Questions and Answers.xlsx

XLSX spreadsheet 14 KB Posted

Attached to
Force Protection Detachment Critical Skills Course High Risk Driving, Advanced Shooting, and Tactical Casualty Care
Solicitation number
W912CL25Q0004A
Issued by

About this file

This is a Questions and Answers document for a Department of the Army solicitation (W912CL25Q0004A) regarding Force Protection Detachment Critical Skills Course training. The Q&A clarifies that this is a Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Business (SDVOB) set-aside requirement for providing weapons, driving, and medical training including live tissue training.

Key details include: training must be conducted at the contractor's CONUS facility; class sizes range from 10-25 students; training will be conducted in consecutive 5 or 8-day sessions; contractors must provide all equipment, ammunition, firearms, and vehicles; no security clearances are required; first classes are targeted for March 24-28 or March 31-April 4, 2025; this will be a firm-fixed-price requirements contract with 4 option years; evaluation will be Lowest Price Technically Acceptable (LPTA); questions are due by February 21 and proposals by March 3, 2025 at 11:00 AM Central; there is an incumbent contractor; and the previous year included approximately 35-40 total students across one 5-day and one 8-day class. The contractor is not responsible for student transportation, lodging, or food.

View the file

Other files

On GovTribe

Work with this file

  • Download the original file
  • Contacts named in this file
  • Similar government files
  • Ask GovTribe AI about this file

Text version

Sheet1

QuestionResponse
Can you clarify the Small-business set-aside category for this requirementThis requirement is for a SDVOB. There was an error in the original posting that has since been corrected.
Where will the training be conducted and is there a distance preference from the 470th MIBTraining will be at the Contractor’s facility. There are no limitations on distance from the 470th --as long as the training facility is in CONUS.
Does the CTR need to provide food or lodgingNo
Is there a min/max for studentsWe are setting this up as a requirements contract so we have some flexibility on order size. We established the min to 10 students and a max at 25. Refer to 52.216-19 on approx page 33 of the SF-1449
Can the training be split or does it need to be held consecutiveTraining will be done in 5 or 8 consecutive days
Do the instructors need any particular certificationsThe PWS does not specify any required certifications
Can training be conducted OCONUS?No. The solicitation was amended to state training must be conducted CONUS
Does the CTR need to provide travel, food, and/or lodgingNo
Who will be conducting the training?The Contractor's (CTR) staff will conduct all training
Will training be conducted in groups or rolling admissionsTraining will be conducted at specific times and will run one complete class at a time (5 or 8 days)
Are training weapons acceptable or must they be Govt issued duty weaponsWeapon specifications are stated in the PWS
What are the ammunition requirementsStated in PWS
Specific make/model vehicle requirementsStated in PWS
Minimum number of vehicles per class5-6 are preferred
PPE/uniform/holster requirementsThe CTR is to provide all equipment necessary for training as stated in PWS
what is the period of performance start datesStated in PWS. Depending what happens with the continuing resolution these dates may slide to the right.
Will there be a phase in periodThere is no phase in period
Is there an incumbent CTRYes
What is the anticipated award dateWe anticipate awarding the contract in mid-March and the first order immediately thereafter. Goal is to have the first class 24-28 March. Depending what happens with the continuing resolution these dates may slide to the right.
Specific QC documentation requirementsThis is covered in 1.6.1 of the PWS.
Required format for after action reportsThis is left to the CTR's discretion
Frequency of Govt QC inspectionsSomeone will be at each training class to monitor for compliance/quality assurance
Required format for student recordsif format is not specified in the PWS this will be left to the CTR's discretion
certificate requirementsif format is not specified in the PWS this will be left to the CTR's discretion
Specific insurance requirementsThis is left to the CTR's discretion but the expectation is the business and employees are all properly insured IAW state and federal requirements
Subcontractor approval processThis is left to the CTR's discretion. Due to the $ threshold the Govt does not need to be involved with any subcontracting plans
Specific qualification standards for each course levelRefer to applicable publications in part 6 of the PWS. For the tasks that don't clearly state a pass/fail standard in the pubs the students mastery of the subject is left to the CTR's discretion. There will be a Govt rep on site for each training if additional clarification is needed to determine if a student meets pass/fail criteria
Remedial training requirementsThere will be a Govt rep on site for each training if additional clarification is needed to determine if a student meets pass/fail criteria or if remedial training is needed
Required documentation for student progressionThe PWS does not specify any documentation for student progression so this is left to the CTR's discretion. Please refer to Attachment 2 for documentation requirements
Payment terms, Invoicing, and scheduleThis will be a firm fixed price contract. Payment will be made through EFT (WAWF) refer to DFARS 252.232-7006
Minimum contract valueThis will be a Requirements Contract. We guarantee each class ordered will have a minimum of 10 students and a max of 25 please refer to 52.216-19 in the solicitation. Last year, the Requiring Activity held one 5-day and one 8-day class for a total of approx 35-40 students trained.
Is the contractor or government responsible for providing ammunition for the P320 and M4 weapon systemsThe CTR will be responsible for providing all equipment, ammo, firearms, vehicles, etc. required to complete the training .
Can you confirm the need for live tissue trainingYes, the medical training will require live tissue
Does the CTR need to provide translatorsNo
Can you clarify the need for transportation stated in 1.1 of the PWSThe Govt is responsible for students transport to/from the training facility
Can background checks be outsourced to a 3rd party or must they be done by the prime or sub prime partnerThey can be outsourced
Please confirm if security clearance for prime and subs are requiredSecurity clearances are not required
Are there specific government-furnished property (GFP) or government furnished services (GFS) that will be provided for this contract, or is the contractor responsible for all materials, facilities, and equipment?The CTR is responsible for all materials, facilities, and equipment
What are the key performance metrics and Quality Assurance Surveillance Plan (QASP) requirements for this contractPlease refer to the Performance requirements Summary in the PWS
How will contract performance be monitored and evaluated, and what are the consequences for deficienciesPerformance will be monitored and evaluated through in person observation and student feedback.
Are there any subcontracting limitations, particularly for small business participationNo
What are the invoicing and payment terms, and are there any special requirements for submitting invoicesInvoices and payment will be made through EFT (WAWF) refer to DFARS 252.232-7006, approx. page 62 of the SF1449
Are there any anticipated changes to the period of performance or option years based on funding availabilityThere are no anticipated changes. However the wild card is the Continuing Resolution and if a new CR is issued or there is a short-term Govt shutdown. In the near-term there is a possibility of contract award or first order PoPs sliding to the right. Long-term we do not foresee any issues with annual funding as this training is mission essential.
Is CID Reg 195-1 the appropriate publication for the marksmanship requirement?Yes
The CLIN descriptions in the SF 1449 - CONTINUATION SHEET do not align with the price sheet provided. We assume that the Excel price sheet provided is preferred, but will the
USG specify which they would like us to use to submit our pricingYes…please use the excel price schedule.
Can the USG specify the minimum student to instructor ratio and the minimum number of
instructors present at all times required for the Weapons and Tactics portion of trainingThe Requiring Activity has not specified an instructor to student ratio so defer to the business to provide their recommendation.
Can the USG specify the minimum student to instructor ratio and the minimum number of
instructors present at all times required for the Medical portion of trainingThe Requiring Activity has not specified an instructor to student ratio so defer to the business to provide their recommendation.
Can the USG specify the minimum student to instructor ratio and the minimum number of
instructors present at all times required for the Driving/Tactical Mobility portion of trainingThe Requiring Activity has not specified an instructor to student ratio so defer to the business to provide their recommendation. The Requiring Activity did however state that there must be at least one instructor in the vehicle at all times.
Can the USG specify the minimum student to vehicle ratio required for the Driving/Tactical
Mobility portion of trainingThe Requiring Activity has not specified an instructor to student ratio so defer to the business to provide their recommendation. The Requiring Activity did however state that there must be at least one instructor in the vehicle at all times. What I can add to this is a ratio that minimizes idle time is something the Requiring Activity values. However, when it came time to come up with a source selection methodology, they ultimately opted for a lowest price technically acceptable approach vs trade-off (i.e. we would have been willing to pay more for a ratio that minimizes idle time) Again, I’m going to stress the Requiring Activity opted for an LPTA vs trade-off for this requirement.
RFP 1.6.10 lists Contract Manager, Alternate Contract Manager, and On-Site Lead Trainer as
Key Personnel. Can the USG please provide the minimum qualifications for each positionThe Govt does not have minimum qualifications for this position as a variety of skills/personality types can successfully fill this role. The Govt requires someone familiar with the business/training plan and can effectively communicate with the Govt reps to answer questions and/or address any issues that may come up during the course of training
RFP 1.6.10 lists Contract Manager, Alternate Contract Manager, and On-Site Lead Trainer as
Key Personnel. Can the USG please provide a description of duties for each position?The Govt does not have minimum qualifications for this position as a variety of skills/personality types can successfully fill this role. The Govt requires someone familiar with the business/training plan and can effectively communicate with the Govt reps to answer questions and/or address any issues that may come up during the course of training
RFP 1.6.11.1 lists the minimum qualifications for medical instructors. We recommend that

any instructors who will be conducting LTT portions of training also be required to be

certified to teach LTT. Can you confirm which certifications are requiredThe Requiring Activity did not specify minimum qualifications for any of the instructors
Could the USG provide the minimum qualifications/experience for Driving InstructorsThe Requiring Activity did not specify minimum qualifications for any of the instructors
Could the USG provide the minimum qualifications/experience for Firearms InstructorsThe Requiring Activity did not specify minimum qualifications for any of the
Could the USG provide a minimum ammunition round count per weapons system, per
course, for each studentThe Requiring Activity did not specify a minimum round count per course per student. Their desired end state is for students to be trained to the level stated in the PWS

File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .