ATTACHMENT7PCMSHeavyCleanupToolUserManual.docx

DOCX document 2 MB Posted

Attached to
Product Lifecycle Management (PLM) and Data Competency Center (DCC) Data Objects Cleansing Logistics Transformation
Solicitation number
FA8100-11-R-0010
Issued by

About this file

Attachment 7 to Appendix A

View the file

Other files

File Type Posted
POST AWARD SYNOPSIS.doc DOC document
FA810011R0010_______0001.pdf PDF
PWSrevision1.docx DOCX document
AppendixB.docx DOCX document
ATTACHMENT8BusinessRules.docx DOCX document
ATTACHMENT9CustomerComplaintRecord.docx DOCX document
ATTACHMENT5AcceptanceGroupCategories.docx DOCX document
ATTACHMENT1CDRLs.docx DOCX document
dd0254FY11IPBCleansing.pdf PDF
PWSIPBCleansingFY11.docx DOCX document
EvaluationCriteria2011.docx DOCX document
ATTACHMENT4ListofCommoditiesWepaonSystemIPBs.docx DOCX document
ATTACHMENT6IPBStandardCommonErrorCodes.docx DOCX document
Instructiontoofferors2011.docx DOCX document
ExhibitA.pdf PDF
WageDetermination.pdf PDF
FA810011R0010.pdf PDF
ATTACHMENT3IPBDataCleansingProcessFlow.docx DOCX document
ATTACHMENT2ExpectedHeavyCleansingErrorsinMilspecTechnicalOrders.docx DOCX document
DraftRFP QA's.doc DOC document
ExhibitA.pdf PDF
ATTACHMENT2ExpectedHeavyCleansingErrorsinMilspecTechnicalOrders.docx DOCX document
ATTACHMENT6IPBStandardCommonErrorCodes.docx DOCX document
ATTACHMENT9CustomerComplaintRecord.docx DOCX document
WageDetermination.pdf PDF
ATTACHMENT4ListofCommoditiesWepaonSystemIPBs.docx DOCX document
Instructiontoofferors2011.docx DOCX document
QASP.docx DOCX document
FA810011R0010.pdf PDF
ATTACHMENT7PCMSHeavyCleanupToolUserManual.docx DOCX document
ATTACHMENT1CDRLs.docx DOCX document
ATTACHMENT5AcceptanceGroupCategories.docx DOCX document
ATTACHMENT3IPBDataCleansingProcessFlow.docx DOCX document
PWSIPBCleansingFY11.docx DOCX document
dd0254 FY11 IPB Cleansing.pdf PDF
ATTACHMENT8BusinessRules.docx DOCX document
EvaluationCriteria2011.docx DOCX document
PWS QA's.doc DOC document
PWS IPB Cleansing FY11 r14.docx DOCX document
Synopsis.docx DOCX document
Q A's.doc DOC document
RFI LETTER.doc DOC document
RFI Requirement Document final.docx DOCX document
USAF Questions r4 final.docx DOCX document
Show all 44

On GovTribe

Work with this file

  • Download the original file
  • Contacts named in this file
  • Similar government files
  • Ask GovTribe AI about this file

Text version

ATTACHMENT 7

PCMS Heavy Cleanup Tool User Manual image1.emf

HC Tool User Guide.docx Heavy Cleanup (HC) Tool User's Guide

Software release:

Document date:

1.1 February 28, 2011

Introduction

This guide describes the Heavy Cleanup Tool and the process of installing, configuring, and using the tool.

Topics in this manual include:

· Text conventions in this guide

· What's new in this release?

· Installation requirements

· Preparing to install the software

· Installing the software

· Preparing the input file

· How to use this Software

· Uninstalling the software

· Technical support

Text conventions in this guide

Serif font

System information including file names and file content.

input: Text you must type exactly as shown.

<variable>: Text that can vary; do not type the bracket characters.

{value|value}: Values you can select from for a command argument; type only a value.

Sans serif font name: Interface objects you must select.

Back to introduction

What's new in this release?

Enhancements and changes

· Ten discrepancy filters added to facilitate identifying and correcting problem sections of each part.

· Each type of discrepancy is displayed in a different color to facilitate edits in the MPL file.

· Recommended changes are saved to the MPL file format or exported to Microsoft Excel as a report spreadsheet.

· Users can add comments to justify reasons for making changes to each part.

· Users can add custom filters to show specific data.

· Custom sorting added to allow for sorting multiple columns simultaneously.

Release history

Release

Description

1.0

Prototype of the unreleased HC Tool.

1.1

First official release of the HC Tool.

Installation requirements

This table lists minimum requirements to install and run this software on a client computer.

Client requirements

Operating system

Windows Vista with Service Pack 1

Installed software

Excel 2007, Microsoft .NET Framework v. 3.5

Hard disk space

7 MB

Memory

64 MB

Installing/Configuring the software

Please refer to the install guide.

If you need help installing this software, contact Technical Support.

Preparing the input file

· This program uses a standard MPL file or a tagged MPL file.

How to use this Software

Starting the Program

Users start the HC Tool in one of the following two ways:

1. Double click on the HC Tool Icon .

2. Click on Start > All programs > IHS > HC Tool

When there is no data in the program, the user is prompted to choose an MPL file before proceeding.

The HC Tool Interface

Table of Contents

The following section identifies the features available in the HC Tool. Use the hyperlinks below to navigate between sections.

1. Purpose of the HC Tool

2. File

2.1. Open – Allows the user to open a different MPL file.

2.2. Save As – Allows the user to save recommended changes to the MPL file.

2.3. Default Export – Allows the user to export Part records with highlighted changes and comments in Microsoft Excel format. This option saves the default field choices to the spreadsheet.

2.4. Export – Allows the user to choose information for exporting to Microsoft Excel format.

2.5. Exit – Quit the program and keep existing work in the program.

3. Edit

3.1. Undo – Restores the previous value of the highlighted cell. Can undo until the initial value is restored.

3.2. Redo – Reverses an undo operation.

3.3. Revert – Restores the original value of the cell.

3.4. Cut – Moves the text from the cell to the clipboard.

3.5. Copy – Duplicates the data from the cell to the clipboard

3.6. Paste – Copies the data from the clipboard to the cell.

4. Data

4.1. Clear Tags – Removes all highlights of user changes in the program.

4.2. Clear Data – Removes all data from the database.

4.3. Filtering

4.3.1. Add Column Filters – Allows the user to add a custom filter that will search for information within the selected column(s).

4.3.2. Remove Column Filters – Allows the user to remove custom filters.

4.3.3. Column Filters Enabled – Allows the user to determine whether to view the parts data with or without the column filters.

4.4. Sorting

4.4.1. Select Columns to Sort – Allows the user to sort part data based on across multiple columns.

4.4.2. Custom Sorting Enabled – Determines whether custom sorting is enabled or disabled.

4.5. Insert New Record

4.5.1. Before Selected Record – Adds a part row before the selected record.

4.5.2. After Selected Record – Adds a part row after the selected record.

4.6. Delete Selected Record – Highlights the selected part record recommended for deletion.

4.7. Edit Comment For This Record – Allows the user to add a comment to the selected record.

5. Preferences

5.1. Choose Colors – Allows the users to select the colors for the good data, discrepancies, changed data, and rows recommended for deletion.

5.2. Use Data Maintenance As Default View Mode – Allows the user to decide whether the application should start in Data Maintenance or Default View Mode.

6. Help

6.1. About – Shows author information about the tool.

7. Filtering Parts

8. Viewing Parts at the IPB or Figure Level

9. Working with Part Information

10. Additional Features

Purpose of the Heavy Cleanup (HC) Tool

The PCMS Heavy Cleanup (HC) Tool is designed to help users quickly identify invalid part data and make recommendations for correcting the data. Although the original data is not changed, the HC Tool stores changes as “tags” in the new MPL file. Authorized users can load the new MPL file into the PCMS-GUI to make the recommended changes. In addition, the tool can generate a spreadsheet of changes in Microsoft Excel format. Those two documents will aid the authorized user to make changes in the MPL file, which will lead to more accurate technical orders.

Back to Table of Contents

File Menu Items

Opening an MPL File (Ctrl + O)

This feature allows the user to open a different MPL file. The user is prompted to save their work before prompting to open another file.

1. On the menu bar, click File > Open.

2. Select the desired file, and click open.

Note: Depending on the number of parts in the MPL file, it could take several minutes to load the file.

Saving an MPL File (Ctrl + S)

This feature allows the user to save recommended changes to the MPL file. The changes are stored as tags at the end of each part record in the MPL file.

1. On the Menu Bar, click File > Save As…

2. Choose the target directory, type in the desired filename, and click Save.

Default Export

This feature allows the user to export part records with highlighted changes, comments, and row deletions in Microsoft Excel format. This option saves the default field choices to the parts spreadsheet.

1. On the Menu Bar, click File > Default Export…

2. Choose the target directory, type in the desired filename, and click Save.

Export

This feature allows the user to choose information for exporting to Microsoft Excel format. In addition to exporting the parts spreadsheet, this export option also creates spreadsheets for a summary discrepancies report and a detailed discrepancies report.

Part I

On the Menu Bar, select File > Export…

Part II

Columns to Export

Selecting Columns to Export

Select the desired columns to appear in the exported Microsoft Excel Spreadsheet. To select all columns, click the “Select All” button. To deselect all columns, click the “Unselect All” button .

Export Templates

A user can create an export template whenever needed to export the same columns while working on different IPB’s. This feature allows the user to quickly export spreadsheets since the user only has to simply choose an export template.

Load an Export Template

The user can load a saved template by clicking on the drop down box and selecting the template.

Save an Export Template

The user can save an export template by selecting at least one column to export and clicking the “Save Selected Columns as New Template” button.

Type the name of the created template and click “Ok.”

Deleting A Template

The user can decide to delete a template if it is no longer needed. This helps the user to select the correct template by only keeping needed templates.

1. Select a template from the “Load an Export Template” drop down box.

2. Click the “Delete Selected Template” button.

3. Confirm by clicking “Yes” on the popup dialog.

Part III

Choose the target directory, type in the desired filename, and click “Save.”

Quitting the HC Tool (Alt + F4)

Quit the program and keep existing work in the program.

To quit the Heavy Cleanup Tool, click File > Exit.

Edit Menu Items

Undo (Ctrl + Z)

This feature restores the previous value of the highlighted cell. The user can undo until the initial value is restored.

Select a cell on the data grid and click Edit > Undo from the menu bar.

Redo (Ctrl + Y)

This feature reverses an undo operation.

Select a cell on the data grid and click Edit > Redo from the menu bar.

Revert

This feature restores the original value of the cell.

Select a cell on the data grid and click Edit > Revert from the menu bar.

Cut (Ctrl + X)

This feature moves the text from the cell to the clipboard.

Select a cell on the data grid and click Edit > Cut from the menu bar.

Copy (Ctrl + C)

This feature duplicates the data from the cell to the clipboard.

Select a cell on the data grid and click Edit > Copy from the menu bar.

Paste (Ctrl + V)

This feature copies the data from the clipboard to the cell.

Select a cell on the data grid and click Edit > Paste from the menu bar.

Data Menu Items

Clear Tags

This feature removes all highlights of user changes in the program.

Click Data > Clear Tags from the menu bar.

Clear Data

This feature removes all data from the program.

Click Data > Clear Data from the menu bar.

Adding a Column Filter

This feature allows the user to add a custom filter that will search for information within the selected column(s). This allows the user to hone in on targeted data.

1. Click Data > Filtering > Add A Column Filter… from the menu bar.

2. When finished setting up your filter, click ok.

Select a Column to Filter – Choose the desired column.

Select a Filter Style – Select the desired filter based on current needs.

Enter A Phrase To Filter By -- Type in the phrase to filter in or out.

Click OK when done.

Removing a Column Filter

This feature allows the user to remove custom filters.

1. Click Data > Filtering > Remove A Column Filter… from the menu bar.

2. On the “Remove Filter” dialog window, select a filter, and click remove. When done removing filters, click OK.

Column Filters Enabled

This feature allows the user to determine whether to view the parts data with or without the column filters. This gives the user the ability to quickly view all the data for an IPB or Figure without having to delete every filter.

To enable or disable column filters, click Data > Filtering > Column Filters Enabled

Custom Sorting

Custom sorting allows multiple column sorting of part data, similar to Microsoft Excel’s multiple column sorting feature.

Enable Custom Sorting

When custom sorting is enabled, all sorting is done from the “Custom Column Sorting” dialog. Clicking on the column headers will not allow sorting. When custom sorting is disabled, columns can be sorted by clicking on their headers.

To enable Custom Sorting, click Data > Sorting > Custom Sorting Enabled

Using Custom Sorting

1. Click Data > Sorting > Select Columns To Sort

2. In the Custom Column Sorting dialog window, select the columns to sort by and order them as desired. Choose “Set to Ascending” or “Set to Descending” for the sort order; then click OK. Note: The top column under “Columns to Sort By” determines the main sort order.

Inserting Records

A user can insert records above or below the current row. This is useful if a user needs to add additional parts to an incomplete figure.

To add a row, click Data > Insert New Record > Before Selected Record or After Selected Record.

Delete Records

A user can make recommendations for deleting records with this feature. When a user marks a part record for deletion, the entire row is highlighted in red on the HC Tool. This feature is useful when a part is no longer needed in the figure.

A user can delete a record by selecting the record rows and clicking Data > Delete Selected Records.

Editing Comments for a Record

This feature allows the user to add a comment to the selected record. The user can enter as many comments as necessary in the comments field. The comments are exported to the Microsoft Excel Spreadsheet, and those comments can be reviewed by authorized users to verify recommended changes. Follow the steps below to edit comments for a record.

1. Select the record and click Data > Edit Comment For This Record.

2. Type in a comment in the text box, and click OK.

Preferences Menu Item

Choosing Colors

Users can choose colors for discrepancy filters, good data, changed data, and row marked for deletion. These colors affect the data grid of the HC Tool and the Export feature (but not the Default Export). Follow the following steps to change the colors.

1. Click Preferences > Choose Colors… from the menu bar.

2. Select the discrepancy or option to change the color and click “Select Color”.

3. Select your color from the colors dialog box and click OK.

4. Repeat steps 1-3 to change additional colors, then click OK.

Using Data Maintenance View As the Default View

This feature allows the user to determine whether to start the HC Tool with the extra “Data Maintenance” columns displayed on the data grid or just the “Default” columns. The user can decide on the default view mode based on their role in the parts data cleanup process.

To select whether or not the Data Maintenance view should be selected at program startup, Click Preferences > Use Data Maintenance As Default View.

Help Menu Item

Checking Copyright Information (F1)

Click Help > About

Filtering Parts

Many filters are available to the user to help correct bad data. The following types of filters are available to users:

Discrepancy Filters – Displays records of invalid data based on the user’s chosen criteria. For example: Missing SMR code or All Discrepancies .

Tagged Records – Displays only records edited by the user.

Search – Displays records based on one criterion in a single column.

Column Filters – Displays records based on the user’s criteria across multiple columns.

Discrepancy Filters

A user will access the discrepancy filters by clicking on the “Discrepancy Filters” Tab.

All Discrepancies – Displays all part records containing at least one error.

Suspect/Missing Cage Code – Displays all part records in which the Cage code is blank or has invalid characters.

Dummy Cage Code – Display all part records in which the cage code is “DUMMY.”

Missing SMR Code -- Displays all part records in which the SMR Code is blank.

Suspect Part Number -- Displays all part records in which the Part Number contains invalid characters.

Part Number Contains Dummy -- Displays all part records in which the Part Number contains the word “DUMMY.”

Improper Indenture -- Displays all part records in a figure in which the indenture levels are not sequential.

Missing or Incorrectly Indentured Assembly -- Displays all part records in a figure number in which the indenture level is missing or is not indentured correctly.

Primary/Alternate Parts -- Displays all part records in which the Annotation field contains information that is not allowed.

UOC Contains a Number -- Displays all part records in which the Usable On Code contains a digit.

When a filter is not selected, all part data is displayed. When a filter is selected, only the part data matching the filter is displayed.

Selected Filter

Results

Tagged Records

When “Tagged Records” is selected, only user changes are displayed.

Selected Filter

Results

Search

Users can access the search feature by clicking on the “Search” tab.

Value – Textbox which users can enter their search criterion.

Column – Drop down box with the list of available columns to match against the criterion.

Exact Match – When checked, only records that exactly match the criterion are returned.

Current Figure -- When checked will return only parts in the selected figure.

Search – Filters the part records based on the criterion.

Clear – Clears the “Value” field and restores part records prior to the search.

Prev – Moves the cursor to the prior cell in the search results.

Next – Moves the cursor to the next cell in the search results.

Note: Prev and Next buttons will cycle through discrepancies if the value field id blank.

Example Search

Search

Results

Column Filters

Please refer to Adding a Column Filter section.

Viewing Parts at the IPB or Figure Level

Whenever an IPB is selected, all part records are displayed. If a figure number is selected, only the parts associated with the figure are displayed. As the figure or IPB is selected, the counts for the discrepancy filters are updated accordingly.

A the IPB Level

IPB Selected

Discrepancy Filter Counts

At the Figure Level

IPB Selected

Discrepancy Filter Counts

Working with Part Information

The data grid provides users with flexibility to edit part data in each cell.

Quick Sorting

The user has the option of sorting part records by simply clicking on the column header. An up pointing triangle indicates ascending order and a down pointing triangle indicates descending order.

Ascending Order Descending Order

Editing Part Data

Users can edit data in the grid by clicking on a cell and typing in the new value. Once the new data is entered, it is highlighted in a different color as “tagged” data. If the new data violates one of the tagged data rules, it is highlighted based on the discrepancy filter color scheme, which is customizable from the preferences menu.

Before Edit

During Edit

After Edit

Additional Features

Additional features are available for the user’s convenience. These tools are above the data grid.

Use Column Filters -- Determines whether the user’s filters are enabled.

Use Custom Sorting – Determines whether custom sorting is enabled.

Ascending – Radio button to determine whether the column in “Sort By” is sorted in ascending order.

Descending – Radio button to determine whether the column in “Sort By” is sorted in descending order.

View Mode – Drop down box to determine whether “Data Maintenance” or “Default” view modes are selected.

Indenture Level – Drop down box to determine whether parts are displayed at all or a specific indenture level.

Sort By – Drop down box to determine the column to sort the part data.

Uninstalling the software

Please refer to the install guide.

If you need help uninstalling this software, contact Technical Support.

Technical support

If you have questions, feel free to contact Technical Support.

If you are experiencing any difficulty we will need the following:

· Your name

· The software and release number

· Your operating system

· A brief description of your problem

To reach the Help Desk, either:

· Click on the IT Central Icon on your desktop.

· Phone 478-222-4418, then select option #2

· DSN 472-4418

The support line is open each weekday Monday through Friday, between 7:00 AM and 5:30 PM Eastern Time. Please note the support line is closed on Federal holidays.

· E-mail wralc.tila.centra@robins.af.mil

Heavy Cleanup (HC) Tool Version 1.1 Page 1 image3.png image4.png image5.png image6.png image7.png image8.png image9.png image10.png image11.png image12.png image13.png image14.png image15.png image16.png image17.png image18.png image19.png image20.png image21.png image22.png image23.png image24.png image25.png image26.png image27.png image28.png image29.png image30.png image31.png image32.png image33.png image34.png image35.png image36.png image37.png image38.png image39.png image40.png image41.png image42.png image43.png image44.png image45.png image46.png image47.png image48.png image49.png image50.png image51.png image52.png image53.png image54.png image55.png image56.png image57.png image58.png image59.png image60.png image61.png image62.png image63.png image64.png image65.png image66.png image67.png image68.png image69.png image70.png image71.png image72.png image1.png image2.png

File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .