Questions_Repsonses FINAL.pdf
PDF 485 KB Posted
- Attached to
- USCG Base Kodiak Security System Upgrade
- Solicitation number
- 31140PR260000176
About this file
This is a Questions and Answers document for USCG Solicitation 31140PR260000176, a combined/synopsis solicitation for electronic security system (ESS) integration at a Coast Guard facility.
The procurement covers installation of an integrated ESS comprising video surveillance, access control, and intrusion detection systems across multiple buildings. Key deliverables include approximately 131 new IP cameras plus integration of ~150 existing Axis cameras, three central recording servers (S1296 192TB model) at Building N38 with 30-day minimum continuous retention at 20 fps minimum (40 cameras at 30 fps), access control system (ACS) platform with PIV-class credential management capability, intrusion detection system, point-to-point wireless links between remote facilities, network switches with managed PoE+ capacity and NDAA-TAA compliance, and uninterruptible power supplies (3-minute minimum runtime; 10-15 minutes preferred for N38 servers). Building T1 requires ICD 705 and UL 2050 certification for Secret classification with open storage. The system must be air-gapped with cellular backup connectivity limited to autodialing to N38 dispatch only, utilize AES-256 encryption minimum, and support centralized monitoring from N38 dispatch office. Contractor responsibilities include software/licensing procurement, migration of existing cameras, removal/reinstallation of raised floor panels and ceiling tiles, badging/background checks, and provision of all hardware and systems integration services. Existing fiber-optic backbone infrastructure at Buildings N24, N75, 14, 15, 20, and 576 is available for ESS use; Building 559 has GFP fiber connecting to N24; Building T1 requires point-to-point wireless. The NAICS code is 334220, classified as a supply purchase with incidental services; no wage determinations apply. Small business concerns comprise at least 50% of estimated contract value, eliminating nonmanufacturer rule waiver requirements.
View the file
Other files
| File | Type | Posted |
|---|---|---|
| Base Kodiak Security System Upgrade SOW August 2026.pdf |
On GovTribe
Work with this file
- Download the original file
- Contacts named in this file
- Similar government files
- Ask GovTribe AI about this file
Text version
Question or Comment Number Question/Comment USCG Response
1 Could you advise if there will be an SF-1449 uploaded on sam.gov?
A SF1449 will not be uploaded to SAM. This is a combined/synopsis solicitation and a formal solicitation will not be issued.
Could you advise how would you like for your proposal to be submitted?
Please review the solicitation instructions regarding quote contents and submission instructions.
Given the brand-name-or-equal specification of equipment from large business manufacturers (Axis, Honeywell, Bosch, HID), does an SBA class or individual nonmanufacturer rule waiver apply to this acquisition under FAR 52.219-33?
The independent government estimate reflects that at least 50% of the estimated contract value is composed of items that are manufactured, processed, produced, or provided by small business concerns . In accordance with RFO 19.104-1(f)(4)(i), a waiver of the nonmanufacturer rule is not required.
Regarding the technical capability requirements in the addenda to FAR 52.212-1, will demonstrated experience of a proposed subcontractor satisfy the technical acceptability minimums in items (a) and (b)? Subcontractor experience will be considered.
Please confirm whether any wage determination (Service Contract Act or Davis-Bacon) applies to the installation labor under this acquisition.
This is considered a supply purchase, where services are incidental to the supply. Services Contract Labor Standards are not applicable.
SOW Section 4.7.1 states "six (3) IP cameras" for Building 559 but lists three cameras. Please confirm the correct quantity. The correct quantity is three (3)
Bldg 559 cameras: SOW 4.7.1 says “six (3) IP cameras” then lists 2+1.
Confirm qty is 3, not 6. The correct quantity is three (3)
Air-gap vs cell IDS: §7.1 bans cellular/VPN; 4.1.3 / 4.2.3 / 4.9.1 spec Honeywell LAN + cell (78471-E / 7847I-E). Confirm exact P/N and whether a cell path is allowed. If not, what dual-path method is required.
System should be air gapped. Cellular backup connectivity should only be utilized for autodialing back to N38 dispatch. P/N: 7847I-E
P2P radios: SOW only says “point to point Access Point.” Provide make/model/band/throughput/NDAA and radio count + mounts for every hop, including far-end at T1 tower and Bldg 576 (N23 path has no 576 radio listed). Who handles frequency coordination?
The government does not specify a product. The contractor is expected to propose products based on bandwidth, range, NDAA-TAA compliant, and other applicable factors.
Our research suggest N23 connects via P2P to T1 then T1 connects via P2P to Bldg 576. The use of commercial unlicensed frequencies (5GHz, 60Ghz, etc.) point to point access points is preferred.
Buildings with no P2P (N24, N75, 559, T1, 14/15/20): Confirm GFP fiber to N38 exists and is authorized for ESS, or contractor must furnish wireless/fiber.
N24, N75, 14, 15, 20, Bldg 576 all having GFP fiber that connect thru multiple junctions back to N38 and are available/authorized for ESS. 559 has GFP fiber connecting to N24. T1 does not have any fiber and requires P2P per SOW.
150 existing Axis cameras (SOW 4.4): Confirm current VMS, license transfer vs new ACS/server licenses for ~150 existing + 78 new, retention days, and correct server SKU (S1296 vs S1292) / storage adequacy. Who migrates existing cameras?
Current licensing and VMS is via exacqVision. Contractor is responsible for licensing and migrating existing cameras to new system. Must retain recordings for a minimum of 30 days. Correct server SKU S1296 (192TB)
Solicitation 31140PR260000176 Questions and Responses
Switches / UPS / racks: Counts only. Confirm PoE budget (PoE+ vs ++), managed/NDAA-TAA, and UPS runtime. Auxiliary pack is listed only at N38 and N41.
Switches - The contractor is responsible for ensuring switches have appropriate PoE capacity, be managed, and be NDAA-TAA compliant.
UPS - Runtime must be at a minimum 3 minutes. For N38 servers runtime is preferred to be longer, minimum 10-15 minutes and still allow for a safe shutdown of the servers.
ACS software: A1210 controllers specified; no ACS platform or door/client licenses named (IDS software is Compass at N38). Confirm required ACS software, license counts, and whether Compass is GFP or contractor-furnished.
All hardware, software, and licensing is contractor-furnished. Access Control System (ACS) platform is required. Contractor shall propose acceptable ACS platform with associate software, licenses, etc. The goal is to have the ESS as centrally and unified managed/processed.
Bldg T1 classified / UL 2050: Confirm ICD 705 / UL 2050 certified install required now vs unclassified; escort/clearance/hours for T1; whether underfloor DS936 work includes raised-floor removal by others.
Required accreditation standards are ICD 705 & UL 2050. Classification of space is going to be Secret and open storage. Hours shall be between 0800-1700. Contractor is responsible for any removal and re-installation of any raised floor panels or ceiling tiles required to complete work.
Drawings / locations: §4.0 says Government provides install locations;
none in package. When will marked plans be issued, or is bid per SOW counts with Government-directed placement at no added cost?
This information is highly sensitive. Drawings and blueprints will be provided to the successful offeror. Offerors should include installation costs for the number of cameras and other equipment requested.
Badging / after-hours escort: Confirm DBIDS/CAC process and whether escorts for N41/N75 night/weekend work (SOW 6.1.2) are Government-furnished at no contractor cost.
Contractor must be able to meet RAPIDGate access approval and pass a public safety background check. Escorts will be provided as required at no cost to contractor.
N38 lock schedule (SOW 4.4.2): 6 reader doors vs 4 Von Duprin QEL + 3 HES 9600 + 1 HES 1500C and 8 Nascom + 1 GRI. Provide door-by-door lock/contact schedule.
Per SOW, there are 3 double doors and 3 single doors that require keypad card readers, motion sensors, door position switches, and crash bars. Exact lock/contact schedule will be provided upon award.
The PWS specifies in section 2.0 that the system must comply with HSPD-12 and other standards. The Axis A1210 does not natively support PIVclass authentication and validation, nor is Axis on the FICAM approved products list at https://www.idmanagement.gov/fips201/ Should we propose a compliant solution that will allow the PIVclass credentials to be validated and authenticated against federal systems? We do not require FIPS201 compliant devices with the exception of T1.
The 921-NHRNEK0033A readers are end of life. Would you like us to propose the equivalent HID Signo PIVclass model?
The end of life devices may be offered, however the government will look more favorable of an equivalent produce that will not be EOL. Offerors should identfy this information in their quote and the benefit to the goverment for using the alternative product.
Do any of the openings particularly in Building N38:
MILPOL/COMMAND require high assurance validation at the door via the Federal bridge / database? No
Does the ACS need to enroll and manage PIVclass credentials issued by DoW, DHS, GSA, or other certificate authorities? Yes. The goal is to utilize military CACs but also have the ability to issue visitor/guest badges
Given that the scope appears to consist primarily of electronic security system integration, installation, programming, commissioning, and related services, can the Government confirm that NAICS 334220 is the intended and correct NAICS assignment for this procurement?
This is the correct NAICS Code. This is considered a supply purchase, where the services being requested are incidental to the supplies being purchased.
Does the Government intend to permit offers from qualified small-business security integrators whose primary business is electronic security systems integration and installation, provided they otherwise meet all solicitation requirements?
The Government will accept quotes from any small business qualified and capable of performing this effort. Please review the solicitation for the evaluation criteria and what the government has identified to be considered technically acceptable.
Section 7.1 calls for ESS Network to be air gapped from other networks & states cellular modems are not allowed. 4.1.3 & 4.9.1 call for cellular communicators. Please confirm is security network is to be stand alone or employ cellular?
System should be air gapped. Cellular backup connectivity should only be utilized for autodialing back to N38 dispatch. P/N: 7847I-E
Section 2.0 requires compliance with HSPD-12 and COMDTINST M5500.18A (MP ICAM). Those standards are implemented through FIPS 201 / PIV-CAC and, for physical access, GSA FIPS 201 APL-listed PACS. The specified Axis A1210 / AXIS Camera Station Secure Entry platform does not appear on the GSA FIPS 201 Approved Products List as PACS infrastructure or a validation system. Please confirm if FIPS 201 / FICAM-compliant PACS (with CAC/PIV authentication) is required for the ACS? We do not require FIPS201 compliant devices with the exception of T1.
Is the IDS system to be monitored by a 3rd party or is monitoring and response to be handled locally/onsite by base security? All cameras, ACS, and IDS are to be centrally monitored from N38 dispatch office.
Section 4.4.3 names “Honeywell Compass / Alarm Management Software.” Compass is a Vista programming tool, not a monitoring head-end. Please confirm the intent is to provide centralized on-premises alarm management at N38, and that offerors may propose a suitable alternative?
Yes the intent is to provide centralized on-pemise alarm management at N38. Offerors may propose a suitable alternative and provide supporting documentation with the technical specifications.
T1 is specified as a future classified workspace, but the SOW does not identify the accreditation standard, classification level, or open- versus closed-storage concept of operations. Please identify the governing IDS criteria for T1 for example ICD/ICS 705, COMDTINST M5530.1C
Required accreditation standards are ICD 705 & UL 2050. Classification of space is going to be Secret and open storage.
Please confirm whether encryption is required for IDS communications (panel-to-head-end, communicator-to-receiver, and wireless backhaul).
If required, identify the minimum standard (for example AES-256, or another USCG/DoD requirement) Encryption is required with a minimum standard of AES-256
Network Gear requirements, Please identify any required switch manufacturer or approved-product list (for example Cisco or HP). Also confirm applicable TAA, NDAA, and country-of-origin restrictions, IP services licenses to be provided Switches must be managed, appropriate PoE capacity, and be NDAA-TAA compliant.
Section 4 specifies point-to-point wireless links between outlying facilities and the N38 head-end. Section 6.2 also authorizes use of the Base’s existing fiber-optic backbone where available. Please confirm that where suitable existing fiber-optic infrastructure is already in place between buildings, it may be used in lieu of the specified wireless links.
N24, N75, 14, 15, 20, Bldg 576 all having GFP fiber that connect thru multiple junctions back to N38 and are available/authorized for ESS. 559 has GFP fiber connecting to N24.
Section 4.4.1 Please confirm the S12 recorder model and capacity S1296 - 96 TB or 192 TB? S1296 (192TB)
Section 4.4 requires the existing ~150 Axis cameras to be brought onto the new N38 recorders. Please confirm those cameras are Axis IP devices and that analog-to-digital converters/encoders are not required?
All existing cameras are Axis IP devices. No alalog-to-digital converters/encoders are required.
Any known asbestos or other hazardous materials in the buildings to be worked in?
At this time there is no known hazardous materials or asbestos in the installation areas.
Should the contractor encounter these issues during the installation process, the contractor shall immediately notify the COR for next steps.
This is a large project to quote by the bid deadline on the 10th, would an extension be considered? The due date for quotes will not be extended.
Per SOW Section 4.0 ("Brand name or equal for all products referenced"), please confirm that proposing the following REDACTED BRAND NAME cameras—which meet or exceed all stated salient characteristics in resolution, durability, temperature rating, and NDAA/TAA compliance. Additionally, 100s of the camera models suggested below have been successfully deployed and are in use at other Coast Guard locations. More detail can be provided as requested.
(REDACTED LIST OF ITEMS)
The government will not valdiate specific items as "equal" until reviewing quotes. Offerors proposing equal products shall submit sufficient technical documentation, including manufacturer specifications, model numbers, compatibility information, and product literature, to demonstrate that the proposed products meet or exceed the stated salient characteristics. Failure to provide adequate documentation may result in the proposed equal product being determined technically unacceptable.
Section 4.4.1 specifies deploying three (3) central recording servers in Building N38 to record 281 total streams (131 new + ~150 existing Axis cameras), but does not state the required retention period or target frame rates. Please provide: •Required retenƟon duraƟon (e.g., 30, 60, or 90 days). •Mandatory recording frame rate (e.g., 15 fps vs. 30 fps) and whether recording is continuous or motion-based. The Coast Guard typically requires 30 days of retention, assuming 24-hour recording / 12-hour-day of motion, however, we are just looking to confirm if that is the case here.
Minimum retention requirement is all cameras continuous for 30 days with a minimumn of 20 fps with 40 camersas at 30 fps.
Section 4.4 requires incorporating ~150 existing Axis cameras into the core recording platform. Can the Government provide an equipment schedule with current model numbers, firmware levels, and resolution profiles to ensure compatibility with modern ONVIF Profile S/T ingest?
Due to security concerns, this information will be provided only to the successfull offeror upon award.
Section 4.1–4.8 specifies twelve (12) Axis D1110 Video Decoders for local monitor display. Can the Government confirm that dedicated solid-state small-form-factor Client Micro-PCs running the VMS viewing client in locked kiosk mode are acceptable as an equal or superior monitoring station?
The government will not valdiate specific items as "equal" until reviewing quotes. Offerors proposing equal products shall submit sufficient technical documentation, including manufacturer specifications, model numbers, compatibility information, and product literature, to demonstrate that the proposed products meet or exceed the stated salient characteristics. Failure to provide adequate documentation may result in the proposed equal product being determined technically unacceptable.
File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .