75A50326Q00005_ Questions and Answers.pdf

PDF 148 KB Posted

Attached to
Mobile Medical-Grade Refrigerator and Freezer System
Solicitation number
75A50326Q00005
Issued by

About this file

This document is a Questions and Answers file for RFQ 75A50326Q00005 addressing technical specifications and compliance requirements for a portable vaccine refrigeration unit with battery backup capability.

The Q&A clarifies critical technical standards and operational requirements for the equipment. Regarding safety and standards, the entire system including battery charging components must be NRTL safety listed to UL/IEC 61010-1 (Laboratory Equipment), not UL 471; NSF 456-2021 compliance is not mandated by CDC/VFC vaccine storage guidelines. The device must operate in austere field conditions with ambient temperatures ranging from 5°C to 40°C and maintain storage compartment uniformity throughout this range. Battery specifications require greater than 2 years shelf life with routine maintenance (8-hour charge every 3 months) and 60 hours of autonomy at 20±1.5°C ambient conditions. When fully charged, the unit must sustain freezer-mode operation (-20°C) for no less than 12 hours independent of ambient temperature. The device must be compatible with both 12V and 24V mobile power sources and include active freeze protection with heating for operation below 0°C. Temperature measurement devices (TMD) and data logging devices (DDL) must be NIST-traceable with ±0.5°C accuracy and calibrated within 30 days prior to delivery, with calibration certificates valid for a minimum of one year. Payload volume is defined as the volume where vaccines can be safely stored, not total interior volume. If the device uses digital electronics compliant with FCC Part 15, it must be labeled accordingly. Payment terms are Net 30 per the Prompt Payment Act, with invoices submitted electronically through the Department of Treasury's Invoice Processing Platform upon delivery and Government acceptance. External hyperlinks and video links will not be evaluated; only information contained in submitted quotation documents will be reviewed.

View the file

Other files

File Type Posted
RFQ 75A50326Q00005 Amendment 00001.pdf PDF
Attachment 1 _Past Performance Survey.pdf PDF
RFQ 75A50326Q00005.pdf PDF

On GovTribe

Work with this file

  • Download the original file
  • Contacts named in this file
  • Similar government files
  • Ask GovTribe AI about this file

Text version

RFQ 75A50326Q00005-Questions and Answers

1.Regarding RFQ Section 4. Monitoring and Compliance: "Standards: Units must meet current CDC/VFC vaccine storage guidelines". Does this include Standard NSF 456 2021?

CDC/VFC vaccine storage guidelines do not mandate compliance with NSF 456‑2021.

2. Since 3rd party testing of electrical appliances is required by 29 CFR 1910.303(a) and enforced by OSHA, please confirm the entire system, including battery charging, is to be NRTL Safety Listed as UL/IEC 61010-1 Laboratory Equipment, not UL 471?

The RFQ requires that the entire system, including all battery charging components, be third party safety tested, the applicable NRTL standard for this equipment is UL/IEC 61010 1 (Laboratory Equipment). UL 471 applies only to commercial refrigeration equipment and does not cover integrated electrical or battery charging systems.

3. IEC 61010-1:2010, Clause 1.4.1 (Normal environmental conditions), The standard requires refrigeration equipment to be designed to be safe at least under “normal” conditions, including: temperature 5 °C to 40 °C. Is the required storage compartment uniformity ± 1 C to be demonstrated in these ambient conditions? Or only Controlled Room Temperature (CRT) 15 to 25 °C ?

Yes, device is meant to operate in austere conditions and/or in the field outside a controlled environment.

4.What is the ambient (room) temperature when the 60 hour battery life is evaluated? 20 ± 1.5 °C (midpoint of CRT) ?

Yes.

5. Re; Battery shelf life > 2 years. Does this mean "not maintained during 2 years" ?

Example, no trickle charging as required by lead acid batteries?

Battery life must be greater than 2 years with routine maintenance/charging per manufactures guidelines. (i.e. 8 hour charge every 3 months)

6. FAR implies compliance with American Innovation and Manufacturing (AIM) Act limitations on refrigerant GWP for this transport refrigeration application. R134a or R404A refrigerants are not allowed, correct?

The solicitation does not specify a required refrigerant type. Offerors are responsible for ensuring compliance with all applicable federal, state, and EPA regulations in effect at the time of manufacture and delivery.

7. Re; Integrated certified and calibrated (TMD) / (DDL). Is NIST traceability sufficient for manufacturer certification? (NSF 456 Annex 1) Yes.

8. Is payload volume simply the interior volume of the refrigerator, or is the volume where vaccines can be safely stored? (NSF 456 6.2.1) The volume where vaccines can be safely stored.

9. NSF 456 requires a uniformity of +-3°C around the 5°C setpoint (7.2.2) demonstrated using the test of Annex 1. Is the +- 1.0 C required by this SOW Section 4.1 "Temperature Control" using the same test method (“throughout the unit”)?

Uniformity language removed

10. Is "Mobile Source: 12V/24V DC vehicle power compatibility" 12V and 24V ? Or just one or the other.?

Units should be able to work with both 12V and 24V.

11. Since a microprocessor control / TMD is required, and since devices sold in the U.S.

must comply with FCC Part 15 (if they use digital electronics), will proof of FCC Part 15 Class B compliance be required during delivery?

If device complies with FCC Part 15, it should be labeled accordingly.

12. Is a fully charged unit to have at least 12 hours of operation time while in freezer mode (-20°C) in 20 °C ambient (midpoint of CRT)?

When fully charged, the unit shall sustain freezer‑mode operation for no less than 12 hours, independent of ambient temperature.

13. Is there an expectation of battery charge time from 0 to 100% no less than 4 hours in CRT condition for example?

Charging time is not specified in the SOW

14. In the expected portable application needing 60 hours of autonomy, could ambient outdoor temperature be below °0 C ? Is active freeze protection with heating needed?

Yes, ambient outdoor temperature may fall below 0 °C in remote locations. Active freeze protection with heating is strongly recommended for a portable unit needing 60 hours of autonomy.

15. Is the ±0.5 °C NIST traceable accuracy a "maximum error band" or an expanded uncertainty k = 2 (~95% confidence, 2 sigma) ?

Yes, the device should be ±0.5 °C accurate and traceable to NIST‑traceable.

16.Can the offeror provide links to videos in support of the bid?

The Government will evaluate only information contained within the submitted quotation documents. Hyperlinks to external materials will not be evaluated

17. What are the payment terms for this solicitation? The standard Government payment terms are Net 30 in accordance with the Prompt Payment Act.

18. Will the units be paid for as they deliver? For delivery of goods, the contractor shall submit invoices electronically through the Department of the Treasury’s Invoice Processing Platform (IPP) for payment. Payment will be made in accordance with the contract terms upon receipt of a proper invoice and Government acceptance.

19. For the TMD/DDL- how long does the NIST certificate of calibration need to be valid for? Devices must be calibrated within 30 days prior to delivery. The certificate of calibration must remain valid for a minimum of one (1) year from the date of calibration.

File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .