RFP CSOG QA R1.docx

DOCX document 34 KB Posted

Attached to
Administrative Space Expansion - Combined Special Operations Group (CSOG)
Solicitation number
HC102826R0058
Issued by

About this file

This is a Questions and Answers (Q&A) document for RFP HC102826R0058, an Administrative Space Expansion project for the Combined Special Operations Group (CSOG) at DISA, Columbus. The file contains three rounds of clarifications (RFP QA 1, 2, and 3) addressing technical specifications, scope ambiguities, and pricing guidance for contractors.

The project involves renovating Building 11, Section 13 to expand a 4,700 square foot existing space by adding 3,450 square feet through demolition, reconstruction of office partitions, flooring, wall base replacement, and new furniture installation. Key scope clarifications include: 64 unshielded plenum Cat6A data cables (32 locations × 2 drops per PWS 6.4.3, not the 17 shielded Cat6 listed in the CLIN worksheet); nine motion sensors per drawing T-101 (not five); Cat6A jacks at both workstation and patch panel ends to meet 10GBASE-T testing requirements; red cables homing to SIPR Room 1308 via standard EMT conduit and blue cables to Telecom Room 1236 via conduit or cable tray (not J-hooks); and new Conference Room 1329 door assembly meeting STC-50 ratings. The government will remove all electronic items and equipment before demolition; temporary occupancy for 10 people begins February 1, 2026. Contractors must assume existing patch panels are Panduit MINI-COM with adequate capacity and propose new Lenel LNL-1320 boards, licensed ISC controller, and battery backup system if existing system capacity is insufficient. The Period of Performance is 365 days from award; the government allows ten business days for review of each deliverable. Construction-level drawings are required as the first submittal with no interim 60%/90% submittals. The contract is SCA-covered with wage determination SCA WD 2015-4729; the government will provide sales tax exemption certification for Ohio materials. Furniture specifications are not manufacturer-defined; contractors must propose systems meeting PWS requirements and aesthetically compatible with existing space per product data sheets and samples submitted for approval. Fiber-optic cabling to workstations is not in scope despite PWS 6.7.2 reference (sizing only for raceway capacity).

View the file

Other files

Show all 12

On GovTribe

Work with this file

  • Download the original file
  • Contacts named in this file
  • Similar government files
  • Ask GovTribe AI about this file

Text version

RFP QA 3

1. We understand that the new furniture should match the existing furniture to give the space an overall harmonious look. Can you provide the make and model of the existing furniture? Please provide any other information you have about the existing furniture.

The solicitation documents do not specify the make or model of the existing furniture. The Performance Work Statement (PWS) requires the contractor to propose a furniture system that meets the specified requirements and is aesthetically compatible with the existing space. Per PWS section 6.7.1, you are required to submit product data sheets and color/fabric samples from the manufacturer's standard range for Government review and approval.

2. Will Govt be removing wall mounted TVs, monitors, A/V equipment, and other items off the walls in the existing CSOG area and new CSOG areas before demolition work begins?

Yes, the Government will be responsible for removing all wall-mounted TVs, monitors, A/V equipment, and other electronic items from the walls before demolition begins. As stated in PWS section 6.2.1, "The Government will remove and store existing office equipment (copiers, computers, monitors, etc.)."

3. Will Govt be removing all electronic items in the DLA OIG office/area before work begins?

Yes, the Government will remove all its electronic items from the DLA OIG office area before work commences in that space.

4. Can the Government provide the make/model of the existing carpet tile and wall base?

The make and model of the existing carpet tile and wall base are not specified. PWS section 6.6.2 requires the contractor to submit product data sheets and color samples for new materials for Government review and approval.

5. Can you provide make and model of the existing cubicles offices 1314, 1315, and 1316? We understand that matching the new cubicles in offices 1319, 1320 and 1321 to the existing ones will create a uniform aesthetic.

Pending response from Site Manager.

If this info cannot be provided, I think this would follow similar verbiage as item 1 – “The solicitation documents do not specify the make or model of the existing furniture. The Performance Work Statement (PWS) requires the contractor to propose a furniture system that meets the specified requirements and is aesthetically compatible with the existing space. Per PWS section 6.7.1, you are required to submit product data sheets and color/fabric samples from the manufacturer's standard range for Government review and approval.”

6. Drawing AD-100 New Work Note 5 indicates that all office walls in Offices 1322m 1323m 1324, 1325, 1326, and 1327 are demolished and rebuilt. Is our understanding correct? Or is New Work Note 5 in error?

No – Note #5 is an error. It should read: “Determine if demolition is necessary in these locations to allow for office walls to achieve the STC ratings called out on sheet A-101.”

7. Are fire rated wood blocking acceptable for blocking for TVs noted on A-101?

Yes, fire-rated wood blocking is an acceptable material for the TV blocking noted on drawing A-101.

8. A-101 shows an additional door in the Conference Room 1329. Is this a new door and hardware that is to meet STC-50?

Yes, that is a new door opening. The contractor is responsible for providing and installing a new door and all associated hardware. The entire assembly must meet the STC-50 rating required for the conference room walls.

9. Are Offices 1330 and 1331 intended to be cubicles offices similar to existing Offices 1314, 1315 and 1316?

No, Offices 1330 and 1331 are not intended to be cubicle offices. As shown on Concept Drawing A-101, they are to be constructed as new, fully-walled office rooms.

10. A-101 shows Conference Room 1329 having two existing walls that will remain: one wall must meet STC-45 and the other must meet STC-50. Is our understanding correct?

No – all conference room walls shall meet STC 50 per DISA COSA standards.

11. What are CSOG hours of operation?

24/7

12. Will egress paths be compromised with the new space layout?

Contractor shall verify that the new space layout meets all current FLS and egress code requirements.

13. What are the scope requirements for the phased construction and temporary occupancy?

Temporary occupancy for 10 people beginning February 1, 2026. The temporary space shall meet all functional requirements of the PWS.

14. What is the dump fee at DSCC – Building 11?

Unknown

5. Where is the best location for construction material access and lay-down areas?

This needs to be coordinated with DLA after award, once a construction schedule has been provided.

RFP QA 2

RFI-01 — Data drop quantity and cable type

Field
Detail
Background
Sheet T-100 shows 32 data locations; PWS 6.4.3 requires two Cat6A drops (blue + red) per location = 64 cables. The Government CLIN worksheet (Attachment 1, Task 4) lists 17 "shielded CAT6" runs at Rooms 1303, 1319–1321, 1328–1330.
Question
(a) Which quantity and cable type govern: 64 unshielded plenum Cat6A (PWS/T-100) or 17 shielded Cat6 (CLIN worksheet)? (b) Seven T-100 locations sit on the north STC-45 perimeter wall (Storage 1327, Offices 1322–1326, Conference 1329) where I-100 shows no new furniture and the Task 9 worksheet carries removal and surface-mount reinstall of existing comm on 175 LF of new wall. Are these 7 locations new Task 4 drops or Task 9 relocations of existing outlets reusing existing cable?
Why it matters
Price difference is roughly 4x on Task 4.

Response

· (a) Quantity and Cable Type: Per the order of precedence outlined in PWS 6.1.7, the PWS text governs over other attachments. PWS sections 6.4.1 and 6.4.3, along with drawing T-100, require 64 new unshielded plenum Category 6A (Cat6A) cables (32 locations x 2 drops each). The quantity and type listed in the CLIN worksheet should be considered an error.

· (b) North Wall Locations: The seven locations on the north perimeter wall are to be treated as new data drops under Task 4. PWS 6.4.3 requires new drops for all locations shown on the Concept Drawings (T-100). The scope under Task 9 for removing and reinstalling communications pertains to the physical wall outlets and pathways during wall construction, not the reuse of existing cabling for data drops.

Responded by / date

RFI-02 — Motion sensor quantity and locations

Field
Detail
Background
T-101 shows 9 motion sensors (keynote 1): Offices 1322–1327, Conference 1329, Open Office 1328, corridor east of 1330/1331. The CLIN worksheet (Task 10) lists 5 sensors at Rooms 1302, 1309 and 1314.
Question
Confirm the quantity and locations of new motion sensors.
Why it matters
Drives sensor, cable, conduit and panel input counts.

Response

The controlling document is the Concept Plan drawing T-101. The requirement is for nine new motion sensors to be installed in the locations identified in keynote 1 on that sheet. The quantity of five listed in the CLIN worksheet (Task 10) is an error.

Responded by / date

RFI-03 — Red / blue cable homing and pathway

Field
Detail
Background
PWS 6.4.1 says red or blue jacket "depending on the communication closet connection" and requires conduit or cable tray; 6.4.2 permits J-hooks. Closet homing is not shown.
Question
(a) Does red home to SIPR Room 1308 and blue to Telecom Room 1236? (b) Must red cabling meet Protected Distribution System (PDS) requirements (hardened or alarmed carrier, inspections)? (c) May blue cabling be on J-hooks?
Why it matters
Pathway type is the largest labor variable on Task 4.

Response

· (a) Cable Homing: Yes, this assumption is correct. The red cables are for the Secret Internet Protocol Router Network (SIPRNet) and shall home to the SIPR Room 1308. The blue cables are for the Non-classified Internet Protocol Router Network (NIPRNet) and shall home to the Telecommunications Room 1236.

· (b) Red Cabling PDS: No, Protected Distribution System (PDS) requirements do not apply. Cabling shall be installed in standard Electrical Metallic Tubing (EMT) conduit.

· (c) Blue Cabling Pathway: PWS 6.4.1 specifies that cabling shall be in either conduit or cable tray. Therefore, J-hooks are not a permissible pathway for the blue NIPRNet cabling.

Responded by / date

RFI-04 — Jack category and existing patch panels

Field
Detail
Background
PWS 6.4.1 calls for Cat6 RJ-45 jacks and "Cat 6 RJ45 plugs (MINI-COM female connection)" at existing patch panels, while 6.4.7 requires 10GBASE-T testing and states "Always use CAT 6A."
Question
(a) Confirm Cat6A jacks/modules at both ends. (b) Confirm the existing patch panels are Panduit MINI-COM with 32 open ports for blue and 32 for red.
Why it matters
A Cat6 jack on Cat6A cable will not reliably pass the Cat6A alien crosstalk tests required.

Response

· (a) Jack/Module Category: You are to provide Category 6A (Cat6A) jacks and modules at both the workstation and patch panel ends to meet the 10GBASE-T testing requirements of PWS 6.4.7.

· (b) Existing Patch Panels: The solicitation does not provide information on the make, model, or available capacity of the existing patch panels. Offerors should assume that the existing panels are Panduit MINI-COM and have adequate open ports to terminate all 64 new Cat6A cables.

Responded by / date

RFI-05 — Existing Lenel panel capacity, power and licensing

Field
Detail
Background
T-101 keynote 1: "Additional enclosure, battery backup, and Lenel 1320 boards may be required." Existing panel spare inputs, controller model and RS-485 capacity are not given.
Question
(a) Spare supervised inputs on existing boards in Room 1236? (b) Existing ISC model and downstream capacity? (c) Is an OnGuard license needed for new boards, and who furnishes it? (d) Existing battery backup model to match? (e) Is 120 V available in Room 1236 for a new enclosure?
Why it matters
Sets whether new boards, enclosure and power are needed.

Response

The solicitation documents do not provide details on the existing Lenel access control system. Offerors should assume that the existing system in Room 1236 has insufficient capacity. Your proposal should include pricing for one new enclosure, one new Lenel LNL-1320 board, a new licensed ISC controller, and a new battery backup system. Assume a 120V power source is available in Room 1236.

Responded by / date

RFI-06 — Door hardware — Option 1 doors 011-I-1304, -1308, -1311

Field
Detail
Background
No door schedule, hardware sets or door types were in the bid set. CLIN worksheet lists 175 LF of existing composite cable to remove.
Question
(a) Provide existing door hardware (reader, lock/strike, REX, DPS) for the three doors. (b) Confirm Option 1 is cable replacement only, reusing existing hardware, with the purple conduit by the electrical contractor. (c) Confirm the 175 LF existing length.
Why it matters
Avoids hardware surprises when the doors are re-terminated.

Response

· (a) Existing Door Hardware: The solicitation does not provide a door hardware schedule. For proposal purposes, assume the existing hardware consists of a single-card reader, an electric strike, a motion-based request-to-exit (REX) sensor, and a door position switch (DPS) at each of the three doors.

· (b) Option 1 Scope: Correct. Option 1 is for the replacement of the composite cable only. You are to reuse the existing door hardware. The electrical contractor is responsible for providing and installing the purple conduit pathway.

· (c) Cable Length: The 175 LF length is an estimate. For proposal purposes, offerors should assume removal of 175 LF of existing composite cable.

Responded by / date

RFI-07 — OnGuard head-end access for programming

Field
Detail
Background
PWS 6.10.3 requires ProTec to configure the existing ACS. The head-end server location and workstation access are not stated.
Question
Where is the OnGuard head-end, and will DISA provide an escorted workstation and operator account for programming and testing?
Why it matters
Programming cannot be done without system access.

Response

The location of the OnGuard head-end server is not specified in the documents. For programming and testing purposes, the Government will provide escorted access to a workstation with the necessary software and operator account.

Responded by / date

RFI-08 — Wage determination

Field
Detail
Background
SCA WD 2015-4729 are part of the RFP.
Question
Please confirm this contract requires SCA-only compliance.

Response

Yes, this is a Service Contract Act (SCA) covered procurement. You must comply with the wage determinations provided in the solicitation.

Responded by / date

RFI-09 — Sales tax

Field
Detail
Background
Material is for incorporation into federal property in Ohio.
Question
Will the Government issue an Ohio construction-contract exemption certificate (ORC 5739.02(B)(13)) for Sales Tax exemption?
Why it matters
8.0% of material value.

Response

The Government is tax-exempt. A sales tax exemption certificate will be provided to the awardee.

Responded by / date

RFI-10 — Enclosure 1 — Alternate 2 conference room

Field
Detail
Background
Enclosure 1 shows "Relocate conference room monitor" and wall-mounted TV blocking in Room 1329. There is no CLIN for Alternate 2.
Question
Is Alternate 2 in scope, and does it include any AV relocation or cabling?
Why it matters
AV scope is not priced.

Response

Enclosure 1 (Alternate 2) is a conceptual drawing that was included for informational purposes and is superseded by the final Concept Plan in Appendix A. It is not an active alternate and is not part of the scope of work. No audiovisual (AV) relocation or cabling is required.

Responded by / date

RFI-11 — Furniture data interface

Field
Detail
Background
Jacks are "built-in to the furniture"; furniture IT raceways and data poles are Task 7.
Question
Confirm the furniture supplier provides data poles and raceways, and identify the furniture system so faceplate adapters can be matched.
Why it matters
Faceplate adapters are system-specific.

Response

The furniture supplier, under Task 7, is responsible for providing any necessary data poles and raceways integral to the furniture system. The solicitation does not specify a furniture manufacturer. You are responsible for selecting a furniture system that meets the PWS requirements and ensuring any required data faceplate adapters are compatible with both the selected furniture system and the specified Cat6A jacks.

Responded by / date

RFI-12 — Fiber to the workstation

Field
Detail
Background
PWS 6.7.2 item 18 sizes each workstation IT raceway for two Cat6 copper cables AND two four-strand multimode fiber cables with pre-terminated LC connectors. PWS 6.4 (Task 4) requires only Cat6A copper; T-100 shows no fiber.
Question
Is fiber-optic cabling to any workstation, conference room or SIPR location in the contractor's scope? If yes, provide quantity, fiber type, connector, and termination location at each end.
Why it matters
64 pre-terminated fiber assemblies plus enclosures would add roughly $20,000–$30,000 that no CLIN currently carries.

Response

No, fiber-optic cabling to the workstations is not in scope. The reference to fiber in PWS 6.7.2 is for the purpose of sizing the IT raceway capacity within the furniture only. The requirement under Task 4 is exclusively for two Cat6A copper cables to each workstation.

Responded by / date

RFP QA 1

1. PWS and RFP list 14 Performance Areas, specifically Areas 1 through 14. The bid schedule lists specific line items against which to place prices. Are we only pricing these specific line items? Some requirements from the PWS are not reflected in the Bid Schedule. For example, the Task 2 Bid Schedule does not list ceiling demolition, however, the PWS includes that scope of work. The bid schedule in "Attachment 1 CLIN Pricing Worksheet" is where you are to place your prices. You are required to price the line items as they are presented. Any work described in the PWS that is not explicitly listed in the Bid Schedule should be considered as part of the most relevant line item. For example, ceiling demolition in Task 2, although not a separate line item, should be included in your pricing for the overall Task 2 Demolition.

2. The design work stated in the PWS pertains only to developing the specific discipline layouts, shop drawings and corresponding calculations, etc listed in PWS CDRL deliverables. Please confirm no other deliverables are intended for the design services. Yes, your understanding is correct. The design work is intended to develop the specific discipline layouts and shop drawings as listed in the PWS and CDRL deliverables. The primary deliverables are detailed in the CDRLs found in "Enclosure 2 - CDRLs CSOG.pdf". No other design deliverables are intended based on the provided documents.

3. The design scope appears to be developing the specific discipline layouts and shop drawings to a degree sufficient for construction. The requirements do not appear to be for full design services. Are we submitting construction-level drawings for the government's review as the first submittal, or are interim submittals (e.g., 60%, 90%) required? Please clarify, it would be very helpful to understand the expectations before hand. The solicitation documents do not require interim submittals (e.g., 60%, 90%). You are expected to submit construction-level drawings for the government's review as the first submittal.

4. The period of performance listed is 365 days. We do not believe it is sufficient given the complexities of the work elements and scheduling. Please revise periof of performance to 520 days. The Period of Performance is stated as 365 days from the date of award.

5. How many days does the Government have for review once a required submittal (various as stated in the CDRL) is turned in upon award? According to the "HC102826R0058 RFP CSOG.pdf" document (page 7), "Unless otherwise stated in this PWS, the contractor shall allow ten business days for the Government to review and approve each deliverable associated with this contract."

6. Does Period of Performance start from the date of award or from the date of Notice to Proceed (NTP)? If the period of performance starts from the date of award, will the Government have their items moved, removed, or relocated by that date to allow us to begin work? The Period of Performance starts from the date of the award. The Government will be responsible for having their items moved or relocated to allow for the commencement of work.

7. Can you provide the basis of design for furniture? Layouts drawn in the concept drawings appear to be from a certain basis of design, would appreciate if you can provide that information. The solicitation documents do not specify a single basis of design or a particular manufacturer for the furniture. The layouts in the concept drawings are for illustrative purposes to show the intended form, fit, and function. Offerors are to propose furniture that meets the requirements of the PWS and the general layout shown in the concept drawings.

8. Performance Area 1 lists "Seismic Qualifications". Is the intent to provide seismic reinforcement only for new equipment provided under this project OR is the intent to provide seismic reinforcement for all existing equipment? The seismic reinforcement requirement applies to the new equipment being provided under this project to ensure it meets the seismic design category for the site in accordance with the International Building Code (IBC). It does not apply to existing equipment that is not being modified or relocated as part of this project.

9. Can Government provide a full bldg floor plan showing potential entry/exit doors that can be used for moving materials, equipments and people to understand full extent of the impact on the productivity? A full building floor plan is not provided in the solicitation documents. The provided "Appendix A Concept Plan.pdf" contains the layout for the project area, which is what is necessary for your proposal.

10. A-101 Key Note 2 is for the back wall to be STC 45 2-Hr fire rated wall. Is intent to demo the entire wall and rebuild it? What does term "ensure" mean? The term "ensure" in the context of the STC-45 rated wall means that you are responsible for providing a wall that meets the STC-45 and 2-hour fire rating requirements. The concept drawings in "Appendix A Concept Plan.pdf" on sheet AD-100 show that the existing wall is to be demolished. Therefore, you are to demolish the existing wall and rebuild a new wall that meets the specified ratings.

11. Is furniture demolition and new furniture intended only for the USMC space, or for the entire space that includes USMC, DLA OIG and current CSOG areas? Or demolition of furniture is ONLY to the extent listed as New Work Note #1 on ID-100 and new furniture ONLY to the extend shown as New Work Notes 1 thru 5 on I-100? The demolition of furniture is limited to the areas identified as "New Work Note #1" on drawing ID-100 in "Appendix A Concept Plan.pdf". The installation of new furniture is limited to the areas and quantities shown in the New Work Notes 1 through 5 on drawing I-100 in the same document.

12. A-103 shows proposed reflected ceiling plan with 2x4 ceiling grid & tiles in CSOG area only. It does not show any ceiling in the USMC or DLA OIG areas. Are USMC and DLA OIG area going to be open to ceiling deck with no ceiling? Is underside of the deck intended to be painted? The area proposed for expansion has existing acoustical ceiling tiles. Bid option 2 in the PWS calls for replacement of all of that.

File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .