66215_3.pdf
PDF 10 MB Posted
- Attached to
- 1332033: EV Charging Stations
- Solicitation number
- 66215,3
- Issued by
- Illinois
About this file
Summary of EV Charging Stations Contract Opportunity
This is a Scope of Work document for the Illinois EV Charging Stations project (GovTribe ID: 1332033). The project involves the installation and deployment of electric vehicle charging infrastructure across Illinois to support the state's transition to clean energy transportation. The scope encompasses the planning, design, procurement, installation, and commissioning of multiple EV charging stations at strategic locations throughout the state. The project includes both Level 2 charging stations and DC fast charging units to accommodate various vehicle types and charging speeds. Respondents must provide detailed project timelines, installation plans, and operational protocols. The specific number of charging stations, exact locations, response deadlines, and award dates are referenced within the procurement documents. The contract term and any renewal or expansion options will be outlined in the full solicitation materials.
Pricing for this project will be structured according to Illinois state procurement guidelines, with cost proposals evaluated against technical merit and qualifications. Funding sources and budget allocations are determined through state appropriations and potential federal grants for electric vehicle infrastructure development. The project may include set-asides for minority and women-owned businesses or small businesses as applicable under Illinois procurement regulations. Additional considerations include site requirements, utility interconnection coordination, warranty provisions for installed equipment, and ongoing maintenance and operational support obligations. The successful contractor will be responsible for compliance with all applicable federal and state environmental regulations, electrical codes, and EV charging standards.
View the file
On GovTribe
Work with this file
- Download the original file
- Contacts named in this file
- Similar government files
- Ask GovTribe AI about this file
Text version
City Of Chicago Solicitation #66215,3
BRANDON JOHNSON SHARLA ROBERTS
MAYOR CHIEF PROCUREMENT OFFICER
Specification Number: 1332033 Type of Funding:
Title: 1332033: EV Charging Stations
Request for Proposal Solicitation #66215,3 (RFP)
EV CHARGING STATIONS
Specification Number:1332033
Required for use by: DEPARTMENT OF FLEET AND FACILITY MANAGEMENT
Bid/Proposal Submittal Date and Time: 03:00 PM Central Time, 31-AUG-2026
Deadline for Questions: 03:00 PM Central Time, 05-MAY-2026 Buyer: DUARTE, PAULA Email Address: paula.duarte@cityofchicago.org Phone Number: 312-744-7971 Pre-Solicitation Conference Date and Time: 10:00 AM Central Time, 28-APR-2026 Pre-Solicitation Conference Location: 121 N. Lasalle, Chicago IL 60602, Conference Room 1103 (Floor 11) also available TEAMS Site Visit Date & Time: N/A Site Visit Location: N/A
Please submit your response to:
http://www.cityofchicago.org/eProcurement iSupplier vendor portal registration is required.
Allow 3 business days to complete registration.
Specification Number: 1332033 Page 2 Type of Funding:
Title: 1332033: EV Charging Stations
Table of Contents
1 Header Information
1.1 General Information
1.2 Terms
1.3 Requirements
1.4 Attachments
1.5 Response Rules
2 Price Schedule
2.1 Line Information
2.2 Line Details
2.2.1 Line 1
Specification Number: 1332033 Page 3 Type of Funding:
Title: 1332033: EV Charging Stations
1 Header Information
1.1 General Information
Title 1332033: EV Charging Stations
Description EV CHARGING STATIONS Amendment Date 05-AUG-2026 15:01:51
Amendment Description
Addendum No. 3
Preview Date 17-APR-2026 13:30:00 Open Date 17-APR-2026 13:40:03 Close Date 03:00 PM Central
Time, 31-AUG-2026 Award Date Not Specified
Time Zone Central Time Buyer DUARTE, PAULA Quote Style Sealed Email paula.duarte@cityofchicago.
org Event Request for Proposal Outcome Blanket Purchase Agreement
1.2 Terms
Effective Start Date Not Specified Effective End Date Not Specified
Ship-To Address 038-4140 CONT MAN
50 W WASHINGTON
Chicago, IL 60601 United States
Bill-To Address 038-4140 CONT MAN
50 W WASHINGTON
Chicago, IL 60601 United States
Payment Terms IMMEDIATE Carrier FOB Freight Terms
Total Agreement Amount (USD)
Not Specified Minimum Release Amount (USD)
Not Specified
1.3 Requirements
<B>KEY RFP/RFQ PARAMETERS</B>
CITY BUSINESS PREFERENCE:
Type No Response Required
LOCAL MANUFACTURE PREFERENCE:
Type No Response Required
VETERAN BUSINESS ENTERPRISE:
Type No Response Required
BUSINESS ENTERPRISE FOR PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES
Type No Response Required
CONTRACT SPECIFIC GOALS: N/A
Type No Response Required
FUNDING SOURCE:
Type No Response Required DPS UNIT: Pro Serv
Type No Response Required CONTRACT TERM: 60 months
Specification Number: 1332033 Page 4 Type of Funding:
Title: 1332033: EV Charging Stations
<B>KEY RFP/RFQ PARAMETERS</B>
Type No Response Required PRE-SUBMITTAL CONFERENCE: April 28, 2026, at 10:00 am Central Time at 121 N. Lasalle, Chicago IL 60602, Conference Room 1103 (Floor 11). Also available via Microsoft Teams.
Type No Response Required Enter the EDS number from your EDS Certificate and attach the certificate. (Go to online EDS website:
https://webapps.cityofchicago.org/EDSWeb)
Circle one from the response values below:
YES
NO
<B>PRICE SCHEDULE (RFP/RFQ)</B>
“Price Schedule” has been revised. This is a “System Required Line”. In order to be able to submit your qualifications in the e-procurement system, you must enter .01 in the “Quote Price/ Unit Price” field. This is an e- procurement system requirement. Do not enter your proposed pricing. Price will not be considered for evaluation purposes.
Circle one from the response values below:
YES
NO
<B>REQUIRED CONTENT OF SUBMITTAL
/PROPOSAL (Please attach documents)</B>
COVER PAGE
Circle one from the response values below:
YES
NO
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Circle one from the response values below:
YES
NO
SCHEDULE OF COMPENSATION (Reference 'Exhibit A8' in the RFP for 2FM and 'Exhibit B6' for
CDOT).
Circle one from the response values below:
YES
NO
MBE/WBE/VBE Participation Goals
Circle one from the response values below:
YES
NO
Economic Disclosure Statement and Affidavit (“EDS”) and Attachment A: Online EDS Acknowledgement.
Circle one from the response values below:
YES
NO
LEGAL ACTIONS (Material legal actions, if any, for the past 5 years)
Circle one from the response values below:
YES
NO
Specification Number: 1332033 Page 5 Type of Funding:
Title: 1332033: EV Charging Stations
<B>REQUIRED CONTENT OF SUBMITTAL
/PROPOSAL (Please attach documents)</B>
CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE
Circle one from the response values below:
YES
NO
FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (3 Years)
Circle one from the response values below:
YES
NO
CONFLICT OF INTEREST
Circle one from the response values below:
YES
NO
Sexual Harassment Policy Affidavit
Circle one from the response values below:
YES
NO
Exceptions to the Sample Work Services / Book 1 Agreement (Reference Exhibit 7 of the RFP)
Circle one from the response values below:
YES
NO
REDACTED COPY OF PROPOSAL
Circle one from the response values below:
YES
NO
1.4 Attachments
Name Data Type Description
ATTACHMENT 0000:
ADDENDUM NO. 3
File Addendum No. 3
ATTACHMENT 000:
ADDENDUM NO. 2
File Addendum No. 2 - Postponement
ATTACHMENT 00:
ADDENDUM NO. 1
File Addendum No. 1
ATTACHMENT 01: RFP File RFP SPEC 1332033: EV CHARGING
STATIONS
ATTACHMENT 02: WSA File WORK SERVICES AGREEMENT FOR
CATEGORY A SPEC 1332033
ATTACHMENT 03: BOOK
File BOOK 1 TERMS FOR CATEGORY B SPEC 1332033
1.5 Response Rules
Solicitation is restricted to invited suppliers Suppliers are allowed to view other suppliers' contract terms, notes and attachments Suppliers are allowed to respond to selected lines X Suppliers are allowed to provide multiple responses Buyer may close the solicitation before the Close Date Buyer may manually extend the solicitation while it is open
Specification Number: 1332033 Page 6 Type of Funding:
Title: 1332033: EV Charging Stations
2 Price Schedule
2.1 Line Information
Display Rank As No indicator displayed
Ranking Price Only Cost Factors None
Line Item, Rev / Job
Target Quantity
Unit Unit Price Amount
1 New RFP Ev Charging Stations
1 USD
2.2 Line Details
2.2.1 Line 1 New RFP Ev Charging Stations
Category 00000. Start Price (USD) Not Specified
Shopping Category Not Specified Target Price (USD) Not Specified Minimum Release
Amount (USD) Not Specified
Estimated Total Amount (USD)
Not Specified
ADDENDUM NO. 1 / SPECIFICATION NO. 1332033
CITY OF CHICAGO - DEPARTMENT OF PROCUREMENT SERVICES
ADDENDUM NO. 1
FOR
REQUEST FOR PROPOSAL (RFP) FOR
EV CHARGING STATIONS
Specification No. 1332033 – RFQ # 66215,1
Required for use by:
CITY OF CHICAGO
FLEET & FACILITY MANAGEMENT (2FM)
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION (CDOT)
This Addendum is distributed by:
Department of Procurement Services
Respondent must acknowledge receipt of this Addendum No. 1 in the Cover Letter of its Response
Paula Duarte, Senior Procurement Specialist
(312) 744-7971
The information contained in this Addendum No.1 is incorporated by reference into the original
Request for Proposal (RFP) issued on April 17, 2026
BRANDON JOHNSON
MAYOR
SHARLA D. ROBERTS
CHIEF PROCUREMENT OFFICER
ADDENDUM NO. 1 / SPECIFICATION NO. 1332033
June 12, 2026
REQUEST FOR PROPOSAL (“RFP”)
SPECIFICATION NO. 1332033 RFQ, 66215,1
For which responses are scheduled to be received electronically on the eProcurement site, http://www.cityofchicago.org/eProcurement, no later than 3:00 p.m. Central Time on July 13, 2026.
The following revisions and questions/answers will be incorporated into the above-referenced Specification (the “RFP Documents”) as noted. All other provisions and requirements as originally set forth, except as amended by previous addenda, remain in full force and are binding. Any additional work required by this Addendum shall conform to the applicable provisions of the original RFP Documents.
Any and all addenda must be acknowledged by the Respondent in the Cover Letter page by referencing receipt of each Addendum number.
The City’s answers to submitted questions will be forthcoming in a future Addendum.
RESPONDENT MUST ACKNOWLEDGE RECEIPT OF THIS ADDENDUM IN THE COVER LETTER
OF ITS RESPONSE
NOTICE OF POSTPONEMENT OF RESPONSE DUE DATE
REVISION DESCRIPTIONS
1.
The Submittal Due date for responses has been postponed to July 13, 2026, for which responses are scheduled to be received electronically on the eProcurement site, http://www.cityofchicago.org/eProcurement, no later than 3:00 p.m. Central Time.
Accordingly, Attachment 01: RFP and PSA, is hereby amended to revise the Submittals Due date from June 16, 2026 to July 13, 2026.
ALL REVISIONS INSCRIBED HEREIN WILL BE INCORPORATED INTO THE RFP PER
END OF ADDENDUM NO. 1
CITY OF CHICAGO SHARLA D. ROBERTS
DEPARTMENT OF PROCUREMENT SERVICES CHIEF PROCUREMENT OFFICER
ADDENDUM NO. 3 / SPECIFICATION NO. 1332033
CITY OF CHICAGO - DEPARTMENT OF PROCUREMENT SERVICES
ADDENDUM NO. 3
Specification No. 1332033 – RFQ # 66215, 3
Required for use by:
Department of Fleet & Facility Management (2FM) Chicago Department of Transportation (CDOT)
This Addendum is distributed by:
Department of Procurement Services
Respondent must acknowledge receipt of Addendum No. 3 in the Cover Letter of its Proposal.
Paula Duarte, Senior Procurement Specialist
Paula.Duarte@cityofchicago.org
The information contained in this Addendum No. 3 is incorporated by reference into the original Request for Proposal (RFP) issued on April 17, 2026.
BRANDON JOHNSON
MAYOR
SHARLA D. ROBERTS
CHIEF PROCUREMENT OFFICER
AUGUST 5, 2026
ADDENDUM NO. 3
SPECIFICATION NO. 1332033 RFQ 66215, 3
For which Proposals are scheduled to be received electronically on the eProcurement site, http://www.cityofchicago.org/eProcurement no later than 3:00 p.m., Central Time on August 31, 2026 (pursuant to the Request for Proposal advertised April 17, 2026).
The following questions/answers will be incorporated in the above-referenced Specification (the “Contract Documents”) as noted. All other provisions and requirements as originally set forth, except as amended by previous addenda, remain in full force and are binding. Any additional work required by this Addendum shall conform to the applicable provisions of the original Contract Documents. Any and all addenda must be acknowledged by the Respondent in the Cover Letter of its proposal by referencing receipt of each Addendum number.
RESPONDENT MUST ACKNOWLEDGE RECEIPT OF THIS ADDENDUM IN THE COVER LETTER
OF ITS PROPOSAL
SECTION 1. NOTICE OF REVISIONS/CHANGES/CLARIFICATIONS
REVISION DESCRIPTIONS
1.
Exhibit 1: Scope of Services, Category A: 2FM, Section 15, Roles and Responsibilities, of the RFP, is hereby deleted in its entirety and replaced with the amended Section 15, Roles and Responsibilities, which is attached to this Addendum as Attachment 01 and is incorporated herein by reference.
2.
Exhibit A1: Category A-2FM Site Locations, of the RFP, is hereby deleted in its entirety and replaced with the Amended Exhibit A1: Site Locations, which is attached to this Addendum as Attachment 02 and is incorporated herein by reference.
3.
Exhibit A6: Category A-2FM- ASSETWORKS INTEGRATION, of the RFP, is hereby amended to add language regarding AssetWorks Fuel Focus & EV integration, which is attached to this Addendum as Attachment 03 and is incorporated herein by reference.
4.
To ensure Respondents have the information necessary to submit complete, accurate, and fully responsive Proposals, an additional, mandatory* Pre- Proposal Conference for review of the questions and answers posted in this addendum will be held. This Pre-Proposal Conference is in addition to the conference referenced in Section IV.A.2. of the RFP.
In-person attendance is required; however, in the event that a conflict exists that prevents Respondent from attending, Respondents shall request a Teams link in advance of the meeting by reaching out to Paula Duarte at paula.duarte@cityofchicago.org.
The Pre-Bid Conference will be held at the following date and time:
Date/Time: Thursday August 13, 2026 at 2:00pm CST
Location: 2 N. LaSalle
Mezzanine Conference Center (M-05 Home Life Insurance) Chicago, IL. 60602
All Attendees must register in advance of the Pre-Proposal meeting. Same day registration is not allowed. Pre-Registration must be arranged in advance of the scheduled August 13, 2026 Pre-Proposal Conference.
Attendees must send an e-mail to Paula Duarte at Paula.Duarte@cityofchicago.org.
E-mail Subject line must read: RFP for EV Charging Station Meeting.
Registered Attendees will receive e-mail confirmation with directions.
*While attendance at the prior April 2026 Pre-Proposal Conference was optional, attendance at this additional Pre-Proposal Conference is mandatory.
Failure to attend the August 13, 2026 Pre-Proposal Conference will result in Respondent’s Proposal being deemed non-responsive in the Phase I evaluation referenced in Section VI.A. of the RFP and consequently, ineligible to advance to Phase II of the evaluation process.
SECTION 2. QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS/CLARIFICATIONS
The following requests for clarification and questions were submitted in accordance with the instructions provided in the Contract Documents. The City’s Answer follows each question or request for clarification in the table below:
Question 1: Based on Section 5 and the associated Exhibits, can the City please clarify the following:
For 2FM fleet charging installations, will the electrical installation scope—including conduit, wiring, trenching, and final connections to charging pads—be performed by the selected vendor under this RFP, or separately by City crews, the utility, or existing contracts?
Additionally, can the City clarify whether electrical infrastructure (including conduit, wiring, and trenching to EVSE units) will be fully installed by the City/utility, or if the selected vendor will be responsible for completing these installations from the service point to the chargers?
Answer:
The vendor will be responsible for electrical installation scope. Additionally, the vendor should assume that they will be responsible for installation work from the service point to the chargers. However, some sites will require less work than others.
Question 2:
May site walks be scheduled prior to submitting a proposal for Category B? This would greatly help in the preparation/accuracy of estimations for Make-Ready/infrastructure costs.
mailto:Paula.Duarte@cityofchicago.org
Answer:
Site walks can be arranged for Category A for short-listed recipients.
For Category B, respondents may conduct independent site visits at their own discretion. The City will not be coordinating formal site walks prior to proposal submission.
Please refer to Section VII. Selection Process, Phase III-Site Visit, System/Product Demonstration and/or Oral Presentation, of the RFP, for information regarding site visit for short-listed employees.
Section VII. Selection Process, Phase III-Site Visit, System/Product Demonstration and/or Oral Presentation, in relevant parts, states the following:
If the EC submits a short list of Respondents for further review, then, in the sole discretion of the Commissioner and Chief Procurement Officer, those short-listed Respondents may be subject to a site visit, system / product demonstration and/or be invited to appear before the Evaluation Committee for an oral presentation to clarify in more detail information what was submitted in Respondent’s Proposal; and/or to ask Respondent to respond to additional questions. All Respondents placed on the short list will be subject to the same additional requirements (i.e. if there is a site visit, all short-listed Respondents will receive a site-visit, if one short listed Respondent gives an oral presentation, all short-listed Respondents will give an oral presentation, etc.)
Question 3:
Please confirm that pricing for 2FM charger installations is intended to be based on standardized unit pricing and installation assumptions at the proposal stage, with final site-specific construction scope and pricing to be established through post-award task orders once site conditions are confirmed.
Answer:
Installation assumptions will not be standardized, as the site requirements will vary from site to site. The vendor will be expected to provide a turnkey installation for each site. As such, for a standardized assumption for pricing purposes, bidders may assume that the site has sufficient power at the grid for the desired installation, and everything downstream of the grid hookup must be supplied. Beyond this some sites will require additional electrical service and the price for this work can be established through post-award task orders. .Site plans and site-specific information as needed will be made available to bidders to account for site-specific factors.
Question 4:
Please confirm that, for 2FM the City is responsible for upstream electrical infrastructure (including utility coordination, service capacity, and make-ready work), and that the Contractor’s installation scope is limited to mounting, connection, configuration, testing, and commissioning of the EVSE equipment as specified.
Answer:
Many sites already have enough electrical capacity for the planned chargers, but some may need upgrades. The vendor will need to coordinate with ComEd for these sites.
Also, see answer to Question No. 1.
Question 5: What is the difference between DC and DCFC columns in the site location chart in Exhibit A1?
Answer: Both power figures refer to DC power and DC fast charges and should have a 180kW requirement. Any distinction(s) will be eliminated.
Question 6: Are any site drawings made available so that hourly rates may be made to be more accurate?
Answer: For 2FM;- Yes, site drawings can be made available upon request.
For CDOT: No, site drawings will not be made available.
Question 7: Are there specific parts requested in the ‘Parts, Mechanical and Electrical’ line item refer to in the 2FM schedule of compensation?
Answer: No, this is a line used for ordering whatever parts may be needed at a given time, bid on a percentage markup/discount basis.
Question 8: What does the design build line item refer to in the 2FM scope?
Answer:
This design build line item is referenced in Exhibit A8: Schedule of Compensation, Category A-2FM, which refers to the costs associated with drawing plans and method to deliver the project from design to construction.
Question 9:
The RFP requires vehicle odometer readings to be transmitted with each charging session. What is the expected source of that odometer data? For Example, AssetWorks, telematics, RFID/fleet card input, driver input, Plug & Charge, or another system.
Answer:
Odometer data may come from telematics, or manual or electronic (e.g. via card) driver input. Ultimate method is up to the vendor. All odometer data will be going into Assetworks.
Question 10: How does the City expect each charging session to be associated with a specific vehicle, driver, department, or cost center?
Answer: This can be up to the vendor's proposal; e.g., via Telematics or via a digital interface on the charger with driver input or etc.
Question 11: Will Category A fleet charging sessions be initiated through RFID, fleet cards, driver PIN, mobile app, Plug& Charge, or another authentication method?
Answer: Charging sessions should be initiated electronically and identification should be tied to the particular vehicle being charged, but the ultimate method is up to the vendor.
Question 12: Does the City currently have a CSMS or EV charging network platform deployed, or is the vendor expected to provide this as part of the solution?
Answer:
For Category A: 2FM, the vendor should provide this as part of the solution.
For Category B: CDOT, the City does not have an existing Charging Station Management System (CSMS) nor an Electric Vehicle (EV) charging network platform deployed. These systems are part of the vendor's scope.
Question 13:
For Category A, is the City expecting a full CSMS, or would an O&
monitoring/reporting platform integrated with the chargers and AssetWorks meet the requirement?
Answer:
A monitoring and reporting platform that is integrated with the chargers and AssetWorks would meet the requirement of cybersecurity & data protection as set forth in Exhibit A7, but a CSMS would be preferred.
Question 14: For Category A, the Solar Charging Stations will be L2 or DC?
Answer: Solar charging stations will be Level 2 or L 2.
Question 15:
For Category B, can the City clarify the payment requirements for public charging sessions? For example, card reader, tap to pay, mobile payment, app-based payment, RFID, or other options.
Answer: The RFP does not describe specific payment methods. Respondents should describe their proposed payment solutions (a minimum of two forms of payment) all in accordance with the terms and conditions and specifications set forth in the RFP.
Question 16: For Category B, who is expected to act as the merchant of record and manage payment settlement/reconciliation to the City?
Answer:
The City will own the chargers and collect all charging revenue. Respondents in their Proposals, however, should describe how their proposed payment, settlement, and reconciliation process will support remittance/reporting to the City.
Question 17:
Can the City clarify its load management expectations for Category A and Category B?
For example, static site limits, dynamic load management, scheduled charging, demand response, or peak shaving.
Answer:
For both Category A and Category B, the RFP does not specify a specific load management strategy. Respondents, however, should describe any load management capabilities in the Proposals.
Question 18:
Can the City clarify how uptime will be calculated, including exclusions for utility outages, planned maintenance, network outages, vandalism, and payment system issues?
Answer:
This information is not applicable to Category A.
For Category B, operational uptime and exclusions are identified in Exhibit 2: Category B: CDOT Scope of Services, Section E.2. EV Charger Uptime and Availability.
Section E.2. EV Charger Uptime and Availability, states the following:
a. Operational Uptime: Each EV charger must maintain a minimum of 80% uptime on a monthly basis, excluding scheduled maintenance.
b. The required minimum uptime of 80% during the contracted period of site operations will be calculated using the following equation:
μ = ((525,600−(T outage−T excluded))/525,600) × 100 where:
μ = port uptime percentage, T outage = total minutes of outage in previous year, and T excluded = total minutes of outage in previous year caused by the following reasons outside the charging station operator's control, provided that the charging station operator can demonstrate that the charging port would otherwise be operational: electric utility service interruptions, failure to charge or meet the EV charging customer's expectation for power delivery due to the fault of the vehicle, scheduled maintenance, vandalism, or natural disasters. Also excluded are hours outside of the identified hours of operation of the charging station.
c. Monitoring: Networking data and real-time
Question 19: Does the City expect the vendor’s platform to manage maintenance tickets directly, or integrate with an existing City work order/ticketing system?
Answer:
Category A - the vendor's platform can manage maintenance tickets directly, but there should be some mechanism to notify the City of faults that require repair. Category B does not require integration with an existing City workorder/ticketing system to manage maintenance tickets.
Question 20: For Category B, can you detail the amount of Ports vs Units?
Answer:
Category B includes seven initial locations with four simultaneously available ports per site, for a total of 28 charging ports. The RFP does not specify the number of units/chargers. The Respondents may propose the number of units/chargers using their expertise, due diligence, and discretion.
Question 21: Category A: Can the City confirm the required or preferred power levels for Level 2 chargers (e.g., 32A, 40A, 80A)?
Answer:
30A minimum. Refer to Exhibit 1: Scope of Services, Section 7.1.(a) Charging Capability, part (i), which states “[s]tations must deliver a minimum of 208 V and 30 amps of current. (see 7.1.a)
Question 22: Can the City confirm the required or preferred power levels for DC Fast Chargers (e.g., 50 kW, 150 kW, 300 kW)?
For Category A, 150kW should be considered the minimum capacity.
For Category B, Respondents are asked to identify minimum continuous power per port and minimum aggregate site capacity in accordance with the requirements set forth in Exhibit B3: Category B-CDOT Instructions to Proposers.
Question 23: Can the City clarify the extent of “City-provided electrical infrastructure” at each site (e.g., transformer, panel, conduit, stub-up)?
Answer:
The City will provide infrastructure and prep work up to the junction box. Vendor will provide junction boxes and wiring at each site, as further specified and described in Exhibit A5: Category A 2FM-Special Requirements For Auxiliary Electrical Equipment, of the RFP. As mounting methods (pad, wall mount) may vary by site, the vendor will be responsible for final mounting of the chargers.
Question 24: Should proposers assume that all sites are fully “make-ready,” or should additional electrical upgrades be anticipated?
Answer: Some sites will be electrically make-ready and others won't be.
Question 25: Can the City provide technical documentation (e.g., APIs, data schemas) for integration with the AssetWorks FuelFocus platform?
Answer: This information is not available at this time.
Question 26: Will integration with AssetWorks require real-time API-based data transfer, or would periodic (e.g., daily) file-based data transfer be acceptable?
Answer: Periodic transfer is acceptable.
Question 27: Will a test or sandbox environment be made available to support integration development and validation?
Answer: Yes, a test environment can be made available.
Question 28: Are there defined service level expectations for response and resolution times for maintenance events?
Answer:
For 2FM: See Exhibit A3: Category A 2FM, Repair and Service Requirements, for detailed information regarding response and resolution times for maintenance events for urgent emergency and non-urgent emergency service requests.
This information is not applicable to Category B.
Question 29:
For sites identified as requiring solar charging, can the City clarify the expected system configuration (e.g., grid-tied systems, battery storage integration, or other architectures)?
Answer: System should be grid-tied with battery storage capability. V2G capability is not needed but may be offered.
Question 30:
Reference Category B – CDOT (Public Charging Pilot Program) Can CDOT confirm the required or target power output (kW) per DC Fast Charging port at each site?
Answer:
Please refer to Exhibit B3: Category B-CDOT Instructions to Proposers, of the RFP, where it identifies the minimum continuous power per port and minimum aggregate site capacity for each site.
Question 31:
What specific payment capabilities are required at each site (e.g., on-unit credit card readers, mobile application, RFID), and are proposers required to include all listed options?
Answer: See answer to Question No. 15.
Question 32: Does CDOT require or prefer support for Plug and Charge (ISO 15118), and if so, to what extent should it be implemented at initial deployment?
Answer:
CDOT does not require nor have preference for Plug and Charge. The RFP does not prescribe specific payment methods. Respondents should describe their proposed payment solutions (a minimum of two forms of payment) consistent with the RFP requirements.
Question 33:
In addition to trenching and electrical upgrades, does the vendor’s responsibility for site preparation include full site design, engineering, permitting, and construction management?
Answer:
For Category A, the level of such work will vary according to site, but at least some should be expected.
For Category B, yes. Category B requires turnkey services including design, permitting, utility coordination, site make-ready, civil/electrical work, installation, O&M, and reporting.
Question 34: What are the specific expectations for utility coordination, including responsibility for interconnection applications, upgrades, and associated costs?
Answer:
For Category B, the Selected Respondent is responsible for utility coordination, site make-ready, civil/electrical work, and full installation for all identified site locations.
Respondent should include utility coordination assumptions in their Proposal.
For category A, the above holds except with respect to site make-ready
Question 35: Can CDOT clarify how uptime will be calculated for compliance purposes (e.g., measured per port, per charger, or per site)?
Answer: The RFP specifies uptime is measured per charger.
See also answer to Question No. 18.
Question 36: For ADA compliance, is the proposer responsible for full design and certification of compliant layouts, or will CDOT provide site-specific design guidance or approvals?
Answer: The proposer is responsible for ADA-compliant design and installation consistent with applicable requirements.
Question 37:
Category A – 2FM Level 2 Charging Capability Clarification - Reference: Exhibit 1- Scope of Services, Section 7.1 Category I: Level 2 Charging Stations, Page 23
The RFP states the following minimum Level 2 charging requirements: Minimum 208V and 30 amps Average of 25 miles of range per hour of charging Minimum charging capacity of 7.9 kWh /Minimum 208V and 30 amps
Because vehicle range added per hour varies significantly based on vehicle make/model, battery efficiency, weather, and onboard charger limitations, please clarify which of these three criteria shall govern hardware charging compliance in the event they conflict.
Is the primary requirement electrical output (208V / 30A)?
Charging capacity should be considered the operative requirement in case of conflict.
A Ford Mustang Mach E GT and a Ford eTransit can be uses as the reference vehicles for Level 2 charging.
Question 38: Is the “25 miles of range per hour” intended only as an estimated performance benchmark?
Answer: Yes. The minimum charging capacity requirement should be treated as the performance floor.
Question 39: Should the minimum charging capacity be interpreted as 7.9 kW?
Answer: Yes. The minimum charging capacity should be interpreted as 7.9 kW.
Question 40: Or should the minimum charging capacity be interpreted as 22 kW charger power rating?
Answer: See answer to Question No. 39.
Question 41: Is the “80 miles in 30 minutes” requirement intended only as an estimated vehicle-dependent benchmark?
Answer: Yes.
Question 42: In case of conflicting metrics, which specification shall govern proposal compliance?
Answer:
In this case, the charging capacity requirement.
See also answer to Question No. 37.
Question 43:
The 208V x 180A suggests a substantially higher power level than a 22 kWh minimum charging capacity. In addition the 208V is commonly associated with AC Level 2 charging systems, where DC is typically 480V. Can you please clarify.
Answer:
Category A – 2FM DC Fast Charger Connector Requirements (CHAdeMO).
Reference: Exhibit 1 – Scope of Services, Section 7.2(b), Page 23. For Level 3 DC Charging Stations, the RFP requires:
SAE certified CHAdeMO SAE certified J1772 CCS
Question 44:
Please confirm whether CHAdeMO is mandatory for all proposed DC fast chargers, or whether proposals utilizing CCS and/or NACS connectors without CHAdeMO will be considered acceptable given current market adoption trends and declining CHAdeMO demand.
Answer: For: ChAdeMO demand, the Proposal should assume CCS and J1172 NACS connectors
Question 45:
Category A – 2FM Training Requirements Clarification:
To the extent this question is asking about training requirements under Category A, refer to Exhibit 1: Scope of Services, Category A: 2FM – Scope of Services, Section 12 Training Requirements.
Section 12, Training Requirements, states in relevant parts the following:
The Contractor must provide all required training listed as part of the contract at no additional cost to the City of Chicago. Training is required for each charging unit delivered and installed. All training material must be provided in English and conducted by certified instructors.
Please clarify whether operator, technician, and safety training is intended to be required for every charger installed at each site or required once per site deployment:
Answer: Training is expected once per site deployment.
Question 46: Does the City prefer chargers that support open protocols such as OCPP and OCPI to avoid vendor lock-in and allow future software interoperability?
Answer:
For 2FM - Yes, open-standard protocols are preferred.
For CDOT-: The RFP references open interoperability requirements including OCPI and OCPP. Respondents should describe how their proposed solution supports interoperability and future compatibility.
Question 47:
Exhibit A8: Schedule of Compensation Category A – 2FM. 8. Exhibit A8: Schedule of Compensation Category A – 2FM.
Can the vendors add additional line items in the pricing document? For example, we recommend a line item dedicated to software management solution. An additional line item would be for Pedestals, as the city may use pedestal or wall mount the unit, having this as an accessory would save the city money when not needing a pedestal. If not, should these costs be bundled into the 'Each' unit price for Category I, II, or III
Yes, vendors can suggest added line items if the suggested line item(s) is within the scope categories of the RFP and in accordance with terms and conditions set forth therein. Any suggested line item(s) shall be approved by the Chief Procurement Officer, whose decision will be binding. If approved, the proposed added line item(s) would be added to an amended line item sheet to allow all bidders to bid on them.
Question 48:
For required items marked “Type: No Response Required,” does the City still expect proposers to upload supporting documentation (e.g., MBE/WBE/VBE, Funding Source, DPS Unit)?
Answer: No. No action on these items needed from respondents as it is not applicable.
Question 49: For the Schedule of Compensation, should proposers upload a full pricing workbook in addition to entering “.01” in iSupplier?
Answer: Yes, per Section V. Preparing Proposals: Required Information, B.3, Schedule of Compensation Respondents must include a workbook with pricing in the Proposal.
Question 50: If a proposer marks “NO” for a required item (e.g., Legal Actions, Insurance, Financials), will the City deem the proposal non-responsive, or request clarification?
Answer:
No, however, you must acknowledge these regardless. For example, if no legal actions have been taken, you could respond by stating so. Or if you don't have insurance as of now, you could respond by stating you will be insured by the award time.
Please refer to Section V. Preparing Proposals: Required Information, B. Required Content of Proposal, for the submittal requirements under the Proposal.
Question 51: iSupplier Submission Mechanics: Should .01 be entered for every line item in the Price Schedule, or only Line 1?
Answer:
For all lines.
Question 52: If iSupplier fails to display an addendum for acknowledgement, will the City reject the proposal or allow manual confirmation?
Answer:
Manual Confirmation is not allowed.
Please refer to Section VII. Selection Process, 1.A. Clarifications and Addenda, of the RFP, which states “[e]lectronic acknowledgement of Clarifications and/or Addenda is mandatory to submit an electronic Proposal.”
Question 53: If the system flags missing fields during submission, will the City allow correction after the deadline?
Per Addendum No. 2, Proposal submittal deadline has been extended from June 16, 2026 to August 31, 2026.
No, we cannot accept any corrections after the deadline. If there are any issues that ISupplier cannot help with, you must fill out or at least mention 'will provide separately as an attachment." But cannot leave the field blank. Only the Chief Procurement Officer at its sole discretion can accept late Proposals.
Please refer to Section IV.B. Deadline and Procedures for Submitting Proposals, for information regarding submission after the deadline.
Section IV.B. Deadline and Procedures for Submitting Proposals, in relevant parts, states the following:
1. To be assured of consideration, Proposals must be submitted electronically to the Department of Procurement Services no later than 3:00 P.M. Central Time on June 16, 2026. Respondents must submit all required information by uploading as attachments to the electronic RFP submission in iSupplier. iSupplier vendor portal registration is required. Allow three (3) business days to complete registration.
2. The City may, but is not required to, accept Proposals that are not received by the date and time set forth in Section IV.B.1 above. Only the Chief Procurement Officer is empowered to determine whether to accept or return late Proposals.
Question 54: If the City exercises the 181 day extension, will pricing default to Year 5 rates or be negotiated separately?
Answer: Pricing defaults to the term of the RFP, which is five (5) years.
Question 55: Does the Mayoral Executive Order 2011 4 contribution prohibition apply to subcontractors not yet identified at proposal time?
Answer:
Yes, it does, if meets the specifications detailed below.
Prohibition on Certain Contribution-Mayoral Executive Order No. 2011-4, applies to Respondent or any person or entity who directly or indirectly has an ownership or beneficial interest in Respondent of more than 7.5% ("Owners"), spouses and domestic partners of such Owners, Respondent’s Subcontractors, any person or entity who directly or indirectly has an ownership or beneficial interest in any Subcontractor of more than 7.5% ("Sub-owners") and spouses and domestic partners of such Sub-owners (Contractor and all the other preceding classes of persons and entities are together, the "Identified Parties").
Please refer to Section VII. D. Prohibition on Certain Contribution-Mayoral Executive Order No. 2011-4, for further detailed information regarding Mayoral Executive Order No. 2011-4.
Question 56: Will the City accept an existing corporate sexual harassment policy in place of the Exhibit 6 affidavit?
Answer:
No, it will not.
Pursuant to Section VII. E.3.b. Policy Prohibiting Sexual Harassment (Section 2-92- 612 of the Chicago Municipal Code), Respondents must submit the Sexual
Harassment Policy Affidavit, (in the form of the “Sexual Harassment Policy Affidavit” Exhibit 6 attached hereto) attesting that Respondent has a written policy prohibiting sexual harassment that shall include, at a minimum, the following information: (i) the illegality of sexual harassment; (ii) the definition of sexual harassment; and (iii) the legal recourse available for victims of sexual harassment.
Question 57: Will the City provide API documentation, schema, and authentication requirements for AssetWorks FuelFocus integration?
Answer: This information is not available at this time.
Question 58: Will the City provide a test environment or sandbox for integration validation?
Answer: Yes, the city can provide a test environment.
Question 59: Are additional data fields beyond the required four (unit ID, odometer, timestamp, kWh) desired or prohibited?
Answer: These are the only hard requirements, but additional data fields are welcome.
Question 60: Will 2FM provide as built electrical drawings for each site, including panel schedules and conduit routing?
Answer: 2FM will provide as built electrical drawings where they exist, but they may not be available for all sites.
Question 61: Does “City-provided wiring and electrical/mechanical infrastructure” include conduit to the exact charger mounting point, or only to a junction box?
Answer:
The vendor will be required to perform all work needed to connect chargers to existing electrical service, and to coordinate service upgrades when needed. There will be no city-provided electrical and mechanical infrastructure aside from what may already exist.
Question 62: If panel upgrades or transformer adjustments are required, will 2FM perform them or must the contractor include them?
Answer: The vendor will be required to perform this work when required.
Question 63: Will the City accept higher-capacity L2 chargers (e.g., 11.5 kW or 19.2 kW) as “equal or better”?
Answer: Yes, higher-capacity products can be accepted as “equal or better.”
Question 64: For DCFC, will the City accept higher-power units (50–180 kW) if site power allows?
Answer: Yes, we will accept as much capacity as site power allows.
Question 65: For solar chargers, does the City require integrated battery storage or is it optional?
Answer: Solar charges should have integrated battery storage.
Question 66: Does the City require NEMA 4X enclosures or vandal-resistant housings for outdoor sites?
Answer: No.
Question 67: Are anti-vandalism features (tamper alarms, reinforced housings) required at all 2FM locations?
Answer: No, they will not be required.
Question 68: Does the 200 day delivery requirement begin at PO issuance, contract execution, or site readiness confirmation?
Answer: 200-day delivery requirement beings at Purchase Order (PO) issuance, unless site readiness is complete after PO issuance.
Question 69: Will the City allow partial shipments per site or require consolidated delivery?
Answer: Partial shipments are acceptable, as long as all shipments are completed within the required time limits.
Question 70: Does “repair within 1 business day” mean full restoration to service, or arrival/diagnosis?
2FM response: To the extent this question relates to Category A, for emergency service request only, repair within 1 business day means restoration to service, unless otherwise approved by the City. Pease see Exhibit 1, Section 13 (a) Emergency Service Request, which states, among others, “[a]ll service repairs under this classification must be completed within one (1) business day, otherwise approved by the City Department of Fleet and Facility Management (2FM).”
For Category B, please refer to Exhibit 2, Section E.3. Response and Resolution Times, of the RFP, for pertinent information regarding response and resolution time.
Question 71:
Will the City allow temporary chargers or loaner units to maintain uptime during extended repairs?
Answer:
The RFP does not specifically address temporary chargers or loaner units. Proposers may describe how they would maintain uptime during extended repairs._______________________
Question 72: Will the City require integration with a City-selected payment processor, or may the vendor propose one?
Answer:
The RFP does not require integration with a City-selected payment processor.
Proposers should describe their proposed payment processing approach.
See also answer to Questions No. 15, and 34.
Question 73: Does the City require open payment standards (tap-to-pay, EMV, PCI compliance)?
Answer:
The RFP does not prescribe specific payment methods.
Respondents should describe their proposed payment solutions (a minimum of two forms of payment) consistent with the RFP requirements.
See answer to Questions No.15 and 34.
Question 74: Will the City require revenue reporting in a specific format or system?
Answer: The RFP requires performance reporting. It does not prescribe a specific City revenue reporting system or format.
Question 75: Will CDOT provide ADA-compliant layout templates for curbside installations, or must the vendor design them?
Answer:
The proposer is responsible for ADA-compliant design and installation consistent with applicable requirements as set forth in Exhibit B1- Category B (CDOT), Physical Site Standards and Requirements, Section 4.B. American with Disabilities Act (ADA) Compliance. .
Question 76: Are bollards, wheel stops, and signage included in the vendor’s scope?
Answer:
Yes. Damage protection mechanisms and signage are identified in the RFP as included in the vendor's scope. Please refer to Exhibit B1- Category B (CDOT), Physical Site Standards and Requirements, Section 4.A. Physical Safety, for detailed information in this regard.
Question 77: Does the City require OCPP 2.0.1 certified hardware, or is “compatible” sufficient?
Answer:
Category B requires OCPP 1.6 JSON or higher (state version).
This question does not apply to Category A.
Question 78: Will the City require roaming agreements with third-party networks (ChargePoint, EVgo, Shell Recharge)?
Answer: Roaming agreements are not specifically required in the RFP. Proposers may identify any roaming capabilities included in their proposed solution.
Question 79: Will ComEd provide final transformer sizing, or must the vendor propose it?
Answer: The vendor is responsible for utility coordination. Proposers should identify their utility coordination approach, including transformer/service assumptions.
Question 80: Will CDOT coordinate right-of-way permits, or must the vendor obtain them independently?
Answer:
The Selected Respondent is responsible for securing necessary permits, including permits needed for right-of-way work. Please refer to Exhibit 2, Section C.1.b, which states that “[t]he vendor shall be responsible for securing necessary environmental and City permits.”
Question 81: Is uptime measured per port, per site, or across the entire network?
Answer: See answer to Questions No. 18 and 35.
Question 82: Will CDOT impose financial penalties for uptime failures or only require corrective action plans?
Answer:
The RFP does not specify financial penalties for Category B uptime failures. A corrective action plan is required to resolve performance issues. Repeated failure to meet service levels may result in contract review or termination, as set forth in Exhibit 2, Section E.6, Service Level Non-Compliance.
Question 83: Will the City provide the prevailing wage determination for each site, or must the vendor obtain it?
Answer:
The prevailing wage determination is issued by the U.S. DOL, which must be obtained by the Vendor.
Please refer to Department of Transportation Terms and Conditions, Book 1, Section VIII.E. David-Bacon Prevailing Wages, for further detailed requirements under this Act.
Question 84: Are electricians classified under a specific wage category for EVSE installation?
Answer:
Yes, they are classified under High-voltage electrician category.
Please also refer to Department of Transportation Terms and Conditions, Book 1, Section VIII.G. Minimum Wage, Mayoral Executive Order 2014-1, for Contractor’s payment requirements. Also, for all contracts value more than $2000, please refer to Department of Transportation Terms and Conditions, Book 1, Section B. US DOE Contract and Subcontracts Provisions.
In addition, please refer to Exhibit B4, Section B.2. A. Davis Bacon Act Requirements, which states “[a]ll laborers and mechanics employed by the vendor or subcontractors in the performance of construction, alteration, or repair work in excess of $2000 on an program shall be paid wages at rates not less than those prevailing on similar projects in the locality, as determined by the Secretary of Labor in accordance with subchapter IV of chapter 31 of title 40, United States Code commonly referred to as the “Davis-Bacon Act” (DBA).”
Question 85: Will the City require weekly certified payroll submission through a specific portal or format?
Answer:
The RFP does not identify a specific certified payroll portal or format in the Category B scope.
This question is not applicable to Category A.
Question 86: Does AIS apply to charger housings, pedestals, conduit, or internal components?
Answer:
Category B requires compliance with the Buy America sourcing requirements set forth in Term 45 of the U.S. Department of Energy Grant Terms and Conditions. The applicability of those requirements depends on whether an item is classified as iron or steel, a manufactured product, or a construction material under the federal requirements. Proposers are responsible for ensuring compliance and providing the required certifications and documentation for applicable project components.
Refer to Exhibit 2, Section C, Detailed Scope Description, which states among others, “the EV Chargers must Comply with Buy America sourcing requirements as set forth in Term 45 of the U.S. Department of Energy Grant Terms exhibit.”
Also, refer to Section XXIV. U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Requirements : Energy Efficiency and Conservation Block Grant (EECBG), in Book 1, CDOT Terms and Conditions, for further detailed requirements regarding this Grant.
Question 87:
Does AIS apply to charger housings, pedestals, conduit, or internal components?
Answer: See answer to Question No. 86.
Question 88: Will the City require manufacturer certifications for AIS compliance at the time of proposal or post-award?
Answer:
Per Exhibit B Section 6.1.b., the vendor must certify or provide equivalent documentation for proof of compliance. A manufacturer’s certificate is not required at time of Proposal Submittal.
Question 89: Even with 0% goals, does the City require a full compliance plan submission?
Answer:
Pursuant to Section V. Preparing Proposal: Required Information, Section B.4.
MBE/WBE/VBE participation goal, “[t]here are no MBE/WBE and no VBE goals for this
RFP.
Respondents do not need to submit any documents for MBE/WBE/VBE goals in their Proposal.”
Question 90: Will the City accept self-performance as meeting the participation requirement?
Answer:
It is accepted if the prime contractor (not subcontractor) is, themselves, certified.
Please note that while this RFP is listed as a ‘No Stated Goals,’ we encourage prioritizing diversity throughout the procurement process
Question 91: If requesting a waiver, must the proposer still submit outreach documentation?
Answer: Any outreach attempts should be included in proposal.
Question 92: Will the City provide the full AssetWorks integration specification (Exhibit A6) prior to proposal submission?
Answer: Reference the disclaimer and clarifications portion of this Addendum regarding Assetworks.
Question 93: Will the City provide a list of required auxiliary electrical equipment per site (Exhibit A5)?
Answer: The City does know which sites need upgrades to support the desired…
This is the start of the file's text. The full file is on GovTribe.
File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .