The size of the warehouse is moot.

148. The RFP calls for the Contractor to provide special dietary meals (i.e., medically ordered) upon request. Please provide a list of dietary meals to provide. There is simply no way to provide an all-inclusive list covering every religious and/or medical situation. The more common special meals are kosher, vegan, and vegetarian.

149. The RFP calls for “the contractor to have each menu and special dietary menus certified by a registered dietician and, when needed, by a chaplain. Certified menus shall be submitted to the COR for review and approval within thirty (30) days after contract award.” Will the COR work with the contractor to mutually meet dietary menu needs and assume responsibility of menus if they override the recommendations of the approved certified dietician? The contractor will retain responsibility of the menus. The COR will work with the contractor(s) to ensure the menu meets the dietary needs of the Government detainees.

150. In the RFP, sections 4.4.6 Therapeutic Diets, and section 4.4.7 Special Diets, call for compliance; can the government please list the Diets? There is simply no way to provide an all-inclusive list covering every medical situation.

151. In the RFP the Government calls for “the Contractor to be responsible for recycling in accordance with the SPC guidelines. Designated recycling containers shall be provided and the

COR or ICE designee will give guidance on the recycling program, such as the placement of bins and storage locations.” Can the government please advise where the bins and storage locations are in regards to the Food Service operations? Government will provide designated containers and bins for Contractors use. Containers and bins disposal location (Adjacent to Guard Gate

Two) must be at a distant located away from food service operation infrastructure. COR or ICE designee will provide guidance on the recycling program, such as placement of bins and storage locations.

152. In the RFP the government calls for “trash removal from designated areas is considered to be a Government furnished service. The Contractor shall be responsible for the removal of trash from the food service department to the designated areas.” Can the government please advise where the “designated areas” are in regards to the Food Service operations? Contractor must ensure all trash removal from food service operations interior is disposed in the appropriate recycle containers or bins designated outside food operations adjacent to gate two.

153. The RFP calls for “the Contractor to ensure that “air curtains” or other devices are used in the food storage doorways, walk-in refrigerator doorways, etc., to minimize pest access to food service areas. Can the government please advise if all devises needed for successful operations are currently in place? Yes. They are currently in place.

154. Is the contractor responsible for production/provision of the Detainee Handbook?

Yes.

155. Draft Q&A #70 indicated it is contractor option as to signage (logos) are required on vehicles. USDOT and Federal Motor Carrier Regulations indicates that DOT # and company name/phone number are required on commercial passenger vehicles (and detention vehicles are determined to be commercial passenger vehicles); in view of this, is a DOT number and FMC registration and signage required? If signage is required by DOT regulations, then it is required.

156. The Draft RFP calls for “the contractor to have each menu and special dietary menus certified by a registered dietician and, when needed, by a chaplain. Certified menus shall be submitted to the COR for review and approval within thirty (30) days after contract award.” Will the COR work with the contractor to mutually meet dietary menu needs and assume responsibility of menus if they override the recommendations of the approved certified dietician? See answer to #150.

157. Reference: Section L

Font size for tables and graphics: Is 8 point acceptable for tables and graphics as long as legible?

Yes. Please see Amendment 000006.

158. Reference: C.12 Key Personnel: This section describes the essential personnel and duties then leaps from C.12 to 12.2.1 (there is no section 12.1) then to 12.2.3 (there is no section

12.2.2). It appears that there are sections missing or that the numbering has become confused.

Would the government please clarify the section numbering for subjects to be addressed regarding C.12.

Numbering has been amended – please see Section C-M (r5).

159. Reference: Section C.2: Objective. Page 32

This section states, “The bed day rate available to satisfy this requirements is $120/day, estimating an average daily population of 496 detainees.”

Does the $120.00 per diem relate to the guarantee of 450 detainees also, or the blended rate for 496 detainees? Per Section A-B, the guaranteed CLIN is set for 450 detainees. Detainees above 450 and up to the official max capacity of 574 will be accounted for on a separate CLIN. A bed day rate above $120/day for any CLIN will be deemed unaffordable and the proposal will not be evaluated.

This is the start of the file's text. The full file is on GovTribe.

File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .