074/cmbrvc/drug testing
Closed State & local contract opportunity Posted
- Solicitation number
- RFP 074 2600000428 1
- State
- Kentucky
- Responses due
Opportunity facts
- Jurisdiction
- Point of contact
-
- Brandy Small brandy.small@ky.gov (270) 322-9087
Updated .
About this opportunity
The Kentucky Department of Veterans Affairs/Carl M. Brashear Radcliff Veterans Center (CMBRVC) in Harrison County is seeking an outsourced drug and alcohol testing services contractor through this Request for Proposal issued on April 24, 2026, with proposals due by 3:00 p.m. EST on May 1, 2026. The procurement encompasses comprehensive substance abuse testing services including random, reasonable suspicion, post-accident, and pre-employment urine drug screens, as well as breath alcohol screening for post-accident and reasonable suspicion scenarios. The contractor must establish a network of collection sites with a primary facility within 20 miles of the RVC offering daytime Monday through Friday hours and an after-hours/weekend facility within 30 miles, and must provide testing for 13 drug metabolites and substances including marijuana, cocaine, opiates, amphetamines, PCP, benzodiazepines, barbiturates, and oxycodone. Deliverables include monthly random drug testing lists for up to 25 percent of test-designated employees, chain-of-custody documentation, and test results delivered within seven calendar days of specimen collection. The contractor must hold three mandatory qualifications: CLIA accreditation documentation, SAMHSA laboratory certification, and Kentucky state licensure, and must employ a board-certified toxicologist and a licensed Medical Review Officer. The anticipated contract term runs from July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2028, with renewal options for up to two additional two-year periods subject to approval by the Secretary of the Finance and Administration Cabinet and the Legislative Research Commission's Government Contract Review Committee. Evaluation criteria consist of cost per drug test (maximum 200 points) and cost per breathalyzer (maximum 100 points), with technical proposals valued at 550 maximum points and optional oral presentations worth up to 100 additional points for a total of 950 possible points.
The RFP does not specify set-aside designations or restrictions on respondent types based on disadvantaged enterprise status or organizational classifications. The procurement requires contractors to maintain Professional Liability Insurance with a minimum limit of $1,000,000 per claim and Commercial General Liability Insurance of $1,000,000 per occurrence and $2,000,000 aggregate, and mandates that the contractor be registered to conduct business in Kentucky and comply with all federal and state laws governing laboratory services, including SAMHSA Mandatory Guidelines for Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs. No incumbent vendors, current contractors, or existing infrastructure integration requirements are identified in the RFP documentation. Proposals must be submitted in hard copy with separate sealed covers for technical and cost proposals, with online bidding prohibited, and all submissions must remain valid for a minimum of six months after the May 1, 2026 proposal due date. The RFP does not specify an anticipated award value or budget range for this procurement.
Files
| File | Type | Posted |
|---|---|---|
| Final_RFP_074_2600000428_1_SO_FORM.PDF |
On GovTribe
Work this opportunity
- Track it in your pipeline
- Similar opportunities
- Ask GovTribe AI about this opportunity