Q_A_Document_0002.pdf
PDF 217 KB Posted
- Attached to
- Stand Up Cable Car Federal contract opportunity
- Solicitation number
- 140G0122Q0040
View the file
Other files for this federal contract opportunity
| File | Type | Posted |
|---|---|---|
| Sol_140G0122Q0040_Amd_0002.pdf | ||
| Sol_140G0122Q0040_Amd_0001.pdf | ||
| Drawing__0528000_Sand_Point_Cable_Car_Break.pdf | ||
| Sol_140G0122Q0040.pdf | ||
| Drawing__0602000_Top_Rail_Assembly.pdf | ||
| Drawing__0011000_Stand_Up_Cable_Car.pdf | ||
| HIFW01C_Workmanship_Specification.pdf |
On GovTribe
Work with this file on GovTribe
- Download the original file
- Contacts named in this file
- Similar government files
- Ask GovTribe AI about this file
Text version
Vendor Questions & Answers – RFQ 140G0122Q0040
Top Rail Assembly: (USGS/HIF answers in RED below.)
Cable sheave# 0602017/0602018 since quantity is not large amount, in lieu of making from a casting, we would like to manufacture from solid material machined on CNC unit.
This will be less costly manufacture, eliminate the cost of casting and transport of same from foundry to R&D. – CNC machining vs Casting of sheave. Part can be made either way as long as final product meets USGS/HIF drawing requirements. Have the vendor supply certification for material.
The CNC solid piece will be a superior quality and strength as compared to a casting.
There is no call out on the drawings for concentric requirement, R&D will use .005" TIR so that equipment will have serviceable run out. – Not required.
We will engrave all characters as required in Gothic font, type of font not specified on drawing. – Text is only pattern information. Text is not required if part is machined on CNC.
On characters that are recessed there is no dimension specified on the drawing we will use .015" to. 030" deep. – Same as previous question. Not required if part is machined.
Protractor #0602012/0602013, since quantity is not large amount, in lieu of making from a casting, we would like to manufacture from solid material machined on CNC unit.
This will be less costly manufacture, eliminate the cost of casting and transport of same from foundry to R&D and turn out a superior quality unit as compared to a casting. – CNC machining vs Casting of protractor. Part can be made either way as long as final product meets USGS/HIF drawing requirements. Have vendor supply certification for material.
We will engrave all characters as required in Gothic font (type of font not specified on drawing). – Drawings only indicates the text size; it does not specify text type. If engraving text, we would request to have text filled with black paint and removed from finished surfaces of part. This would only need to be done if the protractor is machined, not casted.
Only text need if these are machined would be the angle indicator text and indicator lines.
Other text on arm of protractor is information about the pattern.
On characters that are recessed there is no depth dimension specified we will use .015" to.
030" deep. – Engraved text needs to be deep enough to hold black paint, so text is legible.
Small Bushing drawing #0602019 specifies 303 s/s, we would like to use 304 s/s which is more readily available in today's marketplace. – Drawing specifies material to be “300 Series Stainless”, this would make 304 acceptable.
(Picture added by USGS/HIF)
Top Rail Sheave, drawings 0602005 & 0602006: (added by USGS/HIF)
No questions submitted by vendor on these, but these could be CNC machined vs casting. Would be similar to questions above on the Cable Sheave and the Protractor.
Stand up cable Car, Drawing #0011001:
Stamped note in the upper left-hand side of drawing states "Do not fabricate using this drawing" is there another drawing that we should be using? – That note should have been removed from the drawing. Drawing would be okay to use, or we can have drawings updated to remove the note.
B/M bolt & nut call out=S/S but the specific type of S/S not specified on the drawing, we intend to use 18-8 S/S is that acceptable? – Stainless steel grade is not specified on any of the hardware, this would allow the manufacturer to choose the grade and save cost.
Is there any specified torque that should be used for tightening the specified hardware? – No torque spec required.
B/M Item #40 calls for part #3136 Tie-Down strap...........who's part number is 3136? – Suggested vendor is specified in note #5A on drawing 0011001, sheet 1 of 3. That is only the “suggested” supplier, not the “required” one. Strap can be purchased from any supplier as long as it meets or is greater than what is specified on drawing.
Is there any requirement for part number to be stamped or Engraved on the final Assembly?
– No stamping of part number required on any parts.
Dis -Assembled parts for shipping purposes, does USGS require match marking of disassembled parts? – Not required
Miscellaneous:
The box drawing submitted by USGS with the RFQ are they required to be per that design, or may we have the option base on the multitude of shipping boxes we have made over the decades, to use our style of box which we believe is a better suited to safely transport the equipment. – We have always used the shipping crate per drawing 0011025 on past orders.
Prefer to follow drawing as all other vendors are quoting on same crate.
All equipment is wiped down with a Covid. disinfectant.
Must material used for this project be of USA origin? - This may be a contracting officer question to answer.
Sand point cable car brake #0528001 -Rev-B:
Friction Pad drawing #0528011-Rev-B.
McMaster-Carr part #573k466, see above attachments.
Friction Pad:
Drawing Friction Pad #0528011-Rev-B specifies McMaster-Carr part #573k466 material be used for this Pad.
There are differences between the McMaster-Carr part #5753k466 specifications and drawing specification.
Drawing shows belt thickness as .203" thick
Drawing note 2 states as follows:
Frictional surface belt; 2.5" Wide; 4Ply Cotton/Nylon Duck Cloth, bonded with skim coats of rubber.
Rubber Frictional surface both sides
McMaster-Carr P/N 5753K466.
- Appears that this item has changed since our drawing was produced back in 1993.
The specified part number is now a 5-ply, .213 thickness, as vendor states below. Use material that replaced original part number.
We would need to do an ECR to make the needed corrections to drawing #0528011.
Drawing note 4, states tolerances as:
xxx=+/-.005" xx=+/-.015" x=+/-.030"
Major difference from drawing specifications. – Dimension tolerances are “looser” on this item due to material. Tolerances do not apply to the stock dimensions.
Super-Grip Flat Belting:
Master-Carr specification, see above attachment.
Belt thickness .213"
Five Ply
SBR Rubber/Cotton Width tolerances -0.125 to 0.125".
Please review and clarify. – See explanation above.
B/M, item # 13 calls for McMaster-Carr Part #90312A540
The above P/number has been replaced with McMaster-Carr Part # 90312A308.
(Galvanized steel nylon coated)
See the attached McMaster-Carr Quotation 64106, line #5.
Please advised if this is acceptable.
- Part does not have to be the exact one specified, this is only a “Suggested Source”. Part needs to be equal to what is specified in the part list. It does appear that the part number on our drawing has been changed by the suggested source and there are 2 possible replacements. Please see pictures below. We will need to do an ECR to update this item on our drawing.
File details come from the government source that posted it. Updated .