Final_Solicitation_Q&A_Public_Release_13.xlsx
XLSX spreadsheet 117 KB Posted
- Solicitation number
- N0002419R2300
About this file
Government responses to questions and comments regarding the final solicitation.
View the file
Other files
Show all 46
On GovTribe
Work with this file
- Download the original file
- Contacts named in this file
- Similar government files
- Ask GovTribe AI about this file
Text version
Release 1
| # | ||||||
| Author: Note: Question numbering may be nonconsecutive within each tab because question numbers are not assigned in the order that responses are developed. | Date | Source Document | Reference | Excerpt of Content | Question | Government Response |
| P0002 | 7/3/19 | RFP | Page 285, L.4.1.3.4 | L.4.1.3.4 Guaranty |
| For each FFG(X) ship under this solicitation, the Offeror shall propose a liability amount of no less than $5 million associated with the correction of defects discovered during the guaranty period and as determined pursuant to the “Inspection” and “Guaranty Period” requirements of this solicitation. At contract award, the proposed liability amount will be codified in paragraph (a) of the contract requirement entitled E-246-H005, “Limitation of Contractor’s Liability for Correction of Defects.” The Offeror shall not propose profit for any discrete cost and/or pricing related to the correction of defects discovered during the Guaranty Period. | Is including dollar values in response to the L.4.1.3.4 Guaranty instructions for Volume I considered to be including cost or pricing data in the Technical volume, which would appear to conflict with the L.2.4.5 "Segregation of Cost or Pricing Data" requirement? | No, simply stating the dollar value of the limit of liability, without including further cost or pricing information, would not be considered a violation of the solicitation instruction requiring offerors to omit cost or pricing data from Volumes I through IV. | |||
| P0006 | 7/3/19 | RFP | Page 265, L.1.4.7 | Offerors shall mark each package containing classified content as follows: |
L.1.4.7.1 Shipping Address
Commander Naval Sea Systems Command Attn: Shawn Fu, SEA 02232 1333 Isaac Hull Ave SE Washington Navy Yard, DC 20376 IAW the DoD 5220.22M National Industrial Security Program Operating Manual (NISPOM), Chapter 5.406 and 5.406.a. we are not allowed to add an individual’s name unto the outer package. Please advise as to which department or office symbol would be utilized?
NISPOM Reference Text:
Chapter 5-406. Addressing Classified Material. Mail or shipments containing classified material shall be addressed to the Commander or approved classified mailing address of a Federal activity or to a cleared contractor using the name and classified mailing address of the facility. An individual's name shall not appear on the outer cover. This does not prevent the use of office code letters, numbers, or phrases in an attention line to aid in internal routing.
| a. When it is necessary to direct SECRET or CONFIDENTIAL material to the attention of a particular individual, other than as prescribed below, the identity of the intended recipient shall be indicated on an attention line placed in the letter of transmittal or on the inner container or wrapper. | Section L will be updated in a forthcoming solicitation amendment to clarify the requirements for classified shipments. Specifically, the amendment will remove the requirement to include an individual's name on the outside of a classified package. | ||||||
| P0007 | 7/3/19 | RFP | L.4.2.3, page 291 of 320, titled "Price Proposal Structure", 2nd bullet | “Consent to Use of Nongovernment Advisors in Proposal Evalution”. | The requirement to address this is still in the Price Proposal (part of the the proposal structured as directed in L.4.2.3). The guidance for this was removed (it was L.4.2.5 in the draft RFP). Section L.1.8.2 addresses this consent statement. Is it the government's intent that we follow L.1.8.2 in our Volume V response. | The reference to the consent statement in L.4.2.3 was included in error and will be removed in a forthcoming solicitation amendment. | |
| P0008 | 7/3/19 | RFP | L.4.2.4, page 291 of 320, titled "Cover Letter" | “The proposal is valid for 365 days following the due date for receipt of Volumes III and IV”. | Should these Volume references be changed to “Volumes V and VI”? | Yes, volume references will be corrected in a forthcoming solicitation amendment. | |
| P0013 | 7/3/19 | RFP | L.4.2.5.3 FPIF CLINs Page 292 2nd bullet | For CLINs where the Government has specified the required number of hours under Section B, the sum of the hours in the cost summary table must equal the required number of hours | No hours have been specified for within the FPIF CLINs. Does this statement pertain to the non FPIF CLINs? Does this statement apply now that these other non FPIF CLINS are not included in Attachment L-3? | Correct, the solicitation does not specify a required quantity of hours for FPIF line items. The referenced requirement does not apply to FPIF line items. A forthcoming solicitation amendment will clarify the requirement. | |
| P0014 | 7/3/19 | RFP | Non TEP CLINs L.4.2.2.2, L.4.2.2.3, L.4.2.2.4, L.4.2.2.5, L.4.2.2.8 Pages 289,290,291 | "Shall not Price", "Shall Propose" and NSP | What is the nonmenclature the Government wants us to use to complete Section B for items that Shall not Price, Shall Propose and NSP? | Offerors must leave blank any Section B line items that the solicitation indicates offerors "shall not price" or "shall not propose a price." Offerors shall not price NSP line items; rather the price of requirements under NSP line items must be included in other, separately priced line items. | |
| P0016 | 7/3/19 | RFP | L.2.4.5 Segegration of Cost or Pricing Data - Page 271 | Under no circumstances shall Offerors include contract cost and pricing data in Volumes I or II. In the event that cost and pricing data are included in Volumes I or II, that data will be excluded from the evaluation. | With the Final RFP update Volumes III and IV were added to the Technical Proposal Volumes. Should it say Volumes 1 thorugh IV? | Yes, volume references will be corrected in a forthcoming solicitation amendment. | |
| P0017 | 7/3/19 | RFP | L.4.1.3.3 Facilities - Page 286 , 2nd Bullet | The Offeror shall ensure that all proposed capital investment projects in this volume are also identified in the completed Contractor Capital Investment clause of the Volume IV Model Contract. | With the Final RFP update Completed Contract Volume has been updated to Volume VI. Should it say Volume VI? | Yes, volume references will be corrected in a forthcoming solicitation amendment. | |
| P0024 | 7/3/19 | RFP | L.1.8.2 | ||||
| L.4.2.3 | "Offerors shall submit a signed statement in the |
Technical Proposal providing consent …"
"Offerors shall organize the Price Proposal as shown below with section dividers and legible labels for ease of identification.
Cover Letter
| Consent to Use of Nongovernment Advisors in Proposal Evaluation" | Does the consent statement go in the Technical Proposal or the Price Proposal? | The referenced consent statement must be submitted in the Technical Proposal (Volume I). An upcoming solicitation amendment will clarify this requirement. | ||
| P0028 | 7/3/19 | RFP | L.4.2.2.3.1-3 |
M.5.5 Total Evaluated Price The Cost Plus Fixed Fee LOE CLINS have been removed from the Total Evaluated Price evaluation. The LOE CLINs are not competitively priced. These CLINs will ultimately contain significant Program costs; costs that will be incurred by the Navy. Failure to evaluate the expected costs as part of the TEP means that significant costs that could differentiate the Offerors will not be evaluated.Furthermore, these CLINs are no longer idividually priced based on expected manhours (a plug number is used). Therefore, the Government cannot evaluate the difference in costs.
Will the Navy revise Section B and L to require Offerors price these CLINs?
Will the Navy revise Section M to include priced LOE CLINs in the Total Evaluated Price? No, per Section B Note E and the instructions in Section L, the Government intends to negotiate pricing for CPFF LOE line items on a sole source basis following contract award. For the purposes of proposal evaluation, only fixed price line items will be considered as part of each offeror's Total Evaluated Price. Further, the Government disagrees that the CPFF LOE line items will not be priced based on the quantity of hours required. Section B Note E identifies the anticipated number of hours per line item that will be negotiated following contract award. The solicitation does not specify a plug value for any CPFF LOE line item. Additionally, the Government notes that the RFP reference provided in the question points to instructions for the cost-only material line items, not the CPFF LOE line items.
&"Arial,Regular"&12Public &A &"Arial,Regular"&12Government Responses to Solicitation Questions &"Arial,Regular"&12N00024-19-R-2300 FFG(X) Detail Design & Construction
&"Arial,Regular"UNCLASSIFIED
PAGE &P OF &N
Release 2
| # | |||||||
| Author: Note: Question numbering may be nonconsecutive within each tab because question numbers are not assigned in the order that responses are developed. | Date | Source Document | Reference | Excerpt of Content | Question | Government Response | |
| P0001 | 7/12/19 | Attachment J-3 FFG(X) System Specification | All | N/A | Request the Navy provide the J-3 System Specifications in MS Word format with changes tracked from the prior revision. | The Government provided a table in Attachment J-3 summarizing the changes associated with Rev A to facilitate offerors’ evaluation of changes in the FFG(X) System Specification. The Government does not intend to provide a separate Microsoft Word redline version of the attachment. | |
| P0003 | 7/12/19 | RFP | Page 124, C.2.19 | C.2.19 Aviation | |||
| The Contractor shall design the aviation facilities in accordance with the FFG(X) System Specification in such a manner so as to achieve a Level I/Class 1 Aviation Certification, which is defined in Air Capable Ship Aviation Facilities Bulletin 1N. | The RFP refers to Air Capable Ship Aviation Facilities Bulletin 1 revision N. This is a later revision than the contractor currently has. Would the Navy please provide revision N? | The Government will post Aviation Facilties Bulletin 1N to FBO as a controlled unclassified document. | |||||
| P0004 | 7/12/19 | RFP | Page 266, L.1.6 | A major subcontractor does not include equipment or material subcontractors unless the subcontractor is also proposed to perform design or construction-related scope with a value that meets the defined threshold. | Will the Navy please confirm that an offeror's subcontractor proposed to perform design or construction-related services scope valued at less than $20 million per ship who are also providing equipment or material that in aggregate totals over $20 million (combining design/construction services scope with equipment/material scope) is NOT considered major subcontractor for the purposes of this solicitation. | Correct. The major subcontractor threshold of $20 million specified in Section L.1.6 applies to the value of the design and construction-related scope only, regardless of whether the subcontractor provides equipment as well. However, as stated in Section L.4.2.7.1, Supporting Cost Data, offerors must provide sufficient backup information and bases of estimates for all labor hours, which includes hours proposed to be accomplished by any subcontractors, major or otherwise. | |
| P0005 | 7/12/19 | RFP | Page 117, C.2.13.9 | The Contractor shall provide notification and identification to the Government of any CFE DMSMS occurrences via Obsolescence Alert Notice (CDRL F026). These notices shall include, but are not limited to, end-of-life type buys, bridge buys, or redesign necessary to meet readiness requirements. These approaches may be used in combination. Upon a final DMSMS resolution decision and specific funding authorization, the Contractor Sustainment Team shall provide the appropriate support to implement the DMSMS resolution. The Contractor shall provide logistics and supply chain risk management essential information that enables the identification, forecasting, mitigation, and management of Hardware and Software obsolescence as a part of the Bill of Materials (BOM) (CDRL F014). | Please confirm that the Contractor's responsibility under the resulting contract is to track and report obsolesence, and that the implementation of a solution for said incidence of obsolescence will be the subject of a funded contract change. | The contractor is responsible for tracking and identifying obsolescence cases per the requirements of the contract, including Attachment J-28 and applicable clauses. Redesigns will be accomplished via Engineering Change Proposal process set forth in the contract, including Attachment J-14 and applicable clauses. Other methods of resolving obsolescence cases, as determined by the DMSMS Management Team, will be accomplished via funded contract change or order. | |
| P0009 | 7/12/19 | RFP | L.4.2.5 Attachment L-3 Contract Pricing Tables - Page 292 | Each major subcontractor shall complete Attachment L-3 for the scope of work that the Offeror intends for it to perform. Major subcontractors may submit the completed Attachment L-3 directly to the Government. Each table shall provide the required information for each CLIN by calendar year, and must contain the required information for all items. | In some cases a Major Subcontractor will not exceed the >$20M value per CLIN/ship. Is it acceptable to only reflect the applcable CLINs for the Major Subcontractor in Attachment L-3? | Major subcontractors must complete Attachment L-3 for all CLINs. | |
| P0010 | 7/12/19 | RFP | L.1.6 Definition of Major Subcontractor | For the purposes of this solicitation, a major subcontractor is defined as any subcontractor proposed to perform design or construction-related scope (i.e., efforts in support of design or construction of the ships rather than solely supplying a completed CFE component such as an engine) valued at $20 million or more per ship. A major subcontractor does not include equipment or material subcontractors unless the subcontractor is also proposed to perform design or construction-related scope with a value that meets the defined threshold. | Does the $20 million threshold apply to any single ship or across all ships? For example, if a subcontractor exceeds the $20 million threshold for the first ship because of NRE, but not follow-on ships, is that subcontractor to be considered a major subcontractor? | The $20 million major subcontractor threshold applies to any single ship. In the example referenced in the question, that subcontractor would be considered a major subcontractor. | |
| P0012 | 7/12/19 | RFP | 1) L.4.2 Volume V - Price Proposal, Page 288 |
2) L.4.2.5.3 FPIF CLINs Page 292 2nd bullet 1.) L.4.2 Offerors shall ensure that all pricing spreadsheets are properly linked and summarized, and capable of being searched, reproduced, and manipulated. All cells containing derived data shall be presented together with the formulas used to derive the data present and functional. Further, all spreadsheets submitted shall be linked to allow for adjustments during cost analysis. Simple, hard-coding of numbers is not acceptable. Spreadsheet cells may not be linked to cells in other workbooks (i.e., separate files). Failure to comply with this requirement may render the proposal unacceptable. 2.) L.4.2.5.3 • BASE: For highlighted cells under the “BASE” columns, Offerors shall fill in the proposed labor hour, material, and/or cost bases for each “ELEMENT.” Offerors shall show the calculation used to derive each proposed base. For CLINs where the Government has specified the required number of hours under Section B, the sum of the hours in the cost summary table must equal the required number of hours Is it the Government's intent for Contractors to develop a sophisticated tool that includes all basis of estimate derived data (i.e. Learning curves, Bill of Material dollars by Part) that is included within the Attachment L-3 MS Excel Worksheet? No, that level of capability is not required by the Government in the Attachment L-3 worksheets. However, per Section L.4.2, simple, hard-coding of numbers in spreadsheet cells is not acceptable for any derived values; offerors must retain all formulas in the worksheets (such as sums).
The following language will be removed from Section L.4.2, in a forthcoming amendment to the solicitation: "Further, all spreadsheets submitted shall be linked to allow for adjustments during cost analysis."
| P0015 | 7/12/19 | RFP | L.4.2.5 Attachment L-3 Contract Pricing Tables - Page 292 | With the exception of forward pricing rates, all values should be rounded to the nearest dollar. | The Total Column in attachment L-3 doesn't appear to have a rounding function. Will the Government update Attachment L-3 worksheet to meet the RFP requirements? | No, the Government does not intend to update Attachment L-3 to add rounding capability. Instead, the sentence referenced in the question will be removed from Section L.4.2.5. The Government acknowledges there may be rounding differences between Attachment L-3 and Section B pricing as Section B pricing will be expressed in whole dollars. |
| P0018 | 7/12/19 | RFP | L.4.2.7.2.1 Indirect Rates - Page 295 paragraph d) | d) Annual forecasts of company overhead rates, overhead expenses, and associated allocation bases for calendar years 2020 through 2030. Supporting rationale and numerical backup shall be provided in sufficient detail to allow the Government to relate the forecasted rates to yard wide manning projections requested in subparagraph (ii) above and include overhead expense account projections by account and the detailed basis of estimate for each account. Provide actual historical data from at least the last five years; | The Referenced subparagraph (ii) cannot be located "above", could you please clarify what subparagraph and page it is on? | The intended reference is subparagraph (b) under Section L.4.2.7.2.1. A forthcoming solicitation amendment will change the referenced subparagraph from “(ii)" to “(b).” |
| P0019 | RFP | Page number 108. C.2.11.14 Identification of Mission Critical Functions and Analysis | The Contractor shall conduct a criticality analysis to identify the mission-critical functions that may result in Level I or Level II protection failures due to operational, system information, or component integrity aspects. The results of the critical analysis shall be documented in the Cybersecurity Supply Chain Risk Management Summary Report (CSCRMSR) (CDRL E015). For each Level I and Level II mission-critical function identified by the Contractor in the criticality analysis, the Contractor shall identify the associated logic-bearing system components that implement, or introduce vulnerability to these functions (hereafter referred to collectively as the “critical components”) in the CSCRMSR. | Can the Contractor assume that this analysis is limited to Contractor Furnished Equipment? | Yes, the criticality analysis required by Section C.2.11.14 is limited to Contractor Furnished Equipment. | |
| P0020 | RFP | Page number 108. C.2.11.15 Foreign Threats | The Contractor shall use Government-provided foreign intelligence and technology exploitation threat information, along with the traditional battlefield threat information, to inform system security engineering and systems engineering, and the procurement decisions processes. In the performing under this contract, the Contractor shall take actions to minimize the possibility that foreign threats—including foreign intelligence, technology exploitation, supply chain, battlefield threats, and system vulnerabilities—result in catastrophic (Level I) and critical (Level II) protection failures. | In cases where such intelligence and/or threat information provides adverse information about equipment or a vendor after the purchase/installation of that equipment, would the Government consider removal/replacement of that equipment subject to a request for equitable adjustment? Or alternatively, consider instructing the Contractor to do so under an Engineering Services TI? | Yes. The Government would consider this scenario a change to the contract pursuant to the Changes clause of the RFP. |
The Government notes that the existence of adverse infromation does not automatically neccessitate the removal/replacement of equipment. If the risk exposure associated with the adverse information is adequately mitigated through other countermeasures or protections, then the equipment may not need to be replaced. The assessment of the risk exposure should be included as part of the Cybersecurity Supply Chain Risk Management Summary Report (CSCRMSR) (CDRL E015).
P0021 RFP page 117 of 319, para C.2.13.10 Technical Manuals "The contractor shall deliver technical manuals for CFE systems and subsystems/equipment installed on the ship in ASD/S1000D, Version 4.1 Format. All CFE Manuals shall generate and display procedures directly from the Logistics Product Data, including analysis data and three-dimensional computer aided design models
The Contractor shall deliver final data modules both in XML format file and in a format that is compatible with a current supported version of Microsoft Excel." Does the Government expect the contractor to deliver Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) COTS Manuals in vendor format and subsequently convert each of the COTS OEM manuals to XML format? OEM COTS manuals are commercially developed and are generally delivered by vendors/OEMs in PDF format.
The requirement for the contractor to convert OEM form/format manuals to S1000D deliverables adds cost to the contract. Or, the requirement for the OEM/vendor to deliver S1000D deliverables will drive the cost of procurement from the supply chain.
| Will the Government change the format and allow pdf or OEM native format for Technical Manuals? | All COTS CFE manuals must be developed per the COTS Info set referenced in Block 4 of CDRL F038. In the event that an OEM COTS manual is not compliant, the contractor must deliver an S1000D-compliant solution. All CFE manuals must comply with the applicable Technical Manual Contract Requirement or Info Set. No change will be made to the RFP. The Government recognizes that these requirements may result in additional costs as compared to delivering OEM COTS manuals without modification. | |||||
| P0022 | RFP | Section L, Paragraph L.2.4.5 | L.2.4.5 Segregation of Cost or Pricing Data All information relating to contract cost or pricing data shall be included only in the section of the proposal designated as the Price Proposal Volume. Under no circumstances shall Offerors include contract cost and pricing data in volumes I or II. In the event that cost and pricing data are included in Volumes I or II, that data will be excluded from the evaluation. | Section L asks for an IMS that identifies all major DD&C efforts including engineering, material purchasing, production, and testing be provided with the Technical Proposal. Also, the Offeror shall ensure that schedule references throughout the proposal are consistent with and supported by the IMS. The IMS provides the basis for cost and pricing data. Providing an integrated IMS that is fully resourced includes cost data that is in conflict with paragraph L.2.4.5. We are concerned that pricing information being finalized after the Technical Proposal submittal may result in differences between the resourced IMS and the Price Proposal. Suggest that either the Technical Proposal be provided at the same time as the Price Proposal, or the IMS be provided with the Cost Volume. | A forthcoming solicitation amendment will provide for submission of the IMS concurrent with Volumes V and VI. However, the IMS submittal will still be considered a part of Volume I (i.e., the requirements of L.2.4.5 will still apply to the IMS). | |
| P0025 | RFP | Section L.4.1.1.1.11 | The Offeror shall develop and provide a software description document that explains how the software requirements are implemented. | Based on page limits, recommend change to "The offeror shall describe how software requirements will be implemented." | A forthcoming amendment to the solicitation will add the recommended language and incorporate a requirement to provide a Software Development Plan as an associated product. | |
| P0026 | RFP | Section C.2.9.1.4 C4I Systems | The Contractor shall plan, schedule, conduct, and report efforts to complete stages 1 & 2 tests for all C4I systems. For C4I systems provided as GFE, the Government will provide GFI to support installation, integration, and testing. Except in instances identified in Matrix of Test Stages where the Government PARMs or the Government SI&T Contractor develop test procedures and conduct tests, the Contractor shall lead the planned C4I and integration tests in cooperation with the Government PARMs and draw upon OEMs when needed. The Contractor shall support integration and testing efforts where SPAWAR will be validating "Turnkey" systems during stage 4-6 testing and while performing System Operational & Verification Tests (SOVTs). These Government Furnished Services (GFS) will be identified and will also be provided when needed to accomplish end-to-end testing with classified systems. The Contractor shall support completing certifications required for Risk Management Framework (RMF) required prior to connecting to Global Information Grid (GIG). The Contractor shall provide services support and CFE technical support to Government-led stage 4 through 6 C4I tests, SOVTs and subsequent at-sea trials | 1. What GFI will the Government provide for C4I systems to support Contractor conduct of stages 1 & 2 tests integration, and testing? | ||
| 2. When will the GFI to support stages 1 & 2 integration, and testing be provided? | Per paragraph 6.3 of Attachment J-22, C4I Phase I GFI was provided as part of the initial release of the final RFP. Phase II GFI will be provided according to the applicable Schedule C dates. | |||||
| P0027 | Attachment J-3 FFG(X) System Specification | All | N/A | Can the Navy provide a Word Version of of the System Specification that includes the redlines from the last revision (Draft RFP)? | The Government provided a table in Attachment J-3 summarizing the changes associated with Rev A to facilitate offerors’ evaluation of changes in the FFG(X) System Specification. The Government does not intend to provide a separate Microsoft Word redline version of the attachment. | |
| P0029 | RFP | P.53, Section B Note J | The total estimated burdened dollar amount of all Provisioned Items Order (PIO) requirements under this contract is $500,000,000. Pricing will be set forth on each order. Each order will be established on a new line item. In proposing costs for each order, the Contractor shall propose pricing direct and indirect rates that are no greater than those listed in the Summary Rates Sheet, Attachment J-38 for the direct and indirect rate categories listed in said attachment. The negotiated profit or fixed fee rate for any PIO under this contract shall not exceed 6% of fee-bearing costs. | This note states that the Government anticipates ordering $500M of work under two CLINS 6000 and 7000. One is FFP and one is CPFF. It states that rates against these orders will be what was proposed in the bid and that fee would be limited to 6%. Neither of these requirements are appropriate for future undefined work. FAR Section 15.404 states, "Negotiation of extremely low profits, use of historical averages, or automatic application of predetermined percentages to total estimated costs do not provide proper motivation for optimum contract performance." The FAR policy is: Contracting Officers shall use a structured approach for determining the profit or fee objective in those acquisitions that require cost analysis." Furthermore, use of historical rates is not in accordance with CAS or cost and pricing data requirements. |
It is requested that the use of historical bid rates and the low 6% fee be removed from Note J. These should be determined based on the scope of work, Forward Pricing Rate Agreements, contract type used and a structured fee approach with future orders.
A negotiated agreement to establish the maximum rates that may be used for forward pricing purposes does not in of itself violate CAS or cost and pricing data requirements. Proposals for each PIO may identify the relevant cost or pricing data to support the proposed pricing. The Section B Note J requirement merely reflects an agreement between the parties that the negotiated price of each PIO will be subject to a set of maximum rates to be identified in Attachment J-38. Note J does not violate CAS, as it only affects the pricing negotiation, and does not require a contractor to deviate from its approved cost accounting practices during execution of each PIO.
A forthcoming solicitation amendment will update the Note J provisions for maximum PIO fee and profit rates.
| P0030 | RFP | Page 286, L.4.1.3.3 Facilities, bullet 5 | Any facility qualifications or certifications, by whom, and when, expiration/renewal dates, and provide a copy of the qualification or certification | Can the facility qualifications and/or certifications be submitted as an appendix and not count towards the page count of the proposal? | Copies of facility qualification and certification documents will be excluded from the page count. An upcoming solicitation amendment will clarify this requirement. |
| P0031 | RFP | Page 285, L.4.1.3.3 Facilities | "Any facility qualifications or certifications, by whom, and when, expiration/renewal dates, and provide a copy of the qualification or certification" | For a large shipyard, the copies of the required qualifications and certifications entail many pages. Can the copies of the qualifications and certifications be designated as an Associated Product and not be counted as part of the 100-page limitation. | Copies of facility qualification and certification documents will be excluded from the page count. An upcoming solicitation amendment will clarify this requirement. |
| P0032 | Attachment J-3 FFG(X) System Specification | Attachment J-3 FFG(X) [all]: |
System Specification and FFG(X) System Specification
| Project-Peculiar Documents | [All, Provided in RFP as PDF] | Understanding that the PDF versions released with the RFP are the controlling documentation, can the Navy either provide redlines for anything that changed in the System Spec and PPD from the draft RFP, or otherwise provide clean Microsoft WORD versions to facilitate Offerors' evaluation of changes in that documentation. | The Government provided a summary of Rev A changes table in Attachment J-3 to facilitate offerors’ evaluation of changes in the System Specification. The Government does not intend to provide a separate Microsoft Word redline version. | ||
| P0034 | RFP | Page 61, B-232-H001 PAYMENTS | (a) Computation of Payments |
(1) Until such time as physical progress in the performance of work on a vessel is fifty percent (50%) complete, the Government, upon submission by the Contractor of invoices certified by the Contractor as hereinafter provided, will promptly make payments, on account of the total contract price(s), at ninety percent (90%) of the amount determined by multiplying the allocated total contract price of such vessel by the percentage of physical progress in the performance of work on such vessel as certified by the Contractor subject to the approval of the Supervisor; provided, that no such payment shall be made in an amount which when added to the total of all payments previously made with respect to such vessel under paragraph (a) of this requirement exceeds one hundred percent (100%) of the allowable costs certified by the Contractor on the related invoice to have been incurred in the performance of work on such vessel.
(2) After the percentage of physical progress in the performance of work on a vessel has reached fifty percent (50%), the Government, upon submission by the Contractor of invoices certified by the Contractor as hereinafter provided, will promptly make payments, on account of the total contract price(s), of one hundred percent (100%) of the amount determined by: (i) multiplying the allocated total contract price of such vessel by the percentage of physical progress in the performance of work on such vessel as certified by the Contractor subject to the approval of the Supervisor, and (ii) subtracting from that product five percent (5%) of the allocated total contract price of such vessel; provided, that no such payment shall be made in an amount which when added to the total of all payments made previously with respect to such vessel under paragraph (a) of this requirement exceeds one hundred five percent (105%) of the allowable costs certified by the Contractor on the related invoice to have been incurred in the performance of work on such vessel; provided, further, that the Contractor furnishes data on actual cumulative costs and estimated future costs acceptable to the Supervisor which demonstrates to the satisfaction of the Supervisor that the Contractor will make a profit of at least five percent (5%) on completion of the contract, and the Contractor provides updated information on a quarterly basis. If updated data indicate the Contractor will not make a profit of at least five percent (5%) on completion of the contract, the progress payments shall be adjusted retroactively so that the total of all payments made with respect to the vessel under paragraph (a) of this requirement shall not exceed one hundred percent (100%) of the allowable costs certified by the Contractor on the related invoice to have been incurred in the performance of work on such vessel.
| The RFP payment terms result in contract withholdings that impose an unnecessary financial burden on the Offerors and exceed an amount necessary to protect the Government’s interests. The RFP payment terms do not incentivize the Offeror to make investments in people, processes, and facilities as the current destroyer, amphibious, submarine, and carrier contracts do. Specifically, the payment terms contained in the RFP restrict the Offeror to only billing cost (and no profit) up to 50% complete, and only 5% profit from 50% to 100% complete. In addition to carrying work-in-process funds, which are therefore unavailable for reinvestment, Offerors must pay taxes on profits before they are received from the Navy. In all likelihood, the Offeror will generate negative cash until the ship nears its delivery. The Navy is familiar with all of the known Offerors who have past experience with the Navy on important shipbuilding programs. Based on these facts, will the Navy ammend the RFP to provide payment terms which are consistent with other major shipbuilding programs so that more funds will be available to service the cash flow and investment needs of the Offerors. Recommend the Navy's most recent Surface Combatant contract payment terms. | The payment terms in the RFP reflect the standard shipbuilding progress payments authorized by SECNAV Insturction 7810.12C. The Government has yet to receive approval from the relevant authority to offer unusual progress payments that deviate from the standard payment terms. As stated in previous responses on this topic, the Government will continue to review the business case for altering the payment terms for the contract. | |||||
| P0035 | RFP | Page 266, L.1.6 | A major subcontractor does not include equipment or material subcontractors unless the subcontractor is also proposed to perform design or construction-related scope with a value that meets the defined threshold. | If a major subcontractor meets the $20M threshold for only one ship, is that subcontractor a major subcontractor for every ship? If not, are the section L tables only required for the ships where the subcontractor is a Major Subcontactor? | If a subcontractor meets the definition of a major subcontractor for any one ship in an offeror's proposal, that subcontractor is considered a major subcontractor for all ships. Offerors shall ensure that each major subcontractor completes Attachments L-3, L-4, and L-5 for all ships. | |
| P0036 | RFP | Page 299, L.4.3.9.1 | The summary rates sheet shall list for the Offeror and each major subcontractor, all indirect rates and direct labor categories and associated rates used to propose pricing for Items 0100, 0200, 0300, 0400, 0500, 0600, 0700, 0800, 0900, and 1000 in the Offeror’s proposal, and must align with the rates in the Offeror’s Attachment L-3 submittal | Attachment J-38 requires rates through 2035 while Attachment L-3 contains rates through 2030. Will the Navy revise Attachment J-38 so that the rates required in Attachment J-38 align with the rates in Attachment L-3? | Offerors must tailor the Attachment L-3 worksheets by adding additional columns for any time periods beyond 2030 as necessary to cover the anticipated period of performance. Attachment J-38 will not be revised. | |
| P0039 | RFP | Page 93, C.2.9 | The Contractor shall develop, maintain, and implement a Comprehensive Test Plan (CTP) (CDRL D001), and a Test Index (CDRL D002) that follows the FFG(X) Program’s prescribed numbering convention as set forth in the FFG(X) Class Ship Numbering Index, Attachment J-18. The CTP will be incorporated into the contract as Attachment J-19 once approved by the Government. The Contractor shall conduct Ship Construction Testing and support Post Delivery Tests and trials in accordance with the CTP and The Total Ship Test Program Manual (S9095-AD-TRQ-010 of 4 June 2014) excluding Section 2, which is for In-Service Ship Testing. The Government will provide FFG(X) Test Documentation Book (TDB) as guidance that the Contractor may use in developing test deliverables. | Will the Government provide the FFG(X) Test Documentation Book (TDB) before the proposal due date so that the Offeror may fully understand the requirements and adequately justify the reasonableness of the test estimate? | The Government will provide the Test Documentation Book directly to authorized offerors upon request. | |
| P0040 | RFP | Page 283, L.4.1.3.1 |
Page 271, L.2.5.2.2 The Offeror shall ensure that schedule references throughout the proposal are consistent with and supported by the IMS. The IMS will be excluded from the overall page count
The Integrated Master Schedule (IMS) shall be submitted in the Offeror’s native electronic file format in addition to PDF. The offeror is required to submit an IMS in L.4.1.3.1 Schedule Approach which also states “The IMS will be excluded from the overall page count” within Volume I. The IMS submittal is required to be submitted in Offeror’s native electronic file format by L.2.5.2.2 Integrated Master Schedule. Will the Navy add the statement “The Offeror shall provide the following associated products in the Design Appendix or Classified Design Appendix: a) Integrated Master Schedule” to L.4.1.3.1? The Government appreciates the recommendation, but does not concur. The IMS must be submitted electronically as part of Volume I.
&"Arial,Regular"&12Public &A &"Arial,Regular"&12Government Responses to Solicitation Questions &"Arial,Regular"&12N00024-19-R-2300 FFG(X) Detail Design & Construction
PAGE &P OF &N
Release 3
| # | ||||||
| Author: Note: Question numbering may be nonconsecutive within each tab because question numbers are not assigned in the order that responses are developed. | Date | Source Document | Reference | Excerpt of Content | Question | Government Response |
| P0033 | 7/19/19 | RFP | Page 297, L.4.3.7 to L.4.3.8, text header was "Section H" |
| Page 197, H-216-H002 LEVEL OF EFFORT--ALTERNATE I (NAVSEA) (OCT 2018) | ["Section H" instructions to offeror does not exist in Final RFP, existed in Draft RFP] | On page 297 of the Final RFP, Section L instructs Offerors to complete fill-in areas in various Sections. On this page, Section H was present in the draft RFP, but removed from the Final RFP. There are fill-in blanks in Section H on page 197 (within clause H-216-H002). Should there be instructions in Section L for the fill-in blanks in Section H? | The requirement at H-216-H002 pertains to the performance of level-of-effort scope. The final RFP stipulates that pricing for level-of-effort scope will be negotiated following contract award, so H-216-H002 will be completed at that time. The Government confirms that there are no fill-ins that offerors need to complete in Section H. | ||||
| P0038 | 7/19/19 | RFP | Page 127, C.4.0 | When ordered by the Government per the procedures set forth in this contract, the Contractor shall provide spares, shore-based spares, repair parts, special tools, test equipment, studies, GFE and/or CFE parts refurbishment or replenishment, data, analyses, engineering, repairs, maintenance, emergent support and other support efforts or equipment associated with the production and testing of FFG(X) ships. | The list of possible orders under CLIN 6000 and CLIN 7000 expands the accepted definition of "provisioned items." Will the Government remove the negotiated profit Not to Exceed value of 6% for CLIN 6000? | A forthcoming solicitation amendment will update the Note J provisions for maximum PIO fee and profit rates. | |
| P0042 | 7/19/19 | RFP | 4.1.1.1.14 Susceptibility | The Offeror shall provide a classified narrative in the Classified Technical Annex that addresses the predicted ship RCS and IR signatures, along with a description of the processes, tools, and technologies employed. |
The Offeror shall provide the following associated products in the Classified Design Appendix:
| a) IR Signature Prediction | The RFP omitted the requirement to provide a RCS signature prediction. Was RCS inadvertently removed or is it the Governments intent to not require a RCS Signature Prediction? | Offerors shall provide a classified narrative in the Classified Technical Annex that addresses the predicted ship RCS and IR signatures, along with a description of the processes, tools, and technologies employed. Thus, predicted signature performance must still be addressed in narrative form, but submission of RCS Signature Prediction as an associated product in the Design Appendix is not required. | |||
| P0043 | 7/19/19 | RFP | Page 82, C.2.8 | C.2.8 Design of FFG(X) Ship(s) |
| The Contractor shall perform design and construction of the FFG(X) ships in accordance with the defined configuration baseline to develop and deliver a ship that meets all requirements of this contract. In the event that the Contractor discovers an error or deficiency, or an apparent error or deficiency, in any functional and/or detail design data, or discovers a design feature in any functional and/or detail design data that conflicts with, or apparently conflicts with the requirements of this contract, the Contractor shall promptly bring the matter to the attention of the SUPSHIP and FFG(X) Program Office, via a Contract Problem Identification Report (CPIR). Where the FFG(X) System Specification specifies that a requirement may be satisfied “as approved by NAVSEA” (or similar), the Contractor shall provide in the applicable CDRL submittal all supporting technical information associated with the Contractor’s proposed solution or approach for meeting the requirement. | The offeror does not believe the Contract Problem Identification Report (CPIR) is the correct forum for notifying the Navy of deficiencies found in contractor generated functional or detail design. CPIRs are traditionally reserved for rare events related to significant issues that could impact Navy Program Cost and Schedule. The offeror recommends that the paragraph be modified to replace "a Contract Problem Identification Report (CPIR)" with "the process described in the Configuration Management Plan, Attachment J-14 regarding Class II Changes." Will the Navy modify the subject language to address this matter? | No, the Government will not modify the referenced language. The conditions under which the contractor must submit CPIRs are detailed in the Section C requirement entitled C-243-H001, "Contractor Problem Identification Reports." | |||
| P0045 | 7/19/19 | RFP | Page116, C.2.13.5 | C.2.13.5 Fitting Out |
The Contractor shall outfit the ship in accordance with the FFG(X) System Specification. At delivery, the ship shall be fully outfitted with all equipment, technical manuals, drawings, and supply support materials as prescribed by the Government developed Coordinated Shipboard Allowance List (COSAL). Supply support material includes spares and repair parts, equipage, special tools, support and test equipment, on board data, and consumables, including lubricants. Ammunition, small arms, cryptographic equipment, and pyrotechnics are excluded.
In support of outfitting, the Contractor shall develop an Outfitting Operation Plan (OOP) (CDRL F018) and Shipboard Outfitting Materials Status Report (CDRL F019). The solicitation states that "the ship shall be fully outfitted with all equipment, technical manuals, drawings, and supply support materials as prescribed by the Government developed Coordinated Shipboard Allowance List (COSAL)."
| These items have historically been procured Indefinite Delivery/Indefinite Quantity (IDIQ), does the Gov't intend the costs to be included in CLIN 6000 / 7000? | Spare parts will be procured via Provisioned Item Orders. The contractor must deliver support and test equipment, technical manuals, drawings, and supply support materials under the ship construction line items. | ||||
| P0047 | 7/19/19 | Attachment J-1, DD Form 254 | Page 3, Attachment J-1 | The following Security Classification Guide(s) or subsequent revisions apply to this contract… |
-SCG ID# 05-055.1, Ship Silencing Data, Confidential Attachment J-1 “DD 254 Contract Security Classification Specification (11 Jun 2019)” of the official RFP includes a reference to “SCG ID# 05-055.1, Ship Silencing Data, Confidential”. The 055 represents the enclosure and the .1 represents the revision. The current revision is .2 as was noted in the draft RFP and also as provided in the classified data provided with the RFP.
| Please confirm that the Navy intends for the Contractors to follow the newer version which is 055.2 and will update the DD254 accordingly. | The correct revision is SCD ID# 05-055.2. A forthcoming solicitation amendment will incorporate an updated DD Form 254 that corrects the reference. | ||||||
| P0048 | 7/19/19 | RFP | C.2.2 On-Site Shipyard Facilities and Services | The Contractor shall prepare and maintain office space for 25 Government representatives from contract award until the start of fabrication. From the start of fabrication through contract completion, the Contractor shall prepare and maintain office space for 75 Government representatives... | Are the 75 government representatives and 105 parking spaces in additional to gov't personnel currently onsite for other Navy programs or can some overlap of government representatives be defined to reduce the total number of FFG(X) specific government representatives onsite? | The referenced office and parking space requirements must be dedicated for use under the contract. Offerors should not assume any overlap of Government representatives. | |
| P0049 | 7/19/19 | RFP | B-232-H001, P.61 | The Navy's use of what it terms the "standard payment clause", B-232-H001, is not reasonable for a major ship construction contract. In a simplified analysis, during the first 50% of progress it prevents the billing of any fee and from 50-100 % progress only allows the billing of 5% fee. This does not reflect an understanding by the Government of Industry's need to make a reasonable amount of profit every year to satisfy its creditors and stockholders. |
| The Government has stated during the draft RFP stage that this is the standard clause used in shipbuilding. This Offeror is unaware of any shipbuilding contract using this clause unmodified. More favorable terms are necssary due to the length of major shipbuilding contracts. | Will the Navy include the clause used in the FY17 LCS RFP. | The payment terms in the RFP reflect the standard shipbuilding progress payments authorized by SECNAV Insturction 7810.12C. The Government has yet to receive approval from the relevant authority to offer unusual progress payments that deviate from the standard payment terms. As stated in previous responses on this topic, the Government will continue to review the business case for altering the payment terms for the contract. | |||||
| P0050 | 7/19/19 | RFP | Section C 13.0 Item 5000: Bridge and Central Control Station Equipment Training Stations (Option) | The Contractor shall provide bridge and CCS equipment training stations that replicate the layout, appearance, functions, and operator interactions of the ship bridge equipment and ship CCS equipment in a training environment. | A portion of the bridge & CCS equipment is being provided as GFE to the ship. Will this same equipment be provided as GFE for the Trainer? Will the GFE provided include Federation Object Model (FOM) compatible simulators? | The Government will not be providing Government Furnished Equipment to support performance under Item 5000. The contractor is responsible for providing simulated capability by integrating GFI for subject GFE systems such that it represents the intended environment. | |
| P0052 | 7/19/19 | RFP | Section C 13.0 Item 5000: Bridge and Central Control Station Equipment Training Stations (Option) | The Contractor shall provide bridge and CCS equipment training stations that replicate the layout, appearance, functions, and operator interactions of the ship bridge equipment and ship CCS equipment in a training environment. | Is the trainer discussed in Sec 13.0 intended to be used to train only the watch stations listed in the Notional FFG(X) Watch Station and Manning Summary section Bridge, Topside and Engineering? - I.e., only OOD/JOOD/RCO/EPT/EPT supervisor? If others are intended to be trained simultaneously, what positions should be included? I.e., lookouts, bearing takers, CO? | Yes, the trainer required under Item 5000 is intended to train only the watch stations listed in the notional FFG(X) Watch Station and Manning Summary section Bridge, Topside and Eningineering (OOD/JOOD/RCO/EPT/EPT) Supervisor. |
This is the start of the file's text. The full file is on GovTribe.
File details come from the government source that posted it.