66215_5.pdf

PDF 10 MB Posted

Attached to
1332033: EV Charging Stations
Solicitation number
66215,4
Issued by
Cook County, Illinois

About this file

This is a Request for Proposal (RFP) issued by the City of Chicago Department of Procurement Services for electric vehicle charging stations (Specification #1332033, Solicitation #66215.5) serving two distinct categories: Category A for the Department of Fleet and Facility Management (2FM) covering fleet charging installations, and Category B for the Chicago Department of Transportation (CDOT) covering public charging infrastructure. The RFP solicits turnkey services including design, engineering, permitting, utility coordination, site preparation, installation, commissioning, operations and maintenance, and reporting for multiple EV charging station types: Level 2 AC charging stations (minimum 208V/30A with 7.9 kW capacity), DC fast charging stations (minimum 480V/180A with 150 kWh capacity capable of delivering 80 miles of range per 30 minutes), and solar charging stations (minimum 4 kW capacity). Category A encompasses approximately 66 sites across the City with an estimated 2,600 Level 2 chargers, 37 DC fast chargers, and 16 solar chargers; Category B includes seven initial public charging locations with 28 total ports. The pre-solicitation conference was held April 28, 2026; a mandatory pre-proposal conference for Category A occurred August 13, 2026. The proposal deadline is September 28, 2026 at 3:00 PM Central Time. Site visits for short-listed respondents will occur in Phase III of the evaluation process. The contract term is five years with potential for extension, with Phase I priority sites expected to be installed within six months of award and delivery required within 200 calendar days of purchase order issuance. Respondents may submit proposals for Category A, Category B, or both categories.

Pricing for both categories must be submitted through the applicable Schedule of Compensation (Exhibit A8 for Category A, Exhibit B6 for Category B) with unit prices entered as ".01" in the iSupplier system for administrative purposes only. The City specifies that Category A represents planning estimates only, and quantities may be adjusted post-award through task orders, while Category B requires full turnkey design and installation. No MBE/WBE/VBE participation goals are stated for this RFP; however, the City encourages diversity throughout procurement. Category B is subject to Buy America sourcing requirements from the U.S. Department of Energy Grant Terms and Conditions, with applicability depending on item classification. Davis-Bacon prevailing wage requirements apply to Category B construction work exceeding $2,000. The RFP does not specify the total contract value or minimum/maximum funding amounts. Performance requirements include minimum 97% uptime for Category A (excluding scheduled maintenance) and 80% uptime for Category B, with specified response and resolution times for maintenance requests (24-hour emergency response for Category A, 1-business-day repair for emergency requests). The City requires performance and payment bonds upon contract award, vendor-provided Charging Station Management Systems integration with existing AssetWorks FuelFocus platform for Category A, and compliance with open protocols (OCPP 1.6 JSON or higher for Category B). Multiple addenda (Addendum Nos. 1-5) have modified requirements including electrical distribution standards, charging specifications, uptime metrics, and compensation schedules, with the most recent amendments issued September 14, 2026.

View the file

Other files

File Type Posted
66215_4.pdf PDF

On GovTribe

Work with this file

  • Download the original file
  • Contacts named in this file
  • Similar government files
  • Ask GovTribe AI about this file

Text version

City Of Chicago Solicitation #66215,5

BRANDON JOHNSON SHARLA ROBERTS

MAYOR CHIEF PROCUREMENT OFFICER

Specification Number: 1332033 Type of Funding:

Title: 1332033: EV Charging Stations

Request for Proposal Solicitation #66215,5 (RFP)

EV CHARGING STATIONS

Specification Number:1332033

Required for use by: DEPARTMENT OF FLEET AND FACILITY MANAGEMENT

Bid/Proposal Submittal Date and Time: 03:00 PM Central Time, 28-SEP-2026

Deadline for Questions: 03:00 PM Central Time, 05-MAY-2026 Buyer: DUARTE, PAULA Email Address: paula.duarte@cityofchicago.org Phone Number: 312-744-7971 Pre-Solicitation Conference Date and Time: 10:00 AM Central Time, 28-APR-2026 Pre-Solicitation Conference Location: 121 N. Lasalle, Chicago IL 60602, Conference Room 1103 (Floor 11) also available TEAMS Site Visit Date & Time: N/A Site Visit Location: N/A

Please submit your response to:

http://www.cityofchicago.org/eProcurement iSupplier vendor portal registration is required.

Allow 3 business days to complete registration.

Specification Number: 1332033 Page 2 Type of Funding:

Title: 1332033: EV Charging Stations

Table of Contents

1 Header Information

1.1 General Information

1.2 Terms

1.3 Requirements

1.4 Attachments

1.5 Response Rules

2 Price Schedule

2.1 Line Information

2.2 Line Details

2.2.1 Line 1

Specification Number: 1332033 Page 3 Type of Funding:

Title: 1332033: EV Charging Stations

1 Header Information

1.1 General Information

Title 1332033: EV Charging Stations

Description EV CHARGING STATIONS Amendment Date 14-SEP-2026 11:11:10

Amendment Description

Addendum No. 5

Preview Date 17-APR-2026 13:30:00 Open Date 17-APR-2026 13:40:03 Close Date 03:00 PM Central

Time, 28-SEP-2026 Award Date Not Specified

Time Zone Central Time Buyer DUARTE, PAULA Quote Style Sealed Email paula.duarte@cityofchicago.

org Event Request for Proposal Outcome Blanket Purchase Agreement

1.2 Terms

Effective Start Date Not Specified Effective End Date Not Specified

Ship-To Address 038-4140 CONT MAN

50 W WASHINGTON

Chicago, IL 60601 United States

Bill-To Address 038-4140 CONT MAN

50 W WASHINGTON

Chicago, IL 60601 United States

Payment Terms IMMEDIATE Carrier FOB Freight Terms

Total Agreement Amount (USD)

Not Specified Minimum Release Amount (USD)

Not Specified

1.3 Requirements

<B>KEY RFP/RFQ PARAMETERS</B>

CITY BUSINESS PREFERENCE:

Type No Response Required

LOCAL MANUFACTURE PREFERENCE:

Type No Response Required

VETERAN BUSINESS ENTERPRISE:

Type No Response Required

BUSINESS ENTERPRISE FOR PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES

Type No Response Required

CONTRACT SPECIFIC GOALS: N/A

Type No Response Required

FUNDING SOURCE:

Type No Response Required DPS UNIT: Pro Serv

Type No Response Required CONTRACT TERM: 60 months

Specification Number: 1332033 Page 4 Type of Funding:

Title: 1332033: EV Charging Stations

<B>KEY RFP/RFQ PARAMETERS</B>

Type No Response Required PRE-SUBMITTAL CONFERENCE: April 28, 2026, at 10:00 am Central Time at 121 N. Lasalle, Chicago IL 60602, Conference Room 1103 (Floor 11). Also available via Microsoft Teams.

Type No Response Required Enter the EDS number from your EDS Certificate and attach the certificate. (Go to online EDS website:

https://webapps.cityofchicago.org/EDSWeb)

Circle one from the response values below:

YES

NO

<B>PRICE SCHEDULE (RFP/RFQ)</B>

“Price Schedule” has been revised. This is a “System Required Line”. In order to be able to submit your qualifications in the e-procurement system, you must enter .01 in the “Quote Price/ Unit Price” field. This is an e- procurement system requirement. Do not enter your proposed pricing. Price will not be considered for evaluation purposes.

Circle one from the response values below:

YES

NO

<B>REQUIRED CONTENT OF SUBMITTAL

/PROPOSAL (Please attach documents)</B>

COVER PAGE

Circle one from the response values below:

YES

NO

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Circle one from the response values below:

YES

NO

SCHEDULE OF COMPENSATION (Reference 'Exhibit A8' in the RFP for 2FM and 'Exhibit B6' for

CDOT).

Circle one from the response values below:

YES

NO

MBE/WBE/VBE Participation Goals

Circle one from the response values below:

YES

NO

Economic Disclosure Statement and Affidavit (“EDS”) and Attachment A: Online EDS Acknowledgement.

Circle one from the response values below:

YES

NO

LEGAL ACTIONS (Material legal actions, if any, for the past 5 years)

Circle one from the response values below:

YES

NO

Specification Number: 1332033 Page 5 Type of Funding:

Title: 1332033: EV Charging Stations

<B>REQUIRED CONTENT OF SUBMITTAL

/PROPOSAL (Please attach documents)</B>

CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE

Circle one from the response values below:

YES

NO

FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (3 Years)

Circle one from the response values below:

YES

NO

CONFLICT OF INTEREST

Circle one from the response values below:

YES

NO

Sexual Harassment Policy Affidavit

Circle one from the response values below:

YES

NO

Exceptions to the Sample Work Services / Book 1 Agreement (Reference Exhibit 7 of the RFP)

Circle one from the response values below:

YES

NO

REDACTED COPY OF PROPOSAL

Circle one from the response values below:

YES

NO

1.4 Attachments

Name Data Type Description

ATTACHMENT 000000:

ADDENDUM NO. 5

File Addendum No. 5

ATTACHMENT 00000:

ADDENDUM NO. 4

File Addendum No. 4 - Postponement

ATTACHMENT 0000:

ADDENDUM NO. 3

File Addendum No. 3

ATTACHMENT 000:

ADDENDUM NO. 2

File Addendum No. 2 - Postponement

ATTACHMENT 00:

ADDENDUM NO. 1

File Addendum No. 1

ATTACHMENT 01: RFP File RFP SPEC 1332033: EV CHARGING

STATIONS

ATTACHMENT 02: WSA File WORK SERVICES AGREEMENT FOR

CATEGORY A SPEC 1332033

ATTACHMENT 03: BOOK

File BOOK 1 TERMS FOR CATEGORY B SPEC 1332033

1.5 Response Rules

Solicitation is restricted to invited suppliers Suppliers are allowed to view other suppliers' contract terms, notes and attachments

Specification Number: 1332033 Page 6 Type of Funding:

Title: 1332033: EV Charging Stations

Suppliers are allowed to respond to selected lines X Suppliers are allowed to provide multiple responses Buyer may close the solicitation before the Close Date Buyer may manually extend the solicitation while it is open

Specification Number: 1332033 Page 7 Type of Funding:

Title: 1332033: EV Charging Stations

2 Price Schedule

2.1 Line Information

Display Rank As No indicator displayed

Ranking Price Only Cost Factors None

Line Item, Rev / Job

Target Quantity

Unit Unit Price Amount

1 New RFP Ev Charging Stations

1 USD

2.2 Line Details

2.2.1 Line 1 New RFP Ev Charging Stations

Category 00000. Start Price (USD) Not Specified

Shopping Category Not Specified Target Price (USD) Not Specified Minimum Release

Amount (USD) Not Specified

Estimated Total Amount (USD)

Not Specified

ADDENDUM NO. 1 / SPECIFICATION NO. 1332033

CITY OF CHICAGO - DEPARTMENT OF PROCUREMENT SERVICES

ADDENDUM NO. 1

FOR

REQUEST FOR PROPOSAL (RFP) FOR

EV CHARGING STATIONS

Specification No. 1332033 – RFQ # 66215,1

Required for use by:

CITY OF CHICAGO

FLEET & FACILITY MANAGEMENT (2FM)

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION (CDOT)

This Addendum is distributed by:

Department of Procurement Services

Respondent must acknowledge receipt of this Addendum No. 1 in the Cover Letter of its Response

Paula Duarte, Senior Procurement Specialist

(312) 744-7971

The information contained in this Addendum No.1 is incorporated by reference into the original

Request for Proposal (RFP) issued on April 17, 2026

BRANDON JOHNSON

MAYOR

SHARLA D. ROBERTS

CHIEF PROCUREMENT OFFICER

ADDENDUM NO. 1 / SPECIFICATION NO. 1332033

June 12, 2026

REQUEST FOR PROPOSAL (“RFP”)

SPECIFICATION NO. 1332033 RFQ, 66215,1

For which responses are scheduled to be received electronically on the eProcurement site, http://www.cityofchicago.org/eProcurement, no later than 3:00 p.m. Central Time on July 13, 2026.

The following revisions and questions/answers will be incorporated into the above-referenced Specification (the “RFP Documents”) as noted. All other provisions and requirements as originally set forth, except as amended by previous addenda, remain in full force and are binding. Any additional work required by this Addendum shall conform to the applicable provisions of the original RFP Documents.

Any and all addenda must be acknowledged by the Respondent in the Cover Letter page by referencing receipt of each Addendum number.

The City’s answers to submitted questions will be forthcoming in a future Addendum.

RESPONDENT MUST ACKNOWLEDGE RECEIPT OF THIS ADDENDUM IN THE COVER LETTER

OF ITS RESPONSE

NOTICE OF POSTPONEMENT OF RESPONSE DUE DATE

REVISION DESCRIPTIONS

1.

The Submittal Due date for responses has been postponed to July 13, 2026, for which responses are scheduled to be received electronically on the eProcurement site, http://www.cityofchicago.org/eProcurement, no later than 3:00 p.m. Central Time.

Accordingly, Attachment 01: RFP and PSA, is hereby amended to revise the Submittals Due date from June 16, 2026 to July 13, 2026.

ALL REVISIONS INSCRIBED HEREIN WILL BE INCORPORATED INTO THE RFP PER

END OF ADDENDUM NO. 1

CITY OF CHICAGO SHARLA D. ROBERTS

DEPARTMENT OF PROCUREMENT SERVICES CHIEF PROCUREMENT OFFICER

ADDENDUM NO. 5 / SPECIFICATION NO. 1332033

ADDENDUM NO. 5

Specification No. 1332033 – RFQ # 66215, 5

Department of Fleet & Facility Management (2FM) Chicago Department of Transportation (CDOT)

Respondent must acknowledge receipt of Addendum No. 5 in the Cover Letter of its Proposal.

Paula.Duarte@cityofchicago.org

The information contained in this Addendum No. 5 is incorporated by reference into the original Request for Proposal (RFP) issued on April 17, 2026.

SEPTEMBER 14, 2026

ADDENDUM NO. 5

SPECIFICATION NO. 1332033 RFQ 66215, 5

For which Proposals are scheduled to be received electronically on the eProcurement site, http://www.cityofchicago.org/eProcurement no later than 3:00 p.m., Central Time on September 28, 2026 (pursuant to the Request for Proposal advertised April 17, 2026).

The following questions/answers will be incorporated in the above-referenced Specification (the “Contract Documents”) as noted. All other provisions and requirements as originally set forth, except as amended by previous addenda, remain in full force and are binding. Any additional work required by this Addendum shall conform to the applicable provisions of the original Contract Documents. Any and all addenda must be acknowledged by the Respondent in the Cover Letter of its proposal by referencing receipt of each Addendum number.

RESPONDENT MUST ACKNOWLEDGE RECEIPT OF THIS ADDENDUM IN THE COVER

LETTER OF ITS PROPOSAL

SECTION 1. NOTICE OF REVISIONS/CHANGES/CLARIFICATIONS

The answer to Question 1 in Addendum 3 is amended to add the additional text as follows:

Each site, regardless of existing electrical service, will get new, independent electrical service with separate metering to power the charging station(s). The Vendor will be responsible for coordinating with ComEd. The Vendor will be responsible for obtaining any and all variances including but not limited to permission and/or permits from the City’s Department of Buildings.

Existing electrical site plans will not be needed as the existing electrical infrastructure will not be used. The Vendor will need to create a mechanical site plan for each site.

2.

Please disregard the answer in Addendum 3 to Question 7. The City has updated Exhibit A8 as follows.

Exhibit A8: Schedule of Compensation, Category A-2FM, of the RFP, is hereby deleted in its entirety and replaced with the Amended Exhibit A8:

Schedule of Compensation, Category A-2FM, which is attached to this Addendum 5 as Attachment 02 and is incorporated herein by reference.

3.

Exhibit 1: Scope of Services, Category A: 2FM, Section 17.2, Performance Expectations, of the RFP, is hereby deleted in its entirety and replaced with the amended Section 17.2, Performance Expectations, which is attached to this Addendum as Attachment 01 and is incorporated herein by reference.

4. Exhibit 1: Scope of Services, Category A: 2FM, is hereby amended to delete Section 7.1(a)(i) and replace it with the following language:

(i) Stations must deliver a minimum of 208 V and 40 amps of current

5. The answer to Question 43 in Addendum 3 is amended to include updates to the text is Section 7.2(a) as stated below.

Exhibit 1: Scope of Services, Category A: 2FM, is hereby amended to delete Section 7.2(a) and replace it with the following language:

(a) Charging Capability

(i) Stations must deliver a minimum of 480 V and 180 amps of current.

(ii) Each station must be capable of delivering at least 80 miles of vehicle range per 30 minutes of charging.

(iii) The minimum charging capacity must be 150 kWh

6. Exhibit A5: Category A 2FM – Special Requirements For Auxiliary

Electrical Equipment, of the RFP, is hereby amended to delete Section 1, Junction Boxes and Circuit Protection, in its entirety and replace it with the following language:

1. Electrical distribution service and Circuit Protection

(a) Install a fused electrical distribution service at a location approved by the City’s Department of Fleet and Facility Management, Automotive Engineering Section.

(b) Ensure the electrical distribution service includes circuits capable of supporting all required auxiliary equipment.

(c) For circuits connected to constant power, run an uninterrupted 8-gauge marine-rated wire directly from the chassis battery.

(d) Install a waterproof circuit breaker with a test button and swing-out reset switch within 12 inches of the battery terminal.

7. Exhibit B1: Category B (CDOT) Physical Site Standards and

Requirements, of the RFP, is hereby amended to delete Section 2.A.1 in its entirety and replace it with the following language:

1. Chicago Zoning Ordinance for EVSE: EVSE-ready space. A parking space having electric vehicle supply equipment infrastructure installed so as to provide conduit and wiring for a 40 ampere, 208- or 240-volt dedicated branch circuit terminating at a receptacle or electrical distribution service within 3 feet of the parking space

8. All references in this Specification to “junction box” and “junction boxes” are deleted and replaced with “electrical distribution service.”

9. Exhibit 1: Scope of Services, Category A: 2FM, is hereby amended to delete Section 7.3(a) and replace it with the following language:

(i) Solar stations’ charging capacity must be a minimum of 4kW and provide a minimum of 220 miles per charge. Solar stations should be solar only, not grid-tied.

10. Please disregard the answers in Addendum 3 to Question 29, Question

211 and Question 246. The updated answers are as follows.

*Addendum 3, updated answer to Question 29:

System should be solar and not grid-tied with battery storage capability. V2G capability is not needed but may be offered.

*Addendum 3, updated answer to Question 211:

Solar stations should be solar and not grid tied, with available battery storage.

*Addendum 3, updated answer to Question 246:

Solar stations are expected to be Level 2, solar and not grid connected with available battery storage.

SECTION 2. QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS/CLARIFICATIONS

The following questions and requests for clarification were submitted in accordance with the instructions provided in the Contract Documents. The City’s response follows each question or request for clarification in the table below:

Question 1: What are the bonding requirements?

Answer: Please refer Exhibit 7, Section 5.6. (“Bid Deposit and Performance Bond”) of the Specification which states, in relevant part, the following:

The successful bidder must furnish a Performance and Payment Bond in the amount of [100% of the contract value /some other amount].

Attachment 01:

EV Charger Uptime and Availability

a. Operational Uptime: Each EV charger must maintain a minimum of 97% uptime on a monthly basis, excluding scheduled maintenance.

b. The required minimum uptime of 80% during the contracted period of site operations will be calculated using the following equation:

excluded))/525,600) × 100 where:

T outage = total minutes of outage in previous year, and T excluded = total minutes of outage in previous year caused by the following reasons outside the charging station operator's control, provided that the charging station operator can demonstrate that the charging port would otherwise be operational: electric utility service interruptions, failure to charge or meet the EV charging customer's expectation for power delivery due to the fault of the vehicle, scheduled maintenance, vandalism, or natural disasters. Also excluded are hours outside of the identified hours of operation of the charging station.

c. Monitoring: Networking data and real-time monitoring must be enabled for all chargers, with automated alerts for faults or downtime.

Attachment 02:

AMENDED EXHIBIT A8: SCHEDULE OF COMPENSATION

CATEGORY A: 2FM

Services UOM Cost Base

Year 1 Base Year 2

Base Year 3

Option Year 4

Option Year 5

Design (engineering & permitting prep) Not to exceed $0

Permitting Not to exceed $0

Phase 1 Environmental Site Assessment (if required)

Not to exceed $0

Surety / Bonding Not to exceed $0

Utility Infrastructure (e.g., make-ready, service, transformers)

Not to exceed $0

Site Prep & Construction (e.g., civil, canopy, lighting, signage)

Not to exceed $0

Hardware & Software (e.g., EVSE, cabinets, warranties, licenses) - Level 2 charging stations

Not to exceed $0

Hardware & Software (e.g., EVSE, cabinets, warranties, licenses) - Level 3 DC fast charging stations

Not to exceed $0

Hardware & Software (e.g., EVSE, cabinets, warranties, licenses) - Solar charging stations

Not to exceed $0

Networking & Data Services (per year) Not to exceed $0

Repair & Maintenance Services - preventative & corrective work (per year)

Not to exceed $0

Total $0 Total Cost per Port (total cost divided by # of proposed ports) $0

Total Cost per kWh (total cost divided by projected kWh capacity) $0

ALL REVISIONS INSCRIBED HEREIN WILL BE INCORPORATED INTO THE BID SPECIFICATION

PER ADDENDUM NO. 5

END OF ADDENDUM NO. 5

ADDENDUM NO. 4 / SPECIFICATION NO. 1332033

ADDENDUM NO. 4

Specification No. 1332033 – RFQ # 66215,4

FLEET & FACILITY MANAGEMENT (2FM)

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION (CDOT)

Respondent must acknowledge receipt of this Addendum No. 4 in the Cover Letter of its Response

(312) 744-7971

The information contained in this Addendum No.4 is incorporated by reference into the original

Request for Proposal (RFP) issued on April 17, 2026

ADDENDUM NO. 4 / SPECIFICATION NO. 1332033

August 28, 2026

REQUEST FOR PROPOSAL (“RFP”)

SPECIFICATION NO. 1332033 RFQ, 66215,4

For which responses are scheduled to be received electronically on the eProcurement site, http://www.cityofchicago.org/eProcurement, no later than 3:00 p.m. Central Time on September 28, 2026.

The following revisions and questions/answers will be incorporated into the above-referenced Specification (the “RFP Documents”) as noted. All other provisions and requirements as originally set forth, except as amended by previous addenda, remain in full force and are binding. Any additional work required by this Addendum shall conform to the applicable provisions of the original RFP Documents.

Any and all addenda must be acknowledged by the Respondent in the Cover Letter page by referencing receipt of each Addendum number.

The City’s answers to submitted questions will be forthcoming in a future Addendum.

OF ITS RESPONSE

NOTICE OF POSTPONEMENT OF RESPONSE DUE DATE

The Submittal Due date for responses has been postponed to September 28, 2026, for which responses are scheduled to be received electronically on the eProcurement site, http://www.cityofchicago.org/eProcurement, no later than 3:00 p.m. Central Time.

The response due date for this RFP is hereby amended to revise the Submittals Due date from August 31, 2026 to September 28, 2026.

ALL REVISIONS INSCRIBED HEREIN WILL BE INCORPORATED INTO THE RFP PER

END OF ADDENDUM NO. 4

ADDENDUM NO. 3 / SPECIFICATION NO. 1332033

ADDENDUM NO. 3

Specification No. 1332033 – RFQ # 66215, 3

Department of Fleet & Facility Management (2FM) Chicago Department of Transportation (CDOT)

Respondent must acknowledge receipt of Addendum No. 3 in the Cover Letter of its Proposal.

Paula.Duarte@cityofchicago.org

The information contained in this Addendum No. 3 is incorporated by reference into the original Request for Proposal (RFP) issued on April 17, 2026.

AUGUST 5, 2026

ADDENDUM NO. 3

SPECIFICATION NO. 1332033 RFQ 66215, 3

For which Proposals are scheduled to be received electronically on the eProcurement site, http://www.cityofchicago.org/eProcurement no later than 3:00 p.m., Central Time on August 31, 2026 (pursuant to the Request for Proposal advertised April 17, 2026).

The following questions/answers will be incorporated in the above-referenced Specification (the “Contract Documents”) as noted. All other provisions and requirements as originally set forth, except as amended by previous addenda, remain in full force and are binding. Any additional work required by this Addendum shall conform to the applicable provisions of the original Contract Documents. Any and all addenda must be acknowledged by the Respondent in the Cover Letter of its proposal by referencing receipt of each Addendum number.

OF ITS PROPOSAL

SECTION 1. NOTICE OF REVISIONS/CHANGES/CLARIFICATIONS

Exhibit 1: Scope of Services, Category A: 2FM, Section 15, Roles and Responsibilities, of the RFP, is hereby deleted in its entirety and replaced with the amended Section 15, Roles and Responsibilities, which is attached to this Addendum as Attachment 01 and is incorporated herein by reference.

2.

Exhibit A1: Category A-2FM Site Locations, of the RFP, is hereby deleted in its entirety and replaced with the Amended Exhibit A1: Site Locations, which is attached to this Addendum as Attachment 02 and is incorporated herein by reference.

3.

Exhibit A6: Category A-2FM- ASSETWORKS INTEGRATION, of the RFP, is hereby amended to add language regarding AssetWorks Fuel Focus & EV integration, which is attached to this Addendum as Attachment 03 and is incorporated herein by reference.

4.

To ensure Respondents have the information necessary to submit complete, accurate, and fully responsive Proposals, an additional, mandatory* Pre- Proposal Conference for review of the questions and answers posted in this addendum will be held. This Pre-Proposal Conference is in addition to the conference referenced in Section IV.A.2. of the RFP.

In-person attendance is required; however, in the event that a conflict exists that prevents Respondent from attending, Respondents shall request a Teams link in advance of the meeting by reaching out to Paula Duarte at paula.duarte@cityofchicago.org.

The Pre-Bid Conference will be held at the following date and time:

Date/Time: Thursday August 13, 2026 at 2:00pm CST

Location: 2 N. LaSalle

Mezzanine Conference Center (M-05 Home Life Insurance) Chicago, IL. 60602

All Attendees must register in advance of the Pre-Proposal meeting. Same day registration is not allowed. Pre-Registration must be arranged in advance of the scheduled August 13, 2026 Pre-Proposal Conference.

Attendees must send an e-mail to Paula Duarte at Paula.Duarte@cityofchicago.org.

E-mail Subject line must read: RFP for EV Charging Station Meeting.

Registered Attendees will receive e-mail confirmation with directions.

*While attendance at the prior April 2026 Pre-Proposal Conference was optional, attendance at this additional Pre-Proposal Conference is mandatory.

Failure to attend the August 13, 2026 Pre-Proposal Conference will result in Respondent’s Proposal being deemed non-responsive in the Phase I evaluation referenced in Section VI.A. of the RFP and consequently, ineligible to advance to Phase II of the evaluation process.

SECTION 2. QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS/CLARIFICATIONS

The following requests for clarification and questions were submitted in accordance with the instructions provided in the Contract Documents. The City’s Answer follows each question or request for clarification in the table below:

Question 1: Based on Section 5 and the associated Exhibits, can the City please clarify the following:

For 2FM fleet charging installations, will the electrical installation scope—including conduit, wiring, trenching, and final connections to charging pads—be performed by the selected vendor under this RFP, or separately by City crews, the utility, or existing contracts?

Additionally, can the City clarify whether electrical infrastructure (including conduit, wiring, and trenching to EVSE units) will be fully installed by the City/utility, or if the selected vendor will be responsible for completing these installations from the service point to the chargers?

Answer:

The vendor will be responsible for electrical installation scope. Additionally, the vendor should assume that they will be responsible for installation work from the service point to the chargers. However, some sites will require less work than others.

Question 2:

May site walks be scheduled prior to submitting a proposal for Category B? This would greatly help in the preparation/accuracy of estimations for Make-Ready/infrastructure costs.

mailto:Paula.Duarte@cityofchicago.org

Answer:

Site walks can be arranged for Category A for short-listed recipients.

For Category B, respondents may conduct independent site visits at their own discretion. The City will not be coordinating formal site walks prior to proposal submission.

Please refer to Section VII. Selection Process, Phase III-Site Visit, System/Product Demonstration and/or Oral Presentation, of the RFP, for information regarding site visit for short-listed employees.

Section VII. Selection Process, Phase III-Site Visit, System/Product Demonstration and/or Oral Presentation, in relevant parts, states the following:

If the EC submits a short list of Respondents for further review, then, in the sole discretion of the Commissioner and Chief Procurement Officer, those short-listed Respondents may be subject to a site visit, system / product demonstration and/or be invited to appear before the Evaluation Committee for an oral presentation to clarify in more detail information what was submitted in Respondent’s Proposal; and/or to ask Respondent to respond to additional questions. All Respondents placed on the short list will be subject to the same additional requirements (i.e. if there is a site visit, all short-listed Respondents will receive a site-visit, if one short listed Respondent gives an oral presentation, all short-listed Respondents will give an oral presentation, etc.)

Question 3:

Please confirm that pricing for 2FM charger installations is intended to be based on standardized unit pricing and installation assumptions at the proposal stage, with final site-specific construction scope and pricing to be established through post-award task orders once site conditions are confirmed.

Answer:

Installation assumptions will not be standardized, as the site requirements will vary from site to site. The vendor will be expected to provide a turnkey installation for each site. As such, for a standardized assumption for pricing purposes, bidders may assume that the site has sufficient power at the grid for the desired installation, and everything downstream of the grid hookup must be supplied. Beyond this some sites will require additional electrical service and the price for this work can be established through post-award task orders. .Site plans and site-specific information as needed will be made available to bidders to account for site-specific factors.

Question 4:

Please confirm that, for 2FM the City is responsible for upstream electrical infrastructure (including utility coordination, service capacity, and make-ready work), and that the Contractor’s installation scope is limited to mounting, connection, configuration, testing, and commissioning of the EVSE equipment as specified.

Answer:

Many sites already have enough electrical capacity for the planned chargers, but some may need upgrades. The vendor will need to coordinate with ComEd for these sites.

Also, see answer to Question No. 1.

Question 5: What is the difference between DC and DCFC columns in the site location chart in Exhibit A1?

Answer: Both power figures refer to DC power and DC fast charges and should have a 180kW requirement. Any distinction(s) will be eliminated.

Question 6: Are any site drawings made available so that hourly rates may be made to be more accurate?

Answer: For 2FM;- Yes, site drawings can be made available upon request.

For CDOT: No, site drawings will not be made available.

Question 7: Are there specific parts requested in the ‘Parts, Mechanical and Electrical’ line item refer to in the 2FM schedule of compensation?

Answer: No, this is a line used for ordering whatever parts may be needed at a given time, bid on a percentage markup/discount basis.

Question 8: What does the design build line item refer to in the 2FM scope?

Answer:

This design build line item is referenced in Exhibit A8: Schedule of Compensation, Category A-2FM, which refers to the costs associated with drawing plans and method to deliver the project from design to construction.

Question 9:

The RFP requires vehicle odometer readings to be transmitted with each charging session. What is the expected source of that odometer data? For Example, AssetWorks, telematics, RFID/fleet card input, driver input, Plug &amp; Charge, or another system.

Answer:

Odometer data may come from telematics, or manual or electronic (e.g. via card) driver input. Ultimate method is up to the vendor. All odometer data will be going into Assetworks.

Question 10: How does the City expect each charging session to be associated with a specific vehicle, driver, department, or cost center?

Answer: This can be up to the vendor's proposal; e.g., via Telematics or via a digital interface on the charger with driver input or etc.

Question 11: Will Category A fleet charging sessions be initiated through RFID, fleet cards, driver PIN, mobile app, Plug&amp; Charge, or another authentication method?

Answer: Charging sessions should be initiated electronically and identification should be tied to the particular vehicle being charged, but the ultimate method is up to the vendor.

Question 12: Does the City currently have a CSMS or EV charging network platform deployed, or is the vendor expected to provide this as part of the solution?

Answer:

For Category A: 2FM, the vendor should provide this as part of the solution.

For Category B: CDOT, the City does not have an existing Charging Station Management System (CSMS) nor an Electric Vehicle (EV) charging network platform deployed. These systems are part of the vendor's scope.

Question 13:

For Category A, is the City expecting a full CSMS, or would an O&amp;

monitoring/reporting platform integrated with the chargers and AssetWorks meet the requirement?

Answer:

A monitoring and reporting platform that is integrated with the chargers and AssetWorks would meet the requirement of cybersecurity & data protection as set forth in Exhibit A7, but a CSMS would be preferred.

Question 14: For Category A, the Solar Charging Stations will be L2 or DC?

Answer: Solar charging stations will be Level 2 or L 2.

Question 15:

For Category B, can the City clarify the payment requirements for public charging sessions? For example, card reader, tap to pay, mobile payment, app-based payment, RFID, or other options.

Answer: The RFP does not describe specific payment methods. Respondents should describe their proposed payment solutions (a minimum of two forms of payment) all in accordance with the terms and conditions and specifications set forth in the RFP.

Question 16: For Category B, who is expected to act as the merchant of record and manage payment settlement/reconciliation to the City?

Answer:

The City will own the chargers and collect all charging revenue. Respondents in their Proposals, however, should describe how their proposed payment, settlement, and reconciliation process will support remittance/reporting to the City.

Question 17:

Can the City clarify its load management expectations for Category A and Category B?

For example, static site limits, dynamic load management, scheduled charging, demand response, or peak shaving.

Answer:

For both Category A and Category B, the RFP does not specify a specific load management strategy. Respondents, however, should describe any load management capabilities in the Proposals.

Question 18:

Can the City clarify how uptime will be calculated, including exclusions for utility outages, planned maintenance, network outages, vandalism, and payment system issues?

Answer:

This information is not applicable to Category A.

For Category B, operational uptime and exclusions are identified in Exhibit 2: Category B: CDOT Scope of Services, Section E.2. EV Charger Uptime and Availability.

Section E.2. EV Charger Uptime and Availability, states the following:

a. Operational Uptime: Each EV charger must maintain a minimum of 80% uptime on a monthly basis, excluding scheduled maintenance.

b. The required minimum uptime of 80% during the contracted period of site operations will be calculated using the following equation:

μ = ((525,600−(T outage−T excluded))/525,600) × 100 where:

μ = port uptime percentage, T outage = total minutes of outage in previous year, and T excluded = total minutes of outage in previous year caused by the following reasons outside the charging station operator's control, provided that the charging station operator can demonstrate that the charging port would otherwise be operational: electric utility service interruptions, failure to charge or meet the EV charging customer's expectation for power delivery due to the fault of the vehicle, scheduled maintenance, vandalism, or natural disasters. Also excluded are hours outside of the identified hours of operation of the charging station.

c. Monitoring: Networking data and real-time

Question 19: Does the City expect the vendor’s platform to manage maintenance tickets directly, or integrate with an existing City work order/ticketing system?

Answer:

Category A - the vendor's platform can manage maintenance tickets directly, but there should be some mechanism to notify the City of faults that require repair. Category B does not require integration with an existing City workorder/ticketing system to manage maintenance tickets.

Question 20: For Category B, can you detail the amount of Ports vs Units?

Answer:

Category B includes seven initial locations with four simultaneously available ports per site, for a total of 28 charging ports. The RFP does not specify the number of units/chargers. The Respondents may propose the number of units/chargers using their expertise, due diligence, and discretion.

Question 21: Category A: Can the City confirm the required or preferred power levels for Level 2 chargers (e.g., 32A, 40A, 80A)?

Answer:

30A minimum. Refer to Exhibit 1: Scope of Services, Section 7.1.(a) Charging Capability, part (i), which states “[s]tations must deliver a minimum of 208 V and 30 amps of current. (see 7.1.a)

Question 22: Can the City confirm the required or preferred power levels for DC Fast Chargers (e.g., 50 kW, 150 kW, 300 kW)?

For Category A, 150kW should be considered the minimum capacity.

For Category B, Respondents are asked to identify minimum continuous power per port and minimum aggregate site capacity in accordance with the requirements set forth in Exhibit B3: Category B-CDOT Instructions to Proposers.

Question 23: Can the City clarify the extent of “City-provided electrical infrastructure” at each site (e.g., transformer, panel, conduit, stub-up)?

Answer:

The City will provide infrastructure and prep work up to the junction box. Vendor will provide junction boxes and wiring at each site, as further specified and described in Exhibit A5: Category A 2FM-Special Requirements For Auxiliary Electrical Equipment, of the RFP. As mounting methods (pad, wall mount) may vary by site, the vendor will be responsible for final mounting of the chargers.

Question 24: Should proposers assume that all sites are fully “make-ready,” or should additional electrical upgrades be anticipated?

Answer: Some sites will be electrically make-ready and others won't be.

Question 25: Can the City provide technical documentation (e.g., APIs, data schemas) for integration with the AssetWorks FuelFocus platform?

Answer: This information is not available at this time.

Question 26: Will integration with AssetWorks require real-time API-based data transfer, or would periodic (e.g., daily) file-based data transfer be acceptable?

Answer: Periodic transfer is acceptable.

Question 27: Will a test or sandbox environment be made available to support integration development and validation?

Answer: Yes, a test environment can be made available.

Question 28: Are there defined service level expectations for response and resolution times for maintenance events?

Answer:

For 2FM: See Exhibit A3: Category A 2FM, Repair and Service Requirements, for detailed information regarding response and resolution times for maintenance events for urgent emergency and non-urgent emergency service requests.

This information is not applicable to Category B.

Question 29:

For sites identified as requiring solar charging, can the City clarify the expected system configuration (e.g., grid-tied systems, battery storage integration, or other architectures)?

Answer: System should be grid-tied with battery storage capability. V2G capability is not needed but may be offered.

Question 30:

Reference Category B – CDOT (Public Charging Pilot Program) Can CDOT confirm the required or target power output (kW) per DC Fast Charging port at each site?

Answer:

Please refer to Exhibit B3: Category B-CDOT Instructions to Proposers, of the RFP, where it identifies the minimum continuous power per port and minimum aggregate site capacity for each site.

Question 31:

What specific payment capabilities are required at each site (e.g., on-unit credit card readers, mobile application, RFID), and are proposers required to include all listed options?

Answer: See answer to Question No. 15.

Question 32: Does CDOT require or prefer support for Plug and Charge (ISO 15118), and if so, to what extent should it be implemented at initial deployment?

Answer:

CDOT does not require nor have preference for Plug and Charge. The RFP does not prescribe specific payment methods. Respondents should describe their proposed payment solutions (a minimum of two forms of payment) consistent with the RFP requirements.

Question 33:

In addition to trenching and electrical upgrades, does the vendor’s responsibility for site preparation include full site design, engineering, permitting, and construction management?

Answer:

For Category A, the level of such work will vary according to site, but at least some should be expected.

For Category B, yes. Category B requires turnkey services including design, permitting, utility coordination, site make-ready, civil/electrical work, installation, O&M, and reporting.

Question 34: What are the specific expectations for utility coordination, including responsibility for interconnection applications, upgrades, and associated costs?

Answer:

For Category B, the Selected Respondent is responsible for utility coordination, site make-ready, civil/electrical work, and full installation for all identified site locations.

Respondent should include utility coordination assumptions in their Proposal.

For category A, the above holds except with respect to site make-ready

Question 35: Can CDOT clarify how uptime will be calculated for compliance purposes (e.g., measured per port, per charger, or per site)?

Answer: The RFP specifies uptime is measured per charger.

See also answer to Question No. 18.

Question 36: For ADA compliance, is the proposer responsible for full design and certification of compliant layouts, or will CDOT provide site-specific design guidance or approvals?

Answer: The proposer is responsible for ADA-compliant design and installation consistent with applicable requirements.

Question 37:

Category A – 2FM Level 2 Charging Capability Clarification - Reference: Exhibit 1- Scope of Services, Section 7.1 Category I: Level 2 Charging Stations, Page 23

The RFP states the following minimum Level 2 charging requirements: Minimum 208V and 30 amps Average of 25 miles of range per hour of charging Minimum charging capacity of 7.9 kWh /Minimum 208V and 30 amps

Because vehicle range added per hour varies significantly based on vehicle make/model, battery efficiency, weather, and onboard charger limitations, please clarify which of these three criteria shall govern hardware charging compliance in the event they conflict.

Is the primary requirement electrical output (208V / 30A)?

Charging capacity should be considered the operative requirement in case of conflict.

A Ford Mustang Mach E GT and a Ford eTransit can be uses as the reference vehicles for Level 2 charging.

Question 38: Is the “25 miles of range per hour” intended only as an estimated performance benchmark?

Answer: Yes. The minimum charging capacity requirement should be treated as the performance floor.

Question 39: Should the minimum charging capacity be interpreted as 7.9 kW?

Answer: Yes. The minimum charging capacity should be interpreted as 7.9 kW.

Question 40: Or should the minimum charging capacity be interpreted as 22 kW charger power rating?

Answer: See answer to Question No. 39.

Question 41: Is the “80 miles in 30 minutes” requirement intended only as an estimated vehicle-dependent benchmark?

Answer: Yes.

Question 42: In case of conflicting metrics, which specification shall govern proposal compliance?

Answer:

In this case, the charging capacity requirement.

See also answer to Question No. 37.

Question 43:

The 208V x 180A suggests a substantially higher power level than a 22 kWh minimum charging capacity. In addition the 208V is commonly associated with AC Level 2 charging systems, where DC is typically 480V. Can you please clarify.

Answer:

Category A – 2FM DC Fast Charger Connector Requirements (CHAdeMO).

Reference: Exhibit 1 – Scope of Services, Section 7.2(b), Page 23. For Level 3 DC Charging Stations, the RFP requires:

SAE certified CHAdeMO SAE certified J1772 CCS

Question 44:

Please confirm whether CHAdeMO is mandatory for all proposed DC fast chargers, or whether proposals utilizing CCS and/or NACS connectors without CHAdeMO will be considered acceptable given current market adoption trends and declining CHAdeMO demand.

Answer: For: ChAdeMO demand, the Proposal should assume CCS and J1172 NACS connectors

Question 45:

Category A – 2FM Training Requirements Clarification:

To the extent this question is asking about training requirements under Category A, refer to Exhibit 1: Scope of Services, Category A: 2FM – Scope of Services, Section 12 Training Requirements.

Section 12, Training Requirements, states in relevant parts the following:

The Contractor must provide all required training listed as part of the contract at no additional cost to the City of Chicago. Training is required for each charging unit delivered and installed. All training material must be provided in English and conducted by certified instructors.

Please clarify whether operator, technician, and safety training is intended to be required for every charger installed at each site or required once per site deployment:

Answer: Training is expected once per site deployment.

Question 46: Does the City prefer chargers that support open protocols such as OCPP and OCPI to avoid vendor lock-in and allow future software interoperability?

Answer:

For 2FM - Yes, open-standard protocols are preferred.

For CDOT-: The RFP references open interoperability requirements including OCPI and OCPP. Respondents should describe how their proposed solution supports interoperability and future compatibility.

Question 47:

Exhibit A8: Schedule of Compensation Category A – 2FM. 8. Exhibit A8: Schedule of Compensation Category A – 2FM.

Can the vendors add additional line items in the pricing document? For example, we recommend a line item dedicated to software management solution. An additional line item would be for Pedestals, as the city may use pedestal or wall mount the unit, having this as an accessory would save the city money when not needing a pedestal. If not, should these costs be bundled into the 'Each' unit price for Category I, II, or III

Yes, vendors can suggest added line items if the suggested line item(s) is within the scope categories of the RFP and in accordance with terms and conditions set forth therein. Any suggested line item(s) shall be approved by the Chief Procurement Officer, whose decision will be binding. If approved, the proposed added line item(s) would be added to an amended line item sheet to allow all bidders to bid on them.

Question 48:

For required items marked “Type: No Response Required,” does the City still expect proposers to upload supporting documentation (e.g., MBE/WBE/VBE, Funding Source, DPS Unit)?

Answer: No. No action on these items needed from respondents as it is not applicable.

Question 49: For the Schedule of Compensation, should proposers upload a full pricing workbook in addition to entering “.01” in iSupplier?

Answer: Yes, per Section V. Preparing Proposals: Required Information, B.3, Schedule of Compensation Respondents must include a workbook with pricing in the Proposal.

Question 50: If a proposer marks “NO” for a required item (e.g., Legal Actions, Insurance, Financials), will the City deem the proposal non-responsive, or request clarification?

Answer:

No, however, you must acknowledge these regardless. For example, if no legal actions have been taken, you could respond by stating so. Or if you don't have insurance as of now, you could respond by stating you will be insured by the award time.

Please refer to Section V. Preparing Proposals: Required Information, B. Required Content of Proposal, for the submittal requirements under the Proposal.

Question 51: iSupplier Submission Mechanics: Should .01 be entered for every line item in the Price Schedule, or only Line 1?

Answer:

For all lines.

Question 52: If iSupplier fails to display an addendum for acknowledgement, will the City reject the proposal or allow manual confirmation?

Answer:

Manual Confirmation is not allowed.

Please refer to Section VII. Selection Process, 1.A. Clarifications and Addenda, of the RFP, which states “[e]lectronic acknowledgement of Clarifications and/or Addenda is mandatory to submit an electronic Proposal.”

Question 53: If the system flags missing fields during submission, will the City allow correction after the deadline?

Per Addendum No. 2, Proposal submittal deadline has been extended from June 16, 2026 to August 31, 2026.

No, we cannot accept any corrections after the deadline. If there are any issues that ISupplier cannot help with, you must fill out or at least mention 'will provide separately as an attachment." But cannot leave the field blank. Only the Chief Procurement Officer at its sole discretion can accept late Proposals.

Please refer to Section IV.B. Deadline and Procedures for Submitting Proposals, for information regarding submission after the deadline.

Section IV.B. Deadline and Procedures for Submitting Proposals, in relevant parts, states the following:

1. To be assured of consideration, Proposals must be submitted electronically to the Department of Procurement Services no later than 3:00 P.M. Central Time on June 16, 2026. Respondents must submit all required information by uploading as attachments to the electronic RFP submission in iSupplier. iSupplier vendor portal registration is required. Allow three (3) business days to complete registration.

2. The City may, but is not required to, accept Proposals that are not received by the date and time set forth in Section IV.B.1 above. Only the Chief Procurement Officer is empowered to determine whether to accept or return late Proposals.

Question 54: If the City exercises the 181 day extension, will pricing default to Year 5 rates or be negotiated separately?

Answer: Pricing defaults to the term of the RFP, which is five (5) years.

Question 55: Does the Mayoral Executive Order 2011 4 contribution prohibition apply to subcontractors not yet identified at proposal time?

Answer:

Yes, it does, if meets the specifications detailed below.

Prohibition on Certain Contribution-Mayoral Executive Order No. 2011-4, applies to Respondent or any person or entity who directly or indirectly has an ownership or beneficial interest in Respondent of more than 7.5% ("Owners"), spouses and domestic partners of such Owners, Respondent’s Subcontractors, any person or entity who directly or indirectly has an ownership or beneficial interest in any Subcontractor of more than 7.5% ("Sub-owners") and spouses and domestic partners of such Sub-owners (Contractor and all the other preceding classes of persons and entities are together, the "Identified Parties").

Please refer to Section VII. D. Prohibition on Certain Contribution-Mayoral Executive Order No. 2011-4, for further detailed information regarding Mayoral Executive Order No. 2011-4.

Question 56: Will the City accept an existing corporate sexual harassment policy in place of the Exhibit 6 affidavit?

Answer:

No, it will not.

Pursuant to Section VII. E.3.b. Policy Prohibiting Sexual Harassment (Section 2-92- 612 of the Chicago Municipal Code), Respondents must submit the Sexual

Harassment Policy Affidavit, (in the form of the “Sexual Harassment Policy Affidavit” Exhibit 6 attached hereto) attesting that Respondent has a written policy prohibiting sexual harassment that shall include, at a minimum, the following information: (i) the illegality of sexual harassment; (ii) the definition of sexual harassment; and (iii) the legal recourse available for victims of sexual harassment.

Question 57: Will the City provide API documentation, schema, and authentication requirements for AssetWorks FuelFocus integration?

Answer: This information is not available at this time.

Question 58: Will the City provide a test environment or sandbox for integration validation?

Answer: Yes, the city can provide a test environment.

Question 59: Are additional data fields beyond the required four (unit ID, odometer, timestamp, kWh) desired or prohibited?

Answer: These are the only hard requirements, but additional data fields are welcome.

Question 60: Will 2FM provide as built electrical drawings for each site, including panel schedules and conduit routing?

Answer: 2FM will provide as built electrical drawings where they exist, but they may not be available for all sites.

Question 61: Does…

This is the start of the file's text. The full file is on GovTribe.

File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .