Attachment 4 - DRAFT RFP Vendor Q and A.pdf
PDF 151 KB Posted
- Attached to
- Fort Rucker Gunnery Range Maintenance
- Solicitation number
- W911S0-26-R-A001
About this file
This document is a Questions and Answers (Q&A) file for a Draft Request for Proposal (RFP) for Gunnery Range Operations at Fort Rucker. The solicitation (W9124G26RA001) covers a base year with six option years, running from June 2026 to May 2033. The contract involves range operations support, with a requirement for 24/7/365 coverage of the Firing Desk and simultaneous support of multiple training locations. Key details include government-furnished equipment (GFE) such as vehicles, radios, and tools, with specific responsibilities for the contractor regarding maintenance, replacement, and operational costs.
The Q&A addresses numerous technical and procedural clarifications, including staffing levels, vehicle and equipment provisions, fuel and supply responsibilities, and administrative requirements. Notable points include the contractor being responsible for uniforms, most operational supplies, and maintaining staffing levels to meet operational needs. The current contract number is W9124G21C0004, and a Collective Bargaining Agreement with the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers is in effect, expiring in December 2026. The government will provide the full Collective Bargaining Agreement with the final RFP, and contractors are expected to include all operational costs within their Fixed-Price Contract Line Item Numbers (CLINs).
View the file
Other files
Show all 18
On GovTribe
Work with this file
- Download the original file
- Contacts named in this file
- Similar government files
- Ask GovTribe AI about this file
Text version
Number Reference Question Answer 1 PWS Page
4.
In the PWS that was released on SAM, page 4 in the Objective field says “This PWS is aligned with Training Support System Enterprise (TSS-E) Mission Support, SRP, Range Operations framework”.
Does this mean that this requirement will be competed on the TSS-E vehicle? Or is a solicitation expected to release on SAM?
This Request for Proposal (RFP) will be released on SAM.gov.
2 Solicitation Documents
On the SAM.gov website under the ‘Notice ID PANMCC-24- P-0000-007903’ (Solicitation Number W9124G26RA001) for the Fort Rucker Gunnery Range, you indicate under the heading Description that “This is a posting of the DRAFT SOLICITATION for this requirement only, and NOT the actual solicitation. The anticipated posting date for the solicitation has yet to be determined.”
Yet in the documents posted in that listing, the ‘Solicitation - W9124G26RA001.pdf’ document indicates that this is in fact an RFP, issued on 9/2/2025 with submission due no later than 9/17/2025 10:00AM (SF1449 Block 8). Also, none of the four posted documents are watermarked DRAFT or have DRAFT in the filename leading to confusion of whether this is a Draft RFP or an issued RFP.
Can you please clarify if the SAM.gov Description of this as a Draft RFP overrides the published SF1449 that states this is an RFP. And if this is a Draft RFP, can you please clarify if you are seeking Questions related to the Draft RFP by 9/10/2025 NLT 10:00AM EDT as in the Solicitation document paragraph 1.1.6.1 or by the SF1449 Block 8 Due Date/Time of 9/17/2025 10:00AM EDT? Are other pre-submission artifacts due NLT 9/17/2025 10:00AM EDT?
This is a DRAFT RFP as stated in the notice and therefore all documents are for DRAFT notification only. We placed a watermark on the SF1449 to eliminate confusion. You may submit your questions no later than the updated response date of 17 September 2025 at 10:00
AM EDT.
3 RFP Section 1.1.6.1
Section 1.1.6.1 states: “All questions regarding this solicitation and its attachments shall be submitted in writing via email by 10:00 EDT on 10 September 2025.”
However, the SAM.gov posting indicates that responses are due by 17 September 2025. Could you please clarify the actual deadline for submitting questions?
Please submit questions by 17 September 2025 no later than
10:00 AM EDT.
4 N/A We would like to know if this is a brand new contract OR if there is (was) an incumbent performing these services.
If not brand new, could you please provide the current / previous contract number?
This is a recuring requirement.
The current contract number is W9124G21C0004.
5 Draft Solicitation - Box 8 Offer Due Date / Local Time
The draft solicitation currently reflects a due date in Block 8; however, no definitive turn-in due date is identified within the body of the draft. Will the Government provide or confirm the official turn-in due date in the final solicitation?
The Government will provide information once the final RFP has been released.
6 Draft Solicitation W9124G26
RA001
1.4.4.
Volume IV - Factor 3:
Price.
Para 1.4.4
The reference appears to contain a contradiction. It states that Volume IV shall consist of all necessary information to support proposed prices, but also states that the offeror shall not include pricing information in Volumes I, II, III, or IV. We assume this is a clerical error. Can the Government confirm that offerors are in fact required to provide pricing information in Volume IV – Price?
Please provide pricing information in Volume IV - Factor 3 Price. The Draft RFP has been updated to reflect that change.
7 Draft Solicitation W9124G26
RA001 1.4.4
.4. TAB C -
Attachment 2, Pricing Workbook Para 1.4.4.4
The Fixed Price Labor worksheet in Attachment 2 identifies the labor categories and estimated annual hours of services to be acquired for performance of all PWS requirements. To ensure accurate completion of the Pricing Workbook, will the Government please provide the estimated annual labor hours for the labor categories listed in the Government’s Pricing Worksheet?
IAW WD 2015-4631 (Rev# 30) and Executive Order 13706, Offeror should use 1,864 productive labor year hours.
8 Draft Solicitation W9124G26
RA001
1.4.3.4. Tab
D - Past Performanc e References Para 1.4.3.4
"1. Will the Government consider amending the three-year limitation for past performance references?
A three-year restriction significantly limits the ability of many contractors to reference otherwise highly relevant past performance. Most Federal contracts are awarded for five to ten years in duration, making the three-year look-back period unusually restrictive.
2. Would the Government consider extending the allowable period for past performance references to better align with standard Federal contracting practices?
The Government will update to 5 years for past perfomance references. Please see the final RFP for the updated language.
9 "Draft Solicitation W9124G26
RA001
Technical Exhibit 18 Collective Bargaining Agreement "
Will the Government provide an up-to-date copy of the current Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA) referenced in Technical Exhibit 18?
The Government will be able to provide a copy of the CBA with the soliciation. Please see attachment 5.
10 Draft
PERFORM
ANCE
WORK
STATEMEN
T (PWS)
TE 19
Will the government provide storage facilities for On/Off road diesel and gasoline? Or is this a purchase as needed requirement?
Yes, the government has a fuel storage facility for on-road diesel, off-road diesel, and gasoline on the Range Compound.
11 Draft
PERFORM
ANCE
WORK
STATEMEN
T (PWS)
Para 1.4
"Will the Government provide a copy of the Range Complex Master Plan (RCMP) referenced in the PWS?"
No. The RCMP is used to forecast funding requirements for a 7-Year POM cycle. Items articulated in the RCMP do not change PWS requirements.
12 Draft solicitation document indicates a 17 Sep 2025 as the Proposal due date and a 10 Sep 2025 questions due date.
Are these dates correct or are these dates incorrect due to this being a Draft Solicitation Document?
Those dates are correct for the DRAFT RFP. They will be upated for the finalized RFP.
13 Draft Solicitation Document indicates a base plus 5 OYs whereas the PWS indicates a base plus 4 OYs. Which document correctly identifies the number of OYs for this contract?
The PWS has been updated to reflect 6 option years.
14 PWS page 4 Para 1.5
Page 4 Para 1.5 states POP Jun 2026 – May of 2031 (this is different from RFP Instructions which states POP Jun 2026 – May 2033). Is the Draft RFP Instructions POP correct or is the Draft PWS POP correct?
Draft RFP instructions are correct. There are 6 option years. PWS has been updated to reflect the change.
15 PWS Page 9 Para 1.6.9.8
Page 9 Para 1.6.9.8 Certifications: The Intermediate Range Safety Course is required for Range Operations personnel. Should the contractor include costs for this training in their proposal or will the cost be reimbursable through a Material CLIN?
The current contract workforce is already certified. Any associated future cost for this course should be included in the proposal and is encumbered by the offeror.
16 PWS Page 10 Para 1.6.12
Page 10: Para 1.6.12 Key Personnel: The PWS requires the contractor to provide the names, addresses, and telephone numbers of key personnel within five calendar days after contract award (Pg 10 Para 1.6.12.5). It does not explicitly state that resumes must be submitted with the proposal. Are resumes for key personnel required to be submitted with proposal?
Resumes are not required to be submitted. However, personnel in key positions should meet requirements of the position descriptions outlined in TE 17.
17 PWS Page 27 Para 3.1.2.3
Page 27 Para 3.1.2.3 Replacement of GFE: Paragraph states GFE that becomes unserviceable through fair wear and tear or obsolete will be replaced by the Government, except for items listed in TE 5. However, Para 3.4 explicitly states that items listed in TE 6 must be replaced by the contractor at no cost to the Government [Page 27 Para 3.1.2.3, Page 32 Para 3.4]. GFE: Does not mention TE 6.
Should it?
Para 3.1.2.3 will be adjusted to reflect items in TE 6 vice TE 5.
This is an adminstrative error and will be corrected prior to final RFP release.
18 PWS Page 32 Para 3.4.2
Page 32 Para 3.4.2 Vehicles TMP vehicles are shared with Government personnel. Should the contractor include a contingency plan for vehicle availability during peak usage periods?
Yes, the contractor should have a contingency plan to allow the use of CFE by contractors when TMP vehicle shortages occur.
19 PWS Page 33 Para 3.4.3.1
Page 33 Para 3.4.3.1 When radios need replacement the contractor shall furnish radios as outlined in 3.4.4 (para
3.4.4 does not outline the process). Can the Government provide clarity as to whose responsibility it is to replace the radios? If it is the contractor responsibility can the government provide the specifications of current radios and historical annual replacements?
Any radio replacements will be acquired by the contractor and charged to the ODC CLIN. The contractor is encumbered to order the radios and the government will provide funding for replacements.
20 PWS Page 36 Para 4.2
Page 36 Para 4.2 Property mentions radios however Part 3 & TE 7 indicates Government furnishes radios. What radios do the contractors need to provide and for what purpose? Note-this is also connected to question for Page 33 Para 3.4.3.1.
If the contractor requires any additional radio equipment beyond GFE, it is their responsibility to provide such equipment. Historically, there has not been a need for additional radio equipment beyond what the government provides.
21 PWS Page 36 Para 4.2
Page 36 Para 4.2 mentions that the contractor shall furnish all vehicles, radios, equipment, supplies, tools, or materials necessary to accomplish all required services except as described in Section 3. However, TE 7 lists radios as Government-Furnished Equipment (GFE). Can the Government clarify which radios the contractor is required to provide and for what specific purpose?
See Above.
22 PWS Page 36 Para 4.2.1
Page 36 Para 4.2.1 Maintenance Sections indicate power tools, certain hand tools, and test equipment should be provided by contractor however, TE 6 & 7 indicates this is GFE and list several that are provided as GFE. Can the Government provide clarity to Para 4.2.1 as to what items are provided by the contractor as it relates to TE 6 & 7?
Should the contractor assume responsibility for all tools not explicitly listed in TE 6, or is there a specific delineation of tools that remain GFE versus contractor-provided?
TE 7 are Hand Receipted, non-expendable items. These items are GFE and will be replaced by the Government if they become unserviceable. TE 6 items are expendable- durable. As these items become unserviceable, the contractor will be responsible for replacements IAW Para 3.4 of the PWS.
23 PWS Page 36 Para 4.2.2
Page 36 Para 4.2.2 Supplies used to support contractor operations will be provided by contract and not billed to Gov Material Clin (e.g., fuel, oil, hydraulic fluids, grease, or other like items that are used in GFE, or contractor provided equip/vehicles) Also admin area supplies (e.g., soap cleaning supplies, paper towels, toilet tissue, trash bags, etc…) will not be billed to Gov Material CLIN. Can the Government confirm whether the fluid usage data provided in TE 19 is sufficient for accurate pricing of these supplies? Additionally, can the Government provide historical consumption data for fuel, oil, hydraulic fluids, grease, and administrative supplies to ensure accurate cost estimation for the proposal?
TE 19 is a five year historical average of fluid consumption with a reasonable expectation of +/- 10% variation in the average annual consumption rate. This five year average consumption rate should be sufficient to estimate fluid costs.
24 PWS Page 36 Para 4.2.2.
Page 36 Para 4.2.2 Supplies for contractor operations (e.g., fuel, oil, cleaning supplies) cannot be billed to the Government Material CLIN. Should the contractor include these costs in their proposal?
Yes, the contractor should include these costs within their proposal.
25 PWS Page 36 Para 4.2.2.
Page 36 Para 4.2.2 mentions that certain items used to support downrange maintenance and training area maintenance (e.g., batteries, nails, paint, brushes, rollers, lumber, fire extinguishers, pumps, motors, soil, stone, target repair parts) may be billed to the materials CLIN.
Can the Government clarify the process for determining which items are billable versus non-billable?
Any items used to support range maintenance and training support. Historically, the PM confers with the COR to determine items approved to charge to the materials CLIN (Now ODC CLIN in this RFP)
26 PWS Page 36 Para 4.2.3
Page 36 Para 4.2.3 states that the contractor shall provide all office furnishings and equipment except those provided for fulfilling Range Branch functions in Building 24314. TE 5 lists Government-Furnished Facilities (GFF) but does not specify which furnishings and equipment are included. Can the Government provide a detailed list of furnishings and equipment that will be provided in Building 24314?
All items provided to contractors working in 24314 are listed in TE 6 and TE 7, based on expendable or non-expendable accountability. The items provided in 24314 satisfy equipment requirements to perform PWS tasks.
27 PWS Page 37 Para 4.2.5.3
Page 37 Para 4.2.5.3 mentions that the contractor will be reimbursed for materials, supplies, and equipment required in support of Range Operations Support Services not supplied as GFE. TE 16 provides a list of grounds maintenance materials. Can the Government clarify whether the contractor is responsible for procuring all items listed in TE 16 or only those explicitly identified as non-GFE?
The items listed in TE 16 are bench stock levels and those levels will be on site at contract award. Stock levels will be replenished using the ODC CLIN at the reorder point.
Additional items that may be charged to the ODC CLIN are listed at the end of TE 16.
28 PWS Page 38 Para 4.4
Page 38 Para 4.4 states that the contractor shall provide vehicles suitable for transportation of personnel and materials. TE 7 lists several vehicles as GFE. Can the Government clarify the specific types and quantities of vehicles the contractor must provide versus those furnished by the Government?
Para 4.4.1 and associated sub-paragraphs list the minimum number of vehicles by type the contractor shall be required to provide.
29 PWS Page 38 Para 4.4.1
Page 38 Para 4.4.1 requires contractor-provided vehicles to be no more than two years old at the start of the contract. Is this requirement applicable to leased vehicles as well, or only to vehicles owned by the contractor?
The requirements listed in 4.4.1 apply to purchased or leased vehicles.
30 PWS Page 39 Para 4.4.5
Page 39 Para 4.4.5 mentions that TMP vehicles are provided to the contractor for Firing Desk use but requires the contractor to have a plan to support Firing Desk activities when TMP vehicles are dead-lined. Can the Government clarify whether the contractor is required to provide backup vehicles specifically for Firing Desk use, or whether general contractor-provided vehicles can be used for this purpose?
General contractor furnished vehicles can be used when TMP vehicles are deadlined.
31 PWS Page 39 Para 4.6.1
Page 39 Para 4.6.1 states that all fuel, oil, kerosene, gasoline, etc., for use in vehicles and equipment shall be furnished by the contractor and may not be billed to the materials CLIN. TE 19 provides historical POL consumption data. Can the Government confirm whether this data includes all types of POL products required for contractor-provided equipment, or if additional consumption data is available?
TE 19 contains all POL products used in the past five years during performance of PWS tasks.
32 PWS Page 39 Para 4.6.2
Page 39 Para 4.6.2 mentions an approved GFE POL storage facility located near Range Operations HQ. Can the Government clarify whether the contractor is responsible for maintaining and securing this facility, or if this is a Government responsibility?
The government maintains the facility, the contractor is responsible for securing the facility with GFE locks when not in use.
33 PWS Page 39 Para 4.7
Page 39 Para 4.7 states that the contractor shall furnish all targets except paper targets requisitioned by NSN provided by the Government. TE 12 lists target specifications but does not specify which targets are provided by the Government versus those the contractor must furnish. Can the Government provide a detailed list of targets that are GFE versus contractor-provided?
Historically, paper targets were provided by the Government. It is more cost effective to have the contractor furnish all targets. Any targets purchased by the contractor are charged to the ODC CLIN.
34 PWS Page 39 Para 4.8
Page 39 Para 4.8 mentions that correspondence required to be executed by the contractor shall be prepared IAW AR 25-50 and USAACE Reg 1-2. Can the Government clarify whether the contractor is responsible for providing all correspondence materials (e.g., letterhead, envelopes), or if these are provided as GFE?
Para 4.8 refers to formatting and not actual letterhead / physical materials. Formatting of correspondence should conform to the listed regulations. The government will not furnish correspondence materials.
35 PWS Page 40 Para 4.9
Page 40 Para 4.9 states that contractor-furnished equipment or items that are inoperable or unserviceable must be removed from the installation within 24 hours unless otherwise authorized by the KO. Can the Government clarify whether this applies to leased equipment as well, or only to equipment owned by the contractor?
This applies to any equipment the contractor furnishes, leased or contractor-owned.
Reasonable accomodations will be made if leased equipment cannot be removed within 24 hours as long as it is coordinated with the COR.
36 PWS Page
129, TE 6
Page 129 TE 6 lists items used by the previous contractor and identifies them as expendable/durable Government- Furnished Equipment (GFE). Can the Government confirm whether all items listed in TE 6 are currently available and in serviceable condition for use under this contract? If not, will the contractor be required to procure replacements for missing or unserviceable items at the start of the contract?
[Page 27, Page 129]
TE 6 lists items that are expendable/durable and are serviceable. TE 6 also lists items that have been historically provided by the contractor and are required to perform PWS tasks the the government no longer provides. As the serviceable GFE items become unserviceable, the contractor is required to provide those items IAW Para 3.4.
37 PWS Page
129, TE 6
Page 129 (for reference, Para 3.4 states that expendable/durable items listed in TE 6 must be replaced by the contractor at no cost to the Government). Can the Government clarify whether the contractor is responsible for replacing these items only when they become unserviceable due to fair wear and tear, or if replacements are required for any missing items identified during the phase-in inventory? [Page 27, Page 129]
The contractor is responsible for replacing these items when they become unserviceable due to fair wear and tear or they are damaged. Any missing GFE items during phase-in will the responsibility of the previous contractor to provide replacement.
38 PWS Page
129, TE 6
Page 129 Since the contractor is responsible for replacing expendable/durable items listed in TE 6 at no cost to the Government. Should the contractor include pricing for anticipated replacements in the proposal? If so, can the Government provide historical consumption data or replacement rates for these items to assist in accurate cost estimation? [Page 27, Page 129]
As these items become unserviceable and the government no longer provides replacement and becomes CFE, the government has no way of tracking CFE replacements. However, there is a list at the end of TE 6 that shows items that were once GFE and are now CFE that have been used to accomplish PWS tasks.
39 PWS Page
129, TE 6
Page 129 Inventory and Accountability of TE 6 Items:
Para 3.1.2 specifies that a 100% joint inventory of GFE must be conducted during the phase-in period. Can the Government confirm whether the inventory will include all items listed in TE 6, and if discrepancies (e.g., missing or damaged items) are identified, will the Government provide guidance on how to address these discrepancies? [Page 27, Page 129]
The 100% joint inventory will include items listed in TE 5, 6, 7, and 8. If discrepancies are noted during the joint inventory, the outgoing contractor shall be responsible for replacement of missing items. Any discrepancies will be removed from the incoming contractor hand reciepts until replaced.
40 PWS Page
129, TE 6
Page 129: Para 3.4 states that expendable/durable items listed in TE 6 that become unserviceable or inoperative will be replaced by the contractor and transitioned to Contractor-Furnished Equipment (CFE). Can the Government clarify whether the contractor is required to maintain separate inventories for GFE and CFE, and what specific documentation or tracking requirements apply to this transition? [Page 27, Page 129].
It is up to the contractor to determine how they will track and separate CFE from GFE.
There is no requirement from the government for CFE to be reported to the COR.
41 PWS Page
183, TE 17
Page 183 Historical Staffing TE 17: The PWS mentions historical staffing levels but does not provide detailed information on whether adjustments are allowed. Will a bidding contractor be found technically unacceptable if they do not propose at minimum historical staffing levels?
Are adjustments allowed based on workload fluctuations?
Historical staffing levels are available as a reference for offerors for determining the proposed staffing they require to perform the requirement.
Staffing proposed will be required throughout the entire performnace of the contract by the awarded offeror.
42 PWS Page
193, TE 18
Page 193 TE 18 indicates a Collective Bargaining Agreement for some contract personnel supporting this work effort. Can the Government provide the actual CBA, including rates and benefits, to ensure accurate pricing and compliance.
CBA will be provided when the official RFP is released.
Draft Solicitation, All Pages
The Draft Solicitation document does not include page numbers on the actual pages, which makes referencing and navigation difficult. Kindly request that all pages of the RFP are properly numbered.
The Contract Writing System does not allow for the Government to insert page numbers. Pages will remain unnumbered.
Addendum to 52.212-1, Instructions to Offerors and Addendum to Evaluation
Can you clarify why all the changes from Amendment 0006 of the previous RFP were not incorporated into Addendum to 52.212-1, Instructions to Offerors and Addendum to Evaluation of the current solicitation? Specifically, Amendment 0006 included important clarifications related to the Management Plan that would help resolve existing discrepancies and provide clearer guidance for proposal development.
See Final RFP for updated Technical Capability.
Evaluation Approach 1.3.2.1
pg. 31-33
1.3.2.1 Evaluation of Factor 1: Technical Capability states, “The Government will evaluate the offeror's technical capability to determine the offeror's understanding of and ability to perform the requirements of the Solicitation.” This statement appears broad. Could you please clarify which specific elements within Volume II – Factor 1: Technical Capability will serve as the basis for the evaluation?
No, the Government will evalauate IAW the RFP.
Paragraph 1.4.2.3 Pg. 26
Paragraph 1.4.2.3 states “The offeror shall address as specifically as possible the actual methodology you would use for accomplishing the PWS tasks.” Since the approach to accomplishing PWS requirements is not listed as part of the Tab break out for Volume II, it is unclear where this required discussion should be included. Please clarify where the Government wants the required discussion of approaches and methodologies to accomplish the PWS requirements be placed in Volume II.
See Final RFP for updated Technical Capability.
PWS 1.6.5
pgs. 6 & 7
PWS section 1.6.5 states: “The contractor shall maintain staffing levels sufficient to operate the firing desk and immediately respond to a minimum of two (2) other training locations simultaneously with firing desk certified personnel, per shift, 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.”
However, the PWS does not specify the exact number of personnel required to “sufficiently operate the firing desk.”
It is implied that at least two certified personnel are required, as the contractor must be able to respond to two separate training locations. Additionally, TE-17 (page 183) lists the Firing Desk as consisting of four Safety Leads and sixteen FD Safety personnel. Please clarify: What is the minimum number of firing desk certified personnel that must be physically present at the Safety Desk at all times during the day (i.e., not deployed to training sites)?
In order to meet the minimum requirements listed in Para 1.6.5, a minimum of three firing desk personnel are required per shift : one to staff the firing desk and a minimum of two to respond to two training locations simultaneously. TE 17 provides hsitorical staffing levels for reference and planning purposes.
PWS
1.6.9.1.1
pg. 8
Paragraph 1.6.9.1.1 addresses driver’s license requirements. Can you please confirm whether it is correct to assume that the contractor is financially responsible for obtaining Commercial Driver’s Licenses (CDLs), including all associated costs such as TSA fingerprinting, medical physical exams, and HAZMAT endorsement testing, and that these costs are not reimbursable?
The contractor is responsible for all associated CDL costs.
The current contract workforce has the required CDL licensed personnel.
PWS
1.6.9.1.1 pg.
PWS 1.6.9.1.1 states, “Contractor personnel operating equipment other than under 10,000 lbs Gross Vehicle Weight trucks must be issued Department of the Army (DA) Form 346 Operator Licenses.” Can you please clarify which office is responsible for issuing the DA Form 346. Is it Transportation Motor Pool (TMP) or another entity?
The contractor issues, tracks training, and manages all DA form 346 operator licences IAW the Garrison Drivers training
SOP.
PWS
1.6.9.1.1 pg.
PWS 1.6.9.1.1 states, “Contractor personnel operating equipment other than under 10,000 lbs Gross Vehicle Weight trucks must be issued Department of the Army (DA) Form 346 Operator Licenses.” While the PWS does not specifically address this, it appears to imply that contractor personnel operating vehicles over 10,000 lbs.
GVW must possess a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL).
Can you please confirm if this is a correct assumption?
Not necessarily. It depends on the vehicle type IAW Army standards. The current contract workforce has the appropriate number of CDL lisenced personnel.
PWS
1.6.9.1.1 pg.
Is it a correct assumption that contractor personnel operating any of the TE-7 construction, MHE, and agricultural vehicles/equipment must also possess a CDL?
Only if they operate the equipment on a public road. If those personnel are operating within the boundaries of the installation and not on roadways, a CDL is not required.
PWS 1.6.19
pg. 13
Are Firing Desk and Range Operation Personnel uniforms considered a reimbursable ODC, or must they be bid under the FFP CLINs?
Uniforms ARE NOT reimbursable ODC. The contractor is responsible for provision and cost of uniforms.
PWS
1.6.24.2
pg. 14
Are there any functions or work locations under this contract that are classified as hazardous and would entitle personnel to hazard pay in accordance with the CBA (e.g., UXO Technician)? If so, please identify the applicable functions and corresponding physical locations.
Historically, no function or work location has been classified as hazardous. UXO technicians have negotiated their wages and additional incentives in the
CBA.
PWS 3.4.2
pg. 32
PWS 3.4.2 states, “Government-furnished vehicles and equipment will be serviced and repaired by LRC upon request.” The term 'serviced' can be interpreted in various ways. Does this include routine services such as oil changes and minor maintenance, with the contractor only responsible for pre-operator checks?
Correct, the contractor is only responsible for operator checks.
PWS 3.4.2
pg. 32
Is the contractor responsible for transporting construction, MHE, and agricultural vehicles/equipment to the LRC for repair and servicing, or will the LRC provide mobile contact teams to perform these services on-site?
Most of the time, the contractor is responsible for transport.
There is sufficient GFE to accomplish transport. When items cannot be moved, LRC provides mobile contact teams.
PWS
3.4.2.1
pg. 32-33
PWS 3.4.2.1 states, “Four medium pickup trucks, two small pickup trucks, and one stake-and-platform truck are provided.” Is it correct to assume that if the range contractor requires additional internal transportation assets to fulfill all PWS range and field O&M requirements, those assets must be provided as Contractor-Furnished Vehicles
(CFV)?
Para 4.4.1 and associated sub-paragraphs list the minimum number of vehicles by type the contractor shall be required to provide. Any additional requirements the contractor deems necessary for transportation is encumbered to the contractor.
PWS
3.4.2.1
pg. 32-33
Are CFVs an allowable ODC charge under the reimbursable ODC CLINs?
No. CFVs should be included in the FFP CLIN.
PWS
3.4.3.1 Pg. 33
PWS 3.4.3.1 states, “Upon contract start date, there will be Motorola APX 6000 radios provided to the contractor by the Government (see GFP Listing / TE 7). When they need replacing, the contractor shall furnish replacement radios as outlined in 3.4.4. The Government will be responsible for the programming of trunkable radios.” Please clarify whether replacement radios furnished by the contractor will be considered GFE or CFE. If they are GFE, will the cost be billable to the Government under the ODC CLINs?
Replacement radios will be considered GFE and may be charged to the ODC (materials)
CLIN.
PWS
3.4.3.1 and
PWS 3.4.4-
3.4.4.4
pg. 33
PWS 3.4.3.1 states, “…contractor shall furnish replacement radios as outlined in 3.4.4.” However, PWS
3.4.4 does not mention radios in any of its four subparagraphs; it only addresses computers and furniture/furnishings. Could you please clarify where the reference regarding the replacement of radios is located?
Para 3.4.3.1 will be edited for clarity. Replacement radios may be charged to the ODC CLIN and will become GFE.
PWS
3.4.3.1
pg. 33
PWS 3.4.3.1 states, “When they need replacing, the contractor shall furnish replacement radios…” These radios cost approximately $3,000 each. If the cost of replacement radios is not reimbursable, please provide an estimated number of radios the contractor will be expected to replace over the life of the contract.
Para 3.4.3.1 will be edited for clarity. Replacement radios may be charged to the ODC CLIN and will become GFE.
PWS 3.6.1
pg. 35
PWS 3.6.1 states, “However, in the event of database failure, the contractor will be required to provide a method of historical record- keeping consistent with the capabilities of the current Microsoft Access database.” It is unclear whether the cost associated with replacing the Microsoft Access database is considered an allowable and reimbursable ODC. Please clarify.
If the Access database fails, the contractor is responsible for a suitable replacement and it will not be an allowable ODC reimbursable cost unless the contractor is willing to release all rights and licenses for the replacement.
PWS 4.2.2
pg. 36
PWS 4.2.2 states, “Supplies used to support contractor operations will be provided by the contractor and shall not be billed to the materials CLIN, including all fuel, oil, hydraulic fluid, grease, or other like type items that are used in GFE or contractor provided equipment or vehicles.
Additionally, supply items used to support contractor administrative areas including cleaning supplies, hand soap, hand towels, toilet tissue, waste receptacles, or paper shall not be bill to the materials CLIN.” Is it correct to assume that these costs must be proposed under the appropriate FFP CLIN for each year of the contract?
Yes, these items should be proposed under the appropriate FFP CLIN for each year of the contract.
PWS 4.2.3
pg. 36
Are contractor provided furnishings and office equipment considered allowable reimbursable ODCs?
No, they are not allowable reimbursable ODCs.
PWS
4.2.5.3 and
PWS 4.2.6
pgs. 37-38
There appears to be a conflict within the PWS regarding reimbursable items. PWS 4.3.5.3 states, “the contractor will be reimbursed for the cost of materials, supplies, and/or equipment plus any proposed and agreed-to material handling rate for items used in direct support of maintenance requirements in this PWS.” However, PWS
4.2.6 indicates that mechanics’ hand tools are not reimbursable, despite being used in direct support of maintenance requirements. Please clarify.
Mechanics hand tools are not reimbursable. Current contract personnel have opted to bring their own tools to perform work.
If the contractor chooses to provide tools for the contract work force, it should be included in their FFP CLIN proposal.
PWS 4.4
pg. 38
PWS 4.4 states, “The Contractor’s shall provide to the Government the make, model, model year, and general specifications for all vehicles and equipment to be provided by the contractor.” Does the Government expect this information to be included in the Technical Volume for evaluation purposes? If so, can you please specify exactly where in the Technical Volume this information should be addressed?
This information may be provided to the government after contract award in a format of the contractor's choosing.
PWS 4.4.2
pg. 39
PWS 4.4.2 states, “Any vehicle provided by the contractor through a lease agreement shall include a provision whereby the lease can be transferred to a subsequent contractor or purchased by a subsequent contractor.”
However, this requirement appears to conflict with PWS 4.4.1.3, as any leased vehicle passed on to a subsequent contractor would likely not meet the vehicle age and mileage limitations for that contractor’s CSD. Can the Government please clarify?
This is a provision in the event a bridge is required and/or other event such as contract novation or contract default.
PWS 4.6.1
pg. 39
PWS 4.6.1 states, “Except for TMP vehicles listed in 3.4.2, all fuel oil, kerosene, gasoline, etc., for use in vehicles and equipment shall be furnished by the contractor and may not be billed to the materials CLIN.” Please clarify whether the term 'vehicles and equipment' refers to GFE and CFE?
Applies to both GFE and CFE, excluding TMP vehicles. TE 19 includes annual historical averages for all fluids consumed by CFE and GFE during the performance of work.
PWS 5.4.18
pgs. 72-73
Is it a correct interpretation of PWS 5.4.18 that, under the FFP CLINs, the contractor is not required to include pricing for LOS clearing/tree removal as part of the basic contract?
That is a correct interpretation.
TE-6
List on pg.
Although the list on page 129 appears at the end of TE-6 (List of Government-Furnished Expendable/Durable Tools and Equipment), it is separated by a note, stating, “*NOTE:
This list is not all-inclusive. The following items have been used by previous contractors while performing PWS tasks:” making it unclear whether these items are intended to be GFE or Contractor-Furnished Equipment (CFE).
Please clarify. If they are in fact CFE, are they considered reimbursable ODCs or to be priced under the FFP CLINS?
These items are CFE and should be priced under the FFP CLINs.
TE-7
pgs. 130-
TE-7 outlines a variety of construction, MHE, and agricultural vehicles/equipment. Are these assets sufficient to fulfill all PWS requirements, or will the contractor need to supplement the GFE with additional CFE vehicles and equipment?
These items are sufficent to fulfill all PWS requirements.
PWS 1.6.12
pg. 10 and T-17 pgs 183-192
While PWS 1.6.12 identifies three Key Personnel positions, it does not specify any required qualifications or years of experience for these roles. Additionally, TE-17 Position Descriptions do not outline specific experience requirements or minimum years of experience. Could you please clarify the qualification and experience expectations for Key Personnel?
Experience and required qualifications are deferred to the evaluation of the contractor.
PWS 1.5
pg. 4 and CLINs pgs. 3-8
PWS 1.5 references a Base Year plus four Option Years, while the RFP CLIN structure includes a Base Year and six Option Years. Please clarify which is correct.
Draft RFP instructions are correct. There are 6 option years. PWS has been updated to reflect the change.
PWS 5.1.1
pgs. 41-46 and 1.4.2 Volume II - Factor 1:
Technical Capability
pg. 26
Paragraph 5.1.1 states “The contractor shall submit with their proposal a Management Plan that reflects an understanding of all tasks specified in this contract and describe an approach to satisfy these requirements….The plan shall describe and discuss, in detail, procedures contemplated to manage facilities, equipment, personnel, work load, resources, and administration as they relate to the services to be performed.” The Management Plan is then broken down by the required items for the Plan;
Organization, Communications, seven plans and a program but does not state where the required discussion of the methodology and procedures to accomplish the PWS tasks are to be placed within the Management Plan.
Please clarify where the processes and methodology to accomplish the PWS tasks as required by PWS 5.1.1 are to be located in Volume II.
See Final RFP for updated Technical Capability.
PWS 5.1.1
Pg. 41-46 and Table
1.1 Volume
Organizatio n
pg. 23
Paragraph 5.1.1 states “The contractor shall submit with their proposal a Management Plan that reflects an understanding of all tasks specified in this contract and describe an approach to satisfy these requirements….”
However, there is no mention of the Management Plan in any of the required Volume II Tabs. The page limitation of 50 pages allocated for Tab D and E and a Management Plan is insufficient space to provide even a minimally technical response for these sections. Request the Government allocate 35 additional pages for Volume II or the Management Plan, and all the plans included, be excluded from the 50-page count for Volume II.
See updated table for changes to page counts.
Schedule B Tab and Fixed Price Labor Tab
The Section B Tab displays CLINs for a Base Year and six Option Years. However, the Fixed Price Labor Tab includes only the Phase-In, Base Year, and four Option Years. Please clarify this discrepancy and update the tabs to ensure consistency.
There is a Base Year and six Option Years. The Fixed Price Labor Tab has been updated to reflect the six option years.
PWS TE-17
pgs. 183- 192 and Fixed Price Labor Tab
Draft Attachment #2, Pricing – Fixed Price Labor Tab, lists 'Range Technician' on Row #20. However, PWS TE-17 does not include a 'Range Technician' position or provide a corresponding position description. Please update TE-17 to include the Range Technician role and its associated position description.
The CBA categorized the Range Technician as General Maintenance Worker. Use the position description listed under General Maintenance Worker in
TE 17.
PWS 4.4.1,
TE-19, RFP
1.4.4.4 Tab
C Att. 2 Pricing workbook
It is unclear where the costs for critical elements required by PWS 4.4.1 (mandatory CFVs) and TE-19 (Fuel) should be entered in the Pricing Workbook to allow for proper evaluation of their reasonableness and completeness.
Please provide specific instructions for including these mandatory ODCs under TAB C. Without this guidance, there is no way to verify that these required items have been appropriately priced, which introduces significant performance risk.
ODCs are Government Not to Exceed (NTE) Amounts and are evlauated as part of the Total Evaluated Price. Offeror shall only provide pricing information for Gunnery Range Operations CLINS. Additional instructions have been provided in the Final RFP and Pricing Workbook.
Page: 3-8 Para: CLINs
Topic: The Not to Exceed CLIN 1002 escalates at 2% from the Base Year. CLINs 2002, 3002, and 4002 also contain 2% escalation. CLINs 5002 and 6002 do not escalate, both state the NTE amount of $379,973.45 (same NTE amount from OY1).
Question: Does the Government intend to allow 2% escalation for ODC CLINs 5002 and 6002?
CLINS 5002 and 6002 now include 2% escalation.
Page: 3-8 Para: CLINs
Topic: The schedule on pages 3-8 request pricing for 1 Base Year & 6 Option Years.
Question: Will the Government clarify the number of Option Years?
There are six (6) Option Years.
Documents have been updated to reflect the correct number of Option Years.
Page: 10-11 Para:
Deliveries Table
Topic: The table on pages 10 and 11 define the perioid of performance for one Base Year and Six Option Years.
Question: Will the Government clarify the number of Option Years?
There are six (6) Option Years.
Documents have been updated to reflect the correct number of Option Years.
Page: 23-24 Para: 1.3.1 & 1.3.2
Topic: The 1.3.1 paragraph indicates five volumes are in the response. The following paragraph 1.3.2 in Table 1.1 Volume Organization, only lists four volumes and does not contain information on the paragraph 1.3.1 dictated Volume V: Solicitation Compliance Documents.
Question: Does the Government require five volumes as directed in 1.3.1 or four volumes as listed in 1.3.2? If five volumes per 1.3.1, will the Government provide direction on the required contents of Volume V: Solicitation Compliance Documents?
See Final RFP for updated Volumes.
Page: 27 Para:
1.4.3.4.3
Topic: The instructions state “The offeror shall demonstrate the quality of work performed by the offeror, or its Teaming Partner(s), for each past performance reference by providing the two (2) requirements described below.
Question: Are offererors required to submit Past Performance Questionnaires and CPARS or can we submit CPARS in lieu of a PPQ?
CPARS can be submitted in lieu of a PPQ.
Page: 28 Para:
1.4.4.1 & 1.4.4.4
Topic: The price volume is referred to as Vol IV in 1.4.4.1 within the Instructions To Offerors. In paragraphs 1.4.4.4.
the Price Volume is referred to as Volume V and states "The offeror shall not include pricing information in Volumes I, II, II, or IV."
Question: Will the Government clarify the Price Volume number?
Pricing information should be included in Volume IV. RFP documents have been updated to reflect that change.
Page: 28 Para:
1.4.4.4.1
Topic: The paragraph states "For the purpose of preparing a price proposal, the contractor shall assume that the basic period of performance will be a base period consisting of a fifteen (15) day phase-in period and 15-day full performance and 11-months and four (4) 12-month option periods."
Question: Will the Government clarify the number of Option Years?
There are six (6) Option Years.
Documents have been updated to reflect the correct number of Option Years.
Page: 29 Para:
1.4.4.6
Topic: The last sentence of the paragraph states "A total evaluated price is located at the bottom that shall be a sum total of all labor categories for all 5 years with the specified number of hours."
Question: Will the Government clarify the number of Option Years?
There are six (6) Option Years.
Documents have been updated to reflect the correct number of Option Years.
Page: 35 Para:
1.3.4.1 &1.3.4.2
Topic: Both paragraphs refer to four Option Years.
Question: Will the Government clarify the number of Option Years?
There are six (6) Option Years.
Documents have been updated to reflect the correct number of Option Years.
Page: 4 Para: 1.3.9 & 1.3.10
Topic: For specialized tasks like AVOID database management (1.3.9) or GPS Software support (1.3.10), expertise in niche systems isn’t fully detailed, potentially requiring uncertified hires to ramp up.
Question: What is the timeline and cost responsibility for obtaining T1 approvals, and are there specific certifications needed for AVOID/GPS roles?
These niche systems do not require specific certifications.
Page: 6 Para: 1.6.5
Topic: Section ‘Staffing Levels’ 1.6.5 requires 24/7/365 coverage for the Firing Desk, plus the ability to simultaneously support at least two additional training locations per shift with certified personnel. Historical staffing (TE 17) is provided for reference, but workload data (TE 14) and stock levels (TE 15) might not fully align with real-world demands, especially given the Aviation Gunnery Range (AGR) firing windows (9:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m., with occasional 0900–1200 extensions). Moreover, installation closures (estimated <1 per year, but historically 3 in 5 years) could force rescheduling without clear compensation mechanisms.
Question: Can you provide updated workload projections or clarify if overtime premiums under the CBA are factored into the Firm-Fixed-Price structure?
Overtime premiums are not factored into the workload projections. The workload hours are those required to accomplish PWS tasks. It is the contractor's responsibility to maintain a stable work force and account/project cost estimates for overtime and include those costs in the FFP CLINs of their proposal.
Page: 7 Para: 1.6.7
Topic: The last sentence states that “CBA is attached at Technical Exhibit 18”, but there was no CBA included.
Question: Will the government please provide a copy of the current CBA?
A copy of the CBA will be included with the solicitation.
Please see attachment number 5.
Page: 7 & 8 Para:
1.6.8.2 & 1.6.9.2
Topic: While standard for government contracts, sections
1.6.8.2.1 (reimburse for lock re-keying due to lost keys) and 1.6.9.2 (reimburse for TMP vehicle damages from neglect) place full financial burden on the contractor without caps or shared risk provisions. Environmental penalties (page 45) for violations “through no fault of the Government” could deduct fines directly from payments, and GFE loss/damage (pages 27, 89) triggers FLIPL processes per AR 735-5. There is no mention of indemnification or insurance requirements beyond what’s implied in FAR clauses.
Question: Are there limits on contractor liability for incidental damages, or requirements for specific insurance coverage for potential damages?
There are no limits on contractor liability for incidental damages, nor are there any requirements for specific insurance coverage related to potential damages. Specific insurance coverage for potential damages is entirely at the contractor's discretion.
Page: 193 Para:
Technical Exhibit 18
Topic: The PWS notes the CBA with the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers (effective July 1, 2022) expires on December 15, 2026, amid the base year (June 16, 2026–May 31, 2027). With options extending to 2031, this introduces uncertainty: post-expiration, the contractor might need to renegotiate terms mid-performance, potentially disrupting labor rates, hours, or conditions for CBA-covered roles.
Question: What provisions exist for CBA renewal or wage adjustments after December 2026, and how might this impact fixed-price bidding?
See FAR 52.222-43
Master List
File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .