Questions and Answers (Updated September 24 2024).pdf

PDF 102 KB Posted

Attached to
FA500024Q0084 - 673d Communications Squadron Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS) Batteries
Solicitation number
FA500024Q0084
Issued by

About this file

This document contains a set of Questions and Answers (Q&A) related to a Request for Quote (RFQ) for Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS) batteries and related equipment. The key details are:

The RFQ is for FA500024Q0084 - 673d Communications Squadron Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS) Batteries. It seeks quotes for UPS units ranging from 5kVA to 8kVA for various communications closets, with a required runtime of 40 minutes at full load during power outages. The UPS units must have specific outlet configurations to support Cisco network equipment. While the solicitation does not specify brand requirements, the UPS units must meet all salient characteristics. Hardwired 8kVA UPS units are acceptable, and 6kVA UPS units can utilize L6-30 plugs. Rack PDUs may be required to provide the necessary outlet counts. The equipment will be delivered to Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson, Alaska. Quotes are due by September 26, 2024 at 12:00 PM AKST.

View the file

Other files

On GovTribe

Work with this file

  • Download the original file
  • Contacts named in this file
  • Similar government files
  • Ask GovTribe AI about this file

Text version

FA500024Q0084 - Questions and Answers (Q&A)

1. Would you be able to provide us with the model and serial number of the UPS/battery module that needs the batteries? This is to verify the equipment and be able to supply the correct battery for the equipment

A: This requirement is for the UPS units, as well as battery modules, not just for batteries themselves. Here are the UPS unit requirements:

Basement:

- Comm Closet #1 at least 8kVA, have at least 12 outlets for equipment

- Comm Closet #2 at least 6kVA, have at least 12 outlets for equipment

- 200-240 VAC

- L6-30 plug or hardwired for 8kVA UPS

- Expected runtime of 40 minutes

1st Floor:

- Comm closet #1 at least 8kVA, have at least 12 outlets for equipment

- Comm closet #2 at least 6kVA, have at least 10 outlets for equipment

- 200-240 VAC

2nd Floor:

- Comm closet #1 at least 6kVA, have at least 10 outlets for equipment

- Comm closet #2 at least 8kVA, have at least 16 outlets for equipment

- 200-240 VAC

3rd Floor

- Comm closet #1 at least 5kVA, have at least 10 outlets for equipment

- Comm closet #2 at least 5kVA, have at least 10 outlets for equipment

- 200-240 VAC

- L6-30 plug

2. The solicitation specifies that each UPS must maintain up to 40 minutes of runtime until a generator takes over the load. The RFQ does not appear to indicate the load percentage at which this runtime is required. Could you please clarify if the 40-minute runtime is expected under: Full load, or Partial load, and if Partial, at what percentage of load (e.g., 50%)?

A: Full load, there are no current UPS units in place to determine the current utilization of the UPS. Power utilization/requirements:

Comm Closet #1 Summary:

- Basement: 6432 watts

- 1st Floor: 5976 watts

- 2nd Floor: 4801 watts

- 3rd Floor: 2815 watts

Comm Closet #2 Summary:

- Basement: 4605 watts

- 1st Floor: 4247 watts

- 2nd Floor: 6872 watts

- 3rd Floor: 2200 watts

3. Is there is a loading dock at the delivery location?

A: No, but there is an elevator to bring the UPS between the floors. Furthermore, there is a short flight of stairs from the facility’s entrance to the elevator. Alaskan Command (ALCOM) J6 has a powered dolly that can bring the equipment up the stairs, if necessary.

4. Load information (total wattage)?

A: Power utilization/requirements:

Comm Closet #1 Summary:

- Basement: 6432 watts

- 1st Floor: 5976 watts

- 2nd Floor: 4801 watts

- 3rd Floor: 2815 watts

Comm Closet #2 Summary:

- Basement: 4605 watts

- 1st Floor: 4247 watts

- 2nd Floor: 6872 watts

- 3rd Floor: 2200 watts

The type of receptacles required to be on the UPS?

A: The power input plug must be a L6-30 (exception the 8kVA UPS can be hardwired), all power receptacles must be capable of supporting Cisco Catalyst 9400, 2960-X, 3850, 2750G, etc. Typically ranges from 5-15s to 5-20s

Runtime that is required (time you need the UPS to run when Utility Power drops)?

A: 40 minutes, without commercial/generator power, purely on UPS 100% load.

Rack Mount or Tower?

A: Rack mounted

5. The required voltage whether it’s 120 volt or 208 volt (240, 220)? 230 volt is international power.

A: 208V

6. Do all 4K, 5K, 6K, and 8K VA UPS need to be TAA compliance?

A: No, these are not being networked.

7. What output receptacles are you needing for all the UPS?

A: Must be capable of supporting Cisco Catalyst 9400, 2960-X, 3850, 2750G, etc.

Typically ranges from 5-15s to 5-20s

8. 200-240 VAC Is this for all of the above units?

A: Yes, the UPS must be capable of providing 208 power to the equipment attached

L6-30 plug. What is this in reference to?

A: The power plugs the UPS utilize to connect to the facility’s power receptacles

Expected runtime of 40 minutes?

A: Yes, without commercial/generator power, purely on UPS 100% load.

9. I would like to bring to your attention a compatibility issue regarding the equipment specifications. Specifically, the L6-30 plug you have requested for an 8kVA UPS is not feasible, as the L6-30P plug is only rated for UPS units up to 6kVA. To meet your requirements, the units will either need to be rated higher or all systems should be rated/loaded under 6kVA.

A: Hardwired 8kVA UPS would be acceptable.

Additionally, the solicitation mentions 10-16 outlets but does not specify the type. Could you please clarify the type of outlets required for each UPS unit?

A: Power outlets must be capable of supporting Cisco Catalyst 9400, 2960-X, 3850, 2750G, etc. Typically ranges from 5-15s to 5-20s

10. Is this a brand name requirement? Do you have a preference in brand for the UPS?

A: This requirement is not a brand name, nor do we have a preference on brand.

Regardless of brand name, it must meet all specifications IAW Salient Characteristics.

11. Will mounting racks need to be provided? If so, can you provide any information on specific sizes (ie. 3U-6U)?

A: Unclear if this is asking if mounting hardware needs to be provided, or the racks themselves. Network racks are already in place, but mounting hardware will need to be provided by the vendor. U-size would be dependent on the UPS hardware provided by the vendor and would be installed in standard 42-U racks.

12. To accurately quote the equipment that meets the specs, we need to know the specs of the power plugs that will be plugged into these UPS/PDUs. For each outlet required, we need to know what type of receptacle/plug (for instance are they 5-15s, are they 5-20s, other)?

Alternatively, what are the amperages of each outlet needed on each unit (to plug equipment into) and what type of plug required. Can you provide information on this?

13. It appears that there is no preference in brand for the requested items. Can you confirm?

Can multiple brands be quoted for and submitted?

A: Yes, this is not a name brand requirement, nor do we have a preference on brand.

However, please ensure that all items meet all specifications IAW Salient Characteristics.

Quoting for multiple brands is permitted for this solicitation BUT please ensure that you are submitting a separate quote for each.

14. Salient Characteristics on some of the required UPS are to be at least 8kVA and 6kVA. For UPS's of this size, they will require a hardwire input connection. It is also described that each comm closet only has one L6-30 outlet and that hardwiring is not available. For the 8kVA and 6kVA UPS's, how can we provide these UPS's if they can only be powered via a hardwire input connect and the site cannot accommodate that, as the closets only have an L6-30 outlet available?

A: Hardwired 8kVA UPS would be acceptable. 6kVA UPS commonly come with L6-30 plugs, and we would expect them (6kVA UPS) to come with L6-30 plugs as part of this solicitation.

15. To meet the outlet counts associated with the UPS units, rack power distribution units will need to be plugged into the UPS units. Does the project account for this as rack PDU's are not listed or called for in the solicitation?

- A: Under the salient characteristics, each UPS is required to have a set amount of power outlets. If the UPS unit itself does not have the required amount of power outlets, then it is expected that PDUs will be provided to meet this requirement. Example:

“Comm Closet #1 at least 8kVA, have at least 12 outlets for equipment”

16. For the rack PDU's, should these be 0U style rack PDU's that mount in the rear of the rack or U style PDU's that will mount inside the rack?

A: 0U style for rear of the rack mounting would be preferred.

17. What outlet type will the rack PDU need to have (e.g. - L6-30, L6-20, L5-30, 5-20, etc..)?

18. Is the equipment being plugged into the UPS/Rack PDU 208V or 120V?

A: All equipment has been verified as dual voltage.

19. If the equipment being plugged into the UPS/Rack PDU is 120V, is the project accounting for a step-down transformer as the power coming into the UPS is 208V and will need to be brought down to 120V and the solicitation does not discuss this?

A: No step-down is required.

20. To meet the 40min runtime requirement, we are looking at upwards of 3 - 5 external battery packs associated with each UPS. How much U space is available in the GFE network rack as we are potentially needing 13U or more of rack space depending on the closet, runtime requirement, and possible voltage conversion?

A: Rack U space is not a consideration for this solicitation. The requirement owners are aware of the rack space requirements.

File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .