36C25026R0092 0001 Questions.pdf
PDF 480 KB Posted
- Attached to
- Ohio Wide Water Testing
- Solicitation number
- 36C25026R0092
About this file
This is an Amendment to a Previous Combined Solicitation consisting of Questions and Answers related to a firm-fixed-price Indefinite Delivery Indefinite Quantity (IDIQ) contract for water quality testing and related services at Veterans Affairs (VA) medical centers in Ohio and Kentucky.
The Department of Veterans Affairs, Network Contracting Office 10 (Kettering, OH) is soliciting proposals under Solicitation Number 36C25026R0092 with a response deadline of September 29, 2026, at 2:00 PM Eastern Time. This is a 100% Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Business (SDVOSB) set-aside contract with a Product Service Code of F103 and NAICS code 561210. The contract will be structured as an IDIQ with task orders issued by the Contracting Officer for site-specific work at five VA medical centers (Cleveland, Cincinnati, Columbus, Dayton, and Chillicothe, Ohio, plus Fort Thomas campus in Kentucky). Contractors must provide per-test pricing for all services, with task orders ranging from a $100 minimum to $200,000 maximum, and a contract ceiling of $6 million over the base year plus four option years. The scope encompasses routine weekly, monthly, and quarterly water quality testing including Legionella culture analysis (requiring CDC ELITE certification and ISO 11731 accreditation), sterile processing system (SPS) water testing per AAMI ST108:2023, potable water field testing, cooling tower testing, dental waterline testing, and supplemental/ad-hoc sampling. Laboratory analysis must be performed by accredited facilities with appropriate certifications. Field parameters (temperature, pH, oxidant residual) must be reported on the day of collection, while Legionella results must be reported within 10 days of laboratory receipt and presumptive positives within 24 hours. The price/cost schedule requires contractors to submit unit prices for individual tests plus any additional mobilization, site visit, or service charges, with historical annual volume estimates provided by facility for pricing reference. Required insurance includes general liability of $500,000 per occurrence, workers' compensation, and automobile liability of $200,000. The solicitation permits contractors to propose alternative pricing structures and separately priced mobilization charges; analyses may be allocated across multiple accredited laboratories provided each is certified for its assigned methods.
View the file
Other files
| File | Type | Posted |
|---|---|---|
| PPQ Example.docx | DOCX document | |
| 36C25026R0092 Amended.pdf | ||
| PriceCost Schedule Updated.xlsx | XLSX spreadsheet | |
| 1116(2)_D_2023-07-17.pdf | ||
| BuildingSamples.xlsx | XLSX spreadsheet | |
| ChillerSamples.xlsx | XLSX spreadsheet | |
| 1061(4)_D_2021-02-16.pdf | ||
| 36C25026R0092.pdf | ||
| PriceCost Schedule.xlsx | XLSX spreadsheet | |
| AAMI ST108-2023 Water for the processing of medical devices (002).pdf |
On GovTribe
Work with this file
- Download the original file
- Contacts named in this file
- Similar government files
- Ask GovTribe AI about this file
Text version
Amendment to a Previous Combined Solicitation
*= Required Field Amendment to a Previous Combined Solicitation
SUBJECT* Amendment with Questions and Answers
GENERAL INFORMATION
CONTRACTING OFFICE’S ZIP CODE* 45409-1337
SOLICITATION NUMBER* 36C25026R0092
RESPONSE DATE/TIME/ZONE 09-29-2026 2:00pm EASTERN TIME, NEW YORK, USA
ARCHIVE 60 DAYS AFTER THE RESPONSE DATE
RECOVERY ACT FUNDS N
SET-ASIDE SDVOSBC
PRODUCT SERVICE CODE* F103
NAICS CODE* 561210
CONTRACTING OFFICE ADDRESS Department of Veterans Affairs
Network Contracting Office 10
3140 Governor's Place Blvd
Suite 210
Kettering OH 45409-1337
POINT OF CONTACT*
Contract Specialist & Contracting Officer
Jennifer.Nowak@va.gov (CS)
Thomas.Bellamy@va.gov (CO)
PLACE OF PERFORMANCE
ADDRESS Department of Veterans Affairs
Network Contracting Office (NCO) 10
3140 Governor's Place Blvd. Suite 210
Kettering OH
POSTAL CODE 45409-1337
COUNTRY USA
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
AGENCY’S URL https://www.va.gov
URL DESCRIPTION Department of Veterans Affairs
AGENCY CONTACT’S EMAIL ADDRESS
EMAIL DESCRIPTION
DESCRIPTION
This will be set up as a FFP IDIQ. So, you provide pricing per test to give an idea of what your company charges to come out and do that test. Each site will place a “task order” on what tests they want a week, month, incident and that document will be sent to the contractor. I expect a routine to happen where the awardee is showing up to each site regularly to do certain tests every week, month, quarter based on what each site needs/orders with retesting done on an as needed basis task order.
An IDIQ is a flexible and popular way for the government to buy goods or services when the exact timing or quantities are uncertain. Contractors use IDIQs to receive multiple orders over the life of the contract, responding to needs as they come up. In the past we have done a regular, firm-fixed price contract which has caused us to do a lot of increase and decrease documents because figuring out the retesting is such an as needed/unknown situation.
This will be set up as a FFP IDIQ. So, you provide pricing per test to give an idea of what your company charges to come out and do that test. Each site will place a “task order” on what tests they want a week, month, incident and that document will be sent to the contractor. I expect a routine to happen where the awardee is showing up to each site regularly to do certain tests every week, month, quarter based on what each site needs/orders with retesting done on an as needed basis task order. An IDIQ is a flexible and popular way for the government to buy goods or services when the exact timing or quantities are uncertain. Contractors use IDIQs to receive multiple orders over the life of the contract, responding to needs as they come up. In the past we have done a regular, firm-fixed price contract which has caused us to do a lot of increase and decrease documents because figuring out the retesting is such an as needed/unknown situation.
Question and Answers:
1. Weekly sampling locations: Which facilities/buildings require the weekly potable water testing (10 hot, 10 cold, plus incoming supply), and which facilities/cooling towers require weekly cooling tower field testing?
Answer1. Each site is a different size I expect each site to adhere to the directives and order weekly testing per the VHA directives. I would read over the attachment to gain better understanding of mandatory weekly testing. We are trying to get each site mentioned on the list on a regular weekly, monthly and quarterly routine order with as needed additional retesting (when a spot fails and needs treatment then retesting to ensure it showing correct levels) per the directive.
2. Weekly 10/10 requirement: Is the weekly 10 hot / 10 cold / incoming supply requirement per medical center campus, per qualifying building, or per task order?
Answer2. Please provide what your per test price would be to come to any of these Ohio sites and provide this service.
3. Weekly pricing: For the weekly 10 hot / 10 cold / incoming field testing, which Price/Cost Schedule line item(s) should offerors use to price each outlet reading?
Answer3. The Price/Cost schedule line items were provided as probable needs from each site.
Please provide a per test price to come perform these services and if you wish you can use the blank lines at the bottom to add your proposal for example – “10/10 weekly per site cost = $X.”
4. Field personnel: Are any Ohio-specific licenses or certifications required for contractor personnel performing sample collection and on-site field testing, separate from the laboratory accreditation requirements?
Answer4. Ohio-specific licenses or certifications for sample collection –
5. Option year CLINs: In Section B.3, the Option 1–4 CLIN descriptions do not match the Base year. For example, 0001AA (2,500) is Quarterly Environmental Validation, 1001AA (2,500) is Non-Routine testing, and 2001AA–4001AA (2,500) are Routine Cooling Tower. Quarterly Environmental Validation does not appear in Options 1–4. Please confirm whether these changes are intentional. If not, please provide the corrected CLIN descriptions and quantities for each option year.
Answer5. I will look at the CLIN structure and put it in the formal amendment I post in SAM.gov
6. Order limitations: The SOW states a $100 minimum and $200,000 maximum per task order;
clause 52.216-19 states a $1,000 minimum and $1,500,000 maximum. Which governs?
Answer6: Governs - $100.00 minimum and $200,000.00 maximum with a contract ceiling of $6 million.
7. Insurance: The Quote Preparation Instructions reference limits in a Supplemental Insurance Requirements clause. We could not locate that clause in the solicitation. What general liability limits are required?
Answer7. 52.228-5 Insurance – work on a government installation is the clause included in this RFQ. The administrative items says “current liability insurance” as we expect your company to have the typical business insurance – workers’ compensation (state required), General Liability typical minimum 500,000 per occurrence, professional/business liability your company may have that are applicable. Just an expectation that as a business you have the insurance you should have there is no extra insurance you would need to carry to provide these services.
8: The attached Price/Cost Schedule contains approximately 94 unit-price line items with no quantities and no ordering-period columns. The Basis for Award states that Total Contract Value will be evaluated by "summing all CLINs/SLINs across all ordering periods listed in the Price/Cost Schedule." Will the Government publish the evaluation quantities or weighted it will apply to each line item, and will those be applied identically to all offerors?
Answer8. The instruction page of the cost/price analysis excel sheet states please try to provide a per test/service cost so that we can use that as a comparison price factor. We will look at the total proposal presented as stated in the basis for award section and price analysis initial review, TCV and evaluation outcome listed in the instructions. This will be applied identically to all offeror’s proposal submission packets.
9: Section B.3 establishes SLINs 0001AA through 0001AG with annual estimated quantities (2,500 / 2,000 / 400 / 60 / 1,500 / 1,000 / 1,000). Are offerors to complete unit prices in the SF
1449 Item Information schedule, the Excel Price/Cost Schedule, or both? If both, please provide the crosswalk identifying which Excel line items roll up under each SLIN.
Answer9. Section B.3 “annual estimated quantities” is to give you an idea of historical quantities required by all of these sites combined to understand the scope of servicing all the sites on one IDIQ contract. The instructions requested contractors use the Cost/Price excel sheet to present prices per test. If you would like to add them up and use the SLINs in B.3 you can show a total picture or you can simply present the price/cost sheet.
10: CLIN 0001 is stated as 1.00 YR for "on site water testing, sample collection, analysis, results management." Is this a separately priced annual amount for program management, or an unpriced parent line to SLINs 0001AA–AG?
Answer10. CLIN 0001 is an unpriced parent line to SLINs 0001AA-AG.
11: The Instructions tab directs that each unit price include "test cost + site visit + test to lab + reports." Under an IDIQ where a single retest may be ordered at one building, this loads a full mobilization into one unit price. Will the Government accept a separately priced mobilization/site-visit line item, with test prices quoted as analysis and reporting only? If not, what minimum number of samples per site visit should offerors assume for pricing?
Answer11. The government will accept a separately priced mobilization/site visit line item with test prices quoted as analysis and reporting only. I left room for that at the bottom with lines you can add for additional costs/items and in the tab that says, “your equivalent test”. IDIQs are built more for a minimum $ dollar amount and a maximum.
12: The Potable Water Quality Analysis section requires weekly testing of 10 hot outlets and 10 cold outlets, plus the incoming supply, for temperature, pH and oxidant residual. Please clarify whether this is 20 outlets plus incoming supply per building or per site. This materially changes the level of effort: at 20 outlets plus incoming supply per site, a sampling visit is approximately one to two hours; applied per building, the time scales with the number of buildings at each medical center and requires a different staffing model.
Answer12. Please clarify if the potable water quality analysis is 10/10+ or 20+ per building or per site –
13: Please confirm that the weekly potable water requirement covers only the three listed field parameters (temperature, pH, oxidant residual) with no laboratory analysis, consistent with the requirement that results be provided on the day of collection.
Answer13. Confirm that weekly potable water requirement covers (temperature, pH, oxidant residual) with no lab analysis provided day of collection -
14: If the weekly requirement applies per building, applying it across the buildings named in the SOW yields approximately 18,000 samples per year, against total estimated SLIN quantities of 8,460 per year in Section B.3. Please confirm which figure offerors should rely on for pricing.
Answer14. weekly requirement – 18,000 samples per year or 8460 per year in B.3 –
15: Please provide, for each of the five medical centers: the number of buildings requiring quarterly environmental validation (buildings with overnight stays); the number of cooling towers subject to weekly testing; the number of dental waterlines; and the number of SPS/AER/RO-DI sample points. The SOW states each medical center will furnish sample point lists prior to commencement of work; offerors cannot size staffing, supplies or pricing without at least the counts.
Answer15: Five Medical Centers – number of buildings requiring quarterly environmental validation (buildings with overnight stays) the number of cooling towers subject to weekly testing, number of dental waterlines, number of SPS/AER/RO-DI sample points –
16: The Cincinnati VA Medical Center's Fort Thomas Campus is located in Kentucky. Please confirm it is within scope.
Answer16. Ft. Thomas is currently considered in scope BUT as mentioned several times in the RFQ – “The Government reserves the right to add or remove any additional Medical Centers, CBOCs, or other facilities to the contract as they become available. Furthermore, the Government reserves the right to add, increase, or decrease the number of facilities, or users to allow for fluctuations of client demand that are otherwise unknown at time of solicitation.
Vendors are advised that VA reorganization may necessitate adding additional locations to, or deleting existing locations from, this contract in the future. Any such additions and/or deletions will be complete by bilateral modification.”
17: Non-routine testing requires sampling within three business days following notice to proceed. Please confirm this clock begins on the COR's written notice and applies uniformly across all five sites, including travel between Cleveland and Cincinnati.
Answer17. The COR will never give written notice on a contract action they are not authorized to issue contracts or task orders on a contract. The COR will communicate to the Contracting Officer they need a task order issued, and the contractor will be notified immediately.
18: The SOW states four different reporting timelines: preliminary positive results to the COR within 24 hours; the analytical report within 10 days of sample receipt; final results within 2 weeks of completion of sampling; and, under Reporting and Deliverables, electronic submission within 30 calendar days (routine) or 10 days (dental). Please identify the single enforceable standard for each test type, as these will be measured against the Quality Control Plan.
Answer18. As these are different items – while testing if you have a preliminary positive results please provide that information to COR within 24 hours so they can schedule retesting needs, analytical reports within 10 days of receipt, final results in 2 weeks and under reporting and deliverables within 30 days (routine) or 10 days dental.
19: Legionella by culture requires approximately seven full days of incubation, plus a minimum of two additional days for subculture and confirmation — an inherent minimum of roughly ten days to a reportable result, independent of contractor performance. Please confirm that the 10-day reporting standard runs from laboratory receipt of the sample, not from date of collection.
Answer19. the 10-day reporting requirement for results begins from date the laboratory receives the sample not date of collection – VHA Directive 1061, Appendix C, Section 5.
20: The SOW requires reporting to 1 CFU/mL for potable water and up to 3,000 CFU/mL "without conducting additional sampling or charges." Please confirm the required sample volume per Legionella sample, the concentration volume expected to achieve a 1 CFU/mL detection limit, and the required action when a result exceeds 3,000 CFU/mL.
Answer20. Please read the provided VHA Directives provided as requested for this question in particular see Appendix C and D and Table 3 of the VHA Directive 1061.
21: The SOW cites both AAMI TIR34:2014 and AAMI ST108-2023, the latter attached. ST108 supersedes TIR34 and revises water categories and action levels. Please confirm that ST108- 2023 governs sterile processing water testing, and identify which ST108 tables — including the annual Table 2 panel — are required at each site.
Answer21. As you mentioned, AAMI ST108-2023 supersedes TIR34 and is therefore what governs ST108. AAMI TIR34:2014 is not prescriptive, just another tool or guidance.
22: What documentation of laboratory certification does the Government require with the quotation — CDC ELITE listing, A2LA/AIHA-EMLAP/NELAP certificate, the accreditation scope document, or additional evidence?
Answer22. Documentation of laboratory certification required – name, location of lab allows us to go on the cdc.gov and see that the lab is certified or if you have copies of your labs certification that can be provided on your proposal.
23: The SOW requires overnight shipment on the day of collection with delivery by noon the following day, routine sampling Monday through Thursday, and samples not stored more than 72 hours. Please confirm whether the 72-hour period runs from collection or from laboratory receipt, and confirm that Friday is excluded from routine sampling.
Answer23. VHA Directive 1061 - Appendix C, under Sample Collection and Handling, is the section that specifies water samples should NOT be stored for more than 72 hours after collection before being cultured.
24: Will the Government accept same-day ground courier delivery to a laboratory within driving distance of the site in lieu of overnight air shipment, where this results in equal or shorter time to receipt?
Answer24. How your business gets samples to your lab is not something the government feels are necessary to dictate.
25: The Price/Cost Schedule includes 55-gallon drums of oxidizing biocide, tower inhibitor and non-oxidizing biocide, along with test strips, free chlorine reagents and copper/copper-silver test kits. Please confirm whether the contractor is expected to supply and deliver water treatment chemicals and consumables to the facilities, and whether the contractor performs any water treatment, chemical feed, or treatment program design — or whether the scope is testing, reporting and consumable supply only.
Answer25. These are water treatment chemicals. If you would like to make a line item separate you can propose that in your proposal – for example 55-gallon drum of oxidizing biocide costs $X, perform water treatment by servicing with 55-gallon drum of oxidizing biocide costs $Y.
26: If chemical supply is in scope, please confirm responsibility for chemical feed equipment, safety data sheet management, hazardous materials shipping and on-site storage.
Answer26. At this point the sites are simply asking that the chemicals be delivered. They are expecting to treat the water themselves at this time.
27: The Price/Cost Schedule includes a line for "Corrective Actions." Please define the intended scope. Does this mean written corrective action recommendations and post-remediation verification testing, or does it include physical remediation such as flushing, thermal disinfection, hyperchlorination or point-of-use filtration?
Answer27. The “corrective actions” was meant to provide remediation such as administering the oxidizing biocide mentioned above if that becomes a need for some sites with staffing changes. There are also some blank lines if you need to add a cost for written corrective action recommendations, but I see that falling more under the provide recommendations documents.
28: Regarding the requirement to note mixing valve installation where temperature exceeds 110°F: please confirm the contractor is to record observed conditions and consult the facility point of contact and is not expected to render engineering determinations regarding mixing valve configuration.
Answer28. Section 6, VHA Directive 1061 (e3) “in areas where outlet temperatures exceed 110’F or 43’C the presence of thermostatic mixing values or “point of use” mixing valves must be verified and documented “Appendix B Section 4 – “when the temperature at an outlet exceeds 110’F the presence, absence, and apparent type of any mixing valve(s) must be documented. & “for outlets where the hot water temperature is above the maximum limit, the presence of mixing valves, point-of-use mixing valves, or other temperature control devices must be documented. Such findings should be reported to the facility’s water safety team” or in this case your site COR/POC.
29: The SOW states "The facility shall collect the dental waterline samples," while the Price/Cost Schedule includes contractor non-routine dental waterline sampling per event.
Please confirm that routine dental samples are collected by VA staff using contractor-furnished kits, with the contractor providing kits, analysis and reporting, and that contractor collection applies only to non-routine events.
Answer29. Because this is an IDIQ – task orders can and will be placed against it to a. order kits and b. order testing on site as needed in varied quantities. Which is why the price/cost schedule is set up as each to provide fair comparison.
30: Please provide the number of dental waterlines per clinic at each site, as the 10 percent annual non-routine allowance is calculated from total samples per clinic.
Answer30. Dental waterlines per clinic at each site –
31: Will VA staff provide escort and access to mechanical rooms, patient rooms and other secured areas, and how will the Government treat instances where scheduled access is unavailable?
Answer31. VA staff will provide escort and access to all areas as mentioned.
32: The SOW requires storage of environmental isolates for at least four years following positive results. No corresponding line item appears in the Price/Cost Schedule. Should isolate storage be priced within the Legionella unit price, or under "Other Costs"?
Answer32. VHA Directive 1061 Appendix C Section 7 Storage of Legionella Isolates – “Purified legionella isolates must be archived for at least 4 years…” you can provide your proposal cost for this however works best for you. If I have questions about where this cost is in all proposals received, I will reach out to that contractor and ask to ensure fair comparison.
33: The SOW states that "only successfully analyzed/reported samples may be invoiced."
Please confirm the treatment of samples that cannot be analyzed for reasons outside the contractor's control — denied or unavailable site access, an outlet out of service, mis-collection by facility staff, or carrier failure — and whether a return trip to re-collect is separately payable.
Answer33. Sometimes vials/samples are broken in transit. If a sample cannot be analyzed due to factors such as unavailable site access, outlets out of service, mis collection by facility staff, samples that cannot be analyzed or reported they should not be billed as successfully completed samples. However, the return trip, re-collection, etc will probably be invoiced.
34: The Quote Preparation Instructions reference a terms and conditions and amendment concurrence template "provided in Appendix C." Appendix C is not included in the posted package. Please provide it, as failure to submit this certification is stated to result in immediate exclusion from award consideration.
Answer34. Appendix C was not there but is now on page 65.
35: The Quote Preparation Instructions reference "the Supplemental Insurance Requirements clause." That clause is not included in the posted package. Please provide it and state the required general liability limits applicable to the prime contractor and to subcontractors.
Answer35. VAAR 852.228-71 – has been added.
36: Past Performance may be submitted as "three (3) Past Performance Questionnaires or three (3) client references." No PPQ form is attached. Please provide the form or confirm that client references alone are acceptable.
Answer36. PPQ form – where to find – see updated attachments.
37: Please confirm whether page limits apply to the Technical volume or the Past Performance volume.
Answer37. I don’t believe I stated any “page limits” on technical volume or past performance volume. I did request that the items be together in volumes to identify what is administrative and what is technical and listed the limitations that might occur due to emailing large documents and how to navigate that.
38: Reference: SOLICITATION pp. 1, 27-29, 67-74; SF 1449 blocks 10 and 14. The solicitation is marked RFP and 100% SDVOSB set aside, while the instructions repeatedly refer to quotations, comparative evaluation under RFO 12.203, and a preference scheme allowing VOSBs and other small businesses. Please confirm the solicitation procedure and whether only
SBA-certified SDVOSBs are eligible for award. Please amend the evaluation language to remove inconsistent eligibility and preference statements.
Answer 38: 100% SDVOSB set aside.
I know the FAR is in flux right now but if you go here https://www.acquisition.gov/far-overhaul/far-part-deviation-guide/far-overhaul-part-12#FAR_Subpart_12_2 and look at 12.202 Publicizing it says that we are more commonly going to be using Combined Synopsis/Solicitation format on GPE (SAM.gov) and solicitations can be issued in RFP, RFP, IFB and 12.203 goes on to inform on how to conduct Evaluations. I can post an amendment to change this solicitation to an RFQ but it would not change anything else.
39: Reference: SOLICITATION pp. 27-28, 69-72. Section C.1 lists four technical subfactors, including Reporting and Tracking, and requires a passing rating for all four. The later evaluation text lists only three but still requires a passing rating of four; the preparation instructions omit a separate Reporting and Tracking response. Please identify the controlling subfactors and required technical volume content
Answer39: the instructions ask that you include in your proposal/submission how you will conduct reporting and tracking on these test results. I will look at this and include clear understanding in the amendment I will post later today.
40: Reference: SOLICITATION pp. 27, 69-71, 74; C.10 pp. 41-42. The submission instructions refer to Appendix C and a “Supplemental Insurance Requirements” clause, neither of which is identifiable in the supplied SOLICITATION or workbook. The evaluation provisions also differ as to whether a separately signed and dated limitations-on-subcontracting certification is required or signature of SF 1449 suffices. Please provide the missing documents, state the required insurance limits for the prime and subcontractors, and list exactly which forms and signatures are mandatory at proposal submission
Answer40: 52.228-5 Insurance – work on a government installation is on the RFQ but I will be adding in the amendment the below –
SUPPLEMENTAL INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS
In accordance with FAR 28.307-2 and FAR 52.228-5, the following minimum coverage shall apply to this contract:
(a) Workers' compensation and employers liability: Contractors are required to comply with applicable Federal and State workers' compensation and occupational disease statutes. If occupational diseases are not compensable under those statutes, they shall be covered under the employer's liability section of the insurance policy, except when contract operations are so commingled with a Contractor's commercial operations that it would not be practical to require this coverage. Employer's liability coverage of at least $100,000 is required, except in States with exclusive or monopolistic funds that do not permit workers' compensation to be written by private carriers.
(b) General Liability: $500,000 per occurrences.
(c) Automobile liability: $200,000 per person; per occurrence and property damage.
https://www.acquisition.gov/far-overhaul/far-part-deviation-guide/far-overhaul-part-12#FAR_Subpart_12_2 https://www.acquisition.gov/far-overhaul/far-part-deviation-guide/far-overhaul-part-12#FAR_Subpart_12_2
(d) The successful bidder must present to the Contracting Officer, prior to award, evidence of general liability insurance without any exclusionary clauses for asbestos that would void the general liability coverage.
(End of Clause)
41: Reference: SOLICITATION pp. 27, 29, 69-70, 73. The instructions require exactly three client references, while the evaluation provisions permit three examples or questionnaires and discuss CPARS with PSC P100, whereas the solicitation identifies PSC F103. Please confirm acceptable past-performance evidence, the applicable PSC, and whether similar work under F103 or other codes will be considered
Answer41: PSC P100 “Environmental Systems Protection – General” OR equivalent is what the solicitation says. I will confirm that PSC F103 “Environmental Systems Protection – Water Quality Support” is the equivalent I will be looking at while considering CPARS and references provided with your proposals.
42: Reference: SOLICITATION pp. 5, 69-70; Excel Instructions tab, cells A11-A12. The SOW refers to attached directives, example sheets, and a list of tests. Please identify all incorporated attachments and provide any missing sample reports, sampling matrices, directives or templates referenced in the solicitation. Please also confirm how an offeror should document an equivalent test in the workbook and whether an equivalent is evaluated as meeting the stated method
Answer42: On the Cos/Price excel sheet there is a tab with instructions and 2nd tab with a column for entering equivalent tests.
43: Reference: SOLICITATION B.3 pp. 17-26; C.1 pp. 28-29; SOLICITATION pp. 72-73; Excel Instructions tab, cells A2-A12. B.3 has annual CLINs and quantities, while the workbook has approximately 94 individual test and service lines without quantities or annual price columns.
Please state which schedule establishes binding unit prices, how the annual CLIN totals should be derived from workbook prices, which quantities will be used to evaluate the workbook, and how the evaluated total contract value will be calculated
Answer43: The CLINs have proven too confusing I have removed them and am solely relying on the Price/Cost excel sheet.
44: Reference: SOLICITATION B.3 pp. 17-26. Base-year suffixes AA-AG describe distinct services. In Option 1 those labels shift, suffix AG duplicates “Additional Water testing,” and Options 2-4 assign AA-AG to different services or repeat “Additional Water testing.” Please issue a corrected CLIN/SLIN schedule with consistent item descriptions and estimated quantities for all five years.
Answer44: See new excel sheet. I have removed CLINs.
45: Reference: SOLICITATION B.3 pp. 17-26; Excel Instructions tab, cells, A18-A22. The parent CLIN for each year describes all on-site testing and results management and shows one YR, while the sub-CLINs charge per sample or service and the workbook says each test price includes site visits, freight and reports. Please define what is paid under the annual parent
CLIN, whether it must be priced separately, and how duplicate charging or double counting will be prevented
Answer 45: This is an IDIQ – each site will issue a task order which will be sent to the contractor saying example: Dayton Site: quarterly testing task-order to include the following tests (insert tests requested) from test list. The contractor will coordinate with the site POC time and date to complete testing and services will commence. The contractor will enter an invoice for completed work per usual and be paid based on the costs presented to perform each test and service that was completed.
46: Reference: SOLICITATION B.2 pp. 10-11; C.4 p. 36; C.5 pp. 36-37. The SOW states a $100 minimum order and $200,000 maximum task order, while C.4 states a $1,000 minimum and $1,500,000 maximum order. The SOW calls the $6 million figure a total contract value but does not specify a minimum guaranteed aggregate quantity or dollar amount. Please reconcile the order limits and identify the binding IDIQ minimum guarantee and maximum for the full contract and each period.
Answer46: See amendment posted in attachments of RFQ.
47: Reference: SOLICITATION B.2 pp. 5-6, 10-11; B.3 pp. 17-26; C.5 pp. 36-37. The SOW describes task orders issued by the Contracting Officer for site-specific work and also permits facility CORs to request additional testing and establish quantities with the contractor. Please specify who may authorize each kind of routine, retest, emergency and supplemental work;
whether a written funded order is required before performance; and the procedure when a requested service is absent from the awarded schedule.
Answer 47: much like an option year document, an IDIQ is built where the contracting officer will email a task order to the contractor stating site, services and the contractor and site POC will set up a date and time to complete services.
48: Reference: SOLICITATION B.2 p. 6; D pp. 67-68; Excel Instructions tab, cells A7-A8, A18- A22. Locations and sample quantities may change by bilateral modification, but testing quantities are described as variable under task orders. Please provide site-level annual estimates by test, number of collection points and anticipated collection visits (weekly, monthly and quarterly), including dental and cooling-tower opt-in sites. Please distinguish changes permissible by task order from those requiring modification
Answer 48: There will be routine weekly, monthly and quarterly testing done at each site per the VHA Directives. The non routine testing will be based on failed testing required retests and additional tests the site may wish to have done as conditions, machines, change hence the need for an IDIQ with task orders and verbiage that locations may be bilaterally added or subtracted.
49: Reference: Excel Instructions tab, cells A4, A18-A22; Excel Price Cost Schedule tab, cells A4:A97; SOLICITATION B.3 pp. 17-26. The workbook asks for an all-inclusive price per test even for isolated tests, while visits may involve one sample or hundreds and some items are stated per event, kit, drum or report. Please specify the pricing unit for each line, the expected number of samples per visit, and whether a separate mobilization, urgent-response, freight or minimum-visit charge is allowable and, if so, how it should be entered into and evaluated.
Answer 49: These line items were collected from each site and current contracts in place.
Sometimes the site may ask that a kit be sent to them because they want a few on hand for their own emergent testing, so what is the cost for that kit? We would like to get all the sites on one page following the VHA Directives with routine weekly, quarterly, annual testing and reports. We all know the retesting can be tricky and vary by site. I left blank lines at the bottom with the expectation that your company would say this is the price for if we are coming out for weekly routine legionella testing, weekly SPS testing service charge, non-routine retesting and propose how you would help us tackle the constant fluctuations in non-routine testing. And/or
• Mobilization charges: for travel/labor associated with single-sample or low volume visits.
• Urgent-response (“rush” service) charges: for samples or events requiring expedited response or reporting beyond routine timelines.
• Freight/shipping charges: for the transport of samples, kits, or reports if not already included in the all-inclusive unit.
• Minimum-visit or minimum-order charge: if only a very small number of samples are requested at a given time, to cover the cost of mobilization and basic overhead.
50: Reference: Excel Price Cost Schedule tab, cells A4:A23, A35:A52, A55:A95. Multiple lines appear to overlap (for example, Legionella culture/ISO 11731/standard test; HPC and bacteria/THAB; SPS panels and location-specific panels; individual analytes and bundled panels; field parameters and post-remediation parameters). Please identify which lines are alternatives, which are additives, and whether one sample or service may be billed on more than one line.
Answer50: the tab described for you to fill in your Quoter Test Name/Equivalent and the comments tab leave room for you to say “we can provide these” in line X if that is what works best for your company. I think there will be some situations where Tests may be billed either individually (per analyte) or as part of a bundled panel (single price for multiple tests), depending on what is specified or ordered. The billing structure is designed to provide both flexibility and value to meet the needs of the customer. Thus, I left some of them as individual tests if a retest for only a specific failed metric occurs.
51: Reference: Excel Price Cost Schedule tab, cells A24, A28:A33, A53:A54, A92:A97;
SOLICITATION B.2 pp. 6-7, 67-68. The schedule contains collection kits, test reagents, biocides, inhibitors, copper-silver kits, corrective actions and unspecified other costs although the SOW largely describes sampling and testing. Please clarify whether the contractor must supply, install, administer or perform water treatment and corrective actions; define quantities and specifications; and identify how these items will be ordered, priced and evaluated.
Answer51: Quantities and specifications will be ordered via task orders from individual sites.
The sites have added these line items as part of water testing they wish to do occasionally. I would list this as cost of test and deliver them with your weekly or quarterly site visits to administer testing. If you have a better proposal to provide these supplies/services you can submit that on the excel sheet in a blank line item at the bottom. I did put some line items at the bottom
52: Reference: SOLICITATION C.1 pp. 28-29; SOLICITATION pp. 72-73. Section C.1 mentions net present value as a secondary price check, whereas the repeated evaluation text does not.
Please state whether NPV will be used and, if so, provide the discount rate, timing of assumed payments, and exact method, including treatment of the workbook prices.
Answer52: NPV (net present value) For the purposes of price evaluation, the Government will calculate the Net Present Value (NPV) of each offeror’s total evaluated price over the entire contract period, including all option years. The NPV calculation will be used to compare the total life-cycle cost of proposals that include different payment structures, escalation rates, or period-of-performance pricing. NPV will be used as a secondary price check and will not replace the total evaluated price unless otherwise specified. The subtotals would be summed to yield the total NPV, which will be compared across all offerors as part of the price evaluation.
Treatment of Workbook Prices:
• The annual total for each year will be derived from the sum of the applicable pricing workbook lines for that year, including required base and option quantities.
• Any one-time fees (e.g., mobilization) will be included in the year they are incurred.
• No additional escalation or inflation will be applied unless specifically stated in the offeror’s workbook or required by contract terms.
• Only required and stipulated quantities will be used for evaluation; contingencies or unpriced optional lines will not be included unless exercised at the time of award.
Example:
If an offeror proposes the following yearly totals for a 5-year requirement (base + 4 option years):
• Year 1: $100,000
• Year 2: $105,000
• Year 3: $110,000
• Year 4: $115,000
• Year 5: $120,000
Using a 3% discount rate, the NPV would be calculated as:
𝑁𝑁𝑁𝑁𝑁𝑁 =
100,000
(1 + 0.03)1 + 105,000
(1 + 0.03)2 + 110,000
(1 + 0.03)3 + 115,000
(1 + 0.03)4 + 120,000
(1 + 0.03)5
53: Reference: SOLICITATION B.2 pp. 5-8, 11-12; Excel Instructions tab, cells A18-A22. The SOW alternates between contractor collection of all samples and VA collection of dental waterline samples, while workbook lines 90-91 price dental sampling and reporting by event.
Please specify, by service and facility, who collects samples, performs field measurements, supplies kits, packages and ships samples, and completes the chain of custody.
Answer53: We would like the contractor to set up routine weekly, quarterly, annual sample collections following the Directives for VHA Directive 1061 testing requirements, 1116 and SPS water testing and do all the retesting. The sites have asked for prices for the occasional order of certain kits and items. Very much like a legionella water testing contract where the contractor performs the testing, provides the documentation and professional advice.
54: Reference: SOLICITATION B.2 pp. 6-8, 11; Excel Price Cost Schedule tab, cells A4:A7, A20:A21. Legionella culture is required from an ELITE laboratory with ISO 11731 accreditation, while the text also says all samples are to be tested by a CDC ELITE laboratory. Please confirm that CDC ELITE and ISO 11731 accreditation apply to Legionella testing, identify accepted accreditation programs and scope wording, and state the separate credentials required for HPC, chemistry, endotoxin and other tests performed by subcontract laboratories.
Answer54: CDC ELITE recognition means the lab has demonstrated technical proficiency at isolating Legionella but is not an accreditation. ISO 11731 accreditation means the lab is independently audited and accredited for that specific method; it may or may not also participate in CDC ELITE. A compliant lab may have one or both.
55: Reference: SOLICITATION B.2 pp. 5, 7, 10; D p. 68; Excel Instructions tab, cells A6; Price Cost Schedule tab cells A12:A23, A36, A74, A79. The SOW references AAMI TIR34:2014 or the current standard, AAMI ST108, and unspecified “latest” VHA directives. Please specify the controlling editions and effective dates for each service and publish a matrix of test parameters, methods, limits and sampling frequency for utility, critical, AER, steam and dental water.
Answer55: AAMI ST108:2023 is the current standard and should be cited for compliance, survey readiness, and best practices. The reference to “latest” means that as directives get updated please try to stay current with/for us. We will share information of course but sometimes contractors are aware of new directives and testing specifications faster than we are.
56: Reference: SOLICITATION B.2 pp. 6-7; Excel Price Cost Schedule tab, cells A19, A25, A62:A86. The sterile-processing monthly and quarterly panel lists omit or group some analytes present in the workbook, and no sampling locations or counts per system are stated. Please provide the required panel by water type and use point, including whether HPC/TVC, endotoxin, TOC, color/turbidity and each Table 2 analyte are required and at what frequency.
Answer56: I am looking for a per test price for these items or equivalent test cost listed.
57: Reference: SOLICITATION B.2 pp. 6-9; Excel Price Cost Schedule tab, cells A55:A56, A69, A82, A84, A87. The SOW requires both hot and cold sampling and biocide testing for every sample point, including primary and secondary disinfectants, but does not define whether this applies to Legionella, SPS, dental and cooling towers alike. Please identify the required field analytes and number of measurements per collected sample, and explain how to handle sites with only one disinfectant or without a separate hot/cold point.
Answer57: For each water sample, field measurements of temperature, pH, and available disinfectant residual(s) should be performed and documented, regardless of whether the sample is for Legionella, SPS, dental, or cooling tower purposes. On the sample points where only hot or cold is available, only those will be measured. Only the disinfectant(s) used at the facility/site need to be tested. If a water source does not use a disinfectant, this should be documented as such in the field log.
58: Reference: SOLICITATION B.2 pp. 7-9, 11; Excel Price Cost Schedule tab, cells A4:A6, A21. The SOW requests serogroup 1, serogroups 2-14 and non-pneumophila results for Legionella and separately lists serotyping in the workbook. Please clarify whether identification and serogrouping are included in every culture price or ordered only for presumptive positives, and define the reporting level required for other Legionella species.
Answer58: Industry standards, including VHA Directive 1061 and AAMI ST108, generally require initial Legionella identification and grouping (serogroup 1, serogroups 2–14, non-pneumophila) be reported for each positive culture as part of the base analysis, with advanced subtyping or molecular characterization performed and reported only as medically or epidemiologically indicated.
59: Reference: SOLICITATION B.2 pp. 9, 11; Excel Price Cost Schedule tab, cells A4:A6. The laboratory must report potable-water results to at least 1 CFU/mL and up to 3,000 CFU/mL without added sampling or charges. Please clarify whether 1 CFU/mL is a maximum detection limit or a required reporting increment, the sample volume and preparation assumptions, and how results above the countable range or needing dilution are to be priced and reported.
Answer59: According to VHA Directive 1061 Appendix C and AAMI ST108 Section 9.1.5.4/Table 2, Legionella results from potable water samples should be reported down to 1 CFU/mL when a 1,000 mL sample can be processed, and up to the maximal countable range (e.g., 3,000 CFU/mL) per validated method. If the count exceeds the upper countable range, results may be reported as ">3,000 CFU/mL" unless additional dilutions are specifically directed by the government or facility. Additional processing or charges for dilutions are not standard unless pre-authorized.
60: Reference: SOLICITATION B.2 pp. 6-8; Cooling towers require weekly field testing and THAB, but the CLIN calls routine tower collection without identifying tower count, locations, seasonal operating periods, laboratory method or microbiological frequency. Please provide site-level tower inventories, frequency for each analyte and whether biocide delivery or treatment is in scope.
Answer60: In accordance with VHA Directive 1061, contractors require (1) current cooling tower inventories with location and seasonal status from each site; (2) confirmation that weekly field monitoring and at least monthly THAB laboratory testing meets or exceeds minimum requirements; (3) clear identification of laboratory methods to be used; and (4) confirmation that biocide delivery/treatment is not included in scope unless specifically required in the solicitation.
61: Reference: SOLICITATION B.2 pp. 5-9;. The SOW gives minimum 10 hot and 10 cold outlets per overnight-stay building, plus a weekly potable-water program of 10 hot and 10 cold outlets and incoming supply, but neither the building count nor whether these programs share locations is specified. Please identify included buildings and outlets by site and confirm whether weekly field testing and quarterly Legionella culture are separate collections and billable services.
Answer61: Under this IDIQ contract, the included buildings and sampling outlets for quarterly and weekly testing will be delineated for each site and task order and may be revised at any time to best address facility needs. Sample points, whether overlapping or distinct for weekly and quarterly work, will be directed by the government with each task order, and each collection event (weekly field testing and quarterly Legionella culture) should be scheduled and billed as a separate service unless a task order specifies otherwise.
62: Reference: SOLICITATION B.2 pp. 7-8, 11. Sampling points should change each quarter, and facility staff will assist with access. Please confirm the VA will designate the sampling points, identify water systems and equipment, provide knowledgeable escort and access instructions for SPS sample ports, and provide the approved route in advance of each visit.
Please state how inaccessibility or changes to the route are handled.
Answer62: If any location is inaccessible or if routes change, the facility will guide substitution, rescheduling, or documentation. All such occurrences will be properly recorded to maintain compliance and data integrity.
63: Reference: SOLICITATION B.2 pp. 9-10, 12. Reporting deadlines differ: report within 10 days of receipt, final results within two weeks of collection, routine electronic reporting within 30 calendar days, dental within 10 days, day-of-collection field results, and positives within 24 hours. Please provide a single matrix by test and report type showing whether deadlines run from collection, receipt, preliminary identification or analysis, and whether days are calendar or business days.
Answer63:
64: Reference: SOLICITATION B.2 pp. 9-11. “Preliminary results of positive samples” must be sent within 24 hours, but culture growth may be identified over several days. Please define the triggering event, recipients, whether presumptive Legionella findings must be reported before confirmation and serotyping, and procedures for later changes to a preliminary report.
Answer64: The 24-hour reporting requirement for Legionella is triggered by initial presumptive identification of suspect colonies—prior to confirmation or serotyping. All designated facility contacts must be notified of the presumptive positive result. If subsequent testing changes the interpretation, the laboratory must issue a corrected report to all original recipients promptly, clearly indicating amendments and reasons for change.
65: Reference: SOLICITATION B.2 pp. 9-10. The SOW requires storage of environmental isolates for at least four years after positive results, but does not specify which isolates, storage conditions, transfer on request or responsibility at contract end. Please define these obligations and whether storage and shipment costs are included in test pricing.
Answer65: Per VHA Directive 1061 and AAMI ST108, only purified Legionella isolates from positive samples must be stored for at least four years under validated freezing conditions. The contractor must make these isolates available for transfer to VA or designees upon request and transfer all remaining isolates at end of contract. Storage costs are typically included in test pricing; shipment/transfer costs are billable if requested and not otherwise included.
66: Reference: SOLICITATION B.2 pp. 9-10, 12; SOLICITATION pp. 27-28, 69-70. Routine work is limited to weekday business hours, but the technical submission requires after-hours procedures and non-routine sampling within three business days. Please specify whether nights, weekends, holidays or urgent patient-safety responses are required, the response clock and ordering process, and how any premium work should be priced.
Answer66: There are line items to provide premium work how you would price those items if a task order is issued for after hour work. You can use one of the additional lines at the bottom of the price/cost schedule.
67: Reference: SOLICITATION B.2 pp. 11-16; SOLICITATION pp. 69-70. The information-system and personnel clauses could require access to VA systems or a contractor-hosted results portal. Please identify the expected information classification, whether any patient or other sensitive data will be transmitted, whether VA authorization or background investigations are needed for portal users and field staff, and which security deliverables must be included with the offer versus completed after award.
Answer67: These services do not require patient or sensitive data. Only test results and reports.
68: Will the contractor be allowed to collect samples all at once (over several days) from those locations such as Chillicothe who…
This is the start of the file's text. The full file is on GovTribe.
File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .