10-Attachment C - Vision Certificate Date 07.0.2024.pdf
PDF 480 KB Posted
- Attached to
- Employee Dental and Vision Benefits
- Solicitation number
- 3708-26.02
- Issued by
- Orange County, Texas
About this file
This is a Vision Certificate document related to the Amarillo Independent School District's Employee Dental and Vision Benefits procurement. The document dated July 0, 2024, serves as supporting documentation for the vision benefits component of the district's employee benefit proposal request. The procurement seeks proposals for comprehensive employee dental and vision benefits, with proposals due by 2:00 pm on March 20th, 2026. The vision certificate attachment provides specifications and requirements for vision coverage that potential bidders must address in their proposals to the Amarillo Independent School District in Texas.
The vision certificate document outlines the specific vision benefit parameters and coverage details that bidders must comply with when submitting proposals. This attachment serves as a binding specification document that establishes the minimum vision benefit standards and requirements expected in employee vision benefit plans. Bidders are expected to meet or exceed the vision coverage terms outlined in this certificate when structuring their comprehensive dental and vision benefit proposals for the school district's employee population.
View the file
Other files
Show all 12
On GovTribe
Work with this file
- Download the original file
- Contacts named in this file
- Similar government files
- Ask GovTribe AI about this file
Text version
YOUR BENEFIT PLAN
Amarillo Independent School District
All Full-Time and Retired Employees
Vision Insurance for You and Your Dependents
Certificate Date: July 1, 2024
7200 I-40 West Amarillo, TX 79106
TO OUR EMPLOYEES:
All of us appreciate the protection and security insurance provides.
This certificate describes the benefits that are available to you. We urge you to read it carefully.
GCERT2000
fp 1 as amended by GEND16-NM-DSC
Metropolitan Life Insurance Company 200 Park Avenue, New York, New York 10166
CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE
Metropolitan Life Insurance Company ("MetLife"), a stock company, certifies that You and Your Dependents are insured for the benefits described in this certificate, subject to the provisions of this certificate. This certificate is issued to You under the Group Policy and it includes the terms and provisions of the Group
Policy that describe Your insurance. PLEASE READ THIS CERTIFICATE CAREFULLY.
This certificate is part of the Group Policy. The Group Policy is a legal contract between MetLife and the Policyholder and may be changed or ended without Your consent or notice to You.
Policyholder: Amarillo Independent School District
Group Policy Number:
250854-1-G
Type of Insurance: Vision Insurance
MetLife Toll Free Number(s):
For Claim Information FOR VISION CLAIMS: 1-855-METEYE1
THIS CERTIFICATE ONLY DESCRIBES VISION INSURANCE.
FOR CALIFORNIA RESIDENTS: REVIEW THIS CERTIFICATE CAREFULLY. IF YOU
ARE 65 OR OLDER ON YOUR EFFECTIVE DATE OF THIS CERTIFICATE, YOU MAY
RETURN IT TO US WITHIN 30 DAYS FROM THE DATE YOU RECEIVE IT AND WE
WILL REFUND ANY PREMIUM YOU PAID. IN THIS CASE, THIS CERTIFICATE WILL
BE CONSIDERED TO NEVER HAVE BEEN ISSUED.
THE BENEFITS OF THE POLICY PROVIDING YOUR COVERAGE ARE GOVERNED PRIMARILY BY THE
LAW OF A STATE OTHER THAN FLORIDA.
For Idaho Residents: TEN DAY RIGHT TO EXAMINE CERTIFICATE: You may return the certificate to Us within 10 days from the date You receive it. If You return it within the 10 day period, the certificate will be considered never to have been issued. We will refund any premium paid after We receive Your notice of cancellation.
THE GROUP INSURANCE POLICY PROVIDING COVERAGE UNDER THIS CERTIFICATE WAS ISSUED
IN A JURISDICTION OTHER THAN MARYLAND AND MAY NOT PROVIDE ALL THE BENEFITS
REQUIRED BY MARYLAND LAW.
For Residents of North Dakota: If You are not satisfied with Your Certificate, You may return it to Us within 20 days after You receive it, unless a claim has previously been received by Us under Your Certificate. We will refund within 30 days of Our receipt of the returned Certificate any Premium that has been paid and the Certificate will then be considered to have never been issued. You should be aware that, if You elect to return the Certificate for a refund of premiums, losses which otherwise would have been covered under Your Certificate will not be covered.
fp 2 as amended by GEND16-NM-DSC
For New Mexico Residents: This type of plan is NOT considered "minimum essential coverage" under the Affordable Care Act and therefore does NOT satisfy the individual mandate that You have health insurance coverage. If You do not have other health insurance coverage, You may be subject to a federal tax penalty.
For New Mexico Residents: If You are not satisfied with Your certificate for any reason, You may return it to Us within 30 days after You receive it, unless a claim has previously been received by Us under Your certificate. We will refund any premium that has been paid and the certificate will then be considered to have never been issued. You should be aware that, if You elect to return the certificate for a refund of premiums, losses which otherwise would have been covered under Your certificate will not be covered.
For New Hampshire Residents: 30 Day Right to Examine Certificate.
Please read this Certificate. You may return the Certificate to Us within 30 days from the date You receive it.
If you return it within the 30 day period, the Certificate will be considered never to have been issued and We will refund any premium paid for insurance under this Certificate.
WE ARE REQUIRED BY STATE LAW TO INCLUDE THE NOTICE(S) WHICH APPEAR ON THIS PAGE
AND IN THE NOTICE(S) SECTION WHICH FOLLOWS THIS PAGE. PLEASE READ THE(SE) NOTICE(S)
CAREFULLY.
NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF TEXAS
GCERT-TX-NOTICE 2020 3
Have a complaint or need help?
If you have a problem with a claim or your premium, call your insurance company or HMO first. If you can't work out the issue, the Texas Department of Insurance may be able to help.
Even if you file a complaint with the Texas Department of Insurance, you should also file a complaint or appeal through your insurance company or HMO. If you don't, you may lose your right to appeal.
To get information or file a complaint with your insurance company or HMO:
Call: Corporate Consumer Relations Department at 1-800-438-6388
Toll-free: 1-800-438-6388
Email: Johnstown_Complaint_Referrals@metlife.com
Mail: Metropolitan Life Insurance Company
700 Quaker Lane 2nd Floor Warwick, RI 02886
The Texas Department of Insurance
To get help with an insurance question or file a complaint with the state:
Call with a question: 1-800-252-3439
File a complaint: www.tdi.texas.gov
Email: ConsumerProtection@tdi.texas.gov
Mail: Consumer Protection, MC: CO-CP, Texas Department of Insurance, P.O. Box 12030, Austin, TX 78711-2030
¿Tiene una queja o necesita ayuda?
Si tiene un problema con una reclamación o con su prima de seguro, llame primero a su compañía de seguros o HMO. Si no puede resolver el problema, es posible que el Departamento de Seguros de Texas (Texas Department of Insurance, por su nombre en inglés) pueda ayudar.
Aun si usted presenta una queja ante el Departamento de Seguros de Texas, también debe presentar una queja a través del proceso de quejas o de apelaciones de su compañía de seguros o HMO. Si no lo hace, podría perder su derecho para apelar.
Para obtener información o para presentar una queja ante su compañía de seguros o HMO:
Llame a: Departamento de Relaciones Corporativas del Consumidor al 1-800-438-6388
GCERT-TX-NOTICE 2020 4
Teléfono gratuito: 1-800-438-6388
Correo electrónico: Johnstown_Complaint_Referrals@metlife.com
Dirección postal: Metropolitan Life Insurance Company
700 Quaker Lane 2nd Floor Warwick, RI 02886
El Departamento de Seguros de Texas
Para obtener ayuda con una pregunta relacionada con los seguros o para presentar una queja ante el estado:
Llame con sus preguntas al: 1-800-252-3439
Presente una queja en: www.tdi.texas.gov
Correo electrónico: ConsumerProtection@tdi.texas.gov
Dirección postal: Consumer Protection, MC: CO-CP, Texas Department of Insurance, P.O. Box
12030, Austin, TX 78711-2030
NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF ALASKA, CONNECTICUT, LOUISIANA, MINNESOTA,
MONTANA, NEW HAMPSHIRE, NEW MEXICO, UTAH AND WASHINGTON
notice/childdef 5
The Definition Of Child Is Modified For The Coverages Listed Below:
For Alaska Residents (Vision Insurance):
The term also includes newborns.
For Connecticut Residents (Vision Insurance):
The age limit for children will not be less than 26, regardless of the child’s marital status, student status or full-time employment status. Your natural child, adopted child or stepchild under age 26 will not need to be supported by You to qualify as a Child under this insurance.
A Child’s insurance will not end due to age until the end of the Year in which that Child attains age 26.
For Louisiana Residents (Vision Insurance):
The term also includes Your grandchildren residing with You. The age limit for children and grandchildren will not be less than 21, regardless of the child’s or grandchild’s student status or full-time employment status. In addition, the age limit for students will not be less than 24. Your natural child, adopted child, stepchild or grandchild under age 21 will not need to be supported by You to qualify as a Child under this insurance.
For Minnesota Residents (Vision Insurance):
The term also includes:
• Your grandchildren who are financially dependent upon You and reside with You continuously from birth;
• children for whom You or Your Spouse is the legally appointed guardian; and
• children for whom You have initiated an application for adoption.
The age limit for children and grandchildren will not be less than 25 regardless of the child’s or grandchild’s student status or full-time employment status. Your natural child, adopted child stepchild or children for whom You or Your Spouse is the legally appointed guardian under age 25 will not need to be supported by You to qualify as a Child under this insurance.
For Montana Residents (Vision Insurance):
The term also includes newborn infants of any person insured under this certificate. The age limit for children will not be less than 25, regardless of the child’s student status or full-time employment status. Your natural child, adopted child or stepchild under age 25 will not need to be supported by You to qualify as a child under this insurance.
For New Hampshire Residents (Vision Insurance):
The age limit for children will not be less than 26, regardless of the child’s marital status, student status or full-time employment status. Your natural child, adopted child or stepchild under age 26 will not need to be supported by You to qualify as a Child under this insurance.
For New Mexico Residents (Vision Insurance):
The age limit for children will not be less than 26, regardless of the child’s student status or full-time employment status. Your natural child, adopted child or stepchild will not be denied vision insurance coverage under this certificate because:
• that child was born out of wedlock;
• that child is not claimed as Your dependent on Your federal income tax return; or
• that child does not reside with You.
NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF ALASKA, CONNECTICUT, LOUISIANA, MINNESOTA,
MONTANA, NEW HAMPSHIRE, NEW MEXICO, UTAH AND WASHINGTON (continued) notice/childdef 6
For Utah Residents (Vision Insurance):
The age limit for children will not be less than 26, regardless of the child’s student status or full-time employment status. Your natural child, adopted child or stepchild under age 26 will not need to be supported by You to qualify as a Child under this insurance. The term includes an unmarried child who is incapable of self-sustaining employment because of a mental or physical disability as defined by applicable law and who has been continuously covered under a Vision plan since reaching age 26, with no break in coverage of more than 63 days, and who otherwise qualifies as a Child except for the age limit. Proof of such disability must be sent to Us within 31 days after:
the date the Child attains the limiting age in order to continue coverage; or You enroll a Child to be covered under this provision;
and at reasonable intervals after such date, but no more often than annually after the two-year period immediately following the date the Child qualifies for coverage under this provision.
For Washington Residents (Vision Insurance):
The age limit for children will not be less than 26, regardless of the child’s marital status, student status, or full-time employment status. Your natural child, adopted child or stepchild under age 26 will not need to be supported by You to qualify as a Child under this insurance.
NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF ALL STATES WHO ARE INSURED FOR VISION
INSURANCE
GCERT2000 7
notice/visrights
Notice Regarding Your Rights and Responsibilities
Rights:
We will treat communications, financial records and records pertaining to Your care in accordance with all applicable laws relating to privacy.
Decisions with respect to vision treatment are the responsibility of You and the Vision Provider. We neither require nor prohibit any specified treatment. However, only certain specified services are covered for benefits. Please see the Vision Insurance sections of this certificate for more details.
You may request a written response from MetLife to any written concern or complaint.
Responsibilities:
You are responsible for the prompt payment of any charges for services performed by the Vision Provider not fully covered by your Vision Insurance.
You should consult with the Vision Provider about treatment options, proposed and potential procedures, anticipated outcomes, potential risks, anticipated benefits and alternatives. You should share with the Vision Provider the most current, complete and accurate information about Your medical and vision history and current conditions and medications.
You should follow the treatment plans and health care recommendations agreed upon by You and the Vision Provider.
notice/ar 8
NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF ARKANSAS
If You have a question concerning Your coverage or a claim, first contact the Policyholder or group account administrator. If, after doing so, You still have a concern, You may call the toll free telephone number shown on the Certificate Face Page.
Policyholders have the right to file a complaint with the Arkansas Insurance Department (AID). You may call AID to request a complaint form at (800) 852-5494 or (501) 371-2640 or write the Department at:
Arkansas Insurance Department
Consumer Services Division
1 Commerce Way, Suite 102
Little Rock, Arkansas 72202 notice/ca 9
NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF CALIFORNIA
IMPORTANT NOTICE
TO OBTAIN ADDITIONAL INFORMATION, OR TO MAKE A COMPLAINT, CONTACT THE
POLICYHOLDER OR METLIFE AT:
METROPOLITAN LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY
ATTN: CONSUMER RELATIONS DEPARTMENT
500 SCHOOLHOUSE ROAD
JOHNSTOWN, PA 15904
1-800-438-6388
IF, AFTER CONTACTING THE POLICYHOLDER AND/OR METLIFE, YOU FEEL THAT A SATISFACTORY
SOLUTION HAS NOT BEEN REACHED, YOU MAY FILE A COMPLAINT WITH THE CALIFORNIA
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE AT:
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
CONSUMER SERVICES
300 SOUTH SPRING STREET
LOS ANGELES, CA 90013
WEBSITE: http://www.insurance.ca.gov/
1-800-927-4357 (within California)
1-213-897-8921 (outside California)
GCERT2000 10
notice/dp/ca
NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
California law provides that for vision insurance, domestic partners of California’s residents must be treated the same as spouses. If the certificate does not already have a definition of domestic partner, then the following definition applies:
"Domestic Partner means each of two people, one of whom is an employee of the Policyholder, a resident of California and who have registered as domestic partners or members of a civil union with the California government or another government recognized by California as having similar requirements."
If the certificate already has a definition of domestic partner, that definition will apply to California residents, as long as it recognizes as a domestic partner any person registered as the employee’s domestic partner with the California government or another government recognized by California as having similar requirements.
Wherever the term "Spouse" appears in this certificate it shall, unless otherwise specified, be read to include Your Domestic Partner.
Wherever the term step-child appears, it is replaced by step-child or child of Your Domestic Partner.
NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF CONNECTICUT
GCERT2000 notice/ct
If You are a resident of Connecticut, and live in a county where there is no In-Network Vision Provider and travel distance to an In-Network Vision Provider, in a neighboring county, is more than 20 miles or 30 minutes travel time (or if you live in Fairfield County, 10 miles or 20 minutes travel time), We will pay benefits for Covered Services provided by an Out-of-Network Vision Provider as if the service was provided by an In- Network Vision Provider. Additionally, if You are unable to schedule an appointment with an In-Network Vision Provider within 15 business days, We will pay benefits for Covered Services provided by an Out-of-Network Vision Provider as if the service was provided by an In-Network Vision Provider. In order to ensure that the benefits are paid accordingly, We must be notified prior to receiving services from an Out-of-Network Vision Provider. Please call Us at 1-800-942-0854 for assistance.
NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF COLORADO
notice/co 12
Domestic Partner
Colorado law provides that for dental insurance, domestic partners of Colorado’s residents must be treated the same as spouses. If the certificate does not already have a definition of domestic partner, then the following definition applies:
"Domestic Partner means each of two people, one of whom is an employee of the Policyholder, a resident of Colorado and who have registered as domestic partners or members of a civil union with the Colorado government or another government recognized by Colorado as having similar requirements."
If the certificate already has a definition of domestic partner, that definition will apply to Colorado residents, as long as it recognizes as a domestic partner any person registered as the employee’s domestic partner with the Colorado government or another government recognized by Colorado as having similar requirements.
Wherever the term "Spouse" appears in this certificate it shall, unless otherwise specified, be read to include Your Domestic Partner.
Wherever the term step-child appears, it is replaced by step-child or child of Your Domestic Partner.
Definition of Child
The term also includes newborns.
Vision Insurance: Coordination of Benefits
With respect to coordination of benefits, the benefits will never be less than what is shown under the following language.
This coordination of benefits (COB) provision applies when a Covered Person has vision coverage under more than one plan. “Plan” is defined below.
The order of benefit determination rules govern the order in which each Plan will pay a claim for benefits. The Plan that pays first is called the Primary plan. The Primary plan must pay benefits according to its policy terms without regard to the possibility that another Plan may cover some expenses. The Plan that pays after the Primary plan is the Secondary plan. The Secondary plan may reduce the benefits it pays so that payments from all Plans do not exceed 100% of the total Allowable expense.
DEFINITIONS
A. A Plan is any of the following that provides benefits or services for vision care or treatment. If separate contracts are used to provide coordinated coverage for members of a group, the separate contracts are considered parts of the same plan and there is no COB among those separate contracts. However, if COB rules do not apply to all contracts, or to all benefits in the same contract, the contract or benefit to which COB does not apply is treated as a separate plan.
(1) Plan includes: Group insurance contracts, health maintenance organizations (HMO) contracts, closed panel plans or other forms of group type coverage (whether insured or uninsured); medical care components of long-term care contracts, such as skilled nursing care; vision benefits under group or individual automobile contracts; and Medicare or any other federal governmental plan, as permitted by law.
NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF COLORADO (continued) notice/co 13
(2) Plan does not include: Hospital indemnity or fixed payment coverage or other fixed indemnity or fixed payment coverage; accident only coverage; specified disease or specified accident coverage; limited benefit health coverage, as defined by state law; school accident type coverage; benefits for non-medical components of long-term care policies; automobile insurance policies required by statute to provide medical benefits; Medicare supplement policies; Medicaid coverage; or coverage under other federal governmental plans, unless permitted by law.
Each contract for coverage under (1) or (2) is a separate Plan. If a Plan has two parts and COB rules apply only to one of the two, each of the parts is treated as a separate Plan.
B. This plan means, in a COB provision, the part of the contract providing the vision care benefits to which the COB provision applies and which may be reduced because of the benefits of other plans. Any other part of the contract providing vision care benefits is separate from this plan. A contract may apply one COB provision to certain benefits, such as vision benefits, coordinating only with similar benefits, and may apply another COB provision to coordinate other benefits.
C. The order of benefit determination rules determine whether This plan is a Primary plan or Secondary plan when the person has vision care coverage under more than one Plan.
When This Plan is primary, its benefits are determined before those of any other Plan and without considering any other Plan’s benefits. When This Plan is secondary, its benefits are determined after those of another Plan and may be reduced because of the Primary Plan’s benefits, so that all Plan benefits do not exceed 100% of the total Allowable Expense.
D. Allowable expense is a vision care expense, including deductibles, coinsurance and copayments, that is covered at least in part by any Plan covering the person. When a Plan provides benefits in the form of services, the reasonable cash value of each service will be considered an Allowable expense and a benefit paid. An expense that is not covered by any Plan covering the person is not an Allowable expense. In addition, any expense that a provider by law or in accordance with a contractual agreement is prohibited from charging a Covered Person is not an Allowable Expense.
The following are examples of expenses that are not Allowable expenses:
(1) If a person is covered by two or more Plans that compute their benefit payments on the basis of usual and customary fees or relative value schedule reimbursement method or other similar reimbursement method, any amount in excess of the highest reimbursement amount for a specific benefit is not an Allowable expense.
(2) If a person is covered by two or more Plans that provide benefits or services on the basis of negotiated fees, an amount in excess of the highest of the negotiated fees is not an Allowable expense.
(3) The amount of any benefit reduction by the Primary plan because a covered person has failed to comply with the Plan provisions is not an Allowable expense. Examples of these types of plan provisions include second surgical opinions, precertification of admissions, and preferred provider arrangements.
E. Closed panel plan is a Plan that provides vision benefits to covered persons in the form of services through a panel of providers who are primarily employed by the Plan, and that excludes coverage for services provided by other providers, except in cases of emergency or referral by a panel member.
F. Custodial parent is the parent awarded custody by a court decree or, in the absence of a court decree, is the parent with whom the child resides more than one half of the calendar year excluding any temporary visitation.
notice/co 14
ORDER OF BENEFIT DETERMINATION RULES
When a person is covered by two or more Plans, the rules for determining the order of benefit payments are as follows:
A. The Primary plan pays or provides its benefits according to its terms of coverage and without regard to the benefits under any other Plan.
B. (1) Except as provided in subsection (2), a Plan that does not contain a coordination of benefits provision that is consistent with this chapter is always primary unless the provisions of both Plans state that the complying plan is primary.
(2) Coverage that is obtained by virtue of membership in a group that is designed to supplement a part of a basic package of benefits and provides that this supplementary coverage is excess to any other parts of the Plan provided by the contract holder. Examples include major medical coverages that are superimposed over hospital and surgical benefits, and insurance type coverages that are written in connection with a Closed panel plan to provide out-of-network benefits.
C. A Plan may consider the benefits paid or provided by another Plan in calculating payment of its benefits only when it is secondary to that other Plan.
D. Each Plan determines its order of benefits using the first of the following rules that apply:
(1) Non-Dependent or Dependent. The Plan that covers the person other than as a dependent, for example as an employee, member, policyholder, subscriber or retiree is the Primary plan and the Plan that covers the person as a dependent is the Secondary plan. However, if the person is a Medicare beneficiary and, as a result of federal law, Medicare is secondary to the Plan covering the person as a dependent, and primary to the Plan covering the person as other than a dependent (e.g., a retired employee), then the order of benefits between the two Plans is reversed so that the Plan covering the person as an employee, member, policyholder, subscriber or retiree is the Secondary plan and the other Plan is the Primary plan.
(2) Dependent Child Covered Under More Than One Plan. Unless there is a court decree stating otherwise, when a dependent child is covered by more than one Plan the order of benefits is determined as follows:
(a) For a dependent child whose parents are married or are living together, whether or not they have ever been married:
• The Plan of the parent whose birthday falls earlier in the calendar year is the Primary plan; or
• If both parents have the same birthday, the Plan that has covered the parent the longest is the Primary plan.
(b) For a dependent child whose parents are divorced or separated or not living together, whether or not they have ever been married:
(i) If a court decree states that one of the parents is responsible for the dependent child's vision care expenses or health care coverage and the Plan of that parent has actual knowledge of those terms, that Plan is primary. This rule applies to claim determination periods commencing after the Plan is given notice of the court decree;
(ii) If a court decree states one parent is to assume primary financial responsibility for the dependent child but does not mention responsibility for health care expenses, the plan of the parent assuming financial responsibility is primary;
notice/co 15
(iii) If a court decree states that both parents are responsible for the dependent child's health care expenses or health care coverage, the provisions of subparagraph (a) above determine the order of benefits;
(iv) If a court decree states that the parents have joint custody without specifying that one parent has responsibility for the health care expenses or health care coverage of the dependent child, the provisions of subsection (a) above determine the order of benefits; or
(v) If there is no court decree allocating responsibility for the dependent child's health care expenses or health care coverage, the order of benefits for the child are as follows:
• The Plan covering the Custodial parent, first;
• The Plan covering the spouse of the Custodial parent, second;
• The Plan covering the non-custodial parent, third; and then;
• The Plan covering the spouse of the non-custodial parent, last
(c) For a dependent child covered under more than one Plan of individuals who are not the parents of the child, the provisions of subsection (a) or (b) above determine the order of benefits as if those individuals were the parents of the child.
(3) Active Employee or Retired or Laid-off Employee. The Plan that covers a person as an active employee, that is, an employee who is neither laid off nor retired, is the Primary plan. The Plan covering that same person as a retired or laid-off employee is the Secondary plan. The same would hold true if a person is a dependent of an active employee and that same person is a dependent of a retired or laid-off employee. If the other Plan does not have this rule, and as a result, the Plans do not agree on the order of benefits, this rule is ignored. This rule does not apply if the rule under section D(1) can determine the order of benefits.
(4) COBRA or State Continuation Coverage. If a person whose coverage is provided under COBRA or under a right of continuation provided by state or other federal law is covered under another Plan, the Plan covering the person as an employee, member, subscriber or retiree or covering the person as a dependent of an employee, member, subscriber or retiree is the Primary plan and the COBRA or state or other federal continuation coverage is the Secondary plan. If the other Plan does not have this rule, and as a result, the Plans do not agree on the order of benefits, this rule is ignored. This rule does not apply if the rule under section D(1) can determine the order of benefits.
(5) Longer or Shorter Length of Coverage. The Plan that covered the person as an employee, member, policyholder, subscriber or retiree longer is the Primary plan and the Plan that covered the person the shorter period of time is the Secondary plan.
(6) If the preceding rules do not determine the order of benefits, the Allowable expenses must be shared equally between the Plans meeting the definition of Plan. In addition, This plan will not pay more than it would have paid had it been the Primary plan.
notice/co 16
EFFECT ON THE BENEFITS OF THIS PLAN
A. When This plan is secondary, it may reduce its benefits so that the total benefits paid or provided by all Plans during a claim determination period are not more than the total Allowable expenses. In determining the amount to be paid for any claim, the Secondary plan must make payment in an amount so that, when combined with the amount paid by the Primary plan, the total benefits paid or provided by all plans for the claim equal one hundred percent of the total Allowable expense for that claim. Total Allowable expense is the highest Allowable expense of the Primary plan or the Secondary plan. In addition, the Secondary plan must credit to its plan deductible any amounts it would have credited to its deductible in the absence of other health care coverage.
B. If a Covered Person is enrolled in two or more Closed Panel Plans and if, for any reason, including the provision of service by a non-panel provider, benefits are not payable by one Closed Panel Plan, COB shall not apply between that Plan and other Closed Panel Plans.
RIGHT TO RECEIVE AND RELEASE NEEDED INFORMATION
Certain facts about health care coverage and services are needed to apply these COB rules and to determine benefits payable under This plan and other Plans. We may get the facts from or give them to other organizations or persons for the purpose of applying these rules and determining benefits payable under This plan and other Plans covering the person claiming benefits. We need not tell, or get the consent of, any person to do this. Each person claiming benefits under This plan must give Us any facts needed to apply those rules and determine benefits payable.
FACILITY OF PAYMENT
If payments that should have been made under This plan are made by another Plan, the issuer has the right, at its discretion, to remit to the other Plan the amount it determines appropriate to satisfy the intent of this provision. The amounts paid to the other Plan are considered benefits paid under This plan. To the extent of such payments, the issuer is fully discharged from liability under This plan.
RIGHT OF RECOVERY
We have the right to recover excess payment whenever We have paid Allowable expenses in excess of the maximum amount of payment necessary to satisfy the intent of this provision. We may recover excess payment from any person to whom or for whom payment was made or any other issuers or plans.
If You have Questions about Coordination of Benefits, please contact 1-855-METEYE1
If You are covered by more than one vision benefit plan, and You do not know which is Your primary plan, You or Your vision provider should contact any one of the vision plans to verify which plan is primary. The health plan You contact is responsible for working with the other plan to determine which is primary and will let You know within thirty calendar days.
CAUTION: All vision plans have timely claim filing requirements. If You or Your provider fail to submit Your claim to a secondary vision plan within that plan's claim filing time limit, the plan can deny the claim. If You experience delays in the processing of Your claim by the primary health plan, You or Your provider will need to submit Your claim to the secondary health plan within its claim filing time limit to prevent a denial of the claim.
To avoid delays in claims processing, if You are covered by more than one plan You should promptly report to Your vision providers and plans any changes in Your coverage notice/ga 17
NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF GEORGIA
The laws of the state of Georgia prohibit insurers from unfairly discriminating against any person based upon his or her status as a victim of family violence.
notice/id 18
NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF IDAHO
If You have a question concerning Your coverage or a claim, first contact the Policyholder. If, after doing so, You still have a concern, You may call the toll free telephone number shown on the Certificate Face Page.
If You are still concerned after contacting both the Policyholder and MetLife, You should feel free to contact:
Idaho Department of Insurance
Consumer Affairs
700 West State Street, 3rd Floor
PO Box 83720
Boise, Idaho 83720-0043
1-800-721-3272 (for calls placed within Idaho) or 208-334-4250 or www.DOI.Idaho.gov
NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF ILLINOIS
notice/il 19
To make a complaint to MetLife, You may write to:
MetLife
P.O. Box 997100 Sacramento, CA 95899-7100
The address of the Illinois Department of Insurance is:
Illinois Department of Insurance
Public Services Division Springfield, Illinois 62767 notice/in 20
NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF INDIANA
Questions regarding your policy or coverage should be directed to:
1-855-METEYE1
If you (a) need the assistance of the government agency that regulates insurance; or (b) have a complaint you have been unable to resolve with your insurer you may contact the Department of Insurance by mail, telephone or email:
State of Indiana Department of Insurance
Consumer Services Division
311 West Washington Street, Suite 300
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
Consumer Hotline: (800) 622-4461; (317) 232-2395
Complaint can be filed electronically at www.in.gov/idoi
NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF MAINE
notice/me 21
You have the right to designate a third party to receive notice if Your insurance is in danger of lapsing due to a default on Your part, such as for nonpayment of a contribution that is due. The intent is to allow reinstatements where the default is due to the insured person’s suffering from cognitive impairment or functional incapacity. You may make this designation by completing a “Third-Party Notice Request Form” and sending it to MetLife. Once You have made a designation, You may cancel or change it by filling out a new Third-Party Notice Request Form and sending it to MetLife. The designation will be effective as of the date MetLife receives the form. Call MetLife at the toll-free telephone number shown on the face page of this certificate to obtain a Third-Party Notice Request Form. Within 90 days after cancellation of coverage for nonpayment of premium, You, any person authorized to act on Your behalf , or any covered Dependent may request reinstatement of the certificate on the basis that You suffered from cognitive impairment or functional incapacity at the time of cancellation.
NOTICE FOR MASSACHUSETTS RESIDENTS
notice/ma 22
CONTINUATION OF VISION INSURANCE
1. If Your Vision Insurance ends due to a Plant Closing or Covered Partial Closing, such insurance will be continued for 90 days after the date it ends.
2. If Your Vision Insurance ends because:
You cease to be in an Eligible Class; or Your employment terminates;
for any reason other than a Plant Closing or Covered Partial Closing, such insurance will continue for 31 days after the date it ends.
Continuation of Your Vision Insurance under the CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE WITH PREMIUM PAYMENT subsection will end before the end of continuation periods shown above if You become covered for similar benefits under another plan.
Plant Closing and Covered Partial Closing have the meaning set forth in Massachusetts Annotated Laws, Chapter 151A, Section 71A.
CONTINUATION OF VISION INSURANCE FOR YOUR FORMER SPOUSE
If the judgment of divorce dissolving Your marriage provides for continuation of insurance for Your former Spouse when You remarry, Vision Insurance for Your former Spouse that would otherwise end may be continued.
To continue Vision insurance under this provision:
1. You must make a written request to the employer to continue such insurance;
2. You must make any required premium to the employer for the cost of such insurance.
The request form will be furnished by the Employer.
Such insurance may be continued from the date Your marriage is dissolved until the earliest of the following:
the date Your former Spouse remarries;
the date of expiration of the period of time specified in the divorce judgment during which You are required to provide Vision Insurance for Your former Spouse;
the date coverage is provided under any other group health plan;
the date Your former Spouse becomes entitled to Medicare;
the date Vision Insurance under the policy ends for all active employees, or for the class of active employees to which You belonged before Your employment terminated;
the date of expiration of the last period for which the required premium payment was made; or the date such insurance would otherwise terminate under the policy.
If Your former Spouse is eligible to continue Vision Insurance under this provision and any other provision of this Policy, all such continuation periods will be deemed to run concurrently with each other and shall not be deemed to run consecutively.
NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF MISSISSIPPI
notice/ms/vis 23
CLAIMS FOR VISION INSURANCE
Routine Questions on Vision Insurance Claims
If there is any question about a claim payment, an explanation may be requested from MetLife by dialing 1-855-METEYE1.
Initial Determination
If Your claim for Vision Insurance benefits is a Clean Claim and it is approved, benefits will be paid within 25 days after We receive Proof in an electronic form of a covered loss, or within 35 days after receipt of Proof in paper form of a covered loss. Proof includes, but is not limited to, information essential for Us to administer coordination of benefits.
"Clean Claim" means a claim that:
does not require further information, adjustment or alteration by You or the provider of the services in order to process and pay it;
does not have any defects;
does not have any impropriety, including any lack of supporting documentation; and does not involve a particular circumstance required special treatment that substantially prevents timely payments from being made on the claim.
A Clean Claim does not include a claim submitted by a provider more than 30 days after the date of service, or if the provider does not submit the claim on Your behalf, a claim submitted more than 30 days after the date the provider bills You. Errors, such as system errors, attributable to the insurer, do not change the clean claim status.
If We do not deny payment of such benefits to You by the end of the 25 day period for clean claims submitted in electronic form, or 35 day period for Clean Claims submitted in paper form, and such benefits remain due and payable to You, interest will accrue on the amount of such benefits at the rate of 3 percent per month until such benefits are finally settled. If We do not pay benefits to You when due and payable, You may bring action to recover such benefits, any interest which has accrued with respect to such benefits and any other damages which may be allowed by law. We will pay benefits when We receive satisfactory Proof of Your claim.
If We are unable to pay a claim for Vision Insurance benefits because additional information or documentation is required, or there is a particular circumstance requiring special treatment, within 25 days after the date We receive the claim if it is submitted in electronic form, or within 35 days after the date MetLife receives the claim if it is submitted in paper form, We will send You notice of what supporting documentation or information is needed. Any claim or portion of a claim for Vision Insurance benefits that is resubmitted with all of the supporting documentation requested in Our notice and becomes payable will be paid to You within 20 days after it is received.
NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF MISSISSIPPI
notice/ms/vis 24
Claim Denial Appeals
If a claim is denied in whole or in part, under the terms of this certificate, a request may be submitted to Us by a Covered Person or a Covered Person’s authorized representative for a full review of the denial. A Covered Person may designate any person, including their provider, as their authorized representative.
References in this section to “Covered Person” include the Covered Person’s authorized representative, where applicable.
Initial Appeal. All requests for review must be made within one hundred eighty (180) calendar days following denial of a claim. A Covered Person may review, during normal business hours, any documents used by Us pertinent to the denial. A Covered Person may also submit Written comments or supporting documentation concerning the claim to assist in Our review. Our response to the initial appeal, including specific reasons for the decision, shall be communicated to the Covered Person within thirty (30) calendar days after receipt of the request for the appeal.
Second Level Appeal. If a Covered Person disagrees with the response to the initial appeal of the denied claim, the Covered Person has the right to a second level appeal. A request for a second level appeal must be submitted to Us within sixty (60) calendar days after receipt of Our response to the initial appeal. We shall communicate Our final determination to the Covered Person within thirty (30) calendar days from receipt of the request, or as required by any applicable state or federal laws or regulations. Our communication to the Covered Person shall include the specific reasons for the determination.
Other Remedies. When a Covered Person has completed the appeals stated herein, additional voluntary alternative dispute resolution options may be available, including mediation or arbitration. Additional information is available from the U.S. Department of Labor or the insurance regulatory agency for the Covered Persons’ state of residency. Additionally, under the provisions of ERISA (Section 502(a)(1)(B) 29 U.S.C. 1132(a)(1)(B)), the Covered Person has the right to bring a civil action when all available levels of reviews, including the appeal process, have been completed. ERISA remedies may apply in those instances where the claims were not approved in whole or in part as the result of appeals under this Policy and the Covered Person disagrees with the outcome of such appeals.
Time of Action. No action in law or in equity shall be brought to recover on this Policy prior to the Covered Person exhausting his/her rights under this Policy and/or prior to the expiration of sixty (60) calendar days after the claim and any applicable documentation has been filed with Us. No such action shall be brought after the expiration of any applicable statute of limitations, in accordance with the terms of this Policy. No such action shall be brought after the expiration of three (3) years from the last date that the claim and any applicable invoices were submitted to Us, and no such action shall be brought at all unless brought within three (3) years from the expiration of the time within which such materials are required to be submitted in accordance with the terms of this Policy. If it is determined in such action that We acted in bad faith as evidenced by a repeated or deliberate pattern of failing to pay benefits and/or claims when due, You (or the provider, if You assigned the benefits to the provider) shall be entitled to recover any interest which may accrue plus damages in an amount up to three (3) times the amount of the benefits that remain unpaid until the claim is finally settled or adjudicated.
Insurance Fraud: Any Covered Person who intends to defraud, knowingly facilitates a fraud, submits a claim containing false or deceptive information, or who commits any other similar act as defined by applicable state or federal law, is guilty of insurance fraud. Such an act is grounds for immediate termination of the coverage under this Policy of the Covered Person committing such fraud.
GCERT2000 25
notice/coi/nh
NOTICE FOR NEW HAMPSHIRE RESIDENTS
CONTINUATION OF YOUR VISION INSURANCE
If You are a resident of New Hampshire, Your Vision Insurance may be continued if it ends because Your employment ends unless:
Your employment ends due to Your gross misconduct;
this Vision Insurance ends for all employees;
this Vision Insurance is changed to end Vision Insurance for the class of employees to which You belong;
You are entitled to enroll in Medicare; or
Your Vision Insurance ends because You failed to pay the required premium.
The Employer must give You written notice of:
Your right to continue Your Vision Insurance;
the amount of premium payment that is required to continue Your Vision Insurance;
the manner in which You must request to continue Your Vision Insurance and pay premiums; and the date by which premium payments will be due.
The premium that You must pay for Your continued Vision Insurance may include:
any amount that You contributed for Your Vision Insurance before it ended;
any amount the Employer paid; and an administrative charge which will not to exceed two percent of the rest of the premium.
To continue Your Vision Insurance, You must:
send a written request to continue Your Vision Insurance; and pay the first premium within 30 days after the date Your employment ends.
The maximum continuation period will be the longest of:
36 months if Your employment ends because You retire, and within 12 months of retirement You have a substantial loss of coverage because the employer files for bankruptcy protection under Title 11 of the United States Code;
29 months if You become entitled to disability benefits under Social Security within 60 days of the date Your Employment ends; or
18 months.
Your continued Vision Insurance will end on the earliest of the following to occur:
the end of the maximum continuation period;
the date this Vision Insurance ends;
the date this Vision Insurance is changed to end Vision Insurance for the class of employees to which You belong;
the date You are entitled to enroll for Medicare;
if You do not pay the required premium to continue Your Vision Insurance; or the date You become eligible for coverage under any other group Vision coverage.
GCERT2000 26
NOTICE FOR NEW HAMPSHIRE RESIDENTS (continued)
CONTINUATION OF YOUR DEPENDENT’S VISION INSURANCE
If You are a resident of New Hampshire, Your Vision Insurance for Your Dependents may be continued if it ends because Your employment ends, Your marriage ends in divorce or separation, or You die, unless:
Your employment ends due to Your gross misconduct;
this Vision Insurance ends for all Dependents;
this Vision Insurance is changed, for the class of employees to which You belong, to end Vision Insurance for Dependents;
the Dependent is entitled to enroll in Medicare; or
Your Vision Insurance for Your Dependents ends because You fail to pay a required premium.
If Vision Insurance for Your Dependents ends because Your marriage ends in divorce or separation, the party responsible under the divorce decree or separation agreement for payment of premium for continued Vision Insurance must notify the employer, in writing, within 30 days of the date of the divorce decree or separation agreement that the divorce or separation has occurred. If You and Your divorced or separated Spouse share responsibility for payment of the premium for continued Vision Insurance, both You and Your divorced or separated Spouse must provide the notification.
The Employer must give You, or Your former Spouse if You have died or Your marriage has ended, written notice of:
Your right to continue Your Vision Insurance for Your Dependents;
the amount of premium payment that is required to continue Your Vision Insurance for Your Dependents;
the manner in which You or Your former Spouse must request to continue Your Vision Insurance for Your Dependents and pay premiums; and the date by which premium payments will be due.
The premium that You or Your former Spouse must pay for continued Vision Insurance for Your Dependents may include:
any amount that You contributed for Your Vision Insurance before it ended; and any amount the Employer paid.
To continue Vision Insurance for Your Dependents, You or Your former Spouse must:
send a written request to continue Vision Insurance for Your Dependents; and must pay the first premium within 30 days of the date Vision Insurance for Your Dependents ends.
If You, and Your former Spouse, if applicable, fail to provide any required notification, or fail to request to continue Vision Insurance for Your Dependents and pay the first premium within the time limits stated in this section, Your right to continue Vision Insurance for Your Dependents will end.
GCERT2000 27
NOTICE FOR NEW HAMPSHIRE RESIDENTS (continued)
CONTINUATION OF YOUR DEPENDENT’S VISION INSURANCE (Continued)
The maximum continuation period will be the longest of the following that applies:
36 months if Vision Insurance for Your Dependents ends because Your marriage ends in divorce or separation, except that with respect to a Spouse who is age 55 or older when your marriage ends in divorce or separation the maximum continuation period will end when the divorced or separated Spouse becomes eligible for Medicare or eligible for participation in another employer’s group plan;
36 months if Vision Insurance for Your Dependents ends because You die, except that with respect to a Spouse who is age 55 or older when You die, the maximum continuation period will end when Your surviving Spouse becomes eligible for Medicare or eligible for participation in another employer’s group vision coverage;
36 months if Vision Insurance for Your Dependents ends because You become entitled…
This is the start of the file's text. The full file is on GovTribe.
File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .