Amendment #1 Q & A.pdf
PDF 199 KB Posted
- Attached to
- WHEELED TOOL CARRIER/TELESCOPING LOADER
- Solicitation number
- 5400030093
- Issued by
- Richland County, South Carolina
About this file
This Amendment #1 Q&A document pertains to the South Carolina Department of Transportation's (SCDOT) invitation for bid for one wheeled tool carrier with telescoping loader capable of lifting precast concrete components weighing up to 50,000 pounds to a minimum height of 20 feet and accommodating a two-person work platform to 30 feet total working height. The solicitation requires a rubber-tired, four-wheel drive unit in current production with a minimum 200-horsepower EPA Tier 4 Final diesel engine, hydrostatic transmission, full-time four-wheel drive, enclosed ROPS/FOPS-certified cab, load moment indicator, and fork-lift capability without stabilizers. Questions from offerors were due September 8, 2026 at 10:00 a.m., with offers due September 29, 2026 at 2:30 p.m. No pre-bid conference or site visit is scheduled. Award notification is scheduled for October 27, 2026, with delivery required to the SCDOT Equipment Depot at 1400 Shop Road, Columbia, South Carolina. The contract period runs from November 13, 2026 through November 12, 2027. The successful bidder must conduct a one-day operator and maintenance training school at the equipment's assigned location and provide complete service literature sets.
This amendment addresses fifty-one questions submitted by prospective bidders regarding equipment specifications, performance requirements, and compliance documentation. Key clarifications include that the 20-foot lift height measurement is not explicitly defined in the original specification; the machine must lift 50,000 pounds without outriggers or stabilizers; frame leveling is a factory option, not mandatory; the platform must be manufacturer-supplied and OSHA-compliant but does not require a separately certified load chart; the 75,000-pound maximum weight includes all standard equipment, specified options, and full fluid capacities; and the bidder must provide manufacturer's published load charts and complete printed specifications for evaluation. The amendment confirms that the bid is for a single unit and that all units meeting or exceeding specifications are acceptable regardless of brand or model. Award will be made to the lowest responsible and responsive bidder, with bidders required to be factory-authorized parts, service, and warranty facilities for the specified equipment.
View the file
Other files
| File | Type | Posted |
|---|---|---|
| Solicitation Document.pdf |
On GovTribe
Work with this file
- Download the original file
- Contacts named in this file
- Similar government files
- Ask GovTribe AI about this file
Text version
SAP
State of South Carolina
Invitation For Bid Amendment #1- Q & A
Solicitation:
Date Issued:
Procurement Officer:
Phone:
E-Mail Address:
Mailing Address:
5400030093 09/10/2026
JEFFERY SCHWALK
(806) 737-1018 SchwalkJC@scdot.gov SCDOT Procurement Office PO Box 191 Columbia SC 29202-0191
DESCRIPTION: WHEELED TOOL CARRIER/TELESCOPING LOADER
USING GOVERNMENTAL UNIT: DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
SUBMIT YOUR OFFER ON-LINE AT THE FOLLOWING URL: http://www.procurement.sc.gov
SUBMIT OFFER BY (Opening Date/Time): 09/29/202614:30:00 (See "Deadline For Submission Of Offer" provision) QUESTIONS MUST BE RECEIVED BY: 09/08/2026 10:00:00 COMPLETED (See "Questions From Offerors" provision) NUMBER OF COPIES TO BE SUBMITTED:
CONFERENCE TYPE: Not Applicable
DATE & TIME:
(As appropriate, see "Conferences - Pre-Bid/Proposal" & "Site Visit" provisions)
LOCATION: Not Applicable
AWARD &
AMENDMENTS
Award will be posted on 10/27/2026. The award, this solicitation, any amendments, and any related notices will be posted at the following web address: http://www.procurement.sc.gov
You must submit a signed copy of this form with Your Offer. By signing, You agree to be bound by the terms of the Solicitation. You agree to hold Your Offer open for a minimum of ninety (90) calendar days after the Opening Date. (See "Signing Your Offer" provision.)
NAME OF OFFEROR
(full legal name of business submitting the offer)
Any award issued will be issued to, and the contract will be formed with, the entity identified as the Offeror. The entity named as the offeror must be a single and distinct legal entity. Do not use the name of a branch office or a division of a larger entity if the branch or division is not a separate legal entity, i.e., a separate corporation, partnership, sole proprietorship, etc.
AUTHORIZED SIGNATURE
(Person must be authorized to submit binding offer to contract on behalf of Offeror.)
DATE SIGNED
TITLE
(business title of person signing above)
STATE VENDOR NO.
(Register to Obtain S.C. Vendor No. at www.procurement.sc.gov)
PRINTED NAME
(printed name of person signing above)
STATE OF INCORPORATION
(If you are a corporation, identify the state of incorporation.)
OFFEROR'S TYPE OF ENTITY: (Check one) (See "Signing Your Offer" provision.)
___ Sole Proprietorship ___ Partnership ___ Other_____________________________
___ Corporate entity (not tax-exempt) ___ Corporation (tax-exempt) ___ Government entity (federal, state, or local)
COVER PAGE - ON-LINE ONLY (MAR. 2015)
http://www.procurement.sc.gov/ http://www.procurement.sc.gov/ http://www.procurement.sc.gov/
SAP
SAP
AMENDMENTS TO SOLICITATION (JAN 2004)
(a) The Solicitation may be amended at any time prior to opening. All actual and prospective Offerors should monitor the following web site for the issuance of Amendments: www.procurement.sc.gov (b) Offerors shall acknowledge receipt of any amendment to this solicitation (1) by signing and returning the amendment, (2) by identifying the amendment number and date in the space provided for this purpose on Page Two, (3) by letter, or (4) by submitting a bid that indicates in some way that the bidder received the amendment. (c) If this solicitation is amended, then all terms and conditions which are not modified remain unchanged. [02-2A005-1]
QUESTIONS FROM OFFERORS - AMENDMENT (JUN 2017)
THE SOLICITATION IS AMENDED AS PROVIDED HEREIN. INFORMATION OR CHANGES
RESULTING FROM QUESTIONS WILL BE SHOWN IN A QUESTION-AND-ANSWER FORMAT. ALL
QUESTIONS RECEIVED HAVE BEEN REPRINTED BELOW. THE “STATE’S RESPONSE” SHOULD
BE READ WITHOUT REFERENCE TO THE QUESTIONS. THE QUESTIONS ARE INCLUDED
SOLELY TO PROVIDE A CROSS-REFERENCE TO THE POTENTIAL OFFEROR THAT SUBMITTED
THE QUESTION. QUESTIONS DO NOT FORM A PART OF THE CONTRACT; THE “STATE’S
RESPONSE” DOES. ANY RESTATEMENT OF PART OR ALL OF AN EXISTING PROVISION OF THE
SOLICITATION IN AN ANSWER DOES NOT MODIFY THE ORIGINAL PROVISION EXCEPT AS
FOLLOWS: UNDERLINED TEXT IS ADDED TO THE ORIGINAL PROVISON. STRICKEN TEXT IS
DELETED.
QUESTION #1:
Required lift point:
When the RFP states that the machine must lift 50,000 lb to at least 20 ft, is the 20 ft measured to:
- The top of the forks?
- The fork/load center?
- The bottom of the precast component?
- The top of the load?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
The specification does not define the exact measurement reference for the 20-ft lift height of the 50,000-lb precast load. Section 1 and Section 3.1 require the unit to lift, maneuver and place heavy precast concrete components weighing up to 50,000 lbs each, without the use of stabilizers, to a height of at least 20 ft. By contrast, platform height is expressly measured “to the bottom of the platform” (Section 1). No equivalent reference (fork tips, load center, bottom of load, or top of load) is given for the 20-ft precast lift.
QUESTION #2:
Required reach:
At the 20-ft lift height, what horizontal reach or load radius is required? Please provide the required distance from the front axle, fork face, or machine centerline.
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
The specification does not state a required horizontal reach, load radius, or distance from the front axle, fork face, or machine centerline at the 20-ft lift height. Capacity is stated as a rated (nominal) load of at least 50,000 lbs at the load center 3.1), full rated load throughout the manufacturer’s published load chart without outriggers or stabilizers (3.2), and maintenance of full rated lift capacity through the full extension and height of the boom (3.1).
QUESTION #3:
Full load-chart requirement:
Section 3.1 states that the machine must maintain its full rated lift capacity through the full extension and height of the boom, while Section 3.2 refers to the manufacturer’s published load chart. Since telehandler capacity normally changes with boom angle, extension, load center, attachment, and height, does the agency intend:
- 50,000 lb at every point of the manufacturer’s load chart; or
- 50,000 lb only at specified operating points, such as 20 ft and a defined load radius?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Read together, Specifications 3.1 and 3.2 require both: (a) a rated (nominal) load capacity at the load center of at least 50,000 lbs; (b) the ability to lift 50,000-lb precast components to at least 20 ft without stabilizers; (c) maintenance of full rated lift capacity through the full extension and height of the boom;
and (d) lifting of the full rated load throughout the manufacturer’s published load chart without outriggers or stabilizers. The specification does not limit the 50,000-lb requirement to a single operating point.
QUESTION #4:
No stabilizers:
Must the machine be capable of the specified lift while resting only on its tires, with no outriggers or stabilizers deployed? If so, may the machine have outriggers installed but remain compliant when they are retracted?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Yes. The specifications require the specified lifts without the use of stabilizers / without outriggers or stabilizers. The specification does not prohibit the machine from having outriggers installed, provided the required performance is achieved without their use.
QUESTION #5:
Ground and operating conditions:
What conditions will apply to the required lift—level paved surface, compacted aggregate, slopes, crowned pavement, or uneven construction-site ground? Please specify the maximum allowable grade and side slope.
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
The specification does not define surface type, maximum grade, or side slope for the required lift.
Frame/chassis side-to-side leveling of at least plus or minus 7 degrees shall be available as a factory option (3.4.5). Ground clearance shall be at least 15 inches (4.6).
QUESTION #6:
Frame leveling:
Is the plus/minus 7-degree frame-leveling system required, or is it merely an optional feature that may be offered? If installed, may it be used while lifting or placing a 50,000-lb load?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 3.4.5 states that frame/chassis side-to-side leveling capability of at least plus or minus 7 degrees shall be available as a factory option. It is therefore specified as a factory option, not as mandatory standard equipment. The specification does not state whether leveling may be used while lifting or placing a 50,000-lb load.
QUESTION #7:
Acceptance load chart:
Will the agency evaluate compliance using the manufacturer’s standard load chart, or must the bidder provide an independently certified load chart or engineering analysis?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 3.2 refers to the manufacturer’s published load chart. The listing of Information for Offerors to Submit (Section IV) requires illustrated catalog data sheets with the manufacturer’s complete printed specifications, a completed questionnaire, and any deviations on separate attached sheet(s). Section 23 states all equipment is subject to acceptance inspection and performance testing upon receipt. The specification does not require an independently certified load chart or separate engineering analysis.
QUESTION #8:
Working height:
Does “bottom of platform at 25 ft” mean the platform floor must be at least 25 ft above ground? Does “working height of 30 ft” mean the agency is assuming a 5-ft worker reach, or must the platform itself reach 30 ft?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
The specification states the unit shall be capable of handling a manufacturer’s supplied, OSHA compliant 2-person work platform to a height of at least 25 ft (as measured to the bottom of the platform), ultimately providing a working height of at least 30 ft. The 25-ft figure is therefore measured to the bottom of the platform. The 30-ft working height is stated as the result of that platform height; the specification does not require the platform itself to reach 30 ft.
QUESTION #9:
Platform capacity:
What minimum platform capacity is required for two people, tools, materials, and personal protective equipment? For example, is the required capacity 500 lb, 1,000 lb, or another value?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
The specification does not state a numeric platform capacity. It requires a minimum 2-person OSHA compliant work platform or basket, with a minimum nominal size of 4 ft x 8 ft (1 and 3.4.1), and that the unit meet all applicable OSHA and ANSI requirements (11.1).
QUESTION #10:
Platform dimensions:
Does the minimum 4 ft by 8 ft dimension refer to the usable interior floor area or the outside dimensions?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 3.4.1 requires a minimum 2-person OSHA compliant work platform or basket, with a minimum nominal size of 4 ft x 8 ft. The specification uses the term “nominal size” and does not distinguish interior floor area from outside dimensions.
QUESTION #11:
Platform certification:
Must the platform be factory-supplied, factory-approved for the exact telehandler model, and listed in the manufacturer’s operator manual and load chart?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 1 requires a manufacturer’s supplied, OSHA compliant 2-person work platform. 3.4.1 requires a minimum 2-person OSHA compliant work platform or basket. Specification 11.1 requires the unit to meet all applicable OSHA and ANSI requirements. The specification does not expressly require listing in the operator manual or load chart, but the platform is specified as manufacturer-supplied.
QUESTION #12:
Platform controls and safety systems:
Must the platform include: Platform-mounted controls? Emergency stop and power shutoff? Emergency lowering capability? Intercom or communication system? Self-leveling? Guardrails, toe boards, access gate, and tie-off points? Platform load weighing or overload protection?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
The specification does not itemize platform-mounted controls, e-stop, emergency lowering, intercom, self-leveling, guardrails, toe boards, access gate, tie-off points, or platform overload protection. It requires an OSHA compliant 2-person work platform (Specifications 1 and 3.4.1) and that the unit meet all applicable OSHA and ANSI requirements (11.1). A load moment indicator / longitudinal stability system with in-cab display and audible and visual overload warning is required for the machine (11.11).
QUESTION #13:
Platform load chart:
Must the bidder provide a separate load chart showing capacity with the personnel platform installed at the required 25-ft platform height?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
The specification does not expressly require a separate personnel-platform load chart. Specification 25 requires manufacturer’s complete printed specifications and catalog data sufficient for evaluation.
Specification 3.2 refers to the manufacturer’s published load chart for the telescopic loader.
QUESTION #14:
Travel with personnel elevated:
Please confirm whether the platform will be used only while stationary.
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
The specification does not state whether travel with personnel elevated is permitted or prohibited. It requires a manufacturer’s supplied, OSHA compliant 2-person work platform (Specification 1) and that the unit meet all applicable OSHA and ANSI requirements (11.1).
QUESTION #15:
Fork carriage:
Is the 6-ft minimum width measured as: the outside width of the carriage; the usable fork-spacing width;
or the width between carriage end stops?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 3.4.2 requires a fork carriage, minimum 50,000 lbs capacity, minimum 6 ft wide, and forks minimum 72 inches long. The specification does not define whether 6 ft is outside carriage width, usable fork-spacing width, or width between end stops.
QUESTION #16:
Fork rating:
Must each 72-in. fork be individually rated for 25,000 lb, or must the complete fork carriage and fork set have a combined 50,000-lb capacity?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 3.4.2 specifies a fork carriage of minimum 50,000 lbs capacity and forks minimum 72 inches long. It does not require each fork to be individually rated 25,000 lb; the stated capacity is for the fork carriage.
QUESTION #17:
Fork load center:
What load center must apply to the 50,000-lb fork rating?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 3.1 states a rated (nominal) load capacity at the load center of at least 50,000 lbs. The specification does not define a numeric load-center distance (for example 24 in. or otherwise) for the 72-in. forks.
QUESTION #18:
Lifting hook:
Where must the 25,000-lb hook be mounted—on the boom head, fork carriage, or a dedicated boom-mounted lifting point? What lifting radius, hook height, and boom-extension condition apply to the 25,000-lb rating?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 3.4.3 requires a frame/boom mounted lifting hook, minimum 25,000 lbs capacity, and that it must be able to remove forks when the lifting hook is used. The specification does not define lifting radius, hook height, or boom-extension condition for the 25,000-lb rating.
QUESTION #19:
Hook configuration:
Must the hook include a safety latch, swivel, load block, lifting eye, or removable fork carriage? Does the 25,000-lb rating refer to the hook’s rated capacity or the complete machine-and-hook configuration?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 3.4.3 requires a frame/boom mounted lifting hook, minimum 25,000 lbs capacity, and the ability to remove forks when the lifting hook is used. It does not specify a safety latch, swivel, load block, or lifting eye. The 25,000-lb figure is stated as the hook capacity.
QUESTION #20:
Hydraulic attachment circuit:
How many hydraulic circuits are required at the boom head, and what minimum pressure, flow rate, hose size, and coupler type are required?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
3.4.4 requires a hydraulic circuit with quick couplings at boom head for all attachments. 11.6 requires a hydraulic line on the boom. The specification does not state the number of circuits, pressure, flow, hose size, or coupler type.
QUESTION #21:
Operating weight:
Does the 75,000-lb maximum include fuel, DEF, fluids, standard counterweights, tires, fork carriage, forks, lifting hook, platform, optional frame-leveling equipment, and the operator?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 4.1 states the unit shall weigh no more than 75,000 lbs. Specification 16.1 requires the operating weight as delivered, including standard equipment and all specified options and with full fluid capacities, to be stenciled on the machine. The specification does not state whether the operator is included in the 75,000-lb limit. Frame leveling is a factory option (3.4.5), and specified attachments include fork carriage, forks, hook, and platform (3.4).
QUESTION #22:
Attachment configuration:
Must the machine remain under 75,000 lb with all supplied attachments installed, or is the limit based on the base machine only?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 4.1 limits unit weight to no more than 75,000 lbs. Specification 16.1 defines operating weight as delivered including standard equipment and all specified options with full fluid capacities. The 75,000-lb limit is therefore applied to the delivered unit configuration, not a bare base machine.
QUESTION #23:
Axle loading:
Must the bidder provide front- and rear-axle loads at empty weight and maximum rated load? Will the machine be used on public roads or bridges where axle loading and transport permits matter?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
The specification does not require submission of front- and rear-axle loads and does not state whether the machine will be used on public roads or bridges. Specification 16 requires operating weight stenciling, four tie-down points, and marking of the weight centerline for safe loading on trailers. Delivery is to the SCDOT Equipment Depot (22).
QUESTION #24:
Overall length:
Is the 38-ft limit measured with the forks fully retracted, level with the ground, in the normal travel position, or including the hook or platform?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 4.3 states overall length with forks shall not exceed 38 ft. It does not further define boom position, fork attitude, travel position, or inclusion of hook or platform in that measurement.
QUESTION #25:
Overall width:
Does the 9-ft 6-in. maximum include mirrors, tires, strobe branch guard, fork carriage, frame-leveling components, or the platform?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 4.4 states overall width shall not exceed 9 ft 6 inches. The specification does not itemize whether mirrors, strobe branch guard, fork carriage, frame-leveling components, or platform are included in that overall width.
QUESTION #26:
Transport height:
Is the 10-ft 6-in. limit measured with the boom fully lowered and retracted, and does it include the strobe, mirrors, exhaust stack, forks, and other removable equipment?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 4.5 states height for transport shall not exceed 10 ft 6 inches. The specification does not further define boom position or whether strobe, mirrors, exhaust stack, forks, or removable equipment are included in transport height. The specifications require the SoundOff mPower grid light and branch guard bracket mounted above the ROPS/cab.
QUESTION #27:
Turning radius:
Is the 20-ft maximum turning radius measured to the outside tire, inside tire, counterweight, fork tips, or front attachment? Which steering mode must be used for the measurement?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 6.2 states turning radius shall not exceed 20 ft. It does not define the measurement reference (outside tire, inside tire, counterweight, fork tips, or attachment) or which of the three required steering modes (front wheel, crab, coordinated — Specification 6.3) applies to the measurement.
QUESTION #28:
Ground clearance:
Where is the required 15-in. ground clearance measured—axle, frame, belly pan, transmission, or another lowest point?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 4.6 states ground clearance shall be at least 15 inches. The specification does not identify the measurement point (axle, frame, belly pan, transmission, or other lowest point).
QUESTION #29:
Wheelbase:
Is the wheelbase measured between axle centerlines, and does the range apply to the base machine or the final delivered configuration?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 4.2 requires wheelbase minimum 120 inches, but not exceeding 175 inches. The specification does not further define measurement method or whether the range applies only to the base machine.
QUESTION #30:
Horsepower standard:
What test standard must be used for the minimum 200 net SAE horsepower—SAE J1349, SAE J1995, or another standard?
Specification 5 requires a heavy-duty, water cooled, 4 or 6 cylinder diesel engine with minimum net SAE horsepower of 200 meeting US EPA Tier 4 Final emissions standards. It specifies “net SAE horsepower” but does not name SAE J1349, SAE J1995, or another specific test procedure.
QUESTION #31:
Emissions system:
Are DEF, diesel particulate filter, selective catalytic reduction, and other Tier 4 Final after-treatment systems acceptable? Is a minimum DEF tank size or cold-weather package required?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 5 requires US EPA Tier 4 Final emissions standards. After-treatment systems necessary to meet Tier 4 Final are therefore acceptable. The specification does not require a minimum DEF tank size or a cold-weather package. Fuel tank shall be lockable, minimum 50 gallons, with fuel gauge (5.7).
QUESTION #32:
Hydrostatic transmission:
Is a powershift transmission with torque converter acceptable as an equivalent to the specified hydrostatic transmission?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 7 requires full-time 4-wheel drive and that the transmission shall be hydrostatic, providing infinitely variable ground speed in forward and reverse. A single control shall govern forward and reverse travel. Adequate cooling shall be provided for converter (as applicable), hydraulic, and transmission fluids. The specified transmission type is hydrostatic; a powershift with torque converter is not identified as an accepted equivalent, though “converter (as applicable)” is mentioned for cooling.
QUESTION #33:
Single forward/reverse control:
Does this require a single joystick-mounted F-N-R selector, or will a conventional directional control be acceptable?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 7 requires that a single control shall govern forward and reverse travel. 11.2.11 lists joystick lift and boom control and foot throttle. The specification does not require the F-N-R function to be mounted on the lift/boom joystick; a single control governing forward and reverse is required.
QUESTION #34:
Full-time four-wheel drive:
Does “full-time 4WD” mean permanent four-wheel drive, or is selectable four-wheel drive with all-wheel drive available during normal operation acceptable?
Specification 7 states “Full time 4-wheel drive.” The specification does not describe a selectable two-wheel-drive mode as acceptable.
QUESTION #35:
Brake requirement:
Must wet multi-disc brakes be present on both axles, and must the parking brake also be oil-immersed and self-adjusting?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 8 requires oil immersed, multi-disc, self-adjusting brakes on both axles. The specification does not separately describe the parking brake.
QUESTION #36:
Tire rating:
What tire size, tread pattern, ply rating, and minimum load rating are required? Must the bidder submit Tire and Rim Association data or will the manufacturer’s published rating be sufficient?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 9 requires tubeless tires matching the manufacturer’s published requirements/specifications; one-piece steel disc wheels; and that the total combined load rating of the tires and wheels shall exceed the GVWR of the unit. Load ratings shall be determined by reference to the current yearbook of the Tire and Rim Association, Inc., or the manufacturer’s published load rating.
No specific size, tread, or ply is stated. The questionnaire requires tire size and whether tire size matches manufacturer published guidelines.
QUESTION #37:
ROPS/FOPS:
Which specific ROPS and FOPS standards and test levels apply?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
11.2 requires a fully integral ROPS/FOPS certified cab. Seat-belt assembly shall meet the most recent revision to SAE J-1194 and SAE J-167 (11.2.8). Sound suppression shall meet OSHA requirements measured in accordance with the most recent revision to SAE J-1166 (11.2.6). The specification does not name a specific ROPS/FOPS standard edition or test level beyond “ROPS/FOPS certified.”
QUESTION #38:
Noise requirement:
What maximum cab sound level is acceptable, in dBA, and at what operating condition will it be measured under SAE J-1166?
Specification 11.2.6 requires sound suppression to meet OSHA requirements measured in accordance with the most recent revision to SAE J-1166 Standard. No numeric dBA limit or specific operating condition is stated in the specification beyond that reference.
QUESTION #39:
Load-moment indicator:
Must the LMI only warn the operator, or must it automatically restrict boom functions when the stability limit is reached? Must the system compensate for attachment type, load weight, boom angle and extension, frame leveling, steering mode, and personnel-platform operation?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 11.11 requires a load moment indicator (LMI) / longitudinal stability system with in-cab display and audible and visual overload warning. The specification does not require automatic restriction of boom functions and does not list required compensation inputs (attachment type, load weight, boom geometry, frame leveling, steering mode, or personnel platform).
QUESTION #40:
Back-up alarm:
Is exactly 107 dB required, or is 107 dB a minimum? At what measurement distance and test condition?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 11.8 requires a back-up alarm, 107 dB, and permanently marked as such. The specification does not state measurement distance or test condition and does not say “minimum.”
QUESTION #41:
Lighting:
Is the specified SoundOff mPower EMPGL light mandatory, or will an equivalent amber LED strobe with 360-degree visibility be accepted?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification states SoundOff mPower grid light (1x1x2) EMPGL LED, amber strobe, to include branch guard, bracket mounted above ROPS/cab with branch guard to provide 360 degree visibility. An equivalent is not identified in the specification. An equivalent substitution must be described in the submitted materials describing why it is equivalent or better.
QUESTION #42:
Vandal protection:
Must all locks be keyed alike, including the cab, engine hood, battery compartment, fuel cap, DEF cap, hydraulic tank, and tool compartments?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
11.11 requires vandal protection including battery and engine compartment and fluid fill caps not protected by a lockable panel. Locks to be keyed alike. Specification 5.7 requires a lockable fuel tank.
Specification 5.13 requires protective engine housing that is lockable. The specification does not specifically list DEF cap, hydraulic tank, cab, or tool compartments, but fluid fill caps not protected by a lockable panel are included and locks are to be keyed alike.
QUESTION #43:
How many units are being requested, and must every unit be identical?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
This bid is for a single unit, as specified within the bidding schedule.
QUESTION #44:
What is the required delivery date and delivery location?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
The delivery location is specified within the solicitation document as: SCDOT Equipment Depot, 1400 Shop Road, Columbia SC 29201. The delivery date is specified within the document: Unless otherwise specified herein, all items shall be delivered no later than the date specified on the purchase order.
QUESTION #45:
Will the agency require a factory representative to perform startup, inspection, and operator training?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 14 requires the successful bidder to conduct a one-day school on the operation and maintenance of each unit, in the county where the unit is to be assigned, with the Department’s operator(s). Specification 23 subjects equipment to acceptance inspection and performance testing upon receipt. The specification does not expressly require a factory representative for startup, as distinct from the successful bidder providing the one-day school.
QUESTION #46:
Must the bidder provide training for operators, mechanics, and supervisors?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 14: one-day school on operation and maintenance of each unit, in the county of assignment, with the Department’s operator(s). Specification 15: if available, one complete set of video operator training materials covering safe and correct operation.
QUESTION #47:
What manuals and documentation must be supplied?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Please see Section III – Specifications, item 25 (Service literature), item 20 (Safety plaques or decals), item 15 (Training materials), and Section IV – Information for Offerors to Submit. Required items in the specification include: operator’s instruction manual (hard copy stays with the equipment), illustrated repair parts manual, shop overhaul manual; downloadable PDF link preferred; two complete sets of service literature with the first unit plus the operator manual with each unit; one complete set with each subsequent unit; warranty statement and cards (22.2); serial/data plates (18–19); safety plaques per ANSI Z535.4 (Specification 20).
QUESTION #48:
Will the agency conduct a live acceptance test using a 50,000-lb precast component?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Specification 23 states all equipment ordered will be subject to acceptance inspection and performance testing upon receipt. Performance testing may not occur until after the equipment is issued from the Equipment Depot to the using field custodian and placed in-service. The specification does not require a live test with a 50,000-lb precast component, and does not assign who supplies test load, rigging, site, operator, or safety plan.
QUESTION #49:
If a live test is not required, what documentation will prove that the machine can lift 50,000 lb to the specified height and reach without stabilizers?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
See specification 25 and Section IV: Information for Offerors to Submit. Specification 3.2 references the manufacturer’s published load chart. Specification 23 provides for acceptance inspection and performance testing.
QUESTION #50:
Must the vendor provide an onsite demonstration before award, after delivery, or both?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
The specification does not require an onsite demonstration before award. After delivery, Specification 14 requires a one-day operation and maintenance school in the county of assignment, and Specification 23 provides for acceptance inspection and performance testing.
QUESTION #51:
What warranty is required?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
Please see the warranty clause in Section VII.B., Warranty – Special: warranted against defects in materials and workmanship for a period of not less than twelve (12) months; warranty start date based on in-service date as established by issue from the Equipment Depot; vendor performs administrative work after Department notification; remote-location claim procedure if no authorized dealership within a reasonable distance; copy of warranty statement furnished with the unit. Paint guaranteed for 7 years (Specification 21.3).
QUESTION #52:
What local service response time, parts availability, preventive-maintenance support, and emergency repair coverage are required?
Please see the warranty clause in Section VII.B., Warranty – Special, Section IV, Information for Offerors to Submit – Special, and Section III. Specifications, item 17. (Existing SCDOT response.)
Specification 17 requires specified U.S. sources for filters (AC, Wix, Donaldson, or Baldwin), tires (Goodyear, Firestone, or General), and lubricants (Shell, Exxon, Texaco, or Citgo); spare hydraulic filters for one year of sustained field operations plus a resupply timeline; and questionnaire details for maintenance items.
QUESTION #53:
Does SCDOT have a preferred manufacturer, brand, model, or basis-of-design unit?
SCDOT RESPONSE TO QUESTION:
All units meeting or exceeding the specifications are acceptable, regardless of brand, model, or basis-of-design unit. Please note: specification 2 reserves the right to reject equipment which, in the opinion of the Department’s engineers and/or staff, is not satisfactory for the Department’s use in the proposed application.
All other terms, conditions, bidding instructions, and specifications remain unchanged. If there are any questions or if any confusion or uncertainty arises as a result of this amendment, it is the sole responsibility of the offeror to contact the procurement officer for clarification. Contact information can be found in the top right-hand corner of the cover page of this amendment. Reference the “duty to inquire” clause in the original invitation for bid.
File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .