Q&A 17 Dec 19 Posted.pdf
PDF 533 KB Posted
- Attached to
- Maritime Special Operations Forces Support (M-SOFS) Federal contract opportunity
- Solicitation number
- H92240-20-R-0001
- Issued by
- United States Special Operations Command
About this file
This document contains questions and answers regarding a final solicitation for Maritime Special Operations Forces Support (M-SOFS) services. The United States Special Operations Command (USSOCOM), Naval Special Warfare Command (NSWC) issued the solicitation seeking proposals for multiple five-year Indefinite Delivery Indefinite Quantity contracts to provide logistics, intelligence, program management, administrative, and technical support services to various NSW units. Offerors must be eligible Service-Disabled Veteran Owned Small Businesses with Top Secret Facility Clearance and Secret Safeguarding at time of submission. The North American Industry Classification System code is 541990 and the small business size standard is $16.5M. The document includes clarification questions from industry regarding details of the statement of work, labor categories, past performance evaluation, and price proposal instructions.
View the file
Other files for this federal contract opportunity
| File | Type | Posted |
|---|---|---|
| Q&A 17 Dec 19rev1 Posted.pdf | ||
| H9224020R0001 Amend 0001.pdf | ||
| Q&A 13 Dec 19 Posted.pdf | ||
| Attachment 8 - Question Template.xlsx | XLSX spreadsheet | |
| Attachment 7 - PP Consent Letter.docx | DOCX document | |
| Attachment 5 - PP Information Sheet.doc | DOC document | |
| Attachment 4- FCL Information Sheet.pdf | ||
| Attachment 9-QASP_MSOFS.doc | DOC document | |
| Attachment 3- Price Worksheet.xls | XLS spreadsheet | |
| H9224020R0001 FINAL.pdf | ||
| Attachment 2 - Draft IDIQ DD254.pdf | ||
| Attachment 6 - PP Questionnaire.doc | DOC document |
Show all 12
On GovTribe
Work with this file on GovTribe
- Download the original file
- Contacts named in this file
- Similar government files
- Ask GovTribe AI about this file
Text version
Q&A 17 Dec 19 Questions and Issues Tracker
UNCLASSIFIED//FOUO
Questions on FINAL RFP
Questions were previously posted on beta.sam.gov on 13 Dec 19
Document Section and/or Page # Question
These will be shared with all vendors, do NOT include any company identifying information.
Gov Response
RFP Table L.3, page 37 of 43
Navy EOD routinely deploy as an organic component within NSW Squadrons and have similar training and operational support requirements that demand contracted expertise at a high level very similar to that required by NSW forces.
Request modify language within Table L.3 in the "Scope Required in PWS" row under the 'Relevant' column to read "SOF or EOD support in most of the PWS services: Logistics, Intel, PM, Administrative, and Technical Support".
Although EOD routinely deploy within NSW, the training and operational support requirements are different. The Government believes there is a benefit to having a company with SOF and more so with NSWC past performance and plans to give credit for such experience.
Task Order 2 / NSWG10 Support
TO 2, page 3, section 4.1.2.5
Per paragraph 4.1.2.5, candidates for Intelligence Analysis Coordinators must have a CI Polygraph. Will the government confirm that while candidates may be subject to CI Polygraph, it is not a prerequisite? This would match the Qualifications/Prerequisites as defined for these same positions in Q&A for the 2018 RFP for LOGSU Support.
CI Polygraph is not a prerequisite.
Task Order 2 / NSWG10 Support
TO 2, page 3, section 4.2.8
In reference to the ISR TPM position, TO2 PWS 4.2.8 states that "they must be able to meet DoD Directive 8570.01 Certification Requirements. “DoD 8570 requires two certifications for compliance, an approved IA certification based on your assigned IAT level and a Computing Environment (CE) certification based on the equipment and software you work with for your primary duties.” Does this mean that incumbent personnel must have these certifications prior to bid in order to meet this compliance requirement?
They are required IAT Level I and Security+ CE cert PRIOR to placement.
Task Order 2 / NSWG10 Support
TO 2, page 3, section 4.2.8
Can incumbent personnel achieve the certifications described in TO2 PWS 4.2.8 post-award (within 6 months), thereby exhibiting the "ability to meet" the requirement?
They are required IAT Level I and Security+ CE cert PRIOR to placement.
Task Order 2 / NSWG10 Support
TO 2, page 3, section 4.2.8
Will the Government consider the requirement described in TO2 PWS 4.2.8 met if incumbent personnel are currently enrolled in a certification program with an anticipated completion date prior to or soon after post-award?
They are required IAT Level I and Security+ CE cert PRIOR to placement.
Task Order 2 / NSWG10 Support
TO 2, page 3, section 4.2.8
Since there are multiple IAT and CE certifications, will the government define the IAT level required and provide the name of the CE cert that meets the requirement described in TO2 PWS 4.2.8?
They are required IAT Level I and Security+ CE cert PRIOR to placement.
1 12/17/2019
Document Section and/or Page # Question
These will be shared with all vendors, do NOT include any company identifying information.
Gov Response
LOGSUPPU Task Order
Section 4.2.2.2, Page 3 of
The Assistant Armorer is tasked to conduct "depot-level repairs to applicable systems." Can the Government provide a list of systems that may require depot-level repairs? Will the Government provide the maintenance tools and support equipment required for depot-level repairs?
The Government will provide the maintenance tools and support equipment required. The systems include, but are not limited to, lasers, machine guns, night vision goggles, pistols, scopes, sights, suppressors, and binoculars.
LOGSUPPU Task Order
4.2.3.2 and 4.2.3.3 Both Maritime Technician billets are required to conduct "preventative and corrective maintenance" on all support vessels. Will the Government provide the maintenance tools and support equipment to perform this task?
The Government will provide the maintenance tools and support equipment required.
Attch 1 PWS 5.2 Will vendor be indemnified from damage caused by technical service reps? No.
Attch 1A PWS
LOGSU2
4.2.3
Will Boat and Dive technicians ever be operating craft or be onboard craft on the water? If so, vendors will require Jones Act, USHL (Longshoreman) and MEL liability insurance which is critical to pricing. If on the water, how many hours annually per FTE?
No. Technicians will only be required to perform maintenance on engines in the boat shop.
Attch 1A PWS
LOGSU2
4.2.1.1, 4.2.1.2, 4.2.2.1 The TO PWS does not specify SCA/Non-Exempt vs Exempt status for manager positions? Will the Government indicate the anticipated status of the positions?
TO 1 positions are entirely covered by SCA.
Attch 1B PWS N2 Intel Analyst_ISR_PED_
SSOPWS
4.1, 4.2 The TO PWS does not specify SCA/Non-Exempt vs Exempt status of Coordinator and Manager positions? Will the Government indicate the anticipated status of the positions?
TO 2 positions are Exempt from the SCA.
Attch 1 PWS Appendix A
The IDIQ PWS Appendix A lists 26 labor categories. Attch 3 Price Worksheet lists 67 labor categories in each of the ELIN Pricing tabs and 20 labor categories in the LCAT Descriptions tab. Can the Government define the most accurate list of labor categories and can the Government provide desriptions for all the categories?
The Labor Categories are non-inclusive but provides a description of what is meant to be a Level I, Level II, and Level III. Offerors should propose their rates that best match the category names.
Task Order 1 / LOGSU Support
TO1 PWS, page 3, section 4.2.2.1.17.2
PWS section 4.2.2.1.17.2 states a “Minimum of three years of LOGSU Weapons Department Head and asset management experience”. Considering that there are only two LOGSUs and the small number of personnel that have held this position, will the government accept candidates with three years of LOGSU Weapons Department LCPO experience or three years of Weapons Department Head experience at an NSW command that was not a LOGSU?
The Government will accept candidates with three years of LOGSU Weapons Department LCPO experience. Attachment 1A has been updated as a result of Amendment #1.
2 12/17/2019
Question
These will be shared with all vendors, do NOT include any company identifying information.
Gov Response
Attachment 1 6.1 Will the Government accept an Interim Top Secret clearance at time of proposal submission? Since there are no Top Secret requirements for the PM at proposal submission, this will allow a broader range of PM candidates.
An Interim Top Secret clearance will not be acceptable. The PM must be able to support TO #2 which has TS requirements at the start of TO performance.
Atachment 1A Page 4 Para 4.2.3.2.6 Will any qualification be waived if candidates forwarded as key personnel are incumbents? For example, qualification requires 3 years of experience and incumbent has only 2 but is in the current position.
Yes, if a candidate is an incumbent.
Atachment 1A Page 4 Para 4.2.3.3.1
States qualifications must be met "as outlined in Para 4.2.3.4". That paragraph does not exist. Suspect it is a typo and should read "4.2.3.2". Can you confirm this is a typo and intent is to meet the same qualifications of the Dive Maintenance Tech/Maintenance Manager?
Paragraph 4.2.3.3.1 should reference paragraph
4.2.3.2. Attachment 1A has been updated as a
result of Amendment #1.
Atachment 1A Page 3, Paragraph 4.2.2.2.4.1
Qualification states "Must meet Lautenberg Amendment (Gun Control Act of 1968) requirements". How does the government intend to evaluate this qualification? Is it enough to state compliance based on an affirmative statement by the candidate? Or will the government conduct NCIS checks separately on all candidates? Normally contractor background checks are not accomplished until after hiring committments and salaries have been agreed to, but all these Key Personnel hires are contingent on award. We recommend a memorandum signed by candidate affirming no derogatory information that would prevent passign an NCIS background check.
Each candidate should complete & sign a “Lautenberg Amendment” form with the company that they are applying with. That form is a “self-verification” that they have not been convicted of domestic violence, if they lie on that form, they can be prosecuted.
Attachment 1B Page 1 and 4 Paragraphs 2.1,4.3.1
Pagraph 2.1 states "obtain one (1) FTE to conduct Geospatial Analytic Training support services at Virginia Beach, Virginia". However, Para 4.3.1states "2xFTE in Virginia Beach, VA". Please confirm the number of FTEs required for Geospatial Analytic Trainer and location.
Paragraph 2.1 should state 2 FTEs. Attachment 1B has been updated as a result of Amendment #1.
Attachment 2 Section 8. Actual performance Current Draft DD254 has Actual Performance at CNSWG 1/2/10. Do you anticipate DD254 will expand to all CNSWCOM HQ and components?
The DD254 will cover all NSWC locations.
3 12/17/2019
Question
These will be shared with all vendors, do NOT include any company identifying information.
Gov Response
RFP / 26 Nov Q&A L-4.2 / Q&A pg 2 #1
"The one-page summary in L.4.2 refers to the summary page that coincides to the Attachment 5 Past Performance Information (PPI) Sheet. A maximum of 5 PPI sheets means a maximum of 5 pages for the summary."
To clarify and avoid any misinterpretation, will the Govt accept Volume III arranged as follows as long as total page limits from Section L are observed?:
A-Table of Contents (exempt from page limits).
B-One page summary of past perf citations and relevance across team.
C-Attach 5 Summary page and amplifying info for each effort cited (Abiding by the Section L page limits and limit of 5 PP citations total)
A table of contents for Factor 2, Past Performance will be excluded from the page count. The summary is limited to 5 pages (part of 20 page limit) and is meant to be 1 page per citation. The Past Performance Sheet is limited to 15 pages (part of 20 page limit) and is meant to be 3 pages per citation.
RFP TO2 PWS 2.1
TO2 PWS 2.1 states in part, "one (1) FTE to conduct Geospatial Analytic Training support services at Virginia Beach. TO2 paragraph 4.3.1 states in part, "(2 x FTE in Virginia Beach, VA." Please confirm if (1) or (2) Geospatial FTE are needed in Virginia Beach.
Paragraph 2.1 should state 2 FTEs. Attachment 1B has been updated as a result of Amendment #1.
RFP TO1 PWS 4.2.3.3.1
TO1 PWS 4.2.3.3.1 references Paragraph 4.2.3.4. Please confirm this should read 4.2.3.2
Paragraph 4.2.3.3.1 should reference paragraph
4.2.3.2. Attachment 1A has been updated as a
result of Amendment #1.
H9224020R0001 FINALPage 32, L1.3
Section L1.3 of the document titled “H9224020R0001 FINAL” states that, “Proposals may also be submitted via DoD SAFE at https://safe.apps.mil.” If the offeror intends to submit through these means are they also expected to email their submission to nswk2@socom.mil and michelle.l.riisma.civ@socom.mil or is the DoD SAFE submission alone an acceptable means of submission?
DoD SAFE submission alone is an acceptable means of submission. However, it is recommended to email the Contracting Officer to verify ALL files were received and properly downloaded.
Attachment 1a Section 4.2.3.3.1
Paragraph 4.2.3.3.1 of Attachment 1a – TO PWS states that the Diving Maintenance Technician / 3M Work Center Supervisor Qualified / SWALIS- DPAS Database Specialist / Personal Property Custodian must, “Meet all requirements and perform all tasks as outlined in Paragraph 4.2.3.4.” but there is no section 4.2.3.4 in that document. Can the government clarify the correct reference?
Paragraph 4.2.3.3.1 should reference paragraph
4.2.3.2. Attachment 1A has been updated as a
result of Amendment #1.
4 12/17/2019
Question
These will be shared with all vendors, do NOT include any company identifying information.
Gov Response
H9224020R0001 FINALPage 37, L.4.7.1
The "Very Relevant" Contract Type includes Multiple or Single Award IDIQs that include TOs with a mix of Fixed Price and Cost Reimbursement CLINS, but Attachment 6 - PP Questionnaire, Part I, "Task Order/Contract" box states "do not combine task orders to reach higher dollar value". The language in Attachment 6 appears to conflict with the "Very Relevant" rating in the Past Performance evaluation criteria. Does the government wish offerors to submit a collection of PPQs for TOs completed under the IDIQ being used for past performance or should Attachment 6 be updated to allow for TOs to be consolidated for a single Multiple Award IDIQ past performance reference?
Please clarify.
The offeror may submit a TO or the Contract itself. If a TO is submitted, it will be considered an IDIQ. The statement "do not combine task orders to reach higher dollar value" means, for example, combining two task orders to meet $10M+ Annually contract value.
In the event an offeror submits separate submissions for the basic IDIQ and its awarded task orders, the Government will evaluate the most relevant of the submissions.
Solicitation Section L4.5
Section L.4.5 states that Offerors submitting subcontractor information shall provided signed consent letter(s) within the Vol III submission.
Are subcontractor consent letters required for all subcontractor's experience described within Vol III (to include the Summary section), or only the Subcontractor past performance information provided in a Past Performance Information Sheet?
Attachment 7 states: "Past performance information concerning subcontractors and teaming partners cannot be disclosed to a private party without the subcontractor’s or teaming partner’s consent. Because a prime contractor is a private party, the Government will need that consent before disclosing subcontractor/teaming partner past and present performance information to the prime contractor during exchanges." Letters are required for past performance information meeting this definition. Should consent letters not be provided, the information cannot be discussed with the prime contractor during the source selection process.
5 12/17/2019
Question
These will be shared with all vendors, do NOT include any company identifying information.
Gov Response
Attachment 3 ELIN Pricing Tabs (all);
Instructions, Tab, TO 1 & TO 2 - Item 2.
Item 2 instructions require Offerors to insert the applicable ELIN Labor Category from the ELIN Worksheet for each TO PWS labor category. The fully burdened hourly rates MUST match.
The ELIN pricing tab (s) designate Column R for the provision of clearance premium percentages. There are TO positions which require TS clearances (IAW Att. 1a/1b).
We assume the USG intends for the Offeror to include the TS differential in the labor rate amount proposed for the TOs. However, this will result in an instance where the TO rate proposed does not match the corresponding ELIN rate.
The Government understands if a TS differential is applied the exact labor rate will not match the ELIN rate. It is strongly desired that if a TS differential is proposed and applied, that the offeror include the formula in the hourly rate column of TO 1 & TO 2. For example the Hourly Rate of $2.06 would show up in the cell as "=$2.00*1.03", whereas the Government could easily verify the base rate of $2.00 and a 3% TS differential matches the ELIN Worksheet.
Attachment 3 TO 1 & TO 2 Tab Instructions, Item 3 (Row 21).
Within Attachment 3, Item 3 states "The offeror shall add, if necessary, any additional labor categories with their respective hours and fully burdened rate in the applicable TO tab." The Instructions do not appear to address the addition of a new category in the ELIN tab(s).
If an Offeror were to include a Labor Category which is not one of the 71 labor categories listed in the ELIN Pricing Tab(s) when completing Column C of the TO Tab(s), are Offerors permitted to add the "new" Labor Category into the ELIN Category tab(s), and price it for all locations and all option years?
Offerors are strongly encouraged to use the labor categories with corresponding levels for all requirements in TO 1 & TO 2. However, if any new category is required for TO 1 and TO 2, it must be added starting with XX72 and priced for all levels, all years, and all locations.
RFP Section L & M Will the government please confirm the WD Number for MS, VA, HI, SD for this effort?
The WD can be found online at beta.sam.gov and should be checked for any updates prior to proposal submission. The current numbers are:
2015-5148 (MS), 2015-5690 (HI), 2015-4342
(VA), and 2015-5636 (San Diego).
RFP Attach 3 Price
Can the government please clarify how industry is to account and price for the cost of individuals with security clearances, while there is internal cost for clearance management (G&A) there is an incurred cost for hiring an individual with a SECRET clearance and difference for someone with a TS Clearance all working within the same LC but requiring a different clearance level. The Level 1/2/3 only accounts for education and expereince not for various clearance levels.
The Attachment 3 - Price Worksheet includes a column for Top Secret Price Differential (all Years).
6 12/17/2019
Question
These will be shared with all vendors, do NOT include any company identifying information.
Gov Response
Attach 3 Price ELIN Labor Category
Many of the new LC provided as ELINs are very similar and in some cases repetative. An example is AX25 Highly Qualified Expert and AX58 Subject Matter Expect or AX34 Logistics Technician and AX59 Supply Technician. This new Attach 3 LC released has 71 LC with 24 similar by title alone with no known differences provided. Can the government please clarify what the difference is between all of the positions?
The labor categories are derived from historical task orders that are representative of the types of manpower required under MSOFS. Should the offeror see minimal differences in the positions, it is reasonable to expect minimal differences in pricing. The majority of task orders to be issued under MSOFS provides industry the flexibility to determine which of their ELIN labor categories best meet the qualifications/requirements stated in the Government's PWS as opposed to the Government specifying a Highly Qualified Expert.
Attach 3 Price ELIN Labor Category
The government only provided an ELIN Labor Categories descriptions which is non-inclusive list of labor category descriptions which were provided in the last tab of Attachment 3. 1 - Are the provided LC descriptions the LC designated by the government for SCA or non-SCA positions?
2 - For the not provided LC descriptions is the expectation that industry create these indepently? Since the ELIN are now part of the TEP there is a expectation that the governemtn will provide an inclusive list of LC descriptions to allow all bidders to provide FBLR on an equal and fair competition level. As these are now evaluated in the TEP and just on a fair and reasonable basis each offeror has the ability to manipulate the not included LC at lower than normal rates to be evaluated more favorably to win at the IDIQ level but never use those LC in any TO proposal submission. In order to create a fair level competetion all offerors need to be able to evalate and bid equally.
The Labor Categories are non-inclusive but provides a description of what is meant to be a Level I, Level II, and Level III. The descriptions are based upon historical task orders that are representative of the types of manpower required under MSOFS. The labor category descriptions are independent of SCA designation. The Government has not disclosed the labor categories used in the ELIN Pricing Evaluation in the TEP to ensure all offerors propose normal rates. The Government would also like to remind all offerors that this is a best value tradeoff source selection in which non-price factors are significantly more important than price.
7 12/17/2019
Question
These will be shared with all vendors, do NOT include any company identifying information.
Gov Response
RFP Section L & M
Does the government expect the bidder to insert the entire DD254 (Attachment
2) 18 pages or just page 1 with the prime bidders information (both company and cognizant security office) into Technical Volume II as directed in Section L & M? Section L, Table L.1 Industrial Security is only 2 pages exclusive of Attachment 4. Even if we insert just page 1 then we are limited to only 1 page for the remaining secuirty writeup. Would the government please clarify if they want the DD254 inserted or if it was only provided for RFP solicitation purposes and not expected or desired to reinserted into the volume?
The DD254 is only provided for solicitation purposes and is not expected nor desired to be reinserted into the volume.
Volume II – Technical Capability
L-3, M2.2
The Technical Volume format has a place for an Executive Summary or introduction but the table L.1 does not provide a page count or allowance for this Executive Summary or introduction. Would the government consider allowing industry a 1 page Executive Summary or Introduction before going directly into SUBFACTOR 1 – INDUSTRIAL SECURITY [L3.2, M2.2.1]?
Any Executive Summary or Introduction would count against the total page count of 22 pages for Technical Capability.
RFP L-1.5.4, 3 - 3.5; Table L-1
Per these sections, the Government has limited bidder responses for Volume II, Subfactor 2 - Technical and Management Approach to 10 pages (exclusive of any Teaming/Subcontracting Arrangement documents and Key Personnel Resumes). Based on the large number of requirements to be discussed in this section, many of which require at least 2-3 pages to sufficiently address, would the Government consider increasing the page count for this section to 20 pages (exclusive of any Teaming/Subcontracting Arrangement documents and Key Personnel Resumes)?
The Government believes 10 pages is adequate to address the requirements in Section L of the
RFP.
RFP Table L-1 The RFP currently does not provide for an introduction to Volume II: Technical Capability. Can the Government please allow for a 2-page introduction, to include an introduction to the team and a summary of our technical capabilities?
Section L3.3 Subfactor 2 - Technical and Management Approach requires in part, "how the teaming arrangement will provide the expertise required to successfully perform all contract requirements" which would include the team and technical capabilities and thus likely be duplicative of the introduction.
RFP H. 7, Page 11 of 44
The Contractor shall obtain all licenses, certifications, and permits required for the performance of the work. The cost of such licenses, certifications, and permits may not be chargeable to the Government under this contract. Can you please provide a list of licenses and permits that are required in performance of this contract?
A definitive list of licenses, certifications and permits are unknown at this time as they will vary based on task orders issued under this
IDIQ.
8 12/17/2019
Question
These will be shared with all vendors, do NOT include any company identifying information.
Gov Response
RFP C. Page 5 of 44
The Performance Work Statement (PWS) – Attachment 1 applies, in conjuction with the applicable Task Order PWS. For the sake of clarification could the government please either confirm that attachment 1 is the unnumbered IDIQ PWS or provide Attachment 1 the IDIQ PWS?
Attachment 1 - IDIQ PWS was provided to interested primes that were SDVOSB's had TS FCL and secret safeguarding AND per the instructions requested the attachments from the Contracting Officer.
Attachment 1a
PWS
LOGSU2
Pages 1-8 of 12
Government's posted response Q&A 13 DEC 19 stated that this Task Orders positions all fall into a Service Contract Act (SCA) category. Could the government please provide the specific Wage Determination (WD) documentation and align that to each Task Order Labor Category?
The WD can be found online at beta.sam.gov and should be checked for any updates prior to proposal submission. The current numbers are:
2015-5148 (MS), 2015-5690 (HI), 2015-4342
(VA), and 2015-5636 (San Diego). The Government is not mapping the SCA codes to the positions to provide maximum flexibility throughout the life of this enterprise contract that covers SCA and non-SCA requirements.
Task Order 1 4.2.3.3.1 Page 4 of 12 the referenced section states that the contractor qualification for this section must meet all requirements and perform all tasks as outlined in Paragraph
4.2.3.4. There doesn’t seem to be a section 4.2.3.4. The question is, will the Government provide the requirements or direct industry to the location of the information?
Paragraph 4.2.3.3.1 should reference paragraph
4.2.3.2. Attachment 1A has been updated as a
result of Amendment #1.
9 12/17/2019
File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .