36C26226Q1206 - Questions and Answers.pdf
PDF 92 KB Posted
- Attached to
- R425--RFQ AMENDMENT | POSTING Q&A'S | SBAR APPROVED | Fire Sprinkler Inspection, Maintenance & Repairs
- Solicitation number
- 36C26226Q1206
About this file
This is a Questions & Answers document for a fire sprinkler inspection contract (36C26226Q1206) issued by the Veterans Affairs (VA). The document clarifies requirements and specifications for annual and five-year fire sprinkler and standpipe inspections across a VA campus.
Key service requirements include quarterly annual inspections conducted to minimize disruption to construction operations and patient care, with all buildings on the same five-year inspection cycle due September 1, 2030. The VA campus includes Building #1 (main hospital) and Building #26 (new, unfinished), plus additional buildings, with equipment inventories of 98 tamper switches, 69 flow switches, approximately 3 pressure switches, 12 main drains, 3 FDC outlets in Building #1 and 1 outlet in other buildings, and 12 hydrants requiring annual flow testing in September. The contract requires inspections based on NFPA 25 standards and includes removal and testing of 50 sprinkler heads (various makes and models including QR and STD types in chrome and brass). EST 3 certification exempts vendors from using pre-approved fire alarm companies for panel support. Vendors must submit itemized invoices based on contract line items and submit all reports to the San Diego Compliance Engine per contract requirements. The solicitation does not specify whether quarterly testing and sprinkler head visuals occur in a single quarter or distributed across all four quarters; vendors must address this in their proposals. Prior contract reference is 36C26223P2537. Four of seven received offers correctly followed submission instructions, which require four separate "Factor" PDF documents and acknowledgment of amendments.
View the file
Other files
| File | Type | Posted |
|---|---|---|
| 36C26226Q1206 0001_1.docx | DOCX document | |
| Final Questions and Answers.docx | DOCX document | |
| S02 - RFQ - 36C26226Q1206 - Fire Sprinkler.pdf | ||
| VA10091.pdf | ||
| W-9 Form.pdf | ||
| FMS Vendor File Update Request Form.pdf | ||
| 36C26226Q1206_1.docx | DOCX document |
On GovTribe
Work with this file
- Download the original file
- Contacts named in this file
- Similar government files
- Ask GovTribe AI about this file
Text version
Fire Sprinkler Inspections 36C26226Q1206
Questions & Answers
PG. 37 has the annual broken up over three months. This job should not take three months for annuals; can we do all the annuals in one month? Unfortunately, no, quarterly is required to minimize impact to construction operations in support of patient care.
How many tamper switches are there? 98 + Bldg. 26
How many flow switches are there? 69 + Bldg. 26
How many pressure switches are there? Approximately 3
How many FDCs are there and how many outlets per? 3 for Bldg. 1, 1 for the other bldgs.
Number of main drains? 12 + Bldg. 26
Can we get a copy of previous reports? What are trying to pull from the old reports?
Page 36 states there are 12 hydrants on the campus, but page 38 does not have us inspecting them. Are we doing annual flow on the hydrants? If so what month are they due? Yes. September.
How many hose racks are there to inspect? 0
Can the VA provide a pre-bid site visit for this project so we can see all existing conditions? Yes.
Do you want your inspections based on NFPA 25? Yes
What is the total contract amount for the previous 5-year contract? Contract Number? Reference Contract No. 36C26223P2537. Requested information can be found on SAM.gov.
Could the Government please provide the make, model, and type of the fifty (50) sprinkler heads that are to be removed and sent out for testing under Task 4?
Varies, a few examples: 155° QR ½” chrome SSP, 155 STD ½” chrome SSP, 165° STD ½” chrome SSP, 200° QR ½” chrome SSP, 200° STD 1” x 12” chrome dry pendant, 200° QR 1” x 12” chrome dry pendant, 155° QR ½” brass SSP. Various trims/escutcheons and makes.
When are the 5-year sprinkler/standpipe inspections due? What year and month?
9/1/2030.
Are all buildings on the campus on the same 5-year schedule cycle? Yes.
Fire Sprinkler Inspections 36C26226Q1206
Questions & Answers
If a vendor is already an EST certified vendor/distributor do you still have to use the pre-approved fire alarm companies to assist with panel support including Everon, HCI, and TRL? No, if EST 3 cert provided.
When referring to page 35, will fire sprinkler heads need to be pulled for lab testing every annual inspection even if they haven’t reached their respective 20, 25, or 50-year threshold? Or can we lab tested heads when each head is due? Do not include lab testing in proposal. Annual testing identifies. Repairs are separate.
The main hospital (Building #1) is not listed on page 36 under the building list. Will Building #1 be included in the contract? Also, will the new building #26 be included in the contract even though it is not finished? Bldg. 1 and 26 will be included. All campus buildings.
Does the vendor need to provide a full itemized list of material/parts with individual line items for any invoice? Or total fixed cost price will suffice? Per contract requirements (SD SME)
Invoicing is done based on the line items outlined within the contract. (Contracting)
Will the vendor be required to submit all required reports to the San Diego Compliance Engine including the associated fees? What do you mean by fees?
Reports are required to be submitted per the contract.
Since the “annual” sprinkler/standpipe inspections will be divided up into quarterlies scattered across 12-months, will all testing occur in the same quarter or take place in portions across each quarterly? Same thing with the sprinkler head visuals, will all of these occur during one quarter or divided up amongst the 4 quarters? The solicitation does not specify. Please, state in your proposal how you will achieve the requirements.
Can you share specifically the information that was not followed by offerors in the instructions? The common errors, but not limited to, were not having the four separate “Factor” PDF documents as outlined on pages 48 & 49 of the RFQ and not acknowledging the amendments.
And how many total offers were received that did correctly follow the instructions versus total offers received that did not correctly follow the instructions? Four out of seven followed the instructions, but again the formal evaluation phase did not happen, therefore, these are not official numbers.
File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .