Questions and Answers Amendment 0004.pdf

PDF 837 KB Posted

Attached to
TR-317 Series Hull Penetrator Assembly Production
Solicitation number
N6660426R0011
Issued by

About this file

This document contains Questions and Answers for Solicitation N66604-26-R-0011, which appears to be a Navy contract for TR-317 Series Hull Penetrator Assemblies. The Q&A covers technical details, drawing revisions, material specifications, testing requirements, and clarifications across multiple amendment documents. Key highlights include:

The solicitation requires 12 First Article Test (FAT) units that must pass all specified tests, with a current proposal closing date of 11/21/25. The contract involves complex technical specifications for a naval component, including specific requirements for materials like copper alloy, rubber compounds, and plating. Contractors must conform to detailed technical specifications in drawings and CIPS (Continuous Improvement Performance Specification), with no variances allowed. The Government will perform shock and UNDEX testing, and contractors are responsible for providing built hardware. Material sourcing challenges are noted, such as Denka ceasing U.S. production of a previously specified rubber compound, leaving material selection to the contractor. The solicitation includes small business participation goals and requires a comprehensive first article testing process.

View the file

Other files

Show all 23

On GovTribe

Work with this file

  • Download the original file
  • Contacts named in this file
  • Similar government files
  • Ask GovTribe AI about this file

Text version

Questions and Answers

Solicitation N66604-26-R-0011

Question # Question Answer

Will the Government be posting a drawing Package with this solicitation?

No, Applicable Documents will not be posted on SAM. See Section L, Note 9, for details on how to request the drawing package and Applicable Documents.

Questions 2.a – 2.g all pertain to Drawing 03411002 Rev K

NOTE: Addressing this and several other questions requires an update to the CIPS and the reference drawings identified in the CIPS. The Government intends to update the CIPS and associated reference drawings after award of the MAC. Until a CIPS revision is issued via postaward modification, in the event of a disagreement between the questions and answers and the CIPS including the reference drawings the questions and answers shall Govern.

Further, as detailed in CIPS Section 2.1, in the event of a disconnect, the CIPS is the controlling document over drawings referenced in the CIPS.

2.a

Zone C5 shows dimension

1.180 with datum lines that do not align with any features. In Revision J, this feature was from the end of the body to the step in the body where the contacts exit the body. Is this where the feature should be aligned?

The Government will correct the drawing in next revision. Dimension value (1.180) is correct; leaders are not properly aligned. The dimension is intended to apply from the face of the threaded body, to the trailing surface of the spacer plate (pc 8) where it meets the glass seal. The Government will correct this in a in a future revision.

2.b

Zone B4 shows dimension .495 with no associated tolerance (therefore tolerance reverts to the tolerance block for a

Revision J is overtaken by revision K so the tolerances identified in revision K are applicable under this requirement. The mating socket length (pin depth) is defined as 0.495 with a tolerance of +/-.005.

Maintaining the +/-.005 pin length tolerance will ensure proper mating tolerance of +/-.005). In Revision J, this feature was listed as .495 +/- .015. Should this feature have a tolerance as listed asin Revision J?

and rubber face engagement while mated. No change to the stated requirements is necessary.

2.c

Detail C:

In Revision J, Detail C was listed as “For Reference Only”, Revision K does not state “For Reference Only”. Detail C shows in processing dimensions that cannot be verified at the final assembly.

When completing First Article forms, it will not be possible for a QAR to verify these in process dimensions. Should this Detail be listed as “For Reference Only” as in Revision J?

Detail C is for reference only. The true position control feature will be moved to the Detail B projection where the 0.312 +/- 0.002 dimension is already defined. The Government will correct this in a drawing revision.

2.d

The features .156 TYP and .125 TYP are confusing as they are individual features not associated with any other feature. Why is TYP listed with these two dimensions?

See 2.c response. These are typical based on the pin types used in legacy designs.

2.e.

In Revision J, dimension .120 and .060 were listed as .12 and .06. The .XXX dimension will have a tolerance of +/-.005, See 2.c response. Specifically, the response to 2c states that Detail C becomes “for reference only” in the upcoming drawing revision, therefore none of these values become inspectable.

whereas a .XX dimension will have a tolerance of +/-.010.

These features are basically “Molding FLASH” and will be very difficult to accurately measure. Should they be listed as a .XX dimension?

2.f

Detail F, is drawn to show how the molded assembly will fit within the cylinder, but is unclear as the Length required by this cylinder. Should there be a length defined in Detail F as the length of the molded assembly is now a MINIMIUM?”

See assembly view in Zone 4D where the minimum assembly length is defined. Detail F defines the max volume diameter, creating a cylindrical volume for the cable/mold geometry and lengths to be design within.

2.g

Note 5 states there is to be Gold over Copper, an approved RFV (30463-FA01-005a) on previous contract allowed “Suitable Underplating “, will “Suitable Underplating “ be allowed on this contract?

The Government will issue a drawing revision that will simplify to “IAW NAVSEA SPEC 53711-8192757” which will include the following:

Pin mat’l/plating can be IAW SAE AS39039, ASTM F30, or equivalent as approved by NAVSEA under the process summarized in the answer to question 3 below.

Gold over copper thickness, as appropriate, per MIL-DTL-45204 Type II, Grade C, Class 1.

Gold over an intermediate plating layer of nickel IAW SAE-AMS- QQ-N-290 or MIL-C-26074, is acceptable as an alternative

Drawing 03411004 Rev A:

Revision “-“ of this drawing allowed material Copper Alloy 903 per QQ-C-390, Revision A now states “AS APPROVED BY NAVSEA”. How do we get

NAVSEA SPEC 53711-8192757 is the governing technical document;

see section 3.2.4 for allowable material types.

Generally, If vendor plans to qualify outside of this contract (i.e. MIB) a design/configuration review will be held with govt, prior to FAT

If vendor plans to qualify under this contract, general FA configuration reviews will be conducted, providing ample time alternate materials approved prior to proposal submitted?

to propose alternative materials with supporting OQE to assess suitability

Drawing 03411008 Rev A:

Note 6 was added for marking information and states

“MARKED ON THE OUTER

DIAMETER AREA WITH LESS

THAN .06 INCH HIGH

LETTERING (MIN) IN

ACCORDANCE WITH MIL-STD-

792”, The note is confusing as it states “WITH LESS THAN .06 INCH HIGH LETTER (MIN). How can lettering be less than, but

(MIN)?

The Government will correct this error in the next drawing revision.

The marking will now be allowed on the flat area of the lockwasher.

Drawing 03411009 Rev B:

There is a conflict between 03411009 Rev B and Paragraph

3.2.3 of 8192757. Note 3 of 03411009 states “C63200 PER

ASTM B150 , TEMPER TQ50”,

whereas Paragraph 3.2.3 of 8192757 states “C63200 temper QC50 in accordance with ASTM B150.” Please confirm the temper to be TQ50 as stated in 03411009.

Temper TQ50 is correct for C63200 (QC50 not a B150 temper option) as stated in 8192757, paragraph 3.2.3.

The Government will correct the CIPS in next revision

6 Questions 6.a – 6.c all pertain to-Specification 8192757

6.a Paragraph 4.3.5 Circuit Resistance, states “shall be

Concur, the Government will correct the CIPS in next revision used to obtain the total conductor voltage drops as shown in Figure 1.”. Believe Figure 1 is in error and should be Figure 2, please confirm.

6.b

Paragraph 4.3.10 Cable Flexing, states “stationary mandrels as shown in Figure 3 to show conformance”. Believe Figure 3 is in error and should be Figure 4, please confirm.

Concur, the Government will correct the CIPS in next revision

6.c

Paragraph 4.3.17 Thermal Shock, states “subjected to thermal shock testing specified in Table 4 ”. Believe Table 4 is in error and should be Table 3, please confirm.

Concur, the Government will correct the CIPS in next revision

Can you verify drawing 03412003 is currently at Revision A?

Yes.

The drawing revisions in the CIPs do not match the drawing package. Are the drawings in the drawing package accurate to this solicitation?

The Government agrees that there are typos on Page 3 of the CIPs regarding drawing revisions. The drawing package provided for the solicitation includes the correct drawing revisions. For clarification, the correct drawing revision for drawing 03411001 is Revision A.

The Government will revise the CIPs to remove all drawing revisions from this section.

Will the Navy schedule and execute the Shock event, requiring only the offeror to provide the built hardware?

Yes.

Will only one unit of the First Article be necessary, or is there a minimum quantity for shock testing?

Twelve (12) First Article units are required, in accordance with clause 52.209-4(a) of the solicitation.

What is the estimated lead time for scheduling and completing this Shock event?

There is no specified lead time for completing the shock test event.

However, as identified in the solicitation, following contractor testing and delivery, the Government has six (6) months to complete Government performed First Article testing, per clause 52.209-4(b).

FAR 52.211-11 is called out on page 36 of the solicitation. Our company historically does not enter into contracts that invoke any form of liquidated damages.

To ensure our continued participation in this bid opportunity, we request the removal of FAR 52.211-11 (Liquidated Damages – Supplies, Services, or Research and Development) in its entirety from the solicitation. Please confirm if FAR 52.211-11 can be removed.

The Government reserves the right to establish liquidated damages at the order level. The Clause will be modified via amendment to replace the “TO BE PROVIDED AT AWARD” fill-in with “TO BE ESTABLISHED AT

THE ORDER LEVEL VIA TASK ORDER SOLICITATION”.

Page 3, section B of the solicitation states that for CLIN 0003: “Offerors shall propose a total ceiling value of $98,160,000 for this Clin.”

Please confirm offeror is to only plug $98,160,000 pricing for 1 LOT for CIN 0003 and all follow

Yes, that is correct.

on RFP’s will be priced for specific quantities.

The solicitation includes two conflicting dates for the question submission deadline.

Can the Government please confirm the correct date for the submission of Offeror questions?

The correct question submission cutoff date is 14 days before the closing. Provision L-215-H007 will be corrected via amendment.

There appear to be two differing definitions of the “recent record of past performance” within the solicitation. Can the Government please clarify which definition or timeframe should be applied when preparing the Past Performance submission? Additionally, please confirm which document governs in the event of this inconsistency.

The recency period will be five years. Section L will be corrected to reflect five (5) years.

There appears to be a discrepancy between the small business goals stated in the RFP and those outlined in Section L.

Can the Government please clarify whether the objective is to achieve 5% participation by all small business concerns, or specifically 5% participation by small disadvantaged business

The Small Business Participation (SBP) and Small Business Subcontracting Plan requirements are separate and distinct and need to be independently addressed by oferors. The Government has reviewed both the SBP and Subcontracting Plan and the stated 5% requirements are accurate in the context of each provision.

concerns? Additionally, please confirm which document governs in the event of this inconsistency.

The RFP does not specify a requirement to submit a Pricing Workbook or Pricing Narrative as part of the proposal. Can the Government please clarify how it would like Offerors to demonstrate the derivation of the unit price for First Article Testing?

First Article Units are to be proposed on a Firm Fixed Price (FFP).

Therefore, no pricing workbook or narrative is required.

Given the current Government shutdown, does the Government anticipate extending the proposal due date to allow Offerors adequate time for submission?

The Government does not anticipate the current Navy budgetary status impacting this requirement. Further, based on the information required for this solicitation and the time allotted after an extension to 11/21/25 which will be issued with the execution of Amendment A00001, the Government determined offerors have more than enough time to

Amendment 0002

Question # Question Answer

We are currently building the TR-317 under two variances approved by the technical authority, which have significantly improved our yield and throughput to meet this critical demand. Would NUWC permit us to submit FA qualification units incorporating these approved variances?

No. Both FA and production units under this contract must conform to all requirements under this solicitation and the resulting award including the latest revision of the specification and drawings (Applicable Documents 3.1 and 3.2), to include all designs and material selections.

20 Appendix A paragraph 4.6.1 requires mic marking. Previous contracts

No, the MIC marking requirements stated in the solicitation will not be waived due to space limitations.

have waived this requirement at the contractor level. Will this requirement be waived due to space limitations for this marking?

Appendix A parts/material list on page 20 is blank. Request clarification on what material is required to have material verification performed by the certifying activity?

Level I items, which are those that require material verification, are identified on AD 3.1 (Drawing 03411001, parts list) and AD 3.2 (CIPS paragraph 3.2.1).

See Amendment A0001 Question 5 for clarification on hex nut (03411009).

Appendix A paragraph 4.3 states “Contractor inspection system requirements – the contractor will furnish the following specific procedures to the certifying activity prior to production, when required.

We interpret “when required” as when required by a CDRL and if there is no CDRL requirement we will not be required to send. Please confirm.

Test procedures as required by the Statement of Work (SOW) are to be developed and delivered in accordance with CDRL A007 (First Article Acceptance Test Procedures) per SOW para 4.2.5 and CDRL A00A (Production Acceptance Test Procedures) per SOW para 4.3.3.

Page 10 of SOW 4.3.7 requires submittal of rubber coupons for each new batch of rubber but there is no CDRL requirement. If this is required during active production then we recommend a CDRL to do so. Please confirm if Nuwc intends to add this requirement via CDRL.

NUWC will not add a CDRL. The requirement is for a contractor to deliver rubber samples (IAW the CIPS) to the Government for each new batch of rubber received. There is no requirement for a contractor to provide data, therefore, no CDRL is required.

Page 10 of SOW 4.3.2 States “Contractor shall serialize production units IAW GFI

5.2. What is GFI 5.2?

This should refer to GFI 6.2, which provides the block of serial numbers that the contractor shall use to serialize TR-317 Series Hull Penetrator Assemblies. The Government will correct the reference, revising from 5.2 to 6.2. This will be corrected via Amendment A00002

Is there a plan to update “other imperfections” in sections 3.3.i / 4.3.1.e of 8192757D? 3.3.i & 4.3.1.e state “All cast or molded parts shall be free from cold huts, blow holes, or other

An update to the CIPS will update sections 3.3.1 and 4.3.1e to align with how

3.2.15.1 and .2 are written, with a specific callout for rubber surfaces.

imperfections”. This requirement is not clearly defined. Verbal guidance was previously provided as to what areas were ‘critical’ and info is not included. Expectation of an updated requirement for the rubberwould be something similar to para 3.2.15.1 which states “The rubber coating shall be sound and free of pinholes or porosity.” Please confirm if section 3.3.i/4.3.1e will be updated.

Table 2 of 8192757D provides specific dimensions for the rubber samples. The thickness listed is not the standard thicknesses that we procure and use in manufacturing.

Can other size (thickness) samples be provided in lieu of what is specified in Table 2?

No, no other size samples are permitted.

Lockwasher Drawing 03411008 Rev A - Marking location states OD but part is too thin to mark on the OD.

Will an alternate marking location (face of the part) be provided?

Yes, the drawing will be updated to reflect the alternate location (i.e. the face of the part)

Extension Fitting drawing 03411004:

Rev – allowed for copper alloy 903 or Monel. Rev A only lists Monel and states “Alternate Material as approved by NAVSEA.” However, 8192757D Paragraph 3.2.4 allows alternate copper alloy 903. Is copper alloy 903 acceptable and does it require NAVSEA approval?

Yes, copper alloy 903 is acceptable, already has NAVSEA approval and is included in CIPS Section 3.2.4.

Table 1 of 8192757D-With UNDEX being required, will shipment of production parts prior to government performing the test be allowed? Or is shipment of

UNDEX only applies to First Article units. The question is unclear and appears to relate to production. The vendor cannot begin product and, therefore, cannot ship production units until completion and Government approval of all First Article testing, which includes Government performed UNDEX.

production parts only to be approved once UNDEX is completed?

Section M Paragraph 2.2b: If we are considered partially qualified as detailed in 2.2 of section L, what FA tests are required to be performed to obtain full qualification?

Partially qualified offers must perform all FA testing required by the CIPS.

CDRL 0004 in BLK 16 remarks section reference to SOW 4.3.6 – Production Program Reviews should be 4.3.8.

The Government assumes the offeror intended to reference CDRLs A001 and A002. Concur, the Government will correct Block 16 remarks on CDRLS A001 & A002 to reflect the correct SOW para for PPRs (4.3.8). This will be addressed via Amendment 0002.

Chemlok is no longer available for procurement. Can the Government confirm whether a suitable replacement primer has been identified and tested for application on the non-conductive coating (NCC) that will provide adequate adhesion to the rubber material?

No.

Denka was previously identified as the sole manufacturer of the authorized rubber compound utilized for this requirement. Given that Denka has ceased operations at its U.S. production facility, can the Government confirm whether a replacement compound or alternate qualified source has been identified and approved for use?

The Government does not currently have any recommended sources of supply for the rubber compound. It is the responsibility of the contractor to select a design that fully conforms with this specification.

If Dec 19th is not feasible, what is the Navy’s maximum allowable extension timeline?

The current solicitation closing date of 11/21/25 is the maximum allowable extension. No further extensions will be considered.

How many penetrators are required to pass the qualification? Will it be all 12 FAT units or just one?

All units must pass all required First Article tests.

36 What will be the criteria for determining pass/fail status?

The pass/fail criteria for the CIPS required testing is provided in Table 1 where it specifies the requirement paragraph and the test paragraph.

37 Is there an Engineering or non- No.

functional built penetrator that can be delivered to the Contractor’s Site for further mechanical assessment?

Amendment 0003

Are the 12 FAT units to be built IAW with 03411001? This would then include Piece #3 Extension Housing #03411004.

The current TDP as listed shows additional testing not included as part of the previous TDP. Are we to assume all companies submitting bids are classified as “Not Currently Qualified” as no contracts have been issued to the current TDP?

Section L-215-H004, Instructions for Pricing of Contract Data Requirements List, states:“ (a) The Offeror shall complete the ‘Price Group’ Block 17 and ‘Estimated Total Price’ (Block 18) of each data item on the Contract Data Requirements List (CDRL).”

However, the provided CDRL forms (DD Form 1423) do not contain Blocks 17 (“Price Group”) or 18 (“Estimated Total Price”). Please provide updated CDRL forms or clarify whether this is still a requirement.

Blocks 17 and 18 are required to be filled in. Attachment #7, “CDRL Blocks 17 and 18” is included in solicitation Amendment 0003 with instructions for offerors to complete the fill ins in the provided format.

Amendment 0004

Solicitation section C-242-H002 denotes that the post award meeting will be held virtually, however, Section

The Post Award Conference will occur virtually, there will not be an in person option. CLIN 0001 has been updated in Amendment 0004 to reflect this change.

B Item 0001 under Supplies/Services states that the conference will be held either virtually or in person. Please clarify which section is correct. Will it only be virtual or is there a possibility the government may require it be attended in person?

File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .