Smith-Lever Extension Funding
Active
- Assistance listing
- 10.511
- Agency
-
National Institute of Food and Agriculture
Department of Agriculture
- Grant awards
- 722 $3,811,557,726 in federal obligations
Program facts
- Also known as
- 1862 LGI’s: 1862 CES (Smith-Lever) and DCPPERA, 1862 Smith-Lever Special Needs, and Smith-Lever Special Needs-Competitive
- Assistance types
-
- Formula Grant
- Block Grant
- Project Grant
- Treasury account
-
- 12-0502-0-1-352
- More information
Program details come from SAM.gov Assistance Listings. Updated . Grant award figures come from USAspending.gov.
About this program
The Department of Agriculture National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) operates Smith-Lever Extension Funding (CFDA 10.511), a Formula Grant program that awarded 722 grants totaling $3.81 billion in combined federal obligations as of October 1, 2025. The program exclusively funds cooperative agricultural extension work delivered by 1862 Land-grant Institutions, the University of the District of Columbia, and tribal colleges—specifically practical applications of research knowledge through demonstrations, workshops, educational publications, and direct technical assistance to farmers, ranchers, families, youth, and rural communities across all U.S. states and territories.
Award activity is robust and consistent. In the past five years (2021–2025), the program funded approximately 73 awards per year, with the most recent disbursements occurring October 1, 2025. The portfolio is almost exclusively Formula Grants (718 of 722 awards, 99 percent), with negligible Project Grant and Block Grant activity. Recipients represent the entire land-grant system and include major state universities such as Iowa State, Texas A&M, North Carolina State, University of Wisconsin–Madison, University of Illinois, and Pennsylvania State, as well as territories including Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, and Northern Marianas. The program generates significant cost-share: combined total dollars obligated stand at $7.52 billion against $3.81 billion in federal dollars, indicating substantial non-federal matching or in-kind contributions from states and counties.
Recent awards fund extension education across agriculture, natural resources, youth development, and family well-being. Texas A&M AgriLife Extension received $28.786 million to deliver research-based solutions in crop and livestock production, health practices, sustainability, and workforce development across Texas's 30 million citizens. University of Wisconsin–Madison Extension secured $19.578 million for county-based programming spanning agriculture, community development, health and well-being, positive youth development, and natural resources. Iowa State University Extension obtained $20.408 million to address crop and plant production, workforce development, food systems, animal and livestock systems, and soil and water stewardship. University of Connecticut Extension received $4.730 million for sustainable agriculture, food safety, pest management, and resilience programming across Connecticut.
The Smith-Lever Special Needs Competitive Grants Program (a competitive subset of 10.511) remains active. A current opportunity posted April 1, 2026, with a June 1, 2026 due date funds innovative education-based approaches to disaster preparedness and response across natural, human-made, or technological disasters. Applicants are restricted to 1862 Land-grant Institutions in the 50 states and U.S. territories. Previous Special Needs solicitations have emphasized extension's role in disaster risk communication, educational program development, community engagement, and loss mitigation in food and agricultural systems.
Objective and description
- Objective
Joint Cooperative Extension Programs at 1862 Land-grant Institutions and University of the District of Columbia Public Postsecondary Education Reorganization Act Program: To develop practical applications of research knowledge; instructions and pract
- Description
The purpose of this program is to conduct cooperative agricultural Extension activities at Land-grant Institutions.
Eligibility
- Applicant eligibility
1862 CES Capacity & DCPPERA: Joint Cooperative Extension Programs at 1862 Land-Grant Institutions applications may only be submitted by the following 1862 Land-grant Institutions: Auburn University, University of Alaska-Fairbanks, American Samoa Community College, University of Arizona, University of Arkansas, University of California, Colorado State University, University of Connecticut, University of Delaware, University of Florida, University of Georgia, University of Guam, University of Hawaii, University of Idaho, University of Illinois, Purdue University, Iowa State University, Kansas State University, University of Kentucky, Louisiana State University, University of Maine, University of Maryland-College Park, University of Massachusetts, Michigan State University, College of Micronesia, University of Minnesota, Mississippi State University, University of Missouri, Montana State University, University of Nebraska, University of Nevada-Reno, University of New Hampshire, Rutgers University, New Mexico State University, Cornell University, North Carolina State University, North Dakota State University, Northern Marianas College, Ohio State University, Oklahoma State University, Oregon State University, Pennsylvania State University, University of Puerto Rico, University of Rhode Island, Clemson University, South Dakota State University, University of Tennessee, Texas A & M University, Utah State University, University of Vermont, Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University, University of the Virgin Islands, Washington State University, West Virginia University, University of Wisconsin, and University of Wyoming. University of the District of Columbia Public Postsecondary Education Reorganization Act Program (DCPPERA): Applications may only be submitted by the University of the District of Columbia. 1862 Special Needs Capacity (SLSN): Applications may only be submitted by the following 1862 Land-grant Institutions: University of Alaska-Fairbanks, University of Arizona, Colorado State University, University of Idaho, Kansas State University, Montana State University, University of Nebraska, University of Nevada-Reno, New Mexico State University, North Dakota State University, Oregon State University, South Dakota State University, Texas A & M University, Utah State University, University of Vermont, and University of Wyoming. Smith-Lever Special Needs Competitive (SLSNCGP): Applications may only be submitted by 1862 Land-grant Institutions in the 50 states and the U.S. territories, American Samoa, Guam, Micronesia, Northern Marianas, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.
- Beneficiary eligibility
See NOFOs for specific information.
- Uses of assistance
USES: 1862 CES Capacity (Smith-Lever) and DCPPERA: Funding for the Cooperative Extension Programs at 1862 Land-Grant Institutions authorized under the Smith-Lever Act section 3(b) and (c) (SLBC) and the University of the District of Columbia Public Postsecondary Education Reorganization Act Program (DCPPERA) under Section 208 of the District of Columbia Public Postsecondary Education Reorganization Act is to be used for the development of practical applications of research knowledge and giving of instruction and practical demonstrations of existing or improved practices or technologies in agriculture, uses of solar energy with respect to agriculture, home economics, and rural energy, and subjects relating thereto to persons not attending or resident in 1862 Land-Grant Institutions, and imparting information on those subjects through demonstrations, publications, and otherwise and for the necessary printing and distribution of information in connection with the subjects. Program and Extension Activities - Smith-Lever Act sections 3(b) and 3(c) Federal funding may only be used for extension programs and an activity identified in the institution's approved 5-Year Plan of Work. 1862 Special Needs Capacity Grants Program (SLSN): 1862 Smith Lever Special Needs Capacity funds support extension education initiatives that address risks, hazards and disasters. The SLSN sponsors targeted projects enable Cooperative Extension Service to assist in preparing for, providing an educational response to, and recovering from disasters. Education programming funded by this program help communities, families and individuals become more self-sustaining by strengthening and increasing their resiliency to disaster. The SLSN increases awareness and capacity building of urban/rural communities' response to natural and/or human-made disasters by increasing individual, family, farms, small business and community disaster preparedness through extension education, as well as collaboration with other agencies and volunteer organizations. Smith-Lever Special Needs Competitive Grants Program (SLSNCGP): SLSNCGP projects to implement applied scientific programs that serve public needs in preparation for, during, and after disaster. Though national, regional, and/or multi-state efforts are a priority for categories 1-3, highly replicable single-state projects may be considered if they have a strong plan for transferring successful methods to other states. The SLSNCGP also funds the development of educational programs and demonstration activities focusing on disaster preparedness, mitigation, response, and recovery. Successful projects in the past have helped extension educators, who normally do not have a disaster extension focus, to have a greater impact in this area.
- Use restrictions
SLSN and DCPPERA RESTRICTIONS: 1.) No portion of the funds allocated under this grant may be applied, directly or indirectly, to the purchase, erection, preservation, or repair of any building or buildings, or the purchase or rental of land, or in college-course teaching, lectures in college, or any other purpose not specified in the program legislation. 2.) funding may only be used to support extension activities identified in the institution's approved Five-Year POW. 3.) In accordance with section 1473 of the NARETPA (7 U.S.C. 3319), indirect costs and tuition remission are unallowable as SLSN formula grant expenditures. Further, costs that are a part of an institution's indirect cost pool (e.g., administrative or clerical salaries) may not be reclassified as direct costs for the purpose of making them allowable. 4.) extension funds are expected to be fully expended in the fiscal year of appropriation; however, up to 100 percent of funds may be carried over for up to four years after the end of the year for which they were appropriated. No prior approval is required. 5.) Employer contributions to land-grant college retirement systems are limited to five percent of the portion of the salaries paid, under this award, to employees who participate in the system (7 U.S.C. 331) and are subject to the other conditions in 7 U.S.C. 331. Note the five percent limitation does NOT apply to any state or individual contribution. Contributions of funds under this award may not exceed the contributions from non-Federal sources made by or on behalf of the individual concerned. See Section VI of the NIFA Federal Assistance Policy Guide for additional information. SLSNCGP RESTRICTIONS: Indirect Cost recovery is not authorized in this program. Pursuant to Section 1473 of the National Agriculture Research, Extension, and Teaching Policy Act of 1977, as amended, 7 U.S.C 3319, IDC and tuition remission are not allowable costs under Section 3(b) & (c) of the Smith-Lever Act projects, and no funds will be approved for this purpose. Further, costs that are a part of an institution's IDC pool (e.g., administrative, or clerical salaries) may not be reclassified as direct costs for the purpose of making these allowable. No portion of said moneys shall be applied, directly or indirectly, to the purchase, erection, preservation, or repair of any building or buildings, or the purchase or rental of land, or in college-course teaching, lectures in college, or any other purpose not specified in this Act (7 U.S.C. 345 ).
- Length and time phasing of assistance
In accordance with statutory time limits, project periods, including no-cost extensions of time, are as follows: SLSNCGP: Not to exceed three (3) years. SLSN & DCPPERA: Funds are expected to be fully expended in the fiscal year of appropriation; however, up to 100 percent of funds may be carried over for up to four years after the end of the year for which they were appropriated. No prior approval is required. Further details are provided in the Award document Form NIFA-2009 and the NIFA General Terms and Conditions Grants and Cooperative Agreements.
How to apply
- Criteria for selecting proposals
NIFA will review submitted documents to determine if all program, financial, and administrative requirements have been met and are current within guidelines established for the program as described in the Notice of Funding Opportunities (NOFO).
- Award procedure
SLSNCGP: NIFA evaluates each application in a two-part process. First, each application is reviewed to ensure that it meets the administrative requirements set forth in the NOFO. Second, a peer-review process (https://www.nifa.usda.gov/nifa-peer-review-process-competitive-grant-applications) will be used to evaluate the scientific and technical merit of applications that have meet the administrative requirements. After each peer review panel has completed deliberations, the responsible NIFA program staff will either recommend an application for support from available funds or decline an application due to insufficient funds or unfavorable review. SLSN and DCPPERA: NIFA will review submitted documents to determine if all program, financial, and administrative requirements are met and are current. Missing or incomplete information within an application may require additional submittals and deletion of application(s) already submitted. Within the limit of funds available for such purpose, the NIFA awarding official shall make grants to eligible applicants.
- Time to approval or disapproval
Contact the National Program Leader (NPL) regarding dates for specific deadlines, start and end dates, and range of approval/disapproval time.
Grant opportunities
| Opportunity | Status | Posted | Applications due |
|---|---|---|---|
| Smith-Lever Special Needs Competitive Grants Program | Closed | ||
| Smith-Lever Special Needs Competitive Grants Program | Closed | ||
| Smith-Lever Special Needs Competitive Grants | Closed | ||
| Smith-Lever Special Needs Competitive Grants Program | Closed | ||
| Smith-Lever Special Needs Competitive Grants Program | Closed | ||
| Smith-Lever Special Needs Competitive Grants Program | Closed | ||
| Smith Lever Special Needs Competitve Grant Program | Closed |
Grant awards
Latest 10 of 722 listed here. See the rest on GovTribe.
Top recipients by federal obligations
| Rank | Recipient | Federal obligations | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Texas A&M Agrilife Extension Service | $195,395,719 | 5% |
| 2 | The Ohio State University | $187,658,130 | 5% |
| 3 | Purdue University | $171,956,696 | 5% |
| 4 | North Carolina State University | $147,228,534 | 4% |
| 5 | University Of Tennessee | $146,325,824 | 4% |
| 6 | Iowa State University Of Science And Technology | $138,899,754 | 4% |
| 7 | The Regents Of The University Of California | $133,188,092 | 3% |
| 8 | Cornell University | $132,374,246 | 3% |
| 9 | Regents Of The University Of Minnesota | $131,070,524 | 3% |
| 10 | The Pennsylvania State University | $123,043,319 | 3% |
10 of 60 recipients listed here. See the rest on GovTribe.
Federal obligations by fiscal year
| Fiscal year | Federal obligations |
|---|---|
| FY2026 | $314,508,802 |
| FY2025 | $314,729,052 |
| FY2024 | $314,820,161 |
| FY2023 | $338,597,736 |
| FY2022 | $318,777,635 |
| FY2021 | $927,982,512 |
| FY2020 | $430,335,134 |
| FY2019 | $305,103,837 |
| FY2018 | $290,780,230 |
Quick answers
What is Assistance Listing 10.511?
Assistance Listing 10.511 is Smith-Lever Extension Funding, a federal grant program run by National Institute of Food and Agriculture (Department of Agriculture).
What is the CFDA number for Smith-Lever Extension Funding?
Its CFDA number is 10.511: Assistance Listing numbers were called CFDA numbers before 2018.
How much funding has Assistance Listing 10.511 awarded?
722 grant awards under 10.511 have obligated $3,811,557,726 in federal funds to 60 recipients.
Who receives the most funding from 10.511?
The recipients obligated the most under Smith-Lever Extension Funding are Texas A&M Agrilife Extension Service ($195,395,719), The Ohio State University ($187,658,130) and Purdue University ($171,956,696).
How much did 10.511 obligate in fiscal year 2025?
Grants under 10.511 obligated $314,729,052 in federal funds in fiscal year 2025.
Are there open grant opportunities under 10.511?
No opportunity listed under 10.511 is open now. The latest, Smith-Lever Special Needs Competitive Grants Program, was posted on April 1, 2026.
On GovTribe
See this program's full record
- Every grant award and opportunity under it
- Funding by recipient, agency and assistance type
- Alerts for new opportunities
- Ask GovTribe AI about this program