A19-QUESTION AND ANSWER SPREADSHEET 04.03.26.xlsx

XLSX spreadsheet 61 KB Posted

Attached to
Advancing Artificial Intelligence Skills in Registered Apprenticeships
Solicitation number
1605C2-26-R-00003
Issued by

About this file

This is a Questions and Answers (Q&A) spreadsheet containing 227 responses to prospective offeror inquiries regarding RFP 1605C2-26-R-00003, "Advancing Artificial Intelligence Skills in Registered Apprenticeships." The questions address critical clarifications across technical requirements, staffing, pricing, evaluation criteria, intellectual property, and period of performance for this Department of Labor contract.

Key clarifications include: the corrected Period of Performance is June 1, 2026 through May 31, 2031 (one 12-month base period plus four 12-month option periods); the contract will be awarded as Firm-Fixed Price with mandatory labor categories and hours that offerors cannot modify; offerors must have NAICS code 611513 listed on their SAM registration at time of award; this is an unrestricted (non-set-aside) procurement; the prime contractor must perform at least 51% of work with no percentage restrictions on subcontracting beyond this minimum; ODC ceilings are not-to-exceed limits per period with no carryover between periods, and all travel, supplies/materials, and outreach/marketing costs are included within the ODC allocation; the Government will provide all necessary access to ETA systems (Salesforce, RAPIDS) and will bear licensing costs; key personnel (Project Director, Project Manager, Senior SME) must have resumes submitted within 30 days of award and are subject to background investigations and PIV card requirements; and offerors may propose two individuals for the Senior SME position to fulfill both RA regulatory expertise and AI subject matter expertise requirements. Performance metrics include developing up to 20 or more new AI-centric occupations annually, reviewing and vetting a minimum of 25 apprenticeable occupation requests annually, and publishing five reports/issue papers/publications/podcasts annually in any combination of formats; Government will not provide minimum targets for outreach sessions, and awarded contractors must conduct necessary and sufficient sessions in collaboration with OA to meet performance goals. The Government retains unlimited intellectual property rights in all contract-developed materials, though offerors retain rights to pre-existing proprietary materials brought to the contract.

View the file

Other files

On GovTribe

Work with this file

  • Download the original file
  • Contacts named in this file
  • Similar government files
  • Ask GovTribe AI about this file

Text version

Sheet1

RFP 1605C2-26-R-00003 - Advancing Artificial Intelligence Skills in Registered Apprenticeships
Question TitleSection NumberQuestion DetailGovernment Response
1Teaming — Past Performance AttributionSection G / Vol. IIThe RFP requires three past performance references of similar scope, complexity, and dollar value within the last four years. If an offeror is proposing as a prime with one or more subcontractors, may the offeror submit past performance references from subcontractors or teaming partners in lieu of, or in addition to, prime contractor references? Will subcontractor past performance be evaluated on equal footing with prime contractor past performance for purposes of Factor 2?If an offeror submits a reference from subcontractor, the reference needs to be clearly annotated that the subcontractor performed the work - not the offeror. Subcontractor past performance will be evaluated in accordance with the RFP terms and conditions.
2Past Performance — Relevancy Across SectorsSection G / Vol. IIThe PWS spans AI education, workforce development, and RA program expansion. Will the Government consider past performance from contracts in adjacent sectors (e.g., AI consulting, EdTech product development, AI curriculum design, defense workforce training) as 'similar in scope and complexity,' even if those contracts did not involve the Registered Apprenticeship system specifically? Please clarify how 'relevancy' will be determined when no single contract maps to the full breadth of this PWS.Work to submit past performance references that are as similar in complexity and scope to the RFP requirements as possible. Each reference will be evaluated on an individual basis to determine relevancy based on the RFP.
3Senior SME — RA System Experience vs. AI ExpertiseSection 1.6.11.1The Senior SME qualification lists both deep RA regulatory expertise (§29 CFR Part 29, RAPIDS, SAA processes) and AI subject matter expertise as requirements. May an offeror satisfy the Senior SME qualification by proposing two individuals in that role — one with RA/workforce development expertise and one with AI subject matter expertise — or must a single individual possess both skill sets? Alternatively, may AI-specific expertise be addressed through a separately proposed AI Subject Matter Expert labor category?Yes, offerors may propose two individuals for the same Labor CLIN. Offerors may not add a separate CLINs not identified within the RFP.
4Published Research and Authored Works as Qualification EvidenceSection 1.6.11.1 / Section G Subfactor 1The PWS requires the offeror to publish five reports, issue papers, and similar publications per year (PRS #5), and Subfactor 1 evaluates knowledge of AI technologies and workforce industries. May an offeror cite peer-reviewed publications and commercially published books authored by proposed key personnel as evidence of AI subject matter expertise and publication capability? Will such works be considered during technical evaluation under Subfactor 1 and/or Subfactor 3?Yes, offerors may site peer reviewed publication, etc. as evidence of AI Subject Matter Expertise. Yes, these will be used to evaluate the technical factor. These publications (non-links) do not count against page requirement.
5ODC Ceiling — Scope and FlexibilitySection B / Pricing ScheduleThe ODC ceiling for the base period is listed as NTE $185,000 (escalating across option periods). Please confirm: (1) whether the ODC ceiling is a hard not-to-exceed limit per period or an estimated ceiling subject to negotiation; (2) whether unused ODC funds from one period may carry forward to a subsequent period; and (3) whether travel costs are included within the stated ODC ceiling or budgeted separately.1) The ODC ceiling is a not-to-exceed limit per period. 2) Unused ODC funds will not carry forward from one period to a subsequent period. 3) Travel costs are included within the stated ODC ceiling.
6Salesforce — Government-Furnished AccessSection 1.6.9 / Task 1Task 1 requires the contractor to enter data into ETA's Salesforce system. Will the Government provide the contractor with Salesforce licenses and training, or is the contractor expected to independently acquire access? Will the contractor be given write access to existing OA Salesforce instances, or a dedicated contractor environment?The Government will provide all necessary access and training to ETA System for vendor to meet performance requirement. The Government will incur the cost for the access and license.
7Volume I Page Limit — Exclusions ClarificationSection F / Table 1The RFP states that resumes, letters of intent, and sub-offeror partnership agreements do not count against the 25-page Volume I limit, and that staffing charts and labor loading diagrams are also excluded. Please confirm whether a Personnel Qualifications Matrix (mapping individuals to PWS tasks and labor categories) is excluded from the page count as a 'chart or table,' or whether it counts against the 25-page narrative limit.No it will not counts against the 25-page narrative limit.
8Award Without Discussions — Best and Final IntentSection GThe RFP states the Government intends to award without discussions. If the Government determines discussions are necessary, will all offerors in the competitive range receive an equal opportunity for a Best and Final Offer (BAFO)? Additionally, will offerors be notified if they are excluded from the competitive range prior to award?Yes, Offerors will be notified accordingly.
9NAICS CodeSF1449On the SF1449 of the solicitation, the NAICS 611513 Apprenticeship Training Programs code is specified. Will the government exclude Offerors and their subcontractors that do not have the NAICS 611513 code from submitting a bid response to this solicitation?Yes, Offerors must have 611513 listed on their SAM registration at the time of award.
10NAICS CodeSF1449Will DOL consider expanding, updating and/or changing the NAICS code to include 611430 – Professional and Management Development Training?No, the NAICS will remain as 611513.
11Sourcing of AI resources1.4 Scope, pg 13The RFP states the offerer shall "identify and recommend available free AI resources". Is DOL open to inclusion of paid resources too?Yes, this will need to be submitted to DOL ETA for review first.
12Intermediary Orientation TrainingsPart 5, Task 1, p 22Clarify "participate in intermediary orientation trainings" - is this referring to orientation / onboarding of offeror team members?Orientation training is conducted between Vendor and COR (including other applicable OA staff) to orient awarded vendor to OA and contract.
13DOL-funded RA expansion effortsPart 5, Task 4What national RA expansion efforts are currently funded by DOL?Please visit https://www.apprenticeship.gov/ to review all RA national expansion efforts.
14Task 2 Performance ObjectivesPart 7, Technical Exhibit 1 - Performance Requirements Summary, p 27Are there defined performance objectives for Task 2? If so, what are they?Task 2 does not have performance requirements, but has a deliverable schedule.
15Deliverables for Tasks 2 & 4Part 7, Technical Exhibit 2 - Deliverables Schedule, p 28Is there a defined set of deliverables and schedule for Tasks 2 and 4? If so, what are they?Yes. See PWS for full Table.
16Task 2 Performance ObjectivesPart 5, Task 2, p 23Can the Government clarify the quantitative performance targets and success metrics associated with Task 2 (Sector-Based Outreach and Recruitment), including expected numbers for employer engagements, new Registered Apprenticeship (RA) programs, and apprentice enrollments/retention?Task 2 does not have performance requirements, but has deliverable schedule.
17Pricing - ODCsPricing ScheduleWhere should ODCs be reflected in the pricing schedule?ODC amounts have been set and provided by the Department in Section B. Offeror should not be providing ODC pricing.
18Clarification of minimum requirementsPart 5, Task 4, p 24 & Part 7, Technical Exhibit 1 - Performance Requirements Sumary, p 27Part 5, Task 4 (p 24) says "Participate in the review and vet a minimum of 25 apprenticeable occupation requests"; Part 4, Technical Exhibit 1 lists a "minimum of 20". Which number should we base our response on?25. See updated Exhibit Tables 1 and 2.
19Goal 1 - expansion targets1.3 Objectives, Goal 1, p 10For Goal 1: Increase AI Literacy through RA, has DOL defined a targeted number of additional RA programs incorporating AI-related training materials? If so, how many additional programs should the offerer target?There is no target number of additional RA programs to incorporate AI-related training materials. The Government is interested in the development of AI-related training materials that any RA program sponsor could use.
20Definition of 'AI Literacy' for Scope PurposesSection C, Part 1, Objective 1 / PWS Task 3The RFP asks the vendor to increase AI literacy across all RA industries and occupations. Can the Government provide a working definition of 'AI literacy' for the purposes of this contract—particularly the minimum depth of AI knowledge or competency that qualifies as meeting the literacy standard? Will the vendor be expected to align with DOL's published AI Literacy Framework, or does the Government expect the vendor to propose its own framework for DOL's review and approval?Yes, for consistency, the Department expects the vendor to use the same AI Literacy definition as the one included in the AI Literacy Framework which defines AI literacy as "a foundational set of competencies that enable individuals to use and evaluate AI technologies responsibly, with a primary focus on generative AI, which is increasingly central to the modern workplace." Yes, DOL expects any RA specific AI related frameworks the vendor creates to align with DOL's AI Framework.
21Success Metrics for New AI-Centric RA OccupationsSection C, PWS Task 3 / Technical Exhibit 1, PRS #7The PWS states the vendor shall work with employers and sponsors to develop 'up to 20 or more new AI-centric occupations for new or existing RA programs.' Does the Government consider a registered, active RA program as the completion criterion, or is the vendor's obligation met at an earlier stage (e.g., submission of program standards for OA review)? Will partial credit be awarded if fewer than 20 programs are fully registered?The vendor is expected to develop up to 20 or more new-AI-centric occupations housed in new or existing standards and/or adding an AI occupation to an existing program. The COR and awarded vendor can review this sub-task quarterly to ensure goal will be met. Awarded vendor may be required to develop a plan to meet goal, if needed.
22Role of the Vendor vs. OA in Registration ProcessSection C, Part 1, Scope / PWS Task 4The PWS describes the vendor as providing technical assistance to sponsors and potential sponsors to help them become 'registration-ready.' Can the Government clarify how much of the actual registration process the vendor is expected to complete on behalf of sponsors versus serving in an advisory capacity? Specifically, will the vendor interact directly with SAA staff and enter data into RAPIDS, or will OA staff handle registration steps after the vendor prepares the materials?Technical assistance would be completed on the program standards to ensure they are registration ready. The vendor may interact directly with the registration agency, either OA or the appropriate SAA, depending on the state in which the program will be registered.
23Expected Volume of Outreach Activities and EventsSection C, PWS Task 2Task 2 requires the vendor to conduct outreach and informational sessions, but the PWS does not specify a minimum number of sessions or events per year. Can the Government provide estimated targets or ranges (e.g., number of employer engagements, webinars, or accelerator events per contract year) that would represent satisfactory performance? Will these targets be set in the Work Plan during the post-award kickoff, or are they expected to be proposed by the vendor in the technical proposal?There is no minimum number of outreach session required under this requirement. Awarded vendor is expected to conduct necessary and sufficient outreach sessions to ensure contract performance goals are met in collaboration with OA.
24Subcontracting Expectations and TeamingSection F (Instructions to Offerors) / Section C, QualificationsThe Qualifications section references a broad range of expertise—including national/global AI industry knowledge, RA system expertise, curriculum development, and stakeholder convening. Is the Government open to teams where a prime vendor subcontracts specific functional areas to specialized partners, or does the Government prefer a single organization that can independently perform all tasks? Are there any limitations on the portion of work that may be performed by subcontractors?The prime contractor must perform at least 51% of the work required in the PWS. The Government does not have any other limitations for subcontractor work.
25Staffing: Full-Time vs. Part-Time Key PersonnelSection C, Part 1, Section 1.6.11 / Section G, Subfactor 3The RFP identifies the Project Director, Project Manager, and Senior SME as key personnel. Are these three positions expected to be dedicated full-time (i.e., 100% effort) to this contract? If part-time engagement is acceptable for any of these roles, what is the minimum time commitment the Government will consider adequate to be evaluated as meeting key personnel requirements?Refer to RFP pricing instruction on page 72 and reference the hours identified for all labor category, including key personnel.
26Clarification on ODC Budget Scope and Allowable UsesSection B (Pricing Schedule), ODC CategoriesThe pricing schedule lists three ODC categories—Supplies and Materials, Travel, and Outreach and Marketing—with Not-to-Exceed amounts that increase by period. Can the Government clarify whether costs associated with event production (e.g., venue rental, A/V equipment, catering for convenings required under Task 3) would be classified under 'Travel' or 'Outreach and Marketing'? Are subcontractor costs included within the labor line items, or should they be captured under ODCs?Cost associate with event production are included within Outreach and Marketing. Subcontractors' labor cost are included within the labor CLIN(s).
27Deliverable Format and OA Approval TimelineSection C, Section 1.6.1 / Technical Exhibit 2The Deliverables Schedule indicates most deliverable formats and timelines will be 'established in work plan' or 'as defined by COR.' Before proposals are due, can the Government share approximate turnaround times it expects for OA review and feedback on draft deliverables (e.g., reports, frameworks, curricula)? Understanding typical review cycles will help Offerors build realistic project schedules.The project work plan will identify the deliverable timeline/schedule. See exhibit Table 2 for revised medium/format.
28Coordination with Other OA-Funded IntermediariesSection C, PWS Task 4Task 4 references the need to establish coordination with 'DOL-funded intermediaries' and avoid duplication of effort across existing OA-funded RA programs. Can the Government identify the primary existing OA-funded intermediaries this vendor would be expected to coordinate with, and describe the nature of that coordination (e.g., referrals only, joint deliverables, shared data)? Understanding the existing intermediary landscape is critical to scoping appropriate staffing and outreach strategies.Information on DOL-funded intermeadiaries can be found on apprenticeship.gov under the resourcs section. As stated in Part 5, Task 4, offerors shall establish coordination and communication processes and opportunities with OA, DOL-funded intermediaries, and/or SAA staff prior to engaging employers and/or assisting sponsors and employers in the development of RA programs in existing or new industries.
29Clarification on WOSB Set-Aside StatusSF 1449, Block 10 / Section D, FAR 52.219-1The SF 1449 cover page indicates the acquisition is 'Unrestricted,' yet the form header reads 'Women-Owned Small Business (WOSB) Solicitation.' Can the Government confirm the exact set-aside status of this procurement? If the acquisition is unrestricted, are large businesses and non-WOSB small businesses eligible to compete? If a set-aside is intended, please confirm the applicable program (WOSB or EDWOSB) and any associated certification requirements.The Unrestricted box is checked on the SF1449, Block 10. No where does it state this is a set-aside. This is not a set-aside. This is an unrestricted procurement.
30Clarification of requirementsPart 5, Task 3, p 23The RFP requires “five (5) reports, issue papers, publications, data synopsis, podcasts, etc.”
Can DOL clarify the expected format, length, and level of rigor for each deliverable type? Are these five deliverables fixed outputs, or can they be a mix (e.g., 2 reports + 3 podcasts)?Yes, this can be a mix. The awarded vendor should include in their technical proposal how they intend to implement this requirement. If contract is awarded, the vendor should be flexible if the Department wishes a change in what is proposed.
31B - Supplies or Services/Prices (pg 4)The assigned Labor Category hours reflect a steady team size year to year. Does the government anticipate that each task area will be executed for each option year of this effort?Yes.
321.4 Scope (pg 13)The PWS states that the "offeror shall implement complex AI requirements across all industries and partners". Please confirm the requirement is limited to AI literacy and Registered Apprenticeship (RA) program integration support, and does not include developing or deploying AI software/solutions.Yes, it's limited to AI literacy and RA program integration support and does not include developing or deploying AI software solutions.
331.4 Scope (pg 13)The PWS states that the "Offeror shall perform activities that support innovations promoting advancements in the RA ecosystem through AI." Please confirm this refers to improvements in training/technical assistance (TA), marketing & outreach, communications, convenings, and program management, versus innovation via a specific AI product build.Yes, when the PWS states advancements in the RA ecosystem through AI, it's referring to improvements in training/technical assistance (TA), marketing & outreach, communications, convenings, and program management, not necessarily a specific AI product build; however if the vendor recommends one, the Department would be open to considering it.
341.4 Scope (pg 13)The PWS states that the "Offeror shall work with employers, including those with national and global footprints, to identify and deploy cutting-edge AI technologies…" Please clarify the role that OA plays in deploying these technologies and the nature of support expected by the offeror. Also, please confirm the Offeror will not be responsible for employer technology implementation, cybersecurity accreditation, or system operations.The vendor's role is to provide subject matter expertise, support, and assistance to employers to help them develop and expand AI programs or integrate AI training into their programs. Confirming that the vendor will not be responsible for employer technology implementation, cybersecurity accreditation, or system operations.
351.6.15 Phase In/Phase Out Period (pg.18)The PWS states that the offeror "shall have personnel on board during the thirty (30) day phase-in/phase-out periods." Please confirm that this period takes place prior to the contract start date and is therefore not reflected in LCAT hours.No. The onboarding period is part of the period of performance.
365.1 - Task 2 (pg 23)Please clarify the role that the government expects the offeror to play in "amplify(ing) DOL RA promotional and marketing efforts."Government expects the vendor to incorporate language about current promotional marketing efforts in their materials to cross-promote DOL RA-related initiatives. Government will provide cleared messaging language for cross-promoting DOL RA-realted initiatives.
375.1 - Task 3 (pg 23)The PWS calls for the offeror to "develop up to 20 or more new AI centric occupations for
new or existing RA programs." Please confirm whether the ‘up to 20 or more’ quantity is expected per base/option year or cumulative over the full period of performance (base + options).The requirement to develop up to 20 or more new AI centric ocupations is expected per base/option year.
385.1 - Task 4 (pg 24)The PWS calls for the offeror to "review and vet a minimum of 25 apprenticeable occupation requests." Please confirm whether this minimum applies per base/option year or is cumulative over the full period of performance.The requirement to review and vet a minumum of 25 apprenticeable occupation requests is expected per base/option year.
395.1 - Task 4 (pg 24) and Technical Exhibit 1 PRS #8 (pg 27)Page 24 calls for the offeror to "review and vet a minimum of 25 apprenticeable occupation requests."

Page 27 - "PRS# 8. Participate in the review and vet a minimum of 20 apprenticeable occupation requests for new occupations in relevant industries using the Apprenticeship Occupation Request (AOR) tool."

Please confirm the volume, 20 or 25.25. See updated Exhibit Tables 1 and 2.
40Pricing Volume, Column BPlease confirm that the LCAT is the only required data in column B.Yes, and all offerors must complete the Pricing Sheet
41Pricing VolumeGiven the PWS emphasizes AI literacy training, development of curricula/RTI outlines/work process schedules, and technical assistance/facilitation and outreach to Registered Apprenticeship (RA) sponsors and stakeholders—and does not require building or operating AI/IT systems—does the Government consider the principal purpose of this requirement to be Talent Development/Professional and Management Development Training and related training development? If so, will the Government align the solicitation to NAICS 611430 and, if leveraging GSA MAS, the 611430TD SIN (Talent Development) as the most appropriate contract vehicle solution?”No, the NAICS will remain as 611513.
42Fixed price contract1.6.6Section 1.6.6 states that the Government contemplates award of a Fixed Price contract. Section G, Evaluation Factors for Award, states that “The Government will award a Fixed Price contract from this solicitation.” Please confirm whether this contract will be awarded as a Fixed Price contract.The contract will be awarded as Fixed Price.
43Clarification Regarding Participation in Multiple or Future Solicitations1.6.13Under Section 1.6.13 (Organizational Conflict of Interest), please clarify whether an organization’s participation in the Artificial Intelligence (AI) solicitation—either as a prime offeror or subcontractor—would be considered an organizational conflict of interest with respect to a future Registered Apprenticeship (RA) Industry Intermediary solicitation, or whether any mitigation, firewalls, or restrictions would be required to preserve eligibility for such a future opportunity.An Offeror is not prohibited from applying to one or more Department of Labor (DOL) contract funding opportunities. If an organization is a recipient of more than one DOL funded project, the recipient is responsible for establishing safeguards to maintain a separation of duties for managing the administrative, fiscal, and programmatic functions of each project. Additional safeguards may be necessary for the lead entity to clearly specify roles, responsibilities, level of effort (per contract terms and condition), and relationships that are involved in administering more than one Federal funding opportunity.
44Definition of Success MetricsSection C – ObjectivesWhat specific quantitative metrics (e.g., number of apprentices, employers engaged, RA programs developed, AI curriculum adoption) will be used to measure contractor success?Review PWS Tasks 1-4 to see all performance metrics that will be used to measure success.
45Annual Targets and Scale ExpectationsSection C – ScopeDoes the Government have expected annual or total targets for number of RA programs, apprentices, or employer engagements?Review PWS Tasks 1-4 for all targets under this contracts.
46Prioritization Across 3 GoalsSection C.1.3 ObjectivesHow should offerors prioritize effort across AI literacy, AI-centric occupations, and AI infrastructure occupations?The goals to increase AI literacy and RA programs in AI centric and AI infrastructure occupations are equally important.
47Definition of “AI Literacy Integration”Section C.1.3 Goal 1What constitutes acceptable integration of AI into RA work process schedules (e.g., minimum hours, modules, competencies)?Since the amount of AI varies by Industry/occupation, OA does not have a minimum number of hours, modules, and competencies. That is completely up to industry and the sponsor based on need.
48Existing Baseline Data AvailabilitySection C – ScopeWill the Government provide baseline data on current RA programs and AI adoption to support performance tracking?Upon contract award, the government can provide baseline data on current RA programs with AI-Centric Occupations.
49Access to Government SystemsSection C – Task 1What level of access will contractors have to systems such as RAPIDS and Salesforce, and are there any restrictions on data usage?Upon contract award, access to system(s) and/or data will be provided as appropriate.
50Use of Contractor-Owned PlatformsSection C – General RequirementsAre contractors permitted to use their own AI-enabled platforms for program management, tracking, and reporting?Yes, however, use will be contingent upon COR's and OCIO's review and approval.
51Data Security / Compliance RequirementsSection C – GeneralAre there specific cybersecurity or FedRAMP requirements applicable to contractor-provided technology solutions?Upon contract award, COR will work with OCIO to provide specific guidance to the awarded contractor.
52Government Budget EstimateSection BIs there a Government Independent Cost Estimate (IGCE) or expected budget range for this effort?Yes. The Government has developed an IGCE for evaluation and planning purposes; however, it will be not shared.
53Definition of High-Performing IntermediarySection C – ScopeWhat characteristics or outcomes define a “high-performing intermediary” from the Government’s perspective?Review "https://cpars.cpars.gov/CPARS/common/helpinfo_input.action?module=cpars&scope=de&topic=Evaluation+Areas" for contract rating and evaluation.
54Data Access and AvailabilitySection CWhat data sources will be made available to the contractor, and what constraints or limitations exist regarding access, quality, or completeness of the data?Upon contract award, access to data will be made available as appropriate. If necessary, the government will provide clarity on data quality.
55AI Governance and Approval ProcessSection C / HWhat governance processes will be required for review and approval of AI/ML models prior to operational use?The government will rely heavily on national stakeholder input and/or feedback in the development of the AI/ML models. The servicing ATRs, Team Lead, Acting Division Director, and Acting Deputy Administrators will provide recommendations to the Acting Administrator following a thorough review of the WPS and RI components. The OA bulletin will serve as the dissemination vehicle for the newly approved WPS/RI prior to operational use by apprenticeship stakeholders.
56Definition of Success MetricsSection C / MWhat specific performance metrics or outcomes will define success for this effort across the base and option periods?Review Tasks 1-4 for performance metrics associated with this RFP. Additionally, review https://cpars.cpars.gov/cpars/common/helpinfo_input.action?module=cpars&scope=de&topic=Evaluation+Areas for contract rating and evaluation.
57Integration with Existing SystemsSection CWhat are the expectations for integrating contractor-developed solutions with existing Government systems, workflows, and processes?If necessary, the Government will provide directions for integration after award.
58User Adoption and Change ManagementSection CWhat level of user adoption support, training, and change management activities are expected from the contractor?The RFP does not specify or set metrics for this. If necessary, through the project Workplan, the awarded contractor can propose strategies for change management.
59Security and Deployment ConstraintsSection C / HAre there constraints on deployment environments (e.g., cloud, on-premise, or restricted environments) that will impact solution design?Upon contract award, COR will work with OCIO to provide specific guidance to the awarded contractor.
60Tooling and Platform ConstraintsSection C / JAre there any preferred or mandated tools, platforms, or Offerors that the contractor must use or integrate with?No. If necessary, through the project Workplan, the awarded vendor can propose needed tools and platform for integration.
61Transition and Ramp-Up ExpectationsSection C / FWhat are the Government’s expectations for transition and ramp-up to full operational capability, including initial deliverables?There is no transition period, since there is no incumbent vendor for this RFP.
62Government Roles and ResponsibilitiesSection CWhat roles and responsibilities will be retained by Government personnel versus the contractor during execution?Awarded vendor is responsible for successfully completing all requirements under the contract. The Workplan will identify roles for each deliverables under the contract.
63Lessons Learned from Prior EffortsSection CAre there lessons learned from prior or related efforts that the Government would like offerors to consider?There is no procurement history for this RFP; therefore, no lessons learned.
64Request for Bid ExtensionSF1449 Block 8To support a high-quality, fully compliant response, and ensure that responses are in alignment with the additional information provided in the Q&A responses, will the Government consider a 14-calendar-day extension of the quote due date—from April 17, 2026 to April 24, 2026.No.
65ODC PricingSection BCan the government please confirm whether the ODC amount for each program year ($185,000 in the Base Year) is a pre-established government estimate to be used by offerors?Yes.
66ODC PricingSection BCan the government please describe the anticipated ODC components included in the program-year ODC government estimate?The offeror should refer to Section B for the breakdown of ODCs.
67PricingSection BThe pricing table does not appear to include funding for apprenticeship incentives for employers.

1. Can the government please clarify if apprenticeship incentives for employers are allowed under this contract?

There is no incentive funding under this RFP.
68PricingSection B2. If apprenticeship incentives for employers are allowed, can the government please clarify the government’s expectations regarding compensation and/or incentives for participating employers (sponsors)?There is no incentive funding under this RFP.
69SME LOE1.6.11Can the government please confirm whether the SME role may be fulfilled by multiple individuals, given the anticipated level of effort (LOE) of 3,960 hours per year.Yes, each Labor CLIN can be fulfilled by multiple personnel.
70TaskingPart 5 Task 3For planning and budgeting purposes, can the government please provide the estimated number of attendees anticipated for the single in-person or virtual event.The Government does not have an estimate. The awarded contractor will be responsible for proposing the single in-person or virtual event as part of their implementation plan, including identifying number of attendees proposed for DOL's review and consideration. This event will be annual during the life of the contract.
71TaskingPart 5 Task 3Can the government please clarify whether offerors should budget for 1 in-person or 1 virtual event under Task 3.Offerors should budget for one event each year of the contract. The event may be in-person or virtual and be reflected in the budget.
72TaskingPart 5 Task 3Is the 1 virtual/in person event under Task 3 to occur in each year of the program or only the base year?Each Year
73TaskingTask 3, PSR 5Can the government please confirm that selected contractor will publish per year at least five (5) reports, issue papers, publications, data synopsis, podcasts, etc.Yes - confirmed.
74Past PerformanceFactor 2 PerformanceCan the government please clarify the Past Performance Questionnaire (PPQ) requirement? If the contracts identified for submission have CPARS evaluations, is the offeror still required to submit PPQs?Yes, past performance questionnaires are required.
75AssumptionsSection FBecause this will be awarded as a fixed-price contract, and to ensure offerors can submit pricing and technical approaches that fully align with the solicitation requirements, please confirm that offerors may include a limited number of clearly identified assumptions and/or clarifying statements that are essential to developing a compliant proposal.Clarifying statements may be submitted and will be taken into consideration when conducting technical evaluations.
76Registering ApprenticesSection 5.1, Task 1Task 2 states the Offeror shall "Enter accurate and timely data into ETA systems….(including) enrollment and outcome data of registered apprentices (including retention of apprentices)." Will Offeror staff have access to RAPIDS?The Government will provide all necessary access to ETA System for contractor to meet performance requirements. The Government will incur the cost for this access and license.
77Outreach Session QuantitySection 5.1, Task 2Task 2 states the Offeror shall 'conduct onsite, remote, and/or hybrid outreach and informational sessions... per year' but does not specify a minimum number of sessions. Can the Government provide a target or minimum number of outreach and accelerator sessions expected per year?There is no minimum number of outreach sessions required under this requirement. Awarded contractor is expected to conduct necessary and sufficient outreach sessions to ensure contract performance goals are met in collaboration with OA.
78Definition of 'Accelerators'Section 5.1, Task 2The RFP references 'Departmental sector-based RA Accelerators [e.g., DOL- or White House-led sprints, challenges, etc.].' Can the Government if it anticipates using the same formats as previous events and potential duration (90 day, 6 month, etc.)?The Department is not aware of an interest in any of these activities or specific timeframes at this time, but since RA is an Administration priority, there may be an interest in doing something in the near future.
79Apprenticeable Occupational Review Vetting Minimum – DiscrepancySection 5.1, Task 4; PRS #8Task 4 states the Offeror shall 'review and vet a minimum of 25 apprenticeable occupation requests,' but PRS #8 references 'a minimum of 20.' Can the Government confirm the correct minimum number of occupation request reviews expected?25. See updated Exhibit Tables 1 and 2.
80Labor Hours – Fixed or EstimatedSection B – Supplies or Services/PricesThe labor category hours listed in Section B (e.g., 500 hours for Project Director, 3,960 hours for Subject Matter Expert) — are these Government-estimated hours that offerors must price against, or may offerors propose alternative staffing mixes as long as the total meets the Government's labor hour requirement?The Offeror must use the specified quanities to provide a rate. Offerors may not provide alternate staffing mixes to meet the requirement.
81ODC NTESection B – Supplies or Services/PricesThe ODC category lists NTE amounts covering Supplies and Materials, Travel, and Outreach and Marketing. Should offerors provide a breakdown across these three ODC sub-categories, or simply use the Government's single aggregate NTE ODC price for the Base Year and each Option Year?Offerors should use the Government's single aggregrate NTE price for the ODCs. The detailed breakdown will be provided to the awardee.
82Type of ContractSection 1.6.6; Section BThe PWS states the Government contemplates a Fixed Price contract, yet the pricing schedule lists hourly labor categories. Can the Government clarify whether this will be a Firm Fixed Price (FFP) or labor hour (T&M) contract?The contract will be awarded as a Firm-Fixed Price contract. Both Government and awarded vendor will use the labor hours for management purposes.
83Salesforce Access and ODCsSection 5.1, Task 1Task 1 requires the Offeror to 'enter accurate and timely data into ETA systems (e.g., Salesforce).' Will the Government provide Salesforce licenses for all required Offeror staff? Will the cost of licenses come out of ODCs?The Government will provide all necessary access to ETA System for vendor to meet performance requirements. The Government will incur the cost for access and licenses.
84Government-Furnished Information and DataGeneralWill the Government provide existing RA program data related to the occupations and objectives outlined in the PWS to support the Offeror's work (e.g., current number and names of active RA program sponsors for occupations noted, apprentices data out of RAPIDS, etc.)?The government will provide baseline RA program data on occupations and their program state after contract award.
85PASI CoordinationSection 1.4 (Scope)The scope references coordination with the 'National Project on Apprenticeship Standards and Interoperability (PASI).' Can the Government describe the expected level of engagement with PASI? Will the Government share PASI's original cooperative agreement proposal upon award to determine the best ways of ensuring non-duplication of efforts?The Government expects awarded vendor to work with PASI on an as needed basis to reduce duplication and leveraging efforts, as appropriate. There is no specific timeframe or level of engagement at this time. No the government will not share the PASI SOW, however, the government will identify any areas for coordination and/or related efforts.
86DOL Staff SME LiaisionSection 1.4 (Scope)In addition to a COR, will the Offeror be provided with a primary program-side point of contact within DOL OA national, regional or state office(s) to serve as subject matter expert and liaision with DOL staff, coordinate approvals on deliverables, etc.?Yes.
87HSPD-12 Background Investigation TimelineSection 1.6.7Can the Government clarify if all personnel roles will require background investigations and PIV cards?Only Key personnel will be required to go through background investigation and receive PIV card access. If additional staff outside of Key personnel need access ETA Systems, the COR will work with the awarded vendor to review and coordinate onboarding.
88HSPD-12 Background Investigation TimelineSection 1.6.8Can Offeror staff with temporary clearance begin work on non-Federally accessible systems while waiting for PIV cards?Yes.
89Period of Performance1.5. Period of PerformanceEach contract year in section 1.5 references an end date of June 30, while the subsequent contract year references a start date of June 1, which creates a 1 month overlap. CLIN tables on pages 2 and 3 reference contract period end dates of May 31. Will the DOL consider revising the Period of Performance table to clarify the contract periods?The correct POP should read 06/01/2026 - 05/31/2031. This has been updated via amendment.
90Key PersonnelSection 1.6.11,
Technical Exhibit 2, Task 1:1C“Technical Exhibit 2, Task 1C states: ‘Submit resumes for all key personnel demonstrating their ability to deliver a high‑quality work product as described under Tasks 2–4 within 30 days of contract award prior to working on the project.’ This appears to conflict with Section 1.6.11, which states that the ‘Offeror is expected to be at full staff capacity at time of award.’ Could the Government please clarify the intended timing and requirements for Key Personnel staffing and resume submission?”It is expected that the Offeror will thoroughly vet and identify qualified key personnel prior to submitting its proposal to the Government. Proposed key staff should clearly meet the contract’s requirements and demonstrate the capability to deliver high‑quality work as outlined in Tasks 2–4.

Following contract award, the Government will request résumés for all proposed key personnel to verify that the individuals possess the requisite expertise to perform the contracted tasks. The Government reserves the right to review and question the qualifications of any proposed key personnel and may request additional information or require substitution if the submitted credentials do not sufficiently demonstrate the expertise necessary to fulfill Tasks 2–4.

91Phase In/Phase Out Period1.6.15. Phase In/Phase Out PeriodIs there a current incumbent(s) providing some or all of the services outlined in the RFP? If yes, can DOL indicate the current scope of the incumbent?No.
92Phase In/Phase Out Period1.6.15. Phase In/Phase Out PeriodWill the phase in/phase out period run as part of the base period of the contract? If not, will the phase in/phase out period be added to the period of performance section, section B, CLIN tables, pricing schedule, and other relevant RFP documents?Following contract award, the Government will request résumés for all proposed key personnel to verify that the individuals possess the requisite expertise to perform the contracted tasks. The Government reserves the right to review and question the qualifications of any proposed key personnel and may request additional information or require substitution if the submitted credentials do not sufficiently demonstrate the expertise necessary to fulfill Tasks 2–4.
93DOL Definition of "Publish" (reports, issue papers, publications, data synopsis, podcasts, etc.)Part 5-Specific Tasks, Task 3Requesting clarification on DOL's interpretation of "Publishing" in the subtask, requiring Offerors to "Publish five (5) reports, issue papers, publications, data synopsis, podcasts, etc." Will publishing be done through existing DOL web platforms, etc.?Yes. Publishing will be hosted on DOL's platform, apprenticeship.gov.
94IT resource asset location requirementsPart 5-Specific Tasks, Task 3Does DOL require or expect supporting IT assets used to publish reports, papers, etc to be deployed in a DOL managed data center or cloud? If the expectation is supporting IT assets are to be deployed in a DOL managed cloud can onboarding documents be provided? Additionally can the applicable security controls used to attain ATO be provided?The Government does not have sufficient information to address the question. The vendor will be required to provide content to support the publication of deliverables as applicable.
95Minimum number of apprenticeable occupationsPart 5-Specific Tasks 4,
Technical Exhibit 1, Task 4There appear to be conflicting references regarding the minimum number of apprenticeable occupations that must be reviewed and vetted. Is the requirement 20 or 25?25. See updated Exhibit Tables 1 and 2.
96Period of Performance ClarificationSF1449 pp. 2–3; PWS §1.5The solicitation states the award will include one 12-month base period and four 12-month option periods, but the dates listed in §1.5 appear to run from June 1 to June 30 of the following year, while the continuation sheet lists option periods ending May 31. Please confirm the correct base and option period dates and whether each period is intended to be 12 months.The correct POP should read 06/01/2026 - 05/31/2031. This has been updated via amendment.
97Pricing Schedule and ODC AssumptionsSection B, pp. 4–8; Section E, Attachment A19-E.1Please confirm whether offerors should use Attachment A19-E.1 as the required pricing template and whether DOL will provide any assumptions or estimated quantities for ODC categories such as travel, supplies/materials, and outreach/marketing.Yes, please complete Attachment A19-E.1 as the required pricing template. Regarding ODC categories, no, DOL will not be providing any assumptions or estimated quantities. The allocated amount provided by the government should be used, and please remember that all ODCs require prior approval.
98Pricing Schedule, ODCs, and Incentive FundingSection B, pp. 4–8; Section E, Attachment A19-E.1Please confirm whether incentive funding is allowable and/or required under this contract. If incentive funding is permitted, please provide details on how it is intended to work, including whether it should be proposed as part of ODCs or under a separate CLIN/cost element, any funding limits or approval requirements, eligible uses and recipients, required documentation, and the process for administration, tracking, and reimbursement.There is no incentive funding under this RFP.
99Travel Expectations and BudgetingPWS §1.6.14; §1.6.5; Task 2; Task 3The RFP states that travel is required and must be approved in advance, but it does not specify the anticipated number of trips, event locations, or frequency of in-person meetings. Please clarify the anticipated travel level offerors should assume for pricing purposes.All travel shall be coordinated with the COR, identified in the project workplan and approved by COR prior to booking travel. Travel is an ODC item. Breakdown will be provided to awardee.
100Scope Boundary for AI Infrastructure SupportPWS §1.3 Goal 3; §1.4; Task 4The RFP states that the offeror is not expected to develop RA programs within AI infrastructure occupations, but also states the offeror shall support development and expansion where AI integration is needed. Please clarify the boundary between out-of-scope RA program development and in-scope technical assistance for AI infrastructure occupations.The offeror will support the development and expansion of RA programs in AI infrastructure occupations where there is a

specific need to integrate AI, including but not limited to:

1. Identifying AI infrastructure occupations broadly

2. Providing subject matter expertise to sponsors and/or potential sponsors to incorporate AI into new and existing RA programs

3. Supporting sponsors and/or potential sponsors in incorporating AI into work process schedules to increase AI literacy.

Additionally, the offeror shall provide outreach and referral services to NAS stakeholders on how RA can be a solution to grow and expand the workforce talent pipeline into AI infrastructure occupations.

101Outreach Volume RequirementsTask 2 – Sector-Based Outreach and Recruitment; Technical Exhibit 2Please clarify whether DOL expects a minimum number of outreach sessions, employer engagements, accelerators, or convenings per year under Task 2, and whether any specific performance targets apply beyond narrative descriptions.There is no minimum number of outreach sessions required under this requirement. Awarded vendor is expected to conducted necessary and sufficient outreach session to ensure contract performance goals are met in collaboration with OA.
102Required Format for the Five Publications/ProductsTask 3; Technical Exhibit 2Task 3 requires publication of five reports, issue papers, publications, data synopses, podcasts, etc. Please confirm whether these five deliverables may be a mix of formats or whether DOL expects a minimum number of written products versus multimedia products.Yes, this can be a mix. The awarded vendor should include in their technical proposal how they intend to implement this requirement. If contract is awarded, the vendor should be flexible if the Department wishes a change in what is proposed.
103Definition of “20 or More New AI-Centric Occupations”Task 3; Technical Exhibit 1 PRS#7Please clarify whether the requirement to develop “up to 20 or more new AI-centric occupations” refers to new apprenticeable occupations, new RA program standards, new registered programs, or another measurable output.It includes both new programs and new occupations, including if an existing program adds a new occupation to their existing program this may also be considered.
104AOR Review Minimum ThresholdTask 4; Technical Exhibit 1 PRS#8Task 4 states the offeror shall participate in the review and vetting of a minimum of 25 apprenticeable occupation requests, while Technical Exhibit 1 PRS#8 lists a minimum of 20. Please confirm the correct minimum requirement.25. See updated Exhibit Tables 1 and 2.
105Work Plan Cost Reporting Under a Fixed-Price ContractTask 1; PWS §1.6.6The monthly work plan must include estimated budget and actual costs, while the contemplated award is fixed price. Please clarify the level of cost detail DOL expects in the monthly work plan and whether this is intended for project management tracking only.The invoice will detail cost and supporting information. The monthly report will provide narrative of activities for each month, and will be used to support cost. Both Government and awarded vendor will use the labor hours for management purposes.

This is the start of the file's text. The full file is on GovTribe.

File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .