Paint_Stands_Questions_as_of_21_May.docx

DOCX document 19 KB Posted

Attached to
Paint Stands Fabrication
Solicitation number
N6449819Q5103
Issued by

About this file

Questions and Answers as of 21 May

View the file

Other files

File Type Posted
Amendment_0004.pdf PDF
Amendment_0003.pdf PDF
Paint_Stands_Questions_As_of_13_May.docx DOCX document
Amendment_0002.pdf PDF
Amendment_0001.pdf PDF
N6449819Q5103.pdf PDF
DWG_0319_-_CLB_Class_1A_Paint_Fixture.pdf PDF

On GovTribe

Work with this file

  • Download the original file
  • Contacts named in this file
  • Similar government files
  • Ask GovTribe AI about this file

Text version

1. Regarding note 305: in lieu of welding can we engrave a plate with the same information and then weld the plate to the base (item 3)?”

Response: No. Please follow the instructions of welding note 305. Please add contract number and the suppliers cage code in separate lines below the drawing required information.

2. Drawing # 0319, Sheet 9 of 2. What is the length of the widow, we think it is seventeen (17) inches, but this dimension not shown on the drawing?

Response: The dimension is not missing; it is on the wrong side of Item 5. The 2.50 dimension should be on the left side of the cutout. This would make the cutout 17.00.

3. Painting; Painting is not specified of the drawing or SOW. The steel, if not painted or powder coated will rust. Is painting or powder coating required? If so, please specify your requirements for same.

Response: Painting is not required. BOM states finish is NONE

4. Drawing 30319 sheet 3 of 12: Note 305 We are instructed by the drawing to use Stainless Steel filler for the required lettering, the letting will be done via TIG. The lettering will be raised, what raised height is acceptable? What is the width of lettering? What is the direction for lettering?

Response: TIG is acceptable. Letter width and height not critical, how about 0.125/0.190 width and 0.100/0.150 high? The CRES wire is important for contrast to the carbon steel base.

5. Can you provide the CAD file of the drawings?

Response: No. This is a 3-axis assembly; CAD models should not be necessary.

6. Item 3 on page 7 refers to welding note 305. Are the markings discussed in note 305 made via welding or another method?

Response: See question 4. The identification can be made using any of the methods described in note 305. GTAW, SMAW and GMAW are acceptable welding methods. This is NOT a structural weld.

7. Drawing # 0319 sheet 3 of 12. Note # 305 states to label the part name, part # & serial # by depositing weld material, creating 1-1-2" to 2.0" raised character's. Are we allowed to quote on this requirement as follows: Engrave the required characters on to a 1/8" or 3/16" Stainless steel type 304 plate and weld the plate to the top plate of the paint fixture assembly.

Response: No. See question 1 answer.

8. Have these items been procured in the past?

Response: This is a new procurement, and these paint stands have not been procured in the past.

9. Welding note 302 states ALL WELDING SHALL BE PER AWS D1.1/D1.1M, WRP 0080 OR WP1689 S1-4-20. Does a CWI welder meet this requirement?

Response: Please see AWS D1.1/D1.1M for clarification on welding requirements. If using WRP 0080 and WP1689, they can be found in NAVSEA Technical Publication S9074·AR·GI8·010/278.

10. Page 1 of the drawing states that item 18 is “2X”. Is this correct?

Response: The drawing is incorrect. The correct quantity for item 18 is (1X or 1 Each).

11. Section D, Packaging and Marking, has marking requirements but nothing about packaging. We are assuming that no special crating or packing is required and that provided they are adequately secured and protected during shipping, that will be sufficient. Can you confirm this to be the case?

Response: The Engineering drawing does not specify packaging. The product shall be delivered without damage.

12. Per the specification the welding has to conform to the welding notes with no deviations. Note 301 call for full penetration welds in accordance with MIL-STD-22, there are not MIL-STD-22 joints noted on the drawings so I do not see how we can conform to this requirement without the joint configuration in the tail of the weld symbol. The drawing calls out for fillet welds and looks like it complies with note 302. Please advise how you would like for us to proceed with the quote as this is a very significant labor impact for 301 vs 302

Response: In review of MIL-STD-22, it would appear that note 302 is in error. It should read “Welded joints shall be partial penetration welds in accordance with MIL-STD-22. The intent was to use just fillet welds without any chamfering of components. Also, the location quantities shown in the tail do not belong there. The quantities are accurate, but the location is in error.

13. We noticed a size difference in your drawings and in your materials list on item number 3 (base plate). The drawing shows 90" and the material list shows 96". The drawings also show line item 7 (channel iron) as 90". If the base plate goes to 96" does the channel iron also need to be 96"?

Response: The “stock” size does not necessarily have to agree with the net size of the finished part. In this case, one of the mill sizes for steel plate is 48 X 96, hence the BOM stock size. It is easier to procure a 48 X 96 piece of steel plate rather than a 48 X 90.

14. Confirm no labeling, or special markings to be made.

Response: Please label each item in accordance with drawing requirements and the warranty information required in clause D-246-H002 of the solicitation.

Response Rev 1: Clause D-246-H002 has been removed from the solicitation. Please label each item in accordance with drawing requirements.

15. Can we have access to a photo of product to assist in conceptual assembly

Response: No. These are new items that have not been made before.

16. What off-loading capabilities are available or expected at destination? Is there a dry dock for truck trailer? Fork lift capability, etc?

Response: The Government will provide all equipment needed to unload the truck at time of delivery.

17. Drawing# 0319, sheet 3 of 12. Note 201 states Torque equipment "Running Torque shall be added to the specified torque etc., etc." Running torque defines the amount of torque a component needs in order to keep spinning at a constant angular velocity after it starts spinning. Running torque has no relation to the torqueing of these bolts? Please clarify this requirement.

Response: “Running” torque refers to the torque required to overcome any self-locking device. This value varies by size of the fastener. The “running” torque should be measured by fastener size and added to the installation torques shown. One measurement should be sufficient.

18. Drawing #0319, sheet 2 of 12. Item # 38 Grainger Caster wheel assembly # 5VH80 is not supplied with a brake. For safety reasons, do you require one Caster per fixture for a total of eight (8) Grainger side cam, steel caster brake kit 3G302? In conformance with "OSHA" safety standards, unit should have a brake or locking device to prevent the unit from free rolling.

Response: Install one (1) lock kit on one (1) castor in the same location on all eight (8) fixtures. The location of the lock is not critical. The location shall be the same on all eight (8) fixtures.

19. Item 12 Swivel hoist mounting bolts, specified as a socket head cap screw 1/2"-NC-2 x3-1/4" Long, ASTM A574, Steel, Black oxide plated, McMaster Carr #91257A725. McMaster Carr #91257A725 is supplied as follows: Hex head cap screw 1/2"-13 NC-2 x 3-1/4" Long,Grade 8,Steel, Zinc Yellow-Chromate plated. Is this acceptable?

Response: Item 12, from sheet 2 of the drawing is a ½-13 X 3.25 socket head cap screw, McMaster-Carr part number 91251A725. The part number shown is correct for the part specified for the McMaster-Carr part. An equivalent fastener from any manufacturer/distributor is acceptable.

20. Can the edge of each part composed on the paint stand be rough cut?

Response: General not 7 states “All machined surfaces shall have a 125 RMS finish unless otherwise specified.” The drawing expects that surface finish on surfaces questioned.

21. Can the warranty and ID be a placard with negative cut words or does it need to be positive cut lettering? If positive cut lettering can the lettering be strung together with a line underneath?

Response: No, there is no ID placard called out on the drawing and the warranty placard has been removed entirely in Amendment 0003. Install identification for ID placard per drawing.

22. The weld notes call for stainless filler rod; am I to assume that the warranty material is to be stainless steel since the cart is carbon steel? I can’t see another reason to specify stainless rod.

Response: Welding note 305 applies to the identification of the paint stand only.

23. I do not see a weld note for the C-channel. I would need clarification of whether a stitch weld or a solid weld would be expected to affix the channel to the plate.

Response: See sheet 4, zones B4 and B3.

24. Drawing # 0319, sheet #2 of 12 List of Materials. Item # 16 specifies,5/8"-11 Hex nut, self locking, McMaster -Carr #94895A044. Item # 17 specifies ,1/2"-13 Hex nut ,self locking, McMaster -Carr #94895A835.

Neither of the above specified nuts are self locking, they are standard hex nuts.

If the design requires "Self locking nuts" the Navy may want to consider the following options.

McMaster-Carr #97135A270. 5/8"-11,High strength steel ,grade8, nylon-insert lock nut(self locking),Yellow Zinc Chromate Plated. McMaster-Carr #97135A250. 1/2"-13,High strength steel ,grade8, nylon insert lock nut(self locking),Yellow Zinc Chromate Plated.

Response: Revise Item 16 to McMaster-Carr #97135A270. 5/8"-11,High strength steel ,grade8, nylon-insert lock nut(self locking),Yellow Zinc Chromate Plated.

Revise Item 17 to McMaster-Carr #97135A250. 1/2"-13,High strength steel ,grade8, nylon insert lock nut(self locking),Yellow Zinc Chromate Plated.

File details come from the government source that posted it.