AMD 0001 Vendor Questions and Answers - W519TC27QA0120001.pdf
PDF 46 KB Posted
- Attached to
- M7A1 Bearing Material
- Solicitation number
- W519TC27QA012
About this file
This is a Vendor Questions and Answers document for Solicitation W519TC27QA012 concerning M7A1 Bearing Material. The document does not address required products or services, response dates, award dates, or pricing terms, but rather clarifies technical specifications and requirements through six question-and-answer pairs.
The key clarifications include: (1) confirmation that the Government is aware the suggested source (Timken Company, P/N S0594DU0500-S1) no longer supplies DU strip material in sheet form; (2) correction of the material thickness specification to a minimum of 0.0585" and maximum of 0.0605", as detailed in the updated Drawing 1110700278 attached with Amendment 0001; (3) acceptance of equal materials from other manufacturers that meet all Drawing 1110700278 requirements and are accompanied by a Certificate of Conformance; (4) allowance for material supplied in manufacturer's standard lengths (approximately 500 mm to 1600 mm) totaling 424 linear feet rather than the specified 5" × 96" sheets, provided the 5" minimum width requirement is met; (5) identification of the end product as three different dash part numbers for washers that install on door assemblies for the FRS system, as shown in Drawing 1110700280; and (6) confirmation that the PTFE/lead bearing surface specification is mandatory and that lead-free alternatives are not acceptable.
View the file
Other files
On GovTribe
Work with this file
- Download the original file
- Contacts named in this file
- Similar government files
- Ask GovTribe AI about this file
Text version
AMD 0001 Vendor Questions and Answers – Solicitation W519TC27QA012
– M7A1 Bearing Material
Q1. The suggested source of supply on Drawing 1110700278 and Attachment 0002 is the Timken Company, P/N S0594DU0500-S1. Timken acquired GGB Bearing Technology in 2022 and this part number is GGB DU strip material. GGB North America has advised me in writing today that, per company policy, DU material is no longer available in strip or sheet form and that GGB will only supply finished components. Given that Attachment 0002 requires purchase in 5" (usable width) x 96" sheets only, could you please confirm whether the Government is aware that the suggested source no longer supplies this material in sheet form?
A1. The Government has been notified; we have relayed this information accordingly.
Q2. The drawing lists thickness as 0.585"/.0605". Attachment 0002 says .0585"/.0605".
Please confirm .0585" is correct.
A2. This discrepancy was due to the fact that the non-updated drawing was uploaded to the solicitation posting. The accurate and updated version of Attachment 0001 – 1110700278 has now been attached accordingly with Amendment 0001. The correct minimum thickness accepted will be .0585”, the maximum thickness is .0605”.
Q3. Will an equal material from another manufacturer that meets all requirements of Drawing 1110700278 and the purchase description, supplied in 5” x 96” sheets with a spec sheet and Certificate of Conformance (COC) be considered technically acceptable?
A3. If the quote meets all requirements called out in Drawing 1110700278 and comes with a COC, it will be acceptable.
Q4. Attachment 0002 requires 5" x 96" sheets. Drawing 1110700278 specifies width as 5.00" minimum but does not specify length. No current manufacturer of this material produces 96" sheets; standard lengths are roughly 500 mm to 1600 mm. Would the Government accept the full 424 linear feet in the manufacturer's standard lengths, provided all drawing requirements are met?
A4. Drawing 1110700278 does not specify the length, because the length is determined by the size of the machine table we will put the material on to process it. In our case, the machine table can up to handle 96’ lengths. The 5” minimum relates to the largest width of one of the washers we make, so we need a minimum of 5 inch widths.
Q5. What is the end product or application the bearing material is used for? The manufacturer of the suggested source part (S0594DU0500-S1) has told us it will only release a quote for this material in sheet form once it knows the end product. Any description you are able to share would let us obtain pricing.
A5. The product we will produce are the three different dash part numbers on Attachment 0003 – Drawing 1110700280 – QnA End Product. The washer then gets installed on a larger door assembly for the FRS system. Please see Attachment 0003 for further information on the end product.
Q6. Is the PTFE/lead bearing surface in the purchase description mandatory, or would an equal product with a lead-free PTFE surface be considered, if it meets the other characteristics and a spec sheet is provided?
A6. Yes, the PTFE/lead bearing surface in the purchase description is mandatory.
File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .