16-Attachment 17 Florida Virtual School Policy Final Lincoln LTD 20250701.pdf

PDF 973 KB Posted

Attached to
Insurance including: Group Term Life, Accidental Death & Dismemberment, Short-Term and Long-Term Disability
Solicitation number
RFP01-260720B01-DISLIF-XXXXXX
Issued by
Florida

About this file

This is an amendment to a group long-term disability insurance policy issued by The Lincoln National Life Insurance Company to Florida Virtual School, effective July 1, 2025. Amendment No. 2 modifies the existing Group Policy No. 000010252134, which was originally issued on July 1, 2019. The policy provides long-term disability coverage to all full-time employees of Florida Virtual School working a minimum of 30 hours per week. The coverage includes a 60% benefit percentage with a maximum monthly benefit of $6,000 and a minimum monthly benefit of $50. The policy features a 180-calendar-day elimination period and provides benefits through the insured employee's Social Security Normal Retirement Age or the maximum benefit period shown in the schedule, whichever is later. The policy includes various supplementary benefits such as the Progressive Income Benefit for employees with loss of activities of daily living or cognitive impairment, partial disability coverage, vocational rehabilitation benefits, reasonable accommodation benefits, and family income and care expense benefits. The premium rate is 0.058% of total covered payroll per month, with policy anniversaries occurring annually beginning July 1, 2027.

The policy is a non-participating plan that does not share in the divisible surplus of The Lincoln National Life Insurance Company. Insured employees are not required to contribute to the cost of coverage, with all premiums paid by Florida Virtual School. The policy is subject to Florida law and is delivered in the state of Florida. Coverage becomes effective at 12:01 a.m. on the latest qualifying date after an employee meets eligibility requirements, including completion of a 30-day waiting period of continuous active work. Pre-existing condition exclusions apply to disabilities beginning within the first 12 months of coverage, with treatment defined as physician consultation, care, diagnostic services, or prescription drugs received within three months prior to the effective date. The policy includes detailed claims procedures requiring written notice within 20 days after a disability period ends, with proof of claim required within 90 days. Benefit payments commence monthly after the elimination period is satisfied and continue until the maximum benefit period expires or the employee ceases to qualify for benefits.

View the file

Other files

File Type Posted
2-Attachment 3 FLVS Life and DI RFP Plan Deviations 2026.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
9-Attachment 10 Florida Virtual School Cert Final Lincoln LTD 20250701.pdf PDF
5-Attachment 6 Claims Experience STD and OSTD.pdf PDF
18-Attachment 1 Employee and Retiree Census.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
6-Attachment 7 Claims Experience Voluntary life including Waiver Report.pdf PDF
12-Attachment 13 Florida Virtual School Cert Final Lincoln Vol Life 20250701.pdf PDF
4-Attachment 5 Claims Experience Basic Life and ADD including Waiver Report.pdf PDF
11-Attachment 12 Florida Virtual School Cert Cls 02 Final Lincoln Life AD D 20250701.pdf PDF
3-Attachment 4 Cost Proposal.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
1-Attachment 2 Lincoln Financial - Self Bill Summary October 2025.docx DOCX document
14-Attachment 15 Florida Virtual School Policy Final Lincoln Vol Life 20250701.pdf PDF
19-RFP01-2604720B01-DISLIF-XXXXXX.pdf PDF
13-Attachment 14 Florida Virtual School Policy Final Lincoln Life AD D 20250701.pdf PDF
17-FORMS PACKET -ALL.pdf PDF
8-Attachment 9 Florida Virtual School Cert Final Lincoln STD 20250701.pdf PDF
7-Attachment 8 Claims Experience LTD.pdf PDF
15-Attachment 16 Florida Virtual School Policy Final Lincoln STD 20250701.pdf PDF
10-Attachment 11 Florida Virtual School Cert Cls 01 Final Lincoln Life AD D 20250701.pdf PDF
Show all 18

On GovTribe

Work with this file

  • Download the original file
  • Contacts named in this file
  • Similar government files
  • Ask GovTribe AI about this file

Text version

GL1100A AMEND.

AMENDMENT NO. 2

TO BE ATTACHED TO AND MADE PART OF GROUP POLICY NO.: 000010252134

ISSUED TO: Florida Virtual School

It is agreed that the above policy be replaced with the attached Policy, which is revised and dated July 1, 2025.

The effective date of this amendment is July 1, 2025; but only with respect to disabilities incurred on or after that date. Nothing contained in this amendment shall change any of the terms and conditions of this Policy; except as stated above.

THE LINCOLN NATIONAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY

GROUP LONG-TERM DISABILITY INSURANCE POLICY

Lincoln Financial Group is the marketing name for Lincoln National Corporation and its affiliates.

GL3001-LTD-1 10 Policy Face Page 07/01/25

The Lincoln National Life Insurance Company A Stock Company Home Office Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana Group Insurance Service Office: 8801 Indian Hills Drive, Omaha, NE 68114-4066 800-423-2765 Online: www.LincolnFinancial.com

In Consideration of the Application for this Policy made by

Florida Virtual School

(herein called the Policyholder) and the payment of all premiums when due, The Lincoln National Life Insurance Company agrees to make the payments provided in this Policy to the person or persons entitled to them.

Policy No. 000010252134 Policy Effective Date: July 1, 2019.

Monthly Premium: .058% of Total Covered Payroll per Month

Policy Anniversaries will be annual beginning on: July 1, 2027

The first premium is due on this Policy’s Effective Date, and subsequent premiums are due on August 1, 2019, and on the same day of each month thereafter.

This Policy is delivered in the state of Florida and subject to the laws of that jurisdiction.

The Lincoln National Life Insurance Company has executed this Policy at its Group Insurance Service Office in Omaha, Nebraska this 2nd day of July, 2025.

GL3001-LTD-2

2 07/01/25

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Schedule of Benefits

Definitions

General Provisions

Claims Procedures

Eligibility

Effective Dates

Individual Termination

Policy Termination

Conversion Privilege

Premiums and Premium Rates

Total Disability Monthly Benefit

Progressive Income Benefit

Partial Disability Monthly Benefit

Other Income Benefits

Recurrent Disability

Exclusions

Specified Injuries or Sicknesses Limitation

Mandatory Vocational Rehabilitation Benefit Provision (Advantage)

Reasonable Accommodation Benefit

Prior Insurance Credit Upon Transfer of Insurance Carriers

Family Income Benefit

Family Care Expense Benefit

Florida Virtual School 000010252134

SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS

GL3001-LTD-SB

3 07/01/25

ELIGIBLE CLASS

Class 1 All Full-Time Employees

Florida Virtual School 000010252134

SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS

GL3001-LTD-SB

4 07/01/25

For Class 1 - All Full-Time Employees

MINIMUM HOURS: 30 hours per week

WAITING PERIOD: (For date insurance begins, refer to “Effective Date” section) 30 days of continuous Active Work

CONTRIBUTIONS: Insured employees are not required to contribute to the cost of the Long-Term Disability coverage.

LONG-TERM DISABILITY BENEFITS

BENEFIT PERCENTAGE: 60%

MAXIMUM MONTHLY BENEFIT: $6,000

MINIMUM MONTHLY BENEFIT: $50

Long-Term Disability Benefits for PRE-EXISTING CONDITIONS will be subject to the Pre-Existing Condition Exclusion on the Exclusion page.

The Maximum Monthly Benefit will not exceed the Benefit Percentage times Basic Monthly Earnings.

ELIMINATION PERIOD: 180 calendar days of Disability caused by the same or a related Sickness or Injury, which must be accumulated within a 360 calendar day period.

MAXIMUM BENEFIT PERIOD: (For Sickness, Injury or Pre-Existing Conditions): The Insured Employee’s Social Security Normal Retirement Age, or the Maximum Benefit Period shown below (whichever is later).

Age at Disability Maximum Benefit Period Less than Age 60 To Age 65

60 60 months 61 48 months 62 42 months 63 36 months 64 30 months 65 24 months 66 21 months 67 18 months 68 15 months

69 and Over 12 months

OWN OCCUPATION PERIOD means a period beginning at the end of the Elimination Period and ending 24 months later for Insured Employees.

DEFINITIONS

GL3001-LTD-3 10 FL

5 07/01/25

As used throughout this Policy, the following terms shall have the meanings indicated below. Other parts of this Policy contain definitions specific to those provisions.

ACTIVE WORK or ACTIVELY AT WORK means an Employee's full-time performance of all Main Duties of his or her Own Occupation, for the regularly scheduled number of hours, at:

1. the Employer's usual place of business; or

2. any other business location where the Employer requires the Employee to travel.

Unless disabled on the prior workday or on the day of absence, an Employee will be considered Actively at Work on the following days:

1. a Saturday, Sunday or holiday that is not a scheduled workday;

2. a paid vacation day or other scheduled or unscheduled non-workday; or

3. a non-medical leave of absence of 12 weeks or less, whether taken with the Employer's prior approval or on an emergency basis.

This includes a Military Leave or an approved Family or Medical Leave that is not due to the Employee's own health condition.

ANNUAL SALARY means the Insured Employee's BASIC MONTHLY EARNINGS or PREDISABILITY INCOME multiplied by 12.

BASIC MONTHLY EARNINGS or PREDISABILITY INCOME means the Insured Employee's average monthly base salary or hourly pay from the Employer before taxes on the Determination Date. The "Determination Date" is the last day worked just prior to the date the Disability begins.

It does not include commissions, bonuses, overtime pay, or any other extra compensation. It does not include income from a source other than the Employer. It will not exceed the amount shown in the Employer's financial records, the amount for which premium has been paid, or the Maximum Covered Monthly Earnings permitted by this Policy; whichever is less. (Maximum Covered Monthly Earnings equals the Maximum Monthly Benefit divided by the Benefit Percentage shown in the Schedule of Benefits.) Exception: For purposes of determining the Partial Disability Monthly Benefit, Basic Monthly Earnings will not exceed the amount shown in the Employer's financial records.

COMPANY means The Lincoln National Life Insurance Company, an Indiana corporation. Its Group Insurance Service Office address is 8801 Indian Hills Drive, Omaha, Nebraska 68114-4066.

DAY or DATE means the period of time that begins at 12:01 a.m. and ends at 12:00 midnight, standard time, at the Policyholder's place of business. When used with regard to effective dates, it means 12:01 a.m. When used with regard to termination dates, it means 12:00 midnight.

DISABILITY or DISABLED means Total Disability or Partial Disability.

DISABILITY BENEFIT, when used with the term Retirement Plan, means a benefit that:

1. is payable under a Retirement Plan due to disability as defined in that plan; and

2. does not reduce the benefits that would have been paid as Retirement Benefits at the normal retirement age under the plan if the disability had not occurred.

If the payment of the benefit does cause such a reduction, the benefit will be deemed a Retirement Benefit as defined in this Policy.

(Continued)

GL3001-LTD-3 10 FL

6 07/01/25

ELIMINATION PERIOD means the number of days of Disability during which no benefit is payable. The Elimination Period is shown in the Schedule of Benefits. It applies as follows.

1. The Elimination Period:

a. begins on the first day of Disability; and

b. is satisfied when the required number of days is accumulated within a period which does not exceed two times the Elimination Period.

During a period of Disability, the Insured Employee may return to full-time work, at his or her own or any other occupation, for an accumulated number of days not to exceed the Elimination Period.

2. Only days of Disability caused by the same or a related Sickness or Injury will count towards the Elimination Period. Days on which the Insured Employee returns to full-time work will not count towards the Elimination Period.

EMPLOYEE or FULL-TIME EMPLOYEE means a person:

1. whose employment with the Employer is the person's main occupation;

2. whose employment is for regular wage or salary, on a full-time basis;

3. who is regularly scheduled to work at such occupation at least the Minimum Hours shown in the Schedule of Benefits;

4. who is a member of an Eligible Class which is eligible for coverage under this Policy;

5. who is not a temporary or seasonal employee; and

6. who is a citizen of the United States or legally works in the United States.

EMPLOYER means the Policyholder. It includes any division, subsidiary or affiliated company named in the Application or Participation Agreement.

EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY means a statement of proof of an Employee's medical history. The Company uses this to determine his or her acceptance for insurance or an increased amount of insurance. Such proof will be provided at the Employee's own expense.

FAMILY OR MEDICAL LEAVE means an approved leave of absence that:

1. is subject to the federal FMLA law (the Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 and any amendments to it) or a similar state law;

2. is taken in accord with the Employer's leave policy and the law which applies; and

3. does not exceed the period approved by the Employer and required by that law.

Under the federal FMLA law, such leaves are permitted for up to 12 weeks in a 12-month period, as defined by the Employer. The 12 weeks:

1. may consist of consecutive or intermittent work days; or

2. may be granted on a part-time equivalency basis.

If an Employee is entitled to a leave under both the federal FMLA law and a similar state law, he or she may elect the more favorable leave (but not both). If an Employee is on an FMLA leave due to his or her own health condition on the date Policy coverage takes effect, he or she is not considered Actively at Work.

FULL-TIME, as it applies to the Partial Disability Monthly Benefit, means the average number of hours the Insured Employee was regularly scheduled to work, at his or her Own Occupation, during the month just prior to:

1. the date the Elimination Period begins; or

2. the date an approved leave of absence begins, if the Elimination Period begins while the

Insured Employee is continuing coverage during a leave of absence.

INJURY means an accidental bodily Injury that:

1. requires treatment by a Physician; and

2. directly, and independently of all other causes, results in a Disability that begins while the

Insured Employee is insured under this Policy.

GL3001-LTD-3 10 FL

7 07/01/25

INSURANCE MONTH or POLICY MONTH means that period of time:

1. beginning at 12:01 a.m. Standard Time, at the Policyholder's place of business on the first day of any calendar month; and

2. ending at 12:00 midnight on the last day of the same calendar month.

INSURED EMPLOYEE means an Employee for whom Policy coverage is in effect.

MAIN DUTIES or MATERIAL AND SUBSTANTIAL DUTIES means those job tasks that:

1. during the first 12 months following the date of loss, are normally required to perform the

Insured Employee's Own Occupation; or

2. after a period of 12 months following the date of loss:

a. are normally required to perform the Insured Employee's Own Occupation; and

b. could not reasonably be modified or omitted.

To determine whether a job task could reasonably be modified or omitted, the Company will apply the Americans with Disabilities Act's standards concerning reasonable accommodation. It will apply the Act's standards, whether or not:

1. the Employer is subject to the Act; or

2. the Insured Employee has requested such a job accommodation.

An Employer's failure to modify or omit other job tasks does not render the Insured Employee unable to perform the Main Duties of the job.

Main Duties, after a period of 12 months following the date of loss, include those job tasks:

1. as described in the U.S. Department of Labor Dictionary of Occupational Titles; and

2. as performed in the general labor market and national economy.

Main Duties are not limited to those specific job tasks as performed for a certain firm or at a certain work site.

MEDICALLY APPROPRIATE TREATMENT means diagnostic services, consultation, care or services that are consistent with the symptoms or diagnosis causing the Insured Employee's Disability. Such treatment must be rendered:

1. by a Physician whose license and any specialty are consistent with the disabling condition; and

2. according to generally accepted, professionally recognized standards of medical practice.

MILITARY LEAVE means a leave of absence that:

1. is subject to the federal USERRA law (the Uniformed Services Employment and

Reemployment Rights Act of 1994 and any amendments to it);

2. is taken in accord with the Employer's leave policy and the federal USERRA law; and

3. does not exceed the period required by that law.

MONTHLY BENEFIT means the amount payable monthly by the Company to the Insured Employee who is Totally Disabled or Partially Disabled.

OWN OCCUPATION or REGULAR OCCUPATION means the occupation, trade or profession:

1. in which the Insured Employee was employed with the Employer prior to Disability; and

2. which was his or her main source of earned income prior to Disability.

After a period of 12 months following the date of loss, it means a collective description of related jobs, as defined by the U.S. Department of Labor Dictionary of Occupational Titles. It includes any work in the same occupation for pay or profit, regardless of:

1. whether such work is with the Employer, with some other firm, or on a self-employed basis; or

2. whether a suitable opening is currently available with the Employer or in the local labor market.

OWN OCCUPATION PERIOD means a period as shown in the Schedule of Benefits.

GL3001-LTD-3 10 FL

8 07/01/25

PARTIAL DISABILITY or PARTIALLY DISABLED will be defined as follows:

1. During the Elimination Period and Own Occupation Period, it means that due to an Injury or

Sickness the Insured Employee:

a. is unable to perform one or more of the Main Duties of his or her Own

Occupation; or is unable to perform such duties full-time; and

b. is engaged in Partial Disability Employment.

2. After the Own Occupation Period, it means that due to an Injury or Sickness the Insured Employee:

a. is unable to perform one or more of the Main Duties of any occupation which his or her training, education or experience will reasonably allow; or is unable to perform such duties full-time; and

b. is engaged in Partial Disability Employment.

During the first 12 months following the date of loss, the definition of Totally Disability will apply.

PARTIAL DISABILITY EMPLOYMENT means the Insured Employee is working at his or her Own Occupation or any other occupation; however, because of a Partial Disability:

1. the Insured Employee's hours or production is reduced;

2. one or more Main Duties of the job are reassigned; or

3. the Insured Employee is working in a lower-paid occupation.

During Partial Disability Employment, his or her current earnings:

1. must be at least 20% of Predisability Income; and

2. may not exceed the percentage specified in the Partial Disability Benefit section.

PHYSICIAN means:

1. a legally qualified medical doctor who is licensed to practice medicine, to prescribe and administer drugs, or to perform surgery; or

2. any other duly licensed medical practitioner who is deemed by state law to be the same as a legally qualified medical doctor.

The medical doctor or other medical practitioner must be acting within the scope of his or her license. He or she must be qualified to provide Medically Appropriate Treatment for the Insured Employee's disabling condition.

Physician does not include the Insured Employee or a relative of the Insured Employee receiving treatment.

Relatives include:

1. the Insured Employee's spouse, siblings, parents, children and grandparents; and

2. his or her spouse's relatives of like degree.

POLICY means this group insurance Policy issued by the Company to the Policyholder.

POLICYHOLDER means the person, company, trust or other organization as shown on the Face Page of this Policy.

PREDISABILITY INCOME—See Basic Monthly Earnings definition.

REGULAR CARE OF A PHYSICIAN or REGULAR ATTENDANCE OF A PHYSICIAN means the Insured Employee:

1. personally visits a Physician, as often as medically required according to standard medical practice to effectively manage and treat his or her disabling condition; and

2. receives Medically Appropriate Treatment, by a Physician whose license and any specialty are consistent with the disabling condition.

REGULAR OCCUPATION—See Own Occupation or Regular Occupation definition.

GL3001-LTD-3 10 FL

9 07/01/25

RETIREMENT BENEFIT, when used with the term Retirement Plan, means a benefit that:

1. is payable under a Retirement Plan either in a lump sum or in the form of periodic payments;

2. does not represent contributions made by an Insured Employee (Payments representing

Employee contributions are deemed to be received over the Insured Employee's expected remaining life, regardless of when they are actually received.); and

3. is payable upon:

a. early or normal retirement; or

b. disability (if the payment does reduce the benefit which would have been paid at the normal retirement age under the plan, if disability had not occurred).

RETIREMENT PLAN means a defined benefit or defined contribution plan that:

1. provides Retirement Benefits to Employees; and

2. is not funded wholly by Employee contributions.

The term shall not include any 401(k), profit-sharing or thrift plan; informal salary continuance plan; individual retirement account (IRA); tax sheltered annuity (TSA); stock ownership plan; or a non-qualified plan of deferred compensation.

An Employer's Retirement Plan is deemed to include any Retirement Plan:

1. which is part of any federal, state, county, municipal or association retirement system; and

2. for which the Insured Employee is eligible as a result of employment with the Employer.

SICK LEAVE or SALARY CONTINUANCE PLAN means a plan that:

1. is established and maintained by the Employer for the benefit of Employees; and

2. continues payment of all or part of an Insured Employee's Predisability Income for a specified period after he or she becomes Disabled.

It does not include compensation the Employer pays an Insured Employee for work actually performed during a Disability.

SICKNESS means illness, pregnancy or disease.

For a licensed health care practitioner, Sickness includes testing HIV positive; but only when a state licensing board restricts his or her ability to practice, due to that test. In that event, a Disability will be deemed:

1. to start on the date of the board's action; and

2. to be a Total Disability, if the board's action results in a loss of at least 80% of his or her Basic

Monthly Earnings.

TOTAL COVERED PAYROLL means the total amount of Basic Monthly Earnings for all Employees insured under this Policy.

TOTAL DISABILITY or TOTALLY DISABLED will be defined as follows:

1. During the Elimination Period and Own Occupation Period, it means that due to an Injury or

Sickness the Insured Employee is unable to perform:

a. during the first 12 months following the date of loss, one or more of the Main

Duties of his or her Own Occupation; or

b. after a period of 12 months following the date of loss, each of the Main Duties of his or her Own Occupation.

2. After the Own Occupation Period, it means that due to an Injury or Sickness the Insured

Employee is unable to perform each of the Main Duties of any occupation which his or her training, education or experience will reasonably allow.

The loss of a professional license, an occupational license or certification, or a driver's license for any reason does not, by itself, constitute Total Disability.

GL3001-LTD-3 10 FL

10 07/01/25

WAITING PERIOD means the period of time an Employee must be employed in an eligible class with the Employer, before he or she becomes eligible to enroll for coverage under this Policy. The period of service must be continuous, except as explained in the Eligibility provision captioned Prior Service Credit Towards Waiting Period.

GENERAL PROVISIONS

GL3001-LTD-7 04

11 07/01/25

ENTIRE CONTRACT. The entire contract between the parties shall consist of:

1. this Policy and any amendments to it;

2. the Policyholder's application (a copy of which is attached);

3. any Participating Employers' applications or Participation Agreements; and

4. any individual applications of the Insured Employees.

In the absence of fraud, all statements made by the Policyholder and by Insured Employees are representations and not warranties. No statement made by an Insured Employee will be used to contest the coverage provided by this Policy, unless:

1. it is contained in a written statement signed by that Insured Employee; and

2. a copy of the statement has been furnished to that Insured Employee.

AUTHORITY TO MAKE OR AMEND CONTRACT. Only a Company Officer located in the Company's Group Insurance Service Office has the authority to:

1. determine the insurability of a group or any individual within a group;

2. make a contract in the Company's name;

3. amend or waive any provision of this Policy; or

4. extend the time for payment of any premium.

No change in this Policy will be valid, unless it is made in writing and signed by such a Company Officer.

INCONTESTABILITY. Except for the non-payment of premiums or fraud, the Company may not contest the validity of this Policy after it has been in force for two years from its date of issue; and as to any Insured Employee, after his or her coverage has been in force for two years during his or her lifetime. This clause does not preclude, at any time, the assertion of defenses based upon:

1. this Policy's eligibility requirements, exclusions and limitations; and

2. other Policy provisions unrelated to the validity of coverage.

RESCISSION. The Company has the right to rescind any insurance for which Evidence of Insurability was required, if:

1. an Insured Employee incurs a claim during the first two years of coverage; and

2. the Company discovers that the Insured Employee made a Material Misrepresentation on his or her application.

A "Material Misrepresentation" is an incomplete or untrue statement that caused the Company to issue coverage that it would have disapproved, had it known the truth. "To rescind" means to cancel insurance back to its effective date. In that event, the Company will refund all premium paid for the rescinded insurance, less any benefits paid for the Insured Employee's claims. The Company reserves the right to recover any claims paid in excess of such premiums.

NON-PARTICIPATION. This is a non-participating Policy. It will not share in the divisible surplus of the Company.

INFORMATION TO BE FURNISHED. The Employer is required to furnish the Company any information needed to administer this Policy, including:

1. information about Employees:

a. who become eligible for insurance;

b. whose amounts of coverage change; or

c. whose eligibility or coverage ends;

2. occupational information and other facts that may be needed to manage a claim; and

3. any other information that the Company may reasonably require.

The Company may inspect any of the Employer's records that relate to this Policy, at any reasonable time.

GENERAL PROVISIONS

GL3001-LTD-7 04

12 07/01/25

Clerical error by the Employer:

1. will not void or terminate insurance that otherwise would be in effect;

2. will not result in insurance coverage that otherwise would not be in effect; and

3. will not continue insurance that otherwise would be terminated.

Once an error is discovered, a fair adjustment in premium will be made. If a premium adjustment involves the return of unearned premium, the amount of the return will be limited to the 12-month period that precedes the date the Company receives proof that such an adjustment should be made.

MISSTATEMENTS OF FACTS. If relevant facts about any person were misstated:

1. a fair adjustment of the premium will be made; and

2. the true facts will decide if and in what amount insurance is valid under this Policy.

If an Insured Employee's age has been misstated, any benefits shall be in the amount the paid premium would have purchased at the correct age.

ACTS OF THE POLICYHOLDER. In administering this Policy, the Policyholder must:

1. treat Employees the same in like situations; and

2. allow the Company, without inquiry, to rely on its acts.

POLICYHOLDER'S AGENCY. For all purposes of this Policy, the Policyholder acts on its own behalf or as the Employee's agent. Under no circumstances will the Policyholder be deemed the Company's agent.

CERTIFICATES. The Employer will be furnished with individual Certificates for delivery to each Insured Employee. These Certificates summarize the benefits provided by this Policy. If there is a conflict between this Policy and the Certificate, this Policy will control.

CONFORMITY WITH STATE STATUTES. If, on its effective date, any provision of this Policy conflicts with any applicable law, the provision will be deemed to conform to the minimum requirements of the law.

CURRENCY. In administering this Policy:

1. all Predisability Income will be expressed in U.S. dollars; and

2. all premium and benefit amounts must be paid in U.S. dollars.

WORKERS' COMPENSATION OR STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE. This Policy does not replace or provide benefits required by:

1. Workers' Compensation laws; or

2. any state disability insurance plan laws.

ASSIGNMENT. The rights and benefits under this Policy may not be assigned.

CLAIMS PROCEDURES

GL3001-LTD-8 04 FL

13 07/01/25

NOTICE OF CLAIM. Written notice of claim may be given at any time during the Elimination Period. It must be given:

1. by the 20th day after a covered period of Disability ends; or

2. as soon as reasonably possible after that.

The notice must be sent to the Company's Group Insurance Service Office. It should include:

1. the Insured Employee's name and address; and

2. the number of this Policy.

CLAIM FORMS. When notice of claim is received, the Company will send claim forms to the Insured Employee. If the Company does not send the forms within 15 days, the Insured Employee may send the Company written proof of Disability in a letter. It should state the date the Disability began, its cause and degree. The Company will periodically send the Insured Employee additional claim forms.

PROOF OF CLAIM. The Company must be given written proof of claim within 90 days after each covered period of Disability ends. When it is not reasonably possible to give written proof in the time required, the claim will not be reduced or denied solely for this reason, if the proof is filed:

1. as soon as reasonably possible; and

2. in no event later than one year after it was required.

These time limits will not apply while an Insured Employee lacks legal capacity.

Proof of claim must be provided at the Insured Employee's own expense. It must show the date the Disability began, its cause and degree. Documentation must include:

1. completed statements by the Insured Employee and the Employer;

2. a completed statement by the attending Physician, which must describe any restrictions on the

Insured Employee's performance of the duties of his or her Regular Occupation;

3. proof of any other income received;

4. proof of any benefits available from other income sources, which may affect Policy benefits;

5. a signed authorization for the Company to obtain more information; and

6. any other items the Company may reasonably require in support of the claim.

Proof of continued Disability, Regular Care of a Physician, and any Other Income Benefits affecting the claim must be given to the Company. This must be supplied within 45 days after the Company requests it. If it is not, benefits may be denied or suspended.

EXAMINATION. The Company may have the Insured Employee examined:

1. by a Physician, specialist or vocational rehabilitation expert of the Company's choice;

2. as often as reasonably required while a claim or appeal is pending.

Any such exam will be at the Company's expense.

The Company may determine that (in its opinion) the Insured Employee has:

1. failed to cooperate with an examiner;

2. failed to take an exam scheduled by the Company; or

3. postponed such an exam more than twice.

In that event, benefits may be denied or suspended, until the required exam is completed.

TIME OF PAYMENT OF CLAIMS. Benefits payable under this Policy will be paid immediately after the Company receives complete proof of claim and confirms liability. After that:

1. Any benefits will be paid monthly, during any period for which the Company is liable. If benefits are due for less than a month, they will be paid on a pro rata basis. The daily rate will equal 1/30 of the Monthly Benefit.

2. Any balance, which remains unpaid at the end of the period of liability, will be paid immediately after the Company receives complete proof of claim and confirms liability.

GL3001-LTD-8 04 FL

14 07/01/25

INTEREST ON LATE CLAIMS. If any disability income payment is not sent by the 120th day after the Company receives the first proof of claim; then that overdue payment will accrue simple interest at the rate of 10% per year.

TO WHOM PAYABLE. All benefits are payable to the Insured Employee, while living. After his or her death, benefits will be payable as follows.

1. Any Survivor Benefit will be payable in accord with that section.

2. Any other benefits will be payable to the Insured Employee's estate.

Exception. If a benefit becomes payable to:

1. the Insured Employee's estate; or

2. a minor or any other person who is not legally competent to give a valid receipt;

then up to $3,000 may be paid to any relative of the Insured Employee that the Company finds entitled to payment. If payment is made in good faith to such a relative, the Company will not have to pay that benefit again.

NOTICE OF CLAIM DECISION. The Company will send the Insured Employee a written notice of its claim decision. If the Company denies any part of the claim, the written notice will explain:

1. the reason for the denial, under the terms of this Policy and any internal guidelines;

2. how the Insured Employee may request a review of the Company's decision; and

3. whether more information is needed to support the claim.

This notice will be sent within 15 days after the Company resolves the claim. It will be sent within 45 days after the Company receives the first proof of claim, if reasonably possible.

Delay Notice. The Company may need more than 15 days to process the claim, due to matters beyond its control. If so, an extension will be permitted. In that event, the Company will send the Insured Employee a written delay notice:

1. by the 15th day after receiving the first proof of claim; and

2. every 30 days after that, until the claim is resolved.

The notice will explain:

1. what additional information is needed to determine liability; and

2. when a decision can be expected.

If the Insured Employee does not receive a written decision by the 105th day after the Company receives the first proof of claim, there is a right to an immediate review, as if the claim was denied.

Exception: The Company may need more information from the Insured Employee to process a claim. If so, it must be supplied within 45 days after the Company requests it. The resulting delay will not count towards the above time limits for claim processing.

REVIEW PROCEDURE. Within 180 days after receiving a denial notice, the Insured Employee may request a claim review by sending the Company:

1. a written request; and

2. any written comments or other items to support the claim.

The Insured Employee may review certain non-privileged information relating to the request for review.

The Company will review the claim and send the Insured Employee a written notice of its decision. The notice will state the reasons for the Company's decision, under the terms of this Policy and any internal guidelines. If the Company upholds the denial of all or part of the claim, the notice will also describe:

1. any further appeal procedures available under this Policy;

2. the right to access relevant claim information; and

3. the right to request a state insurance department review, or to bring legal action.

This notice will be sent within 45 days after the Company receives the request for review, or within 90 days if a special case requires more time.

GL3001-LTD-8 04 FL

15 07/01/25

Delay Notice. If the Company needs more than 45 days to process an appeal, in a special case:

1. an extension of up to 45 more days will be permitted; and

2. the Company will send the Insured Employee a written delay notice, by the 30th day after receiving the request for review.

The notice will explain:

1. the special circumstances which require the delay;

2. whether more information is needed to review the claim; and

3. when a decision can be expected.

Exception: The Company may need more information from the Insured Employee to process an appeal. If so, it must be supplied within 45 days after the Company requests it. The resulting delay will not count towards the above time limits for appeal processing.

Claims Subject to ERISA (Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974). Before bringing a civil legal action under the federal labor law known as ERISA, an employee benefit plan participant or beneficiary must exhaust available administrative remedies. Under this Policy, the plan participant or beneficiary must first seek two administrative reviews of the adverse claim decision, in accord with this section. After the required reviews:

1. an ERISA plan participant or beneficiary may bring legal action under Section 502(a) of ERISA; and

2. the Company will waive any right to assert that he or she failed to exhaust administrative remedies.

RIGHT OF RECOVERY. If benefits have been overpaid on any short-term disability or long-term disability claim, full reimbursement to the Company is required within 60 days. If reimbursement is not made, the Company has the right to:

1. reduce future benefits and suspend payment of the Minimum Monthly Benefit under this Policy, until full reimbursement is made;

2. reduce benefits payable to the Insured Employee or his or her beneficiary under any group insurance policy issued by the Company, until full reimbursement is made; or

3. recover such overpayments from the Insured Employee or his or her estate.

Such reimbursement is required whether the overpayment is due to:

1. the Company's error in processing a claim;

2. the Insured Employee's receipt of Other Income Benefits;

3. fraud, misrepresentation or omission of relevant facts; or

4. any other reason.

LEGAL ACTIONS. No legal action to recover any benefits may be brought until sixty days after the required written proof of claim has been given. No legal action may be brought after the applicable statute of limitations expires. The statute runs from the date by which written Proof of Claim must be given.

COMPANY'S DISCRETIONARY AUTHORITY. Except for the functions that this Policy clearly reserves to the Policyholder or Employer, the Company has the authority to manage this Policy, interpret its provisions, administer claims and resolve questions arising under it. The Company's authority includes (but is not limited

to) the right to:

1. establish administrative procedures, determine eligibility and resolve claims questions;

2. determine what information the Company reasonably requires to make such decisions; and

3. resolve all matters when an internal claim review is requested.

Any decision the Company makes in the exercise of its authority shall be conclusive and binding; subject to the Insured Employee's rights to request a state insurance department review or to bring legal action.

This provision does not apply to residents of California.

ELIGIBILITY

GL3001-LTD-9 04

16 07/01/25

ELIGIBLE CLASSES. The classes of Employees eligible for insurance are shown in the Schedule of Benefits. The Company has the right to review and terminate any or all classes eligible under this Policy, if any class ceases to be covered by this Policy.

ELIGIBILITY DATE. An Employee becomes eligible for coverage provided by this Policy on the later of:

1. this Policy's date of issue; or

2. the date the Waiting Period is completed.

Prior Service Credit Towards Waiting Period. The Waiting Period is shown in the Schedule of Benefits.

Prior service in an Eligible Class will apply toward the Waiting Period, when:

1. a former Employee is rehired within one year after his or her employment ends; or

2. an Employee returns from an approved Family or Medical Leave within:

a. the 12-week leave period required by federal law; or

b. any longer period required by a similar state law; or

3. an Employee returns from a Military Leave within the period required by federal USERRA law.

EFFECTIVE DATES

EFFECTIVE DATE. An Employee's initial amount of coverage becomes effective at 12:01 a.m. on the latest of:

1. the first day of the Insurance Month coinciding with or next following the date the Employee becomes eligible for the coverage;

2. the date the Employee resumes Active Work, if not Actively at Work on the day he or she becomes eligible;

3. the date the Employee makes written application for coverage and signs;

a. a payroll deduction order, if the Employees pay any part of the Policy premium;

or

b. an order to pay premiums from the Employee's Flexible Benefits Plan account, if premiums are paid through such an account; or

4. the date the Company approves the Employee's Evidence of Insurability, if required.

Any increased or additional coverage becomes effective at 12:01 a.m. on the latest of:

1. the first day of the Insurance Month coinciding with or next following the date on which the

Insured Employee becomes eligible for the increase, if Actively at Work on that day;

2. the date the Insured Employee resumes Active Work, if not Actively at Work on the day the increase would otherwise take effect; or

3. the date any required Evidence of Insurability is approved by the Company.

Any decrease will take effect on the day of the change, whether or not the Insured Employee is Actively at Work.

EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY. Evidence of Insurability satisfactory to the Company must be submitted (at the Employee's expense) when:

1. an Employee makes written application for coverage (or an increased amount of coverage) more than 31 days after becoming eligible for the coverage;

2. an Employee makes written application to enroll for coverage after he or she has requested:

a. to cancel insurance;

b. to stop payroll deductions for the insurance; or

c. to stop premium payments from the Flexible Benefits Plan account;

3. coverage is elected after the Employee has caused insurance to lapse, by failing to pay the required premium when due; or

4. optional, supplemental or voluntary coverage is elected in excess of any Guaranteed Issue Amounts shown in the Schedule of Benefits.

EFFECTIVE DATES

GL3001-LTD-9 04

17 07/01/25

EFFECTIVE DATE FOR CHANGE IN ELIGIBLE CLASS. An Insured Employee may become a member of a different Eligible Class. Coverage under the different Eligible Class will be effective:

1. on the first day of the Insurance Month coinciding with or next following the date of the change;

2. except as stated in the Effective Date provision for increases or decreases.

REINSTATEMENT RIGHTS. If an Insured Employee's coverage terminates due to one of the following breaks in service, he or she will be entitled to reinstate the coverage upon resuming Active Work with the Employer within the required timeframe. "Reinstatement" or "to reinstate" means to re-enroll for Policy coverage, without satisfying a new Waiting Period or providing Evidence of Insurability. Reinstatement is available upon:

1. return from an approved Family or Medical Leave within:

a. the 12-week period required by federal law; or

b. any longer period required by a similar state law;

2. return from a Military Leave within the period required by federal USERRA law;

3. return from any other approved leave of absence within 30 days after the leave begins;

4. return within 30 days following a lay off; or

5. return within 30 days following termination of employment for any other reason.

To reinstate coverage, the Employee must apply for coverage or be re-enrolled within 31 days after resuming Active Work in an Eligible Class. The reinstated amount of insurance may not exceed the amount that terminated. Reinstatement will take effect on the date the Insured Employee returns to Active Work.

If the above conditions are met, then:

1. the months of leave will count towards any unmet Pre-Existing Condition Exclusion period; and

2. a new Pre-Existing Condition Exclusion will not apply to the reinstated amount of insurance.

A new Pre-Existing Condition Exclusion will apply to any increased amount of insurance.

INDIVIDUAL TERMINATION

GL3001-LTD-10 04 FL

18 07/01/25

INDIVIDUAL TERMINATION OF COVERAGE. An Insured Employee's coverage will terminate at 12:00 midnight on the earliest of:

1. the date this Policy or the Employer's participation terminates; (but without prejudice to any claim incurred prior to termination);

2. the date the Insured Employee's Class is no longer eligible for insurance;

3. the date such Insured Employee ceases to be a member of an Eligible Class;

4. the last day of the Insurance Month in which the Insured Employee requests termination;

5. the last day of the last Insurance Month for which premium payment is made on the Insured

Employee's behalf;

6. the end of the period for which the last required premium has been paid;

7. with respect to a particular insurance benefit, the date the portion of this Policy providing that benefit terminates;

8. the date on which the Insured Employee's employment with the Employer terminates; unless coverage is continued as provided below; or

9. the date the Insured Employee enters the armed services of any state or country on active duty, except for duty of 30 days or less for training in the Reserves or National Guard. (If the Insured Employee sends proof of military service, the Company will refund any unearned premium.)

CONTINUATION RIGHTS. Ceasing Active Work results in termination of the Insured Employee's eligibility for insurance, but coverage may be continued as follows.

1. Disability. If an Insured Employee is absent due to Total Disability, or is engaged in Partial Disability Employment, coverage may be continued during:

a. the Elimination Period; provided the Company receives the required premium from the Employer; and

b. the period for which benefits are payable, without payment of premium.

Premium payments will be waived from the satisfaction of the Elimination Period until the end of the period for which benefits are payable. If coverage is to be continued following a period for which premiums were waived, premium payments must be resumed, as they become due.

2. Family or Medical Leave. If an Insured Employee goes on an approved Family or Medical Leave, and is not entitled to the more favorable continuation available during Disability, coverage may be continued, until the earliest of:

a. the end of the leave period approved by the Employer;

b. the end of the 12-week leave period required by federal law, or any more favorable period required by a similar state law;

c. the date the Insured Employee notifies the Employer that he or she will not return;

or

d. the date the Insured Employee begins employment with another employer.

The required premium payments must be received from the Employer, throughout the period of continued coverage.

3. Military Leave. If an Insured Employee goes on a Military Leave, coverage may be continued for the same period allowed for an approved Family or Medical Leave. The required premium payments must be received from the Employer, throughout the period of continued coverage.

4. Lay-off or Other Leave. When an Insured Employee ceases work due to a temporary lay-off, or due to an approved leave of absence (other than an approved Family or Medical Leave or a Military Leave); coverage may be continued for three Insurance Months after the lay-off or leave begins. The required premium payments must be received from the Employer, throughout the period of continued coverage.

INDIVIDUAL TERMINATION

GL3001-LTD-10 04 FL

19 07/01/25

Conditions. In administering the above continuation(s), the Employer must not act so as to discriminate unfairly among Employees in similar situations. Insurance may not be continued when an Insured Employee ceases Active Work due to a labor dispute, strike, work slowdown or lockout.

INDIVIDUAL TERMINATION DURING DISABILITY. Termination of an Insured Employee's coverage during a Disability will have no effect on benefits payable for that period of Disability.

EXTENSION OF BENEFITS. In the event of Total Disability of an Insured Employee on the date of Policy termination, benefits will be continued for such disability until the earliest of:

1. the date the Insured Employee ceases to be Totally Disabled;

2. the date the Insured Employee fails to take a required medical exam;

3. the date the Insured Employee fails to submit any required proof to the Company;

4. the date the Insured Employee dies; or

5. the date the Maximum Benefit Period ends.

POLICY TERMINATION

POLICY TERMINATION BY THE COMPANY. To terminate this Policy, the Company must give the Group Policyholder at least 45 days' advance written notice of its intent to do so. The Company may terminate this Policy on the due date of any premium if:

1. the number of Insured Employees totals less than 10;

2. part of the premium is paid by the Insured Employee and less than 75% of those eligible for coverage are insured;

3. all of the premium is paid by the Policyholder and less than 100% of those eligible for coverage are insured;

4. the Policyholder, without good cause, fails to:

a. promptly furnish any information which the Company may reasonably require;

b. perform its duties pertaining to this Policy in good faith;

5. the Employer ceases to be covered under the state Workers' Compensation program or any other program of like intent.

6. the Company terminates all other policies where permitted by their terms, which provide long-term disability benefits in the same state in which this Policy was issued; or

7. state law otherwise requires this Policy to be terminated.

POLICY TERMINATION BY THE POLICYHOLDER. The Policyholder may terminate this Policy at any time by giving the Company advance written notice. This Policy will then terminate on:

1. the date the Company receives the notice; or

2. some later date on which the Policyholder and the Company have agreed.

However, termination will not become effective during any period for which premium has been paid to the Company. The Policyholder remains liable for the payment of premiums to the date of termination.

AUTOMATIC POLICY TERMINATION. If any premium is not paid before the end of the Grace Period;

then this Policy will terminate at the end of the Grace Period, without any action on the Company's part. The Policyholder remains liable for the payment of premiums to the date of termination.

POLICY TERMINATION DURING DISABILITY. Termination of this Policy or an Employer's participation during a Disability shall have no effect on benefits payable to the Insured Employee for that period of Disability.

CONVERSION PRIVILEGE

Conversion Privilege

GL3001-LTD-10.1

20 07/01/25

ELIGIBILITY. This Policy provides a conversion privilege, when an Insured Employee's insurance under this Policy ends because he or she:

1. resigns from employment with the Employer;

2. is terminated from employment with the Employer, with or without cause;

3. goes on a lay-off or leave of absence; or

4. remains on a lay-off or leave of absence beyond the continuation period provided in the

Individual Termination section of this Policy.

The Insured Employee may obtain converted long term disability insurance, without medical evidence of insurability. To be eligible for a converted policy, the Insured Employee must have been insured under the Employer's group plan for at least 12 months in a row, just before his or her insurance under this Policy terminated. The 12 months can be a combination of coverages under this Policy, and under any prior group long term disability plan which this Policy replaces.

APPLICATION. Application to convert must be made within 31 days after insurance under this Policy terminates. The converted benefits and amount of insurance may differ from those under this Policy.

CONDITIONS AND LIMITATIONS. This conversion privilege is not available to any Insured Employee whose insurance terminates because:

1. this Policy is terminated by the Employer or the Company;

2. this Policy is amended to exclude the class to which the Insured Employee belongs;

3. the Insured Employee no longer belongs to a class eligible for coverage under this Policy;

4. the Insured Employee retires or dies;

5. the Insured Employee fails to pay the required premium; or

6. the Insured Employee is Disabled under the terms of this Policy.

Also, this conversion privilege is not available to an Insured Employee who becomes insured for long term disability benefits under any other group plan; unless the other coverage takes effect more than 31 days after his or her insurance under this Policy terminates.

If an Insured Employee converts his or her Policy coverage, and later resumes active employment in an eligible class; then the Insured Employee's conversion coverage will terminate on the day before he or she is re-enrolled under this Policy. In no event will benefits be paid under both this Policy and the conversion coverage for the same period of Disability.

PREMIUMS AND PREMIUM RATES

GL3001-LTD-11 04 FL

21 07/01/25

PAYMENT OF PREMIUM. No coverage provided by this Policy will be in effect until the first premium for such coverage is paid. For coverage to remain in effect, the Employer must pay each subsequent premium on or before its due date at the Company's Group Insurance Service Office. The premium must be paid in U.S.

dollars.

PREMIUM RATES. The initial premium rates for this Policy are shown on the Face Page of this Policy.

Premium rates are subject to change.

PREMIUM RATE CHANGE. The Company may change any premium rate on any of the following dates:

1. the date this Policy's terms are changed;

2. the date the Company's liability is changed due to a change in federal,…

This is the start of the file's text. The full file is on GovTribe.

File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .