A01 24R2100_QuesAnswer Form_4.4.25.pdf
PDF 328 KB Posted
- Solicitation number
- 1202SC24R2100
- Issued by
-
Department of Agriculture Forest Service
About this file
This document is a Questions and Answers (Q&A) form for the Request for Proposal (RFP) 1202SC24R2100 for the 2025-2029 National Mobile Food Services (MFS) Unit Support. The RFP seeks multiple-award Indefinite Delivery-Indefinite Quantity (IDIQ) contracts for mobile food service units supporting fire suppression, all-hazard incidents, and severity/preparedness assignments across the western United States. The solicitation will be conducted in two phases: Phase 1 will award National MFSU "Parent" IDIQs to technically acceptable and reasonably priced offerors, while Phase 2 will involve a separate notice of fair opportunity for Designated Dispatch Point (DDP) Task Orders using a Lowest Price Technically Acceptable (LPTA) selection process.
Key details include a proposal due date of April 24, 2025, with an anticipated award around mid to late June. The contracts will run from award through December 31, 2025, with options to renew for up to four additional one-year periods. Contractors must provide mobile food service units capable of preparing fresh meals in diverse environments, with specific requirements for meal composition, equipment, personnel, and dispatch procedures. The Q&A form addresses numerous technical and administrative questions, covering topics such as dispatch locations, key personnel requirements, meal specifications, pricing structures, and evaluation criteria. The solicitation is issued by the USDA Forest Service Incident Procurement Operations Logistics Contracting Branch.
View the file
Other files
Show all 13
On GovTribe
Work with this file
- Download the original file
- Contacts named in this file
- Similar government files
- Ask GovTribe AI about this file
Text version
United States Forest Business Operations 3833 S. Development Ave Department of Service Procurement & Property Services MS 1000 Agriculture Incident Procurement Operations Boise, ID 83705-5354
Logistics Contracting Branch
Caring for the Land and Serving People 1
Note: When submitting questions/comments, please reference the RFQ number in the subject line.
Questions/Comments not submitted on this form via 2025_29.pqv2cvnjk59v9lzz@u.box.com will not be considered.
QUESTION & COMMENT FORM
Request for Proposal (RFP) 1202SC24R2100
2025-2029 National Mobile Food Services (MFS) Unit Support
Question # Attachment Section or Paragraph Page
# Description / Question / Comment
1 - SF1449 Block 8. 1 Can you confirm the April 24, 2025 due date?
1A Yes.
2 - General Is there an anticipated award date?
2A Around the middle to end of June.
3 - General The electronic submission form doesn’t have an option to save and return even with a Microsoft 365 account.
3A https://forms.office.com/g/NPmWSYd30T Somehow the address lost any CAPS, so it wasn’t valid. This one is a valid address, and it took me to the appropriate form. Updated in the Solicitation docs as well.
4 - B.2(a) 5
Defines Dispatch Point as the “location for the complete MFSU and key personnel unless reassigned enroute to/from an incident.” But B.2(b) defines Designated Dispatch Point as “the location for the complete MFSU (required equipment and supplies) and key personnel (unless reassigned enroute to/from an incident) to be kept during the defined Mandatory Availability Period (MAP).”
These are in conflict, because if you are not reassigned enroute and in your MAP, both Dispatch Point definitions and associated requirements seem to apply. Is it possible to clarify the difference between the two definitions (DP vs. DDP)?
4A Correct. The difference is that the DDP has the MAP. And they are two different locations. The DP can be the TWISP, WA home location of the company, but the awarded DDP could be Las Vegas, NV.
- P.5 - B.2(a) 5
The National MSFU IDIQ DP is defined as the location of the complete MFSU and key Personnel. Very few yards will let us park equipment and also provide for housing or RV’s.
mailto:2025_29.pqv2cvnjk59v9lzz@u.box.com https://forms.office.com/g/NPmWSYd30T
# Description / Question / Comment
What is the acceptable radius or distance for Key Personnel from the equipment?
Key Personnel MUST BE within a 60-mile radius (1 hour response time).
Solicitation B.2(a) 5
“A physical address must be provided at the time of proposal submittal during phase 1 of this acquisition. Please clarify this requirement.” Is a different address required, per MAP, for the proposal?
Since the National MFSU “Parent” IDIQ can be wherever (company HQ, a leased/owned parking lot, etc.), Offerors can provide it when submitting proposals, keeping in mind that if they choose to participate in receiving a DDP Task Order (TO), the Unit will “move” to the DDP for MAP.
Solicitation B.2(b) 5
“A physical address within a 75-mile radius from the DDP City listed must be provided within 30 calendar days of task order award for each location awarded during phase 2 of this acquisition.” Again, please clarify this requirement – and, please delineate how it is different from the requirement in paragraph b.
Since National MFSU DDP TOs aren’t known until award, Offerors might not be able to confirm a location until awarded the TO, therefore, TO awardees have 30 days to get the address of the parking spot/home of the Unit, within 75-miles of the DDP City (nearest airport code – not city center), to the government.
Phase 1 DP is just the primary parking spot of the company. Phase 2 DDP is the parking spot within the 75-miles of the DDP City; for instance, Company A proposes for Lander, WY and is awarded the DDP, within 30 days of award, Company A must get the parking address for the Unit to the government. That will remain the DDP address for the life of the TO (potential up to 5 years).
Solicitation B.2(c) 5
“Offerors may propose a MFSU for multiple locations. Only one MFSU will be awarded at each DDP location listed below (no split locations).” Please clarify: Will the government award a single MFSU to different locations IF the Mandatory Available Period does not overlap. For example, Washington doesn’t start until July, but there are multiple locations that end in June.
No. Company A – Unit 1 proposes for Tucson, AZ which MAP ends 6/30. Unit 1 cannot also be proposed for Wenatchee, WA which MAP starts 7/1. Well, it can be, but it will only be awarded one of the DDPs; not both. We are not splitting locations.
Solicitation B.2(c) 5 Will there be any opportunity to change locations during the option years?
# Description / Question / Comment
Unless required to move, then no. This applies to both the National MFSU “Parent” IDIQ DPs and the National MFSU DDP TOs.
- B.4(b) 8 contains the following “NOTE: this pricing will be utilized for priority three dispatches for the life of the contract if a unit is not awarded a National
MFSU DDP TO.”
Can you please clarify if the Forest Service intends to bind unsuccessful offerors to pricing for rejected offers? Can you please identify the FAR authority for doing so?
B.4(d)(3) on p.9 also states that Priority three dispatches only apply to “Contractors Awarded National MFSU “Parent” IDIQs. Will some unsuccessful offerors also have the opportunity to be considered under Priority three dispatches?
No and there is no FAR authority to do so. If an offeror is not determined technically acceptable, they will not be awarded an IDIQ. If an offeror’s prices are not determined fair and reasonable, they will not be awarded an IDIQ. If at the end of the day, an offeror is not awarded a National MFSU “Parent” IDIQ, they are done.
- B.4(d)(2) 9 states that the orders will be processed through the WildNICC system.
Can you please let us know that system works?
Are there any manuals or guides that describe that system which you can provide? Who will be the individual inputting the information into the WildNICC system?
Initial WildNICC returns available units with their straight-line mileage; NICC then uses that to identify – Priority 1: closest resources to run Google Maps® (or similar program); Priority 2 & 3:
those units within and further than the 450 miles to run the Lowest Price calculation.
- B.4(d)(3) 9-10 states that “MFSUs located within 450 miles of the incident” and “MFSUs 450+ miles of the incident” are both part of second priority (in different order). If so, who falls under Priority three resources?
There are basically 3 pricing structures as well. First Priority at DDP in MAP; Second Priority out of MAP – remains at DDP pricing (minus the daily availability rate); Third Priority “Parents” at IDIQ pricing. This is why there are three priorities to dispatches. We cannot compare apples to oranges so the 3 prices provide apple to apple comparisons at each level.
# Description / Question / Comment
. B.2(c)(1)(i) PDF
If you have one kitchen and are assigned a DDP.
Is it correct that you wouldn’t utilize the parent IDIQ (As needed) pricing since it states “When out of MAP, all National DDP rates except daily avail rate remain in effect? Therefore, your DDP specific pricing would apply to in MAP and out of MAP timing?)
Yes. When MAP is complete, all rates remain unchanged except the Daily Availability Rate.
- B.2(c)(1) PDF
When can Parent IDIQ awardees expect to bid on DDP’s? What happens to those who are assigned DDP’s that are already in effect (retroactive avail rates?)
All current DDP IDIQs expire 6/30/2025, which means all pricing ends as well. We’ll award the 2025-2029 National MFSU “Parent” IDIQs then within a matter of days to a week the Notice of Fair Opportunity (NFO) will be provided to all IDIQ awardees to participate. If you are an incumbent, you’re current DDP will basically no longer be in effect; but if you compete for the DDP City again and are awarded the DDP City, then you could keep the same address.
- B.4 12
When submitting for multiple MFSUs for one company, how do you want them sent? Each as separate contracts with duplicates of the main company information? How do you want the email subject lines worded?
Pricing isn’t sent in separately via email; it is 100% electronic MS Form. The paper copy B.6 Schedule of Items isn’t submitted as part of Part 3 – Business Proposal.
- B.4(d)(1)(i) 12
“The CO will use a scenario-based evaluation that considers price (Daily Availability Rate, Within MAP meal / equipment rates, and Outside MAP meal / equipment rates) to determine which MFSU is the best value to the Government at each DDP to make an award determination.”
• What evaluation factors other than price will the government be considering for Priority 1 resources? How will the government evaluate them? Will the government be doing any trade-offs between experience (or other factors) and price as part of this evaluation?
Best value is not one and done. It is a continuum: Best Value Trade Off and Best Value Lowest Price Technically Acceptable (LPTA). In this instance, all Parent IDIQs were determined Fair and Reasonable Priced so the government will consider price for DDPs.
- B.4(d)(2) 13 does not reference the application of best value to Priority 2 resources.
# Description / Question / Comment
• Is the government still contemplating the use of best value in those cases? If so, What evaluation factors other than price will the government be considering for Priority 2 resources? How will the government evaluate them? Will the government be doing any trade-offs between experience (or other factors) and price as part of this evaluation?
Review C.2.3.1 Addendum to FAR 52.216-18 Ordering.
- B.4.1(d)(3)(iv) 14
“A task order may be placed orally or electronically but will be confirmed in writing by the issuance of a Resource Order. Fire and project orders are subject to the As Needed ordering process to ensure the best value MFSU is assigned.”
• What evaluation factors other than price will the government be considering for Priority 3 resources? How will the government evaluate them? Will the government be doing any trade-offs between experience (or other factors) and price as part of this evaluation?
Review C.2.3.1 Addendum to FAR 52.216-18 Ordering.
- B.5 15 calls for Supplemental Tents and Seating Rate for 200 persons per day. P. 12 – B.6 calls for Supplemental Tents and Seating Rate for 60 persons per day. But the information provided in B.6 will be incorporated into B.5 for award (per P. 11 header). How will the Forest Service convert the rate? Will it be applying a per person rate from 60-persons to the 200-persons rate sheet?
Error. The tent seating requirement is 250-persons as part of the kitchen equipment. The extra optional tent seating is 50-persons.
- B.5 11-
Hot food delivery vehicle. There is a line item to bid a daily rate for “hot food delivery vehicle” but no place to also price the daily mileage for that vehicle. Since this can vary widely per incident where can we include the mileage rate for this vehicle?
This is not like the Hot Food Delivery Vehicle BPAs. We anticipate the daily rate accounting for mileage as well. And it is anticipated that this is from point of hire (meaning the incident camp –
# Description / Question / Comment not the home parking location). The other thing is that this is 100% OPTIONAL. To be used from the camp, it must be brought with the original order; there is no guarantee it will be used.
- B.5 11-
Hot Food Delivery Vehicle specifies a minimum holding capacity for 200 hot meals. How many steam table pans must be provided and how many spaces or “slots” are considered acceptable for 200 meals?
Pans will vary depending on meal type: for instance, if you have ribs, you might have 10 to a pan and if you have hamburgers, you might get 30 to a pan; 100% depends on the food. Number of “slots” is not dictated by the government.
- B.6(e ) 14 states some equipment details must be noted only “if applicable.” How will the government consider any differences in equipment?
All equipment comprising the MFSU must be accounted for and identified; but some items not all contractors will provide or use, therefore, it would be considered if applicable. For example, the Salad Bar Trailer is not required if there is a salad tent with sides and floor; but some might have a trailer not a tent, in that instance we would need to have it’s identifying information.
- 15-
Hand Washing Unit Rate states “#-sinks (min.
8)” per day. How many sinks do you want priced per day? Are you seeking a rate for one sink per day under the assumption that 8 will be requested? Are you seeking a price for 8 sinks per day?
The government is asking for rates per specific estimated quantities. But the pricing may vary depending on the estimated quantity. How will the government evaluate the pricing provided per unit? Will the government be doing any conversions to a single quantity rate as part of its evaluation?
Will the government evaluate whether offerors have submitted unbalanced pricing?
Daily rate for 1 (ONE) Handwash UNIT as a whole. You determine your price the government will math-it by dividing the price by the number of sinks. You do not provide that information.
- 16-
The pricing sheets appear to omit any estimated quantities for Mileage Rate in years any of the option years. Will the government not be considering the mileage pricing in option years?
How will the government be evaluating offerors’ pricing for mileage in option years? What
# Description / Question / Comment estimated quantities will the government apply to offerors’ prices under that category?
Offerors will propose the Base Year mileage rate. The government will utilize the EPA calculations to get the OY1 pricing. When we go to exercise OY2, we’ll use the OY1 rate with the EPA calculations to get the OY2 pricing. And so forth from there.
- 52.232-18 20
Availability of Funds; 52.232-19 Availability of Funds for Next Fiscal Year. We understand that the “Funds are not presently available for this contract” and the “Government’s obligation under this contract is contingent upon the availability” of that funding.
When does the government expect to receive such funding? What can you tell us about the funding for this contract?
Funding is received each fall in October/November (depending on budget/congress).
- C.1.2 52.252-6 & E.1.2 52.252-5
139-
FAR and AGAR Deviations We are unable to access the deviations at the link. Can you please provide the referenced deviations separately?
Will ensure updated.
- C.2.1(i)(a)(iii) & (3)(i)
States “individual meals served shall be counted and totaled…and paid at the rates offered”, however the next page says contractor shall be paid for number of meals actually served or 100% of meals ordered, whichever is greater.
Unable to understand question.
- C.2.1(i)(m)(1) PDF
How often can MAP Daily Availability Rate invoices be submitted and paid?
Invoices will be submitted monthly at the end of the month.
- C.2.3.1(1)(d)(3)(ii)(A) 42 references the use of “as crow flies” straight lines to identify the closest resource, even though the pricing is done based on GoogleMaps. “As crow flies” distance is not going to accurately reflect the time frame it takes for an MFSU to respond to an incident on the roads. The disconnect can be significant. For example, the following website shows a difference between the two measures:
# Description / Question / Comment https://www.freemaptools.com/how-far-is-it-between.htm
Can you please update the measure of the “closest resource” to an approach that is consistent with the true “closest resource” and manner of payment?
What is the measure of the “closest resource” that will be utilized for Priority 2 and Priority 3 dispatches? The Solicitation does not specify it.
We’re not updating anything. The initial run by NICC is to get the range from the incident for all available units. Once identified, NICC runs Google Maps ® or other mapping system, on those units from direct DDP location to incident and contact closest to verify ability to meet DTN & at DDP. The same goes for 2nd and 3rd priorities too, but once identified as <450-mi, NICC runs Maps on those units and then uses the Lowest Price workbook with actual mileage from DP/DDP location to incident and contacts Lowest Price under 450. If none, then calls next. Etc.
- C.2.3.1(1)(d)(3)(iv) 45 states that the “Government reserves the right to cancel any order at any time. Payment for services rendered will be made in accordance with Section C.5.1. Notice of cancellation will be provided to the MFSU Contractor from
NICC.”
Section C.5.1. does not specify Payment for services. Can you please update that reference?
C.2.1(i)(2) updated RFP.
- C.2.3.1(d)(3)(ii)(D) PDF
“When NICC determines no Ntl IDIQ MFSU’s can meet the requirement, the Government reserves the right to utilize non-National MFSU’s” does this mean you would call CWN BPA holders for incidents larger than 200 if the above applies?
No. The CWN BPAs are no longer eligible in that capacity. The government intends to award an EERA in the event all Nat’l MFSUs are assigned or unavailable. Could the EERA go to a former CWN BPA holder, certainly as long as they can meet the National specifications.
- C.2.5 52.216-22 52
Indefinite Quantity (Oct 1995) references the possibility of the contract applying beyond June 30, 2030 if an incident is placed earlier. Will you provide offerors with the right to update their Option Year 4 rates if performance goes beyond that date?
https://www.freemaptools.com/how-far-is-it-between.htm https://www.freemaptools.com/how-far-is-it-between.htm
# Description / Question / Comment
No. As is standard industry practice, you do not update prices in the middle of an assignment. If you are assigned on 6/25/25, you will continue to honor and operate in accordance with the expired DDP IDIQ and current assigned RO until properly released. In general, the parent IDIQ will not continue past 6/30/2025.
- C.4.1 53
Please further explain the process of determining the CPI for fuel/transportation. Does this adjustment affect each individual bid fuel price for each option year? And be communicated to contractors when unit summaries are issued annually?
Offerors will propose the Base Year Mileage at solicitation. In preparation to potentially exercise an option year, the CO will research the years’ CPI, do the provided calculations and provide the OY# Mileage Rate with the Notice of Intent (NOI). The contractor reviews the pricing (all prices, not just mileage), key personnel, etc., to ensure correct, signs the NOI and returns. The CO will then use that “approval” to exercise the option unilaterally.
If there’s an issue with anything when the NOI with Unit Summary is received, that is the time to get issues addressed. All changes are recorded and the final “approved” Unit Summary is attached and incorporated into the modification (unilaterally).
- C.4.1 53
Custom Clause #1 Economic Price Adjustments- Cost Indexes of Labor or Material (Jan 2025) seems to rely on the Transportation Services index for any adjustments. But historically that index has had some pretty extreme dips and peaks/is not necessarily correlated to food prices (e.g., dropped in 2020 when the food prices were rising).
Why did the government decide not to use the “Food away from home” portion of the CPU?
We’re only looking at mileage. Because when the government previously attempted to provide a EPA with Food Index, it was summarily denied by the overwhelming majority of incumbent contractors.
- C.4.2 (a) 56
I assume most kitchens function very well with a Kitchen Manager, Assistant Manager and Supervisory Cook. Our Kitchen Managers ARE our Food Service Unit Managers. We do not need an extra person at the DDP.
If a name is needed for that position, can a Food Service Unit Manager simply be someone at the home office who is available 24/7?
No. You need 4 Key Personnel, or it isn’t a complete MFSU.
# Description / Question / Comment
- C.4.6 57 Is the maximum ceiling of 15M and annual threshold or annual threshold?
Need clarification.
Main
Solicitation Document
C.5.1 (b) 58 Could the government expand on what type of sanitation facilities the contractor may be required to provide for their workforce?
The government provides sanitation facilities to include porta-potties, solid waste disposal (dumpster). The contractor is required to have their hand wash unit for incident personnel AND hand wash sinks inside each food service equipment for contractor personnel.
- D.1.1 (j) 63
Is the status process for IROC reporting replacing all previous versions of daily reporting? Please further explain this process of reporting using the IROC system.
Yes. We’re providing a “flow chart”.
- D.1.1(j) 63 Completed Wildland Fire Application Portal – FAMAuth and submitted; how long does it take to get access?
Unknown. Depends on application completeness.
- D.1.7 76
Notes that Vegetarian Entrée is only required when ordered. Will there be a separate count of vegetarian orders for payment? If 100 vegetarian meals and 1000 normal melas are ordered, and 1100 total meals are served, however only 20 vegetarian meals were served, will we get paid for the 80 that were ordered and made, but not used?
Not for payment. Separate count will be provided on documentation from the FDUL and invoiced as one lump number. There isn’t a price difference between the two meal types.
- D.1.7(6)(i) 76
For the specified protein rotation. Are those exact proteins required on those days or can we adjust the order based on availability as long as we have all specified proteins in a 7 day period?
Substitutions are only allowed with advance FDUL discussions. These substitutions will be on a limited basis.
- D.1.7 76
For the specified protein rotation, on days with multiple listed proteins (for instance day 2 is Fish/Ground Beef or Bison) Does that read as “Fish or Ground Beef or Ground Bison” or “Fish with Ground Beef or Bison”
# Description / Question / Comment
2 entrees - Fish and Ground Beef or Bison.
- D.1.7 81 Milk varieties show whole, 2%, Skim, Rice, Almond, Soy and chocolate. Are all these specific milks required for each meal period?
No. These are the variety allowable to provide. Specific direction will be provided by the FDUL.
Chocolate milk is required at all times as specified in the PWS.
- D.1.7(d)(1)(iv) 84
Fish and Chips is typically a well-received dinner entrée option using fish as a protein to provide variety. Breaded filets are no longer acceptable per food requirements can this be re-evaluated?
Contractors can bread fish fillets at the incident for use in Fish & Chips. Just not pre-breaded, frozen fish.
- D.1.7(b)(6)
Could you confirm that the Dinner starch option has increased to 8oz?
Yes.
- D.1.7(g)(1)(iv) 87
Roast beef can often have the “green sheen” but that doesn’t mean it’s not servable. Even with beef that meets quality measures it could still be present. It’s a normal phenomenon and is not a sign of spoilage. Can this also be re-evaluated.
Fire fighters more often than not rejected and complain. In order to minimize complaints against the contractor for “spoiled food” the government determined it best to just minimize from the start; similarly to garbanzo bean snacks.
- D.1.7(g)(3) PDF
Cheese – no cream cheese except as a snack item – what if it’s part of the shift provision second entrée (i.e. bagel, cream cheese and protein that meets the 400 calories?)
Nope. Not allowed. It was asked and rejected. It is not a protein.
- D.1.9 87
Under contractor responsibilities, the acceptable quality level states no more than 3 substantiated customer complaints within a 14-day period.
What is considered a “substantiated” complaint?
What contractor recourse is provided to respond to or dispute these claims?
As defined at D.1.9(a)(1)(i) – substantiated means verified with supporting information after government inspection/investigation. The same recourse as usual, the FDUL/LSC will discuss with the contractor prior to any final decisions. The contractor is provided opportunity to fix any issues.
# Description / Question / Comment
- D.1.9 91
Reference to attachment 1: Government’s Quality Assurance Surveillance Plan, however attachment 1 is titled “MFSU Description and Equipment Requirements Checklist” Can you please provide a copy of the Governments
QASP?
The Government QASP will be attached in SAM.gov; it is not incorporated into the solicitation.
- D.1.9
D.1.9 Performance Standards & Deductions (Surveillance Performed by – FDUL, LSC, contract COR, and/or contract CO; government can recommend deductions; deduction table) / P.
22 (“The CO shall make final decisions on any remedial actions implemented or erroneous payments approved by LSC, FACL or COR as appropriate.”)
• What does the term “erroneous payment” on
p. 22 refer to?
• We believe that these provisions are in conflict with FAR 1.606-2. Can you please remove them?
• What sampling plan standard(s) will the government follow to conduct its quality control assessments?
• The current deduction scheme does not take into account the fact that the number of personnel served at the fire affects the quantity of defects. Can you please remove the standard or at least update it to address this?
• How did the government determine the deductions listed in each “Impact of Payment” column? Is there a regulation or another standard on which those deductions were based?
• How did the government determine the Acceptable Quality Standards listed? Is there a regulation or another standard on which those quality standards were based?
• Section D.1.9 references Attachment 1:
Government’s Quality Assurance
# Description / Question / Comment
Surveillance Plan (QASP). But Attachment 1 is listed as MFSU Description and Equipment Requirements Checklist. The Solicitation does not seem to contain this Attachment. Can you please provide a copy?
• How do these Performance Standards & Deductions function in light of FAR 46.407 requirements to "give the contractor an opportunity to correct or replace nonconforming supplies or services when this can be accomplished within the required delivery schedule.” Can you please update the chart to state that these Standards & Deductions will apply only after the contractor fails to correct or replace nonconforming supplies or services within a reasonable period of time?
1-Resolved; 2-There is not a FAR 1.606-2; 3-see D.1.9(b)(2)(i); 4-No. Number of meals served shouldn’t have any impact on performance: raw chicken is raw chicken; 5-Common sense approach. Of course there isn’t a regulation; 6-same as 5; 7-correct, will be attached at SAM.gov;
8-The government is not removing the opportunity to correct or replace, and the deduction wouldn’t be applied IF the issue(s) was/were resolved.
- D.5 Exhibit 5C 100 Guidance for Mobile Food Services Lend-Lease Invoicing (Dated 7/14/2024). When does this invoice format apply?
Need more information.
Document
E.2.3, Section (b)(5)
(i) 138
The file size limit is stated as being from 10-25 MB. Can the Government be a little more specific about file size limits to facilitate an efficient proposal submission?
That cannot be given as all email accounts are different. I definitely cannot send or receive anything over 25M; but sometimes, depending on what the file is, even 15M is too much. This is for each Offeror to determine. If you hit send and get a “Mail failure” message because attachments too big, then resize them, etc. Do whatever you need to get all items sent in.
Everything just has to be logically identified as the government is not going to play puzzle with submissions. If not in accordance with the Solicitation the proposal may not be evaluated.
- E.2.3(b)(4) 138 It says “(see (12) below” . Where is “12”? Does it mean “Part 2” on page 140?
Removed reference to “(see (12)) below”. Part 1 is the Technical Proposal. Part 2 is the Equipment Description. Part 3 is the Business Proposal. Due to file sizes, the Equipment Description can be large, and didn’t want to include as PART of the Tech Proposal. So Tech is email, equip is email, business is email; each a separate email.
# Description / Question / Comment
- E.2.3(b)(5) 138 references email size limitations of approximately 10-25 MB. That is a broad range and the proposals may require photos/videos.
What is the specific size limitation for email submissions?
That cannot be given as all email accounts are different. I definitely cannot send or receive anything over 25M; but sometimes, depending on what the file is, even 15M is too much. This is for each Offeror to determine. If you hit send and get a “Mail failure” message because attachments too big, then resize them, etc. Do whatever you need to get all items sent in.
Everything just has to be logically identified as the government is not going to play puzzle with submissions. If not in accordance with the Solicitation the proposal may not be evaluated.
(B) email data 139
In (B) on the TechSubFact2 email description, it gives one way to write it and then if there are multiple parts it leaves out “EquipDescReq”.
Do you want “EquipDescReq” in the subject line ONLY on the first email or ONLY if there will be just one email? Or if there is going to be more than one email do we remove that and just put “Company Name-TechSubFact2-submittal date-part 1 of 2” etc?
Please remember Subject Line isn’t included in the drop, so really subject is company specific.
The actual files have to be named appropriately and as indicated in the RFP, the “EquipDescReq” has been removed.
- Section Part 2 140
Shouldn’t the items listed under Part 2 – MFSU Description and Equipment Requirements, actually be under Part 1 – Technical Proposal?
Isn’t Part 2 just the D.14 Attachment?
Due to potential file size limitations, it was determined “safer” to have tech and equip descript submitted separately. DO NOT submit as one even if your combined Part 1 & Part 2 is smaller than 25M.
- (E) Signatures 140 Is there an SF30 as of yet?
See Amendment 02 at SAM.gov. Amend01 will post these Q&A only. Amend02 will post the updated Q&A post-conference and updated RFP as applicable.
Main Solicitation E.2.3 141-
The only page limits for the proposal appear to be the 6 pages for the Safety and Work-Rest Plan (RFP page 141) and the 3 pages for the experience section (RFP page 142). Will the Government please confirm there are no other page limits in any other part of the proposal?
# Description / Question / Comment
Confirmed. There are no other page limitations included.
Document
E.2.3, Instructions for Part 1, Section D.ii 142
The Experience section has a 3-page limit. Will the Government confirm that the certificates required for all key personnel are excluded from this 3-page limit?
Confirmed. Resumes and certificates do not count towards the page limit.
- E.2.3(b)(9) 144 references the need for offerors to address offeror’s techniques, equipment, and experience in both its Proposal Part 1 - Technical Proposal and Proposal Part 2 - The MFSU Description and Equipment Requirements Checklist. As a part of which Proposal Part will the government be evaluating the offeror’s techniques, equipment, and experience?
Part 2 is part of the Tech, it’s only separated for submission purposes (file size).
- E.2.3(b)(9) 148-
SUBFACTOR 3: TECHNICAL APPROACH
does not state how the government will be evaluating the “experience” that p. 148 requires offerors to address in Proposal Part 1 - Technical Proposal. How will the government do that? Is the government evaluating experience under both Subfactor 3: Technical Approach and Subfactor 5: Experience? If so, what is the focus of each of those evaluations?
Experience is only Sub Factor 5 and is evaluated as its own part of the overall factor 1- offer acceptability.
- E.2.4 §2.2 150
As part of the Price Evaluation, the RFP notes “The Government will determine prices fair and reasonable through a thorough evaluation of the total evaluated amount to perform all services using price analysis techniques such as price comparison with other proposed prices received in response to the solicitation, the Forest Service estimated cost, available industry pricing and/or past Forest Service history pricing.”
• What years will the Forest Service be using for past/historical pricing? Will the Forest Service be adjusting those historical prices to reflect the impacts of COVID and subsequent inflation?
# Description / Question / Comment
• In considering “other proposed prices received in response to the solicitation,” whose proposed prices will the government be using as a comparison? Will the government be looking at all offerors’ prices as part of price analysis or only those proposing the same DDP location as the offeror being evaluated?
• What did the Forest Service use to estimate the cost?
• What industry indexes will the government be using for industry pricing?
1-The government only uses past pricing as an example of what it was; it is not the end all determinate; 2-For the National MFSU “Parent” IDIQ pricing, the government will use all prices submitted & for the National MFSU DDP TO pricing, government will utilize prices submitted for the DDPs.
Solicitation Evaluation Will subcontractor past performance be accepted under this proposal?
The government will evaluate each company that submits a proposal. So yes.
Solicitation Evaluation Will subcontractor past performance be considered as equal to prime contractor past performance?
No. The contract was awarded to the Prime, not the subcontractor.
E.3.2 AGAR
452.237-71 Link to Meeting
The conference is scheduled for Monday, April 7, 2025 at 1:00 PM MST (3:00 PM EST).
Microsoft Teams Need help?
Join the meeting now Meeting ID: 249 498 531 484 Passcode: VZ6BR9cA
Dial in by phone +1 202-650-0123,,789466380# United States, Washington Find a local number Phone conference ID: 789 466 380# For organizers: Meeting options | Reset dial-in PIN
• Add additional rows as needed https://aka.ms/JoinTeamsMeeting?omkt=en-US https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-join/19%3ameeting_MGUyODQ0YTctZTIwOC00ZWI3LWI2YTAtNWVlMTg5ZWIzOGE1%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%22ed5b36e7-01ee-4ebc-867e-e03cfa0d4697%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%227f427d82-4bf8-4aaf-a5d5-086223e6e1e3%22%7d tel:+12026500123,,789466380 https://dialin.teams.microsoft.com/51464f95-f774-44ee-8bbc-6dd420ce7951?id=789466380 https://teams.microsoft.com/meetingOptions/?organizerId=7f427d82-4bf8-4aaf-a5d5-086223e6e1e3&tenantId=ed5b36e7-01ee-4ebc-867e-e03cfa0d4697&threadId=19_meeting_MGUyODQ0YTctZTIwOC00ZWI3LWI2YTAtNWVlMTg5ZWIzOGE1@thread.v2&messageId=0&language=en-US https://dialin.teams.microsoft.com/usp/pstnconferencing
File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .