Q&A_-_Part_3_-_final.docx

DOCX document 37 KB Posted

Attached to
DARPA STO SETA Program Support Federal contract opportunity
Solicitation number
D17PS00139
Issued by
Department of the Interior Departmental Offices Interior Business Center

About this file

Questions and Answers Part 3 - final

View the file

Other files for this federal contract opportunity

Other files attached to DARPA STO SETA Program Support, newest first.
File Type Posted
Clarifications.docx DOCX document
Att_6_SB_Participation_and_Subcontracting_Plan.docx DOCX document
Att_11_Personnel_Qualifications.pdf PDF
Amendment_00002-executed.pdf PDF
Att_8_Front_Office_Sample_Task_Order.pdf PDF
Q&A_-_Part_2-final.pdf PDF
Q&A_-_Part_1.pdf PDF
Att_7_DD_Form_254.PDF PDF
Amend_00001.pdf PDF
Att_4_Past_Performance_Info_Summary.docx DOCX document
Att_10_Maritime_&_Radar_Sample_Task_Order.pdf PDF
Att_8_Front_Office_Sample_Task_Order.pdf PDF
Att_5_Past_Performance_Questionnaire.docx DOCX document
Att_11_Personnel_Qualifications.pdf PDF
Att_2_Teaming_Partner_&_Joint_Venture_Consent.docx DOCX document
D17PS00139.pdf PDF
Att_9_Communications_&_Wireless_Sample_Task_Order.pdf PDF
Att_6_SB_Participation_and_Subcontracting_Plan.docx DOCX document
Att_1_Certificate_of_Nondisclosure.docx DOCX document
Att_3_Nongovernment_Commercial_Client.docx DOCX document
Att_7_DD_Form_254.pdf PDF
Show all 21

On GovTribe

Work with this file on GovTribe

  • Download the original file
  • Contacts named in this file
  • Similar government files
  • Ask GovTribe AI about this file

Text version

DARPA STO SETA PROGRAM SUPPORT QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS

PART 3 – January 25, 2017

26. Question: Section L (page 111), Section J Attachment 4 - Section L (page 111) states under item (d) Primary Government or industry points of contact: Provide the name, office, address and telephone number for the current Program Manager, PCO, ACO and COR/COTR.

a.Attachment 4 lists just the Contracting Officer and Contracting Officer Representative, and askes for address, email, phone and fax.
b.Should we also provide Program Manager, PCO and ACO information? And do we really need the fax number?

Answer: Attachment 4 is a more of a format guide with suggested topics. The Contractor should provide the best information available. Fax numbers are not required.

27. Question: Section L (page 110-111), Section J Attachment 4 – Section L (page 110-111) states to include the following:

a.Offeror Name
b.Program Title
c.Contract specifics (1-6)

But Attachment 4 also lists CAGE Code, DUNS number, and Tax ID Number. Should we include that or follow Section L?

Answer: Include CAGE Code, DUNS number and Tax ID Number.

28. Question: Section L (page 111), Section J Attachment 4 – Section L (page 111) states that the PPIS should include the following:

a.(e) Brief description of effort as Prime or Subcontractor
b.(f) Identify in specific detail…why or how this direct effort is considered to be relevant or similar to the effort required by this solicitation
c.(g) Address any technical or other area about this program considered unique.

However, Attachment 4 lists the following under SECTION 2 – PERFORMANCE:

a.Address any technical (or other) areas about this contract considered unique
b.For each of the applicable sub-factors under the Technical and Management Factor in Section L, illustrate how your experience on this contract applies to that sub-factor
c.Describe any past or present litigation or administrative proceeding pertaining to the reference contract…
d.Discuss the number and severity of problems in the referenced contract and the effectiveness of corrective actions taken to resolve the problem.

Again, Section L and Attachment 4 do not match. Which should we follow?

Answer: See response to #26

29. Question: Section L (page 119-120), Section J Attachment 4 – Attachment 4 Section 2 b. states: “For each of the applicable sub-factors under the Technical and Management Factor in Section L, illustrate how your experience on this contract applies to that sub-factor.”

Section L does not list any subfactors for Technical and Management Factor. However, Section M does list subfactors for evaluating Factor 1 – Technical and Management (pages 119-120). Those subfactors are:

Subfactor 1 – Technical Approach and Personnel Qualifications to Perform the Sample Task Orders Subfactor 2 – Overall Contract Management Plan Subfactor 3 – Organizational Experience Subfactor 4 – Contractor Facilities Are these the subfactors we should address in Attachment 4 Section 2b.? Or should we address experience with the 6 areas listed in Section C, Organizational Experience (page 102)? Those would seem to be more relevant.

Answer: See response to #24

30. Question: Section J, Attachment 5 – Please clarify what the Government is expecting in the 2 boxes labeled "DESCRIPTION OF REQUIREMENT (SCOPE)/COMPLEXITY" and "DEGREE OF SUBCONTRACTING TEAMING" Answer: Offerors should provide a description of the requirement and the complexity of the requirement for the past performance they are citing, along with the degree of subcontracting teaming on that particular effort.

31. Question: RFP, Section all, Page all – Comment: The RFP appears to be duplicated. Following the first page 127 there is page 3 through 127 which appear to be a duplicate.

Question: Will the Government please clarify that the duplicated sections are identical, or alternatively, please release an amended RFP to avoid industry confusion and assure that Offerors respond to the correct intended requirements?

Answer: The second set of pages 3 through 127 are a duplicate and will be removed with the next amendment.

32. Question: Att 8, Front Office Sample Task Order, Section 1.2.3, Page 3 - Comment: Instructions state: “…Currently, there are nine (18) program managers…” Question: Will the Government please clarify, is it nine or 18? DARPA Website identifies 16.

Answer: See response to question #13.

33. Question: RFP, Section L4, Vol. V, Page 112 – Comment: The solicitation (page 112 of 127) references the 2016 DoD goal of 34.5% of subcontract dollars for SB Questions: Will the Government please clarify the “Att_6_SB_Participation_and_Subcontracting_Plan” attachment, which states a minimum of 36.0% of TCV going to SB? Which takes precedence?

Answer: We will revise Attachment 6 to remove the “(minimum of 36%...)” statement

34. Question: RFP, Section L4, Vol. V, Page 112 – Comment: Small Business Goals clarification.

Question: Will the Government please clarify the reference to the 2016 DoD goals. Are the goals 5.0% for SDB and WOSB, and 3.0% for HUBZone, VOSB, and SDVOSB (all as % of subcontract dollars)?

Answer: Yes, these are the goal percentages, which are calculated as a percentage of the total subcontract dollars.

35. Question: RFP, Section L.4. Part -2 Under “Sample Task Order Cost Proposal Format”: 2(a), Page 108 – Comment: The Government indicates that offerors shall identify Direct Labor Rates for a 12-month base period and four (4) 12-month option periods (to include, at a minimum, personnel name, labor category, hours proposed and unburdened hourly labor rate for each person proposed.

Question: Would the Government please confirm that all proposed LOE against each Sample Task Order shall be bid against resume personnel and that actual salaries of those personnel are required to be used as the underlying basis for proposed direct labor? Additionally, would the Government consider requiring copies of payroll vouchers or contingent hire letters with agreed to salary to be submitted within the cost volume to substantiate the cost realism of proposed labor rates?

Answer: The Government confirms that all proposed LOE against each Sample Task Order shall be bid against resume personnel and that actual salaries of those personnel are required to be used as the underlying basis for proposed direct labor. The Government will not require payroll vouchers or contingent hire letters.

36. Question: Reference:

a. Solicitation D17PS00139, Section H.14 - Security, page 37 of 127

b. Attachment 8 – Front Office Sample Task, Section 6 – Security, page 8 of 10

c. Attachment 9 – Communications & Wireless, Section 6 – Security, page 9 of 11

d. Attachment 10 – Maritime and Radar Sample Task, Section 6 – Security, page 9 of 10

Comment: The Solicitation requires that all personnel other than the Security Manager have at least a SECRT level clearance with a current five year NACLAC investigation. However, the Front Office and Marine and Radar Sample Tasks indicate a security requirement up TOP SECRET/SCI.

Question: Will the Government revise the Solicitation’s security requirements to reflect the TS/SCI requirements included in the Sample Task Orders?

Answer: The Solicitation requires a minimum-security level for all personnel. The Sample Tasks may have higher security requirements.

37. Question: Reference:

a. Solicitation D17PS00139, Section H. 24 – Hours of Work/ Overtime, page 44 of 127

b. Solicitation D17PS00139, Section I.15 – FAR 52.222-2 Payment for Overtime Premiums, page 59 of 127

Comment: Section H.24 says that the Overtime Premium is not subject to profit while I.15 says that the overtime premium may not exceed “zero”.

Question: Will the Government please clarify whether a billable Overtime Premium is allowed?

Answer: The intent is to not include Overtime Premiums, however the Offeror may propose them. I.15 describes how to justify Overtime Premiums. H.24 states that no additional fee will be paid if overtime is required during performance.

38. Question: Reference: Solicitation D17PS00139, Volume II Technical and Management Proposal , Section A, page 99 of 127 Comment: Technical Approach and Staff Proposed to Perform the Sample Task Order states “For each sample Task Order, the Offerors Staffing Plan shall include a summary list (MS Excel format preferred) of ALL personnel proposed for each sample Task Order…”

Question: Will the Proposal Volume Breakout Table be modified to show the “summary list (MS Excel format preferred) of ALL personnel proposed for each sample Task Order” as also being listed as excluded from the 30 pages allotted for Volume II Technical and Management Proposal?

Answer: See response to question #6.

39. Question: Reference: Attachment 11 – Personnel Qualifications Comment: The requirements for the Junior Technical Writer (1.2.6) state that at least two years of experience, background and knowledge of one or more of the programs delineated in paragraph 4.2.1 of the Statement of Work are desirable. However, there are no programs listed in 4.2.1 of the Solicitation or the three sample tasks.

Question: Will the Government please clarify the reference to the SOW?

Answer: Refer to the programs listed section 1.2.3 in each of the sample task orders, or the STO mission areas listed in section 1.2 MISSION of the solicitation SOW (C.1). Experience in any of these programs or mission areas is acceptable.

40. Question: Reference: Attachment 9 – Communications & Wireless Sample Task Order and Attachment 10 – Maritime and Radar Sample Task

Comment: The Required Specialist Experience/Background for the Senior Program Analyst (COMMS) in the table of example labor categories is listed as “at least a Master’s (PhD preferred) in Teleprocessing Science….” and various other example labor categories in the sample tasks reference required degrees in Physics, an Engineering Discipline, etc. Technical degrees of similar content are often identified different names at different universities (example: “Teleprocessing Science” is not common, most universities include that under Computer Science). Another example of equivalency would be: Subject Matter Expert (COMMS) with “at least a PhD in physics, with expertise in designing and modeling complex systems.” In this case, a PhD in Electrical Engineering, with expertise in designing and modeling complex systems would provide equivalent expertise.

Question: Will the government’s evaluation of individuals be based on the general academic degree level and work experience, as opposed to a specific referenced degree name?

Answer: See answer to #’s 10 and 11

41. Question: Reference: Page 2 of the RFP cover sheet and Section L.4 – Volume III, Part 2 C, page 107 of 127 Comment: RFP cover sheet (and amendment) state IDIQ POP will be 06/22/2017 to 06/21/2022 and section L states POP for Sample task orders should be assumed to start June 21, 2017 Question: Will the Government please clarify whether the Sample Task Orders be assumed to start on June 21, 2017 or June 22, 2017?

Answer: June 22, 2017. The Government will amend Section L.

42. Question: Reference: Section L.4 – Volume I, page 98 of 127 and Section H.9 – Key Personnel, page 36 of 127 Comment: An earlier answer (in Amendment 1) addressed key personnel at the Task order level (page 100). At the IDIQ level, Section H.9 of the Solicitation indicates that the Key Personnel section will be completed upon IDIQ contract award while Section L.4 specifies that a completed Section H.4 is to be included in Volume I of the proposal.

Question: Will the Government please clarify Key Personnel requirements?

Answer: Offeror is to identify key personnel for the IDIQ, and key personnel for the sample task orders. These may or may not be the same personnel and may or may not be identical lists, depending upon the Offeror’s proposal.

43. Question: Reference: RFP, Section C, Paragraph 2.2, page 12 Comment: Comment: The RFP Section C does not show paragraph C.2.2.5. Current numbering goes from C.2.2.4 to C.2.2.6.

Questions: Will the Government insert a paragraph C.2.2.5; or should industry ignore the missing paragraph?

Answer: The paragraphs will be re-numbered in the amendment

44. Question: Reference: Attachment 4, Section F, page 2 Questions: Attachment 4 states: "NOTE: Offerors may add additional references, if desired." May the additional references be from other Task Orders not specifically included in examples of past performance?

Answer: Yes

45. Question: Reference: RFP Attachment 4, pages 111 - 112 Questions: The list of required information summarized in the RFP (starting on page 111) is different from the list of information included within attachment 4. Which list is correct?

Answer: See response to question #26.

46. Question: Reference: RFP Section L, page 116 Questions: The Volume IV page is limited to 25 pages. Does that limit include all of the attachment 4 - Performance Info Summaries?

Answer: The Performance Info Summaries will not be included in the page count

47. Question: Reference: RFP Section G.10, page 29 Questions: Is it right to assume that these instructions for Task Order Proposals will be used for future sample tasks after the IDIQ is awarded as opposed to the Sample Tasks?

Answer: G.10 applies to future Task Orders.

48. Question: Reference: RFP Section L.4, Volume I - General, pages 96-98, all paragraphs Questions: Volume I General states “The volume should include the following: PROPOSAL TRANSMITTAL LETTER. A letter formally transmitting the proposal to include the following:…” then it lists items a-h to include in Volume I. Does the government want a separate proposal transmittal letter, or is the intent that items a-h are the content of the Proposal Transmittal Letter?

Answer: The Proposal Transmittal letter should include the items described in a. through h.

49. Question: Reference: RFP Section L.4, Volume II, Section A, page 99 Questions: Section G.10 Task Order Proposals provides an 8 page task order response format. The Sample Task Order response instructions in Section L, paragraph 3 on page 99 describe an abbreviated format for the Sample Task responses. Please confirm that the Section L instructions should be used for the Technical and Management Proposal and the Section G format is only for task order proposals submitted after contract award. If Offerors are required to meet the G.10 requirements of 8 pages, then Offerors only have 6 pages to respond to the other parts of the Technical and Management Volume.

Answer: Section G.10 refers to future Task Orders. The Section L instructions are for the Sample Task Orders.

50. Question: Reference: RFP Section L.4, Volume II, Section A, pages 99-100, paragraph 5 Comment: "….the Offeror’s Staffing Plan shall include a summary list (MS Excel format preferred) of ALL personnel proposed for each sample task order ...." and Last sentence on pg 99: "Plans for satisfying all requirements shall be discussed (1 page maximum) ...

Questions: Please confirm that these sentences reference the same plan and that all of the information requested in that paragraph as well as items a) through g) on page 100 is intended to be included on the single spreadsheet. In your answers to questions posted on 01-25-2017, the MS Excel spreadsheet is excluded from the Volume page count. If required, can the MS Excel spreadsheet exceed the 1-page limit in order to accommodate the number of staff and required information on page 100?

Answer: These sentences reference the same plan and the Spreadsheet is to include items (a) through (g) listed at the top of page 100. The page limit will be increased to 2 pages in the amendment.

51. Question: Reference: RFP Section L.4, Volume III, pages 103-108, all paragraphs Comment: Page 104 provides instructions for Volume Organization, SECTION A and SECTION B and further instructs offerors on format for Part 1 and Part 2 and also includes a SAMPLE TASK ORDER COST PROPOSAL FORMAT. On pages 104-105, the Government provides instructions for describing the Offerors Estimating Method.

Questions: Is it the Government's intention to have Offerors address Part 1 in SECTION A and Part 2 in SECTION B and how does this relate to the SAMPLE TASK ORDER PROPOSAL FORMAT?

Please provide instructions on how and where Offerors are to address their estimating methods?

Answer: Section A information is applicable to all work to be performed under the IDIQ; Section B information is specific to the three Sample Task Orders.

The Estimating Method paragraphs 1. through 3. refer to Section A. For paragraph 4. Explanation of Estimating Methods Used, the Offeror should address methods in Section A; but will address actual costs as part of Section B.

Think of Section A as describing the “why” and the “how” and Section B as the “what” of the costs to be proposed.

52. Question: Reference: RFP Section L.4, Volume III, page 103-108, all paragraphs Questions: The Cost Proposal instructions indicate a requirement for Offerors to provide labor category pricing for the Sample Task Orders only, with no requirement for IDIQ level labor category rates. Please confirm Offerors are to submit labor category rates for the Sample Task Orders only

Answer: Labor category rates only need to be submitted for the Sample Task Orders

53. Question: Reference: RFP Section L.4, Volume III, pages 106, paragraph 3 Comment: "A cost proposal as detailed as the Offeror's cost proposal will be required to be submitted by the subcontractor."

Questions: Are unpriced Team Members required to submit a cost narrative / sealed package? If so, what information is required?

Answer: Yes. In accordance with RFP Section L.4, Volume III, pages 106, paragraph 3, a cost proposal as detailed as the Offeror's cost proposal will be required to be submitted by the subcontractor.

54. Question: Reference: RFP Section L.9.2, c. Proposal Volume Breakout, page 116 IV Past Performance Comment: 25 pages (exclusive of Past Performance Questionnaires per referenced contract and consent letters) Questions: The RFP states that five contracts can be referenced at no more than 5 pages each, which equals 25 pages. However, the section referenced in this question does not state that the page count is exclusive of the table of contents, summary page, client authorization letters, list of questionnaire recipients, and organization structure change history. Please confirm that all of those items are exclusive of the 25 page limit for the past performance volume.

Answer: The page count is exclusive of the table of contents, summary page, client authorization letters, list of questionnaire recipients, and organization structure change history.

55. Question: Reference: RFP Section L.9.2, c. Proposal Volume Breakout, page 116 V-Small Business Subcontracting Plan Questions: The section referenced in this question does not state that the page count is (exclusive of a table of contents, table of exhibits, compliance tables, acronyms, ….). Please confirm that all of those items are exclusive of the 30 page limit for the Small Business Subcontracting Plan.

Answer: The page count is exclusive of the table of contents, summary page, client authorization letters, list of questionnaire recipients, and organization structure change history.

D17PS00139 Page 9 of 9

File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .