W50S9F-20-R-0008 RFI 1.pdf
PDF 151 KB Posted
- Attached to
- 115 Fighter Wing Main Gate Barrier Upgrade
- Solicitation number
- W50S9F-20-R-0008
- Issued by
-
Department of the Army National Guard
About this file
This document outlines a federal contract opportunity for upgrading main gate barriers at Truax Field in Madison, Wisconsin. The base bid involves demolishing existing barriers and installing two electrically powered drop beam barriers at the main entry gate. There are also five option items, which include installing additional powered and non-powered vertical and horizontal barriers at other gates. The contract will be awarded as a small business set-aside with a ceiling of $1 million. The pre-proposal conference is scheduled for August 18th and proposals are due by August 31st. The completion period is 180 days after the notice to proceed. The NAICS code is 236220 and the contracting agency is the Department of the Army National Guard.
View the file
Other files
On GovTribe
Work with this file
- Download the original file
- Contacts named in this file
- Similar government files
- Ask GovTribe AI about this file
Text version
Solicitation W50S9F-20-R-0008 Request For Information #1
Request for Information Question #001:
RFP Section 00010 Solicitation Contract Form - BASE BID Item No. 0001 and Upgrade Main Gate Barriers SOW (May 2020) Page 4, Base Bid Scope of Work Section 1,a., states “Two
(2) in-pavement barrier systems (including 4 individual pop-up barriers)” .
1. Confirm that Base Bid includes only two (2) new, electrically powered, vertical drop arm crash beam systems to be furnished and installed as the two (2) new “in-pavement” barrier systems.
Question #0001 Response:
This is correct. The 4 in-pavement pop-up barriers are existing and will be removed as part of the base bid.
Request for Information Question #002:
RFP Section 00010 Solicitation Contract Form - BASE BID Item No. 0001 and Upgrade Main Gate Barriers SOW (May 2020) Page 4, Base Bid Scope of Work Section 1,a., states “Two
(2) in-pavement barrier systems (including 4 individual pop-up barriers)”.
1. Confirm the wording “including 4 individual pop-up barriers” refers to the demolition of existing four (4) units steel-plate wedge barrier systems and that there are not any additional “four units” of a specific type AVB system to be furnished and installed under the Base Bid requirements.
Question #0002 Response:
This is correct. Demolition includes existing four (4) steel-plate wedge barriers.
Request for Information Question #003:
RFP Section 00010 Solicitation Contract Form - BASE BID Item No. 0001.
Upgrade Main Gate Barriers SOW (May 2020) Page 5, Base Bid Scope of Work Section 3.0, states, ‘Furnish and install two complete and operational electrically powered vertical beam barriers….”
1. Confirm if either hydraulic operable or all-electric (no hydraulics) operable powered and operated solution are acceptable.
2. Confirm if only all-electric (non-hydraulic) solutions are only permitted to be proposed, furnished, and installed.
Question #0003 Response:
Only electric are acceptable and intended in this project except where manual is shown.
Request for Information Question #004:
RFP Section 00010 Solicitation Contract Form - BASE BID Item No. 0001.
Upgrade Main Gate Barriers SOW (May 2020) Page 5, Base Bid Scope of Work Section 3.0, states, ‘Furnish and install two complete and operational electrically powered vertical beam barriers that will provide anti-ram vehicle barricades tested and certified to meet ASTM
F2656 impact designation M50, P1 with the capability to stop and destroy a 15,000 lbs.
vehicle traveling at speeds up to 30 mph….( which is less than a M50 designation crash rating)” RFP Drawing C2 states requirement for ASTM M50 Crash Rating but does not state a required penetration rating. The RFP specified crash vehicle weight/speed contradict themselves.
Upgrade Main Gate Barriers SOW (May 2020) Section 347513, Powered Vehicle Barrier Beam, sub-paragraph 1.2.A and 2.1.A.2 state electric powered vertical beam barriers shall be tested and certified to meet ASTM M50/P1
1. What is the required crash rating (vehicle weight and speed)?
2. What is the required penetration rating?
3. Are either Department of State or ASTM crash tested and certified barrier solutions acceptable to be proposed, furnished, and installed?
4. Are the proposed barrier solutions to be proposed, furnished, and installed required to be listed on the most current dated USACE Department of Defense Protective Design Center (PDC) Certified Barrier List?
5. RFP Drawing C2 depicts an 18 ft. clear opening crash beam requirement per lane.
Are the proposed barrier solutions to be proposed, furnished, and installed required to be same as crash tested and certified for the specified clear opening size length?
Example if manufacturer make/model is only listed per DOD Certified Barrier List as a 12 ft. clear opening solution, a proposed 15 ft. or 18 ft. clear opening would not be deemed an acceptable system as not actual crash tested and certified nor listed as a DOD Certified Barrier system for respective clear opening length.
Internationally recognized Testing Methods such as DOS and ASTM provide a structured testing method and procedure to establish a penetration rating for perimeter barriers subjected to a vehicle impact. Knowing the penetration rating provides the ability to select an appropriate barrier for site-specific conditions around a facility. The barrier penetration rating does not imply that a barrier will perform as rated in / under all site conditions, approach routes, points of impact, and topography.
Crash Certification Impact (Weight & Speed) Rating Schedules for Selection.
United Stated Department of State “K” indicates the DOS certified barrier's weight class (15,000 lbs.) vehicle impact speed rating:
K12 = 50 mph (47.0-above mph) K8 = 40 mph (38.0-46.9 mph) K4 = 30 mph (28.0-37.9 mph)
ASTM “M” indicates ASTM certified barrier’s weight class (15,000 lbs.) and vehicle impact speed rating:
M50= 50 mph (47.0-above mph) M40 = 40 mph (38.0-46.9 mph) M30 = 30 mph (28.0-37.9 mph)
Crash Certification Penetration Rating Schedules for Selection.
United Stated Department of State “L” indicates the distance of penetration of the cargo bed beyond the pre-impact edge of the inside of the barrier:
L3 = 3 ft. (915 mm) or less
L2 = 3 ft. to 20 ft. (915 mm to 6.1 m) L1 = 20 ft. to 50 ft. (6.1 m to 15.3 m)
ASTM “P” indicates the test vehicle's distance of penetration upon impact with barrier:
P1 = < 1 m (3.3 ft.)
P2 = 1.01 to 7 m (3.31 to 23.0 ft.)
P3 = 7.01 to 30 m (23.1 to 98.4 ft.)
P4 = 30 m (98 ft.) or greater
Question #0004 Response:
1.-3. Either the K12 or the M50 are acceptable. We understand the ratings. The P1 3.3 ft penetration is acceptable even though it is slightly less stringent than the L3.
4. Yes.
5. The manufacturer should provide the product based on meeting the crash rating requirement for the width required. In accordance with UFGS-34 71 13.19 (February 2020) DOD requires all crash-rated active vehicle barriers (anti-ram) be on the DOD list (which we understand barrier manufacturers are aware of and have access to).
Request for Information Question #005:
RFP Drawing C6 and RFP Drawing T-2 (Keyed Notes Options) Bid Option #1 Inspection Lane Powered Vertical Beam Barrier: B1 B2 B3, state requirement for ASTM M50 Crash Rating but does not state a required penetration rating. RFP Section 00010 Solicitation Contract Form- OTPION Item No. 0002 and Upgrade Main Gate Barriers SOW (May 2020) Page 6, Scope of Work Section 6.a, state electrically powered vertical beam barriers that will provide anti-ram vehicle barricades tested and certified to meet ASTM F2656 impact designation M50, P1 with the capability to stop and destroy a 15,000 lbs. vehicle traveling at speeds up to 30 mph… (which is less than a M50 designation crash rating)”. RFP Drawing C6 states requirement for ASTM M50 Crash Rating but does not state a required penetration rating. The RFP specified crash vehicle weight/speed contradict themselves.
Upgrade Main Gate Barriers SOW (May 2020) Section 347513, Powered Vehicle Barrier Beam, sub-paragraph 1.2.A and 2.1.A.2 state electric powered vertical beam barriers shall be tested and certified to meet ASTM M50/P1.
1. What is the required crash rating (vehicle weight and speed)?
2. What is the required penetration rating?
3. Are either Department of State or ASTM crash tested and certified barrier solutions acceptable to be proposed, furnished, and installed?
4. Are the proposed barrier solutions to be proposed, furnished, and installed required to be listed on the most current dated USACE Department of Defense Protective Design Center (PDC) Certified Barrier List?
5. RFP Drawing C6 depicts a 15 ft. clear opening crash beam requirement per lane. Are the proposed barrier solutions to be proposed, furnished, and installed required to be same as crash tested and certified for the specified clear opening size length? Example if manufacturer make/model is only listed per DOD Certified Barrier List as a 15 ft.
clear opening solution, a proposed 12 ft. or 18 ft. clear opening would not be deemed an acceptable system as not actual crash tested and certified nor listed as a DOD Certified Barrier system for respective clear opening length.
Question #0005 Response:
1.-3. Either the K12 or the M50 are acceptable. We understand the ratings. The P1 3.3 ft penetration is acceptable even though it is slightly less stringent than the L3.
4. Yes.
5. The manufacturer should provide the product based on meeting the crash rating requirement for the width required. In accordance with UFGS-34 71 13.19 (February 2020) DOD requires all crash-rated active vehicle barriers (anti-ram) be on the DOD list. There is at least one on the list that meets the requirement for an 18’ powered vertical beam barrier. We will accept the 18’ engineered beam assembly in a 15’ length. Submit a DOD Letter of Certification for crash-rated active vehicle barrier with a configuration identical to the as tested crash rated active vehicle barrier being provided. DOS Letter of Certification is allowed; however, the crash-rated active vehicle barrier must be on the DOD anti-ram vehicle barrier list.
Request for Information Question #006:
RFP Drawing T-2 (Keyed Notes Options) Bid Option #2 Gate G4 Barrier B1 Non- Powered Vertical Barrier 27 ft. RFP Section 00010 Solicitation Contract Form, Item No.
0003.
Upgrade Main Gate Barriers SOW (May 2020) Section 347113, Non-Powered Vehicle Barrier Beam, sub-paragraph 1.2.B.2 states Bid Option #2 – 27 ft. Crash Beam shall be certified to meet ASTM M30/P1. Upgrade Main Gate Barriers SOW (May 2020) Section 347113, Non-Powered Vehicle Barrier Beam, sub-paragraph 1.3, Reference Publications, 1.3.B & 1.3.D include both reference to ASTM and Department of State Crash Test Method Standards. Upgrade Main Gate Barriers SOW (May 2020) Section 347113, Non-Powered Vehicle Barrier Beam, sub-paragraph 1.5, Quality Assurance, 1.5.A.4 states systems shall have had an actual crash test performed on the design/type of vehicle barrier system being provided.
1. Confirm the required crash rating (vehicle weight and speed)?
2. Confirm the required penetration rating?
3. Are either Department of State or ASTM crash tested and certified barrier solutions acceptable to be proposed, furnished, and installed?
4. Are the proposed barrier solutions to be proposed, furnished, and installed required to be listed on the most current dated USACE Department of Defense Protective Design Center (PDC) Certified Barrier List?
5. Are the proposed barrier solutions to be proposed, furnished, and installed required to be same as crash tested and certified for the specified clear opening size length?
6. If the DOD Certified Barrier List does not include a specific specified clear opening length size, is an engineer crash certified solution acceptable?
7. If an engineer crash certified solution is acceptable, shall the certification be presented by method of Finite Element Analysis (FEA) and sealed and stamped by an Independent Professional Engineer other than as employed by the Manufacturer Vendor of proposed make/model?
Question #0006 Response:
1-2. Either the K12 or the M50 are acceptable. We understand the ratings. The P1 3.3 ft penetration is acceptable even though it is slightly less stringent than the L3.
3-4. In accordance with UFGS-34 71 13.19 (February 2020) DOD requires all crash-rated active vehicle barriers (anti-ram) be on the DOD list.
5. No. Similar to answer (5) for question (5). Submit a DOD Letter of Certification for crash-rated active vehicle barrier with a configuration identical to the as tested crash rated active vehicle barrier being provided. DOS Letter of Certification is allowed; however, the crash-rated active vehicle barrier must be on the DOD anti-ram vehicle barrier list.
6. Possible. That will be a function of our evaluation during submittal.
7. A crash test report for crash-rated active vehicle barrier with a configuration identical to the as tested crash rated active vehicle barrier being provided, from a DOS approved testing laboratory or a testing laboratory accredited by a nationally recognized testing agency in accordance with ISO ISO/IEC 17025. This information is to be submitted with the barrier submittal and is to show n approved crash test per ASTM F2656/F2656M.
Request for Information Question #007:
RFP Drawing T-2 (Keyed Notes Options) Bid Option #3 Gate G11 Barrier B4; Bid Option #4 Gate G6 Barrier B2; and Bid Option #5 gate G9 Barrier B3 Non-Powered Horizontal Barrier Beams. RFP Section 00010 Solicitation Contract Form, Item No. 0004 – 0006.
Upgrade Main Gate Barriers SOW (May 2020) Section 347113, Non-Powered Vehicle Barrier Beam, sub-paragraph 1.2.C states Bid Option #3-#5 – 24 ft.- 26 ft. Crash Beam shall be certified to meet DOS K12/L3. Upgrade Main Gate Barriers SOW (May 2020) Section 347113, Non- Powered Vehicle Barrier Beam, sub-paragraph 1.3, Reference Publications, 1.3.B & 1.3.D include both reference to ASTM and Department of State Crash Test Method Standards.
Upgrade Main Gate Barriers SOW (May 2020) Section 347113, Non-Powered Vehicle Barrier Beam, sub-paragraph 1.5, Quality Assurance, 1.5.A.4 states systems shall have had an actual crash test performed on the design/type of vehicle barrier system being provided.
1. Confirm the required crash rating (vehicle weight and speed)?
2. Confirm the required penetration rating?
3. Are either Department of State or ASTM crash tested and certified barrier solutions acceptable to be proposed, furnished, and installed?
4. Are the proposed barrier solutions to be proposed, furnished, and installed required to be listed on the most current dated USACE Department of Defense Protective Design Center (PDC) Certified Barrier List?
5. Are the proposed barrier solutions to be proposed, furnished, and installed required to be same as crash tested and certified for the specified clear opening size length?
6. If the DOD Certified Barrier List does not include a specific specified clear opening length size, is an engineer crash certified solution acceptable?
7. If an engineer crash certified solution is acceptable, shall the certification be presented by method of Finite Element Analysis (FEA) and sealed and stamped by an Independent Professional Engineer other than as employed by the Manufacturer Vendor of proposed make/model?
Question #0007 Response:
See answers for question 6.
Request for Information Question #008:
Upgrade Main Gate Barriers SOW (May 2020) Section 347113, Non-Powered Vehicle Barrier Beam, sub-paragraph 1.2.C states Bid Option #3-#5 does not require “stopping” post assembly when in the unsecure or open position.
1. Confirm this is not required. It is recommended to have furnished and installed the stopping post so when in the unsecure position, winds or other interferences prevent beam boom arm from closing to secure or swaying into traffic lanes.
Question #0008 Response:
The stop post is not required.
Request for Information Question #009:
Upgrade Main Gate Barriers SOW (May 2020) Section 347513, Powered Vehicle Barrier Beam, sub-paragraph 2.1.B.2, open/close cycles at 7-10 seconds per cycle open or close.
1. What data from what basis of design make/model of a 27 ft clear opening, M50/K12 crash tested, powered, vertical drop arm barrier system was this normal open/close cycle speed derived?
Question #0009 Response:
We do not specify manufacturers.
Request for Information Question #010:
Upgrade Main Gate Barriers SOW (May 2020) Section 347513, Powered Vehicle Barrier Beam, sub-paragraph 2.1.B.3, emergency close to secure cycle of less than 7 seconds.
1. What data from what basis of design make/model of a 27 ft clear opening, M50/K12 crash tested, powered, vertical drop arm barrier system was this emergency cycle speed derived?
2. What is deemed an acceptable emergency cycle less than seven (7) seconds?
3. If the normal close to secure and emergency cycle speed remain unchanged, the same, is this acceptable?
Question #0010 Response:
1. We do not specify manufacturer.
2. Less than 7 seconds means less than 7 seconds. Presumably not 6.9 but technically that would be acceptable. We will evaluate it. The intent is that emergency is faster than normal.
3. Yes, it may be acceptable that the normal operation and emergency operation are the same speed, however; that would mean both are 7 seconds or less. It’s more likely that the normal operation will not be as fast.
Request for Information Question #011:
Upgrade Main Gate Barriers SOW (May 2020) Page 5, Scope of Work Section 3.b furnish Two
(2) hrs training, Upgrade Main Gate Barriers SOW (May 2020) Section 347113, Non- Powered Vehicle Barrier Beam, sub-paragraph 3.5 Demonstration and Training, Upgrade Main Gate Barriers SOW (May 2020) Section 347513, Powered Vehicle Barrier Beam, sub-paragraph 3.5.a Demonstration and Training.
Upgrade Main Gate Barriers SOW (May 2020) Section 013100, sub-paragraph 1.6, Project Meetings, 1.6.B.1, Preconstruction Conference.
Upgrade Main Gate Barriers SOW (May 2020) Section 014100, sub-paragraph 1.7, Quality Control, 1.7.B, Manufacturer Field Services & 1.7.C, Manufacturer Technical Services.
Upgrade Main Gate Barriers SOW (May 2020) Section 347113, Non-Powered Vehicle Barrier Beam, sub-paragraph 3, Products, sub-paragraph 6.1.B, E, F, Installation Certification by Manufacturer Employee to include on-site testing, commissioning, and Certification of Completion/Equipment Warranty Notification.
Upgrade Main Gate Barriers SOW (May 2020) Section 347513, Powered Vehicle Barrier Beam, sub-paragraph 3.3.A.1 Manufacturer Services.
1. Appears there are several varying RFP specifications requiring a direct Employee of the proposed Vertical (powered) and/or Horizontal Crash Beam manufacturer vendor to be provided. Confirm all of the above specified scopes require an actual Manufacturer vendor of proposed AVB systems to be a direct Employee(s) and to participate in each of the above scopes of work.
Question #0011 Response:
These are very special systems. Yes, a representative of the manufacturer must install or oversee or guide the installation and certify that their product is installed according to their instructions and that it\they operate safely and correctly. There must also be training for proper and safe operations and maintenance. The GC or subcontractor may install them with the proper direction and inspection.
| Request for Information Question #001: |
| Question #0001 Response: |
| This is correct. The 4 in-pavement pop-up barriers are existing and will be removed as part of the base bid. |
| Request for Information Question #002: |
| Question #0002 Response: |
| Request for Information Question #003: |
| Question #0003 Response: |
| Only electric are acceptable and intended in this project except where manual is shown. |
| Request for Information Question #004: |
| Question #0004 Response: |
| 1.-3. Either the K12 or the M50 are acceptable. We understand the ratings. The P1 3.3 ft penetration is acceptable even though it is slightly less stringent than the L3. |
| 4. Yes. |
| 5. The manufacturer should provide the product based on meeting the crash rating requirement for the width required. In accordance with UFGS-34 71 13.19 (February 2020) DOD requires all crash-rated active vehicle barriers (anti-ram) be on the DOD list... |
| Request for Information Question #005: |
| Question #0005 Response: |
| 1.-3. Either the K12 or the M50 are acceptable. We understand the ratings. The P1 3.3 ft penetration is acceptable even though it is slightly less stringent than the L3. |
| 4. Yes. |
| 5. The manufacturer should provide the product based on meeting the crash rating requirement for the width required. In accordance with UFGS-34 71 13.19 (February 2020) DOD requires all crash-rated active vehicle barriers (anti-ram) be on the DOD list... |
| Request for Information Question #006: |
| Question #0006 Response: |
| 1-2. Either the K12 or the M50 are acceptable. We understand the ratings. The P1 3.3 ft penetration is acceptable even though it is slightly less stringent than the L3. |
| 3-4. In accordance with UFGS-34 71 13.19 (February 2020) DOD requires all crash-rated active vehicle barriers (anti-ram) be on the DOD list. |
| 5. No. Similar to answer (5) for question (5). Submit a DOD Letter of Certification for crash-rated active vehicle barrier with a configuration identical to the as tested crash rated active vehicle barrier being provided. DOS Letter of Certification ... |
| 6. Possible. That will be a function of our evaluation during submittal. |
| 7. A crash test report for crash-rated active vehicle barrier with a configuration identical to the as tested crash rated active vehicle barrier being provided, from a DOS approved testing laboratory or a testing laboratory accredited by a nationally... |
| Request for Information Question #007: |
| Question #0007 Response: |
| See answers for question 6. |
| Request for Information Question #008: |
| Question #0008 Response: |
| The stop post is not required. |
| Request for Information Question #009: |
| Question #0009 Response: |
| We do not specify manufacturers. |
| Request for Information Question #010: |
| Question #0010 Response: |
| Request for Information Question #011: |
| Question #0011 Response: |
File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .