City Of Asheville
Asheville, NC
- UEI
- WTHRNPCARBL9
- CAGE
- 1GEB8
- Primary NAICS
- 921190 Other General Government Support
- SAM.gov registration
- Active through
Company facts
- Self-certified in SAM.gov
- Entity structure
- U.S. Government Entity
- Corporate family
-
-
- City Of Asheville · Asheville, NC JWXRJ57EA686
- City Of Asheville GUUQE72GBLQ8
-
- SAM.gov registration date
- Physical address
- 70 Court Plaza, Asheville, NC 28801, USA
- Website
- ashevillenc.gov
- Employees
- 1K-5K
- Estimated annual revenue
- $250M-$500M
- Industry
-
- Financials
- Real Estate
- SIC code
- 95 Environmental Quality & Housing
Registration and certifications come from SAM.gov and the SBA; company details from public web sources. Updated .
Contract awards
Latest 5 listed here. See the rest on GovTribe.
Grant awards
Latest 5 listed here. See the rest on GovTribe.
Grant subawards
| Prime recipient | Prime award | Amount | Awarded |
|---|---|---|---|
| North Carolina Department Of Public Safety | 4827DRNCP00000001 | $1,738,344 | |
| North Carolina Department Of Public Safety | 4827DRNCP00000001 | $86,441 | |
| North Carolina Department Of Public Safety | 4827DRNCP00000001 | $1,697,327 | |
| North Carolina Department Of Public Safety | 4827DRNCP00000001 | $880,698 | |
| North Carolina Department Of Public Safety | 4827DRNCP00000001 | $390,431 |
Latest 5 listed here. See the rest on GovTribe.
Similar vendors
| Vendor | Location | Primary NAICS |
|---|---|---|
| Orange County NC | Hillsborough, NC | 531120 Lessors of Nonresidential Buildings (except Miniwarehouses) |
| Finance Department | Raleigh, NC | 921190 Other General Government Support |
| City Of Burlington | Burlington, NC | — |
| City Of High Point | High Point, NC | 925110 Administration of Housing Programs |
| Town Of Cary | Cary, NC | — |
About the company
City Of Asheville is a municipal government entity in Asheville, North Carolina, that acts as a prime recipient of federal grants across transit, housing, disaster recovery, and community development programs. The city operates 85% of its recent federal award footprint as a direct grant recipient and 15% as a sub-recipient under pass-through funding from state agencies, particularly the North Carolina Department of Public Safety and the North Carolina Department of Transportation.
The city's federal grant portfolio concentrates heavily in transportation and infrastructure. The Federal Transit Administration dominates the customer base with 71 awards funding operating assistance and capital purchases for Asheville Rides Transit (ART) and paratransit services for seniors and persons with disabilities throughout the Asheville urbanized area. Representative FTA awards include a $5.26 million Project Grant (CFDA 20.526, July 2025) for acquisition of hybrid electric buses, an $825,818 Formula Grant (CFDA 20.507, December 2025) for paratransit and fixed-route operating costs, a $736,918 Formula Grant (CFDA 20.513, June 2025) for the Enhanced Mobility of Seniors and Individuals with Disabilities program supporting four subrecipient organizations, and a $4.25 million Project Grant (CFDA 20.507, July 2023) for multi-county transit operations across Buncombe, Haywood, and Henderson counties. The Department of Housing and Urban Development's Assistant Secretary for Community Planning and Development granted 63 awards under the Community Development Block Grant (CFDA 14.218), HOME Investment Partnerships (CFDA 14.239), and Continuum of Care (CFDA 14.267) programs, totaling over $1 million in combined potential value for affordable housing activities, homelessness prevention, and community development. HUD's HOME program award of $1.051 million (December 2025) funds owner-occupied housing rehabilitation, homebuyer assistance, and rental housing activities with affordability terms of 5 to 20 years.
The Department of Veterans Affairs appears in the portfolio with 77 awards, though the source does not specify dollar values or program details for those grants. The Federal Emergency Management Agency's Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP) and Assistance to Firefighters Grant (AFG) program funded 47 awards, including a $129,999.78 AFG project grant (August 2022) for firefighting equipment and resources. The Office of the National Drug Control Policy awarded the city 9 grants under the High Intensity Drug Trafficking Areas (HIDTA) Program (CFDA 95.001) for drug-enforcement coordination.
Sub-recipient activity centers on disaster recovery and infrastructure repair flowing through the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, with sub-awards beginning in early 2026 for debris removal, water treatment facility repairs, roadway restoration, and emergency protective measures related to Hurricane Helene recovery. The city also received sub-awards from the North Carolina Department of Transportation for bicycle and pedestrian infrastructure on Cox Avenue, Patton Avenue, and the Riverside Drive greenway, and from the National Recreation and Park Association (NRPA) for a juvenile mentoring program targeting opioid prevention in youth.
Activity has grown sharply from seven awards in 2022 to 34 in 2026 year-to-date, with 10 awards (specific dollar value not disclosed) reaching ultimate completion inside the next twenty-four months and therefore facing renewal or recompete. The top three parent vehicles identified in the source are Basic Ordering Agreement V637P015773 (6 task orders), Federal Supply Schedule 637C02060 (1 task order), and Basic Ordering Agreement 637C12042 (1 task order), though these vehicles appear to carry minimal dollar volume relative to the city's direct grant footprint. The city's facility and equipment focus aligns with primary NAICS codes 221310 (Water Supply and Irrigation Systems, 63 awards) and 221320 (Sewage Treatment Facilities, 18 awards).
Quick answers
Is City Of Asheville registered in SAM.gov?
Yes. City Of Asheville's SAM.gov registration is active through January 6, 2027.
What is City Of Asheville's most recent federal award?
City Of Asheville's most recent federal grant award is The city of asheville intend to utilize 5339 funds towards the purchase of a bus washer which will be for the asheville… (NC2026056), from Federal Transit Administration, on August 13, 2026.
On GovTribe
See City Of Asheville's full federal record
- Federal contract awards
- IDV awards
- Federal grant awards
- Funding analysis by agency, NAICS and set-aside
- Similar vendors