W9128A-19-R-0016_Amendment_0001_file_2_of_4.pdf
PDF 5 MB Posted
- Solicitation number
- W9128A-19-R-0016
About this file
W9128A-19-R-0016 Amendment 0001_file 2 of 4.pdf
View the file
Other files
Show all 16
On GovTribe
Work with this file
- Download the original file
- Contacts named in this file
- Similar government files
- Ask GovTribe AI about this file
Text version
2.43
Date Code 20181207 Instruction Manual SEL-751 Relay
Installation Arc-Flash Protection
Arc-Flash Protection System Installation This section describes an arc-flash system installation, the sensor characteristics, and an arc-flash application. Refer to Section 4: Protection and Logic Functions for a description of arc-flash protection and the relay settings. Section 11: Testing and Troubleshooting gives a description of the commissioning tests to verify the installation. Also, refer to Application Guide AG2011-01: Using the SEL-751 and SEL-751A for Arc-Flash Detection, available on the SEL website, for more details.
Figure 2.33 shows main system components comprising: current input card, the arc-flash/voltage input card with sensor terminal block, and the fiber-optic-based point-sensor assembly. Figure 2.10 shows the rear-panel layout and the side-panel I/O designations for a relay model with the 2 AVI/4 AFDI card for arc-flash protection. Figure 2.12 shows the rear-panel layout and the side-panel I/O designations for a relay model with the 8 AFDI card. Installa-tion instructions for the 8 AFDI card are similar to the 2 AVI/4 AFDI card.
Figure 2.33 SEL-751 With an Arc-Flash Option Card and Fiber-Optic Based Point Sensor
Light-Sensor Installation
An arc-flash system installation starts by selecting the best sensor location and the safest path for bringing the sensor fibers back to the relay. The actual sensor location varies depending on the type of switchgear being protected.
Although arc-flash light is easily reflected off painted surfaces, make sure to avoid shadows/light obstruction caused by the insulating baffles or moving parts of the breaker truck assembly.
While fiber-optic sensors are inherently nonconductive, they are not intended for direct contact with energized parts, and must be suspended within 25 mm (1 in) of the grounded surface. Make sure to observe the original high-voltage
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4 W9128A19R0016
AM-0001
2.44
SEL-751 Relay Instruction Manual Date Code 20181207
Installation Arc-Flash Protection clearance and creepage requirements. Sensors should be permanently affixed through the use of supplied mounting grommets or permanent cable ties.
Figure 2.34 shows an example of a typical black-jacketed fiber installation.
Figure 2.34 Black-Jacketed Fiber installation Example
Fiber-bending radius must be kept greater than 50 mm (2 in). Care should be exercised when crossing from a moving part (such as control cabinet door) to a stationary switchgear enclosure. Use standard wiring practices with bundled fibers and well-defined strain relief points. Additional attention is necessary to prevent moving parts, such as a breaker truck assembly, from inadvertently damaging the arc-flash sensor fibers. Although easily detected by the sensor diagnostics, such problems can be eliminated through careful installation planning. Once routed, fiber sensors are connected to the SEL-751 as shown in Figure 2.33.
Point-Sensor Installation
The point-sensor is optimized for monitoring confined switchgear spaces where the distance between sensors and the potential sources of arc (ener-gized parts) can be kept below 2 m. Such spaces typically include breaker compartments, outgoing and incoming cable compartments, and potential transformer (PT) compartments. Figure 2.35 shows a schematic diagram of the point-sensor assembly.
Figure 2.35 Point-Sensor Assembly
The sensor is mounted flush on the switchgear cabinet wall, using a standard 1/4-inch hole. Mounting steps are shown in Figure 2.36.
Figure 2.36 Point-Sensor Installation
1. Mounting Grommet Insertion (1/4” diameter hole)
2. Sensor Insertion (1/4” diameter hole)
Black-Jacketed Fiber Zipcord Duplex
V-Pin Terminators
Dual V-Pin Latch Sensors
1–35 Meters
1/4” diameter hole
1/4” diameter hole
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
2.45
Installation Arc-Flash Protection
The point sensor is omnidirectional with a slight loss of sensitivity at the fiber entry point. Figure 2.37 through Figure 2.39 show the sensor directivity pattern. The point sensor must be located in clear view of the energized parts, which are most likely to cause an arc-flash event.
Figure 2.37 Point-Sensor Directivity (0–360° Around the Mounting Plane)
Figure 2.38 Point-Sensor Directivity (Front to Back, Above the Mounting Plane)
120%
100%
80%
60%
40%
0° 350° 10°
340° 20°
330° 30°
320° 40°
310° 50°
300° 60°
290° 70°
280° 80°
270° 90°
260° 100°
250° 110°
240° 120°
230° 130°
220° 140°
210° 150°
200° 160° 190° 170°
180°
120%
100%
80%
60%
40%
0° 350° 10°
340° 20°
330° 30°
320° 40°
310° 50°
300° 60°
290° 70°
280° 80°
270° 90°
260° 100°
250° 110°
240° 120°
230° 130°
220° 140°
210° 150°
200° 160° 190° 170°
180°
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
2.46
Installation Arc-Flash Protection
Figure 2.39 Point-Sensor Directivity (Left to Right, Above the Mounting Plane)
Fiber Sensor Installation
The clear-jacketed fiber sensor is optimized for monitoring of large distrib-uted resources, such as switchgear system bus enclosures. The clear-jacketed fiber sensor is omnidirectional and can be mounted in close proximity to the switchgear enclosure walls. Figure 2.40 shows a schematic diagram of the clear-jacketed fiber sensor. Figure 2.41 shows a clear-jacketed fiber sensor mounting example photo.
Total loop length = 2 • A + B (allowed range 3 to 70 meters)
Range for A: 1 to 30 meters
Range for B: 1 to 50 meters
Figure 2.40 Clear-Jacketed Fiber Sensor Assembly
120%
100%
80%
60%
40%
0° 350° 10°
340° 20°
330° 30°
320° 40°
310° 50°
300° 60°
290° 70°
280° 80°
270° 90°
260° 100°
250° 110°
240° 120°
230° 130°
220° 140°
210° 150°
200° 160° 190° 170°
180° i8004c
Dual V-Pin
Latch
V-Pin
Terminators
V-Pin or
ST Splice
Connector
“A” Meters
“B” Meters
Clear-Jacketed Fiber
Black-Jacketed Fiber Zipcord Duplex
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
2.47
Installation Arc-Flash Protection
Figure 2.41 Clear-Jacketed Fiber Sensor Mounting Example
A clear-jacketed fiber sensor consists of the major components shown in Figure 2.42. Two connector options (V-pin and ST) are available to transition from the black-jacketed to the clear-jacketed fiber section, as shown in Figure 2.43. The ST connector option is generally superior because of positive locking.
Figure 2.42 Clear-Jacketed Fiber Sensor Components (V-Pin Style)
For correct operation, a clear-jacketed fiber sensor must be located within 2 m of the arcing site, with at least 0.5 m of the fiber sensor exposed to the light. The max-imum length of the clear-jacketed fiber sensor is limited to 70 m and includes both, clear-jacketed fiber and black-jacketed fiber sections (the black-jacketed section is counted twice because of its dual-fiber construction). Transition between the two sections is accomplished by using a connector splice as shown in Figure 2.43.
Figure 2.43 Clear-Jacketed Fiber Sensor Showing Transition From Clear- to Black-Jacketed Fiber Section
Clear-Jacketed Fiber Sensor
Section
Clear-Jacketed Fiber Transition Connectors
(V-Pin)
Connector Splice Bushing (V-Pin)
Black-Jacketed Fiber Section
ST Connection (3/8” diameter hole) V-Pin Connection (5/16” diameter hole)
5/16” diameter hole 3/8” diameter hole
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
2.48
Installation Arc-Flash Protection
The clear-jacketed fiber loop should be returned through the same general area as the forward path, providing dual opportunity to sense the same arc-flash event. This approach ensures that the maximum distance between the relay and the light-producing event remains below 35 m, irrespective of the SEL-751 dual V-pin connector orientation.
Application Example Figure 2.44 shows a typical switchgear application example with one incom-ing and two radial (outgoing) feeders. All three feeders are protected with an SEL-751 controlling breakers 1, 2, and 3. Radial feeder breakers 2 and 3 must be tripped for downstream faults, normally located in the outgoing cable ter-mination compartment. To obtain better coverage, multiple sensors can be installed in the same compartment, as shown in the lower right corner of the Figure 2.44 with sensors marked LS1 and LS2.
Bus compartment and the outgoing breaker compartments for breakers 2 and 3 are protected by the incoming feeder breaker 1, with sensors LS1, LS2, and LS3 connected directly to the incoming feeder relay (upper right hand corner of Figure 2.44). Sensor LS1 is implemented as a clear-jacketed fiber loop enclosing entire length of the bus.
When desired, you can use radial feeder relays sensors (such as LS3 con-nected to the lower right hand relay) to transfer trip the upstream breaker.
Logic equations for this function are shown in Output Logic Programming in Section 4: Protection and Logic Functions.
Figure 2.44 Switchgear Application Example
Ordering Arc-Flash Fiber Sensors
Arc-flash fiber sensors can be ordered with or without splices. To configure the standard multimode fiber-optic arc-flash detection point and fiber-loop sensor cable assemblies without additional splice connectors, use the C804 Multimode Fiber-Optic Arc-Flash Detection (AFD) Sensors Model Option Table (MOT). For multimode fiber optic arc-flash detection sensors with addi-
CAUTION
Before placing the arc-flash protection system in service, first make sure all the sensors are correctly installed, and then execute the AFT command to initiate a self-test.
3 2
LS2
LS3
LS3LS1
LS1
LS2
Bus
LS1—LS4 are arc-flash detection inputs, point or clear-jacketed fiber sensors.
SEL-751
SEL-751SEL-751
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
2.49
Installation Arc-Flash Protection tional splice connectors, refer to the SEL-C814 Arc-Flash Detection (AFD) Fiber Cables and Accessories MOT. The losses and budget values shown in Table 2.19 are typical values.
Link Optical Loss Calculation Examples This example shows a bare-fiber sensor with two V-Pin or ST connectors and an A dimension of 15 meters and a B dimension of 40 meters. Two connectors is the standard configuration, as shown in Figure 2.45.
Figure 2.45 Bare-Fiber Sensor Assembly With Two Splices
This example shows a point sensor with an A dimension of 30 m, as shown in Figure 2.46.
Figure 2.46 Point Sensor Assembly
Table 2.19 Optical Budget Calculations
Link Budgeta a Link budget is calculated after allowing for the losses of the dual V-pin latch. When using a point sensor it allows for the sensor loss as well.
Loss Datab b Link losses are calculated by adding up the fiber loss and the splice connector losses. The link losses should be less than the link budget.
Bare-Fiber Sensor 17 dB ST connector splice 2 dB
Point Sensor 12.25 dB V-Pin connector splice 2 dB
Bare-fiber 0.175 dB/m
Jacketed fiber 0.175 dB/m
NOTE: Jacketed fiber in a zipcord duplex configuration includes two fiber lengths. Loss calculations must account for the total length of the fiber. This is accounted for in the examples as a “x 2” multiplier.
Link Budget 17 dB
– (2 dB x # of connector splices) –4 dB
– (0.175 dB/m x A dimension x 2) –5.25 dB
– (0.175 dB/m x B dimension) –7 dB
Total Link Losses = –16.25 dB
Link Budget 12.25 dB
– (0.175 dB/m x A dimension x 2) –10.5 dB
Total Link Losses = –10.5 dB
V-Pin
Terminators
B Meters
Clear-Jacketed Fiber
Dual V-Pin
Latch
V-Pin or
ST Splice
Connector
A Meters
Black-Jacketed Fiber Zipcord Duplex
Black-Jacketed Fiber Zipcord Duplex
V-Pin Terminators
Dual V-Pin Latch Sensors
1–35 Meters
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
2.50
Installation Arc-Flash Protection
Splice connectors can be added for the arc-flash fiber sensors to meet the shipping needs for large switchgears that require multiple splits for transpor-tation. For multimode fiber-optic arc-flash detection sensors with additional splice connectors, refer to the SEL-C814 Arc-Flash Detection (AFD) Fiber Cables and Accessories MOT.
Ordering Examples Using the SEL-C814 Model Option Table This example of a bare-fiber sensor with four ST connectors and an A dimension of 15 meters, as shown in Figure 2.47, shows the part numbers generated using an SEL-C814 MOT and the link optical loss calculations. Two connectors is the standard configuration.
Figure 2.47 Bare-Fiber Sensor Assembly With Two Additional ST Splice Connectors
This example of a point sensor with two V-pin connectors, as shown in Figure 2.48, shows the part numbers generated using a C814 MOT and the link optical loss calculations.
Link Budget 17 dB
– (2 dB x # of connector splices) –8 dB
– (0.175 dB x A dimension x 2) –5.25 dB
Link Losses = available for B meters 3.75 dB
÷ (0.175 dB/m) 21.42 meters maximum B dimension
Link Budget 12.25 dB
– (2 dB x # of connector splices) –4 dB
Link Losses = available for A meters 8.25 dB
÷ (2 x 0.175 dB/m) 23.6 meters maximum A dimension
B Meters
A Meters
P/N C814CSS007
P/N C814CSS007
P/N C
814CSS0
Note: To complete the fiber assembly, you will also need to order two ST Connector Splice bushings with P/N 915900151
ST-ST Connector Terminated Clear-Jacketed
Fiber, Simplex Cable
P/N C814CSS007
Dual V-Pin Latch-V-Pin Terminated Black-Jacketed Fiber, Zipcord Duplex Cable
P/N C814BSL015
Black-Jacketed Fiber Zipcord
Duplex V-Pin
Terminators
Dual V-Pin Latch
ST Connector Splices
Clear-Jacketed Fiber
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
2.51
Installation Field Serviceability
Figure 2.48 Point Sensor Assembly With Two V-Pin Splice Connectors
Field Serviceability The SEL-751 firmware can be upgraded in the field; refer to Appendix B:
Firmware Upgrade Instructions for firmware upgrade instructions. You may know when a self-test failure has occurred by configuring an output contact to create a diagnostic alarm as explained in Section 4: Protection and Logic Functions. By using the metering functions, you can determine whether the analog front-end (not monitored by relay self-test) is functional. Refer to Section 11: Testing and Troubleshooting for detailed testing and troubleshooting information.
The only two components that can be replaced in the field are the power sup-ply fuse and the real-time clock battery. A lithium battery powers the clock (date and time) if the external power source is lost or removed. The battery is a 3 V lithium coin cell, Rayovac BR2335 or equivalent. At room temperature (25°C), the battery will operate nominally for 10 years at rated load. When the relay is powered from an external source, the battery experiences a low self-discharge rate. Thus, battery life can extend well beyond 10 years. The battery cannot be recharged.
Fuse Replacement To replace the power supply fuse, perform the following steps:
Step 1. De-energize the relay.
Step 2. Remove the eight rear-panel screws and the relay rear panel.
Step 3. Remove the Slot A printed circuit board.
Step 4. Locate the fuse on the board.
Step 5. Remove the fuse from the fuse holder.
Step 6. Replace the fuse with a BUSS S505 3.15A (ceramic), Schurter T 3.15A H 250V, or equivalent.
Black-Jacketed Fiber Zipcord
Duplex V-Pin
Terminators
Sensor
01-35 Meters
A Meters
V-Pin Connector Splices
Dual V-Pin Latch
Note: To complete the fiber assembly, you will also need to order two ST connector splice bushings with P/N 915900148.
Dual V-Pin Latch-V-Pin Terminated Black-Jacketed Fiber Zipcord Duplex Cable
P/N C814BVL006
V-Pin to Point Sensor Terminated Black-Jacketed Fiber Zipcord Duplex Cable
P/N C814BVP017
CAUTION
Equipment components are sensitive to electrostatic discharge (ESD).
Undetectable permanent damage can result if you do not use proper ESD procedures. Ground yourself, your work surface, and this equipment before removing any cover from this equipment. If your facility is not equipped to work with these components, contact SEL about returning this device and related SEL equipment for service.
DANGER
Disconnect or de-energize all external connections before opening this device. Contact with hazardous voltages and currents inside this device can cause electrical shock resulting in injury or death.
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
2.52
Installation Field Serviceability
Step 7. Insert the printed circuit board into Slot A.
Step 8. Replace the relay rear panel and energize the relay.
Real-Time Clock Battery Replacement
To replace the real-time clock battery, perform the following steps:
Step 1. De-energize the relay.
Step 2. Remove the eight rear-panel screws and the relay rear panel.
Step 3. Remove the Slot B printed circuit board.
Step 4. Locate the battery clip (holder) on the board.
Step 5. Carefully remove the battery from beneath the clip.
Properly dispose of the old battery.
Step 6. Install the new battery with the positive (+) side facing up.
Step 7. Insert the printed circuit board into Slot B.
Step 8. Replace the relay rear panel and energize the relay.
Step 9. Set the relay date and time.
CAUTION
There is danger of explosion if the battery is incorrectly replaced.
Replace only with Rayovac
no. BR2335 or equivalent recommended by manufacturer. See Owner's Manual for safety instructions. The battery used in this device may present a fire or chemical burn hazard if mistreated. Do not recharge, disassemble, heat above 100°C or incinerate. Dispose of used batteries according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Keep battery out of reach of children.
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
Section 3 PC Software
Overview This section describes how to get started with the SEL-751 and ACSELERATOR QuickSet SEL-5030 Software. SEL provides many PC software solutions (applications) to support the SEL-751 Relay and other SEL devices. Table 3.1 lists SEL-751 software solutions.
QuickSet is a powerful setting, event analysis, and measurement tool that aids in setting, applying, and using the SEL-751. Table 3.2 shows the suite of QuickSet applications provided for the SEL-751.
Table 3.1 SEL Software Solutions
Part Number Product Name Description
SEL-5010 SEL-5010 Relay Assistant Software Manages a connection directory and settings of multiple devices
SEL-5030 ACSELERATOR QuickSet SEL-5030 Software See Table 3.2
SEL-5032 ACSELERATOR Architect SEL-5032 Software Configures IEC 61850 communications
SEL-5036 ACSELERATOR Bay Screen Builder SEL-5036 Software Designs and manages bay screens in conjunction with SEL-5030 for the SEL-751 with color touchscreen display
SEL-5040 ACSELERATOR Report Server SEL-5040 Software Automatically retrieves, files, and summarizes reports
SEL-5601 ACSELERATOR Analytic Assistant SEL-5601 Software Converts SEL Compressed ASCII event report files to oscillography
SEL-5601-2 SEL-5601-2-SYNCHROWAVE Event Software Plots COMTRADE and SEL Compressed ASCII format event report oscillography; performs custom calculations on analog, digital, and complex quantities; and analyzes the Impedance Plane for distance element (mho) operation, the Alpha Plane for differential element (78L) operation, and the Bewley Lattice for traveling-wave data
SEL-5801 SEL-5801 Cable Selector Selects the proper SEL cables for your application
Table 3.2 QuickSet Applications (Sheet 1 of 2)
Application Description
Rules-Based Settings Editor
Provides online or offline device settings that include interdependency checks. Use this feature to create and manage settings for multiple devices in a database.
HMI Provides a summary view of device operation. Use this feature to simplify commissioning testing.
Design Templatesa Allows you to customize device settings to particular applications and store those settings in Design Templates. You can lock settings to match your standards or lock and hide settings that are not used.
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
3.2
PC Software Setup
Setup Follow the steps outlined in Section 2: Installation to prepare the SEL-751 for use. Perform the following steps to initiate communications:
Step 1. Connect the appropriate communications cable between the SEL-751 and your PC.
Step 2. Apply power to the SEL-751.
Step 3. Start QuickSet.
Communications QuickSet uses relay communications Port 1 through Port 4, or Port F (front panel) to communicate with the SEL-751. Perform the following steps to configure QuickSet to communicate with the relay.
Step 1. Select Communications from the QuickSet main menu bar, as shown in Figure 3.1.
Figure 3.1 Communications Parameter Menu Selection
Step 2. Select the Parameters submenu to display the screen shown in Figure 3.2.
Step 3. Configure the PC port to match the relay communications settings.
Step 4. Configure QuickSet to match the SEL-751 default settings by entering Access Level 1 and Access Level 2 passwords in the respective text boxes.
Event Analysis Provides oscillography and other event analysis tools.
Bay Control Allows you to design new bay screens and edit existing bay screens by launching Bay Screen Builder for SEL-751 Relays with the color touchscreen display.
Setting Database Management
QuickSet uses a database to manage the settings of multiple devices.
Terminal Provides a direct connection to the SEL device. Use this feature to ensure proper communication and directly interface with the device.
Help Provides general QuickSet and device-specific QuickSet context help.
a Available only in licensed versions of QuickSet.
Table 3.2 QuickSet Applications (Sheet 2 of 2)
Application Description
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
3.3
PC Software Terminal
Step 5. For network communications, select Network from the Active Connection Type drop-down menu and enter the network parameters as shown in Figure 3.3.
For the SEL-751, always select FTP as the file transfer option.
Step 6. Exit the menu by clicking OK when finished.
Terminal Terminal Window Select Communications > Terminal on the main menu bar (see Figure 3.4) to open the terminal window.
Figure 3.4 Communications Terminal Menu Selection
NOTE: Factory-default passwords for Access Level 1 and 2 are OTTER and TAIL, respectively.
Figure 3.2 Serial Port Communication Parameters Dialog Box
Figure 3.3 Network Communication Parameters Dialog Box
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
3.4
PC Software Settings Database Management and Driver
The terminal window is an ASCII interface with the relay. This is a basic terminal emulation. Many third-party terminal emulation programs are available with file transfer encoding schemes. Open the terminal window by either clicking Communications > Terminal or pressing <Ctrl+T>. Verify proper communications with the relay by opening a terminal window, pressing <Enter> a few times, and verifying that a prompt is received. If a prompt is not received, verify proper setup.
Terminal Logging To create a file that contains all terminal communications with the relay, select Terminal Logging in the Communications > Logging menu, and specify a file at the prompt. QuickSet records communications events and errors in this file. Click Communications > Logging > Connection Log to view the log.
Clear the log by selecting Communications > Logging > Clear Connection Log.
Driver and Part Number
After clicking Communications > Terminal, access the relay at Access Level 1. Issue the ID command to receive an identification report, as shown in Figure 3.5.
Locate and record the Z-number (Z001001) in the FID string. The first portion of the Z-number (Z001…) determines the QuickSet relay settings driver version when you are creating or editing relay settings files. The use of the driver version is discussed in more detail in Settings Editor on page 3.8.
Compare the part number (PARTNO=7510XXXXXXXXXXXXXX) with the Model Option Table (MOT) to ensure the correct relay configuration. The SEL display package version can be found in Table A.3. The customer display package (CDP) version has a unique ID code based on the total number of seconds from 1/1/2000 to the time stamp when the CDP was created and downloaded to the relay via QuickSet.
Settings Database Management and Driver QuickSet uses a database to save the relay settings. QuickSet contains sets of all settings files for each relay specified in the database manager. Choose appropriate storage backup methods and a secure location for storing the database files.
=ID <Enter>
"FID=SEL-751-X397-V0-Z007003-D20170305","08BC"
"BFID=BOOTLDR-R500-V0-Z000000-D20090925","0952"
"CID=9B42","025E"
"DEVID=SEL-751","0408"
"DEVCODE=77","0316"
"PARTNO=751001B6X3X7183021X","06D9"
"CONFIG=11251201","03F0"
"SEL DISPLAY PACKAGE=1.0.32768.873","086A"
"CUSTOMER DISPLAY PACKAGE=1.542556555","099A"
"iedName =TEMPLATE","05DC" "type =SEL_751","04B0" "configVersion =ICD-751-R100-V0-Z001001-D20070326","0D75"
Figure 3.5 Device Response to the ID Command
NOTE: The SEL display package and customer display package versions are only displayed in the touchscreen display model.
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
3.5
PC Software Settings Database Management and Driver
Database Manager Select File > Database Manager on the main menu bar to create new databases and manage records within existing databases.
Settings Database
Step 1. Open the database manager to access the database. Click File > Database Manager. A dialog box appears.
The default database file already configured in QuickSet is Relay.rdb. This database contains example settings files for the SEL products with which you can use QuickSet.
Step 2. Enter a description for the database in the Database Description dialog box.
Step 3. Enter special operating characteristics that describe the relay settings in the Settings Description text box. These can include the protection scheme settings and communications settings.
Step 4. Highlight a relay or settings file listed in Settings and click the Copy button to create a new set of settings.
QuickSet prompts for a new name. Be sure to enter a new description in Settings Description.
Copy/Move Settings Between Databases
Step 1. Select the Copy/Move Settings Between Settings Databases tab to create multiple databases with the database manager;
these databases are useful for grouping similar protection schemes or geographic areas.
Step 2. Click the Settings Database B button to open a relay database.
Step 3. Type a filename and click Open.
a. Highlight a device or setting in Settings Database A.
b. Click Copy or Move, and click the > button to create a new device or settings file in Settings Database B.
Step 4. Reverse this process to move or copy devices from the B database to the A database.
Copy creates an identical device that appears in both databases. Move removes the device from one database and places the device in another database.
Create a New Database, Copy an Existing Database To create a new database:
Step 1. Click File > Database Manager, and then click Create New Database. QuickSet prompts you for a file name.
Step 2. Type the new database name (and select a new location if the new location differs from the existing one), and click Save.
QuickSet displays the message Settings [path and filename] was successfully created.
Step 3. Click OK.
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
3.6
PC Software Settings
To copy an existing database of devices to a new database:
Step 1. Click File > Database Manager, and select the Copy/Move Settings Between Databases tab.
QuickSet opens the last active database and assigns it as Database A.
Step 2. Click the Open B button; QuickSet prompts you for a file location.
Step 3. Type a new database name, click the Open button, and click Yes; the program creates a new empty database. Load devices into the new database as in Copy/Move Settings Between Databases on page 3.5.
Settings QuickSet offers the capability of creating settings for one or more SEL-751 Relays. Store existing relay settings downloaded from SEL-751 Relays with QuickSet, creating a library of relay settings, then modify and upload these settings from the settings library to an SEL-751. QuickSet makes setting the relay easy and efficient. However, you do not have to use QuickSet to configure the SEL-751; you can use an ASCII terminal or a computer running terminal emulation software. QuickSet provides the advantages of rules-based settings checks, SELOGIC control equation Expression Builder, operator control and metering HMI, event analysis, and help.
Settings Editor The settings editor shows the relay settings in easy-to-understand categories.
The SEL-751 settings structure makes setting the relay easy and efficient.
Settings are grouped logically, and relay elements that are not used in the selected protection scheme are not accessible. For example, if there is only one analog card installed in the relay, you can access settings for this one card only. Settings for the other slots are dimmed (grayed) in the QuickSet menu.
QuickSet shows all of the settings categories in the settings tree view. The settings tree view remains constant whether settings categories are enabled or disabled.
Settings Menu QuickSet uses a database to store and manage SEL relay settings. Each unique relay has its own settings records. Use the File menu to open (Open) an existing record, create and open a new (New) record, or read (Read) relay settings from a connected SEL-751 and then create and open a new record.
Click Tools > Settings > Convert to convert and open an existing record in the settings editor.
Table 3.3 File/Tools Menus
Menus Description
<<, >> Use these navigation menu buttons to move from one cate-gory to the next
File > New Open a New record
File > Open Open an existing record
File > Read Read device settings and then create and open a new record
Tools > Settings > Convert Convert and open an existing record
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
3.7
PC Software Settings
File > New To make SEL-751 settings with the settings editor, click File > New on the main menu bar and select the SEL-751 and the latest driver version (00X) on the Settings Editor Selection screen, as shown in Figure 3.6.
QuickSet makes the new settings file using the driver that you specify in the Settings Editor Selection screen. QuickSet uses the Z-number in the FID string to create a particular settings file.
Figure 3.6 Driver Selection
After the relay model and settings driver selection, QuickSet presents the Device Part Number dialog box. Use this dialog box to configure the settings editor to produce settings for a relay with options determined by the part number, as shown in Figure 3.7. Click OK when finished.
Figure 3.7 Update Part Number
Figure 3.8 shows the Settings Editor screen. Check the driver version number in the title bar of the Settings Editor screen. Compare the QuickSet driver number and the first portion of the Z-number in the FID string (select
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
3.8
PC Software Settings
Tools > HMI > HMI > Status). These numbers must match. QuickSet uses this first portion of the Z-number to determine the correct settings editor to display.
Figure 3.8 New Settings Screen
File > Open The Open menu item opens an existing device from the active database folder.
QuickSet prompts for a device to load into the settings editor.
File > Read When the Read menu item is selected, QuickSet uses serial protocols to read the device settings from the connected device. As QuickSet reads the device, a Transfer Status screen appears.
Tools > Settings > Convert
Use the Convert menu item (Tools > Settings) to convert from one settings version to another. Typically, you would use this utility to upgrade an existing settings file to a newer version because devices are using a newer version number. QuickSet provides a Convert Settings report that shows missed, changed, and invalid settings created as a result of the conversion. Review this report to determine whether changes are necessary.
Settings Editor Use the settings editor to enter settings. The settings editor includes the settings driver version (the first three digits of the Z-number) in the settings editor title bar.
Enter Settings
NOTE: Setting changes made during the edit session are not read by the relay unless they are transferred to the relay with the Send menu item.
Step 1. Click the drop-downs and the buttons in the settings tree view to expand and select the settings you want to change.
Step 2. Use Tab to navigate through the settings, or click a settings box.
Step 3. To restore the previous value for a setting, right-click in the settings text box and select Previous Value.
Device Version
Number
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
3.9
PC Software Settings
Step 4. To restore the factory-default setting value, right-click in the settings text box and select Default Value.
Step 5. If you enter a setting that is out of range or has an error, QuickSet shows the error at the bottom of the settings editor.
Double-click the error listing to go to the setting and enter valid input.
Expression Builder SELOGIC control equations are a powerful means for customizing device performance. QuickSet simplifies this process with Expression Builder, a rules-based editor for programming SELOGIC control equations. Expression Builder organizes device elements, analog quantities, and SELOGIC control equation variables.
Access Expression Builder Use the ellipsis button that follows the setting text boxes in the settings editor to create an expression, as shown in Figure 3.9.
Figure 3.9 Expression Created With Expression Builder
Using Expression Builder The expression builder screen is organized into three main parts: the expression builder text box, the left side column, which contains broad categories of device elements, analog quantities, counters, timers, latches, and logic variables, and the right side column, which displays category operands for use in the expression. Directly underneath the expression builder text box is a row of operators that you can include in your expression. The operators include basic logic, rising- and falling-edge triggers, expression compares, and comments.
Touchscreen Settings and Bay Screen Builder The touchscreen settings are available when the touchscreen display option is selected as part of the front-panel options. This option provides you with the ability to design bay screen one-line diagrams with the help of Bay Screen Builder SEL-5036 Software. For more information, refer to Bay Screens Design Using QuickSet and Bay Screen Builder on page 9.6.
NOTE: Be sure to enable the functions you need (Logic Settings > SELogic Enable) before using Expression Builder.
Ellipsis Button
Created Expression
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
3.10
PC Software Event Analysis
File > Save Select the Save menu item from the File menu once settings are entered into QuickSet to ensure that the settings are not lost.
File > Send To transfer the edits made in the QuickSet edit session, you must send the settings to the relay. Select Send from the File menu. In the dialog box that opens, select the settings section(s) that you want to transfer to the relay by checking the appropriate box and click OK.
Edit > Part Number Use this menu item to change the part number.
Text Files Select Tools > Settings > Import and Tools > Settings > Export on the main menu bar to import or export settings from or to a text file. Use this feature to create a small file that can be easily stored or sent electronically.
Event Analysis QuickSet has integrated analysis tools that help you retrieve information about relay operations quickly and easily. Use the event information that the SEL-751 stores to evaluate the performance of a system (select Tools > Events > Get Event Files). Figure 3.10 shows the event retrieval screen.
Figure 3.10 Retrieve Events Screen
View Event History You can retrieve event files stored in the relay and transfer these files to a computer. For information on the types of event files and data capture, see Section 10: Analyzing Events. To download event files from the device, click Tools > Events > Get Event Files. The Event History dialog box appears, as shown in Figure 3.10.
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
3.11
PC Software Event Analysis
NOTE: High-impedance fault events are only available with the Arc Sense Technology (AST) option. The HIF Events can take as long as an hour to download (at 38400 bps). Increase the data rate before downloading.
The SEL-751 is capable of capturing three types of events (4 samples/cycle filtered, 32 samples/cycle raw, and high-impedance fault). These three types of events can be captured in either the compressed ASCII (.cev) or COMTRADE format. QuickSet allows you to download the .cev events. Use the Event Type drop-down shown in Figure 3.10 to select the 32 samples/ cycle unfiltered (raw) data event, or high-impedance fault data (default is 4 samples/cycle filtered data). For information on how to download COMTRADE events from the relay see Section 10: Analyzing Events.
Get Event Highlight the event you want to view (e.g., Event 3 in Figure 3.10), select the event type from the Event Type drop down menu (4 samples or 32 samples), and click the Get Selected Event button. When the download is complete, QuickSet queries whether to save the file on your computer, as shown in Figure 3.11.
Figure 3.11 Save the Retrieved Event
Enter a file name in the File name text box, and select a location to which to save the event report.
View Event Files Click Tools > Events to view an event with either SYNCHROWAVE Event or Analytic Assistant software. You can view multiple events by clicking on Load Event > Add New Event in the SYNCHROWAVE Event software.
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
3.12
PC Software Meter and Control
Meter and Control Click on Tools > HMI > HMI to display a screen similar to the one shown in Figure 3.12. The HMI tree view shows all the functions available in the HMI.
Unlike the self-configuration of the device settings tree, the HMI tree remains the same regardless of the type of cards installed. For example, if no Analog Input card is installed, the Analog Input function is still available, but the relay responds as follows:
No Analog Input Card Present.
Device Overview The Device Overview screen provides an overview of the device. The Contact I/O portion of the screen displays the status of the two inputs and three outputs of the main board. You cannot change these assignments.
Figure 3.12 Device Overview Screen
You can assign any Relay Word bit to the 16 user-defined target LEDs. To change the present assignment, double-click on the text above the square you want to change. After double-clicking on the text, a box with available Relay Word bits appears in the lower left corner of the screen. Select the appropriate Relay Word bit, and click the Update button to assign the Relay Word bit to the LED. To change the color of the LED, click in the square and make your selection from the color palette.
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
3.13
PC Software Meter and Control
The front-panel LEDs display the status of the 24 front-panel LEDs. Use the front-panel settings to change the front-panel LED assignments. The Fundamental, Min/Max, Energy, etc., screens display the corresponding values.
Click on the Targets button to view the status of all the Relay Word bits.
When a Relay Word bit has a value of 1 (RB02 = 1), the Relay Word bit is asserted. When a Relay Word bit has a value of 0 (RB02 = 0), the Relay Word bit is deasserted.
The Status and SER screens display the same information as the ASCII STA and SER commands.
Figure 3.13 shows the control screen. From here, you can reset metering data;
clear the Event History, SER, MIRRORED BITS report, or LDP; or trigger events. You can also reset the targets, synchronize with IRIG, or set the time and date. If supported, you can run arc-flash sensor diagnostic tests.
Figure 3.13 Control Screen
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
3.14
PC Software Meter and Control
To control the Remote bits, click on the appropriate square, then select the operation from the box shown in Figure 3.14.
Figure 3.14 Remote Operation Selection
Language Support QuickSet has multi-language support. Click on the Language menu to choose from English, Spanish, French, or Chinese, as seen in Figure 3.15. Selecting any of these choices converts the menu items in QuickSet to the selected language.
Figure 3.15 Language Support Options
Additionally, if Spanish or English is selected from the Language menu, the relay settings displayed by QuickSet are converted into the corresponding language as shown in Figure 3.16.
NOTE: If the SEL-751 is connected to any SEL communications processor (SEL-203x or RTAC), the corresponding LANG port setting must be set to ENGLISH.
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
3.15
PC Software Meter and Control
Figure 3.16 Spanish Settings QuickSet Display
Each communications port (serial or Ethernet) on the SEL-751 can be independently set to display either English or Spanish. Changing the port setting LANG to SPANISH or ENGLISH results in the QuickSet HMI and all of its available functions to display in the corresponding language. For example, if the Control Window is selected in the HMI while the setting LANG := SPANISH, QuickSet displays the Control Window (Ventana de Control) in Figure 3.17.
NOTE: Once the HMI screen is displayed in QuickSet, the LANG setting does not affect the displayed HMI. To change the language of the HMI, the HMI must be closed, and the LANG setting must be changed, and the HMI reopened.
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
3.16
PC Software Meter and Control
Figure 3.17 Spanish Control Window (Ventana de Control) Display
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
3.17
PC Software QuickSet Help
QuickSet Help Various forms of QuickSet help are available, as shown in Table 3.4. Press <F1> to open a context-sensitive help file with the appropriate topic as the default.
Table 3.4 QuickSet Help
Help Description
General QuickSet Select Help from the main menu bar.
SEL-751 Settings Select Settings Help from the Help menu bar while the Settings Editor is open.
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
This page intentionally left blank
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
Section 4 Protection and Logic Functions
Overview This section describes the SEL-751 Feeder Protection Relay settings, including the protection elements and basic functions, control I/O logic, as well as the settings that control the communications ports and front-panel displays.
This section includes the following subsections:
Application Data. Lists information that you need to know about the protected equipment before calculating the relay settings. Lists the settings for protection elements included in all models of the SEL-751.
Group Settings (SET Command).
ID Settings and Configuration Settings. Lists the ID settings and the settings that configure the relay inputs to accurately measure and interpret the ac current and voltage input signals.
Low-Energy Analog (LEA) Voltage Inputs. Discusses the settings associated with LEA voltage inputs.
Overcurrent Elements. Lists the settings associated with overcurrent, time-overcurrent and directional elements.
High-Impedance Fault Detection With Arc Sense Technology. Lists the settings associated with high-impedance fault detection.
Second- and Fifth-Harmonic Blocking Logic. Lists the settings associated with second- and fifth-harmonic blocking logic.
RTD-Based Protection. Lists the settings associated with the RTD inputs.
You can skip this subsection if your application does not include RTD inputs.
IEC Thermal Elements. Lists the settings associated with IEC thermal elements.
Under- and Overvoltage Functions. Lists the settings associated with the under- and overvoltage elements.
Synchronism-Check Elements. Lists the settings associated with synchronism-check elements.
Power Elements. Lists the settings associated with power elements.
Power Factor Elements. Lists the settings associated with power factor elements.
Loss-of-Potential (LOP) Protection. Lists the logic and settings associated with the LOP element.
Vector Shift Element. Lists the settings associated with vector shift logic.
Frequency Protection. Lists the settings associated with over/under frequency, rate-of-change-of-frequency and fast rate-of-change-of-frequency.
NOTE: Each SEL-751 is shipped with default factory settings. Calculate the settings for your application to ensure secure and dependable protection. Document and enter the settings (see Section 6: Settings).
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
4.2
Protection and Logic Functions Overview
Trip/Close Logic. Lists Trip and Close logic.
Reclose Supervision Logic. Describes the logic that supervises automatic reclosing when an open interval time times out—a final condition check right before the close logic asserts the close output contact.
Reclose Logic. Describes all the reclosing relay settings and logic necessary for automatic reclosing (besides the final close logic and reclose supervision logic described previously).
Demand Metering. Lists the settings associated with demand metering.
Logic Settings (SET L Command). Lists the settings associated with latches, timers, and output contacts.
Global Settings (SET G Command). Lists the settings that allow you to configure the relay to your power system, date format, analog inputs/ outputs, and logic equations of global nature.
Synchrophasor Measurement. Describes Phasor Measurement Unit (PMU) settings for C37.118 Protocol.
Breaker Failure Setting. Lists the settings and describes the logic for the flexible breaker failure function.
Arc-Flash Protection. Lists the settings for the arc-flash elements including arc-flash overcurrent and time-overlight elements.
Analog Inputs. Describes analog input functionality, lists the settings and gives an example.
Analog Outputs. Describes analog output functionality, lists the settings and gives an example.
Station DC Battery Monitor. Describes station dc battery monitor function and lists the settings.
Breaker Monitor. Lists the settings and describes the breaker monitor function that you can use for scheduling circuit breaker maintenance.
Digital Input Debounce. Provides the settings for digital input dc debounce or ac debounce mode of operation.
Data Reset. Lists the data reset SELOGIC control equation settings for resetting targets, energy metering, max/min metering, demand metering and peak demand metering.
Access Control. Describes the SELOGIC control equation setting you would use for disabling settings changes from the relay front panel.
Time Synchronization Source. Describes the setting you would use for choosing IRIG1 or IRIG2 as the time synchronization source.
89A and 89B Disconnect Switch Status SELOGIC Control Equations.
Describes the settings and logic associated with the disconnect switches.
Local/Remote Breaker Control. Describes the local/remote breaker control function.
Port Settings (SET P Command). Lists the settings that configure the relay front- and rear-panel serial ports.
Front-Panel Settings (SET F Command). Lists the settings for the front-panel display, pushbuttons, and LED control.
Report Settings (SET R Command). Lists the settings for the sequential event reports, event, and load profile reports.
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
4.3
Protection and Logic Functions Application Data
DNP Map Settings (Set DNP n Command, n = 1, 2, or 3). Shows the DNP user map register settings.
Modbus Map Settings (SET M Command). Shows the Modbus user map register settings.
Touchscreen Settings. The touchscreen settings apply to relays that support the color touchscreen display. (The settings are supported in ACSELERATOR QuickSet SEL-5030 Software only.)
See Section 6: Settings for a list of all settings (SEL-751 Settings Sheets) and various methods of accessing them. All current and voltage settings in the SEL-751 are in secondary.
NOTE: The DeviceNet port parameters can only be set at the rear of the relay on the DeviceNet card (see Figure H.1).
You can enter the settings by using the front-panel SET RELAY function (see Section 8: Front-Panel Operations), the serial port (see Section 7:
Communications), the EIA-485 port (see Appendix E: Modbus Communications), or the Ethernet port (see Section 7: Communications).
Application Data It is faster and easier for you to calculate settings for the SEL-751 if you collect the following information before you begin:
➤ System phase rotation and nominal frequency
➤ Current transformer primary and secondary ratings and connections
➤ Voltage transformer or low-energy analog (LEA) voltage sensor ratios and connections, if used
➤ Type and location of resistance temperature detectors (RTDs), if used
➤ Highest expected load current
➤ Expected fault current magnitudes for ground and three-phase faults
Group Settings (SET Command) ID Settings All models of the SEL-751 have the identifier settings described in Table 4.1.
The SEL-751 prints the Relay and Terminal Identifier strings at the top of the responses to serial port commands to identify messages from individual relays.
Enter as many as 16 characters, including letters A–Z (not case sensitive), numbers 0–9, periods (.), dashes (-), and spaces. Suggested identifiers include the location or number of the protected feeder.
Table 4.1 Identifier Settings
Setting Prompt Setting Range Setting Name := Factory Default
UNIT ID LINE 1 16 Characters RID := SEL-751
UNIT ID LINE 2 16 Characters TID := FEEDER RELAY
Section 00 73 00 Attachment 4
4.4
Protection and Logic Functions Group Settings (SET Command)
Configuration Settings
The CT ratio settings configure the relay to accurately scale measured values and report the primary quantities. Calculate the phase and neutral current CT ratios by dividing the primary rating by the secondary rating.
EXAMPLE 4.1 Phase CT Ratio Setting Calculation
Consider an application where the phase CT rating is 100:5 A.
Set CTR := 100/5 := 20.
Table 4.3 shows the voltage settings. The voltage configuration settings configure the relay voltage inputs to correctly measure and scale the voltage signals. The relay can be ordered with different secondary voltage input configurations—standard voltage inputs rated for 300 Vac or LEA voltage inputs rated for 8 Vac. Refer to Figure 2.21 for different voltage connections.
The voltage configuration settings configure the relay voltage inputs to correctly measure and scale the voltage signals. The relay can be ordered with different secondary voltage input configurations—standard voltage inputs rated for 300 Vac or LEA voltage inputs rated for 8 Vac. Refer to Figure 2.21 for different voltage connections.
The PTR and PTRS settings are applicable and available for setting when the relay is ordered with standard voltage inputs (300 Vac). The LEA_R, LEA_SC, LEA_S_R, and LEA_S_SC settings are applicable to the relay with LEA inputs (8 Vac). The LEA_R and LEA_S_R settings are settable while the LEA_SC and LEA_S_SC settings are autocalculated by the relay and not available for setting as explained in Low-Energy Analog (LEA) Voltage Inputs.
The DELTA_Y, VSCONN, VNOM, and SINGLEV settings are applicable to either of…
This is the start of the file's text. The full file is on GovTribe.
File details come from the government source that posted it.