Questions and Answers 5-5-2023.docx

DOCX document 29 KB Posted

Attached to
SP REQ-10700-00029042 Off-the-Lot Vehicles Amendment 1
Solicitation number
S-10700-00005680
Issued by
Marion County, Oregon

About this file

This is a Questions and Answers document issued by the Oregon Department of Human Services related to Request for Proposal S-10000-00005684 for Community Based Care Nursing Education and Support. The RFP seeks a contractor to develop and implement an 18-month Community Based Care (CBC) Nursing Education Program for Oregon-licensed nurses, with an option to renew for up to 30 months. The program includes developing and hosting an online nursing education curriculum addressing common care failures in CBC settings, planning and hosting monthly virtual technical assistance meetings facilitated by CBC Nurse Mentors (one session per 25 active Program Participants), recruiting and enrolling a contractor-specified number of Program Participants who commit to completing pre- and post-training assessments, performing ongoing monitoring of participant progress with outreach to address completion barriers, planning and hosting 12 monthly virtual forums for CBC employers to promote the program and discuss workforce improvement tactics, and conducting outreach to approximately 30 Oregon nursing schools to document current CBC-related education and obtain curriculum integration commitments. The RFP does not specify an expected number of Program Participants; instead, proposers must commit to a specific recruitment number in their proposals, which directly impacts program costs and budget.

The Q&A document clarifies that the online program content shall be available to all Oregon-licensed nurses, though only contracted Program Participants are required to complete all courses and actively participate in technical assistance webinars. Proposers must describe how their curriculum aligns with Oregon State Board of Nursing continuing education requirements for cultural competency and pain management, though obtaining formal CE credit eligibility from OSBN is not required. Section 3.4.1 pertains specifically to online platform maintenance and technical support for system functionality. Proposers should screen candidates during recruitment to identify and address barriers to participation early, with reasonable expectations to assist participants in locating reliable internet access or identifying financial assistance for connectivity costs. The Department will provide information to assist in contacting CBC employers, which include assisted living facilities, memory care communities, adult care homes, group homes, and other entities employing licensed nurses in CBC settings. Evaluation of proposals will be based on the clarity of the proposed plans for developing learning objectives, creating assessment frameworks, aligning scoring parameters, and implementing all program components rather than on submission of completed materials with the initial proposal.

View the file

Other files

On GovTribe

Work with this file

  • Download the original file
  • Contacts named in this file
  • Similar government files
  • Ask GovTribe AI about this file

Text version

Request for Proposal S-10000-00005684 Community Based Care Nursing Education and Support Q&A Request for Proposal S-10000-00005684 Question and Answer May 5, 2023

Question:(Section 1.1 Introduction) Recruitment of Oregon-licensed nurses to participate in CBC Nursing Education Program. Please confirm recruitment numbers as this will have an impact on the cost and budget. How many nurses do you expect/request to be in the “CBC Nursing Education Program” during the 18-month initial Contract period?
Answer:It is expected that the Proposal will state the number of Program Participants (as stated in the RFP) that Proposer is committed to recruiting into the program, engaging in active technical assistance, and ensuring completion of the online learning modules successfully (i.e., modules for which an assessment demonstrates that learning goals have been achieved).
Question:(Section 3.1.2) Develop and implement online CBC Nursing Education Program to improve CBC nurse competency; to address common nursing care failures in CBC settings and promote high quality nursing care related to health condition of individuals receiving care in CBC settings; content must include but is not limited to topics in Table 1. Online program shall be available to all licensed nurses in Oregon. The last sentence, “Online program shall be available to all licensed nurses in Oregon.” This seems contrary to the definition in 2.2.4 for Program Participant. Does this refer to the program the Program Participant would engage in, or would every nurse in Oregon, regardless of where they work and their experience, be provided access to the online courses? And is this access a part of the RFP and budget? Or does this language imply that nurses in Oregon will be notified of the program, and they may choose to sign up if they qualify and not that we have an obligation to open the online portal to anyone?
Answer:The online content shall be available to all licensed nurses in Oregon. Program Participants (as stated in the RFP) are expected to complete all online courses as well as actively participate in technical assistance webinars. Nurses who are licensed in Oregon and who are not Program Participants may use all or part of the online content as desired.
Question:(Section 3.1.3) Obtaining eligibility for continuing education (CE) credits from the Oregon State Board of Nursing for the CBC Nursing Education Program. Please confirm what is meant by CEs in Oregon. Because the Oregon State Board of Nursing does not require or approve continuing education (CE) for most Oregon nurses, our plan will be to get California CE approval that will work here. Then we ask the OSBN to approve the courses as meeting the CE requirements for retired or re-entry nurses.
Answer:Proposers should describe the plan for ensuring that CBC Nursing Education Program content aligns with OSBN continuing education requirements for cultural competency and pain management.

https://www.oregon.gov/osbn/Pages/pain-management.aspx https://www.oregon.gov/osbn/Pages/Cultural-Competency.aspx Correction: Proposers do not need to obtain CE credit eligibility from the Oregon State Board of Nursing. An amendment will be made to the RFP sometime the week of May 8, 2023.

Question:(Section 3.1.4) Provide ongoing site maintenance and technical support to ensure CBC Nursing Education Program is accessible and functioning, with downtime limits to be negotiated for the Contract. Please define this further. Particularly regarding support for the program. Does this support relate to the Program Participants and/or only the support for ensuring platform functionality? Or is it both? The cost for support for Program Participants is more than if it’s only for platform functionality, and dependent on number of Program Participants.
Answer:Section 3.4.1 pertains to the online platform.
Question:(Section 3.1.5) Plan and host monthly virtual Technical Assistance meetings throughout CBC Nursing Education program that are facilitated by one or more CBC Nurse Mentors and that allow Program Participants to ask questions and clarify information related to CBC nursing education. Proposers should plan and budget for one session for every 25 active Program Participants per month to ensure choice among Program Participants and promote smaller group discussions. The RFP does not specify the total number of Program Participants during the 18-month term. Is there an expected number of Program Participants?
Answer:The Proposal should include the number of Program Participants (as stated in the RFP) that proposer is committed to recruiting into the program.
Question:(Section 3.1.6) Recruit contractually agreed upon number of Program Participants who are licensed in Oregon and who explicitly enroll in and commit to completing CBC Nursing Education Program, including pre- and post-training assessments to measure knowledge acquisition. Program start dates may be staggered across participants; the last date of enrollment must be at least 13 months before the contract end date. Proposers shall specify the number of Program Participants that Proposer is committed to recruiting into program. What is the expected number of contractually agreed upon recruits? This makes a difference in program cost. Because the initial contract term is anticipated to be 18 months (with an option to renew for up to 30 months), the last date of enrollment (13 months before the contract end date) would be 5 months after the start of the contract. This is a concern because of the time required for program development and recruitment of Program Participants, and because the length of Program participation is 12 months. Please advise.
Answer:The Contract may be longer than 18 months (but not longer than 30 months) to align with the successful Proposer’s plan.
Question:(Section 3.1.7) Perform ongoing monitoring of Program Participant progress toward completion of program and outreach as needed to address barriers that may impede progress toward completion. What is expected to meet the requirement of “outreach as needed”? For example, what if we reach out to a nurse and they say they don’t have reliable internet. What is our obligation and/or process?
Answer:It is expected that Proposers will take reasonable actions to help Program Participants. In the example provided, Proposers would reasonably be expected to assist individuals in locating a place where there is reliable internet, or in finding financial assistance programs if cost is a barrier to internet access. Additionally, Proposers might screen candidates during the recruitment phase to identify and address barriers early.
Question:(Section 3.1.8) Plan and host 12 monthly virtual forums for employers of CBC nurses to promote CBC Nursing Education Program, and to build consensus regarding tactics for improving working conditions and increasing recruitment and retention of nurses in CBC. Will Agency provide the list service to aid in contacting employers? Does 3.1.8 apply primarily to assisted living, memory care communities, and adult care homes/group homes, as in-home service (LTSS) and ODDS nurses usually contract with the state and do not have an employer?
Answer:Yes, the Department will provide information to assist in contacting employers. Section 3.1.8 applies to all entities that employ licensed nurses in CBC settings.
Question:(Section 3.1.9) Develop and implement an outreach campaign for approximately 30 nursing schools that offer LPN and RN training in Oregon with the objective of documenting current state regarding CBC education and obtaining a commitment from nursing school administrators to include CBC training in curriculum and develop training opportunities and job placement pathways in CBC settings. Does “documenting current state regarding CBC education” mean identifying what CBC related education curriculum exists in each program?
Answer:Yes, current state information should include CBC related education curriculum that is offered by each program, CBC course requirements related to each program, the count and percentage of nursing students who enroll in elective CBC-related courses, and information about CBC related training opportunities or CBC job placement programs.
Question:(Section 3.2.1) Performance measures related to Goal 1. Will relevant APS, LCU, Survey, Licensing, OHA, and other data be available for the evaluator?
Answer:Yes, the Agency shall make relevant data available to support program evaluation.
Question:(Section 3.3.3) Obtain CE credit from Oregon State Board of Nursing for the CBC Nursing Education Program. The OSBN does not require continuing education except in specific circumstances. We plan to get approval from the California State Board of Nursing which is accepted in most states. Will this be acceptable?
Answer:Proposers should describe the plan for ensuring that CBC Nursing Education Program content aligns with OSBN continuing education requirements for cultural competency and pain management.

https://www.oregon.gov/osbn/Pages/pain-management.aspx https://www.oregon.gov/osbn/Pages/Cultural-Competency.aspx Correction: Proposers do not need to obtain CE credit eligibility from the Oregon State Board of Nursing. An amendment will be made to the RFP sometime the week of May 8, 2023.

Question:(Section 5.3.1) Proposer Qualifications: Proposer will provide a current, two-page resume that demonstrates the person’s qualifications and work experience to meet the qualifications below: Confirming this means a two-page resume per person. Confirming that the structure is just as it states - resume style.
Answer:Yes, Proposers should provide a resume that does not exceed two pages for each person who is included in the Proposal with respect to the requirements stated in 5.3.1.
Question:(Section 5.3.3) Content Development and Implementation Plan:

a. developing learning objectives for each module.

b. creating pre- and post-knowledge assessment framework.

c. scoring parameters, to align with learning objectives for the topics shown in section 3.2 Scope of Work, described in 3.1.2

d. obtaining eligibility for continuing education credits as described in 3.1.3

a. – c. Confirming the expectation is for a development and implementation plan, not requiring that all learning objectives, assessments, and scoring parameters (rubrics) are expected to be submitted with the Proposal. Refer to 3.1.3 question.

Answer:Yes, the expectation is that the elements referenced will be included in the ‘Content Development and Implementation Plan’ deliverable after a contract is awarded.
Question:(Section 6.3.3) Content Development and Implementation Plan:

a. How well did the Proposal demonstrate development of learning objectives for each module?

b. How well did the Proposal demonstrate the creation of pre- and post-knowledge assessment framework?

c. How well did the Proposal demonstrate how scoring parameters will align with learning objectives for the topics described for 3.1.2?

Does a. – c. mean how well did the Proposal demonstrate the plan for the development of learning objectives, the plan for the creation of pre- and post-knowledge assessment framework, and the plan for how scoring parameters will align with learning objectives for the topic described for 3.1.2?

Answer:Yes, Proposals will be evaluated based on clarity of proposed plan for developing learning objectives, assessment framework, and alignment of assessment scoring with learning objectives.
Question:(Section 6.3.3) Content Development and Implementation Plan:

e. How well did the Proposal demonstrate the planning and hosting monthly virtual technical assistance meetings as described in 3.1.5?

Does e. mean how well did the Proposal demonstrate the plan for hosting monthly….?

Answer:Yes, Proposals will be evaluated based on the proposed plan for hosting monthly technical assistance meetings.
Question:(Section 6.3.3) Content Development and Implementation Plan:

g. How well did the Proposal demonstrate monitoring Program Participant’s progress?

Does g. mean how well did the Proposal demonstrate the plan for monitoring…?

Answer:Yes, Proposals will be evaluated based on the proposed plan for monitoring Program Participant progress.
Question:(Section 6.3.3) Content Development and Implementation Plan:

h. How well did the Proposal demonstrate the planning and hosting 12 monthly virtual forums for employers of CBC nurses as described in 3.1.8?

Does h. mean how well did the Proposal demonstrate the plan for hosting 12 monthly…?

Answer:Yes, Proposals will be evaluated based on the proposer’s plan for hosting 12 monthly virtual forums for employers.
Question:(Section 6.3.5) Budget Proposal: a. How Well does the budget proposal identify costs linked to specific tasks and reimbursable expenses?

Please define “reimbursable expenses.”

Answer: Reimbursable expenses include costs related to the tasks and deliverables that are included in the proposal and that are necessary to achieve the stated RFP goals.

Page 2 of 2
Page 1 of 6

File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .