RFP_70RDND18R00000005_-_HAIBP_Offerors_Questions_&_Answers.xlsx

XLSX spreadsheet 24 KB Posted

Attached to
Helium-3 Alternative Implementation Backpack Program
Solicitation number
70RDND18R00000005
Issued by

About this file

RFP 70RDND18R00000005 - HAIBP Offerors Questions & Answers

View the file

Other files

Show all 11

On GovTribe

Work with this file

  • Download the original file
  • Contacts named in this file
  • Similar government files
  • Ask GovTribe AI about this file

Text version

Sheet2

Question #Applicable RFP AttachmentPage or Section (If Provided)QuestionGovernment Response
1RFP Instructions to Offerors6Page 6 chart shows a draft supply chain risk management plan is to be submitted with the Concept Paper. The solicitation does not mention this plan anywhere else. Is there a certain format? And is this to be attached to the concept paper without being included in the page count? The chart also lists a Comprehensive 5-year warranty/protection plan..This is not referenced anywhere else in the solicitation; but there is an extended warranty requirement due with Step 2 Business Volume (page 53). Is the extended warranty requirement the same as the Comprehensive 5-year warranty/protection plan?Any format is acceptable for the risk management plan and it will be included in the total page count. Yes, the extended warranty is the same as the comprehensive plan.
2RFP Instructions to Offerors50-53The solicitation states that Step 1 is due on April 13th @ 3:00pm. Is Step 1 really only a “Concept Paper”, or is it a full proposal? Page 50, STEP 1 Written Portion of Proposals states offerors are required to submit 2 separate volumes (Technical Volume & Business Volume) On page 52, under Advisory Notifications, it states that if approved, contractors will receive notification to proceed to Step 2. Step 2 (page 53) would be the “pricing proposal” and a business volume, etc. Is this the same Business Volume to be prepared with the Concept Paper? Could you advise to what is needed in business volume for Step 1 vs. what is needed in business volume for Step 2? When is Volume 2 really due, with Step 1 or Step 2? What is the due date for Step 2?The inclusion of a Business Volume submission in STEP 1 was a typo. Please see the revised Instructions to Offerors. Business Volumes are to be submitted in STEP 2 of this solicitation.
3RFP Instructions to OfferorsPage 52 also mentions that supporting third party test data not included in page limit. The Concept Paper outline does not talk about supporting third party test data. So can this supporting third party test data be attached at the end of the Concept paper without being included in the page count?Yes, third party test data can be included as an Attachment to an Offeror's Concept Paper and will be excluded from the Concept Paper's page limitations. Test data will not count against the page limit. For any test data provided specify which requirement it is supporting.
4RFP Instructions to OfferorsDo you require a list of who we send the Contractor Performance Customer Survey Questions to? Does that also get attached to the Concept Paper without being included in the page count?No, that list is not required.
5RFP Instructions to OfferorsIs Phase I considered to be 6 or 9 months? There are inconsistent statements in the BAA.Per Section 1.5 of the Instructions to Offerors released with the Base RFP, Phase I will consist of a 9-month development period to result in delivery of the Initial Article. Please see the revised Instructions to Offerors, dated April 5, 2018, as provided in this amendment.
6RFP Instructions to Offerors54Document Reference: Page 54: “Offeror shall provide a pricing list for system quantities of 1-120. This pricing shall include the delivery of the Replay Tool. This pricing list” Question: Has text been accidentally omitted from this bullet point? Are their further requirements for quantity pricing of 1–120 units?This sentence was a typo. Please see the revised Instructions to Offerors, dated April 5, 2018, as provided in this amendment.
7RFP Instructions to Offerors6Document Reference: Page 6: Table 2 on Page 6 states that a draft Supply Chain Risk Management Plan is to be submitted with the concept paper with updated versions to be submitted at the end of Phase 1 and Phase 2. However, Page 51, Section 5.1.2 HAIBP Concept Papers provides a breakdown of information to be included but does not mention a Chain Risk Management Plan. Should the offeror’s Technical Volume submission due April 13 include a draft Chain Risk Management Plan?The technical volume submission must include a draft chain risk management plan. There is no desired format for said plan. Please also see the response to Question #1 and the revised Instructions to Offerors.
8HAIBP-08d-05Document Reference: HAIBP-08d-05: “The information, provided in the Clarification statement, shall be automatically displayed at the User Interface.” Can the government please provide or identify the location of the “clarification statement”?The clarification statement is provided in the accompanying Requirements Traceability Matrix released with these answers.
9RTM ScorecardDocument Reference: The Score Card states: “Identify the radionuclides listed as Objective in RTM Appendix A, Table 2.” However, the Table 2 note in the same file states: “When found at background levels, these radionuclides should be saved in background spectral files but do not need to be identified on the screen or separately identified in radioisotope ID spectral files.” This seems to be a discrepancy; can the government please clarify?The note is intended to convey the expectation that the detector will ID items above the background level.
10RFP Instructions to OfferorsDocument Reference: The weight is stated as 17 lbs [RFP Table 3, Innovation Goal #2 and Non-RTM-05 in Att. 2: The system weighs less than 17lbs.] then later as 22 lbs [RFP Oral Presentation # 4b: “KPP threshold: under 22lbs” and HAIBP-08a-01:BRD in Att. 2: systems weigh less than 10 kg (22 lbs).] Can the government please clarify the precise threshold and objective weights?The KPP mandatory threshold is less than 22lbs.

The Goal is less than 17lbs.

11AllThe gamma rejection requirement for the neutron detector is not stated. Is there a gamma rejection requirement for the neutron detector?The program does not have a specific gamma rejection requirment. The RTM has the full list of requirements.
12AllThe turnaround time for completion of this significant proposal effort is short (two weeks); is the government amenable to extend the due date to April 27?The submission deadline for STEP 1 submissions will remain as April 13, 2018 at 3:00PM Eastern.
13RFP Instructions to OfferorsDocument Reference: Table 2, HAIBP Deliverables, #4 Comprehensive 5 year Warranty/Protection plan. Is there a deployment period before the warranty period becomes active?No. the expectation for systems purchased under the FRP CLIN that the warranty will be effective upon delivery.
14Ref: Page 8, Section 3.1, item 1 -- Please clarify the use case or details related to “hands free” operation."Hands Free" refers to the detector being able to operate without constant hand usage on the behalf of the operator. See HAIBP 10 in the RTM for reference.
15Ref: Page 11, Appendix A -- Are the estimated quantities to be acquired in Phase 2 and 3 (5 and 40) per each vendor or a combined total for all vendors?The anticipated quantities are for each vendor who is awarded that CLIN.
16Ref: Page 50, Part 5, Step 1 -- States “All written portions of proposal submissions shall be submitted electronically to the email addresses below and received by the Government no later than April 13, 2018 at 3:00PM, Eastern.” Isn’t only the Step 1 HAIBP Concept Paper written submission due April 13, and the Step 2 HAIBP Business Volume written submission is due at some future date to be communicated after the Government provides feedback on the Concept Paper submission? Approximately when will the Business Volume be due after the advisory notification?Please see the answer to Question #2 and see revised Instructions to Offerors. Business Volumes are to be submitted in STEP 2 of this solicitation.
17Ref: Page 53, Section 5.1.1.5, item 1, first bullet -- As this is a Fixed Firm Price (FPPR) type of contract (T&M only for travel), what is the purpose of collecting BOM information (un-costed in Step 1, costed in Step 2)?The submission of the BOM will allow the Government to determine consistency between the Offeror's Concept Paper and its business submission. The purpose is to ensure that any components, materials or approaches are supplemented by the components or materials the Offeror anticipates requiring for performance under an HAIBP contract, if awarded.
18Ref: Page 53, Section 5.1.1.5, item 1, first bullet -- Should the costed BOM include the vendor’s markup?Yes, the BOM must represent the cost to the Government.
19Ref: Page 54, Section 5.1.15, Item 1, fourth bullet has an incomplete sentence… “Offeror shall provide a pricing list for system quantities of 1-120. This pricing shall include the delivery of the Replay Tool. This pricing list”?Please see the answer to Question #6 and see revised Instructions to Offerors. Business Volumes are to be submitted in STEP 2 of this solicitation.
20Ref: Page 54, Section 5.1.15, Item 1, fourth bullet – Should the Replay Tool be itemized in the pricing as a separate deliverable consistent with the instructions for delivery?Correct
21Ref: Page 54, Section 5.1.1.5, item 2 – States “Submit BOM with pricing for each item in clear, legible format. Please note that offerors are to propose pricing only for those items in the BOM that will required government funding to procure. Offerors are invited and encouraged to provide materials and components at no cost to the government. However, providing components or materials is not a mandatory requirement for this RFP.” Please explain what the second and third sentences above mean?The purpose of these sentences is to emphasize the importance of the provision of a complete Bill of Materials in their STEP 1 and STEP 2 submissions. However, should Offerors opt to provide certain materials in delivery of systems under this requirement, they should be reflected as $0 in their priced BOM submission. That being said, provision of materials at no cost to the Government is not a mandatory requirement under this solicitation and will only factor into the pricing analysis to be performed under STEP 2.
22Ref: Page 54, Section 5.1.1.5, item 2 – States “Submit BOM with pricing for each item in clear, legible format. Please note that offerors are to propose pricing only for those items in the BOM that will required government funding to procure. Offerors are invited and encouraged to provide materials and components at no cost to the government. However, providing components or materials is not a mandatory requirement for this RFP.” Does the Government require that only those items on the BOM that will require government funding (for example, GFE) that is distinct from the cost submitted under the FFP/FPPR pricing be provided?Please see the response to Question #21.
23Ref: Page 54, Section 5.1.1.7, fourth bullet – States “Government Approved Purchasing and Accounting Systems: Provide evidence of Government approved purchasing and accounting systems.” Why is a DCMA approved accounting system required for a Fixed Price type of contract?This requirement has been removed. Please see the revised Instructions to Offerors.
24Ref: Attachment 2, Appendix B, cell C65 -- How many N42.53 defined data sets are represented in 10 hours’ worth of data?It is expected that the backpack will be a search device that records data near-continously. 10 hours of data does not need to be continous but under a variety of conditions to support validation. The number of N42.53 files is system dependent (For example if a system records files every 5 minutes then 120 files would be expected).
25$248,000.00 Not to Exceed Value for CLIN 0001 is the maximum amount that can be awarded to each selected vendor, or is it a maximum amount for all vendor awards combined?$248,000.00 NTE value for CLIN 0001 is the maximum to be awarded for each selected vendor.
26Do Past Performance citations (limited to 3 pages) count toward the 25-page limit of Technical Concept Paper, or can they be submitted as an attachment?Submission of Past Performance information in accordance with the RFP does not count toward the 25-page limit for the Technical Concept Paper and is its own submission under STEP 1.
27Does the Government expect to see a Work Breakdown Structure, or an Integrated Master Schedule included with the Technical Concept Paper as a part of the Approach to Meet the Requirements section?No it is not required.
28Can the DNDO please further clarify "any" repairs? In other words is the warranty intended to cover damages to the device caused by any use case?The warranty does not need to cover user-induced damage.
29Do the weekly meetings need to be attended in personNo
30DNDO References RTM dated November of 2017. Can the DNDO provide that document?Yes
31Could the award for 40 backpacks be evenly distributed among the 1 or more vendors that have the Phase 3 option executed?The estimate of 40 applies to each vendor awarded that CLIN.
32What determines the level of funding of CLIN 0001 provided to prospective offerors?Should an Offeror be selected to move on to STEP 2 of this solicitation and be required to submit its Business Volume, Offerors will receive funding that is proportionate with its proposed pricing, assuming that it is determined to be fair and reasonable. Please note that the Government expects competition under this requirement and the Government may make an award to other than the highest rated proposal, if the Government determines that a price premium is not warranted.
33Can we get the "Interface Control Document" upfront so that we can address it in our proposal?Yes the program will provide the current draft along with these responses. See Amendment A00003 Attachment titled "DRAFT HAIBP Interface Control Document."
34HAIBP-01: To pass the threshold spec, is it necessary to pass the tests as defined in TCS Section 6.2 for all orientations in 45° increments? The original RFI stated this was not necessary by the inclusion of the following clarification statement:
“Threshold measurements taken for bare SNM objects of Table 4 in only the horizontal plane, using the 90 and the 270 degree angles, according to the test method in Backpack TCS Section 6.2.2.”.The angles required to be tested are only those specified in the RTM. Refer to the full RTM provided in Amendment A00003 for clarification.
35In Regards to HSAR3052.209-72, Organizational Conflict of Interest on page 44, will the offeror’s be provided access to non-public government information as part of this solicitation that would result in exclusion from future procurements as described in Phase 5. If so, could the government describe the type of information that would be provided?Please read the specific terms for HSAR Provision 3052.209-72, Organizational Conflict of Interest. This HSAR Provision notifies interested offerors that the Department has determined that an actual or potential organizational conflict of interest may result from this procurement. Moreover, offerors are instructed to disclose, or certify that that they havedisclosed or do not possess, any OCIs with regard to this procurement. Lastly, the HSAR Provision informs offerors that they may be disqualified from award if an OCI does exist and the OCI cannot be mitgated or neutralized.
36HAIBP-08a-01 (KPP) objective requirement states that the vendor may minimize the weight of the system while maintaining compliance with KPP requirements HAIBP-01 and HAIPB-07a. This could be interpreted to indicate that it is acceptable that a proposed solution does not comply with an non-KPP RTM requirement, if it meets an innovation goal. Is this interpretation correct?Yes. The HAIBP must meet all KPPs. Other requirements are in the trade space for a best value determination.
37Under Section 2 Supplies or Services and Prices/Costs Item 0001 HAIBP Phase I - Initial Article, what are the units of the QUANTITY (Not to exceed) 248000 DO?US Dollars
38Under Section 2 Supplies or Services and Prices/Costs Item 0002, Phase I Travel (T&M), hat re the units of the QUANTITY 2000 DO?US Dollars
39If we exceed the required operation time on the battery (i.e., our 24 hours vs. 8 or 12 hours), can the requirement to hot swap batteries and or get to the battery compartment without special tools be relaxed?:There is no requirement for hot swapping. Hot swapping is allowed for the detector to reach the required operation time. The requirement for no special tools to access the battery comaprtment still applys. Please see RTM for clarification.
40Can we submit additional Foreign National Visitors Forms by COB Tuesday April 3, 2018 as we have several people who were on vacation and did not have tier passport details.Yes.
41For the orals are the dates April 30, 2018 – May 04, 2018 as shown on page 4 of the Instruction to Offerors OR April 30 – May 9, 2018 as shown on the Foreign National Visitors Form? In either event can the supplier select the date of the orals in order to have the correct persons available ?The Government will determine the schedule for Oral Presentations and Offerors may not pick individual dates. If an Offeror has a schedule conflict with their assigned date for Oral Presentations, the CO must be notified immediately. However, a reschedule is not guaranteed for schedule conflicts so Offerors must exercise maximum flexibility upon receipt of their assigned date, should that Offeror proceed to STEP 2 of this solicitation.
42RFP, Instructions to Offerors, pg. 5 §1.4.5, ¶3Written proposals due April 13, 2018, 3:00 PM Eastern TimeWe ask for an extension of 2 weeks to allow time to finalize partnering agreements.The deadline for proposal submissions under STEP 1 will remain as April 13, 2018 at 3:00PM Eastern
43RFP, Instructions to Offerors, STEP 1, Factor 1 – Concept Paper Initial Screening (Pass/Fail), pg. 57, 6.21) Are the RFP-specified Concept Paper format requirements met (page length, document type, font size, etc)?

2) Does the vendor’s current system meet the Commercial Item definition under 41 U.S.C. 103?

3) Does the vendor’s system rely on 3He-alternative technologies for neutron detection?The three compliance criteria as stated are different from those stated in Attachment_2_-_HAIBP_Self-Assessment_Scorecard, Non- RTM-01 through Non- RTM-03, Go/No-Go RequirementsThe compliance criteria specified in the RFP Instructions to Offerors, to include the 3 criteria noted, must all be addressed in an Offeror's Concept Paper. Should any inconsistencies arise between the Attachment 2 criteria and the RFP Instructions to Offerors, the RFP Instructions to Offerors must serve as the prevailing document. It is expected that Offerors will fill out the Self-Assessment (Attachment 2) and address all the criteria and requirements specified in the RTM.
44RFP, Instructions to Offerors, pg. 6 §2.0Table 2. HAIBP DeliverablesHAIBP Deliverables should include §3.6 Integrated Master Schedule, to be submitted in advance of each design review and monthly schedule updates during Phase 2 of contract execution.Yes. The explanation is in 3.6.
45RFP, Instructions to Offerors, pg. 54 §5.1.1.5 Individual CLIN Requirements for Submission“Offeror shall provide a pricing list for system quantities of 1-120. This pricing shall include the delivery of the Replay Tool. This pricing list”This is an incomplete sentence.This sentence was a typo. Please see the revised Instructions to Offerors, dated April 5, 2018, as provided in this amendment.
46RFP, Instructions to Offerors, pg. 5 §1.5 Period of PerformancePhase 1, Initial Article – Nine (9) MonthsThere is a contradictory statement in on pg. 3 §1.4.1 Phase 1 – Initial Article (IA) Delivery & Testing, which states “The immediate exercise of Contract Line Item Number (CLIN) 0001 upon contract award will initiate a six-month development period”Please see the answer to Question #5 and see the revised Instructions to Offerors.
47RFP, Instructions to Offerors, Pg. 54 §5.1.1.6 Business Volume File Breakdown1. Pricing information (Pricing schedule and backup, BOM, OCI response, company-to-company NDA, POC info).A company-to-company NDA is not mentioned anywhere else in RFP, Instructions to Offerors. What is the Government looking for?This requirement has been removed. Please see the revised Instructions to Offerors
48RFP, Instructions to Offerors, Pg. 53, §5.1.1.5 Individual CLIN Requirements for SubmissionOfferors shall: 1. Submit Pricing information to include A detailed pricing narrative and breakdown showing, at a minimum, the labor rates, hours, material costs (IAW BOM), and how these costs add up to the proposed price for each CLIN.In as much as all the CLINs are Fixed Price, with the exception of the CLINs pertaining to Travel, why is a breakdown showing the labor rates and the labor hours relevant?The labor breakdown requirement has been removed from the pricing submission under STEP 2.
49RFP, Instructions to Offerors, Pg. 38, 52.216-5 -- Price Redetermination -- Prospective (Oct 1997)Data Submission: (A) An estimate and breakdown of the costs of these supplies or services in the format of Table 15-2, FAR 15.408, or in any other form on which the parties may agree; and (B) Sufficient data to support the accuracy and reliability of this estimateIn establishing proposed prices for supplies that may be delivered or services that may be performed in the next succeeding period, it is assumed that, provided the contractor’s accounting system is adequate for price redetermination, this is acceptable, and a Government Approved Purchasing and Accounting Systems is not required.The requirement for a Government-approved Purchasing and Accounting System has been removed. Please see the revised Instructions to Offerors.
50RFP, Instructions to Offerors, Pg. 52, § titled Advisory NotificationsAdvisory Notifications: After the government concludes its evaluation of Offerors’ written submissions under Step 1, Offerors will receive an advisory notification. Offerors that the government has determined likely to receive award based on evaluation of Step 1 submissions will receive a notice to proceed to Step 2.Since Step 2 includes the HAIBP BUSINESS VOLUME SUBMISSION and the Evaluation of Price, when is this volume to be submitted? The notice to offerors to proceed to Step 2 does not occur until the Government releases Advisory Notifications. This should be included in Table 1 – HAIBP Estimated Key Dates and Events on Pg. 4.The inclusion of a Business Volume submission in STEP 1 was a typo. Please see the revised Instructions to Offerors. Business Volumes are to be submitted in STEP 2 of this solicitation.
51RFP, Instructions to Offerors, Pg. 6, §2 DeliverablesTable 2. HAIBP DeliverablesThere is no Deliverable No. 5.Please see the revised Instructions to Offerors with a renumbered deliverables table.
52RFP, Instructions to Offerors, Pg. 54, §5.1.1.7 Other Business Volume SubmissionsGovernment Approved Purchasing and Accounting Systems: Provide evidence of Government approved purchasing and accounting systems.Why are Government Approved Purchasing and Accounting Systems required? Shouldn’t this requirement be related to the adequacy of the contractor’s purchasing and accounting systems, and not restricted to Government approved systems? What are the consequences of an offeror not having Government approved purchasing and accounting systems?This requirement has been removed. Please see the revised Instructions to Offerors.
53RFP, Attachment_2_-_HAIBP_Self-Assessment_ScorecardKPP’sIn RFP, Instructions to Offerors, Pg. 8, §3.1 Mandatory Performance Objectives/ Key Performance Parameters (KPPs), there is a KPP “The system shall not store Personal Identification Information (PII).” This KPP is not listed in Attachment 2, HAIBP_Self-Assessment_Scorecard.The PII KPP is not listed in the self-assesment scorecard. The Government requires confirmation that the proposed system shall not store PII.
54HAIRB-01ATT_A_Draft RTM Page 1Assuming the mentioned table 4 refers to 5.9.3 of the Backpack TCS, please clarify the meaning of the tabulated "Fluence Rate of the Source at the Reference Point" in the case of shielded sources: Is it the remaining fluence rate after shielding of the source or is it the fluence rate without shielding, i.e. resulting in a 50 % lower fluence rate for the shielded sources? The wording of 5.9.3 is ambiguous respectively misleading in that regard.Table represents fluence rate before shielding
55HAIRB-02ATT_A_Draft RTM Page 16.3.1 does not specify the details of the requirement. Is it to be understood that the test method (fluence rate, distance, speed) will follow the wording of
6.3.2. of the ANSI 42.53 standard?Test method will follow the ANSI Standard
56HAIRB-03ATT_A_Draft RTM Page 16.4.1 and the wording in the clarification does not specify enough details of the requirement (fluence rate, distance, speed). Is it to be understood that the test method will follow 6.4.2. and 6.4.3 of the ANSI
42.53 standard?Test method will follow the ANSI Standard
57HAIRB-03ATT_A_Draft RTM Page 1The range of uncertainty (+/- 20%) for the neutron emission rate is huge and 4 times larger than the uncertainty for the gamma sources (ANSI 42.53 6.3.2). Since the neutron fluence rate and duration of the exposure is critical for necessary detector size, we would propose to reduce the uncertainty of the neutron emission rate or to scale the minimum distance and speed of the neutron source to reflect the nominal fluence rate and exposure time profile.We will take this under advisement but the current requirements for this solicitation remain unchanged.
58HAIRB-06ATT_A_Draft RTM Page 1Please clarify how to read the upper limit of the background requirement: Is the dose rate of 25 µR/h really related to the starting value of the background,

i.e. the background is supposed to change up to 62.5

µR/h respectively 75 µR/h?No. The requirement is based on ANSI 42.53 (section 6.13) where the background starting value is 10 µR/h.
59HAIRB-10ATT_A_Draft RTMThe weight requirements and this requirement of "shall minimize impact to non-rad/nuc mission" seem to conflict. Adding 30% weight requirement and expecting it not to impact the mission doesn’t make sense. Does the government value detection and identification performance more than impact to the mission?While challenging, we do not concur that the requirements are in conflict. Requiring ID capability while also seeking a solution that minimizes the impact to the operator we believe is achievable..

Sheet1

File details come from the government source that posted it.