The University Of Charleston, Inc.

Charleston, WV

UEI
JDVXRJ31HSH1
CAGE
0MZ72
Primary NAICS
611310 Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools
SAM.gov registration
Active through

Company facts

Self-certified in SAM.gov
  • Private University or College
  • Non-Profit Organization
  • Educational Institution
Entity structure
Corporate Entity (Tax Exempt)
SAM.gov registration date
Physical address
2300 MacCorkle Ave SE, Charleston, WV 25304, USA
Website
ucwv.edu
Founded
1889
Employees
251-1K
Estimated annual revenue
$100M-$250M
Industry
  1. Consumer Discretionary
  2. Diversified Consumer Services
  3. Education Services
  4. Education
SIC code
82 Educational Services

Registration and certifications come from SAM.gov and the SBA; company details from public web sources. Updated .

Contract vehicles

No active vehicles.

1 expired vehicle

Contract awards

Latest 5 listed here. See the rest on GovTribe.

Grant awards

Latest 5 listed here. See the rest on GovTribe.

Grant subawards

Prime recipient Prime award Amount Awarded
West Virginia Department Of Health And Human Resources Behavioral Health programs H79TI086373 $473,010
West Virginia Dept Of Human Services State Opioid Response H79TI087828 $1,493,000
West Virginia Department Of Health And Human Resources Behavioral Health programs H79TI086373 $483,991
West Virginia Department Of Health And Human Resources Behavioral Health programs H79TI085744 $2,500,000
West Virginia Dept Of Human Services State Opioid Response H79TI087828 $1,444,649

Latest 5 listed here. See the rest on GovTribe.

Similar vendors

About the company

The University Of Charleston, Inc., a private, non-profit educational institution headquartered in Charleston, West Virginia, serves the federal government primarily as a grant recipient for STEM workforce development, campus infrastructure, student support services, and substance abuse response programs. The university operates as a prime grant recipient (62% of recent awards) and subrecipient on behavioral health and opioid response initiatives routed through West Virginia state agencies (38% of recent awards). As a tax-exempt corporate entity, the university does not hold federal contracts and does not operate under SBA set-asides.

The university's federal grant footprint spans eight grantor agencies across educational, health, justice, and economic development missions. The National Science Foundation funds STEM talent-pipeline work, including a $216,189 collaborative cybersecurity analysis certification program (CFDA 47.076) led with BridgeValley Community and Technical College and Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College targeting veterans and high school students in rural southern counties, running September 2022 through August 2025. The National Institute of Standards and Technology awarded $176 thousand for biomedical and chemical research instrumentation (gas chromatography-mass spectrometry, MiSeq sequencing system) in the university's biology, chemistry, and pharmacy programs. The Department of Education's Office of Postsecondary Education provided $617,887 under the Higher Education Institutional Aid program (CFDA 84.031) for student advising, career coaching, and belonging initiatives effective October 2025 through September 2026. The Bureau of Justice Assistance funded two grants: a $1.75 million Rehabilitation Science and Athletic Training Center construction project (June 2024–July 2027) to house occupational therapy and physical therapy graduate programs, and law enforcement leadership training for 300 state personnel in communication, diversity awareness, and conflict management (June 2024–July 2027). The Office on Violence Against Women supported a grants-reducing-sexual-assault program on campus through September 2027. The Bureau of Primary Health Care funded a $786 thousand simulation technology and equipment deployment project for nursing and health sciences education at Charleston and Beckley locations (August 2022–July 2025). The Economic Development Administration awarded $3.577 million for a downtown innovation hub to launch over 54 small businesses in nine coal-impacted counties (May 2022 grant). An NSF planning grant (September 2026–August 2027) addresses STEM support and retention for low-income students at the rural campus.

The university's subrecipient activity concentrates on substance-abuse and behavioral-health response. West Virginia's Department of Health and Human Resources passed multiple awards for state opioid response programming and naloxone distribution logistics; the Department of Human Services routed State Opioid Response sub-awards; and Marshall University Research Corporation conveyed a WV-INBRE equipment allocation. The Department of Health and Human Services Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration accounts for 13 awards (28% of the total award count), though dollar magnitude on most sub-awards is not specified in the source. Two minor Navy vehicles appear in the portfolio—a Basic Ordering Agreement (N0018913GZ005) carrying an $8 thousand task order and a United States Naval Community College Partnerships vehicle valued at $500—neither of which align with the university's core grant footprint and likely represent outlier records or administrative artifacts. The Department of the Army West Virginia National Guard holds one award valued at $243 thousand (purpose not specified in source).

Activity declined from nine awards in 2022 to one in 2026 (year-to-date as of the source snapshot). Two awards reach ultimate completion within the next twenty-four months, presenting minimal recompete exposure. The combined potential value across all prime and sub awards is $147.3 million, with $45.2 million obligated (31% of potential). The university's federal engagement centers on student access and workforce development in STEM and health professions, campus infrastructure, and West Virginia public health response—all rooted in its mission as a rural, regional institution addressing regional talent and healthcare shortages.

Quick answers

Is The University Of Charleston, Inc. registered in SAM.gov?

Yes. The University Of Charleston, Inc.'s SAM.gov registration is active through December 12, 2026.

Which contract vehicles does The University Of Charleston, Inc. hold?

The University Of Charleston, Inc. holds a place on 1 federal contract vehicle: United States Naval Community College Partnerships.

What is The University Of Charleston, Inc.'s most recent federal award?

The University Of Charleston, Inc.'s most recent federal grant award is Planning: planning a scalable, evidence-based stem support model for low-income students at a rural university (2623302), from Division of Undergraduate Education, on September 1, 2026.

On GovTribe

See The University Of Charleston, Inc.'s full federal record

  • Federal contract awards
  • IDV awards
  • Contract vehicles
  • Federal grant awards
  • Funding analysis by agency, NAICS and set-aside
  • Similar vendors