140FF0227Q0010_Visitor_Center_ADA_Door_Answers_0001.docx
DOCX document 984 KB Posted
- Attached to
- WV-CANAAN VLY NWR-VC ADA DOORS
- Solicitation number
- 140FF027Q0010
- Issued by
- Not on record
About this file
This is a Questions and Answers document for solicitation 140FF027Q0010 concerning ADA door modifications at the Canaan Valley National Wildlife Refuge Visitor Center. The project requires installation of automatic door operators on four doors (Entrance Door 101, Vestibule Door 101A, and restroom doors 127 and 128) with paired hollow-metal assemblies, 3-foot by 7-foot leaves in 6-foot-4-inch frames. The contractor must automate only the active left-hand outswing leaf at Doors 101 and 101A while leaving the inactive leaves manual, and install radio-controlled push plates with door-mounted presence sensors on both swing and approach sides capable of detecting a 28-inch-high person.
The Statement of Work requires contractors to extend 120VAC, 5-amp power to each operator and install one exterior bollard with a 4-inch-square push plate at the main entrance. No specific operator manufacturer is designated; products must meet SOW specifications with COR approval, including clear anodized aluminum finish. Critical unknowns requiring onsite verification include electrical panel location and spare breaker capacity, ceiling types and heights, above-ceiling accessibility for conduit routing, and final equipment locations and mounting configurations. The document clarifies that existing surface-mounted door closers may be removed per COR direction, that site access is available Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. by arrangement, and that final acceptance is based on COR inspection without requiring third-party AAADM certification. No response dates, award dates, pricing terms, or set-asides are addressed in this Q&A document.
View the file
Other files
| File | Type | Posted |
|---|---|---|
| Sol_140FF027Q0010_Amd_0001.pdf | ||
| A04_SOW.docx | DOCX document | |
| B03_WD.pdf | ||
| Sol_140FF027Q0010.pdf |
On GovTribe
Work with this file
- Download the original file
- Contacts named in this file
- Similar government files
- Ask GovTribe AI about this file
Text version
140FC226Q0010 Visitor Center ADA Door Question and Answers
1. Site Photos: Pictures of the existing doors, frames, entrances, and surrounding installation areas.
· Photographs of the existing Entrance Door 101 and Vestibule Door 101A are included in Section 11 of Statement of Work_WV-CAV Visitor Center ADA Doors 1. The photographs show paired hollow-metal doors, existing surface-mounted closers, glazed openings, pull hardware, and the adjacent installation areas.
2. Drawings and Measurements: Any available drawings, floor plans, door dimensions, or measurements relevant to the project.
· The SOW provides the following dimensions for both openings:
· Door 101: 3-foot by 7-foot by 1¾-inch hollow-metal leaf in a 6-foot-4-inch-wide hollow-metal frame.
· Door 101A: 3-foot by 7-foot by 1¾-inch hollow-metal leaf in a 6-foot-4-inch-wide hollow-metal frame.
· The contractor must verify all measurements before construction and coordinate the final layout with refuge staff.
3. Existing Door Conditions: Details regarding the current door types, configurations, hardware, and any anticipated modifications.
· Doors 101 and 101A are paired hollow-metal door assemblies in hollow-metal frames. The supporting photographs show existing surface-mounted closers and manual hardware. The available files do not identify required door repairs, frame repairs, reinforcement, latch modifications, or replacement of the existing doors.
4. Electrical Requirements: Information on existing power sources, electrical connections, and any electrical work required for the automatic door operators.
· The contractor is responsible for extending 120VAC, 5-amp power to each automatic door operator. The available files do not identify the source panel, circuit numbers, spare breaker capacity, routing distances, or whether dedicated circuits are required. Offerors should verify those conditions at the site before submitting a quote.
5. Power: Is there an existing 120VAC circuit with spare capacity near each of the four doors (101, 101A, 127, 128), or should offerors price new circuits from the electrical panel? If from the panel, where is the panel located relative to the doors?
· The available project files do not confirm that a nearby 120VAC circuit has spare capacity for Doors 101 or 101A, nor do they document the location of the electrical panel relative to the doors. The SOW requires extension of 120VAC, 5-amp power but leaves existing conditions to contractor verification.
6. Operator type: Should the operators be low-energy (ANSI/BHMA A156.19) or full-power (ANSI/BHMA A156.10)? The SOW calls for presence sensors on both swing and approach sides, which is typical of full-power units.
· The SOW does not expressly designate ANSI/BHMA A156.19 low-energy operators or ANSI/BHMA A156.10 full-power operators. It requires door-mounted presence sensors on both the swing and approach sides of Doors 101 and 101A. The contractor should provide equipment that satisfies the stated functional and safety-sensor requirements and all applicable regulations, subject to COR approval.
7. Bollard: May the push-plate bollard be anchored with a surface-mounted base plate and anchors into the existing concrete, or is core-drilling and embedment required? Is there a preferred location relative to the entrance door?
· One exterior bollard is required for the main entrance push plate. It must accept a 4½-inch-square push plate, have a carbon-steel post and UV-resistant plastic cap, and be mounted on the existing concrete. The SOW does not specify surface mounting versus core-drilled embedment. The final location and layout are to be identified or verified with refuge staff before construction.
8. Electrical: Where is the nearest 120V panelboard with spare capacity for the new operator circuits, and what is the approximate distance from it to Doors 101/101A and to Doors 127/128? Are spare breaker spaces available?
· The nearest panelboard, available breaker spaces, and approximate wiring distances are not identified in the available files. These conditions require onsite verification.
9. Ceilings: What are the ceiling types and heights along the circuit path and at each door (exterior porch at Door 101, vestibule at 101A, Men's 127 and Women's 128 restrooms)? Is the space above the ceilings accessible for running conduit, or should surface raceway be assumed?
· The supporting photograph shows a suspended-panel ceiling immediately inside the vestibule at Door 101A. The available files do not state ceiling heights, document the full proposed circuit route, or confirm above-ceiling accessibility. They also do not authorize exposed surface raceway. Routing and installation method should therefore be verified onsite and coordinated with refuge staff.
10. Doors 101 and 101A: The frames are 6'4" wide with 3'0" leaves (pairs). Please confirm the operator is required on the active left hand leaf only, and the inactive leaf remains manual.
· Confirmed. The SOW requires two single, left-hand outswing operators, one at the Visitor Center entrance and one at the vestibule. This means the active left-hand leaf at each paired opening is to be automated. The SOW does not call for an operator on the other leaf, so the inactive leaf remains manual.
11. Existing hardware: May the existing surface closers on the four doors be removed and turned over to the Government (or disposed of) when the operators are installed?
· The photographs show existing surface closers, but the SOW does not expressly authorize their disposal or state whether they must be turned over to the Government. Any closer removed as part of the operator installation should be handled as directed by the COR.
12. Site access: May an offeror's electrical subcontractor visit the site before quotes are due, for those unable to attend the October 20 site visit?
· The Government will provide reasonable site access during normal business hours, Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., excluding federal holidays. Site visits must be coordinated with refuge staff. The available files do not establish an automatic right to a separate pre-quote visit, so access should be arranged in advance.
13. Are there spec'd manufacturers for the operator and bollard?
· No operator or bollard manufacturer is specified. Products must meet the minimum specifications in the SOW unless otherwise approved by the COR. The operator must fit a 3-foot by 7-foot leaf and have a clear anodized aluminum finish.
14. Electrical power and routing: Where are the available power sources for the four operators, and what are the approximate wiring distances? Are new dedicated circuits required, and is exposed surface-mounted conduit acceptable?
· Power for each operator must be 120VAC, 5 amps. The available files do not provide source locations, wiring distances, requirements for dedicated circuits, or approval for exposed surface-mounted conduit. Offerors should verify electrical conditions and proposed routing onsite before pricing.
15. Existing doors, hardware, and integration: Are any door or frame repairs, reinforcement, electric strikes, latch modifications, restroom privacy controls, or connections to existing access-control or fire-alarm systems required beyond installing the operators and specified accessories?
· The SOW requires all hardware and accessories necessary for a complete and operational installation. It does not identify door or frame repairs, electric strikes, access-control connections, fire-alarm connections, or other specialized integration work for Doors 101 and 101A. No additional integration beyond the operators, radio-controlled push plates, safety sensors, power extension, and associated installation accessories is documented in the available project files.
16. Operator mounting: Which leaf of each paired entrance and vestibule opening must be automated? Are particular operator mounting sides required? Please provide available header clearances and frame-reveal dimensions, if available, so our supplier can determine the correct arms and mounting accessories.
· The active left-hand outswing leaf at each paired opening is to be automated. The SOW does not specify a push-side or pull-side mounting arrangement, arm configuration, header clearance, or frame-reveal dimension. The contractor must verify dimensions and existing conditions and select compatible mounting accessories. Final equipment locations must be coordinated with refuge staff.
17. Safety sensor acceptance: What standard and testing procedure will be used to verify the requirement to detect a 28-inch-high person within the detection zone? Is an AAADM-certified inspection or other third-party inspection required?
· Each entrance and vestibule operator must have swing-side and approach-side door-mounted presence sensors capable of detecting a 28-inch-high person within the detection zone. Final acceptance will be based on COR inspection and a determination that the installation is complete, functional, and compliant with the SOW. The available files do not require an AAADM-certified or other third-party inspection and do not provide a separate testing protocol.
image5.png image6.png image5.jpeg image6.jpeg image1.jpeg image2.jpeg image3.jpeg image4.jpeg
File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .