Exhibit 2 - Group Term LIfe Cert of Cov.pdf
PDF 112 KB Posted
- Attached to
- RFP Group Term Life
- Solicitation number
- RFP-09134
- Issued by
- Polk County, Florida
About this file
This document is a Group Term Life Insurance Certificate from Reliance Standard Life Insurance Company for the St. John River Water Management District. It outlines the group term life insurance coverage and benefits for the District's eligible employees, including basic life insurance amounts, eligibility requirements, effective dates, termination provisions, conversion privileges, waiver of premium, claims procedures, and a living benefit rider.
The state and local contract opportunity related to this document is an RFP issued by the District for group term life insurance with accidental death and dismemberment coverage, as well as supplemental term life insurance. The District seeks proposals from qualified insurance providers to place these coverages for a two-year base period with options to renew for three or more additional 12-month periods. The RFP requires the selected provider's proposal to match the current coverage with modifications outlined in the statement of work.
View the file
Other files
| File | Type | Posted |
|---|---|---|
| Exhibit 8 - Evaluation Questionnaire .xlsx | XLSX spreadsheet | |
| Exhibit 1 - Group Term Life Claims.pdf | ||
| Exhibit 4 - Supplemental Life Insur Claims.pdf | ||
| 89088 RFP_Group_Life.pdf | ||
| Exhibit 5 - Supplemental Benefit Summary.pdf | ||
| Exhibit 6 - Supplemental Life Cert of Cov.pdf | ||
| Exhibit 9 Resp_Supp_TermL_Pre_WrkSht.xlsx | XLSX spreadsheet |
On GovTribe
Work with this file
- Download the original file
- Contacts named in this file
- Similar government files
- Ask GovTribe AI about this file
Text version
GROUP LIFE INSURANCE PROGRAM
St. John River Water Management District
LRS-6441 Ed. 11/84
RELIANCE STANDARD LIFE
INSURANCE COMPANY
Home Office: Schaumburg, Illinois Administrative Office: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE
We certify that the Person whose name appears on the enrollment card attached to this Certificate is insured for the benefits which apply to his/her class, under Group Policy No. GL 154572 issued to St. John River Water Management District, the Policyholder.
When loss of life covered under the Policy occurs, we will pay the amount stated on the Schedule of Benefits to the named beneficiary, subject to provisions entitled Beneficiary and Facility of Payment.
This Certificate is not a contract of insurance. It contains only the major terms of insurance coverage and payment of benefits under the Policy.
It replaces all certificates that may have been issued to you earlier.
Secretary President
If you have any questions about your insurance, or need assistance, please call (877) 268-7606.
GROUP LIFE INSURANCE CERTIFICATE
This Group Life Certificate amends all previous Group Life Certificates and is dated June 14, 2017.
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS ................................................................. 1.0
DEFINITIONS ...................................................................................... 2.0
GENERAL PROVISIONS .................................................................... 3.0
EFFECTIVE DATE AND TERMINATION ............................................ 4.0
CONVERSION PRIVILEGE ................................................................. 5.0
BENEFICIARY AND FACILITY OF PAYMENT ................................... 6.0
SETTLEMENT OPTIONS .................................................................... 7.0
WAIVER OF PREMIUM IN EVENT OF TOTAL DISABILITY .............. 8.0
CLAIMS PROVISIONS ........................................................................ 9.0
EXTENSION OF COVERAGE UNDER THE FAMILY AND
MEDICAL LEAVE ACT AND UNIFORMED SERVICES
EMPLOYMENT AND REEMPLOYMENT RIGHTS ACT (USERRA) 10.0
PORTABILITY ................................................................................... 11.0
GROUP TERM LIFE INSURANCE LIVING BENEFIT RIDER .......... 12.0
LRS-6441-1 Ed. 04/16 Page 1.0
SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2015, as amended in the Policy through June 1, 2017
ELIGIBLE CLASSES: Each active, Full-time employee, except any person employed on a temporary or seasonal basis, according to the following classifications:
CLASS 1: Senior Manager
CLASS 2: Employee, except an employee included in any other class
WAITING PERIOD:
CLASS 1: None
CLASS 2: 30 days of continuous employment
INDIVIDUAL EFFECTIVE DATE:
CLASS 1: The day you become eligible.
CLASS 2: The day immediately following completion of the Waiting Period.
INDIVIDUAL REINSTATEMENT: 6 months
AMOUNT OF INSURANCE:
Basic Life:
CLASS 1: Two (2) times Earnings, rounded to the next higher $1,000, subject to a maximum Amount of Insurance of $400,000.
CLASS 2: One (1) times Earnings, rounded to the next higher $1,000, subject to a maximum Amount of Insurance of $250,000.
LRS-6441-1 Ed. 04/16 Page 1.1
For Insureds age 65 and over, the Amount of Basic Life Insurance is subject to automatic reduction. Upon the Insured’s attainment of the specified age below, the Amount of Basic Life Insurance will be reduced to the applicable percentage. This reduction also applies to Insureds who are age 65 or over on their Individual Effective Date.
Age Percentage of available or in force amount at age 64 65-69 65% 70+ 50%
The Life amount will be reduced by any benefit paid under the Living Benefit Rider.
CHANGES IN AMOUNT OF INSURANCE: Increases and decreases in the Amount of Insurance because of changes in age, class or earnings (if applicable) are effective on the first of the month coinciding with or next following of the change.
With respect to increases in the Amount of Insurance, you must be Actively At Work on the date of the change. If you are not Actively At Work when the change should take effect, the change will take effect on the day after you have been Actively At Work in an Eligible Class for one full day.
CONTRIBUTIONS: You are not required to contribute toward the cost of the Basic Insurance.
LRS-6441-2 Ed. 06/01 Page 2.0
DEFINITIONS
"We," "us" and "our" means Reliance Standard Life Insurance Company.
"You," "your" and "yours" means a person who meets the eligibility requirements of the Policy and is enrolled for this insurance.
"Actively at work" and "active work" means actually performing on a Full-time basis each and every duty pertaining to your job in the place where and the manner in which the job is normally performed. This includes approved time off such as vacation, jury duty and funeral leave, but does not include time off as a result of injury or illness.
"Full-time" means working for the Policyholder for a minimum of 16 hours during your regularly scheduled work week.
"The date you retire" or "retirement" means the effective date of your:
(1) retirement pension benefits under any plan of a federal, state, county or municipal retirement system, if such pension benefits include any credit for employment with the Policyholder;
(2) retirement pension benefits under any plan which the Policyholder sponsors, or makes or has made contributions;
(3) retirement benefits under the United States Social Security Act of 1935, as amended, or under any similar plan or act.
"Earnings", as used in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS section, means your annual salary received from the Policyholder on the first of the month just before the date of loss, prior to any deductions to a 401(k) and Section 125 plan. Earnings does not include commissions, overtime pay, bonuses, incentive pay or any other special compensation not received as basic salary.
If hourly employees are insured, the number of hours worked during a regularly scheduled work week, not to exceed forty (40) hours per week, times fifty-two (52) weeks, will be used to determine annual earnings.
"Total Disability" as used in the WAIVER OF PREMIUM IN EVENT OF TOTAL DISABILITY section, means your complete inability to engage in any type of work for wage or profit for which you are suited by education, training or experience.
LRS-6441-3 Ed. 04/16 Page 3.0
GENERAL PROVISIONS
INCONTESTABILITY
Any statement made in the Policyholder's application will be deemed a representation, not a warranty. We cannot contest the validity of the Policy after it has been in force for two (2) years from the date of issue, except for non-payment of premium. All other Policy terms will remain applicable.
Any statements made by you, or on your behalf to persuade us to provide coverage, will be deemed a representation, not a warranty. This provision limits our use of these statements in contesting the amount of insurance for which you are covered. The following rules apply to each statement:
(1) No statement will be used in a contest unless:
(a) it is in a written form signed by you, or on your behalf; and
(b) a copy of such written instrument is or has been furnished to you, your beneficiary or legal representative.
(2) If the statement relates to your insurability, it will not be used to contest the validity of insurance which has been in force, before the contest, for at least two (2) years during your lifetime.
ASSIGNMENT
Ownership of any benefit provided under the Policy may be transferred by assignment. An irrevocable beneficiary must give written consent to assign this insurance. Written request for assignment must be made in duplicate at our Administrative Offices. Once recorded by us, an assignment will take effect on the date it was signed. We are not liable for any action we take before the assignment is recorded.
LRS-6441-4 Ed. 04/16 Page 4.0
EFFECTIVE DATE AND TERMINATION
EFFECTIVE DATE OF INDIVIDUAL INSURANCE: If the Policyholder pays the entire premium, the insurance for an Eligible Person will go into effect on the date stated on the Schedule of Benefits.
If you pay a part of the premium, you must apply in writing for the insurance to go into effect. You will become insured on the later of:
(1) the Individual Effective Date stated on the Schedule of Benefits, if you apply on or before that date; or
(2) the date you apply, if you apply within thirty-one (31) days from the date you first met the eligibility requirements; or
(3) the date we approve any required proof of good health. We require proof of good health if you apply:
(a) after thirty-one (31) days from the date you first become eligible; or
(b) after you terminated this insurance but you remained in a class eligible for this insurance; or
(c) for an Amount of Insurance greater than the guaranteed issue Amount of Insurance shown on the Schedule of Benefits, if applicable; or
(d) for an Amount of Insurance greater than you were insured for under the prior group life insurance plan carrier, if applicable; or
(e) after being eligible for coverage under a prior group life insurance plan for more than thirty-one (31) days but did not elect to be covered under that prior plan; or
(4) the date premium is remitted.
Proof of good health forms are available from us upon request. It is the Policyholder's responsibility to provide proof of good health forms to you when required.
Changes in your Amount of Insurance are effective as shown on the Schedule of Benefits.
LRS-6441-4 Ed. 04/16 Page 4.1
If you are not Actively at Work on the day your insurance is to go into effect, the insurance will go into effect on the day you return to Active Work in an Eligible Class for one full day.
TERMINATION OF INSURANCE: Your insurance will terminate on the first of the following to occur:
(1) the date the Policy terminates; or
(2) the date you cease to be in a class eligible for this insurance; or
(3) the end of the period for which premium has been paid for you;
or
(4) the date you enter military service on active duty (not including
Reserve or National Guard).
CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE: Your insurance may be continued, by payment of premium, beyond the date you cease to be eligible for this insurance, but not longer than:
(1) twelve (12) months, if due to illness or injury; or
(2) one (1) month, if due to temporary lay-off or approved leave of absence.
REINSTATEMENT: Insurance may be reinstated if you were:
(1) on an approved leave of absence, or
(2) on a temporary lay-off.
You must return to Active Work with the Policyholder within the period of time shown on the Schedule of Benefits. You must also be a member of a class eligible for this insurance.
You will not be required to fulfill the Waiting Period of the Policy again.
The insurance will go into effect on the day you return to Active Work for one full day. If you return after having resigned or having been discharged, you will be required to fulfill the Eligibility Requirements of the Policy again.
LRS-6441-4 Ed. 04/16 Page 4.2
If you request insurance after previously terminating insurance at your request or for failure to pay premium when due, proof of good health must be approved by us before your insurance coverage may be reinstated.
LRS-6441-27 Ed. 9/83 Page 5.0
CONVERSION PRIVILEGE
You can use this privilege when your insurance is no longer in force. It has several parts. They are:
A. If the insurance ceases due to termination of employment or membership in any of the Policy's classes, an individual Life Insurance Policy may be issued. You are entitled to a policy without disability or supplemental benefits. You must make written application for the policy within thirty-one (31) days after you terminate. The first premium must also be paid within that time. The issuance of the policy is subject to the following conditions:
(1) The policy will, at your option, be on any one of our forms, except for term life insurance. It will be the standard type issued by us for the age and amount applied for;
(2) The policy issued will be for an amount not over what you had before you terminated;
(3) The premium due for the policy will be at our usual rate. This rate will be based on the amount of insurance, class of risk and your age at date of policy issue; and
(4) Proof of good health is not required.
B. If the insurance ceases due to the termination or amendment of the
Policy, an individual Life Insurance Policy can be issued. You must have been insured for at least five (5) years under the Policy and/or the prior carrier. The same rules as in A above will be used, except that the face amount will be the lesser of:
(1) The amount of your Group Life benefit under the Policy. This amount will be less any amount you are entitled to under any group life policy issued by us or another insurance company; or
(2) $10,000.
C. If the insurance reduces, as may be provided in the Policy, an individual Life Insurance Policy can be issued. The same rules as in A above will be used, except that the face amount will not be greater than the amount which ceased due to the reduction.
LRS-6441-27 Ed. 9/83 Page 5.1
D. If you die during the time provided in A above in which you are entitled to apply for an individual policy, we will pay the benefit under the Group Policy that you were entitled to convert. This will be done whether or not you applied for the individual policy.
E. Any policy issued with respect to A, B or C above will be put in force at the end of the thirty-one (31) day period in which application must be made.
LRS-6441-34 Ed. 11/00 Page 6.0
BENEFICIARY AND FACILITY OF PAYMENT
BENEFICIARY: The beneficiary will be as named in writing by you to receive benefits at your death. This beneficiary designation must be on file with us or the Plan Administrator and will be effective on the date you sign it. Any payment made by us before receiving the designation shall fully discharge us to the extent of that payment.
If you name more than one beneficiary to share the benefit, you must state the percentage of the benefit that is to be paid to each beneficiary.
Otherwise, they will share the benefit equally.
The beneficiary's consent is not needed if you wish to change the designation. His/her consent is also not needed to make any changes in the Policy.
If the beneficiary dies at the same time as you, or within fifteen (15) days after your death but before we received written proof of your death, payment will be made as if you survived the beneficiary, unless noted otherwise.
If you have not named a beneficiary, or the named beneficiary is not surviving at your death, any benefits due shall be paid to the first of the following classes to survive you:
(1) your legal spouse;
(2) your surviving child(ren) (including legally adopted child(ren)), in equal shares;
(3) your surviving parents, in equal shares;
(4) your surviving siblings, in equal shares; or, if none of the above,
(5) your estate.
We will not be liable for any payment we have made in good faith.
FACILITY OF PAYMENT: If a beneficiary, in our opinion, cannot give a valid release (and no guardian has been appointed), we may pay the benefit to the person who has custody or is the main support of the beneficiary. Payment to a minor shall not exceed $1,000.
If you have not named a beneficiary, or the named beneficiary is not surviving at your death, we may pay up to $2,000 of the benefit to the person(s) who, in our opinion, have incurred expenses in connection with your last illness, death or burial.
LRS-6441-34 Ed. 11/00 Page 6.1
The balance of the benefit, if any, will be held by us, until an individual or representative:
(1) is validly named; or
(2) is appointed to receive the proceeds; and
(3) can give valid release to us.
The benefit will be held with interest at a rate set by us.
We will not be liable for any payment we have made in good faith.
LRS-6441-7 Ed. 04/16 Page 7.0
SETTLEMENT OPTIONS
You may elect a different way in which payment of the Amount of Insurance can be made. You must provide a written request to us, for our approval, at our Administrative Office. If the option covers less than the full amount due, we must be advised of what part is to be under an option. Amounts under $2,000 or option payments of less than $20.00 each are not eligible.
If no instructions for a settlement option are in effect at the death of an Insured, the beneficiary may make the election, with our consent.
Settlement Options are described in the Policy.
LRS-6441-36 Ed. 11/00 Page 8.0
WAIVER OF PREMIUM IN EVENT OF TOTAL DISABILITY
We will extend the Amount of Insurance during a period of Total Disability for one (1) year if:
(1) you become totally disabled prior to age 60;
(2) the Total Disability begins while you are insured;
(3) the Total Disability begins while this Policy is in force;
(4) the Total Disability lasts for at least 9 months;
(5) the premium continues to be paid; and
(6) we receive proof of Total Disability within one (1) year from the date it began.
After proof of Total Disability is approved by us, neither the Policyholder nor you are required to pay premiums. Also, any premiums paid from the start of the Total Disability will be returned.
We will ask you, when less than age sixty (60), to submit annual proof of continued Total Disability. The Amount of Insurance may then be extended for additional one (1) year periods. You may be required to be examined by a Physician approved by us as part of the proof. We will not require you to be examined more than once a year after the insurance has been extended two (2) full years.
The Amount of Insurance extended will be limited to the amount of basic group life coverage on your life that was in force at the time that Total Disability began excluding any additional benefits. This amount will not increase. This amount will reduce or cease at any time it would reduce or cease if you had not been totally disabled. If you die, we will be liable under this extension only if written proof of death is received by us.
The Amount of Insurance extended for you will cease on the earliest of:
(1) the date you no longer meet the definition of Total Disability; or
(2) the date you refuse to be examined; or
(3) the date you fail to furnish the required proof of Total Disability;
or
(4) the date you become age 70; or
(5) the date you retire.
LRS-6441-36 Ed. 11/00 Page 8.1
You may use the conversion privilege when this extension ceases.
Please refer to the Conversion Privilege section for rules. You are not entitled to conversion if you return to work and are again eligible for the insurance under the Policy. If you use the conversion privilege, benefits will not be payable under the Waiver of Premium in Event of Total Disability provision unless the converted policy is surrendered to us.
LRS-6441-42 Ed. 4/94 Page 9.0
CLAIMS PROVISIONS
NOTICE OF CLAIM: Written notice must be given to us within 31 days after the Loss occurs, or as soon as reasonably possible. The notice should be sent to us at our Administrative Offices or to our authorized agent. The notice should include your name and the Policy Number.
CLAIM FORMS: When we receive written notice of a claim, we will send claim forms to the claimant within 15 days. If we do not, the claimant will satisfy the requirements of written proof of loss by sending us written proof as shown below. The proof must describe the occurrence, extent and nature of the loss.
PROOF OF LOSS: For any covered Loss, written proof must be sent to us within 90 days. If it is not reasonably possible to give proof within 90 days, the claim is not affected if the proof is sent as soon as reasonably possible. In any event, proof must be given within 1 year, unless the claimant is legally incapable of doing so.
PAYMENT OF CLAIMS: Payment will be made as soon as proper proof is received. All benefits will be paid to you, if living. Any benefits unpaid at the time of death, or due to death, will be paid to the beneficiary.
Reliance Standard Life Insurance Company shall serve as the claims review fiduciary with respect to the insurance policy and the Plan. The claims review fiduciary has the discretionary authority to interpret the Plan and the insurance policy and to determine eligibility for benefits.
Decisions by the claims review fiduciary shall be complete, final and binding on all parties.
PHYSICAL EXAMINATION: At our own expense, we will have the right to have you examined as reasonably necessary when a claim is pending.
We can have an autopsy made unless prohibited by law.
LEGAL ACTION: No legal action may be brought against us to recover on the Policy within 60 days after written proof of loss has been given as required by the Policy. No action may be brought after five years from the time written proof of loss is required to be submitted.
LRS-6441-633 Ed. 06/08 Page 10.0
EXTENSION OF COVERAGE UNDER THE FAMILY AND MEDICAL
LEAVE ACT AND UNIFORMED SERVICES
EMPLOYMENT AND REEMPLOYMENT RIGHTS ACT (USERRA)
Family and Medical Leave of Absence:
We will continue your coverage and that of any Insured Dependent, if applicable, in accordance with the Policyholder's policies regarding leave under the Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993, as amended, or any similar state law, as amended, if:
(1) the premium for you and your Insured Dependents, if applicable, continues to be paid during the leave; and
(2) the Policyholder has approved your leave in writing and provides a copy of such approval within thirty-one (31) days of our request.
As long as the above requirements are satisfied, we will continue coverage until the later of:
(1) the end of the leave period required by the Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993, as amended; or
(2) the end of the leave period required by any similar state law, as amended.
Military Services Leave of Absence:
We will continue your coverage and that of any Insured Dependents, if applicable, in accordance with the Policyholder's policies regarding Military Services Leave of Absence under USERRA if the premium for you and your Insured Dependents, if applicable, continues to be paid during the leave.
As long as the above requirement is satisfied, we will continue coverage until the end of the period required by USERRA.
The Policy, while coverage is being continued under this Military Services Leave of Absence extension, does not cover any loss which occurs while on active duty in the military if such loss is caused by or arises out of such military service, including but not limited to war or any act of war, whether declared or undeclared.
While you are on a Family and Medical Leave of Absence for any reason other than your own illness, injury or disability or Military Services Leave of Absence you will be considered Actively at Work. Any changes such as revisions to coverage due to age, class or salary changes, as
LRS-6441-633 Ed. 06/08 Page 10.1 applicable, will apply during the leave except that increases in the amount of insurance, whether automatic or subject to election, will not be effective if you are not considered Actively at Work until you have returned to Active Work for one (1) full day.
A leave of absence taken in accordance with the Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 or USERRA will run concurrently with any other applicable continuation of insurance provision in the Policy.
Your coverage and that of any Insured Dependents, if applicable, will cease under this extension on the earliest of:
(1) the date the Policy terminates; or
(2) the end of the period for which premium has been paid for you; or
(3) the date such leave should end in accordance with the
Policyholder's policies regarding Family and Medical Leave of Absence and Military Services Leave of Absence in compliance with the Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993, as amended and
USERRA.
Should the Policyholder choose not to continue your coverage during a Family and Medical Leave of Absence and/or Military Services Leave of Absence, your coverage as well as any dependent coverage, if applicable, will be reinstated.
LRS-6441-498 Ed. 07/05 Page 11.0
PORTABILITY
You may continue insurance coverage under the Policy if coverage would otherwise terminate because you cease to be an Eligible Person, for reasons other than the termination of the Policy, or your retirement, provided you:
(1) notify us in writing within thirty-one (31) days from the date you cease to be eligible; and
(2) remit the necessary premiums when due; and
(3) are not approved for extension of coverage under the Waiver of
Premium in Event of Total Disability provision, if applicable; and
(4) have not been terminated under the Waiver of Premium in Event of Total Disability provision, if applicable; and
(5) have been covered for twelve (12) months under the Policy and/or the prior group life insurance policy.
Such coverage may be continued for a period of two (2) years beginning on the date you are no longer an Eligible Person.
The amount of coverage available under the Portability provision will be the current amount of coverage you are insured for under the Policy on the last day you were Actively at Work. However, the amount of coverage will never be more than:
(1) the highest amount of life insurance available to Eligible Persons; or
(2) a total of $500,000 from all RSL group life and accidental death and dismemberment insurance combined, whichever is less.
The premium charged to continue coverage will be based on the rate charged under the Policy for other similarly situated Insureds whose coverage under the Policy did not terminate. Such premium will be billed directly to you on a quarterly, semi-annual or annual basis.
If your coverage under the Policy includes Accidental Death and Dismemberment, then such benefits may be continued under the Policy.
Insurance coverage continued under this provision for you will terminate on the first of the following to occur:
(1) the date the Policy terminates; or
(2) the end of the period for which premium has been paid; or
(3) the date you are covered under another group term life insurance policy; or
(4) at the end of the two (2) year period; or
LRS-6441-498 Ed. 07/05 Page 11.1
(5) at any time coverage would normally terminate according to the terms of the Policy had you continued to be an Eligible Person.
In addition, coverage will reduce at any time it would normally reduce according to the terms of the Policy had you continued to be an Eligible Person.
If insurance coverage terminates due to (1) or (4) above, it may be converted to an individual life insurance policy. The conversion will be subject to the terms and conditions set forth under the Conversion Privilege.
LRS-8596-001-0690 Page 12.0
GROUP TERM LIFE INSURANCE LIVING BENEFIT RIDER
THIS RIDER ADDS AN ACCELERATED BENEFIT PROVISION.
RECEIPT OF THIS ACCELERATED BENEFIT WILL REDUCE THE
DEATH BENEFIT AND MAY BE TAXABLE. INSUREDS SHOULD SEEK
ASSISTANCE FROM THEIR PERSONAL TAX ADVISOR.
Attached to Group Policy Number: GL 154572 Issued to Group Policyholder: St. John River Water Management District
This Rider is attached to and made a part of the Policy indicated above.
Your Certificate is hereby amended, in consideration of the application for this coverage, by the addition of the following benefit. In this Rider, Reliance Standard Life Insurance Company will be referred to as “we", “us", “our".
DEFINITIONS: This section gives the meaning of terms used in this Rider. The Definitions of the Policy and Certificate also apply unless they conflict with Definitions given here.
"Certified" or "Certification" refers to a written statement, made by a Physician on a form provided by us, as to the Insured’s Terminal Illness.
"Certificate" means the document, issued to each Insured, which explains the terms of his coverage under the Group Life Insurance Policy.
"Death Benefit" means the insurance amount payable under the Certificate at death of the Insured, subject to all Certificate provisions dealing with changes in the amount of insurance and reductions or termination for age or retirement. It does not include any amount that is only payable in the event of Accidental Death.
"Insured" means the primary Insured and his/her insured Dependents, if any.
"Physician" means a duly licensed practitioner, acting within the scope of his license, who is recognized by the law of the state in which diagnosis is received. The Physician may not be the Insured or a member of his immediate family.
"Policy" means the Group Life Insurance Policy issued to the Group Policyholder under which the Insured is covered.
"Terminally Ill" or "Terminal Illness" refers to an Insured’s illness or physical condition that is Certified by a Physician to reasonably be expected to result in death in less than 12 months.
LRS-8596-001-0690 Page 12.1
"Written Request" means a request made, in writing, by the Insured to us.
All pronouns include either gender unless the context indicates otherwise.
DESCRIPTION OF COVERAGE: This benefit is payable to the Insured if, after having been covered under this Rider for at least 60 days, an Insured is Certified as Terminally Ill. In order for this benefit to be paid:
(1) the Insured must make a Written Request; and
(2) we must receive from any assignee or irrevocable beneficiary their signed acknowledgment and agreement to payment of this benefit.
We may, at our option, confirm the terminal diagnosis with a second medical exam performed at our own expense.
AMOUNT OF THE LIVING BENEFIT: The Living Benefit will be an amount equal to 75% of the Death Benefit applicable to the Insured under the Policy on the date of the Certification of Terminal Illness, subject to a maximum benefit of $500,000. This benefit may be paid as a single lump sum or in installment payments mutually agreed to by us and the Insured.
The Living Benefit is payable one time only for any Insured under this Rider.
EFFECT OF BENEFIT: If an Insured becomes eligible for, and elects to receive this benefit, it will have the following effects:
(1) The Death Benefit payable for such Insured will be reduced by an amount equal to the Living Benefit paid to such Insured. The amount of the Living Benefit plus the corresponding Death Benefit will not exceed the amount that would have been paid as the Death Benefit in the absence of this Rider.
(2) Any amount of insurance that would otherwise be continued under a Waiver of Premium provision will be reduced proportionately, as will the maximum Face Amount available under the Conversion Privilege.
MISSTATEMENT OF AGE OR SEX: The Living Benefit will be adjusted to reflect the amount of benefit that would have been purchased by the actual premium paid at the correct age and sex.
TERMINATION OF AN INDIVIDUAL’S COVERAGE UNDER THIS
RIDER: The coverage of any Insured under this Rider will terminate on
LRS-8596-001-0690 Page 12.2 the first of the following:
(1) the date his coverage under the Policy terminates;
(2) the date of payment of the Living Benefit for his Terminal Illness;
(3) the date he attains age 75.
ADDITIONAL PROVISIONS: This Rider takes effect on the Effective Date shown. It will terminate on the date the Group Policy terminates. It is subject to all the terms of the Group Policy not inconsistent herein.
In witness whereof, we have caused this Rider to be signed by our Secretary.
Secretary
Claim Procedures and ERISA Statement of Rights
CLAIM PROCEDURES FOR CLAIMS FILED WITH
RELIANCE STANDARD LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY
ON OR AFTER JANUARY 1, 2002
CLAIMS FOR BENEFITS
Claims may be submitted by mailing the completed form along with any requested information to:
Reliance Standard Life Insurance Company Claims Department P.O. Box 8330 Philadelphia, PA 19101-8330
Claim forms are available from your benefits representative or may be requested by writing to the above address or by calling 1-800-644-1103.
TIMING OF NOTIFICATION OF BENEFIT DETERMINATION
Non-Disability Benefit Claims If a non-disability claim is wholly or partially denied, the claimant shall be notified of the adverse benefit determination within a reasonable period of time, but not later than 90 days after our receipt of the claim, unless it is determined that special circumstances require an extension of time for processing the claim. If it is determined that an extension of time for processing is required, written notice of the extension shall be furnished to the claimant prior to the termination of the initial 90-day period. In no event shall such extension exceed a period of 90 days from the end of such initial period. The extension notice shall indicate the special circumstances requiring an extension of time and the date by which the benefit determination is expected to be rendered.
Calculating time periods. The period of time within which a benefit determination is required to be made shall begin at the time a claim is filed, without regard to whether all the information necessary to make a benefit determination accompanies the filing.
Disability Benefit Claims In the case of a claim for disability benefits, the claimant shall be notified of the adverse benefit determination within a reasonable period of time, but not later than 45 days after our receipt of the claim. This period may be extended for up to 30 days, provided that it is determined that such an extension is necessary due to matters beyond our control and that notification is provided to the claimant, prior to the expiration of the initial 45-day period, of the circumstances requiring the extension of time and the date by which a decision is expected to be rendered. If, prior to the end of the first 30-day extension period, it is determined that, due to matters beyond our control, a decision cannot be rendered within that extension period, the period for making the determination may be extended for up to an additional 30 days, provided that the claimant is notified, prior to the expiration of the first 30-day extension period, of the circumstances requiring the extension and the date by which a decision is expected to be rendered. In the case of any such extension, the notice of extension shall specifically explain the standards on which entitlement to a benefit is based, the unresolved issues that prevent a decision on the claim, and the additional information needed to resolve those issues, and the claimant shall be afforded at least 45 days within which to provide the specified information.
Calculating time periods. The period of time within which a benefit determination is required to be made shall begin at the time a claim is filed, without regard to whether all the information necessary to make a benefit determination accompanies the filing. In the event that a period of time is extended due to a claimant’s failure to submit information necessary to decide a claim, the period for making the benefit determination shall be tolled from the date on which the notification of the extension is sent to the claimant until the date on which the claimant responds to the request for additional information.
MANNER AND CONTENT OF NOTIFICATION OF BENEFIT
DETERMINATION
Non-Disability Benefit Claims A Claimant shall be provided with written notification of any adverse benefit determination. The notification shall set forth, in a manner calculated to be understood by the claimant, the following:
1. The specific reason or reasons for the adverse determination;
2. Reference to the specific plan/policy provisions on which the determination is based;
3. A description of any additional material or information necessary for the claimant to perfect the claim and an explanation of why such material or information is necessary; and
4. A description of the review procedures and the time limits applicable to such procedures, including a statement of the claimant’s right to bring a civil action under section 502(a) of the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 as amended ("ERISA") (where applicable), following an adverse benefit determination on review.
A claimant shall be provided with written notification of any adverse benefit determination. The notification shall be set forth, in a manner calculated to be understood by the claimant, the following:
1. The specific reason or reasons for the adverse determination;
2. Reference to the specific plan/policy provisions on which the determination is based;
3. A description of any additional material or information necessary for the claimant to perfect the claim and an explanation of why such material or information is necessary;
4. A description of the review procedures and the time limits applicable to such procedures, including a statement of the claimant’s right to bring a civil action under section 502(a) of the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 as amended ("ERISA") (where applicable), following an adverse benefit determination on review;
and
5. If an internal rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar criterion was relied upon in making the adverse determination, either the specific rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar criterion; or a statement that such a rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar criterion was relied upon in making the adverse determination and that a copy of such rule, guideline, protocol, or other criterion will be provided free of charge to the claimant upon request.
APPEALS OF ADVERSE BENEFIT DETERMINATIONS
Appeals of adverse benefit determinations may be submitted in accordance with the following procedures to:
Reliance Standard Life Insurance Company Quality Review Unit P.O. Box 8330 Philadelphia, PA 19101-8330
Non-Disability Benefit Claims
1. Claimants (or their authorized representatives) must appeal within 60 days following their receipt of a notification of an adverse benefit determination, and only one appeal is allowed;
2. Claimants shall be provided with the opportunity to submit written comments, documents, records, and/or other information relating to the claim for benefits in conjunction with their timely appeal;
3. Claimants shall be provided, upon request and free of charge, reasonable access to, and copies of, all documents, records, and other information relevant to the claimant’s claim for benefits;
4. The review on (timely) appeal shall take into account all comments, documents, records, and other information submitted by the claimant relating to the claim, without regard to whether such information was submitted or considered in the initial benefit determination;
5. No deference to the initial adverse benefit determination shall be afforded upon appeal;
6. The appeal shall be conducted by an individual who is neither the individual who made the (underlying) adverse benefit determination that is the subject of the appeal, nor the subordinate of such individual; and
7. Any medical or vocational expert(s) whose advice was obtained in connection with a claimant’s adverse benefit determination shall be identified, without regard to whether the advice was relied upon in making the benefit determination.
1. Claimants (or their authorized representatives) must appeal within
180 days following their receipt of a notification of an adverse benefit determination, and only one appeal is allowed;
2. Claimants shall be provided with the opportunity to submit written comments, documents, records, and/or other information relating to the claim for benefits in conjunction with their timely appeal;
3. Claimants shall be provided, upon request and free of charge, reasonable access to, and copies of, all documents, records, and other information relevant to the claimant’s claim for benefits;
4. The review on (timely) appeal shall take into account all comments, documents, records, and other information submitted by the claimant relating to the claim, without regard to whether such information was submitted or considered in the initial benefit determination;
5. No deference to the initial adverse benefit determination shall be afforded upon appeal;
6. The appeal shall be conducted by an individual who is neither the individual who made the (underlying) adverse benefit determination that is the subject of the appeal, nor the subordinate of such individual;
7. Any medical or vocational expert(s) whose advice was obtained in connection with a claimant’s adverse benefit determination shall be identified, without regard to whether the advice was relied upon in making the benefit determination; and
8. In deciding the appeal of any adverse benefit determination that is based in whole or in part on a medical judgment, the individual conducting the appeal shall consult with a health care professional:
(a) who has appropriate training and experience in the field of medicine involved in the medical judgment; and
(b) who is neither an individual who was consulted in connection with the adverse benefit determination that is the subject of the appeal; nor the subordinate of any such individual.
TIMING OF NOTIFICATION OF BENEFIT DETERMINATION ON
REVIEW
Non-Disability Benefit Claims The claimant (or their authorized representative) shall be notified of the benefit determination on review within a reasonable period of time, but not later than 60 days after receipt of the claimant’s timely request for review, unless it is determined that special circumstances require an extension of time for processing the appeal. If it is determined that an extension of time for processing is required, written notice of the extension shall be furnished to the claimant prior to the termination of the initial 60-day period. In no event shall such extension exceed a period of 60 days from the end of the initial period. The extension notice shall indicate the special circumstances requiring an extension of time and the date by which the determination on review is expected to be rendered.
Calculating time periods. The period of time within which a benefit determination on review is required to be made shall begin at the time an appeal is timely filed, without regard to whether all the information necessary to make a benefit determination on review accompanies the filing. In the event that a period of time is extended as above due to a claimant’s failure to submit information necessary to decide a claim, the period for making the benefit determination on review shall be tolled from the date on which the notification of the extension is sent to the claimant until the date on which the claimant responds to the request for additional information.
Disability Benefit Claims The claimant (or their authorized representative) shall be notified of the benefit determination on review within a reasonable period of time, but not later than 45 days after receipt of the claimant’s timely request for review, unless it is determined that special circumstances require an extension of time for processing the appeal. If it is determined that an extension of time for processing is required, written notice of the extension shall be furnished to the claimant prior to the termination of the initial 45-day period. In no event shall such extension exceed a period of 45 days from the end of the initial period. The extension notice shall indicate the special circumstances requiring an extension of time and the date by which the determination on review is expected to be rendered.
Calculating time periods. The period of time within which a benefit determination on review is required to be made shall begin at the time an appeal is timely filed, without regard to whether all the information necessary to make a benefit determination on review accompanies the filing. In the event that a period of time is extended as above due to a claimant’s failure to submit information necessary to decide a claim, the period for making the benefit determination on review shall be tolled from the date on which the notification of the extension is sent to the claimant until the date on which the claimant responds to the request for additional information.
MANNER AND CONTENT OF NOTIFICATION OF BENEFIT
DETERMINATION ON REVIEW
Non-Disability Benefit Claims A claimant shall be provided with written notification of the benefit determination on review. In the case of an adverse benefit determination on review, the notification shall set forth, in a manner calculated to be understood by the claimant, the following:
1. The specific reason or reasons for the adverse determination;
2. Reference to the specific plan/policy provisions on which the determination is based;
3. A statement that the claimant is entitled to receive, upon request and free of charge, reasonable access to, and copies of, all documents, records, and other information relevant to the claimant’s claim for benefits; and
4. A statement of the claimant’s right to bring an action under section 502(a) of ERISA (where applicable).
A claimant must be provided with written notification of the determination on review. In the case of adverse benefit determination on review, the notification shall set forth, in a manner calculated to be understood by the claimant, the following:
1. The specific reason or reasons for the adverse determination;
2. Reference to the specific plan/policy provisions on which the determination is based;
3. A statement that the claimant is entitled to receive, upon request and free of charge, reasonable access to, and copies of, all documents, records, and other information relevant to the claimant’s claim for benefits;
4. A statement of the claimant’s right to bring an action under section 502(a) of ERISA (where applicable);
5. If an internal rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar criterion was relied upon in making the adverse determination, either the specific rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar criterion; or a statement that such a rule, guideline, protocol, or other similar criterion was relied upon in making the adverse determination and that a copy of such rule, guideline, protocol, or other criterion will be provided free of charge to the claimant upon request; and
6. The following statement: "You and your plan may have other voluntary alternative dispute resolution options, such as mediation.
One way to find out what may be available is to contact your local U.S. Department of Labor Office and your State insurance regulatory agency (where applicable)."
DEFINITIONS
The term "adverse benefit determination" means any of the following: a denial, reduction, or termination of, or a failure to provide or make payment (in whole or in part) for, a benefit, including any such denial, reduction, termination, or failure to provide or make payment that is based on a determination of a participant’s or beneficiary’s eligibility to participate in a plan.
The term "us" or "our" refers to Reliance Standard Life Insurance Company.
The term "relevant" means:
A document, record, or other information shall be considered relevant to a claimant’s claim if such document, record or other information:
• Was relied upon in making the benefit determination;
• Was submitted, considered, or generated in the course of making the benefit determination, without regard to whether such document, record or other information was relied upon in making the benefit determination;
• Demonstrates compliance with administrative processes and safeguards designed to ensure and to verify that benefit claim determinations are made in accordance with governing plan documents and that, where appropriate, the plan provisions have been applied consistently with respect to similarly situated claimants;
• In the case of a plan providing disability benefits, constitutes a statement of policy or guidance with respect to the plan concerning the denied benefit of the claimant’s diagnosis, without regard to whether such advice or statement was relied upon in making the benefit determination.
The term "Reliance Standard Life Insurance Company" means Reliance Standard Life Insurance Company and/or its authorized claim administrators.
ERISA STATEMENT OF RIGHTS
As a participant in the Group Insurance Plan, you may be entitled to certain rights and protections in the event that the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA) applies. ERISA provides that all Plan Participants shall be entitled to:
Receive Information About Your Plan and Benefits
Examine, without charge, at the Plan Administrator's office and at other specified locations, such as worksites and union halls, all documents governing the Plan, including insurance contracts and collective bargaining agreements, and a copy of the latest annual report (Form 5500 Series) filed by the Plan with the U.S. Department of Labor and available at the Public Disclosure Room of the Employee Benefits Security Administration.
Obtain, upon written request to the Plan Administrator, copies of documents governing the operation of the Plan, including insurance contracts and collective bargaining agreements, and copies of the latest annual report (Form 5500 Series) and updated summary plan description. The Administrator may make a reasonable charge for the copies.
Receive a summary of the Plan's annual financial report. The Plan Administrator is required by law to furnish each participant with a copy of this summary annual report.
Prudent Actions by Plan Fiduciaries
In addition to creating rights for Plan Participants, ERISA imposes duties upon the people who are responsible for the operation of the employee benefits plan. The people who operate your Plan, called "fiduciaries" of the Plan, have a duty to do so prudently and in the interests of you and other Plan Participants and Beneficiaries. No one, including your employer, your union, or any other person, may fire you or otherwise discriminate against you in any way to prevent you from obtaining a benefit or exercising your rights under ERISA.
Reliance Standard Life Insurance Company shall serve as the claims review fiduciary with respect to the insurance policy and the Plan. The claims review fiduciary has the discretionary authority to interpret the Plan and the insurance policy and to determine eligibility for benefits.
Decisions by the claims review fiduciary shall be complete, final and binding on all parties.
Enforce Your Rights
If your claim for a benefit is denied or ignored, in whole or in part, you have a right to know why this was done, to obtain copies of documents relating to the decision without charge, and to…
This is the start of the file's text. The full file is on GovTribe.
File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .