Government Responses Questions - 36C25925R0123 0001.pdf
PDF 131 KB Posted
- Attached to
- Q522--VISN 19 OKC VAMC IR Physician Services
- Solicitation number
- 36C25926Q0134-0001
About this file
This document is a Government Responses to Questions for Solicitation 36C25925R0123 Amendment 0001, concerning Interventional Radiology (IR) services at the Oklahoma City VA Health Care System. The requirement is for 1.0 FTE Interventional Radiologist to perform approximately 1,928 procedures annually (20–25 procedures per week) and handle approximately 581 consults. The facility is equipped with Siemens Artis Pheno and Philips Allura Xper SD imaging systems and is supported by three IR nurses and five radiology technologists. The contractor physician will work as part of a multidisciplinary team but cannot supervise residents or fellows. Providers must be ABR Board Certified, IR fellowship-trained, and fully credentialed and privileged before performing services; average credentialing takes approximately 28 days, with expedited processing available for providers holding active privileges at other VA facilities. On-call coverage is required with one week of call every 4–5 weeks; approximately 3% of cases require after-hours physician intervention on-site. The period of performance is 12 months beginning April 15, 2026, through March 14, 2027.
Evaluation will proceed under FAA Part 12 using criteria of Technical Capability, Past Performance, and Price, with evaluation following 52.212-2 standards. The Government will not disclose the Independent Government Cost Estimate or anticipated contract value to comply with procurement integrity requirements. Contractors must propose separate line items for onsite clinical hours, on-call hours, and call-back hours; pricing instructions require proposing one key personnel, though additional SLINs are available as optional placeholders. Providers typically complete 3–6 procedures daily depending on case complexity and emergent care needs, with consult review responsibilities also included in daily workload. All substitute providers must meet qualification requirements and be credentialed and privileged prior to service, with no temporary locum coverage permitted during credentialing periods.
View the file
Other files
| File | Type | Posted |
|---|---|---|
| Solicitation Amendment 36C25926Q0134 0001.pdf |
On GovTribe
Work with this file
- Download the original file
- Contacts named in this file
- Similar government files
- Ask GovTribe AI about this file
Text version
Government Responses to Questions: Solicitation 36C25925R0123 Amendment 0001
1. Question:
Solicitation says “THIS IS A NEW REQUIREMENT,” but we know the VA previously had IR coverage under 36C25922C0002 with University of Oklahoma: Can the Government confirm whether there is currently an incumbent contractor or academic affiliate providing Interventional Radiology services at the Oklahoma City VA Health Care System?
Government Response:
This requirement is identified in the solicitation as a new requirement. No incumbent is identified in the solicitation. Refer to SF 1449, Page 1.
2. Question:
If an incumbent exists, can the Government provide: total hours utilized in the previous 12 months, on-call hours utilized, and average overtime hours?
Government Response:
Because this is a new requirement and no incumbent exists, no historical utilization data is available. Refer to SF 1449, Page 1.
3. Question:
Will the Government require transition support from the incumbent provider, and if so, what is the expected transition period?
Government Response:
No transition support is required because the solicitation identifies this as a new requirement.
Refer to SF 1449, Page 1.
4. Question:
What was the actual number of procedures performed by Interventional Radiology at OKC VA in the past 12 months?
Government Response:
Interventional Radiology at the OKC VA performed 1,928 procedures in the past 12 months (March 1, 2025–February 28, 2026). This figure reflects the total number of CPT-coded procedures completed. During the same period, 581 consults were completed, with each consult potentially involving multiple procedures.
5. Question:
What percentage of cases typically require after-hours intervention requiring the physician to come onsite?
Government Response:
Approximately 3% of cases require after-hours intervention requiring the physician to come onsite.
6. Question:
When a provider is called in during on-call coverage, should that time be billed as overtime hours or regular hourly services?
Government Response:
The solicitation establishes separate LINs for onsite clinical hours, on-call hours, and call back hours. The solicitation has been amended to reflect the Government’s current need.
7. Question:
How often, on average, is the on-call physician required to report onsite after hours?
Approximately 3% of cases require after-hours intervention requiring the physician to come onsite.
8. Question:
Is the contractor physician expected to supervise residents or fellows, if present?
Government Response:
Contractor physicians cannot provide resident supervision under the resultant contract. Refer to
PWS 3.1.3.1.
9. Question:
If the contractor physician becomes unavailable, does the Government require an alternate credentialed physician to already be privileged at the facility?
Government Response:
Yes. Providers must be fully credentialed and privileged before performing services. Substitute providers must also meet these qualification requirements prior to service. Refer to PWS 2.1.3 and 2.1.3.1.
10. Question:
Will the Government allow temporary locum coverage during absences while a replacement is credentialed?
Government Response:
The contractor shall ensure that all substitute providers are credentialed and privileged by the VA prior to providing services. Refer to PWS 2.1.3 and 2.1.3.1.
11. Question:
Is on-call coverage required, and if so, what are the response time requirements?
Yes. Refer to PWS 3.1.3.1–3.1.3.4.
12. Question:
What is the average credentialing and privileging timeline at OKC VA for Interventional Radiologists?
Government Response:
The average credentialing and privileging timeline is approximately 28 days, subject to timely submission of complete documentation.
13. Question:
Will the Government allow expedited credentialing for providers with existing VA privileges at another VA facility?
Government Response:
Yes. Expedited credentialing may be allowed for providers who already hold active privileges at another VA facility, subject to VA review.
14. Question:
Will the contractor physician be assigned dedicated IR procedure block time, or will procedures be scheduled dynamically?
Procedures will be scheduled dynamically based on clinical need.
15. Question:
Approximately how many IR procedures per week are currently performed at the facility?
Government Response:
The facility currently performs approximately 20–25 IR procedures per week with one provider.
Actual weekly volume may vary based on staffing and clinical demand.
16. Question:
Can the Government confirm what IR equipment and imaging systems are available (e.g., Philips, Siemens, GE angio suites)?
The facility is equipped with a Siemens Artis Pheno system and Philips Allura Xper SD.
17. Question:
Will the contractor physician have dedicated IR technologists and nursing staff assigned during procedures?
Yes. However, staffing assignments may vary based on scheduling and operational needs.
18. Question:
Is the contractor physician expected to read diagnostic imaging studies, or is the requirement limited strictly to interventional procedures?
Government Response:
The contractor is responsible for performance and interpretation for interventional radiology procedures as outlined in the PWS.
19. Question:
What is the typical call schedule? (i.e., 1 week per month, every 3rd or 4th calendar day?)
Government Response:
The typical call rotation is one week of call every 4–5 weeks. Actual scheduling may be adjusted based on operational needs.
20. Question:
On average, how many calls does the IR receive per weeknight call? Weekend call?
This is a new requirement. Call volume may vary based on patient care needs
21. Question:
On average, how many callbacks does the IR receive during weeknight call? Weekend call?
Government Response:
This is a new requirement. Call volume may vary based on patient care needs
22. Question:
What support staff is available? (RN’s, APRNs, Specialty Physicians)
Government Response:
The IR department is supported by three nurses, five radiology technologists, and one VA Interventional Radiologist who also serves as the service chief.
23. Question:
What are the specific coverage hours required (e.g., 8–5 weekdays, call coverage, weekends)?
Coverage requirements are defined in PWS 3.1 and 3.1.3
24. Question:
How many FTE interventional radiologists are anticipated?
The Schedule of Services identifies 1.0 FTE. Refer to Schedule B.2 and PWS 2.9.2.
25. Question:
Are there backup/coverage requirements when the primary physician is unavailable?
Yes. Refer to PWS 2.9.3.
26. Question:
What is the typical timeframe for VA credentialing of physicians?
Government Response:
Credentialing typically averages 28 days, assuming timely submission of required documentation.
Processing times may vary.
27. Question:
Are there specific VA credentialing requirements beyond standard medical licensing?
Government Response:
Yes. Providers must be ABR Board Certified, IR fellowship-trained, and meet all VHA credentialing and privileging requirements. Refer to PWS 2.1.2 and 2.1.3.
28. Question:
What documentation is required for ACR compliance verification?
Government Response:
Providers must demonstrate competency in all VIR procedures and meet applicable board certification requirements, including fellowship training and/or board certification. Providers must maintain active, unrestricted licensure and comply with all credentialing, privileging, and quality-assurance standards, including semiannual performance reviews.
29. Question:
What is the anticipated contract value range?
Government Response:
To comply with procurement integrity requirements the Government does not disclose the dollar value of the Independent Government Cost Estimate (IGCE) or anticipated contract value range.
Offerors are instructed to propose pricing that reflects their technical approach and comply with the requirements outlined in the solicitation.
30. Question:
Will this be evaluated as Lowest Price Technically Acceptable (LPTA) or Best Value?
The evaluation will follow 52.212-2 and the Evaluation Addendum.
31. Question:
What are the key evaluation factors and their relative importance?
Government Response:
Evaluation factors are Technical Capability, Past Performance, and Price. This requirement is process utilizing RFO Part 12. RFO Part 15 will not be used during this process. As such, the relative importance of the evaluation factors are not required. Refer to 52.212-2 and its Addendum.
32. Question:
Are there any specific past performance requirements or preferences?
Government Response:
Past performance requirements are described in the Addendum to 52.212-1 and Evaluation Factor 2.
33. Question:
How many patients would the provider be expected to see per day?
Government Response:
Providers typically complete 3–6 procedures per day, depending on case complexity, duration, and emergent care needs. Consult review responsibilities are also included in daily workload expectations.
34. Question:
Would they be working by themselves or with a team?
Government Response:
The contractor will work as part of a multidisciplinary team consisting of three IR nurses, five radiology technologists, and one VA Interventional Radiologist who serves as the service chief
35. Question:
What kind of support staff are included on the team?
Government Response:
Support staff include three IR nurses and five radiology technologists assigned to the IR service.
Staffing assignments may vary by schedule and operational needs.
36. Question:
Is there a voice recognition system?
Yes. A voice recognition system is available.
37. Question:
Is the period of performance for 11 months base and each option as stated on the price schedule, or should it be 12 months? Base Year: April 15, 2026, to March 14, 2027.
The Schedule of Services reflects a full 12‑month period. Refer to Schedule B.2.
38. Question:
The pricing instructions direct the contractor to propose 1 key personnel, but the pricing schedule includes two SLINs (0001a and 0001b). Which does the Government anticipate seeing?
Government Response:
The Pricing Instructions require offerors to propose one (1) key personnel. The additional SLINs (0001a and 0001b) in the price schedule are provided solely as placeholders for offerors who elect to propose more than one key personnel; they are not a requirement. Offerors may adjust or renumber SLINs in accordance with the Pricing Instructions. Refer to Schedule B.2. Refer to Schedule B.2 (Pricing Instructions).
39. Question:
What is the anticipated contract value?
Government Response:
To comply with procurement integrity requirements the Government does not disclose the dollar value of the Independent Government Cost Estimate (IGCE) or anticipated contract value range.
Offerors are instructed to propose pricing that reflects their technical approach and comply with the requirements outlined in the solicitation.
File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .