QandA.doc

DOC document 69 KB Posted

Attached to
CBRN-D Training
Solicitation number
HSCG23-13-R-QLT003
Issued by

About this file

Questions and Answers

View the file

Other files

File Type Posted
Amend00002.pdf PDF
Amend00001.pdf PDF

On GovTribe

Work with this file

  • Download the original file
  • Contacts named in this file
  • Similar government files
  • Ask GovTribe AI about this file

Text version

1. What is the expected average student load per course, per year? What is the expected maximum student load per course?

a. The solicitation anticipates the maximum participation per course.

2. PWS 5.3.2: Of the 20 expected annual convenings of the Domestic Response CBRN-D course, what portion is expected to be 4 days versus 5 days in length?

a. TBD. As mentioned it is dependent on student size because the student size will determine whether or not the unit requires additional fit testing/suit sizing time built in to the schedule.

3. How many courses, by type and location, and year were executed in the past 36 months?

a. The current PWS accurately reflects the governments training needs.

4. What is a Job Familiarization Record?

a. An MLEA-generated document that tracks the SME practical knowledge of an instructor. For our new Active Duty staff who are unqualified to instruct when they arrive, we have a Job QUALIFICATION record (JQR) but since those hired under the contract are already technically qualified in the area of CBRN, the JFR serves as a mechanism for us to track their understanding of, and practical application of, the CBRN concepts and equipment pertinent to the USCG.

5. Does the Government require Subject Matter Experts (SMEs), SME consultation/ support services to field units, maintenance of equipment assets in preparation for training, and instruction to include Radiation Detection Level I Operations (2 hours), Radiation Detection Level II Refresher [an annual requirement] (4 hours), and Radiation Detection Operations Awareness [designed for Command/Operations Center personnel] (2 hours)?

a. The current solicitation accurately reflects the governments training needs.

6. How is Good Physical Fitness defined?

a. See PWS section 1.3.2.1.3

7. Does the Government require the Radiation Detection Instructors to be qualified to teach, or instruct Radiation Detection Level I Operations and Hazardous Situations/Hazardous Materials orientation to Coast Guard personnel?

a. See amendment 2

8. Does the Government define “Cs-137 RAD Source, 4 each” as four radiation source tabs at an activity of 1 µCi (microcurie) each? Only one 1 µCi Cs-137 (Cesium-137) check source tab accompanies each USCG radioisotope identification device (RIID) in a box of eight [one EOD-8 Kit accompanies one RIID].

a. As indicated in PWS section 3.3, the Government plans to purchase four individual Cs-137 tabs for each contractor

9. Is the Government to furnish the radiation check sources, which accompany each USCG RIID, to the Radiation Detection Level II Operator Course Instructors for training? The DOE Savannah River Site Contractor/Health Physicist furnishes half of the radiation sources required to execute the course of instruction [as listed in Para. 3.5]. As a kit, the RIIDs contain eight 1 µCi exempt check sources of varying radioisotopes [Ba-133, Cs-137, Co-57, Co-60, Cd-109, Eu-152, Mn-54, and Na-22]. These tabs are “stacked” and contained in small cylinders, and used as suspect sources in two of the three training venues.

a. See Amendment 2

10. Is the Government aware they list only the Introduction to the CBRN-D program and HAZMAT overview lesson? The remainder of the paragraph describes a “such as” listing of CBRN-D equipment [not lessons], and it is not current-the MLE Academy instructional materials no longer include the 3M 6000 [transitioned to the Joint Service General Purpose Mask (JSGPM) M53].

a. The USCG requires entry-level (not SME/mastery level) lessons will be delivered for all CBRN-related equipment. The 3M-6000 was left in because of recall issues with the M53 mask; if those problems have been resolved then 3M-6000 can be replaced with M-53.

11. [The Government lists radiation detection equipment items in Para. 5.4.3]. Does the Government require SMEs once the listed equipment assets change to adopt/adapt instructional materials? Polimaster’s Personal Radiation Detector (PRD), Sensor Technology Engineering, Inc.’s RADPACK, and the HPRDS Communications Package (HCP) remain current. The USCG RIID has been subjected to several companies (Target System Electronics, Thermo Fisher Scientific, Thermo Scientific, Thermo Electron Corporation, ICx Radiation, Inc., and FLIR Systems, Inc). Therefore, a myriad of firmware differences exist.

a. No, we require instructional services only; curriculum development will be performed by the USCG.

12. [The Government requires Course Critiques in Para. 5.5, to include pre- and post- written tests, and provide Graduation Certificates specifying the Contractor will administer]. Does the Government intend this change from the current Model Schedule? The current schedule includes a written examination in the afternoon of Day 2 and final course critiques prior to graduation. The effect of this requirement will increase the time of execution of the current model schedule. The MLE Academy possesses an organic administrative capability to produce completion certificates and the course critique is collected electronically by a Government employee from the Performance Systems Division (formerly the Curriculum Department).

a. The PWS accurately reflects the needs of the government. MLEA's External Training Division will be responsible for coordinating any and all course delivery to the Contractor for new equipment items. In addition, MLEA's Performance Support Division will ensure all changes to equipment assets are updated accordingly in approved training material

13. Can the Government please provide the maximum instructor-to-student ratio for the Domestic Response CBRN-D Course and the Radiation Detection Level II Operators Course?

a. See amendment 2

14. What is the historic frequency and what is the expected frequency of coverings for each course at each location?

a. The current PWS accurately reflects the governments training needs.

15. Can the Government share the approximate student loading and instructor utilization at the various places of performance? How many instructors are currently used per each class session taught?

a. The current PWS accurately reflects the governments training needs.

16. How often is training conducted at each of the locations outside of Charleston, SC?

a. The current PWS accurately reflects the governments training needs.

17. How much of the necessary class equipment will be staged on site?

a. Training equipment will be stored at one of the Government sites. Each trainer will then have the equipment listed in PWS section 3.0

18. Is it the intent of the Government to maintain and store the GFM at the MLEA?

a. The equipment listed in 3.4 will be maintained and stored on site at the MLEA. All other GFM will either be maintained/ stored at the various Government sites for distribution.

19. VOL 3 PRICE: The CLIN structure does not specify a CLIN for the Project Manager, who is not only specified as Key (PWS 1.3.1), but is required to be available by telephone all day Mon – Fri (1.3.1.3). Will the Government consider adding an additional CLIN for the Project Manager?

a. See amendment 2

20. Q: VOL 3 PRICE: the CLINs for the “Cost for Additional Instructor Based on Class Size” does not specify either the course or the number of days (e.g., classes can run from 3 – 5 days depending on the course). Will the Government modify this CLIN to specify price per day for an additional instructor?

a. See amendment 2

21. Q: PWS 1.3.1: states that the Project Manager is designated as Key. PWS 1.3.2 does not specify that the Instructors are Key; however, HSAR 3052.215-70 does list Instructors as Key Personnel. Please confirm whether or not the Government considers all Instructors as Key Personnel.

a. See Amendment 2

22. Q: PWS 1.8 Travel: states that no indirect costs on travel will be reimbursed. Given that the potential for a substantial amount of travel will exist under this contract, and the fact that offeror accounting systems may be DCAA approved (which may require a specific G&A rate on travel costs), will the Government at least allow offerors to propose a fixed G&A rate or a handling fee for travel?

a. No, PWS section 1.8 remains unchanged.

23. Q: Please confirm that the 45-page limit does not include Title Pages, Tables of Contents and/ or Glossaries.

a. See Amendment 2

24. Q: In Paragraph 3.2.2.6 “The Government desires these instructors to reside near the Charleston, SC area due to the frequency (every other week on average) of this course.” Since this contract is a per course task order and there are no full time equivalent (FTE) positions, is there a need to have the instructor live in/around Charleston?

a. See Amendment 2

25. Q: In Paragraph 3.3 and 3.4 there are list of equipment that will be provided to the instructors. Who maintains this equipment? Where is it located? Who is responsible for shipping the equipment to the training location? Who is responsible for return shipping of the equipment from the training location?

a. See amendment 2

26. Q: Will the Government provide the training sets of equipment to the contractor after contract award to ensure the instructors are familiar with the equipment?

a. No, The government will provide the equipment stated in section 3.0

27. Q: Are the written tests for each course provided by the Government or does the contractor have to prepare these?

a. Yes, government will provide the written tests

28. Q: 1.3.2.2 Radiation Detection Instructors: In accordance with reference (f), the contractor shall provide highly qualified instructors knowledgeable in Coast Guard-specific Level I and II Radiation Detection and Hazardous Situations scenarios to perform instructor duties at the MLE Academy.” What duties at are to be performed at the MLE Academy? And under which CLIN are these covered? We assumed that the radiation course was taught at a units location, is this incorrect?

a. See amendment 2. Radiation Detection Level II Course listed in CLIN 00004 and its corresponding ordering periods.

29. Q: Who will be responsible for updating instructional materials and at what interval? Annual reviews and changes will not be timely based on the aforementioned reference for field use, and changes in U.S. Coast Guard policy will not be implemented as directed.

a. As stated in PWS sections 5.1.1, 5.2.1, and 5.3.1 the course curriculum will be provided by the Government

30. Q: Is it the Government’s intent to provide SME support towards the development of instructional materials, i.e., Lesson Plan Outlines, PowerPoint slideshow presentations, student workbook sections, and reference handbooks for operator use?

a. No, that is not part of the requirement.

31. Q: Is it the Government’s intent to provide office spaces or office equipment for CBRN-D Field Instructors?

a. See amendment 2

32. Q: Is it the Government’s intent to provide office spaces and office equipment for Radiation Detection Instructors?

a. See amendment 2.

33. Q: Who are, or when will, the Government designate Key Personnel?

a. See amendment 2

34. Q: Is it the Government’s intent to staff a CBRN-D Field Instructor in each Coast Guard District?

a. No, please see PWS section 1.6 instructors will have access to the classroom.

35. Q: Are personnel to be stationed at each Coast Guard District location and serve as SMEs for the District when not instructing?

a. No, the USCG will not need the use of SMEs.

36. Q: Are these positions full- or part- time positions?

a. Neither, the government intends to procure courses on a per course basis.

37. Q: Are these Coast Guard District location/positions required to be filled or is it in the Government’s best interest to service the [place of performance] Government site training locations with instructors from other locations when training is required?

a. Deployment of offeror personnel is the domain of the offeror.

38. Q: Will the government supply office space and computers/administrative support?

a. Only as needed when instructing a course

39. Q: Is it the intent of the government to limit corporate experience to an offeror’s experience with the general area of CBRND or specifically limit corporate experience to the USCG CBRN-D training program? Current wording could be interpreted to corporate experience to only incumbent and recent/current performers of USCG CBRN-D training program. Request the Government broaden the corporate experience requirement and evaluation criteria to CBRND training in general.

a. See amendment 2

40. Q: Is it the intent of the government to limit instructor experience to an offeror’s experience with the general area of CBRND or specifically limit instructor experience to the USCG CBRN-D training program? Current wording could be interpreted to instructor experience to only incumbent and recent/current performers of USCG CBRN-D training program. Request the Government broaden the instructor experience requirement and evaluation criteria to CBRND training in general.

a. See amendment 2

41. Q: Should this sentence read - a minimum of 5 years experience as a military, law enforcement, (or vice of) government public health CBRN-D Subject Matter Expert?

a. See amendment 2

42. Q: In the CLIN Pricing structure, each CLIN has a minimum quantity and a maximum quantity of courses to be delivered. Does the Government anticipate offerors to price a single unit of each course in its Pricing Volume that will be accurate for any number of repetitions of the training?

a. Yes

43. Q: The submission deadline is the day after Memorial Day on June 28th. This imposes a greater time crunch for the required internal reviews of the proposal with the holiday weekend just in front of the due date. Will the Government consider extending the proposal due date?

a. See amendment 2

44. Q: Does “Offeror’s capacity to meet geographic needs” translate into what is the Offeror’s ability to have instructors physically located at the places of performance?

a. No, per PWS section 1.6 the government does not require the offeror instructors to be physically located onsite.

45. Q: With regard to FAR 31.205-46, is it the Government’s intent to not pay labor costs for transit time to and from the place of performance.

a. See amendment 2

46. Q: Does the Government anticipate requirements for cleared personnel (S/TS)?

a. See amendment 2

47. Q: How many times a year will the Government require the Project Manager to visit each class location?

a. There is no anticipated government required for the PM to travel.

48. Q: The Government defines a requirement for "monthly training and personnel summary updates." Is this focused upon USCG students, contractor personnel (training of contractors to latest USCG-defined standards reflected in evolving instruction from MLEA), or both?

a. The report should encompass the student’s activities for that month with regards to the proposed contract.

49. Q: Will the Government supply a copy of a recent End of Visit Report (EOVR) for evaluation?

a. No, EOVR will be made available to offeror after contract award.

50. Q: Section 1.3.1.3 indicates “The PM shall be available to the COR via telephone between the hours of 0800 and 1700 Eastern Time, Monday through Friday”. Section 1.7 HOURS OF OPERATION indicates that “Contractor employees shall generally perform all work between the hours of 0700 and 1700…” What will the hours of operation for this effort consist of?

a. See amendment 2

51. Q: Is it the intent of the Government that they will be the custodian of the Government Furnished Equipment (GFM) for classroom instruction since this is not accounted for in the pricing CLINs?

a. See amendment 2.

52. Q: Is it the intent of the Government that they will be responsible for the shipment of the GFM since this is not accounted for in the pricing CLINs?

a. See amendment 2.

53. Q: Is it the intent of the Government that they will provide maintenance of GFM since this is not accounted for in the pricing CLINs?

a. See amendment 2

54. Q: If the contractor maintains materials, how are they replenished and who bares that cost since this is not accounted for in the pricing CLINs?

a. See amendment 2

55. Q: Is it the intent of the Government to replace all consumables and replenish the kits since this is not accounted for in the pricing CLINs?

a. See amendment 2

56. Q: Is it the intent that the Government will conduct the applicable "NBC Room" type inspections on the GFM?

a. See amendment 2

57. Q: If the materials are contractor maintained, what are the contractor's responsibilities for maintenance and security of sensitive items (principally radioactive sources)?

a. Offeror is not responsible for the maintenance and security of sensitive items.

58. Q: Will the Government be responsible for reproducing the Instructors’ and Students’ classroom material?

a. See amendment 2

59. Q: Will the Government be responsible for shipping the Instructors’ and Students’ classroom material?

a. See amendment 2

60. Q: As a “Best Value” Using the tradeoff approach, will the government employ a “cost reasonableness “assessment to determine Best value?

a. No, this is a Firm Fixed Price acquisition.

61. Q: These paragraphs identify the maximum number of course convenings for each of the courses within each one year period. However, based on the CLIN Minimum order of “1” and citing the reference to FAR 52.216-22 INDEFINITE QUANTITY (OCT 1995) paragraph (b) “…The Government shall order at least the quantity of supplies or services designated in the Schedule as the "minimum.", will the Government provide a history of the number of course convenings for previous years for each course or, an average per year for each course, based on historical data?

a. The maximum class amount represents an accurate assessment of the governments needs.

62. Q: There are three courses that require three (3) days and another that requires four (4) or five (5) days depending on number of students; is it anticipated that the cost of an additional instructor be the same for the three (3) day course as it is for the longer course or will a separate CLIN be provided for the addition of an instructor on the longer course?

a. See amendment 2.

63. Q: Will the Contractor be required to store, maintain or manage these items or any other government property?

a. Offeror will only be responsible for the storage of items listed in PWS section 3.0

64. Q: Can the government provide the historical average number of attendees for these courses?

a. At this time the government will not provide this information.

65. Q: Will the government provided a CLIN for Project Management Hours?

a. No, the courses prices are firm fixed price. Please see amendment 2.

66. Q: FAR 52.216-22 references supplies and services; is it the contracting officer’s intent to procure CBRN items, if desired by USCG customers, through this IDIQ along with the required training?

a. The solicitation is for the services detailed in the PWS.

67. Q: Will the contracting officer describe their current warrant level held for this solicitation?

a. The KO’s warrant level is sufficient.

68. Q: Will the contracting officer identify the incumbent?

a. The current effort is being performed by Battelle.

69. Q: Will the contract officer supply the current number of full time employees used to facilitate this work?

a. This is unknown to the KO. However, the current effort underway is different than the effort in the PWS for this solicitation.

70. Q: Will contracting officer provide a copy of all course curriculums for contractor review pre award?

a. No, curriculum will be provided after award.

71. Q: Does the government anticipate providing either a historical training schedule or a tentative training schedule for the program, or should the contractors submitting offers propose a training class schedule?

a. Training will be conducted following the task orders.

72. Q: For the purpose of proposing cost structures associated with the numbers of instructors, is it anticipated that training courses may overlap or could there be simultaneous courses occurring in different geographic locations necessitating “duplicate” training staffs?

a. See amendment 2

73. Q: Is there anticipated first Delivery or Task Order that the government is willing to provide as a draft?

a. No, there is not.

74. Q: With the exception of the travel CLIN, will all of the IDIQ task orders be firm fixed priced?

a. See amendment 2

75. Q: Does the Government have a preferred font and font size for the written proposal?

a. See amendment 2

76. Q: Does the contractor have any contractual role in shipping and receiving government furnished training supplies and/or equipment? If so, please specify the role(s).

a. See amendment 2

77. Q: Are contingent offer letters required for prospective personnel who are not currently employed by the proposing firm? Will these be counted against the page limit?

a. Contingent offer letters are not required. If they are provided they are to be part of Volume 2 and will count against the total page count.

78. Q: Is it the government’s intention that the project manager and instructors, with the exception of RAD II trainers, will be based in the contractor’s facilities and that no government office space will be provided, except to instruct courses?

a. See amendment 2.

79. Q: Will the government provide a quarterly or an annual training schedule?

a. Training schedule will be provided after contract award.

80. Q. What type of contract is this, FFP, CPFF, T&M, CPIF?

a. See amendment 2

81. Q: Is a security clearance required for this contract?

a. See amendment 2

82. Q: Does the contractor have to bear the cost, if any, of shipping of class materials, equipment, and supplies (either with a shipping carrier or as checked baggage on a commercial flight)?

a. See amendment 2

83. Q. Is the contractor required to bear the costs of paper, printing, binding of class material?

a. See amendment 2

84. Q: PWS 1.2. Is it the Government’s intent that the contractor provides SME support to assist the MLEA in curriculum reviews and revising course materials based on these reviews?

a. No

85. Q: Paragraph 3.0. Are batteries, alcohol wipes and other training consumables /expendables used during training considered provided by the government or reimbursable to the contractor?

a. See amendment 2

86. Q: Section 5.4.1: Unlike all the other specified courses, the solicitation doesn't indicate the Government will furnish a course curriculum for the Rad Level II Operators Course. Will a course curriculum be provided, or is the offeror expected to develop a course curriculum as part of this contract?

a. See amendment 2

File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .