RFP 202512164 - 21st CCLC Program Q

14 KB Posted

Attached to
21st Century Community Learning Centers
Solicitation number
RFP - 05A - 202512164
Issued by
Maine

About this file

This is a Questions and Answers document issued by the Maine Department of Education regarding RFP 202512164 for 21st Century Community Learning Centers (21st CCLC) programs under Title IV, Part B of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act. The RFP solicits proposals from eligible organizations to deliver after-school and summer educational programs for Maine students, with programs required to serve schools where at least two-thirds of students are eligible for free and reduced-price lunch based on fiscal year 2026 data. Eligible applicants may submit new, expansion, or companion proposals to extend existing grant awards expiring June 30, 2026, for an additional four-year period through June 30, 2030. The document clarifies that applicants must apply for the full four-year award period with no option for shorter funding spans, that companion proposals may make only minor adjustments to program operational targets while maintaining the same overall service levels and target student populations, and that before-school programming is permitted under non-school hours requirements. The informational webinar occurred on January 21, 2026, with questions due by February 4, 2026, Intent to Apply Forms due by February 25, 2026, and final proposal submissions due by April 7, 2026.

Key eligibility requirements include that new schools not currently in operation are ineligible, and schools must have been operational during the preceding school year. The 21st CCLC program requires restricted indirect cost rate agreements only, with de minimis rates prohibited due to "supplement not supplant" statutory requirements. Individual program sites within multi-site programs may operate different hours provided they meet minimum operational requirements of at least 2.5 hours per day, and single-site programs are limited to one facility location throughout the year. Companion proposals may not drastically reduce program goals, outcomes, hours, or student enrollment targets from the expiring grant award, though minor adjustments to better meet student and family needs are permissible. Library hour expansion is optional rather than mandatory. The anticipated contract period runs from July 1, 2026, through June 30, 2027, with potential optional renewals extending through June 30, 2030, with annual 12-month contracts subject to continued federal funding availability and satisfactory performance.

Text of this file

Sheet1

Question Answer

Will the state consider proposals from schools who qualified before Maine provided free meals for all students, which has resulted in a decline in forms completed for free/reduced lunch? We qualified until this change.As noted on page 11 of the RFP, at least 2/3 of the students to be served in a 21st CCLC grant proposal must attend a school where at least 40 percent of students are eligible for free and reduced-price lunch. Page 12 of the RFP further clarifies that the 40 percent threshold is determined based upon data from fiscal year 2026.
Can 21st Century Grant funds cover before school care for children?As specified on pages 6, 9, and 63 of the RFP, 21st CCLC grant funded activities must take place during non-school hours. This can include programming that occurs before school as well as after school.
With Maine's universal free meals affecting FRL data, do you allow alternative, federally permissible poverty indicators to demonstrate eligibility, or a process to provide supplemental documentation when FRL percentages are understated?As noted on page 11 of the RFP, at least 2/3 of the students to be served in a 21st CCLC grant proposal must attend a school where at least 40 percent of students are eligible for free and reduced-price lunch. Page 12 of the RFP further clarifies that the 40 percent threshold is determined based upon data from fiscal year 2026.
Could you please confirm whether a new charter school authorized to open in fall 2026 would be eligible to apply under this year's funding cycle and/or share guidance for new schools in pre-operational stages?Under this RFP, any school that is not currently in operation and/or was not in operation during the preceding school year would not be eligible for inclusion in a 21st CCLC grant proposal.
The description of contract term states that there is "an initial one year contract, followed by up to three 1 year renewals." Is it possible to apply for one year only or for an abbreviated period? (to sync up multiple grants)As noted on pages 11 and 13 of the RFP, the Department is accepting proposals for awards that would span 4 years in length. Such awards would be divided into annual 12-month funding contracts, where continued funding from one year to the next would be subject to the continued availability of federal funding and satisfactory performance by the grant recipient. Under this RFP, no organization may apply for an award that would span less this four-year period.
Is there an acceptable de minimis to apply if there is no Restricted Indirect Cost Rate Agreement in place?As noted on pages 7 and 39 of the RFP, the 21st CCLC program has “supplement not supplant” statutory requirements, meaning awards under this program are only eligible for restricted indirect cost rates through a restricted indirect cost rate agreement. The use of a de minimis rate is not allowed for the 21st CCLC program.
For companion (continuation) proposals, is the amount requested limited to the last grant amount? This used to be a requirement for continuation grants, but it is not stated in the RFP.As stated on page 11 of the RFP, companion proposals serve to extend the funding and services of an existing grant award, expiring on 6/30/26, for an additional 4-year period. In this context, minor adjustments can be made to program operational and youth service targets. However, the overall level of services, target student population, and program site(s) must be the same as those in the grant award expiring on 6/30/26.
For companion (continuation) proposals, do the number of students served and hours/weeks have to be the same as the previous grant? In the past, continuation grants had a requirement that you could serve the same or more/As stated on page 11 of the RFP, companion proposals serve to extend the funding and services of an existing grant award, expiring on 6/30/26, for an additional 4-year period. In this context, the initial funding request amount for the companion award may not exceed the funding amount provided under the current grant award expiring on 6/30/26.
For a single site program, can the summer location be different from the school year location?As specified on pages 7 and 13 of the RFP, single-site programs are limited to operating a single grant-funded program site, which is generally defined as the facility where 21st CCLC-funded activities take place. As such, a single-site program may not operate multiple program sites concurrently or at different times throughout the year.
For a multi-site program, can the hours be different from one site to another, especially if the 2 sites serve different age groups?The RFP does not specify required start or end times for proposed program activities. So long as each program site meets or exceeds the minimum operational requirements outlined on page 63 of the RFP, individual program sites may have different operational hours for services.
Can the goals change on a companion application. For example, change from Prevention to Safety. This is in reference to page 49-54 of the RFP and as refenced on page 36 under "Elements of High-Quality Program".As stated on page 11 of the RFP, companion proposals serve to extend the funding and services of an existing grant award, expiring on 6/30/26, for an additional 4-year period. In this context, minor adjustments can be made to program goals and outcomes to best meet the needs of students and their families. Goals and outcomes may not, however, be drastically reduced from those of the grant award expiring on 6/30/26.
Can Outcomes decrease in time and hours on a companion application, as referenced on pages 49-54 of the RFP and referred on page 36?As stated on page 11 of the RFP, companion proposals serve to extend the funding and services of an existing grant award, expiring on 6/30/26, for an additional 4-year period. In this context, minor adjustments can be made to program goals and outcomes to best meet the needs of students and their families. Goals and outcomes may not, however, be drastically reduced from those of the grant award expiring on 6/30/26.
Can the number of LP and RLP students decrease or increase from the present grant when writing a companion application?As stated on page 11 of the RFP, companion proposals serve to extend the funding and services of an existing grant award, expiring on 6/30/26, for an additional 4-year period. In this context, minor adjustments can be made to program operational and youth service targets. However, the overall level of services, target student population, and program site(s) must be the same as those in the grant award expiring on 6/30/26.
Are expanded library hours mandatory in writing the grant when students typically do their research online in a classroom setting, as referenced on page 13, #9 under E. Allowable Activities?As outlined on pages 12 and 13 of the RFP, each bidder “may” use awarded funds to carry out various types of allowable activities, including expanding library services hours. However, such activities are not a requirement of all grant proposals.
Can the hours per day decrease from 2.5 to 2.0 per the minimum requirement as referenced on page 63 in the RFP, when writing a companion grant?As stated on page 11 of the RFP, companion proposals serve to extend the funding and services of an existing grant award, expiring on 6/30/26, for an additional 4-year period. In this context, minor adjustments can be made to program operational and youth service targets. However, the overall level of services, target student population, and program site(s) must be the same as those in the grant award expiring on 6/30/26.
Can an LP invitation only program be changed to an open enrollment program when writing a companion application? If not, can an LP/RLP invitation only program change to and invitation only program for both LP/RLP and non-LP/RLP students?As noted on pages 6, 33, and 62 of the RFP, 21st CCLC programs are intended to primarily serve students who perform below grade level expectations in readying and/or mathematics. The RFP does not, however, require services exclusively for this sub-group of students. Additionally, page 11 of the RFP notes that companion proposals serve to extend the funding and services of an existing grant award, expiring on 6/30/26, for an additional 4-year period. In this context, minor adjustments can be made to program operational and youth service targets. However, the overall level of services, target student population, and program site(s) must be the same as those in the grant award expiring on 6/30/26.
Can the grades to be served be different on the Companion Application? For example, if the grades are 2 through 6, can the Companion Application serve 2 through 5? This question is in reference to page 34 of the RFP, Program Description, section b.This question was submitted following the 4:00 p.m. deadline on February 4, 2026 and therefore a response cannot be provided.
What if the school is Title I now, but in 2 years loses Title I because of changing population? Will the school lose the grant?This question was submitted following the 4:00 p.m. deadline on February 4, 2026 and therefore a response cannot be provided.

Other files

On GovTribe

Work with this file

  • Download the original file
  • Contacts named in this file
  • Similar government files
  • Ask GovTribe AI about this file

File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .