Attachment 0014- Industry Questions and USG Responses 12182020.pdf

PDF 547 KB Posted

Attached to
Kwajalein Atoll/Reagan Test Site Security and Access Control Services
Solicitation number
W52P1J-20-R-0093
Issued by

About this file

This solicitation seeks proposals for security and access control services at Kwajalein Atoll/Reagan Test Site in the Marshall Islands. The Army Materiel Command Joint Munitions Command will award a hybrid firm-fixed-price and cost-plus-fixed-fee contract to provide guard services, access control, patrols, and canine teams. The period of performance includes one base year and four one-year options, with a potential six-month extension. The incumbent contractor has provided these services since 2015. Offerors must hold a SECRET facility clearance and submit proposals by November 30, 2020. The solicitation includes questions and answers to clarify requirements, such as housing and vehicle provisions, quarantine procedures due to COVID-19, and training responsibilities.

View the file

Other files

File Type Posted
W52P1J20R0093-0008.pdf PDF
W52P1J20R0093-0007.pdf PDF
Attachment 0003- Section M - Basis for Award 12112020.pdf PDF
Attachment 0014- Industry Questions and USG Responses 12112020.pdf PDF
Attachment 0002- Section L- Instructions Conditions and Notices to Offerors 12112020.pdf PDF
W52P1J-20-R-0093 Conformed Copy 12072020.pdf PDF
Attachment 0001 - Kwajalein Atoll Performance Work Statement 25NOV20.pdf PDF
W52P1J20R0093-0006.pdf PDF
Attachment 0005- Past Performance Questionnaire 11252020.pdf PDF
Attachment 0014- Industry Questions and USG Responses 11252020.pdf PDF
Attachment 0004- Kwajalein Security Services Price Matrix v5 11252020.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
Attachment 0003- Section M - Basis for Award 11252020.pdf PDF
Attachment 0002- Section L- Instructions Conditions and Notices to Offerors 11252020.pdf PDF
Attachment 0014- Industry Questions and USG Responses 11182020.pdf PDF
Attachment 0003- Section M - Basis for Award 11182020.pdf PDF
Attachment 0001 - Kwajalein Atoll Performance Work Statement 18NOV20.pdf PDF
W52P1J20R0093-0005.pdf PDF
Attachment 0002- Section L- Instructions Conditions and Notices to Offerors 11182020.pdf PDF
Attachment 0004- Kwajalein Security Services Price Matrix v4 11182020.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
Attachment 0002- Section L- Instructions Conditions and Notices to Offerors 11162020.pdf PDF
Attachment 0001 - Kwajalein Atoll Performance Work Statement 13NOV20.pdf PDF
Attachment 0003- Section M - Basis for Award 11162020.pdf PDF
Attachment 0014- Industry Questions and USG Responses 11162020.pdf PDF
W52P1J20R0093-0004.pdf PDF
Attachment 0005- Past Performance Questionnaire 11162020.pdf PDF
Attachment 0003- Section M - Basis for Award 11052020.pdf PDF
Attachment 0014- Industry Questions and USG Responses 11052020.pdf PDF
W52P1J20R0093-0003.pdf PDF
Attachment 0004- Kwajalein Security Services Price Matrix v2 10292020.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
W52P1J20R0093-0002.pdf PDF
Attachment 0014- Industry Questions and USG Responses 10292020.pdf PDF
Attachment 0003- Section M - Basis for Award 10292020.pdf PDF
W52P1J20R0093-0001.pdf PDF
Attachment 0004- Kwajalein Security Services Price Matrix 10292020.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
Attachment 0002- Section L- Instructions Conditions and Notices to Offerors 10292020.pdf PDF
Attachment 0001 - Kwajalein Atoll Performance Work Statement 07OCT20.pdf PDF
Attachment 0004- Kwajalein Security Services Price Matrix.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
Attachment 0008- DA FORM 5557.pdf PDF
W52P1J20R0093.pdf PDF
Attachment 0010- LEWTAQ Qualification Scorecard.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
Attachment 0009- DA FORM 7708.pdf PDF
Attachment 0007- Government Furnished Property List.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
Attachment 0002- Section L- Instructions Conditions and Notices to Offerors.pdf PDF
Attachment 0005- Past Performance Questionnaire.pdf PDF
Attachment 0011- Subsidiary_Agreements_-_Compilation_for_the_Republic_of_the_Marshall_Islands.pdf PDF
Attachment 0012- OPSEC PLAN (Sample).PDF PDF
Attachment 0006- DD 254.pdf PDF
Exhibit A - Contract Data Requirements List (CDRLs).pdf PDF
Attachment 0013- US-RMI Compact_of_Free_Association.pdf PDF
Attachment 0003- Section M Basis for Award.pdf PDF
Show all 50

On GovTribe

Work with this file

  • Download the original file
  • Contacts named in this file
  • Similar government files
  • Ask GovTribe AI about this file

Text version

W52P1J-20-R-0093 18 December 2020

Industry Questions and USG Responses

Q1: Please provide current incumbent contractor information.

A1: The current services are being performed by Alutiiq Pacific, LLC under Contract W9113M-

15-C-0015 awarded on 27 February 2015 as a competitive 8(a) in the amount of $4,052,913.43.

Q2: Will the Government consider extending the due date to December 4, 2020?

A2: The USG does not anticipate extending at this time. Amendment 0004 extended the RFP closing date to 04 December 2020 at 10:00am CT. Amendment 0006 extended the RFP closing date to 10 December 2020 at 10:00am CT. Amendment 0007 extended the RFP closing date to 29 December 2020 at 10:00am CT.

Q3: M.3.1 Facilities Clearance: The PCO will verify that the Commercial and Government Entity

(CAGE) code(s) for the Offeror and the teammates/subcontractors/managing partner, provided in Volume I, Proof of Facilities Clearance, Validation of Compliance with ANSI/ASIS PSC.1-2012, Supplemental Documents, and Executive Summary, possess a Secret Facility Clearance via the

Defense Security System (DSS) Industrial Security Facilities Database (ISFD) by the Solicitation closing date. If the CAGE code for the Offeror and the teammates/subcontractors/managing partner provided does not possess a Secret Facility Clearance, the USG will find the Offeror unacceptable. The USG will not further evaluate unacceptable proposals and the USG will not consider the Offeror’s proposal for award.

Is this truly what was intended, or are there provisions for allowing cleared individuals working for an uncleared subcontractor to be carried in the Prime Contractor’s JPAS while the subcontractor is being sponsored for their own Facility Clearance?

A3: Section M, M.3.1. has been revised to require only the Offeror to hold the appropriate

Facility Clearance Level. Subcontractors/teammates/managing partners do not have to carry a company facility clearance but shall hold the appropriate individual clearances.

Q4: Please confirm that Offerors must provide an ANSI/ASIS PSC.1-2012 and/or ISO 18788 certification document or certificate to provide validation of compliance with ANSI/ASIS PSC.1-

2012, American National Standard, Management System for Quality of Private Security

Company Operations- Requirements with Guidance.

A4: Please review Section L, L.3.2. and Section M, M.3.2..

Q5: “L.5.1.10 Past Performance Questionnaire (PPQ): The information to be provided with each contract reference is on the PPQ, The Offeror must complete PPQ Sections IA and IB for each contract reference and send copies of the PPQ to the respondent Point of Contact (POC) as identified in IB in a timely manner. The Offeror shall include these documents in Volume III, Section 1 of its proposal. The PPQ respondents will send the completed questionnaire directly to the U.S. Government POC as identified in Part III of the PPQ.” Please confirm that only Part I of the PPQ is required for inclusion in the RFP response.

A5: The USG confirms that only Part I of the PPQ is required to be included in an Offeror’s proposal. Section L, L.5.1.10 has been updated to reflect this.

Q6: Will the Government please confirm that any copies of rate agreements or copies of other whole page/multiple page documents will not count against the 5 Page Limit for the Executive

Summary?

A6: Paragraph L.3.5.1 has been revised to remove the submission of rate agreements.

Q7: Will the Government please confirm that header and footer text can be smaller than 12

Point Font?

A7: Header and footer text can be smaller than 12 Point font but no smaller than 10 Point font.

Section L.2.5. has been updated to reflect this.

Q8: Will the Government please confirm that a “Cover Page”, “Front Cover”, and “Cover Sheet” are all referring to the same Cover Page that should be on the front of every volume?

A8: “Cover Page”, “Front Cover”, and “Cover Sheet” are all referring to the document that should be included on the front of every volume as referenced in L.2.1., L.2.6.1, and L.2.7.

Q9: Will the government please confirm that a cover letter would be excluded from page count?

A9: As stated in the response to Q8, “Cover Page”, “Front Cover”, and “Cover Sheet” are all referring to the document that should be included on the front of every volume as referenced in L.2.1., L.2.6.1, and L.2.7. “Cover Page”, “Front Cover”, and “Cover Sheet” are excluded from the page limit as stated in the Exclusions in L.2.1.

Q10: “If the incoming contractor is new and hires an employee of the incumbent contractor

(currently providing security guard services), the employee must be retrained/recertified (to include medical, Individual Reliability Program [IRP] screening, and training certification).

However, the Government will afford the awardee the opportunity to show/document proficiency for current/incumbent employees. These employees will not be required to re-complete the 120hrs of initial training.”

Please clarify method for documenting proficiency of incumbent employees.

A10: If a Contractor hires an employee of the incumbent contractor, that employee’s IRP package will be used to verify proof of training.

Q11: Will the government be providing shipping of the contractor provided vehicles from the

Concord, CA shipping location? If so, is there a cost associated with the transportation of the vehicles from California to Kwajalein? How long does the shipment of vehicles take from

California to Kwajalein?

A11: The USG will provide shipping of Contractor provided vehicles from Concord, CA. Shipping is based on full containers and takes an estimated 6-8 weeks by boat.

Q12: Will the government be providing fuel for the contractor provided vehicles? If so, is there a cost to the contractor for the fuel? Do vehicles need to be capable of any particular fuel type?

A12: The USG will provide fuel for the Contractor provided vehicles. Fuels used by the USG are

MOGAS and JP-5 diesel. Paragraph 5.22.5 of the Performance Work Statement has been updated to reflect this.

Q13: Due to the required 14-day quarantine in Hawaii and subsequent 21-day quarantine at

Kwajalein due to the COVID-19 pandemic, will the government consider extending the 60-day phase-in to 90 days to offset the 35 days of quarantine time that will delay transition team activities?

A13: The USG will extend the 60 day mobilization period to 90 days. Section H, H.7.2 and H.7.3;

Section L, L.4.1; and Section M, M.4.1 have been updated to reflect this.

Q14: Section L.6 of the proposal indicates that the only required for Volume IV is the completion of the Price Matrix (Attachment 0004). Please confirm no supporting narrative is required in addition to the Price Matrix (Attachment 0004).

A14: A supporting narrative is not required to be submitted in addition to the Price Matrix for

Volume IV.

Q15: PWS Section 1.4.8.1 states weapons must be stored in an authorized storage facility.

Is the storage facility, along with weapons safes, provided by the Government?

A15: The USG will provide an authorized storage facility for weapons and ammunition.

Paragraph 1.4.8.1 of the Performance Work Statement has been updated to reflect this.

Q16: PWS Section 2.29.3 states, the contractor is financially responsible for flying the handler and dog to the U.S. Mainland to be re-certified or the contractor will pay the TDY expenses for certification authority to travel to Kwajalein and certify the team.

Please confirm a Government certification authority will be available to travel to Kwajalein to provide K9 certification.

A16: The USG cannot confirm the certification authority will be available to travel to Kwajalein to provide K9 certification. Per PWS 2.29.3 it is the responsibility of the Contractor to provide certification and recertification of the contract working dog team. Certification is provided at the following locations: Redstone Arsenal (Huntsville), Alabama; Aberdeen Proving Ground, Maryland; Fort Irwin, California; and Joint Base Lewis-McChord, Washington

Q17: PWS Section 5.7 discusses Contractor Acquired Purchases (CAP) and that’s that All

Purchase Requests (PR), or Purchase Orders (PO) that utilize the CAP Contract Line

Identification Number (CLIN) will clearly identify the classification of GFP, (Equipment, Special

Test Equipment, Special Tooling, or Material) on the PR/PO. After review of the CLIN structure, there does not appear to be a specific CLIN for CAP purchases. Please confirm any CAP purchases would be invoiced under the Mission Operations Support CLIN.

A17: Per Paragraph 5.7 of the Performance Work Statement, CAP is limited to Mission

Operations (CPFF) requirements. Therefore, any Contractor Acquired Purchases for mission support would be invoiced under the Mission Operations Support CLIN.

Q18: PWS section 5.22.5 indicates that fuel for Government furnished vehicles will be provided by the Government. There is no mention of fuel for contractor furnished vehicles.

In order to accurately price fuel for contractor vehicles, please provide estimated mileage per day, per each vehicle.

A18: See answer to Question 12. The USG will provide fuel for the Contractor provided vehicles.

Q19: PWS Section 2.12.3 states the contractor shall be able to provide an interpreter fluent in speaking and writing both English and Marshallese to assist the DES 24 hours a day; however, Part 7 of the PWS indicates an Interpreter/RMI Liaison is only required for 1 8-hr shift per day.

Please clarify which of the following is the correct staffing for the Interpreter/RMI Liaison position: 24 hours per day, 7 days per week, 8 hours per day, 7 days per week, 8 hours per day, 5 days per week excluding federal holidays

A19: The Interpreter/RMI Liaison shall be staffed 8 hours per day, 5 days per week: Tuesday-

Saturday, excluding federal holidays. Paragraph 2.12.3 of the Performance Work Statement has been updated to reflect this.

Q20: PWS Part 7 indicates that the following positions are required for one 8-hour shift per day;

however, it does not specify the number of days per week.

• Chief of Security

• Captain of Guards

• Property Control Manager

• Human Relations Manager

• Lieutenant (E&E)

• Lieutenant (DSC)

• Lieutenant (ROI)

• Boat Operator (ROI)

• Access Control Officer – Deckhand (ROI)

• Lieutenant (Kwaj Marine)

• Access Control Officer – Deckhand (Kwaj Marine)

Please confirm the positions identified above are required for one 8-hour shift, 5 days per week excluding federal holidays.

Q20: The positions identified shall be staffed 8 hours per day, 5 days per week: Tuesday –

Saturday, excluding federal holidays. Part 7 of the Performance Work Statement has been updated to reflect this.

Q21: PWS Section 2.29.1 states the contractor shall provide 2 trained and certified explosives detection dog teams and 2 trained and certified drug detection dog teams. PWS Section

2.29.7.1.1 indicates that each dog team will work approximately 32 hours per week (6 hours training + 24 hours work schedule + 2 hours emergency response); however, Part 7 of the PWS indicates that 4 teams are needed 8 hours per day.

Please clarify the number of dog teams that are needed each day, the length of the shift required each day, and the number of days per week the teams are required (i.e. 2 teams are required 8 hours per day, Tuesday – Saturday).

A21: Per paragraph 2.29.1 of the Performance Work Statement, “One CEDD and one CNDD will be available at all times. Two CDTs shall operate Tuesday-Saturday 0800-1600.” Two teams are needed per day, one CEDD and one CNDD. The requirement is for 4 teams total (2 CEDD and two

CNDD) for days off.

Q22: Part 7 of the PWS indicates that 1 Sergeant and 2 Security Officers are required 12 hours per day at CPS; however, the total staffing for CPS is 6.

Please clarify if the 3 CPS positions are required 24 hours per day and the number of days per week each position is required (i.e. 7 days per week).

A22: 3 CPS positions are required 24 hours per day, 7 days per week. The Position Table in Part

7 of the Performance Work Statement has been updated for CPS to include a CAC/EBS System

Operator, this position shall be staffed 8-hours per day, 5 days per week, excluding Federal holidays. Per the Position Table the following is required for CPS: 1 Sergeant and 2 Security

Officers per 12-hour shift and 1 CAC/EBS System Operator who will work one- eight hour shift.

Therefore, a total of 7 personnel (2 Sergeants, 4 Security Officers, and 1 CAC/EBS System

Operator) are needed per day.

Q23: Part 7 of the PWS indicates that 1 Sergeant, 2 Security Officers, and 4 Access Control

Officers are required 9.5 hours per day at E&E; however, it does not specify the number of days per week.

Please clarify the days per week the E&E Sergeant, Security Officers, and Access Control Officers are required.

A23: Per Paragraph 2.14.1 of the Performance Work Statement, E&E shall operate Monday--

Saturday and shall be staffed during all inbound flights.

Q24: Part 7 of the PWS indicates that in addition to the Lieutenant, 1 Sergeant, 2 Security

Officers, and 3 Access Control Officers are required 12 hours per day at DSC; however, the total staffing for DSC is 13.

Please clarify if the DSC Sergeant, Security Officer, and Access Control Officer positions are required 24 hours per day and the number of days per week each position is required (i.e. 7 days per week).

A24: Positions are 24 hours, 7 days per week. Per the Position Table in Part 7 of the

Performance Work Statement the following is required for DSC: 1 Sergeant, 2 Security Officers, and 3 Access Control Officers per 12-hour shift and 1 Lieutenant who will work one eight-hour shift. Therefore, a total of 13 personnel (1 Lieutenant, 2 Sergeants, 4 Security Officers, and 6

Access Control Officers) are needed per day.

Q25: Part 7 of the PWS indicates that in addition to the Lieutenant, Boat Operator, and Access

Control Officer - Deckhand, 1 Sergeant, 1 Security Officers, and 2 Access Control Officers are required 12 hours per day at ROI; however, the total staffing for ROI is 11.

Please clarify if the ROI Sergeant, Security Officer, and Access Control Officer positions are required 24 hours per day and the number of days per week each position is required (i.e. 7 days per week).

A25: ROI Sergeant, Security Officer, and Access Control Officer positions are required 24 hours per day, 7 days a week. Per the Position Table in Part 7 of the Performance Work Statement the following is required for ROI: 1 Sergeant, 1 Security Officer, and 2 Access Control Officers per

12-hour shift and 1 Lieutenant, 1 Boat Operator, and 1 ACO-Deckhand who will work one eight-hour shift. Therefore, a total of 11 personnel (1 Lieutenant, 2 Sergeants, 1 Boat Operator, 2

Security Officers, 1 ACO- Deckhand, and 4 Access Control Officers) are needed per day.

Q26: The Price Matrix requires offerors to provide a cost per person per day for 365 days per year (305 days in the base period). This may lead to an inaccurate calculation of cost. For example, if the Chief of Security is only required to work 5 days per week (see question 9), the total days per year would be closer to 250 rather than 365.

Would the Government consider revising the spreadsheet to change the number of days column to a contractor provided (yellow cell) number of hours per position and changing the position daily rate per person to an hourly rate per person? The total price per SubCLIN would then be the number of hours per position * position hourly rate * total number of personnel required. This would provide for a more accurate representation of the proposed cost. This method would also provide the Government with pre-established labor rates to be used when preparing Mission Operation Support estimates.

A26: The Price Matrix is being revised to update the ‘number of days’ for those positions that are required to be manned 5 and 6 days per week. This is a Firm Fixed Price effort and therefore the USG will only obtain daily rates per person. The Price Matrix will be released via amendment to the solicitation by 20 November 2020. *Updated Price Matrix- Released with

Amd 0005 on 18 November 2020.

Q27: There is no mention of Covid-19 related precautions in the solicitation.

Are there any Covid-19 related quarantine (i.e. 2 weeks in Hawaii or 3 weeks on Kwajalein) or

Covid-19 testing requirements that must be followed when deploying individuals from the U.S.

to Kwajalein?

A27: Currently, the Garrison must seek approval to bring personnel into RMI. Once approved, Contractors traveling into Kwajalein shall receive COVID-19 testing before traveling to Hawaii.

Contractors shall quarantine for 14 days in Hawaii and shall be retested prior to flying to

Kwajalein. Upon arrival into Kwajalein contractors shall be tested and then quarantine for 21 days. Contractors shall be retested on day 15 of quarantine and day 20 of quarantine. After confirmation of a negative test they will be released from quarantine. These restrictions are subject to change and may be different at time of award.

Q28: PWS Section 2.29.3 states contract handlers must attend and graduate from a formal training program course that results in the handler/dog team certification by Army Certifying

Authority. When contracted by Department of the Army the canines must be certified according to AR 190-12 standards, and re-certified annually thereafter or as needed.

The contractor is financially responsible for flying the handler and dog to the U.S. Mainland to be re-certified or the contractor will pay the TDY expenses for certification authority to travel to

Kwajalein and certify the team.

a. Is the Army Certifying Authority a Government employee?

A28a: Yes the Certifying Authority is a Government employee..

b. If the Army Certifying Authority is a Government employee, please provide the expected TDY expenses the contractor would be responsible for.

A28b: The USG does not have an estimated cost for this.

c. If the Army Certifying Authority is a Government employee, please provide the locations within the U.S. where the certification can be completed.

A28c: With prior coordination, certification can take place at the following locations:

Redstone Arsenal (Huntsville), Alabama; Aberdeen Proving Ground, Maryland; Fort Irwin, California; Joint Base Lewis-McChord, Washington.

d. Will the Government accept canine certification from a 3rd party vendor?

A28d: The USG will not accept canine certification from a 3rd party vendor. Certifications must be completed through a DOD recognized MWD/CWD certification authority.

e. Can we assume the certifying authority will travel to Kwajalein at minimum one time per year to provide certification?

A28e: The USG cannot confirm that the certification official will travel to Kwajalein to provide certification.

f. Will the certifying authority be available during the mobilization period on Kwajalein?

A28f: See response to Question 28c.

Q29: PWS Section 2.29 discusses the contract working dogs. While we understand that constant training is required to maintain the dog team certifications; there is no mention of training aids being Government or Contractor provided. With Kwajalein being an OCONUS location, it is nearly impossible for a civilian company to obtain licensing to import/transport substances such as narcotics for these training purposes.

Please confirm canine training aids (explosives and drugs) will be Government provided.

A29: Paragraph 2.29.1 of the Performance Work Statement states “Explosive and drug training aids will be supplied by the USG IAW AR 190-12.”

Q30: In evaluation of the minimal staffing levels of 49 compared to the post requirements, it would appear that 49 personnel adequately provides coverage; however, it is not possible to determine the number of additional personnel needed to support Mission requirements without historic workload data for Mission support.

Would the Government please provide either an estimated number of personnel needed to support Mission requirements or historic workload data so that offerors can develop a level of effort estimate for personnel needed for the Mission requirements?

A30: Per Part 7 of the PWS, the support package for Mission Operations is on average no more than 8 armed personnel (IAW with Paragraph 1.4) for 24/7 coverage, and typically includes a boat operator and three additional personnel. On average there are 12 missions a year and the estimated duration for each mission is 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for two weeks. This fiscal year the missions have only required 4 personnel 24 hours, 7 days a week.

Q31: PWS Section 1.4.6 discusses the CAC and EBS systems. This section indicates that all CAC equipment and supplies are provided by the Government but coordinated through the contract; however, it does not address the EBS system supplies.

Please confirm all supplies and equipment for both the CAC and EBS systems are provided by the Government. If not, please provide historical data to estimate cost.

A31: The USG will provide CAC/EBS equipment and supplies. Paragraph 1.4.6 of the Performance Work Statement has been updated to reflect this.

Q32: PWS 1.4.12-5 : Therefore, the contractor will provide for veterinary services for all contracted dogs.

Does the contractor have access to onsite veterinary services at the contractor expense?

A32: Per PWS 1.4.12-5 veterinary services are the responsibility of the Contractor. It is recommended veterinary services be worked from a CONUS or Hawaii veterinary to have assurance of routine care. There is a Vet Tech located on island but they are not tasked with the care of the working dogs. They will afford emergency care and inoculations as available.

Q33: Minor repair is defined as Level 1 maintenance, such as changing oil, replacing filters, replacing batteries with a cost NTE $500.

Is the NTE value per incident, year, month, life of contract? Can the government provide historical information in regard to preventative maintenance in order to better calculate expenditures?

A33: The LOGCAP Contractor is responsible for preventative maintenance to include oil changes, filters, batteries required to maintain the vessels. Paragraph 2.28.2 of the Performance Work Statement has been updated to reflect this.

Q34: Exclusions from page count: Sample Resumes. Are sample resumes required? If so, for what positions and in what Volume should they be included?

A34: Sample resumes are not required.

Q35: If CPARs are available for a contract, can they be used in lieu of PPQs?

A35: CPARs cannot be used in lieu of the PPQ. However, as stated in L.5.1.10, the U.S.

Government reserves the right to use data provided in the Offeror’s proposal and data obtained from other sources.

Q36: Section L.2.1 indicates financial capability documents are excluded from the proposal page count. Section L.3.5.1 requires offerors to provide a copy of any rate agreements.

Please confirm the copies of rate agreements referenced in section L.3.5.1 are considered financial capability documents and are excluded from the proposal page count.

A36: See response to Question 6.

Q37: Reference PWS 2.29.3 –“ Contract handlers must attend and graduate from a formal training program course that results in the handler/dog team certification by Army Certifying Authority. Canines shall be certified and shall maintain this certification in accordance with Army Regulation 190-12. When contracted by Department of the Army the canines must be certified according to AR 190-12 standards, and re-certified annually thereafter or as needed.”

AR190-12: 2–2. Military working dog personnel qualifications and responsibilities a. Initial training. All MOS 31K personnel will successfully complete the MWD (31K) Handler Course Phase 1 conducted by USAMPS, Fort Leonard Wood, MO and the MWD Handler Course Phase 2 conducted by the 341st TRS, JBSALackland AFB, TX. Department of the Army Civilian Police (DACP) handlers will successfully complete the DACP Academy conducted by USAMPS, Fort Leonard Wood, MO and the MWD Handler Course Phase 2 conducted by the 341st TRS, JBSA- Lackland AFB, TX. Combat Engineer’s must successfully complete the MDD Handler Course conducted by USAES, Fort Leonard Wood, MO. On-the-job training for the purpose of qualifying military or civilian personnel as MWD handlers are prohibited

A. Would the PCO elaborate on the availability of a Department of the Army certifying authority on the Kwaj Atolle?

A37A: See response to Question 28.

B. What are the locations where this certification is conducted both for initial and annual concurrency?

A37B: See response to Question 16 and Question 28.

C. How are Veterinary Services provided (GF or CF) for health visits and inoculations?

A37C: Veterinary services are Contractor furnished. See response to Question 32.

Q38: Weapons: Sections L, M and the PWS reference the 9mm pistol as the weapon for armed personnel.

a. Please confirm that 9MM pistols be contractor provided as CFE and not GFE serially managed items for weapons supplied?

A38a: Per paragraph 4.20.7.2 of the Performance Work Statement, 9MM pistols shall be Contractor furnished.

b. Are there any other weapon types required or allowed for use in this scope; ie. Shotgun for maritime patrols?

A38b: No other weapon types required or allowed for use under this contract.

c. Will ammo type (ball vs hollow-point) be specified and provided as GFE for either range practice or base operations?

A38c: Ammunition for range qualifications or base operations shall be Contractor provided.

The ammo type is 9mm ball. Paragraphs 3.21 and 4.20.7.13 of the Performance Work Statement have been updated to reflect this.

d. Will a gunsmith be provided as DAC?

A38d: The USG will not provide a gunsmith.

e. Will a range safety officer be provided as DAC?

A38e: The Provost Marshall will be in attendance during range qualifications to ensure range procedures are followed.

Q39: PWS 1.4.7 - The contractor shall be responsible for the storage and safeguarding of weapons and ammunitions, and these items will be protected IAW AR 190-11. These weapons and ammunition shall be accounted for at all times. Will an Arms Room facility be provided in accordance with PWS 1.4.8.1- Weapons: Weapons must be stored in an authorized storage facility IAW AR190-11, Chapter 4. GFE listing does not reflect arms room, facilities, or securable racks.

A39: See response to Question 15.

Q40: Demobilization-(Section H and PWS) The Government Solicitation assigns a “Demobilization CLIN” as FFP for each Option year.

a. Does the USG anticipate executing demobilization activities each year?

A40a: The Government does not anticipate executing demobilization activities each year. It is included to afford the Contractor an opportunity to escalate demobilization pricing if necessary. The requirement and demobilization may need to occur at the end of any year of performance (i.e. if an option is not exercised, Demobilization will occur at the end of that time period).

b. would those activities include pricing the return of entire workforce (EXPATs) to CONUS on Commercial airlines?

A40b: Yes, it would include the return of all personnel to their Home of Record.

Q41: Communication: Reference PWS Part 10, CDRL Deliverables:

a. How does the current team communicate off-island if needed. For example. Contractor needs to provide CDRL updates to the COR, is that done via Gov’t provide internet/email?

A41a: Communication in performance of the PWS and related to duties of their job will be done via Government provided internet and email.

b. How does the current security team communicate with corporate leadership on contract issues such as financial/HR/Logistics?

A41b: Communication with corporate leadership required per the PWS can be completed via the USG provided commercial internet.

c. Is Internet or phone service available to contractors as a non-cost service?

A41c: The USG will provide internet and phone services for performance of the PWS and related to duties of their job. Internet and phone service for personal use is not provided by the USG.

Q42: CDRL A006 Contractor Work Breakdown Structure (CWBS) CDRL states, “Draft submitted with the proposal.”

Please clarify which volume CDRL A006 is to be included. There are no instructions in Section L relative to CDRLs.

Is CDRL A006 excluded from the page count?

A42: The draft Contractor Work Breakdown Structure (CDRL A006) shall be included in Volume I. This will be excluded from the page count. L.3.6. has been updated to reflect this.

Q43: CDRL A008 Quality Control Plan CDRL states, “The contractor shall submit a draft copy of the quality control plan with the proposal.”

Please clarify which volume CDRL A008 is to be included. There are no instructions in Section L relative to CDRLs.

Is CDRL A008 excluded from the page count?

A43: The draft Quality Control Plan (CDRL A008) shall be included in Volume I. This will be excluded from the page count. L.3.6. has been updated to reflect this.

Q44: L.1.8 Our Representations/Certifications data are current in SAM Database. L.1.8 states, “The purpose of electronic Representations and Certifications is to provide all Offerors with a portal in which to submit Reps/Certs in a publicly accessible format, nullifying the requirement to submit identical information in response to each and every Federal contract solicitation.”

Are offerors still required to include a copy of Sections A-K with the proposal submission in Volume I?

A44: Yes, per Section L.3.3. Offerors must provide a completed and signed copy of the Solicitation including Sections A-K and any amendments.

Q45: L.2 Standard Proposal Instructions The page limit exclusions list refers to “Any financial capability documents”. Will the Government clarify if financial capability documents are required, and if so, what type?

A45: There are not any specific financial capability documents that are required.

Q46: L.6.6. & M.6.4 Does the Government require a separate, detailed Excel Cost proposal to perform the Total Price Evaluation and validate the reasonableness of our offer in accordance with IAW FAR 15.404-1?

A46: The USG provided a Government surrogate number for the CPFF portion of the contract.

Therefore, a detailed Excel Cost proposal is not required to be submitted.

Q47: Solicitation P 16 – H.5.1.1 (4) – what are the medical and dental service rates?

A47: The USG does not have these rates. The Contractor can contact International SOS (the provider) at 805-355-2223 or 805-355-2224 for the current rates.

Q48: Solicitation P 17 – H.5.1.2 (1) – Is the contractor responsible for flights to and from US mainland to Meck Island?

A48: Meck island can only be accessed via ferry or helicopter from Kwajalein. The ferry or helicopter transportation is provided by the USG.

Q49: Attachment 0002 P8 – L.4.3 – does the contractor need to provide a learning management system, or is this government furnished?

A49: The Contractor shall provide certifications for their employees with the exception of the required JKO certifications. The USG does not provide a learning management system.

Q50: PWS 1.4.5.6 – P6 – who devises the quarterly exercises?

A50: The Garrison and DES will devise these exercises.

Q51: PWS 1.4.6 – P6 – can we assume that all incumbent staff have up-to-date training on all systems?

A51: Yes.

Q52: PWS 1.4.12.5 – P 9 – Is there an onsite vet for K9 care?

A52: There is not onsite veterinary services for K9 care for contract working dogs. There is a Vet Tech located on island but they are not tasked with the care of the working dogs. They will afford emergency care and inoculations as available.

Q53: PWS 2.15.1 – P17 – Do the Roving Security Patrols travel on non-metaled roads or routes that would require an off road vehicle?

A53: No. Roving Security Patrols do not require an off-road vehicle.

Q54: PWS 2.29.3 – P21 – in the event that recertification of a dog is not granted, would the replacement cost be reimbursable?

A54: No, the cost would not be reimbursable if recertification of a dog is not granted.

Q55: 3.12 – P 31 – is the access control officer training an online or attendance course?

A55: The training listed in Section 3.12 is a sample of what should be included in the company’s training for Access Control Officers. The Government does not provide this training.

Q56: Section H.9.2 addresses the grandfathering of wages and benefits for local hires (RMI citizens and nationals) under Article VIII of the Military Use and Operating Rights Agreement (MUORA). Are there current RMI employees who would received grandfathered wages/ benefits under this agreement? If yes, please provide the grandfathered wages and benefits for these employees.

A56: 1 RMI that is grandfathered. Current grandfathered wage is $15.99 USD per hour.

Currently offered a $50K death benefit.

Q57: Section 4.21 of the PWS indicates the island can support up to 65 security personnel with housing provided through a mix of bachelor quarters (BQs) and family housing. Are dependents allowed to accompany employees who are assigned to the family housing units?

A57: Currently there are seven family housing units. If a key personnel position is assigned a family housing unit then they are authorized to bring dependents. Assignment of family housing units is based on priority: Chief of Security, Captain of the Guards, Human Relations Representative, DSC/E&E/Marine Lieutenant, and Kennel Master. ROI Lieutenant will be based on ROI and will have a bachelor quarter.

Q58: Section 1.4.6 of the PWS discusses the requirement to operate, update, and maintain the

CAC and EBS (badging) systems; however, there is no requirement for badging personnel on the staffing table in Part 7 of the PWS. Please clarify the staffing requirements for the personnel operating the CAC and EBS systems.

A58: The CAC and EBS systems should be manned 8-hours a day, 5 days a week (Tuesday-

Saturday). Paragraph 1.4.6 and Part 7 of the Performance Work Statement have been updated to reflect this. The Price Matrix is being revised to include this position. The Price Matrix will be released via amendment to the solicitation by 20 November 2020. *Updated Price Matrix-

Released with Amd 0005 on 18 November 2020.

Q59: In response to Question 4- since the USG specified that the Prime has to hold the

Facilities Clearance, does the same hold true for these certifications in that the Prime is required to hold these certifications to validate compliance? Or can the offeror validate compliance by showing we understand the requirements of the certifications as our partners hold the certifications and do this on a daily basis and they would be part of the management of those work areas of the PWS.

A59: Section L, L.3.2. states: ‘Offerors must provide validation of compliance with ANSI/ASIS

PSC.1-2012 American National Standard, Management System for Quality of Private Security

Company Operations- Requirements with Guidance or the International Standard ISO 18788, Management System for Private Security Operations- Requirements with Guidance.’ If proposing as a teaming arrangement, only the Prime shall provide evidence of validation of compliance. Section L, L.3.2. and Section M, M.3.2 have been updated to reflect this.

Q60: In review of the ANSI/ASIS PCS.1-2012 and ISO 18788 Quality Assurance Management

System (QAMS) standards, we have determined that there are various industry best practices and methods that could be used to meet the requirements in Sections L.3.2 and M.3.2. Please provide the Government’s expectation for validation and evidence of compliance with the

ANSI/ASIS PCS.1-2012 and ISO 18788 standards.

A60: Per Section L, L..3.2. Offerors must provide validation of compliance with ANSI/ASIS

PSC.1-2012 American National Standard, Management System for Quality of Private Security

Company Operations- Requirements with Guidance or the International Standard ISO 18788, Management System for Private Security Operations- Requirements with Guidance. Offerors shall provide evidence that they are in compliance with ANSI/ASIS PCS.1-2012 and ISO 18788.

Evidence of validation shall be in the form of a certificate of compliance, certificate of registration, statement of certification certified by an impartial third party to ensure all requirements of either ANSI/ASIS PSC.1-2012 or ISO 18788 are met by the offeror, or a statement of self-certification to ensure all requirements of either ANSI/ASIS PSC.1-2012 or

ISO 18788. Section L, L.3.2. and Section M, M.3.2 have been updated to reflect this.

Q61: The Section L.3.2 and Section M.3.2 Amendment 0004 updates do not reflect language relative to certifications being required for “Validation of Compliance.” Are we correct to interpret this to mean that bidders must validate compliance with ANSI/ASIS PSC.1-2102 or ISO

18788 standards in order to meet this requirement and are not required to hold ANSI/ASIS

PSC.1-2102 or ISO 18788 certifications?

A61: See response to Question 60.

Q62: Amendment 0004 Item 2 revised the period of performance to include a 90 day mobilization period rather than a 60 day period. The revised Section L document included with

Amendment 0004 still indicates a 60 day mobilization plan in Section L.4.1. The revised

Section M document included with Amendment 0004 also still indicates a 60 mobilization plan in Section M.4.1. Please confirm the mobilization period will be 90 days.

A62: The Mobilization Period will be 90 days. Amendment 0005 released on 18 November

2020 updated Section H, H.7.2 ; L.4.1.; and M.4.1. to reflect this.

Q63: Amendment 0004 and Section B Changes- Section L.3.3 of the solicitation states offerors must provide a completed and signed copy of the Solicitation including Sections A-K and any amendments. Amendment 0004 incorporated a change to CLINs 0003, 0003AA, 0003AB, and

0003AC. Further, upon review of the original section B and the changes from Amendment

0004, it was noted there are not separate CLINs for each contract period.

a. Will the Government provide a conformed copy of the solicitation for offerors to use when completing Sections A-K?

A63a: For sake of clarity the USG can provide a conformed copy but it is incumbent upon the

Contractor to ensure all amendments are acknowledged.

b. Please clarify how the Government would like Section B completed.

• Include the total 5 year price for each CLIN on the Section B

• Include only the Base Period cost for each CLIN on the Section B

• Do not complete Section B as it will be completed by the Government at the time of award

A63b: The Offeror’s Price Matrix will serve as the Offeror’s completion of Section B. Section L, L.3.3 and Section M, M.3.3 have been updated to reflect this.

Q64: Amendment 0004 – PWS Section 4.21, PWS Part 7, and Section L.- PWS Section 4.21 states the island can support 65 security personnel with housing provided as a mix of BQs and family housing units. Part 7 of the PWS indicates that the total position count cannot exceed 65 personnel. Finally Section L.6.3 states the offeror can increase the number of personnel up to a maximum total of 65. It seems the 65 personnel is based on the number of housing units and

BQs available on island; however, not all employees hired as local nationals would need leaving quarters. Should the PWS and Section L be revised to indicate a maximum of 65 employees requiring housing?

A64: The maximum total of 65 is for billeting limitations only and if an Offeror is proposing above 65 personnel the Offeror needs to specify how the number beyond 65 is being staffed

(i.e. U.S. Expat, Local National, Other Country National). PWS Section 4.21; PWS Part 7; Section

L, L.4.2.; and Section M, M.4.2. have been updated to reflect this.

Q65: Amendment 0004 – PWS Part 7- Based on our understanding of the current operations on

Kwajalein, there appears to be an increase of approximately 13 shifts per day required to meet the operational staffing in Part 7 of the PWS. The maximum number of authorized employees on island was not sufficiently increased to accommodate these extra shifts. Please confirm the staffing requirements specified in Part 7 of the PWS, as well as, the maximum number of personnel authorized on island.

A65: The staffing requirement provided in Part 7 of the PWS is the USG’s requirement. The shifts referenced within the Performance Work Statement are correct. A maximum of 65 people that require housing can be supported.

Q66: Part 7 of the PWS states the contractor is required to provide the minimum manning (50 shifts per day) factoring into account days off, leave, emergencies, illness, strikes, attrition, or other factors. Further, Part 7 of the PWS indicates that the total position count cannot exceed

65 personnel. Taking into account the unproductive time identified above, as well as, accounting for personnel to provide mission support it is nearly impossible to provide the required service with 65 or less employees.

The table below details the hours required based on Part 7 of the PWS.

Position

Emp Hrs/ Day

Days / Yr

Total Hrs

Chief of Guards 1 8 260 2080

Captain of Guards 1 8 260 2080

Interpreter/RMI Liaison 1 8 260 2080

Property Control Manager 1 8 260 2080

Human Relations Representative 1 8 260 2080

Kennel Master 1 8 260 2080

Sergeant K9 Handler* 3 8 260 6240

CPS - Sergeant 2 12 365 8760

CPS - Security Officer 4 12 365 17520

CPS - CAC/EBS System Operator 1 8 260 2080

E&E - Lieutenant 1 8 260 2080

E&E - Sergeant 1 9.5 312 2964

E&E - Security Officer 2 9.5 312 5928

E&E - Access Control Officer 4 9.5 312 11856

DSC - Lieutenant 1 8 260 2080

DSC - Sergeant 2 12 365 8760

DSC - Security Officer 4 12 365 17520

DSC - Access Control Officer 6 12 365 26280

ROI - Lieutenant 1 8 260 2080

ROI - Sergeant 2 12 365 8760

ROI - Boat Operator 1 8 260 2080

ROI - Security Officer 2 12 365 8760

ROI - Access Control Officer - Deckhand 1 8 260 2080

ROI - Access Control Officer 4 12 365 17520

Marine - Lieutenant 1 8 260 2080

Marine - Access Control Officer - Deckhand 1 8 260 2080

Total Base Operations 50

169988

Mission Support (2 wks, 12 times/yr) 4 24 168 16128

Total Mission Support 4 16128

Total Required Contract Hours 186116

Each employee would have to work more than 60 hours per week to keep staffing at or below

65 personnel if you were to assume the following minimal unproductive time.

• 80 holiday hours per employee

• 80 PTO hours per employee

• 40 hours of annual training per employee

• Additional hours required to backfill vacancies, emergency leave, etc.

Having armed personnel consistently work this type of extended schedule increases risks to the

Government to include but not limited to officer fatigue, increased turnover, decreased response times etc.

a. Is it the Government’s intent for the contractor to have all employees work a minimum of 60 hours per week?

A66a: The Government’s intent is for the Contractor to staff to the required staffing levels listed in Part 7 of the Performance Work Statement, within the constraints of the Terms and

Conditions of the contract resulting from this solicitation.

b. Will the Government confirm the staffing requirements specified in Part 7 of the PWS, as well as, the maximum number of personnel authorized on island.

A66b: Please see response to Question 65.

Q67: Amendment 0005 – Attachment 0004 Price Matrix- The price matrix has all positions required to work 8 hours per day T-Sat at 260 days per year. Part 7 of the PWS indicates that service for these posts is not required on Federal holidays. Based on our calculation, the days per year would equal 250 (5 days per week * 52 weeks per year – 10 holidays = 250 days).

Please confirm the number of days per year for position working an 8 hour shift T-Sat excluding federal holidays.

A67: The total days per year for Option Year 1 - 4 in the Price Matrix have been revised to reflect a total number of days per year to be 250 (which reflects 10 federal holidays where services are not required). The Base Year, will remain 170 total days (260 total days minus 90 days for mobilization), for evaluation purposes, as the number of Holidays that fall during full performance is dependent on when contract award is made, and when mobilization is complete. Thus the USG will keep all offerors equal by evaluating all 170 days, and adjusting after award when POP's are firmly established.

Q68: Amendment 0005 – Attachment 0004 Price Matrix- The number of days listed for the base period on the price matrix, appears to take the days per year from a full 12 months and subtracts 90. For example, the Government lists the days per year in option periods 1-4 as 260 for the Chief of Security and 170 days per year in the base period (260 days – 90 days of transition = 170 days). Since this position is not required 7 days per week it would seem the number of days subtracted for the mobilization period would be less than 90. Please confirm the number of days per year required for all positions in the base period.

A68: The Mobilization Period of 90 days is a fixed transition period and therefore this number would not be reduced. As an example to respond to this question, the Chief of Security works 5 days per week. 5 days per week multiplied by 52 weeks per year is 260 days. However, the 260 days is reduced by 90 days for the Base year due to mobilization as the Contractor is expected to be FOC and assume responsibility of the contract on day 91. Therefore, during the first year of the contract the Chief of Security will only be working 170 days.

Q69: Amendment 0005 – Attachment 0004 Price Matrix- The number of days per year listed on the price matrix does not take into account the actual days per year (i.e. 261 week days or 366 days during a leap year). Please confirm the actual days per year that are required for all positions in each contract period.

A69: Please see response to Question 67. The Number of Days column for Option Period 3 in the Price Matrix has been updated to take into account the leap year.

Q70: Amendment 0005 – Attachment 0004 Price Matrix- There seems to be a flaw in the methodology used to calculate the total price per subCLIN on the Price Matrix.

For example, there is a requirement for 6 Sergeant posts that will be required 12 hours per day

7 days per week. We understand that more than 6 people will be needed to fill these requirements as an individual employee will not work 7 days per week, 365 days per year.

The price matrix requires offerors to enter the number employees they intend to hire for each position in column I, as well as, a daily rate for each position in column H. In order to ensure all

Sergeant posts are covered the number of employees entered in Column I by the offeror will likely be greater than 6.

The total price per subCLIN equals the daily rate the offer enters in column H * number of personnel the offer enters in column I * the number of days per year provided by the

Government in column G. This results in an overstatement of cost since not all employees entered in column I will work all days listed in column G (365 days per year in this example).

Since the requirement is based on the position minimum quantity per subCLIN provided by the

Government in column D, it would not matter how many people the offerer hired as the total cost would be for 6 positions, 12 hours per day, 365 days per year.

Will the Government modify the Price Matrix to calculate the total cost per SubCLIN as the

Position Minimum Quantity per SubCLIN in column D * Position Daily Rate in column H * day per year in column G? Offerors could still provide the total personnel required in column I for informational purposes only so the Government can ensure the maximum quantity of personnel is not exceeded.

A70: The Price Matrix has been revised to remove the ‘Total Personnel Required’ column.

Q71: Questions and Answers – 27- The Government’s response to question 27 states contractors shall quarantine for 14 days in Hawaii and then quarantine for 21 days upon arrival to Kwajalein. It further states these restrictions are subject to change and may be different at time of award. This 5 week quarantine period is a substantial cost and there is no timeframe on when it will end. Since the requirements for Covid-19 are ever-changing and there is no way to know if the additional expenses will be required for a portion of the base period or the entire life of the contract, would the Government consider adding a cost type CLIN that will cover

Covid-19 related expenses?

A71: The Price Matrix has been revised to include a COVID-19 Restriction of Movement CLIN for

Mobilization and De-Mobilization for the Base Period.

Q72: Will the government please confirm that the current anticipated start of mobilization is January 1, 2021 and the anticipated start of full performance is April 1, 2021.

A72: The USG is unable to provide a firm mobilization start date. Please reference Amendment

0004, Paragraph 2 of the Solicitation.

Q73: Amendment 0006, Question and Answer 60; The answer to the referenced question states "Evidence of validation shall be in the form of a certificate of compliance, certificate of registration, or similar that is certified by an impartial third party to ensure all requirements of either ANSI/ASIS PSC 1.1-2012 or ISO 18788 are met by the offeror. Section L, L.3.2 and Section M, M.3.2 have been updated to reflect this." Based on our review, the ANSI/ASIS PSC.1-2012 standard expressly states that third-party certification is not required and that first-party verification is acceptable. See ANSI/ASIS PSC.1-2012 C.2 ("Internal audits may form the basis for an organization's self-declaration of conformity."), D ("Verification may be by an acceptable first-, second-, or third-party mechanism. Verification does not require third-party certification."). The updated requirement for third-party certification conflicts with ANSI/ASIS PSC.1-2012. Please confirm that third-party certification is not required and offerors may self-declare conformity based on internal audit per ANSI/ASIS PSC.2012.

A73: Please see response to Question 60 and Section L, L.3.2., and Section M, M.3.2.

Q74: Will the Army grant an interim clearance and allow an 8(a) company without a security clearance to respond to this requirement?

A74: The Government will not grant an interim facility clearance.

This is the start of the file's text. The full file is on GovTribe.

File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .