Q and A - RFQ 75H70425Q00042 - Amendment 0001.pdf

PDF 143 KB Posted

Attached to
Agency-Wide Lean Six Sigma Training Program and Support Services
Solicitation number
75H70425Q00042
Issued by

About this file

This document is a Solicitation Questions and Answers (Q+A) for RFQ #75H70425Q00042, issued by the Indian Health Service (IHS) Headquarters for an Agency-Wide Lean Six Sigma Training Program and Support Services. The requirement is for a virtual training program delivering Lean Six Sigma certification across Yellow Belt, Green Belt, and Black Belt levels, with a progressive, blended learning approach primarily delivered through a contractor-provided Learning Management System (LMS).

Key details include maximum participant seats by belt level and year (Base Year: up to 235 total, Option Year 1: up to 360 total, Option Year 2: up to 460 total), with training being self-paced e-learning combined with live virtual instruction and project work. The program requires project work for Green and Black Belt certifications, incorporates a Train-the-Trainer component to develop internal trainers, and expects the contractor to provide comprehensive training materials, track participant progress, and conduct performance assessments. The anticipated award date is 09/26/2025, with initial training delivery expected within 30 days of award. Pricing will be structured in an all-inclusive CLIN format, and FedRAMP authorization is required for the virtual training platform.

View the file

Other files

On GovTribe

Work with this file

  • Download the original file
  • Contacts named in this file
  • Similar government files
  • Ask GovTribe AI about this file

Text version

Question # Question Answer 1 How many participants are expected to attend the program? (Total) Totals by belt across all years: YB 900, GB 130, BB 25 (sum 1,055).

2 How many training sessions will be required to accommodate all participants?

The solicitation does not prescribe a fixed number of sessions. This is a seat-based, primarily virtual program delivered through the contractor’s secure LMS. Offerors should propose the session/cohort structure (e.g., class sizes and frequency) needed to accommodate up to the following maximum seats by year and belt level:

Base year: up to 235 total (YB 200, GB 30, BB 5) Option Year 1: up to 360 total (YB 300, GB 50, BB 10) Option Year 2: up to 460 total (YB 400, GB 50, BB 10)

3 For each training session, how many days of training are anticipated?

The solicitation does not prescribe a fixed number of days per session. Training is a seat-based, primarily virtual program that blends self-paced e-learning with live virtual instruction and project work. Offerors shall propose the session length/schedule that achieves the required outcomes for each belt level.

4 Although the sessions are listed as virtual, will they be delivered as live virtual training or as on-demand modules?

Both. The requirement is a blended virtual program that includes on-demand (self-paced) e-learning and live virtual instruction, delivered through the contractor’s LMS. Offerors should propose the mix/schedule that achieves the PWS outcomes. For Yellow Belt, 100% on-demand is acceptable.

5 Is there a defined cap on the number of attendees per class or tier of training?

Base year: up to 235 total (YB 200, GB 30, BB 5) Option Year 1: up to 360 total (YB 300, GB 50, BB 10) Option Year 2: up to 460 total (YB 400, GB 50, BB 10)

How many participants are expected to undergo training in each of the Lean Six sigma course category - yellow belt, green belt and black belt, per year?

Base year: up to 235 total (YB 200, GB 30, BB 5) Option Year 1: up to 360 total (YB 300, GB 50, BB 10) Option Year 2: up to 460 total (YB 400, GB 50, BB 10)

We understand that IHS is seeking a virtual Lean Six Sigma training program and platform designed to deliver advanced knowledge and practical skills in continuous process improvement. Could you please clarify what do you mean by the term “platform”? Are you specifically looking for e-learning courses for Lean Six Sigma certification programs? If so, how many participants are expected to require access to this platform within a one-year period?

By “platform,” IHS means the contractor’s secure, web-based Learning Management System (LMS) and related services used to host and deliver Lean Six Sigma training, manage enrollments, track learner progress, and produce usage/completion reports. Training is blended—it includes on-demand (self-paced) e-learning modules and live virtual instruction, delivered through the vendor’s LMS.

The curriculum is tiered (Yellow/Green/Black Belt) and culminates in certification upon completion.

Regarding access within a one-year period, the solicitation is seat-based and identifies the following “up to” annual ceilings (not guaranteed minimums), which represent the number of participants who may require platform access in that year:

Base Year: up to 235 total (YB 200, GB 30, BB 5) Option Year 1: up to 360 total (YB 300, GB 50, BB 10) Option Year 2: up to 460 total (YB 400, GB 50, BB 10)

8 How many resumes does the Government expect to see in the Technical Capability section? There is no set expectation for the # of resumes included.

9 Do resumes count toward the 10-page technical volume limit, or may they be submitted as an appendix/attachment? Resumes will not count toward the ten (10) Page maximum.

10 Is this a new requirement, or is there an incumbent currently providing these services? This is a new requirement.

11 What is the anticipated budget or funding estimate for this effort? The estimated budget for this requirement exceeds the Simplified Acquisition Threshold, but falls below $7.5 million.

May the offeror rely on key personnel’s individual Lean Six Sigma training experience in lieu of corporate past performance, if the company itself has limited direct history in this domain? Relevant Past Performance should reflect work completed by the entity vs. an individual employee's prior experience.

13 Are offerors permitted to submit commercial past performance references, or must all references be federal contracts? Both Commercial and Federal examples of Relevant Past Performance are acceptable.

14 How many past performance references are required, and is there a preferred format?

There is not a required # of Past Performance references/examples, etc. However, submissions should clearly demonstrate/identify the requested information.

How many participants are expected at each training level (foundational, intermediate, advanced) during the base year?

Base year: up to 235 total (YB 200, GB 30, BB 5) Option Year 1: up to 360 total (YB 300, GB 50, BB 10) Option Year 2: up to 460 total (YB 400, GB 50, BB 10)

What is the anticipated number of cohorts per year?

Base year: up to 235 total (YB 200, GB 30, BB 5) Option Year 1: up to 360 total (YB 300, GB 50, BB 10) Option Year 2: up to 460 total (YB 400, GB 50, BB 10)

For advanced training (Black Belt), how many real-world projects per participant does the Government expect?

One. For Black Belt (advanced) training, the PWS requires one capstone project per participant that demonstrates the participant’s ability to lead a high-impact, cross-functional improvement aligned to agency goals (with at least two performance measures improved). Offerors should propose the coaching/tollgate approach to support successful completion.

18 Does IHS intend for the contractor to provide its own virtual training platform, or will Government-furnished systems be used? The virtual training platform should be vendor-provided.

Does this requirement fall under the Service Contract Labor Standards (SCLS), and if so, are wage determinations applicable to trainer roles? No, SCLS are not applicable.

20 What is the anticipated award date and expected start date for initial training delivery? Anticipated Award Date = 09/26/2025. Expected State Date for Initial Training Delivery = Within 30 Days of Award.

Solicitation Q+A

RFQ # 75H70425Q00042

Amendment 0001 Requirement Title: Agency-Wide Lean Six Sigma Training Program and Support Services

Indian Health Service - Headquarters

Should Lean Six Sigma data analytics software costs be included within the proposal?

Yes. The contractor is responsible for providing all required learning materials and the LMS-based platform, including any software resources needed for learners to complete coursework/projects. Accordingly, offerors should include any required data-analytics software costs in their proposed price (brand-neutral; no specific tool is mandated). The Government will not furnish software.

Pricing in the IGCE is per-user by belt level (no separate CLIN for software), so software should be rolled into the proposed belt pricing.

The Scope of Work (Section 3) states the providing of associated certifications for the progressive belt levels. Within the Green Belt and Black Belt, the certification requirements discuss hands-on project components. Who will be expected to review, and/or certify the Green Belt and Black Belt projects (contractor or internal IHS) to ensure project level requirements are met? What is the maximum number of projects expected for review at each level per year?

Reviewer/Certifier: The contractor is expected to review and assess Green Belt and Black Belt projects and to verify completion for certification purposes under the training program. The contractor will coordinate with IHS Program Office regarding belt certification details. The Government’s COR will approve and accept deliverables; the COR does not independently grade projects.

The program includes coaching/mentorship to support successful project completion.

Maximum projects per year to review (assuming one project per participant at GB/BB):

Base Year: Green Belt up to 30; Black Belt up to 5.

Option Year 1: Green Belt up to 50; Black Belt up to 10.

Option Year 2: Green Belt up to 50; Black Belt up to 10.

Should pricing be structured per individual course license (i.e., cost per person, per course), or should it be structured as organization-wide access for a set number of users? All-Inclusive CLIN structure.

If organization-wide access is preferred, could you please confirm the anticipated number of participants per year?

Base year: up to 235 total (YB 200, GB 30, BB 5) Option Year 1: up to 360 total (YB 300, GB 50, BB 10) Option Year 2: up to 460 total (YB 400, GB 50, BB 10)

Are you able to grant an extension of the submission deadline? An additional week would allow for a more thorough response.

Due to end of Fiscal Year closeout activities, the request is unable to be accomodated.

Could you clarify the anticipated number of IHS employees to be included in each of the following training categories? General Lean Education. Lean Six Sigma Certification. Facilitator Roles.

Base year: up to 235 total (YB 200, GB 30, BB 5) Option Year 1: up to 360 total (YB 300, GB 50, BB 10) Option Year 2: up to 460 total (YB 400, GB 50, BB 10)

Assuming the training will be delivered in phases or cohorts, could you provide the expected number of participants per cohort for each training level? Additionally, will cohorts be co-located or distributed across multiple sites?

The solicitation does not prescribe a fixed number of participants per cohort at any belt level. Offerors shall propose cohort sizes and schedules (for Yellow/Green/Black Belt) that meet the PWS outcomes and seat ceilings. The program must be virtual, scalable, and managed via the contractor’s LMS.

What is the planned sequence for the rollout of training levels? For example, will General Lean Education be delivered prior to Lean Six Sigma Certification, or will all levels be implemented concurrently?

IHS intends a progressive, tiered curriculum. At the individual learner level, participants progress from Yellow Belt (foundational) to Green Belt (intermediate) and then to Black Belt (advanced)—Black Belt builds upon Yellow and Green Belt training and includes a capstone project.

From a program scheduling standpoint, levels may be offered concurrently to different participant groups based on readiness and demand, since delivery is primarily virtual via the contractor’s LMS and designed to scale across IHS facilities. Offerors should propose the cohort/rollout plan that satisfies the progressive structure and PWS outcomes.

Is it a requirement that the training provider be authorized to award Continuing Education Units (CEUs)? If so, is university-level accreditation necessary for CEU eligibility?

No. The solicitation does not require the training provider to be authorized to award Continuing Education Units (CEUs), nor does it require university-level accreditation. The requirement is for a virtual, LMS-delivered Lean Six Sigma program that culminates in formal (belt) certification upon successful completion, with the contractor tracking progress and verifying completion. Offerors may propose CEUs as an optional value-add, but CEUs and university accreditation are not stated minimum requirements.

Regarding the Lean Six Sigma Certification requirement, could you specify whether the emphasis should be placed more on Lean tools and Lean transformation, or on Six Sigma methodologies?

Emphasis is balanced and progressive across belt levels. The PWS requires an integrated Lean Six Sigma curriculum, covering Lean tools and transformation (e.g., waste reduction, process flow, change implementation) and Six Sigma methodologies (data-driven problem solving, statistical analysis), with the mix deepening by level:

Yellow Belt (foundational): introduces Lean/Six Sigma concepts and structured problem-solving.

Green Belt (intermediate): adds in-depth statistical analysis and application of structured frameworks to optimize processes (project required).

Black Belt (advanced): emphasizes leading enterprise improvements with complex statistical modeling, predictive analytics, and change management (capstone project required).

Overall, offerors should propose a curriculum that integrates Lean and Six Sigma to meet the outcomes and certification requirements in the PWS; the solicitation does not prioritize one over the other.

How will post-training project support be structured? Should mentoring be provided virtually or onsite? Should these projects be conducted individually, or will they work in groups?

The program requires ongoing coaching/mentorship and on-demand resources to help participants apply the training to real-world projects, with progress tracking and performance assessments. Offerors should propose the coaching cadence (e.g., tollgates, office hours) that achieves the PWS outcomes.

Support is expected to be delivered primarily virtually through the contractor’s LMS/secure web platform; onsite mentoring is not required by the solicitation.

The solicitation does not prescribe individual vs. team format. Offerors may propose either individual or team-based projects provided each participant’s competencies are individually evidenced for certification (e.g., Green Belt hands-on project; Black Belt capstone demonstrating ability to lead).

Does IHS anticipate training all staff categories (clinical, administrative, leadership), or is the training primarily intended for a specific segment (e.g., managers, quality leads, or clinical champions)? All Federal Indian Health Service staff are eligible to participate. There is no targeted group of employees at this time.

Should we plan for agency-wide rollouts simultaneously, or will the training be phased across IHS Areas and Service Units?

The solicitation does not mandate a single, simultaneous agency-wide rollout or a fixed phasing model. Delivery is primarily virtual via the contractor’s secure web-based LMS and is designed to scale across all Federal IHS facilities. Offerors should propose a rollout/cohort plan that meets the PWS outcomes and annual seat ceilings while managing participant enrollment.

The PWS notes the need for virtual delivery — will IHS accept a blended format (e-learning modules + live virtual coaching + project-based work) if it enhances engagement and retention?

Yes. The PWS anticipates a blended virtual approach (primarily for Green and Black Belt), self-paced e-learning modules, live virtual instruction, and hands-on project-based application, with ongoing coaching/mentorship to reinforce skills and retention, all delivered via the contractor’s secure, web-based LMS. Offerors should propose the mix that best achieves the outcomes.

Are there expectations for the inclusion of culturally tailored case studies or scenarios to reflect the unique needs of American Indian and Alaska Native communities?

The PWS does not require culturally tailored case studies specific to American Indian and Alaska Native communities. It requires an interactive, LSS-focused virtual program, including elements such as case studies and project-based application, delivered via the contractor’s LMS and scalable across all Federal IHS facilities. Offerors may include healthcare-relevant case studies/scenarios to enhance engagement and retention; inclusion of AI/AN-specific content is optional and not an evaluation requirement

Does IHS require that participants earn formally recognized Lean Six Sigma certifications (issued by the contractor), or should the certifications be co-branded with IHS?

IHS requires that the program culminate in formal Lean Six Sigma (belt) certification upon successful completion of the coursework and required project work. The solicitation does not require IHS co-branding of certificates. Contractor-issued certifications that meet the PWS outcomes are acceptable; any co-branding would be optional and subject to Government approval.

For the train-the-trainer component, does IHS expect the contractor to also provide facilitator certification pathways, or is the focus primarily on preparing internal staff to lead Yellow/Green/Black Belt projects?

The train-the-trainer component is intended to prepare selected IHS staff to facilitate future training and mentor others, building internal capacity. The solicitation does not require a separate facilitator certification pathway from the contractor. Belt certifications (Yellow/Green/Black) remain the formal certification outcomes. Offerors may propose facilitator credentials as a value-add, but they are not a stated minimum requirement.

Will the capstone project requirements for Green and Black Belts be tied to IHS-defined priority areas (e.g., access, patient safety, compliance), or will participants be able to select projects with local Area/Service Unit leadership approval?

Projects are not restricted to a fixed, agency-wide priority list. For both Green Belt and Black Belt, projects should be relevant to IHS operations and align to IHS goals, with selection coordinated locally (e.g., participant and Area/Service Unit leadership) and supported by the contractor’s coaching/tollgates.The program includes mentorship and post-training support to help scope and complete projects; the contractor tracks progress and performs assessments.

The PWS references mentorship and ongoing support. Should the proposal include a structured post-training group coaching program (e.g., monthly virtual office hours, project clinics), or will this be defined collaboratively after award?

Include it in your proposal. The PWS requires ongoing coaching/mentorship and post-training support (including on-demand resources) to help participants apply the training to real projects. Offerors should propose a structured plan—e.g., monthly virtual office hours, project clinics, and tollgate reviews—with the cadence and capacity necessary to meet the PWS outcomes. Support is expected to be delivered primarily virtually through the contractor’s secure web-based platform/LMS. After award, the Government and contractor may refine the schedule at kickoff, but a clear approach should be included in the proposal.

How does IHS plan to measure the impact of the training (e.g., participant certifications earned, project savings, improvements in patient outcomes), and does the contractor have flexibility to propose KPI dashboards or reporting models? KPI dashboards or reporting models may be proposed.

Are there any specific security or data compliance standards (e.g., FedRAMP, FISMA) that the contractor’s virtual training platform must meet? FedRAMP authorization and compliance is required.

42 Will IHS require integration with federal systems for tracking training completion, or is contractor-provided reporting sufficient? Contractor-provided reporting is sufficient.

Is there a preferred statistical analysis software (e.g., Minitab, JMP) that participants should be trained on, or can the contractor propose widely accepted tools? There is not a preferred statistical analysis software.

Given the uncertainty in participant volume, would IHS prefer pricing to be structured as per participant (unit-based), per cohort (group-based), or a firm fixed annual price with assumptions stated? All-Inclusive CLIN structure.

For pricing table completion, should the contractor provide separate CLINs for Yellow, Green, and Black Belt training, or consolidate into a single line for “Lean Six Sigma Training Services”? All-Inclusive CLIN structure.

Should train-the-trainer services and post-training mentorship be priced as separate CLINs, or included as part of the belt-level certifications? All-Inclusive CLIN structure.

Will IHS accept federal subcontractor experience (e.g., CDC, HRSA, DoD engagements delivered through prime partners) as relevant past performance?

Serving as the Prime on an award is not required to count as Relevant Past Performance. However, the role played (Prime, Sub, etc.)

in delivery should be clearly noted/detailed on the submission.

Are academic partnerships (e.g., Emory University, Morehouse School of Medicine) considered relevant if the training scope and scale align with IHS objectives? Academic partnerships will certainly be considered. However, please keep in mind 51% performance requirements for the Prime.

Seeking to clarify the language under Objective #1 in the Performance Work Statement. At the end of the section, it states that a “formal certification upon successful completion” is required. Typically, consultants — even those with Lean Six Sigma Black Belt credentials — are not able to issue formal certifications, as this would require an accredited institution. If the intent is to develop “In-house Lean Champions,” that is certainly within scope. However, if the expectation is for a consultant to award Yellow or Green Belt certifications, that would usually fall under a technical school or accredited training provider. Could you please clarify the intent of this requirement?

The phrase “formal certification upon successful completion” refers to belt certifications (Yellow/Green/Black) issued by the contractor’s program when a participant completes the required instruction and project work. The solicitation does not require university accreditation or CEU-authorizing status, nor does it require IHS co-branding. Contractor-issued certifications that meet the PWS outcomes are acceptable; the contractor is also expected to track progress and verify completion through its LMS.

How many users are expected to be on the platform concurrently at peak times, or on a monthly basis?

The solicitation does not specify a required number of concurrent users or a monthly active user (MAU) target. Delivery is primarily virtual via the contractor’s LMS, and the platform must scale across all Federal IHS facilities while the contractor manages enrollment and maintains system uptime/support. Offerors should propose capacity assumptions (peak concurrency and MAU) that support the annual “up to” seat ceilings and describe how their LMS meets performance/availability requirements.

What is the expected number of Train-the-Trainer participants?

The solicitation does not prescribe a fixed number of Train-the-Trainer participants. The PWS calls for a train-the-trainer component that prepares select/designated IHS staff to facilitate future training and mentor others, building a cadre of internal trainers and supporting scalability across IHS facilities. Offerors should propose the number, selection approach, and support plan (e.g., mentoring resources) appropriate to their solution and the PWS outcomes.

Should Train-the-Trainer sessions be delivered virtually, in person, or a mix of both? The PWS expects delivery through the contractor’s secure, web-based LMS and does not require in-person sessions. Train-the-

Trainer may be delivered virtually (e-learning + live virtual sessions) consistent with the overall virtual modality.

53 What is the preferred virtual communication platform (Zoom, Teams, or other)? There is not a preferred platform. However, Teams is widely utilized across the Agency.

Is there an established expectation for coaching and mentoring hours per participant?

The solicitation does not set a fixed number of coaching/mentoring hours per participant. The PWS requires a virtual program that incorporates ongoing coaching and mentorship and provides post-training support (e.g., consulting/mentorship and on-demand resources), with progress tracking and performance assessments. Offerors should propose the coaching structure and capacity (cadence, participant-to-coach coverage, tollgates/office hours) that achieve the PWS outcomes.

55 Are there page limitations for the Past Performance and Price volumes? Neither volume should exceed 10 pages.

56 What is the approximate timing for the first trainee to access the vendor LMS? The LMS should be available immediately upon the start of the BASE Year's Period of Performance.

Can the Government please specify where they would like the additional required business information to be located (Reps & Certs, Amendments, FAR 52.209 - 11, etc.). Can Offerors place those documents within the price volume along with the required "Solicitation Pricing Table - 75H70425Q00042"? The additional required documentation may be included in any volume, etc., other than Technical Approach.

Will the Government please exclude the Cover Page and Table of Contents from the 10 page limitation of the "A. Technical Capability Factor" volume? Yes.

Can the Government please clarify if there is a minimum percentage of training that must be instructor-led live virtual sessions? We recommend that at least Black Belt Training be a mix of online and virtual live sessions.

The solicitation does not set a minimum percentage of instructor-led live virtual sessions. The PWS anticipates a blended virtual approach (Especially for Green and Black Belt), self-paced e-learning, live virtual instruction, and hands-on project-based application, delivered through the contractor’s secure, web-based LMS. Offerors should propose the mix (including any % of live sessions) that best achieves the PWS outcomes.

Will the Government please clarify if post-training support should be priced as a standalone CLIN or is expected to be embedded within the firm-fixed-price CLINs? This should be embedded into the all-inclusive firm-fixed-price CLINs.

As per Source Selection Plan, A. Technical Capability Factor, page 1, the training platform must be “available from the onset of the contract award.” However, as per PWS, Section D, Scope, page 8, there is an emphasis on the customization and development of content, which may require ramp-up time.

Will the Government please clarify if Offerors should assume that a fully functional platform (with all course content) must be operational on Day 1, or is a phased implementation approach acceptable, as customized training material must be developed. If so, please describe the timeframe.

The training platform must be functional from the onset of the contract. The platform should allow for the addition of customized content in coordination with the assigned COR.

Please confirm if all training sessions will be 100% virtual. If not, please clarify which training sessions will be held in person and the location(s).

Also, please clarify if IHS is looking for a self-paced online structure vs. more of an instructor-led program.

The solicitation specifies primarily virtual delivery, with all training, support, and deliverables accessible remotely through the contractor’s secure, web-based platform/LMS. The Government does not designate any required in-person sessions or locations in the PWS. Offerors may propose optional in-person elements if they clearly improve outcomes, but in-person delivery is not required.

Given that IHS serves remote and rural tribal communities, are there any bandwidth, internet connectivity, or technical acessibility issues that might impact service? Should our solution include any offline capabilities or alternate delivery methods for areas with limited broadband access?

The solicitation does not specify minimum bandwidth, concurrent user caps, or an offline requirement. Delivery is primarily virtual and must be accessible remotely through the contractor’s secure web-based LMS, with the contractor responsible for maintaining an accessible, high-performing environment and providing technical support. All electronic information and training content must meet Section 508 accessibility requirements (e.g., WCAG/VPAT). Offerors should propose how their solution will perform reliably for users in remote and rural locations (e.g., low-bandwidth modes, asynchronous access, recordings/captions), but offline capability or alternate physical delivery is not required by the PWS.

Will the Government please clarify if the IHS intends to identify and train LSS Project Sponsors to support Green Belt and Black Belt projects?

there’s no explicit requirement in the PWS/AP/IGCE to identify or train “Project Sponsors.” The Government’s intent is to build internal capability (including a train-the-trainer pathway and mentoring for Belt participants), but Sponsor training isn’t specified.

As the deployment status and maturity of the Government's enterpise wide initiative is unclear, will the Government allow Offerors to include a LSS Deployment Design Workshop intended for the Office of Quality and DII? Yes.

As the Government has requested Train-the-trainer (TTT) features, can the IHS please confirm wich roles the TTT will apply to (Green Belt versus Black Belt)? For example, is the TTT requirement intended to prepare IHS Green Belts and Black Belts to train Green Belt and Black Belt team members only?

Train-the-Trainer (TTT) will apply to selected Black Belt participants. The intent is to build a cadre of internal Black Belts who can train, coach, and mentor Green and Black Belt learners across IHS, sustaining capacity beyond the contract. This aligns with the PWS requirement for a TTT component that prepares select participants to facilitate future training and mentor across the Agency, and with the Black Belt level’s emphasis on coaching and mentoring skills. Green Belts are not required to complete a TTT pathway; their focus is applying methods through hands-on projects. Offerors may propose additional GB facilitation/peer-mentoring support as a value-add.

67 Will the government accept a subscription-based software application tool as part of the solution?

Yes. Any costs for subscription-based software applications/application tools must be covered by the contractor as part of the all-inclusive CLIN pricing.

68 Will the government consider allowing pricing options so scalable solutions can be offered? All-Inclusive CLIN structure.

To allow Offerors to provide the IHS with a flexible, dynamic solution, will the Government consider changing this requirement evaluation criteria to Best Value rather than LPTA? This will allow Offerors to provide the Government with a multi-optional, customizable solution to best fit determined needs. Award basis will remain as LTPA.

If the Government desires Black Belts to attend TTT, does this imply that the Government wants to build Master Black Belt capability?

No. Having Black Belts attend Train-the-Trainer (TTT) does not imply that IHS is seeking to build Master Black Belt (MBB) capability.

The PWS calls for a TTT component to prepare select participants to facilitate future training and mentor across the Agency, and the Black Belt level specifically includes skills in coaching and mentoring, but the solicitation’s certification scope is “up to Black Belt.”

Contractor-issued belt certifications upon completion remain the formal outcome. Offerors may propose additional leadership development (e.g., an MBB-style pathway) as a value-add, but it is not required.

As per PWS section D 3.2 "Provide comprehensive training materials, including manuals, toolkits, process templates, and software resources for practical application."

Can Government please clarify what "including manuals" entails? Does this mean Offerors must provide hard copy binder manuals or does the IHS wish to be able to download manuals from the LMS?

“Including manuals” refers to course and reference documentation (e.g., learner manuals, facilitator guides, job aids) that support practical application of the training. The solicitation expects these materials to be provided electronically through the contractor’s secure, web-based LMS and made downloadable/printable for participants and administrators. There is no requirement to furnish hard-copy binders; printed manuals may be offered as an optional value-add if an offeror believes it benefits outcomes. All electronic materials must be Section 508 conformant.

As online learning for Yellow Belt, Green Belt, and Black Belt is individually self paced, how does the Government logistically envision groups of belts coming together at the right time to collectively receive instructor-led live virtual sessions?

The solicitation anticipates a blended virtual program, participants complete self-paced modules and then join instructor-led live virtual sessions. The Government does not prescribe a fixed logistics model; offerors should propose how groups will be brought together for live sessions (e.g., rolling cohorts, milestone-triggered seminars, belt-specific office hours/project clinics) using the contractor’s LMS to manage enrollment, prerequisites, scheduling, and progress tracking. No change to the solicitation.

In the PWS item B, you said you are looking to acquire a virtual Lean Six Sigma training program and platform that provides scalable training for yellow, green, and black belts. We assume you are looking for an existing platform that includes e-learning, offering training and certification upon completion. Is this assumption correct? Yes.

On item 1.1, you also mention that you want the provider to develop, customize, and deliver a structured training program. Can you please clarify this dichotomy? In other words, are you looking for an existing virtual training program, inclusive of the belts, that can be customized to your needs, or are you looking for the contractor to develop a program customized to your needs from scratch? Existing virtual training program, inclusive of the belts, that can be customized to your needs

Are there mandated priority domains (e.g., patient safety, access, revenue cycle, staffing, pharmacy, behavioral health) for project selection in Year 1?

No. The PWS does not mandate Year-1 priority domains. Project selection should be relevant to IHS operations and aligned to IHS goals, coordinated locally with HQ/Area/Service Unit leadership and supported by the contractor’s coaching/tollgates.

How does IHS define “measurable outcomes” for this effort (clinical, operational, financial)? Are there target metrics, definitions, and baselines?

The PWS defines measurable outcomes at a program level as improvements that enhance healthcare quality, improve operational efficiency, and optimize resource utilization, and it requires the contractor to track participant progress, conduct performance assessments, and provide reports measuring training effectiveness and organizational impact. For Black Belt, the curriculum explicitly includes financial impact assessment; the course content also calls for statistical analysis for performance measurement.

The solicitation does not prescribe fixed target metrics, definitions, or baselines. Offerors should propose an outcomes and measurement approach (including how baselines will be set and how clinical/operational/financial impacts will be quantified) that aligns with the PWS and program reporting expectations; the Government will review under the Technical Capability/Processes factor and the COR will accept deliverables.

Deliverables, acceptance, and quality assurance - What are the formal deliverables and acceptance criteria for each (curriculum, syllabi, Train the Trainer materials, reports, certificates, project reviews)?

Below are the formal deliverables and how the Government will accept each. Acceptance is by the assigned COR based on conformance with the PWS (content, accessibility, performance) and the items listed under each deliverable.

1) Curriculum & syllabi (by belt level) Deliverable: Structured curriculum and course outlines/syllabi for Yellow, Green, and Black Belt, showing required topics, progressive belt structure, and blended methods (self-paced + live virtual + project work). Materials must be delivered via the contractor’s secure, web-based LMS and meet Section 508.

Acceptance criteria: Aligns to PWS learning objectives and belt outcomes; delivered and accessible through LMS; electronic materials are 508-conformant.

2) Course content & materials (manuals, toolkits, templates, software resources) Deliverable: Learner/facilitator manuals, toolkits, process templates, and software resources supporting practical application.

Provided electronically (downloadable/printable) via the LMS.

Acceptance criteria: Completeness against PWS content list; functional access through LMS; electronic files meet 508.

3) Train-the-Trainer (TTT) plan and materials Deliverable: TTT plan, artifacts, and supports that prepare select participants to facilitate future training and mentor others;

designed to help build a cadre of internal trainers and program sustainability.

Acceptance criteria: Demonstrates how designated staff are enabled to facilitate/mentor; aligns to PWS objective for internal capacity building.

4) Learner progress & program reports Deliverable: Usage and performance reporting that tracks participant progress, conducts performance assessments, and measures training effectiveness and organizational impact across belt levels; includes agency updates on these metrics.

Acceptance criteria: Reports are timely, complete, and show progress/assessment results and organizational impact consistent with the PWS and evaluation inputs.

5) Certificates (belt certifications) Deliverable: Formal belt certifications (YB/GB/BB) issued upon successful completion of required instruction and project work;

contractor verifies completion and maintains records via the LMS.

Acceptance criteria: Evidence that certification criteria are met (completion + project); verification available to COR.

6) Project reviews (GB hands-on; BB capstone) Deliverable: Documented reviews/tollgates and final evaluations for:

Reporting, analytics, and impact measurement - What learner analytics are required (enrollment, attendance, time-on-task, assessment scores, progress, completions)?

The solicitation does not prescribe a fixed, exhaustive list of learner analytics. It requires the contractor to track participant progress, conduct performance assessments, and provide reports measuring training effectiveness and organizational impact; the evaluation input also asks offerors to describe methods for tracking learner progress and generating usage reports.

Accordingly, proposals should at minimum address analytics for:

•Enrollment & access management (registra ons, seat u liza on, cohort assignments).

•Progress/comple ons & cer fica on issuance (by module and belt level).

•Assessment/knowledge-check results and related performance measures.

•Par cipa on in live virtual sessions (a endance) consistent with the blended model.

•Project tracking & outcomes (GB hands-on, BB capstone): status, comple on, and quan fied organiza onal impact

(clinical/operational/financial as applicable).

Offerors may include additional analytics (e.g., time-on-task/engagement, learner satisfaction) and should explain how reports will be delivered through the LMS to the COR.

What performance metrics does IHS already use or expect to use to evaluate the effectiveness of the training program?

IHS will evaluate the program using a combination of learning delivery/achievement and project/impact measures. The PWS and evaluation input require contractors to track participant progress, perform performance assessments, and provide reports that measure training effectiveness and organizational impact, and to describe methods for tracking learner progress and generating usage reports.

Accordingly, proposals should at minimum address how the LMS and reporting will cover:

•Enrollment and access management (registra ons, seat u liza on, cohort assignments) and progress/comple ons/cer fica on issuance so the Government can verify who advanced to each belt and when.

•Assessment results/knowledge checks and other performance assessments used to verify learning outcomes.

•Project pipeline and outcomes for GB/BB (e.g., projects started/completed, tollgates passed) and quan fied organiza onal impact where applicable (clinical/operational/financial), consistent with the PWS emphasis on measuring training effectiveness and organizational impact and BB financial impact assessment.

•Pla orm performance & support (e.g., system up me and technical support responsiveness) to ensure reliable access for a distributed workforce.

The solicitation does not set fixed target metrics or baseline values; offerors should propose definitions, baselines, and reporting cadence that align to these requirements and enable the COR to accept deliverables.

What are the expectations for follow-up support or mentoring after certification? Hours per learner or cohort? Duration of access to coaches? Other?

The solicitation requires a virtual program that incorporates ongoing coaching/mentorship and post-training support (e.g., consulting/mentorship and on-demand resources) to help participants apply the training to real projects. It does not set a fixed number of hours per learner/cohort or a mandated duration of access to coaches. Offerors should propose a structured support model—such as tollgate reviews, virtual office hours, and project clinics—sized to meet the PWS outcomes and facilitate project completion for Green/Black Belt participants. Support is expected to be delivered primarily virtually via the contractor’s secure, web-based LMS.

Is a pilot/initial cohort preferred before full rollout? If yes, what are the pilot success criteria and expansion gates?

The solicitation does not require a pilot/initial cohort before full rollout. Rollout is offeror-proposed: vendors should describe their methodology and schedule for making courses available, managing enrollment, and scaling delivery through the contractor’s LMS.If an offeror proposes a pilot as part of its approach, the Government expects pilot success criteria and expansion gates to be tied to the PWS outcomes and reporting requirements.Offerors should explain how meeting these criteria will trigger expansion from a pilot/first cohort to broader rollout; specific thresholds are offeror-proposed and will be evaluated under the Technical Capability/Processes factor.

How many internal trainers does IHS wish to develop in the base period and per option year?

The solicitation does not prescribe a number of internal trainers for the base or option years. The PWS calls for a program that “develops a cadre of internal trainers” and includes a Train-the-Trainer (TTT) component that prepares select/designated participants to facilitate future training and mentor across the Agency. Offerors should propose the number of TTT participants, selection approach, and support plan appropriate to their solution and the PWS outcomes.

Are there any required Train The Trainer deliverables (trainer manuals, slide decks, facilitation guides, assessment rubrics, co-teach sessions)?

The solicitation requires a Train-the-Trainer (TTT) component that prepares select participants to facilitate future training and mentor across the Agency, and it expects the contractor to provide comprehensive electronic training materials via the LMS (e.g., manuals, toolkits, process templates, software resources). It does not enumerate a specific, mandatory list of TTT artifacts or require co-teach sessions. Accordingly, offerors should propose a TTT package (plan + materials) that enables designated staff to deliver/facilitate training and mentor others, and meets the program’s reporting/assessment requirements. Materials must be Section 508 conformant and accessible through the contractor’s secure, web-based LMS.

Are all participants expected to complete capstone projects as part of certification?

No. Project work is required for Green Belt and Black Belt certifications, not for all participants.

•Green Belt: includes a hands-on project requirement applying learned concepts to a real IHS improvement ini a ve.

•Black Belt: requires a capstone project demonstra ng ability to lead a high-impact, cross-func onal improvement aligned with agency goals.

The PWS lists these project requirements for GB/BB; it does not specify a project requirement for Yellow Belt, which is described as foundational coursework.

Does IHS require a specific accreditation standard (e.g., IASSC, ASQ) for certification, or will agency-recognized vendor certification suffice?

The solicitation does not require a specific external accreditation standard (e.g., ASQ, IASSC). The PWS requires “associated certifications up to Black Belt” and a program that “culminates in formal certification upon successful completion,” with the contractor tracking progress and verifying completion via its LMS. Accordingly, agency-recognized vendor certifications that meet these requirements are acceptable. Co-branding with IHS may be considered at the Government’s discretion but is not required.

File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .