Alaska_Range_JOC_Solicitation_Responses.xlsx
XLSX spreadsheet 42 KB Posted
- Attached to
- Alaska Range JOC W912D0-19-R-0004, Fort Wainwright Federal contract opportunity
- Solicitation number
- W912D0-19-R-0004
About this file
This is a notice for an indefinite delivery indefinite quantity job order contract opportunity for the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. The solicitation is for job order contracts to provide sustainment, restoration, and modernization projects at Fort Wainwright and Fort Greely in Alaska. Work will include demolition, site work, concrete, masonry, electrical, mechanical and other construction trades. The Fort Wainwright contract is reserved for 8(a) small businesses through the SBA Alaska district office. The Fort Greely contract is reserved for HUBZone small businesses. The NAICS code is 236220 with a $36.5 million size standard. The contracts will be firm-fixed price, and have a combined estimated value between $45-88 million over five years. The pre-priced unit price book will be from Gordian Group. The solicitation will be released electronically and offerors must register for updates on the website. All questions must be submitted by the deadline in block 10 of the SF1442.
Alaska Range JOC Solicitation Responses.
View the file
Other files for this federal contract opportunity
| File | Type | Posted |
|---|---|---|
| Alaska_Wage_Determination_1_Mar_19.pdf | ||
| W912D0-19-R-0004_Solicitation_Amendment_3.pdf | ||
| Site_Visit_Sign-in_Sheet_20181206.pdf | ||
| Alaska_Range_JOC_Solicitation_Responses,_Comments,_Questions.pdf | ||
| W912D0-19-R-0004-0002.pdf | ||
| Solicitation_Amendment_2_Attachments.zip | ZIP file | |
| O._FWA_JOC_Site_Visit_Location_Revised.pdf | ||
| W912D0-19-R-0004-0001.pdf | ||
| W912D0-19-R-0004.pdf | ||
| Solicitation_Attachments.zip | ZIP file |
On GovTribe
Work with this file on GovTribe
- Download the original file
- Contacts named in this file
- Similar government files
- Ask GovTribe AI about this file
Text version
Sheet1
| (a) Item No. | (b) Location | (b) Description | (d) Action Activity | (c) Response | (f) ResP POC |
| 1 | Both | 1. Reference: Section L, 6.1.5. TAB 5 – Past Performance Questionnaire (p. 35): |
“The offeror shall complete Part I of the Past Performance Questionnaire. The POCs shall be instructed to electronically complete Part II of the questionnaire and e-mail the entire questionnaire with responses to the Contracting Officer no later than the proposal due date.”
Question: Will the Government accept previously completed CPARs and/or PPQs for past performance?
| RCO | CPARS and PPQs are acceptable as long as they meet Section L requirements of the RFP. | |
| 2 | Both | 2. Reference: Section L, Paragraphs 1.1. and 1.3. (p. 30) |
Paragraph 1.1. states: “Each volume shall be submitted in a separate CD inside a sleeve or protective container.”
Question: Considering the number of digital copies listed in paragraph 1.3., does the Government expect to receive 18 CDs?
| RCO | The Government expects to receive 14 CDs. The CDs must be maintained separate for evaluation purposes. See amended Section L for more details. | |
| 3 | Both | 3. Reference: Site Visit; Section L, Paragraphs 1.3. (p. 30) and 2.2. (p. 31) |
Based on guidance at the site walk at Fort Wainwright for the seed projects, we were given the impression that a cost proposal would be necessary as the likelihood that one or both of the seed projects would be awarded is high. Section L, Paragraph 1.3. did not specify seed project cost proposal submission requirements that are later referenced in Paragraph 2.2., which states: “All price breakdown information to aid in the cost/price evaluation shall be submitted in MS Office Excel Read/Write format and viewable in MS Excel 2007.”
Question: What level of cost proposal is necessary for the seed projects? Does the Government wish to see an eGordian price proposal cost summary by CSI division and/or a detailed cost estimate? Please indicate under which Volume/section number we should submit the seed project cost proposals.
RCO/DPW Submit a line item cost proposal using the provided eGordian Construction Task Catolog that is consistent with the proposed technical approach. If non prepriced items are proposed include a detailed cost estimate and justification for those items.
Submit cost proposals in Volume II Section 1.
| After contract award the Government reserves the right to conduct a joint scope, further develop a SOW, and negotiate the final price. | Shaffer | ||
| 4 | Both | 4. Reference: Section L, Paragraphs 1.1. (p. 30) and 2.2. File Packaging (p. 31) |
Paragraph 1.1. (p. 30) states: “Each disk container/sleeve shall be clearly labeled with its Title, Volume, and copy number (e.g., copy 1 of 5).” Paragraph 2.2. File Packaging states: “each disc shall be externally labeled with the volume number, date, and the offeror’s name... The CD ROM shall be labeled with the offeror’s name, solicitation number W912D0-19-R-0004, and performance location (Fort Wainwright or Fort Greely.)”
Question 1: How exactly should we label the discs? Should discs with sanitized copies be labeled the same way as discs containing unsanitized copies?
| RCO | The reference for the sanitized and unsanitized copies pertain to the disc contents. Please label the discs as necessary for submission. Ensure that sanitized disc contents contain no reference to the offeror. | |
| 5 | Both | 5. Reference: Section L, 6.1. Section 1 – Past Performance (p. 34) and Section M, 3.2. Past performance, 3.2.2. Recency Assessment (p. 42): |
Section 6.1. Section 1 – Past Performance states: “Offerors shall submit all Government and/or commercial contracts for the prime offeror and each major subcontractor in performance or awarded during the past five years, from the issue date of this RFP…” Section 3.2.2. Recency Assessment states: “To be recent, the effort must be ongoing or must have been performed during the past three (3) years from the issuance month of this solicitation.”
Question: Will the Government please clarify on the number of years for past performance projects?
| RCO | Offerors shall submit up to five years of past performance data. | |
| 6 | FWA | 6. Reference: Site Visit; Solicitation Attachments J.1 and K.1 |
The seed project Statement of Objectives (Attachments J.1 and K.1) did not list any known hazards and none were presented during the site walk.
Question: Does the need to abate or encapsulate lead-based paint and/or asbestos (e.g., insulation, tile, or mastic glue) exist for the seed projects on Fort Wainwright (Building 4070 or 4511)?
DPW Testing for hazardous materials has not been accomplished for either of the two Sample projects. Proposers are to develop each sample project with hazardous material reports not in possession prior to scope development, negotiation, and task order award. Proposers are expected to identify those materials that should be included in the proposal for testing per Construction Task Catalog. Specification section Selective Demolition, 02 41 13 13 paragraph 1.1.G may be used as a basis of the proposer’s sample project proposal.
During performance of the life of the JOC Contract and at any time hazardous materials are encountered during work, the Government will reserve the right to enter into negotiation with the Contractor to abate and/or demolish those materials under task order modification.
7 Both 7. Reference: Standard Form (SF) 1442; FAR 52.228-1(c); and Section L, 6.2.1. TAB 1. (p. 36) The SF 1442, FAR 52.228-1, and Section L, 6.2.1. TAB 1 require that the contractor furnish a bid guarantee for this project. FAR 52.228-1 (c) states: “The amount of the bid guarantee shall be 20 percent of the bid price or $3 million, whichever is less.” However, it is unclear to exactly what “bid price” the guarantee should be applied to.
Question: Shall the bid price be equal to the total of both seed projects, or shall there be a bid guarantee for each seed project, or shall the bid guarantee be a function of the anticipated total volume of an ordering period? Please clarify.
| RCO | The amount of the bid guarantee shall be based on the total price proposed for the sample projects. | |
| 8 | Both | 8. Reference: Section L, 6.1.3. TAB 3 – Subcontracts (p. 35) |
Section 6.1.3. requires that the contractor identifies “all subcontractors who will be providing critical hardware/services or whose subcontract is for more than 10% of the total proposed cost/price.” Considering that the price proposals for the seed projects are going to be prepared using the eGordian Price Book, most potential subcontractors will not be identified until after award.
Question: Could the requirement to list subcontractors in the proposal be removed from the solicitation?
RCO/DPW Subcontractors with whom the prime contractor will have a formal teaming agreement must be identified.
| Shaffer | ||
| 9 | Both | 9. Reference: Section L, Paragraph 1.3. (p. 30) and Section L, 6.1. Section 1 – Past Performance (p. 34): |
Paragraph 1.3. limits Volume IV – Entry-Gate Submission to 30 pages. Paragraph 6.1. Section 1 – Past Performance states: “This section shall not exceed 25 pages plus five pages for each major subcontractor, excluding Past Performance Questionnaire Forms.”
Question: If the offeror is required to list subcontractors and more than one major subcontractor is identified, does the number of pages increase proportionately (i.e., from 5 to 10 pages for two subcontractors and 15 pages for three subcontractors and so on)?
| RCO | Each major subcontractor may have up to 5 pages. | |
| 10 | Both | 10. Reference: 6.2.4. TAB 4. Certification documentation (p. 36) |
Section 6.2.4. TAB 4 requires offerors to submit certification documentation of at least one Project Management Professional (PMP) issued by the Project Management Institute (PMI) who is on the permanent on-site JOC management team.
Question: Due to the limited availability of PMP-certified personnel in Fairbanks and Delta Junction area, would the Government consider removing this requirement from the RFP and substitute it with years of experience as a generally accepted qualification for construction management positions?
RCO/DPW The Government will also accept a Certified Construction Manager (CCM) issued by the Construction Manager Certification Institue (CMCI) in lieu of the PMP certification. See solicitation amendment.
| Shaffer | ||
| 11 | Both | 11. Reference: General; Section L, 6.1.5. TAB 5 – Past Performance Questionnaire (p. 35) |
Question: With the holidays right before the due date, receiving signed PPQs may have challenges. Please consider a two-week extension to accommodate the holiday schedule.
| RCO/DPW | The Government will amend the solicitation to change the RFP due date to 17 January 2019 affording a 7-day extension. | ||
| The Government will consider follow-on requests if needed. | Shaffer | ||
| 12 | Both | Reference: Attachment A.2 Performance Requirements, Paragraph 3.1.1(b) Task Order/Project Manager (p. 1): |
“3.1.1 The Contractor shall maintain permanent on-site technical and administrative staff.
Section 3.1.1(b) currently states that the Task Order/Project Manager “shall be a different discipline than the project manager.”
| Question: Did the Government intend to require a different discipline from the Program Manger or from other project managers? Please clarify. | RCO/DPW | See revised PWS in the solicitation amendment. | Shaffer |
| 13 | Both | Reference: Attachment A.2 Performance Requirements, Paragraph 3.2 (p. 4) |
Paragraph 3.2 states: “The Contractor shall complete successfully all individual task order projects” with a standard to “manage individual projects separately with no mingling of resources.”
| Question: Is the Government limiting the use of prime company tradecraft and subcontractors from working on concurrent active task orders under this contract? If this is not the Government’s intent, please clarify this requirement. | RCO/DPW | No. The Government is not attempting to limit the use of prime company tradecraft and subcontractors. The Government intends for each task order to be managed distinctly and separately. Resources should be managed at the enterprise level for successful completion of each task order without impacting other task orders. | Shaffer | ||
| 14 | FGA | If a Joint Venture between HUBZone qualified firms would like to respond to this solicitation for the FGA JOC, what, if any, additional documentation will be required? The solicitation only addresses JVs for the FWA 8a solicitation. | RCO | Additional documentation is not required. Both firms need to certified HUBZone small businesses. | |
| 15 | Both | In the Proposal Submission Requirements for Volume IV, Entry Gate Criteria, Past Performance, it states that Offerors shall submit information for contracts in performance or awarded during the past five years. (pg 34 of 44). |
On page 42 of 44, the evaluation factor for award provided for this section lists the performance period as the past three years. Based on the submission requirements, can we assume the evaluation factor was also meant to be listed as a five year performance period?
| RCO | Offerors may submit up to five years of past performance information. See amended solicitation for more details. | ||||
| 16 | Both | Section A says that “Proposals must be hand carried or sent by mail.” Please provide instructions for hand-delivering a proposal. | RCO | See Section L for details. | |
| 17 | Both | Section A says that “Proposals must be hand carried or sent by mail.” Can proposals also be shipped via commercial carrier (e.g.,, Federal Express)? | RCO | Yes. As long as the contracting officer receives the proposal prior to the due date. | |
| 18 | Both | If a contractor chooses to use eGordian for the sample task proposals, they will have difficulty complying with the RFP’s formatting requirements. The electronic pricing output from eGoridan does not comply with the standards provided in the RFP (Times New Roman, minimum 12 point font, 1-inch margins). Please consider making the price estimate pages for the sample projects exempt from the formatting restrictions that apply to the rest of the proposal. | RCO/DPW | eGordian native format sorted based on work elements and CSI division format. | |
| 19 | Both | In paragraph 3.1.2 on page 32 of the solicitation, it says to provide an “Integrated project plan detailing an integrated plan in the specified format with project swimlanes, task identification/duration and critical path analysis.” Where is the “specified format” for this? | RCO/DPW | Contractor should provide their own format that clearly communicates their proposal in response to the requirement. Section L will be amended to reflect the use of contractor format. | |
| 20 | Both | The volume titles shown in the table on page 30 of the solicitation are different from the volume titles listed on pages 31-34. Please confirm that the title of Volume I is “Management / Technical” and that the title of Volume II is “Two Sample Task Proposal” and that the title of Volume IV is “Entry Gate Criteria.” | RCO | Confirmed. | |
| 21 | Both | What information are offerors required to provide for Volume IV (Entry Gate Criteria), Section 1 (Past Performance), TAB 6? It appears as though the instructions for this paragraph are clarifying instructions for the POC list that goes behind TAB 5. | RCO | Tab 6 will be removed in the amended solicitation. | |
| 22 | Both | Can CPARS evaluations be provided in the proposal in lieu of asking references to complete and submit a PPQ? | RCO | CPARS and PPQs are acceptable as long as they meet Section L requirements of the RFP. | |
| 23 | Both | Please clarify the page limitations for Volume IV. It appears from the table in Section L-01 (on page 30 of the solicitation) that the entirety of Volume IV is limited to 30 pages. In paragraph 6.1 on page 34 of the solicitation, it says that “This section shall not exceed 25 pages plus five pages for each major subcontractor, excluding Past Performance Questionnaire Forms.” The information required for Section 2 (Bona Fides) could take 7 pages or more. Is the information that goes in Section 2 (Bona Fides) excluded from the 30-page limit for Volume IV? | RCO | Section 2 (Bona Fides) is exempt from the page limitation set for Volume IV. | |
| 24 | Both | It appears from the table in Section L-01 (on page 30 of the solicitation) that Volume IV is limited to 30 pages. In paragraph 6.1 on page 34 of the solicitation, it says that “This section shall not exceed 25 pages plus five pages for each major subcontractor, excluding Past Performance Questionnaire Forms.” Does this mean that if a prime offeror is providing information for their firm plus five subcontractors that they are allowed up to 50 pages for this material? | RCO | Yes. Each major subcontractor may have up to five pages of information in addition to the 25 page limitation for Volume IV. | |
| 25 | Both | It is a little confusing to see that past performance questionnaires are excluded from the page limit for Volume IV. PPQs are not supposed to be included in the proposals, correct? Aren’t they supposed to be sent directly from the evaluator to the Contracting Officer? | RCO | PPQs are excluded from the page limitation since they are coming from the external sources. | |
| 26 | Both | In subsection 8.2 on solicitation pages 36-37, it notes that each offeror shall submit copies of their agreement with Wolf Creek Federal Services, Inc. with their proposal. In which proposal volume and behind what tab should these agreements be provided? | RCO | The solicitation will be amended to add TAB 3 under Volume V to include agreement between offeror and Wolf Creek Federal Services. | |
| 27 | Both | In Subsection 6.1 on page 34 of the solicitation, it says that “This section shall not exceed 25 pages plus five pages for each major subcontractor, excluding Past Performance Questionnaire Forms. Offerors shall submit all Government and/or commercial contracts for the prime offeror and each major subcontractor in performance or awarded during the past five years, from the issue date of this RFP, which are relevant to the efforts required by this solicitation.” Prime contractors for JOCs such as these could have dozens of trade subcontractors working on scores of task orders over the 5-year performance period. It is likely that they would use multiple subcontractors in certain trades/divisions. For the purpose of this proposal and this section, what is the definition of a “major subcontractor”? | RCO/DPW | Major subcontractor is a subcontractor who performs more than 25% of the work. See amended solicitation for more details. | Shaffer |
| 28 | Both | In Subsection 3.3.2 on page 32 of the solicitation, it says to “Identify the management/technical robustness of the proposed key teaming partners.” Are “key teaming partners” defined as joint venture partners and/or subcontractors with which the prime has executed formal teaming agreements for this solicitation? | RCO/DPW | Yes. It applies to both subcontract teaming partners and JVs, or any other teaming partner which displays depth and breadth of demonstrated capabilities. | |
| Shaffer | |||||
| 29 | Both | The performance standards for a program manager (PM) are defined as “Minimum 5 years experience with a JOC, Simplified Acquisition of Base Engineering Requirements (SABRE) or other task order contract … Professional Engineer (P.E.) or Registered Architect (R.A.) or shall have a degree in Construction Management or Program Management. If PM is not a Professional Engineer or Registered Architect (R.A.) the Contractor shall have a P.E or R.A assigned on site as a full time program management staff member.” For a PM’s educational background, it appears as though an engineering degree is acceptable. As written, however, a person with the required experience who has an engineering degree instead of a degree in construction management or program management cannot qualify as PM unless they are a P.E. or an R.A. Please consider revising the referenced text to read as follows: “Minimum 5 years’ experience with a JOC, Simplified Acquisition of Base Engineering Requirements (SABRE) or other task order contract … Professional Engineer (P.E.) or Registered Architect (R.A.) or shall have a degree in Engineering, Construction Management or Program Management. If PM is not a Professional Engineer or Registered Architect (R.A.) the Contractor shall have a P.E or R.A assigned on site as a full time program management staff member.” | RCO/DPW | See solicitation amendment for clarification. | Shaffer |
| 30 | Both | Section 5.3.3 (page 34) requires the contractor to “update, at their own expense, the UPB with the adjusted coefficient upon the exercise of an option year.” Since the coefficient is to be recalculated based on the referenced AFARS, it is unnecessary to update the UPB line items to adjust for economic factors. Please confirm that the intent of this section is that the contractor is responsible, at the contractor’s expense, for maintaining contractor access to eGordian and updating the coefficient with eGordian for use in the awarded option year. | RCO/DPW | The UPB prices will remain static throughout the life of the contract. The coefficient will be adjusted each option year using the stated AFARS formula. The contractor shall maintain access to eGordian and update their own copy with the adjusted coefficient at each option year. | Shaffer |
| 31 | FWA | Please define any costs associated with obtaining long term access passes or badges? | RCO/DPW | There are no direct costs involved in obtaining base access. However, contractor must account for the indirect costs of obtaining access to include all administrative costs in complying with installation access requirements in their coefficient. | Shaffer |
| 32 | FWA | At the site visit, the government provided a utility map for the contractor project trailer site and indicated that utility rates were in the solicitation documents. Please provide the location of this information in the solicitation as we were unable to locate it. | DPW | See solicitation amendment attachment for utility rate letter. | Shaffer |
| 33 | FWA | During project negotiations, determining the correct and applicable line item with limited description in the UPB can unnecessarily prolong negotiations. This is particularly difficult for specialty items or factory assembled units such as air handlers. In the interest of benefitting negotiations, will Gordian supply the material/model information used as the basis of the unit price upon request? | DPW | Offeror’s should contract Gordian directly to answer questions about unit price descriptions and specialty items. |
CTC page 00-2, Price Variations: Contractors may experience direct costs that are different than the unit prices set forth in the CTC. It is the Contractor’s responsibility to review and analyze the unit prices, and to calculate, prior to bidding, the Adjustment Factors (Coefficient) accordingly.
| The Government will not enter into prolonged task order negotiations with a Contractor who has not accepted the costs associated with the Adjustment Factors (Coefficient) identified in the CTC. | Shaffer | ||||
| 34 | Both | The project related costs in the Gordian UPB include “Incidental Engineering and Architectural Services”. Since the JOC includes general design services for awarded task orders, this is interpreted to include general design but not to include professional design services from an outside firm. It is considered beneficial for the government if the JOC contractor can provide access to professional design services as needed on a task order basis. Often, when professional design services are required by the task order SOW and when the contractor does not directly employ a PE in the area of expertise, the costs for an outside firm to provide the required design services are captured by using a non pre-priced line item. This approach eliminates the need for the prime contractor to estimate and capture professional design services in the coefficient, which then would result in an increased coefficient applied to all projects, including those that may not require any professional design. Is this (capturing the costs for specialized design services, when needed, with a non pre-priced line item) the approach that will be used for the Alaska Range JOCs? | RCO/DPW | Architect-engineer services as defined in FAR 36.601-4 cannot be acquired under a JOC program per AFARS Part 5117. Specialized services that are not defined as AE services will be captured as a reimbursable line item or NPP. |
The Government does not intend to utilize the JOC program to access design services. Offerors should be prepared to submit and modify sketches, drawings, submittals, as-built drawings and other project records. These components are necessary to communicate intent, progress of work, and results of work and they are not considered design services. These requirements are included in the Offeror's coefficient and will not be reimbursable.
| The material component cost of the eGordian CTC line item include manufacturer's and/or fabricator's shop drawings. | Shaffer | |||||
| 35 | Both | Section 3.2.1 of the Performance Work Statement, page 11, indicates that proposals are due no later than 48 hours of releasing the TORP. This timeline is typically seen for emergency repair projects. If the statement is to be interpreted as 2 calendar days, then the contractor will be required to maintain additional staff for such a quick response time. This will result in a higher coefficient to the government. If the statement is to be interpreted as 48 business hours, this will allow for the contractor to manage resources more effectively and provide a lower coefficient. Please confirm if the hours are based on business hours as defined in section 2.6 of the PWS. | RCO/DPW | This will be revised in the solicitation amendment to require contractor to response within 5 business days unless another deadline is specified in the task order request for proposal. | Shaffer | |
| 36 | Both | Performance Work Statement Section 4.3.1 ‘Temporary Utilities’ references specification 01 50 00.03 29 but there is not a corresponding specification section in Gordian. Is the contractor to consider PWS section 4.3.1 as specification section 01 50 00.03 29? | RCO/DPW | Section 4.3.1. of the PWS will be removed in the solicitation amendment. This is in reference to general specifications that will be included in each TO. | Shaffer | |
| 37 | Both | In order to provide the most cost effective coefficient, it is imperative to understand what would and would not be considered for non pre-priced (NPP) line items. Some projects require specialized certification that is not cost effective to capture in the coefficient. For example, the UFC specification on a lightning protection project requires certification of the installation by a third party. In this example, the third party certifiers would have to travel to the site from the continental US. The Gordian specifications do not require certification and the line items do not include it. If the SOO/SOW requires the certification, would the cost of certification be accepted as a NPP? | RCO/DPW | A "special inspection" line item can be included in a offeror's price proposal utilizing the UPB. See CTC 01 22 16 00-0001. |
| Shaffer | |||||
| 38 | Both | Many JOC solicitations include three coefficients to include normal working hours, non-standard working hours, and a third, typically lower, coefficient for non pre-priced items. Can the bid schedule be modified to include a coefficient for non pre-priced line items? | RCO/DPW | Non-pre-priced items will be handled using the appropriate coefficient that is based on either standard or nonstandard working hours. | Shaffer |
| 39 | Both | The bid schedule does not have a coefficient for non pre-priced line items. Will the task order coefficient apply to non pre-priced line items? | RCO/DPW | Non-pre-priced items will be handled using the appropriate coefficient that is based on either standard or nonstandard working hours. | Shaffer |
| 40 | FGA | 14. Reference: Section L, Paragraph 8.2 (p. 36) |
Paragraph 8.2 states: “To expedite the evaluation process, each offeror must contact the above company to effect execution of such an agreement prior to the submission of proposals. Each offeror shall submit copies of the agreement with their proposal.”
Question: In accordance with these instructions, we reached out to Wolf Creek Federal Services, Inc. However, Wolf Creek is unaware of this requirement and was unable to provide any direction. We respectfully request that Government coordinate with Wolf Creek to ensure that they are aware of this expectation. Additionally, we request that the Government provide an acceptable template for Wolf Creek to satisfy the RFP requirement.
| RCO/DPW | Solicitation will be amended to remove this requirement. Contractors will not be used in source selection. | Shaffer |
| 41 | Both | 15. Section L, Paragraph 5.3.3 Volume III Coefficient (p. 34) |
Paragraph 5.3.3 states: “Annual price adjustments for option year(s) under this contract shall be applied on the contractor’s base year coefficient using the adjustment formula at AFARS 5152.237-9000. The contractor shall update, at their own expense, the UPB with the adjusted coefficient upon the exercise of an option year.”
Question: Please confirm that the base year coefficients as priced in attachments H.1 and H.2 will be allowed to be adjusted annually upon the issuance of an option year.
| RCO/DPW | The UPB prices will remain static throughout the life of the contract. The coefficient will be adjusted each option year using the stated AFARS formula. The contractor shall maintain access to eGordian and update their own copy with the adjusted coefficient at each option year. | |
| 42 | FWA | 16. Reference: Attachment J.1. FWA Sample Project A, CRL-00001-5J – Statement of Objectives, Paragraph 2.4 Electrical |
Paragraph 2.4 states: “Install fire alarm activated door release devices on single door units. Building 4070 has an existing, operating, Monaco M-2 Analog Addressable Fire Alarm Control Panel.”
Question: Could the Government please provide a Fire Alarm Panel Schedule so that we can confirm that the addition of nine (9) electro-magnetic door release devices will work with the existing Monaco fire panel?
| DPW | Proposers to make assumption that FACP (Monaco M-2) will accept additional devices to support the SO. Proposers should annotate all assumptions and develop their sample project responses appropriately. | |
| 43 | FWA | 17. Reference: Attachment K.1 FWA Sample Project B, DPW-17085-7J – Statement of Objectives for Building 4511 Construct ADA Access and Attachment K.2 DPW-17085-7J Drawings |
Questions:
a. Which electrical panel will we tie lighting and power into and what is its location? Can we get electrical prints (Panel Schedule, Power Plan, and Lighting Layout)?
b. Does the Government want the PACS security system door locks to be on both sets of doors or just the outer most set? Please clarify how this system would work with the Handicap door actuator buttons on the outside of the facility.
c. Where is the alarm control panel located for the facility to tie into the fire alarm, CO detectors, and PACS?
d. Does the Government want one ramp to get into the building or one ramp per sidewalk leading away from the building (a total of three)?
DPW During performance of the JOC Contract, the Government and Contractor will jointly develop the full scope of work to the initial Scope of Objectives during the Site Visit. This Sample Project highlights the opportunity for Proposers to assist the Government in identifying solutions without the use of prescriptive design documents.
a. Electrical panel is located in lower hallway south of stairwell before entering the conference room. Assume space is availible.
b. PACS: PACS to be located at inter door set thus allowing vestibule entry out of the weather prior to activation requirement. This project will modify an existing PACS system that is currently scheduled for replacement and is not integrated into this Sample Project.
c. FACP: Monaco M-2 located in top corridor, see attachment (Matt to provide).
d. Proposers to develop their solution to provide required accessibility installation from exterior to interior. The Government is interested in obtaining contractor ingenuity in joint scoping solutions to common infrastructure renovations.
44 FWA 18. Reference: Utility Outage
Questions:
a. Doyon Utility has the Maintenance Contract for Fort Wainwright and charges for coordination regarding utility outages and other utility related service calls. How does the Government wish contractors to incorporate this expense (i.e. non-pre-priced, coefficient, e-Gordian line item, etc.)?
b. Please provide Doyon’s prices for service calls for tasks such as utility locates, outages, and other related services.
RCO/DPW Doyon Utility does not charge for coordination regarding utility outages or service calls for tasks such as utility locates and outages for existing services.
Doyon will charge for performing work for new utility connections and should be treated as a subcontractor using the proper eGordian line items. Offerors should contact Doyon directly to determine if there is a substantial difference between the CTC book price and Doyon's service fee and adjust the proposed coefficient accordingly.
| 45 | FGA | The SF 1442 lists the minimum contract quantity as $25,000. In the solicitation, Page 32 of 44 (Paragraph 5.) states to base the coefficient on $8.0M annual revenue for FGA. Page 33 of 44 (Paragraph 5.3) then goes on to say that the coefficient needs to account for other risks of doing business “(i.e. risk of a lower than expected dollar value)”. The statements on Page 32 and 33 directly contradict each other. Please clarify. | RCO/DPW | Coefficient shall be based on a minimum $25K. However, the JOC program has a history of high utilization on both installations. The estimated construction volume is $8M and 9.6M annually at FGA and FWA respectively. However, the Government cannot predict the future funding environment nor performance of the awardee and therefore the contractor's coefficent must include the risk of receiving lower than expected volume. | Shaffer |
| 46 | Both | Could you please provide an anticipated breakdown of the anticipated work by CSI division for both FWA and FGA? | RCO/DPW | Task Orders issued on this contract will address a wide variety of Sustainment, Restoration and Modernization projects. We cannot predict anticipated work by CSI division. | |
| 47 | Both | Page 32 of 44 of the solicitation lists what is required for the sample proposal but does mention a price proposal. I would assume that this is desired by the Government (since pricing was repeatedly mentioned during the site visit) but then when I go to the evaluation criteria (Page 41 of 44) for Volume II price again isn’t mentioned. Please clarify exactly 1) what is required and 2) what is being evaluated for Factor 2. | RCO/DPW | For evaluation purposes, Volume II will be evaluated based on the technical task approach and task risk management but not on price. The technical task approach shall include a breakdown of the UPB line items used and price as the Government may choose to award the sample projects based on the technical proposal. Should the Government choose to award the sample projects, the offeror's proposed price will have the contract coefficient applied for the award. The price will be evaluated by analyzing the contractor coefficient (Volume III). Note: UPB pricing is required for Volume 2 Section 1. | |
| 48 | Both | We would really like to propose on this project, but may find it difficult to prepare this large proposal by January 10th because of the aftermath of the Anchorage earthquake on November 30th. Our parent company’s offices received catastrophic damage, and they are moving into our location. We are also assisting the Anchorage School District with emergency repairs so they can open schools. I’m sure other offerors in the Anchorage area have similar concerns. Would you consider extending the due date? |
| RCO/DPW | The Government will amend the solicitation to change the RFP due date to 17 January 2019 affording a 7-day extension. | |||||
| The Government will consider follow-on requests if needed. | Shaffer | |||||
| 49 | Both | Section L, Paragraphs 5.1 & 5.2: the installations listed in 5.1 Area 2 of the Ft Wainwright geographic area and 5.2 Area 2 of the Ft. Greely geographic area are identical. Please confirm. If both the FWA and FGA JOC holders are covering the same installations, is it the Government’s intent to have them compete for work on these installations? | RCO/DPW | No. FWA and FGA requiring activities have distinct areas of responsibility. The projects will be solicited from the JOC awardee who services the requiring activity. There is geographic overlap, but not responsibility overlap. | ||
| 50 | Both | Section L, Paragraph 5.3.1: several of the items listed to be included in the coefficient are listed in Gordian as unit price line items. Please confirm that these should be part of the coefficient. | RCO/DPW | The Construction Task Catolog pages 00-1 through 00-4 will provide clarity regarding this question. | Shaffer | |
| 51 | Both | Section L, Paragraph 6.1.3 states to match subcontractor work “by citing the applicable Government PWS subparagraph number.” We don’t find any PWS subparagraph numbers that pertain to scopes of work that would be subcontracted. Please advise. | RCO/DPW | Requirement will be clarified in the solicitation amendment. The PWS subparagraph reference will not be required. However, past performance for major subcontractors shall include the nature and type of work involved. | ||
| 52 | Both | Section L, Paragraph 6.1.6: this paragraph is listed as TAB 6, but seems to be directions pertaining to TAB 5. What exactly is to be submitted in TAB 6? | RCO/DPW | Tab 6 will be removed in the amended solicitation. | ||
| 53 | Both | Section L, Paragraph 7.2: this paragraph states “The offeror shall complete (fill-in information) the representations and certifications sections indicated below using the file (without modification to the file) provided with the RFP.” however, there are no sections indicated below. Please confirm that Section K – Representations, Certifications and Other Statements of Offerors is actually to be filled out and submitted in TAB 2. | RCO | Representations, Certifications and Other Statements of Offerors shall be filled out and submitted in Volume V, TAB 2. | ||
| 54 | FGA | Section L, Paragraph 8.2: This paragraph states that Wolf Creek Federal Services, Inc. will be assisting the Government in the solicitation review process. We are uncomfortable with a competitor having our coefficient rates, regardless of a non-disclosure agreement. The paragraph goes on to state that “This firm is expressly prohibited from Competing on the subject acquisition.” We have two questions regarding this statement: |
a. Wolf Creek’s parent corporation, Chugach Alaska Corporation, has other subsidiaries that could potentially compete on this solicitation. Would the Government consider a change so that none of Chugach Alaska Corporation’s subsidiaries can compete on this solicitation?
b. Will Wolf Creek Federal Services or any of Chugach Alaska Corporation’s other subsidiaries be allowed to compete on subsequent JOC’s? Their having even read these proposals will give them an unfair advantage on future contracts.
| RCO/DPW | Contractors will not be used in the SSEB. | Shaffer | ||
| 55 | Both | The list of features items following paragraph 5.3.1 of section L states; “Protection of and/or moving of government property” is to be included in the coefficient. Is this limited to small items that do not require disassembly? Will the contractor have access to labor in the CTC for relocating systems and modular furnishings that require disassembly? | RCO/DPW | Yes. Protection of and/or moving of government property shall be included in the coefficient. This is not limited to items that do not require disassembly. |
| 56 | Both | The list of features items following paragraph 5.3.1 of section L also states; “Mobilization and close out for the total contract and each task order” is to be included in the coefficient. Please confirm the contractor will have access to mobilization costs as they are related to large pieces of equipment. | RCO/DPW | Large equipment mobilization can be included in the cost proposal per CTC page 00-1 Equipment Costs. These large equipment line items identify in the notes section if they exclude mobilization. See also 01 71 13 Mobilization. | Shaffer |
| 57 | Both | The list of features items following paragraph 5.3.1 of section L also states; “Permits, licenses and fees” is to be included in the coefficient. Please confirm the CTC will have a section for reimbursable fees as they are related to specific required permits and special inspections if required by the govt. | RCO/DPW | Direct costs associated with specific permits and special inspections can be included under the applicable UPB line items. All indirect administrative effort required to complete and submit permits are included in the contractor's coefficient. |
See CTC page 00-2, Project Related Costs that are included in the coefficient include services required to complete the project filings and obtain permits.
| Permit fees required by a local, State or Federal agencies are considered direct costs that can be included under the applicable UPB line items. | Shaffer | |||||
| 58 | Both | Will the contractor be responsible for providing annual eGordian training for Government personnel. If so, how many seats? | RCO/DPW | No. Government will have its own training for Government personnel. | ||
| 59 | Both | Section L, Paragraph 6.2.4: Requires PMP certificates be submitted for an on-site staff person. Would you consider certification for on-site PM be obtained after award? Or consider accepting PMP certification for home office staff instead? | RCO/DPW | No. Certification must be submitted with proposal. It is anticipated work will begin immediately upon award. | ||
| 60 | FGA | With respect to the FGA Sample Project A (CRT-0001-5J), it was discussed during the site visit that disposal at the Fort Greely landfill was not allowed. Paragraph 1.2 of the SOW says that materials can be disposed of at the Fort Greely landfill. Please clarify. | DPW | Fort Greely disposal may be used at no cost. | ||
| 61 | FGA | Similar to the previous question, in general for the JOC, will disposal of materials (in accordance with Ft. Greely Environmental Procedures) at the Ft. Greely landfill by the JOC contractor be allowed and if so is there any cost? | DPW | Fort Greely disposal may be used at no cost. | ||
| 62 | FGA | With respect to FGA Sample Project A (CRT-0001-5J), is there any asbestos or lead based paint considerations on the existing materials to be removed? | DPW | No. | ||
| 63 | FGA | With respect to FGA Sample Project A (CRT-0001-5J), is there any work associated with heat tracing of the 20 roof drains? | DPW | No. | ||
| 64 | Both | On the solicitation, Page 34 of 44 Paragraph 5.3.3 appears to state that there is an annual AFARS adjustment to the coefficient as well as an annual UPB adjustment for option years. Please clarify. | RCO/DPW | The UPB prices will remain static throughout the life of the contract. The coefficient will be adjusted each option year using the stated AFARS formula. The contractor shall maintain access to eGordian and update their own copy with the adjusted coefficient at each option year. | ||
| 65 | Both | Section 3.1.1 of the Performance Work Statement states “The Contractor shall maintain permanent on-site technical and administrative staff.” Within this section it details a requirement for a full time on site Professional Engineer or Registered Architect. This professional full time staff position is extremely expensive and difficult to employ in the Fort Greely/ Delta Junction HUBzone area. Providing this full time position could substantially drive up the cost of the JOC, especially at FGA. | RCO/DPW | The Government is seeking a highly qualified team that can provide construction and engineering solutions for a wide variety of Sustainment, Repair and Modernization projects. The Government values professional certification and applicable experience. | ||
| 66 | Both | If the intent of the JOC is to deliver a broad range of maintenance, repair and minor construction work (as called out in Section 3.1 of the PWS), why is a full time on-site P.E. or R.A required? | RCO/DPW | The Government is seeking a highly qualified team that can provide construction and engineering solutions for a wide variety of Sustainment, Repair and Modernization projects. The Government values professional certification and applicable experience. | Shaffer | |
| 67 | Both | Will the government furnish design and engineering services for this contract? If yes, is the intent of the JOC provided P.E. / R.A. required to review the government furnished designs and provide feedback? | RCO/DPW | The Government will provide design and engineering services for this contract. The purpose of the PE/RA is to have a highly qualified team that can provide construction and engineering solutions for a wide variety of Sustainment, Repair and Modernization projects. | Shaffer | |
| 68 | Both | Could the intent of P.E. or R.A. position be fulfilled by other acceptable means? |
i. Is it possible for the contractor to substitute the P.E. / R.A position with a professional that has qualifications and work experience equivalent to the intent of the position, without the P.E. or R.A. designation?
ii. Is it possible for the contractor to provide a P.E./ R.A. on an as needed basis?
| RCO/DPW | Solicitation will be amended to clarify this requirement. | Shaffer |
| 69 | Both | Section 3.1.1 of the Performance Work Statement states “The Contractor shall maintain permanent on-site technical and administrative staff.” Within this section 6 positions are identified, some positions are identified as “assigned on site as a full time staff member” others do not clearly state if the position is required permanent on-site full time. Please confirm which of the following staff is required permanent on-site full time: |
a. Program Manager – assigned as full time staff member, independent from other required positions, can be reached 100% of the time during duty hours, within 1 hour during non-duty hours.
b. Project Manager – states it must be a different discipline than the project manager (could be a typo, maybe intended to be different than the Program Manager), independent from other required positions, it does not state if this is a permanent full time staff position. Please confirm?
c. Quality Control Manager - states it must be independent from other required positions, it does not state if this a permanent full time staff position. Please confirm?
d. Superintendent - states it must be independent from other required positions, can be reached within 15 minutes during all working hours, it does not state if this a permanent full time staff position. Please confirm?
e. Office manager - it does not state if this a permanent full time staff position. Please confirm?
f. Site Safety and Health Officer - states it must be independent from other required positions, must be onsite daily during active construction projects, it does not state if this a permanent full time staff position. Please confirm?
| RCO/DPW | Solicitation will be amended to clarify this requirement. | |
| 70 | Both | Section 3.1.1 of the Performance Work Statement states “one of the permanent staff shall have a current PMP certification from the Project Management Institute (PMI) or shall have a current Certified Construction Manager (CCM) from the Construction Manager Certification Institute.” |
a. Can this position be filled with a professional that has qualifications and work experience equivalent to the intent of the position, without the PMP or CCM certification?
b. The Institute referenced requires ongoing membership through the organization. If an individual passed the PMP or the CCM they may not be an active member of the institute. Is it required for the PMP or CCM to be an active member of the Institute?
c. Is it possible for the contractor to fill this role with a professional holding a Project Management certification from a college or university?
RCO/DPW a. No. Certification is a requirement.
b. A current cerfication is the requirement.
| c. If an alternative certification is equivalent. There must be both substantial education and experience validation. Failure to comply will raise the offeror's technical risk. | Shaffer | ||
| 71 | FGA | Section 5.3.1 of the Solicitation addresses the coefficient. The list of costs not included in the UPB line items includes “work-site security”. |
a. Does work-site security include providing security escorts needed to complete work on the Missile Defense Complex?
b. If security escorts are needed, will the security escorts be provided by the government or covered as a line item?
| RCO/DPW | Security escorts on the MDC will be provided by the Government as needed. | |
| 72 | FGA | RFP Section L, Proposal Preparation Instructions |
Reference:
Section L, 1.3 – Proposal Submission Requirements, chart of Volume information.
Question:
Please clarify the correct title of Volume I. It is listed in Section L as “Volume I – Integrated Project Plan” and listed as “Volume I – Management/Technical Plan.”
| RCO/DPW | The solicitation will be amended to ensure title are consistent with Volume numbers. | |
| 73 | Both | RFP Section L, Proposal Preparation Instructions |
Reference:
Section L, 2.1 – Digital Format.
Question:
Please confirm that the four (4) copies of Volumes I – IV requires two (2) copiessanitized and two (2) copies unsanitized. Also, confirm that the two (2) copies of Volume V requires one (1) copy sanitized and one (1) unsanitized.
| RCO/DPW | Sanitized and unsanitized copies of Volumes I, II and III are required. Volumes IV and V are only required unsanitized. | |
| 74 | Both | RFP Section L, Volume I – Management/Technical |
Reference:
Section L, 3.1.2 – Integrated Project Plan
Question:
Please provide the “specified format” required for the integrated project plan in Sub-section 3.1.2.
| RCO/DPW | Contractor should provide their own format to clearly communicate their proposal in response to the requirement. Section L will be amended to reflect the use of contractor format. | |
| 75 | Both | RFP Section L, Volume II – Two Sample Task Proposal |
Reference:
Section L, 4.2.2
Question:
In response to requirements for Volume II, would the Government like a Quality Control Plan for each Task Order or can the Quality Control Plan be a part of the overall proposal submittal?
| RCO/DPW | Yes. Both are required. | |
| 76 | Both | RFP Section L, Volume III – Coefficient (Price) |
Reference:
Section L, 5.3.1
Question:
In Section 5.3.1, it states that the Contractor’s coefficient shall include at a minimum of many items listed that are not included in the unit price book (UPB). Under compliance of environmental laws, when there are projects requiring Sampling and Analysis Plans or Storm Water Pollution Prevention Plans, should these costs be included in the Contractor’s coefficient or will these costs be project specific or priced per project?
RCO/DPW Direct costs associated with specific permits and special inspections can be included under the applicable UPB line items. All indirect administrative effort required to complete and submit permits are included in the contractor's coefficient.
See CTC page 00-2, Project Related Costs that are included in the coefficient include services required to complete the project filings and obtain permits.
| Permit fees required by a local, State or Federal agencies are considered direct costs that can be included under the applicable UPB line items. | Shaffer | ||
| 77 | Both | RFP Section L, Volume IV – Entry-Gate Criteria |
Reference:
Section L, 6.1.5 – Tab 5 Past Performance Questionnaire
Question:
Would the government allow submittal of a Contractor Performance Assessment Reporting System (CPARS) in place of a Past Performance Questionnaire?
| RCO/DPW | CPARS and PPQs are acceptable as long as they meet Section L requirements of the RFP. | |
| 78 | Both | Section L, 8.2 – Evaluation of Proposals by Wolf Creek Federal Services, Inc. |
Wolf Creek Federal Services is a competitor of Offerors that are likely to bid for this procurement, and there is a concern about their access to Offerors’ proprietary information and organizational conflict of interest (OCI).
a. How does the Government plan to mitigate the OCI concerns that effect the Offerors’ propriety information?
b.
This is the start of the file's text. The full file is on GovTribe.
File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .