Attachment 6 Question and Answers_Consolidated v5.xlsx

XLSX spreadsheet 27 KB Posted

Attached to
Platoon Bulk Charger
Solicitation number
W91CRB-25-R-0022
Issued by

About this file

This document is a comprehensive Questions and Answers spreadsheet for Solicitation W91CRB-25-R-0022, a Department of the Army Materiel Command procurement for a Platoon Battery Charger (PBC). The solicitation seeks innovative prototype solutions for a bulk battery charger with specific technical requirements, including charging capabilities for various military battery types like CWB and BB-2590. Key details include a 12-month period of performance, estimated award in late FY25 or early FY26, and a proposal submission deadline of 17 July 2025 at 12:00 PM Eastern Time.

The Q&A document addresses numerous technical clarifications, including modifications to performance specifications, CLIN structure, bid sample requirements, and deliverable expectations. Significant updates include removing hardware bill of materials language, clarifying EMI testing requirements, updating battery charge time specifications, and providing guidance on prototype sample deliveries. The government emphasizes that vendors should propose their optimal structure for development and testing costs, with potential milestone discussions after award. The solicitation targets non-traditional defense contractors and requires detailed technical and pricing submissions across multiple evaluation factors.

View the file

Other files

File Type Posted
PBC SOW (27Jun25).docx DOCX document
PBC RPP (2July25).docx DOCX document
Attachment 5 Price Template_CLIN_Structure2July25.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
Attachment 6 Question and Answers_Consolidated v4 2July25.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
A007 - PBC SAR (27Jun25).pdf PDF
A002 IMS.pdf PDF
Attachment 4 Assertions and Other Applicable Clauses.docx DOCX document
A005 PBC PQT Plan.pdf PDF
A006 PBC PQT Report.pdf PDF
Attachment 1 OTA Terms and Conditions.docx DOCX document
A003 PBC TDP.pdf PDF
A009 PBC QMS PP.pdf PDF
Attachment 2 PBC SOW (29May25).docx DOCX document
PBC RPP (29May25).docx DOCX document
A008 PBC Charger Logging Application.pdf PDF
A007 PBC SAR.pdf PDF
A004 PBC FRACAS Reports.pdf PDF
A001 PBC AgendasBriefs Meeting Minutes Reports.pdf PDF
Attachment 3 Perf Spec Rev 1 2025-04-02 for (PBC).pdf PDF
Attachment 6 Question and Answer Template.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
Attachment 5 Price Template_CLIN_Structure.xlsx XLSX spreadsheet
Show all 21

On GovTribe

Work with this file

  • Download the original file
  • Contacts named in this file
  • Similar government files
  • Ask GovTribe AI about this file

Text version

Sheet1

7/2/25
NOTE: The solicitation supersedes the Government responses stated herein.
No.RPP / Document ReferenceOfferor QuestionGovernment Response
1PBC RPP Section 2.8 Non-Traditional Defense Contractor Participation CertificationSection 2.8 instructs the return of a signed certification/affirmation of size status. Will an Affirmation of Business Status form specific to this opportunity be provided?No. If there are any concerns based upon what is provided, the Government can address issues prior to award.
2PBC RPP Section 3.5.1 Bid Sample SubmissionPlease confirm if bid sample submission along with the associated PowerPoint and user guide need to be received by proposal due date and time.All submissions are to be provided by the proposal due date/time.
3Attachment 2 PBC SOWSection 4.1 States "The Contractor must provide a full Hardware Bill of Materials (HBOM) for the PBC IAW ADRL A010 before the end of PQT, to allow the Government the ability to do supply chain risk analysis." We did not see ADRL A010 referenced in Appendix A and we also did not see an included CDRL DID with the RPP. Will the Government please provide clarification on whether CDRL A010 is part of this RPP and if so provide the ADRL Attachment?The language regarding a Hardware Bill of Materials was removed.
4Attachment 5 Price Template_CLIN_StructureIs the Government willing to entertain structuring the payment schedule by milestones instead of only by CLINs?See answer to #10.
5PBC RPP Section 3.5.1 Bid Sample SubmissionPlease confirm that bid samples can be hand delivered and if so, please provide delivery instructions for hand delivery.Hand delivery is acceptable, would just need to coordinate with Dan Milliken and Tony Deanni to ensure they are available to accept. However, this does not change the date to submit bid samples. Bid samples must be delieverd by the proposal deadline.
6PBC RPP Section 2.7 Data RightsPlease confirm where in the response to include data rights assertions.The RPP 2.2 Proposal Deliverable List has been updated to include data rights assertion.
7PBC RPP Section 2.8 Non-Traditional Defense Contractor Participation Certification, Page 5Please confirm where in the response to include the non-traditional defense contractor participation certification.The RPP 2.2 Proposal Deliverable List has been updated to include non-traditional defense contractor participation certification.
8Attachment 5 Price Template_CLIN_StructurePlease clarify the activities the Contractor is to price under CLIN 0001, Award Kick Off – is it intended to cover only the costs associated with the Post-Award Conference (PAC)?This CLIN is intended to cover the costs for the Kick Off meeting (AKA PAC) and any initial costs needed for the vendor to begin development. Vendor should propose their structure how they best see fit and will be evaluated on their proposals.
9Attachment 5 Price Template_CLIN_StructurePlease clarify if the price CLIN 0002, Test Readiness Review should include all activities listed under 5.2 of Attachment 2 PBC SOW (i.e., TRR review meeting; build of prototype samples; test facility ODCs; associated, NRE, etc.)?This CLIN is intended to cover the costs for the Test Readiness Review and any initial costs needed to begin testing. Vendor should propose their structure how they best see fit and will be evaluated on their proposals.
10Attachment 5 Price Template_CLIN_StructureCLIN 0003, Non-Recurring Engineering, is presented as a single CLIN. Can the Contractor propose FFP milestone payments in order to facilitate payments throughout the period of performance?Do not propose milestones. After award milestones may be discussed.
11Attachment 5 Price Template_CLIN_StructureShould A009 be included in CLIN 0006, CDRLs (A001 – A008)? In addition, can the CDRLs be broken out as individual CLINs in order for the Contractor to bill upon submission of each CDRL?Yes, A009 should be included in CLIN 0006, CLIN structure attachment has been updated.
12Attachment 5 Price Template_CLIN_StructureCLIN 0005, Prototype Qualification Test Report, is CDRL A006. Is this CDRL to be priced under CLIN 0005 or under CLIN 0006, CDRLS (A001 - A008)?The PQT Report (ADRL A006) should be priced under CLIN 0005 and not under CLIN 0006, which will be ADRL A001 - A005, and A007 - A009.
13Performance Spec Section 3.5.1 Battery ChargingUpdate AN/PRC-148 Battery charge time. The max charge rate for Thales PRC-148 is 2.6A. Please change charge time to 3 hours to match AN/PRC-163.Performance Specification will be updated prior to ward to reflect 3.0 hours for the AN/PRC-148 battery charge time.
14Performance Spec Section 3.6.1.7 RE102The ESD text is incorrectly placed for EMI. Please use the text listed in 4.6.1.7.Performance Specification will be updated prior to ward to to reflect proper test.
15Performance Spec Section 3.7.8 ShockIn order to minimize risk of damage during transport, it is recommended that shock be added as a requirement.Charger will not be in operation while vehicle is in motion. No update to the Performance Specification will be made.
16Performance Spec Section 3.7.9 VibrationThe Section 4.9 Reliability requires vibration to be performed. Therefore, please change N/A to vibration requirement listed in part "e" of Section 4.9.The Performance Specification will be updated prior to award to reflect removal of the reliability test in the performance specification
17Performance Spec Section 3.8.1 General SafetyReplace UL 60950-1 with UL 62368-1. UL 60950-1, the safety standard for information technology equipment, was officially replaced by UL/IEC 62368-1. This newer standard took effect on December 20, 2020.No update to the Performance Specification will be made.
18Performance Spec Section 3.8.1.1 Touch CurrentReplace UL 60950-1 with UL 62368-1. UL 60950-1, the safety standard for information technology equipment, was officially replaced by UL/IEC 62368-1. This newer standard took effect on December 20, 2020.No update to the Performance Specification will be made.
19Performance Spec Section 3.8.1.2 Electric StrengthReplace UL 60950-1 with UL 62368-1. UL 60950-1, the safety standard for information technology equipment, was officially replaced by UL/IEC 62368-1. This newer standard took effect on December 20, 2020.No update to the Performance Specification will be made.
20Performance Spec Section 3.8.1.3 Retained ChargeReplace UL 60950-1 with UL 62368-1. UL 60950-1, the safety standard for information technology equipment, was officially replaced by UL/IEC 62368-1. This newer standard took effect on December 20, 2020.No update to the Performance Specification will be made.
21PBC RPP Section 1.2 Prototype Effort OverviewFor EMI, is the intent to use the 3 GR4 units to perform all EMI requirements or to repeat each EMI test three times. This could impact cost.EMI was removed from Prototype Qualification Test. Only tests performed in Prototype Qualification are:
a.Battery Types and Charge Times (PS 4.5.1.1)
b.Input Voltage, AC (PS 4.5.5.1)
c.Temperature (PS 4.7.1)
d.Transit Drop (PS 4.7.7.2)
e.Immersion (PS 4.7.10)
f.Rain (PS 4.7.12)

However, it is still a requirement and vendors should be designing to meet the EMI requirements in the Performance Specification.

22PBC RPP Section 3.5.1 Bid SampleHow many CWBs should the bid sample charge simultaneously?The bid sample must demonstrate charging at least a single CWB or a single BB-2590.
23PBC RPP Section 3.5.1 Bid SampleHow many BB-2590s should the bid sample charge simultaneously?The bid sample must demonstrate charging at least a single CWB or a single BB-2590.
24PBC RPP Section 4.3.5 Bid SampleFor charge time requirement under this section, no charge time is listed.Correct - no charge time requirement.
25Statement of Work Section 3.2 IMSFor many tasks such as order and receive components, and tooling the individual tasks will be >14 days. Recommend allowing longer IMS event durations.Vendor will show the long lead items on their IMS.
27ADRL A007Block 13 references CWB configuration baseline. This should be replaced with PBC baseline.ADRL A007 - Safety Assement Report: Correction made to baseline reference and update made to SAR reference in the PBC SOW (27Jun25) to Section 4.2
28ADRL A007References SOW 8.2. It should change to 8.0.A007 SAR is now referenced in PBC SOW (27Jun25) 4.2 Safety Engineering
29ADRL A008Are the 4 prototype samples mentioned in the last sentence in ADRL A008 part of the 10 functional samples delivered?Yes - these four are one of the 10 required prototype samples.
32Statement of Work Section 4.1Can we clarify that the Firmware as a component of the PBC is to be delivered as a boot loader and executable file?That would be acceptable.
33Statement of Work Section 4.5.11. in the deliverables associated with ADRL A009, the bullet points reference battery production. Can you clarify whether the language referencing both batteries and production should be referring to the chargers and prototypes? ADRL A009 shall include, but is not limited to: Bill of materials (to include component manufacturer and related data code) traceable to each battery production lot, Software / Firmware version of each production lot, battery production lot assembly, rework and testing traceability records.Statement of work has been updated to remove this reference
34PBC RPP Section 3.1Please update Section 3.1 to match the PoP of 12-months stated in Sections 1.2 and 4.3.1. 3.1 currently lists it as 15 months.Government updated to reflect 12 months
35Performance Spec Section 3.10.4.1 NATO slave input power adapterPlease provide clarification on this requirement. Is a cable adapter required? What is the length of the cable? Is this required as part of the prototype delivery?The cable is not required as part of the prototype delivery
361.21.2 of the SOW mentions “ The design of the PBC meets the charging requirements of the dismounted Platoon Charger as laid out in the Capabilities Development Document-Updated (CDD-U) for Small Unit Power (SUP), signed 24 March 2022.” Can you please provide a copy of this referenced document?Document will not be provided, all requirements needed are provided in the Performance Specification document released as part of solicitation
372.1Can the government provide at least 2 weeks between the response time of questions and the RPP submission deadline to allow time to incorporate the information provided from government responses?Responses to questions are provided to the soonest possible.
382.3File naming convention:
Factor 4 has both the assertion letter as well as the Price Volume - should the assertion letter be contained in the PBC_Factor4Price_ CompanyName file or separately in a different document?Section 2.2 of the RPP was revised to provide a correct list of expected attachments.
392.7In which document do you want the Data Rights Assertion?See answer provided under question 6.
402.8In which document do you want the responses to the Non-Traditional Defense Contractor Participation Certification?See answer provided under question 7.
413.1 and 3.81There is some discrepancy of the period of performance (PoP). 3.81 of the PBC RPP states a 12-month PoP”, but 3.1 Factor 1 states a “15-month PoP” - which is correct?See answer provided in question 34.
423.8.3 Factor 5 - Bid SampleThe RRP provides examples of what would be unacceptable, but what are the criteria for being determined acceptable?The charger must charge the batteries listed and provide 1,000 W of charging power
433.8.3 Factor 5 - Bid SampleCriteria 2 is assumed to mean it must be able to charge a BB-2590 - is that correct?The BB-2590 is supposed to be a subset of the first criteria. Government will update document to reflect this.
443.8.3 Factor 5 - Bid SampleCriteria 4 does not specify a charge time for a full set of batteries - what is defined as a full set?Full set that the bid sample can charge. It is not a full set for the PBC
453.8.3 Factor 5 - Bid SampleCriteria 4 does not specify a charge time for a full set of batteries - is there a time criteria?See answer provided in question 24
46PBC+RPP+(29May25)For planning purposes, would the Government please clarify the timeframe expectations for industry partners to receive Q&A responses and award notification(s)?The Government intends to award the subject effort prior to the end of the fiscal year.
473.1States 15 months but section 1.2 states 12 months. Which is correct or please explain the difference in milestones.See answer provided in question 34.
484.1Can we submit 2 costs, one per exact request and one with a few common but not requested advanced feature sets?
Submit only one cost.
494.3.2 SubFactor A xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxExample uses a 30" x 18" x 12" charging 15 CWBs but this volume exceeds the 1.6 cu ft volume requirement. Will a larger volume charger that has "Outstanding" metricsThis is just for example calculation. Criteria for an "Outstanding" metric is listed in the RPP
501.3Does the gov't need 10 fully functional protoypes on top of the 6 units for PQT?See answer provided in question 29.
514.3.5Is the requirement for the bid sample to charge only of them from (3.6CWB, 3.6.2CWB, or BB-2590)? BB-2590 was on line #2 by itself..not sure what that meant?The BB-2590 is supposed to be a subset of the first criteria. Government has updated document to reflect this
524.3.5What does #4 mean? Is there a specific charge time needed for a full set of batteries? Is it missing a charge time?See answer provided in question 24.
534.3.5For item #4, what does a full set of batteries mean?See answer provided in question 44.
54PBC RPP (29May25).docxPlease provide the anticpated award date.The Government is estimating an award late FY25 or early FY26.
55Attachment 3 Perf Spec Rev 1 2025-04-02 for (PBC).pdf - Section 3.5.1.6Please provide access to NATO STANREC 4819 and NATO STANAG 4695.Offeror’s can register and download the documents from here: https://diweb.hq.nato.int/
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66
67
68
69
70
71
72
73
74
75
76
77
78
79
80
81
82
83
84
85
86
87
88
89
90
91
92
93
94
95
96
97
98
99
100

&P of &N

File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .